BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on October 26, 2017, 04:00:02 PM

Title: Intense
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on October 26, 2017, 04:00:02 PM
Add some intensity to your bowling game with the Storm Intense bowling ball. This ball introduces the RAD-E core. RAD stands for Radial Accelerating Disk which has been featured in several popular Storm balls but this ball brings energy which is where the E comes from. This unique core design is paired with the R3S Pearl Reactive coverstock and finished with a 1500 grit pad and polished. This strong asymmetrical ball not only provides power at the pins it also gets deeper in the pocket by giving an increased entry angle.

Color: Lime/Black/White
Core: RAD-E
Coverstock: R3S Pearl Reactive
Finish: 1500-grit Polished
RG: 2.49 (based on 15# ball)
Differential: 0.050 (based on 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Heavy Oil
Fragrance: Moroccan Mint
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: StormAndrew on October 30, 2017, 07:20:06 AM
Intense from Storm Bowling coming October 27th. Check out the video and ball review.

Video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PZAvS46esIg

Ball Review:
I tested the Intense on a fresh THS (Typical House Shot) and this ball reminds me of what we saw and continue to see in the Code series. This ball perceptibly went long and was angular off the spot. It did pick up sooner than the Code Black and provides nice continuous motion off the back end. I instantly got left (for me) with this ball as I would start around 23/24 and use 10 as my break point down lane. I was targeting 17/18 at the arrows.
The transition with this ball was quick as I started migrating inside after a couple of shots. I was quickly doing 2-1 adjustments and opening my angles as I continued throwing shots to maintain the pocket.
The Intense will be great for those who want a strong asymmetrical ball to start the night off with. It will provide length, angle and continuation at the pins.
The layout I used for this ball is 60x4x30.
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: rotogrip_rick on October 30, 2017, 07:23:19 AM
Storm Intense
Layout: 40 x 3 ĺ x 45
Testing info: 43ft THS from KEGEL MARK and on older HPL with Brunswick A-2 machines
Results: To start off, the very first game was a 300 game, so I am in love with this ball. The overall reaction of the ball was phenomenal. It sounds different when hitting the pins and the RAD-E core. The ďEĒ stands for ENERGY as the elongated ellipses near the pin increase the separation of mass as well as the potential energy. The core demonstrates how the moving the 2 round modules towards the pins helps to create and ďholdĒ energy in the ball. RS3 cover does match really great with this core design. Not as long as a Code Black, but more destructive when it hits the pins. Having a number of scratch and tournament level bowlers watching me demo the wall they all agreed that the ball sounds different when it hits the pinsÖ I had no over / under issues even though with my tilt and rev rate I tend to have that type of reaction on this THS at Colony Park Lanes. A truly INTENSE ball for all levels of bowlers.
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: TamerBowling on November 11, 2017, 09:24:45 AM
Check out the complete review of the Intense here:

http://tamerbowling.com/storm-intense-bowling-ball-review/

We have 5 testers, compare to No Rules Pearl, and test on both house shot and sport.

Excerpt:
The Storm Intense is going to be on a lot of racks at your neighborhood league. Storm has found the ability to provide house bowlers something that helps them score. The ball is clean out of box so no fighting to get it downlane in the track. It chugs and turns heavily into the pocket all on its own without needing to give it tons of hand. Due to its strength downlane, you will find miss room as well. For those of us that bowl on sport shots, the Intense is also an intriguing ball. For the high rev bowlers, they donít have to touch the surface. Just use it as the edge is knocked off the shot. For medium rev bowlers, putting even just a little surface on it turns it into a beast that is super predictable in the midlane but still aggressive downlane. This is going to definitely be an option for me on longer patterns like Scorpion. So there you have it. You can decide if this ball makes sense for you but right now every one of our testers had something positive with the Intense.
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: PJ Haggerty on November 17, 2017, 12:22:16 AM
Storm Intense Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

I thought the Code Red was strong.  The Intense is a full step up from the Code Red.  This is definitely the strongest pearl asymmetrical Iíve ever drilled, and itís not even close.  I can definitely see multiple types of players loving the Intense.  It has a massive flare potential over six inches and adjusts to changing the surface very well.

