BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on October 26, 2017, 04:25:47 PM

Title: Dare Devil Danger
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on October 26, 2017, 04:25:47 PM
Ok Dare Devil, you want to bowl with some Danger? Check out this ball! Roto Grip has taken the Madcap core that was introduced in the original Dare Devil ball and combined it with the Psyched Hybrid Reactive coverstock and then finished it with a 1500 grit polish. The Madcap core has proven itself as one that offers midlane roll that continues through the pin deck unlike other symmetrical shaped cores from Roto Grip. The hybrid version of this ball is 2 parts pearl and 1 part solid and offers length through the fronts and a more consistent reaction on the backend. This ball was made for a variety of oil patterns but is best used on medium oil conditions but can be tweaked to handle more oil too. Following the success of the Dare Devil and Dare Devil Trick the Dare Devil Danger will provide a slightly different ball motion with the same pin action that will make the competition take notice.

Color: Red/Orange/Blue
Core: Madcap
Coverstock: Psyched Hybrid Reactive
Finish: 1500-grit Polished
RG: 2.48 (for 15# ball)
Differential: 0.041 (for 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium Oil
Title: Dare Devil Danger Review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on November 20, 2017, 12:44:32 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40 Ft

Volume:Med-High

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Core: Madcap
Cover: Psyched Hybrid
Finish: 1500 Polish
RG: 2.48
Differential: 0.041

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin Under Bridge 70 X4 7/8 X 65

The New Roto Grip Dare Devil Danger is a great benchmark ball. It's one of the most even rolling predictable motions I've thrown and it more than fills the gap left by the discontinued Hywire.

The Dare Devil Danger features the Psyched Hybrid coverstock used on the Wreck-It. I loved the wreck-it on wet/dry lane conditions and this ball is great in that capacity. Especially when the fronts are a little touchier. The 1500 polished finish helps this ball get through the front a little cleaner than the 3000 finish that was featured on the wreck-it. The Madcap core that has been used in the other Dare Devil balls creates a predictable roll and matches well with the coverstock. The result is a medium strength, even rolling ball that will make though difficult conditions feel much more playable.

I tested the Dare Devil Danger on a lower ratio, higher volume pattern. There isn't much miss room right and the middle of the lane hooks. The tendency to try to throw surface to even out the downlane reaction tends to cause the front of the lane to transition very quickly and it requires constant tweaks to keep the ball in play. The Dare Devil Danger will roll where you need it to, clear the fronts and not cause the lanes to transition so quickly. It's a great first ball out of the bag as its smooth even motion very quickly helps you identify where the pattern is defined.

It's not often that a hybrid version of a ball actually fits in the exact middle of it's solid and pearl counterparts but this is definitely that ball. Roto Grip's HP3 line has featured proven performance and it keeps impressing with pieces like this one. Top to bottom theres so much versatility that there really isn't a condition you can't find a ball to match up on.
Title: Re: Dare Devil Danger
Post by: StormAndrew on November 23, 2017, 06:55:21 AM
Are the lanes a bit too choppy? Letís make the switch to the Dare Devil Danger. 2 part pearl, 1 part solid will help you get through the front part of the lane cleanly and provide a controllable motion off the back end towards the pocket.

I changed the surface from the out of box finish to 2000 grit to get a smoother early rolling bowling ball. This ball will be a great step down from the Dare Devil Trick as the lanes begin to transition and you need something to get through the front part of the lane. Also, if the lanes are playing a bit tight down lane this will be a good ball to go to, to get that extra pop off the spot.

Are the lanes putting you in Danger? Make the switch to the Dare Devil Danger!

Video Review:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3A1zaIO5AcE
Title: Re: Dare Devil Danger
Post by: TamerBowling on November 26, 2017, 08:05:08 PM
For complete review, read or listen here:

http://tamerbowling.com/roto-grip-dare-devil-danger-bowling-ball-review/

Excerpt:
The Roto Grip Dare Devil Danger looks like it will be worth its weight in gold. It really seems to fit the traditional mold of the Storm/Roto family in terms of what hybrids do. Thinking how the HyRoad, Defiant Soul, Nomad Dagger, etc. just seem better than the sum of their parts. Time will tell if it will be revered that way but so far, we like what we see.
Title: Dare Devil Danger by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on November 27, 2017, 10:41:44 AM
The Dare Devil Danger has been a very polarizing ball for me.  At first glance, I wasnít a fan, it was a little too jerky on friction and a little too lazy in the oil, but once I realized it was right at home once the track had burnt some, this ball will have a solid place in my bag for a long time to come.  While it doesnít remind me much of the other two Dare Devils, it IS a very good compliment as it offers a look and shape the other two donít.  Itís very similar to the Hywire, so itís long and strong, though not quite as sharp.  The low rg of the core makes it rev very strong, but the medium differential keeps it from gaining too much early traction so it can save it for the backend.  In terms of hook, itís right between the Trick and the original for me, but with more backend shape than either, and is absolutely lethal for me once the lanes have a few games on them and I can get inside and really open things up. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7LQBWnCyBO4&t=62s
Title: Re: Dare Devil Danger
Post by: TonyMarino on November 29, 2017, 12:05:22 PM
The New Roto Grip Dare Devil Danger is the Hybrid version of the original Dare Devil. It uses the Psyched Hybrid coverstock and the Madcap core that has been in all of the Dare Devils.

