win a ball from Bowling.com
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email This More...


?

BallReviews.com

Promote Your Page Too
?

Author Topic: PAP?  (Read 627 times)

PowrKoil17

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
  • HG: 265 HS: 659 HA: 172
PAP?
« on: April 19, 2012, 05:59:21 PM »
First of all I have never had my PAP measured. Last night in league my buddy pulled out his Visionary Frankie May Gryphon. Since I own some Visionary and never thrown the FMG, I decided to throw it. Very nice ball. Very controlled and smooth for me. It had weight hole in it. What I noticed going down the lane was how that weight hole stayed virtually centered and staring right back at me until it turned towards the pins. Could it be that the weight hole in that ball was coincidentally my PAP?

My Arsenal                         Son's Arsenal
Power Groove DryR            Slingshot
Green/Blue Centaur              Mission 2.0
Battle Zone Cannon              Red Zone             
Ogre SS                                  
Blue Sparkle Gryphon 
C System 2.5 
My Arsenal                     Son's Arsenal (HG 267, HS 651, HA 177)
Black Hammer(Faball)    Red Zone
Ogre SS                          Mission 2.0
Dirty Look                      Evil Siege                      
Nexus                             C System 2.5
C System 2.5

 

raiderh20boy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1698
Re: PAP?
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2012, 08:27:59 PM »
Yuup!!!!!!!


Use "IT" and BOWL UP A STORM!!

dizzyfugu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7550
Re: PAP?
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2012, 05:47:02 AM »
Yes, and when you were able to see it clearly for a long time, it would indicate that you have a lot of axis rotation (with much sideways rotation) and that either the ball was drilled too weak for your style (it should flare, and the hole turn away from view - and the FMG is a ball with a high flare potential and niot a weak surface!), or the surface was not proper.

 

Anaway, that PAP point is a vital starting point to judge your game and equipment - never wrong!


DizzyFugu - Reporting from Germany
2010/11 Benrather BC Club Champion
Confused by bowling? Check out BR.com's vault of wisdom: the unofficial FAQ section
DizzyFugu ~ Reporting from Germany
Benrather BC Club Champion 2011 & 2012

Berreez

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 802
Re: PAP?
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2012, 10:26:39 AM »

 Never thought of it that way. So, should have the hole (or tape) started to flare just after the arrows if it was correctly drilled?



dizzyfugu wrote on 4/20/2012 3:47 AM:
Yes, and when you were able to see it clearly for a long time, it would indicate that you have a lot of axis rotation (with much sideways rotation) and that either the ball was drilled too weak for your style (it should flare, and the hole turn away from view - and the FMG is a ball with a high flare potential and niot a weak surface!), or the surface was not proper.


 


Anaway, that PAP point is a vital starting point to judge your game and equipment - never wrong!



DizzyFugu - Reporting from Germany
2010/11 Benrather BC Club Champion
Confused by bowling? Check out BR.com's vault of wisdom: the unofficial FAQ section


GO ARMY  (Airborne all the way)
(Airborne Army 1SG all the way)

dizzyfugu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7550
Re: PAP?
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2012, 10:36:06 AM »
At least it indicates that the ball starts flaring rather late - the reasons are manifold, though, but the symptoms sound fishy.

 

For a proper ball reaction you should be able to see the PAP/hole/marker "swirl away" after some time, at least after passing the arrows, when the ball starts entering areas with more friction. It is IMHO an indicator that the ball does not finish well, or does not go through a proper skid/hook/roll phase. Sounds as if it was skidding too long (which is hard to believe, the FMG is not intended to go long), and/or that the core does not re-orient itself towards its PSA. This assumes that the layout is nothing exotic (e .g. a pin close to the PAP could inhibit any flare) and the lanes are not totally oiled up to the pin deck.


DizzyFugu - Reporting from Germany
2010/11 Benrather BC Club Champion
Confused by bowling? Check out BR.com's vault of wisdom: the unofficial FAQ section
DizzyFugu ~ Reporting from Germany
Benrather BC Club Champion 2011 & 2012