Iíve drilled two so far.  The first one is my traditional drilling mapped out as: 5.5 x 4.5 x 65 with a small hole two inches under my PAP.  This is my benchmark drilling and is a much earlier and quicker response time than the Code Red but still cleaner than the Sure Lock.  After using the Code Red throughout most of the spring and summer of 2017, the Intense is a full five board stronger than the Code Red.

The second one I drilled is mapped out as: 4.75 x 4 x 50 with a small hole two inches under my axis.  This puts the pin in between my ring finger and bridge and creates an earlier, smoother, less responsive motion down lane.  I think the Sure Lock is a great start for the first game or two on sport patterns, and this is an easy ball to go to where bowlers wonít lose carry but still create plenty of shape down lane.

The Intense has been a favorite in my bag so far and both ones Iíve drilled will go everywhere with me.   Go drill an Intense!

#StormNation
Title: Re: Storm Intense by Keven Williams
Post by: kevenwilliams on November 18, 2017, 11:37:29 AM
Speed: 18mph
Rev Rate: 450rpm
Pattern: Typical House Shot

The Intense is a great progression from the Code Red and Code Black. The Code series balls are must have bowling balls, but sometimes arenít quite strong enough for heavier oil conditions. The Storm Intense fits right in to solve that problem. It rolls earlier and has a strong midlane roll than the Codes. It has a continuous backend, but isnít too sharp downlane. The Intense looks a lot like the No Rules Pearl, and it comparison has a similar motion. The Intense is just enough stronger than the No Rules Pearl. Compared to the Storm Snap Lock the Intense is a touch cleaner through the front and a little slower on the backend.
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: jshoe97 on November 19, 2017, 12:24:35 PM
Ah, The storm Intense is finally here! The Intense has a modified version of the rad-x core found in the code series balls, and is wrapped in the R3S coverstock from SnapLock. This provides a slightly cleaner ball reaction then the SnapLock, but still super heavy forward rolling. This is by far the hardest hitting ball Iíve thrown to date, in my review video you can be multiple shots where the ball finishes in the 8 pin position. Out of box the Intense is going to be a great ball for a league bowlers, and tournament bowlers alike. After filming my review video, I knocked the shine off with a 2000 pad, and saw a much rounder shape. I like this motion much more then out of box, and plan to keep it like this. When I really need to get in and open up my angles, I still think that the code red is a slightly better option, but when I need to keep my angles tight on the fresh nothing will beat the Intense. The Intense is available for purchase now, be sure to head over to your local pro shop and get your very own today! #StormNation

Review Video: https://youtu.be/hRpCUbS9PwY
Title: Re: Storm Intense Ball Review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on November 19, 2017, 03:30:10 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40 Ft

Volume:Med-High

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Weight Block: RAD-E
Cover: R3S Pearl
Finish: 1500 Polish
RG: 2.49
Differential: 0.050

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin Over Bridge 60 X 5 1/4 X 35

Storm Bowling continues to push the boundaries of
ball reaction with their new release, the Storm Intense. The Intense might be the best example of what most have come to think of as Storm Performance. Clean and Strong down-lane if there's a single word to describe the intense... it's DYNAMIC.

The Intense features a great core and cover combination. The RAD-E is the next evolution in the Radial Accelerating Disk technology featured in the original X-Factor and more recently in the Code series balls with their RAD4 weight-blocks. As stated in the release about the RAD-E: "The ďEĒ stands for ENERGY as the elongated ellipses near the pin increase the separation of mass as well as the potential energy"


Wrapped around the dynamic RAD-E core is the R3S Pearl Coverstock featured on the Snap Lock. I was very excited as the Snap Lock was my go to for covering boards with power and the Intense is that quantified. The Intense will cover boards and make that big turn back to the pocket on as heavy or heavier conditions than the Snap Lock. You can count on the Intense to get there and when it does... the pins don't stand a chance.