The one word that I think of when I see this ball roll is, control. This is a smoother shape than any hybrid in the Roto Grip or Storm lines. Like I have heard from a few others, the DD Danger reminds me of the Hywire that used to be in Roto Gripís HP3 line.

Because of the low RG in the core, this ball shapes more like a solid than a hybrid or pearl. I see this ball needing some coverstock tweaks to fit perfectly for some. I hit mine with 4,000 Abralon, and smoothing out that shape just a hair more made it fit right where I needed it to in my bag. So do not be afraid to tweak this super versatile cover!
Title: Dare Devil Danger review by Matthew Kemper
Post by: bowlerman147 on November 29, 2017, 05:42:46 PM
The Roto Grip Dare Devil Danger is Roto Grips newest HP3 line release.  The Danger is the Hybrid version of the Dare Devil and Dare Devil Tricked.  The Danger contains the Madcap Core and is covered with the Psyched Coverstock.  The Danger is factory finished at 1500 grit polish which give the Danger a real aggressive move down lane.  The Danger just flat out hooks.  I drilled mine stronger than my original Dare Devil and similar to my Tricked.  Itís a great compliment to the Tricked because it is much longer and stronger where the Tricked was sooner and smoother.  What I like the most so far is the Danger hooks from different angles.  Iím not afraid to move in with this ball because it reads the mid lane real well which still gives the ball plenty of hitting power to carry corner pins.  I think the Danger is great for medium to longer oil patterns.  I think itís a great step down from a stronger solid like the Tricked or No Rules.  Itís a great bench mark ball for the normal league bowler and if you donít have quite as much hand as others the ball will really help you out. 
Title: Roto Grip Dare Devil Danger Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on November 30, 2017, 11:53:11 AM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  45, 4 ĺ   , 70

The Dare Devil Danger is the perfect blend of the original Dare Devil and Dare Devil Trick.  For me the Dare Devil tended to be a little too clean and the Trick sometimes didnít recover enough on the backend.  The Dare Devil Danger solves both of those problems.  The Solid in the cover picks up plenty early and the pearl in the cover ensures the DDD has a strong backend.  This makes the Dare Devil Danger the perfect benchmark ball for heavy oil. 
Title: Re: Dare Devil Danger
Post by: rotostar13 on November 30, 2017, 07:33:48 PM
Daredevil danger

Pin below bridge cg kicked out 1.5 inches.

40 ft hpl on ths

This ball is a real gem. I was hoping for something better then the last daredevil release. I loved my original daredevil but absolutely hated the trick.  This ball allows me to play deep inside angles with plenty of recovery. I donít have any problems pulling it into the oil and either and still carrying the corners. This ball also have very good shelf appeal. This ball is available now. Go see your local pro shop professional today. Roto Grip Own It.
Title: Dare Devil Danger
Post by: kevenwilliams on December 01, 2017, 06:50:06 PM
Speed: 18mph
Rev Rate: 450rpm
Pattern: Typical House Shot

The Roto Grip Daredevil Danger is just what I needed to compliment my original Daredevil and Daredevil Trick! The Daredevil Danger is earlier than my original Daredevil and has a bigger motion down lane than my Daredevil Trick. The Daredevil Danger fits right in the middle on the three ball family with the Daredevil Danger being the strongest of the three. The Danger is a similar motion to the Hywire but more predictable for me. The Daredevil Danger will be a bench mark ball for many.
Title: Dare Devil Danger - sk8sbowlingreviews
Post by: sk8shorty01 on December 06, 2017, 05:22:01 PM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  325 RPM
Speed:  17.5 MPH
PAP:  5.25 x 1 UP

Location:  Bunswick Harbour Lanes, Melbourne FL
Pattern:  Kegel Wall Street
Layout:  70x 4.5 x 60


The Roto-Grip Dare Devil Danger is a perfect match for me between the original Dare Devil and the Dare Devil Trick.  I really like the Madcap core so I was excited when they wrapped a hybrid coverstock around a core I feel very comfortable with.  The Danger definitely has a stronger mid lane read in comparison to the original, and has a lot more down lane pop than the Trick.  This makes the Danger a perfect compliment to the others, as it fits centered between them.

I personally found the original to be good, but I had to knock the polish off of it on most patterns to get the shape I wanted to see out of it.  Now that the Danger is out I can leave my original with some shine to it and use the Danger in that spot, giving me a great option for later in the day when I now change back to the original.