I tested the Intense on a condition that has held my scores down most of the season. It plays flatter than your normal house shot, creating little room for error. The head oil tends to go away quick and the outside oil keep you from being able to simply amp the speed up and overthrow it. In short it traps you into an area inside and forces you to make alot of adjustments. I hadn't been able to throw the same ball for three games all year, until I punched up the Intense. Throwing the stronger balls tends to make the moves come sooner and then create the need for still more adjustments. The relative flatness of the pattern can make them seem anywhere from tricky to impossible depending on how I tried to play them.

The one thing I didn't think was possible was to overpower the conditions. The Intense changed that. I never lost the ability to get the ball through the head oil and the dynamic down-lane motion allowed me to still make small misses and see the ball recover and take down the pins. First trip out with the Intense I shot 100 over my average and finally felt like I had a handle on things.

The Intense is my new go-to ball. This is ball encapsulates what has made Storm the absolute juggernaut of the industry and will continue to do so in the future unparalled innovation and performance. #stormnation
PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Storm Intense by Brian Watson
Post by: StormRoto on November 21, 2017, 01:38:12 PM
  The new ball in the Storm Premier Line is the Intense.  It come with a new  RAD-Eô Core wrapped with the R3S pearl coverstock.  This is the same Cover that is on the Snap Lock.  I drilled mine 5 x 4 x 4.5 pin down.  Lets just say this is the strongest Storm Pearl that I have drilled.  Hank and the guys at the plant got this one right.  For a pearl it has a very strong midlane roll, and its response off the friction is very quick.  I  actually took an abralon pad to mine to calm down the backend motion down some.  Id say its at least 5-6 stronger than Code Red.  Its not as early as the Surelock but overall strength is close with the new core.  Intense should work very well for all styles of bowlers.

Brian Watson
PAP - 3 5/8 up 1 1/4
Speed -16-17
Tilt - 17
RPM - 400
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: rodbowler75 on November 23, 2017, 06:07:00 PM
The new ball in the Storm Premier Line is the Intense. It come with a new RAD-Eô Core wrapped with the R3S pearl coverstock. This is the same Cover that is on the Snap Lock. I drilled mine 4 x 3 x 30 pin down. This is one of the strongest pearls I've drilled yet. Out the box this ball reacts really quick to friction. I actually had to put some surface on this ball to smooth it out. This a great ball if you need a ball with a stronger back end motion than the Code Red.
Title: Intense by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on November 27, 2017, 10:33:45 AM
The Intense is very appropriately named.  For me this is a very aggressive reaction throughout the lane, I said on my videos for it that it almost seems angry, if that word could be used to describe a ball.  It starts revving and hooking and chewing and just never gives up, it keeps coming all the way down the lane.  I donít know how but it seems to continually use energy all the way down the lane but never seems to run out or burn up.  The new core IS called RAD-E, E is for energy, and that also feels like a very appropriate name.  This is the most aggressive pearl ball Iíve ever thrown, and it truly has been a gamechanger for me, I have such a high level of confidence in this ball.  I know itís going to keep coming back from anywhere and everywhere, it very noticeably digs 10s out on shots that I would probably leave them on with other balls, the Intense for me fits my game and what I like to do better than anything else out there at the moment.  Itís an incredibly strong ball, so oil or a higher speed/lower rev game is needed for this ball to be in play, but it was worth it for me to adjust my game a little to take advantage of what this ball offers. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9STRAEw4eQM&t=105s
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: lureman on November 27, 2017, 07:37:00 PM
I drilled the intense the same way I drill all of my bowling balls.  Pin up,45x4 1/2x 40 On this ball I put the weight hole by my thumb.  The intense is the first ball out of my bag on a fresh shot.  I roll the ball down the outside.   It rolls down the lane and turns left when it hits the dry areas.  I have shot set of 729, 729, and 750 out of the box. When the intense starts to hook a little early I go to the code red and roll the same line.  If you like the code line you will love the intense.  I' can't believe that I have not shot 300 yet using this ball.  I have shot(2) 279 leaving the seven pin.  Several bowlers have asked me about the rules of the pearl because of the color.
 Several people want to try it out especially the ones who roll the ball down the outside.  I would recommend getting this bowl and use the Roto Grip and see how the ball reacts rolling it.  I'm a Stroker without a lot of hand so the ball can do the work.
Title: Storm Intense by Storm Staffer Matthew Kemper
Post by: bowlerman147 on November 29, 2017, 09:35:04 AM
Storm Intense Review:
LANE CONDITION
Lane Type: Wood

Length: 43ft

Volume: 23ml

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes:  Smooth ball motion and strong move off the breakpoint.  Very hard drive through the pins
Dislikes: none
The Storm Intense is Storms newest Premier Line release.  The Intense contains the brand new RAD-E Core and is surrounded by the R3S Pearl coverstock.  The Intense is factory polished at 1500 grit which gives the ball length and a strong move off the breakpoint.  I drilled my Intense the pin located above my ring finger and the mass bias just to the right of the thumb hole.  This layout gives me a 3-3.5 inch pin to pap which for me gives the ball more control and more of an arc motion down lane.  This ball is very controllable and predictable.  It rarely jumps on me unless I throw it real bad.  I have hold left and hook right and in my hand is the perfect reaction. 
I recommend this ball to anyone who is looking for that next best thing.  The Intense can be a great benchmark ball as well as a special pattern ball.  I think you can use multiple layouts on this ball and it will still roll nice.  The Intense is a must get ball.
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: TonyMarino on November 29, 2017, 11:40:53 AM
The Intense contains the brand new RAD-E Core and is surrounded by the R3S Pearl coverstock. The Intense is factory polished at 1500 grit which gives the ball length and a strong move off the breakpoint.

In the Premier line this fits perfectly as a move up from the Code Red. The Code series is great, but the covers sometimes arenít strong enough for volumes of oil. The Intenseís R3S cover reads the lane a little earlier but still has a strong midlane roll. It has more of a continuous backend shape that isnít too sharp. The closest thing in the Storm line to the Intense was the Snap Lock since they both shared the same cover, but the Intenseís RAD-E core stores more energy than the Snap Lock ever did.

If you need a strong aysm pearl, you need to drill an Intense.
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: dcutler on November 30, 2017, 08:20:31 AM
My Name is Doug Cutler and I am a Storm Regional Staffer. I am left handed and Throw around 15-17mph. The first Storm Intense I drilled 50 x 4 3/4 x 40. I hit the surface with a Used 3000 Abralon lightly.  All I can say about the Storm Intense is WOW! This is the Strongest Pearl Assym. Ball that I have ever drilled. Right now this ball is my bench mark ball and have used it on multiple lane conditions, like THS, and Boardwalk, and Viper.  This ball I can play multiple parts on the lane and have shown a few videos showing me playing multiple parts on the lane. What is good about this ball is when I tug it in the oil it still has some grit and still hits hard. I even missed it a little left and it does not roll out. I compare this ball with the Code Red and my comparison is the Code Red reads the mid lane a little earlier and a little smoother on the back. The Intense clears the mid lane much smoother and has a much more angular motion on the back. Both the Intense and Code Red are awesome pieces and are a great 1 two Punch and lately these are the 2 balls I have been using. These are 2 balls you need in your bag and it does not matter how you throw the ball, they will work for you. The first time I used the Storm Intense I shot 826. Thank you Ryne Hamblin for drilling this great ball.Thank you Storm for making another Fantastic ball and is going to be another big seller. #Intense #stormnation #bowlupastorm

https://www.facebook.com/doug.cutler.40/videos/pcb.10156441095124119/10156441093164119/?type=3&theater

https://www.facebook.com/doug.cutler.40/videos/pcb.10156441095124119/10156441093724119/?type=3&theater

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10156441093134119&
set=pcb.10156441095124119&type=3&theater

Doug Cutler
Storm Regional Staffer
PBA Regional Champion
Title: Storm Intense Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on November 30, 2017, 11:50:22 AM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  45, 4 ĺ   , 70

The Intense is the perfect step up from the Code Red/Black.  I love my Code series balls, but sometimes they arenít strong enough to handle heavier oil or fresh conditions.  The Intense solves that problem.  It rolls earlier and has a strong midlane roll.  It has a continuous backend, but it isnít too sharp so you can use the Intense on the fresh.  I think the Intense looks a lot like the No Rules Pearl, so I compared it to that too and the Intense has a similar motion but itís a touch stronger than the No Rules Pearl too.  Compared to the Snap Lock the Intense is a touch cleaner through the front and a little slower on the backend.
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: bowlstorm3 on December 06, 2017, 08:48:01 PM
The Intense is a new ball in Stormís premier line. Until recently, I found it difficult to get continuous backend motion with any high end asymmetric bowling ball Ė no matter the company. They tended to start up in the midlane and kind of straighten out on the backend. I always believed this was because I am more up the back at release than anything else. Then, I tried the Code series (Code Black and Red) and everything seemed to change. I saw length and a sharp backend. I was hoping for more of the same out of the Intense with a stronger overall roll. My Intenseís layout is 55 x 5.25 x 45. I went with a slightly longer Pin to PAP than my No Rules Pearl to ensure I would have more length and more pop on the backend. In my opinion, all of the comparisons to it being a more angular No Rules Pearl are correct. Finally, in comparison to my Code Red with a similar layout, the Intense has a familiar, yet stronger reaction as it is earlier without sacrificing backend. 

Title: Intense Review
Post by: Eoff on December 07, 2017, 04:20:23 AM
Outside of the Code series balls, I have not had a lot of success in the past with Strong asymmetrical pearls from Storm.  I do like the No Rules Pearl, so I was optimistic about the Intense. 

I modified my standard layout on the Intense and drilled out the pin in the middle finger.  I kicked the CG out 45 degrees and added a small hole.  For me the Intense is a little stronger and earlier than the No Rules Pearl.  I have been using the Intense on the Route 66 pattern in my Sport league and averaging close to 240 with it.  It reads the mid-lane strong and just keeps going.  It will be great for medium-longer patterns when solids are too strong and you need a little more angle but not as much as a code red or code black.  When the Intense starts to hook too much, I go down to the Code Red.

The Intense is by far the strongest pearl I have ever thrown and will get a lot of use on longer and heavier patterns.

Title: Re: Intense
Post by: Bigmike on December 09, 2017, 03:28:36 PM
I drilled my Intense up 60 x 4.5 x 30. I have not put a weight hole in it and have left it box finish.When I first threw the Intense, it was hard to get it to lay off at the breakpoint. Any little hand movement or hit the fingers and it turned sideways. Now a couple of games of oil in the cover and it's a different ball. I can get in and get on it a little if I want to cover boards or I can get my hand out of it really clean with not much turn or hand motion and it will float the heads and strong arc and just blow the rack. This is a great compliment to one of your high end hook bombs especially if your versatile with your release or speed.
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: rotostar13 on December 14, 2017, 08:03:47 AM
Intense

Pin below bridge cg kicked out 1.5 inches.

40 ft hpl on ths

This ball needs oil and lots of it.  This ball allows me to play deep inside angles with plenty of recovery. I didnt have any problems pulling it into the oil either and still carrying the corners. I did play with the surface some to blend out some of my over under issue and itís very receptive to surface change.  overall this is a nice piece.  This ball also has very good shelf appeal, bright colors and the Moroccan mint scent is pleasant. This ball is available now. Go see your local pro shop professional today. Bowl up a Storm.
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: RGisKing on December 16, 2017, 12:04:07 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:45

Volume:heavy

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Likes:clean through the fronts

Dislikes:none so far

                                    STORM INTENSE

Well, where do I start? I got to throw my Storm Intense for the first time on a 45 foot heavily oiled sport pattern on a synthetic lane surface. I used it box finish on this pattern. Started out the first game trying to keep my angles in front of me and throwing the ball around second arrow. The Storm Intenseís backend reaction was so strong that even after I got loose it was going four pin high. So I moved left three boards with my feet and two with my eyes and the Storm Intense just crushed the pocket and putting ten pins in the pit. This line lasted for several frames and when it went four pin high again so I made the same adjustment. So I bowled several games making the adjustment left every couple of games. So then I took it to league, and for me I started five boards left of the track area and stayed inside of everyone but two bowlers all night. Had a great set with two flat tens and three nine pins and four four pins. Never missed hitting the one three pocket. For me the Storm Intense is cleaner through the fronts, but stronger on the back end than the Snap Lock. Great ball.
PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: tommygn on December 31, 2017, 10:03:38 AM
The Intense is the new asymmetrical ball in the premier line of balls from Storm, the Bowlers Company. The Intense uses the new RAD-E core, that has numbers of 2.49 Rg, 0.050 differential, and 0.017 intermediate differential in 15lb bowling balls. The cover of the Intense is  R3S pearl, and has an appealing color combination of lime, black, and white.

I drilled my Intense with a 4 x 4 x 2 layout. This is the first time I have used this layout. I wanted to try something a bit different, to give a different shape in my bag. The Intense is very clean through the front of the lane, with a strong, firm, change of direction once encountering the friction on the lane. The Intense with this layout for me, is the very definition of skid flip, or hockey stick type reaction. Because of the clean nature through the front of the lane, I have hit the cover with a used 4000 abralon pad, just to ďbreak the cover inĒ.  I have used the Intense on different patterns with different volumes of oil, and the best reaction I have had so far with it, is on USBC White #3. I can start off in the track area on the lane with the Intense, and migrate in on the lane, as the pattern changes, and still get corner, recovery and carry from deeper angles than what I normally can with other asymmetrical bowling balls. I havenít really tried the Intense on really flat patterns yet, as Iím not sure the sudden change of direction would be beneficial, in that environment. The Intense has shown me enough, that I would like to drill another one, using one of my more standard layouts, as this 4 x 4 x 2 seems to have left me with a very condition specific ball, which I anticipated, and is why I went with this layout.

In my opinion, the Intense was designed to offer a really strong change of direction at the friction spot, in which it does. If you want to see that type of reaction, then you really should try an Intense. If you are looking for control, than maybe a different option would be more beneficial for you, like a Marvel pearl or Dare Devil. Thank you for taking the time to read my review of the Storm Intense. As always, donít forget to bowl up a Storm!
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on January 05, 2018, 11:02:44 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:42ft

Volume: medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS
I got the Intense as a replacement for my Code Black due to ball damage. I put my normal 65*5*45 layout on it, no extra hole needed. I was surprised at how clean the ball was. It was significantly longer than all other pearl balls I have/had thrown to date. Compared to the Code Black and No Rules Pearl it is much cleaner than both and has a much sharper angle down lane. It easily clears the front and middle part of the lane.

Nick Smith
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: 12inarowProShop on January 06, 2018, 02:46:11 PM
I recently had to replace my favorite Storm pearlized ball, the Code Black because I used it so much that i've tracked it out. Probably over 120 games. The RAD 4 core with the R2S cover was a great combination so when i heard that the Intense had the RAD-E Core wrapped with the R3S cover, I knew it would be the perfect replacement!
I used my benchmark layout 4x4x2. 5"right X 3/4" up PAP
The reaction I got was so impressive. It was clean through the heads and read the midlane really well. The most impressive thing about it was the backend motion. It stored its energy with this layout so well that its motion through the pin decks was amazing. All tolled, i would say that it gave me 4-5 more boards of backend more than my Code Black.
If you're looking for a ball with tremendous backend motion and great hitting power, the new Storm Intense is for you!
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: fjcallahan on January 17, 2018, 10:01:03 AM
The Intense is Storms high performance release from October. I know it's January and I'm way behind....holiday madness. The new Asymm RAD-E core is wrapped up with the R3S cover. So, first off, this ball hooks a ton....I drilled two of these beasts, one pin up and the other down. Our house shot is a THS, 42 feet in length and we use Kegel Current lane conditioner. I was amazed at how quickly this ball read the lane....with a pearl shell, one would assume a clean front end reaction, nope. The pin down had a very strong arc through the pattern and the pin up was just a touch more angular at the spot. I'm no super star on the lanes and this ball is above my pay grade. I don't have enough axis rotation to move in to the oil where this ball wants to be. I basically flat corner pinned every shot or I'd miss it a touch and go bucket, half bucket. The R3S is just too aggressive for me and my pedestrian skill level. I drilled a few for some other customers and the response was similar..."wow, it hooks" "kinda burns up" or "wow, it really hooks" So, with that, if you bowl on soup and you can't get a ball to read, the Intense is the rock for you. Thanks for reading. #stormnation
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: msipple on February 14, 2018, 10:41:56 AM
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 3 - 4 
Starting Top Weight: 3 oz
Ball Weight: 15
 
DRILL PATTERN
Pin buffer 3 inches

4 x 5 x 3
 
BOWLER STYLE:  RH - Stroker
Rev Rate:  380-420
Ball Speed: 15-16
PAP/Track:  PAP:  5 13/16Ē and 1/2" up
 
SURFACE PREP
Box Finish:  factory 1500 polished
BALL MOTION
Radial Accelerating Diskô (RAD) technology was unveiled in the original X-Factorô series as the first to feature dual density disc technology. More recently, this design premise emerged in the RAD4ô Core powering the Codeô series. With the new Intense, our R&D Team is taking it a step further with the new RAD-Eô Core. The ďEĒ stands for ENERGY as the elongated ellipses near the pin increase the separation of mass as well as the potential energy of this dynamic beast.

 COMMENTS

I drilled the Intense pin up with a 3 inch pin buffer. This ball really goes through the head with a strong backend motion. If you are looking for a ball to go down the lane and make a sharp backend motion this is your ball.

 
Mike Sipple
Storm/Roto Grip/Amateur Staff
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: jlsnell on February 15, 2018, 02:10:43 PM
Pattern: THS
Layout: 45x3x45

The Intense is the strongest asym ball I've ever thrown. When compared to the Soniq, the Intense was much earlier and angular off the spot. I also compared the Intense to the Hyper Cell Fused and Dare Devil Danger. I was 3-4 boards further left with the Intense than both the Fused and Danger. I'm very impressed with how the Intense reads the midlane. It's the earliest polished ball I own and I can see myself using the Intense on medium-long patterns where I may need a little extra pop.

Jasmine Snell
Roto Grip/Storm Staff Member
Title: Re: Intense by Kenny Phillips Jr.
Post by: KPjr300 on February 24, 2018, 07:55:23 PM
Layout: 50 x 4 1/4 x 75

The Intense is a must have in any bowlers bag and is a step up from the Code series. The Intense is very strong but a little earlier than the Code Red. Itís very clean and smoother off the back. For me, it best fits in on any condition when I need some length but not too much. The Intense will be good on sport patterns as well and can handle oil.
Title: Re: Intense
Post by: tommyzero on February 24, 2018, 09:59:56 PM