If you would like to see more, please feel free to check out the video on my YouTube Channel:

https://youtu.be/aW3YwDc8wtM
Title: Re: Dare Devil Danger
Post by: Bigmike on December 10, 2017, 05:27:59 PM
I drilled my DAREDEVIL DANGER 65 x 4.5 x 35 which is my benchmark drilling for about everything that I drill. I have thrown it box finish of 1500 reacta-shine so far but may hit it lightly with 3000 or 4000 depending on if I see it over-under at the spot. So far I like what I see and it gives me a look that reminds me of my HYWIRE's that I still pull out. Good length but smooth transition almost a strong arc at the spot. Compared to my STORM INTENSE and STORM CODE RED, this is not as strong off the point. Not enough motor compared to either ball especially the comparable hybrid CODE RED cover/motor combo. I also put this up against my original DAREDEVIL. The original for me just did not have much off the spot when the lanes had blown up to where it became the only option. The DAREDEVIL DANGER has better shape and just as much length. Put this one in your bag if you want a good shape compared to your DAREDEVIL TRICK or just slightly less than a CODE RED.
Title: Re: Dare Devil Danger
Post by: StoRoto2013 on December 11, 2017, 01:10:14 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: Medium

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Medium Various Patterns


The Dare Devil Danger is the newest release by RotoGrip into their HP3 line of bowling balls.  The Dare Devil Danger has the Psyched Hybrid coverstock that surrounds the proven Madcap Core.  This combination allows the Danger to glide through the front part of the lane with ease with a strong but aggressive motion on the backend.  The Danger is earlier and stronger than the Dare Devil but conserves more energy than the Dare Devil Trick.  The difference between all three bowling balls is very noticeable especially on a sport pattern or maybe a shorter house pattern.  The Dare Devil Trick because of its very aggressive coverstock wants to enter the hook phase a lot sooner than the Dare Devil Danger or the Dare Devil.  This leads to the Dare Devil Trick to lose some of its energy especially when the pattern is breaking down or drying up.  The Dare Devil wants to get down the lane and explode on the backend, sometimes creating an over under situation.  The Dare Devil Danger will be able to solve the dilemma to which ball to go to when the Dare Devil Trick is too soon and not enough down lane and the Dare Devil is too far and too Flippy at the spot.  Dare Devil Danger is strong enough to handle the carry down and but strong enough to blend the over under down lane.  The Dare Devil Danger is polished out of the box but can easily be adjusted to rev sooner if need be.  The Dare Devil Danger was laid out with pin below the fingers with a pretty good size weight down.  The Dare Devil and the Dare Devil Trick also had similar layouts. The coordinates are roughly (45 x 5 x75).  My PAP is 5 5/8 over and ĺ up, ball speed around 15 mph and my rev rate is approx. 300.  I do like to go straighter whenever possible.  The Dare Devil Danger is a good in between ball and will find its way into my league bowling bag.
Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Dare Devil Danger
Post by: rotogrip_rick on December 12, 2017, 02:52:29 PM
Roto Grip Dare Devil Danger
Layout: 55 x 4 ľ x 70 = 1500 grit polished
On the new 46ft THS, the track area has been ďover conditionedĒ so you either down up 3rd arrow, or stay outside of 10. With the ďTRIPLE DDDĒ I was able to get 5 boards deeper on the approach then the new All Out and playing the same area of the lane, around 8L and keeping it out there until the end of the pattern, inside of 12 to 15 the ball slows down a little too much and will tend to hit on the flatter angle into the pocket. 23L and crossing around 12 at the arrows and using 4-6 as the breakpoint was the best angle into the pocket option of this ball A really great ball for medium to light oil patterns and can be adjusted to anybodyís type roll, release and ball speed. One of the best all around balls on the market today, so donít be afraid of a little ďDANGERĒÖ
Title: Re: Dare Devil Danger
Post by: RGisKing on December 16, 2017, 01:11:00 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41

Volume:medium to heavy

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Likes:MAYBE MY NEW FAVORITE

Dislikes:NONE


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Dare Devil Danger
Post by: yellowdog07 on January 09, 2018, 10:15:55 AM
Weight:  14 lbs.
Pin Length:  3.5Ē
Drilling:  30 X 3.5 X 20
Pattern Length: 39 ft.
Pattern Volume:  Medium
Pattern Type:  House
Right Handed

The Dare Devil Danger has the Madcap Core wrapped in the Psyched Hybrid reactive coverstock.  It has a very attractive Red/Orange/Blue shell.  This ball comes out of the box at 1500-grit polished, with a medium to high flare potential.  The cover can be sanded for earlier hook and roll, or left at box if youíre looking to complete your arsenal with a ball to give you more length and good snap off the pattern.

I have used the Dare Devil Danger on house patterns and on a modified tournament shot of 41í.

For our 39 ft. house pattern,I used the Dare Devil Danger at the 1500-grit polished, box finish.    It got through the heads better than I expected, and finishes much stronger off the pattern than i anticipated, continuing through the pins.  As the pattern transitioned, I was able to move in and still carry the corner pins.

On our 40 ft. house pattern, I, again used the Dare Devil Danger at box finish and it was still strong enough for the shot. I was able to play a little further out, more in my comfort zone, on the longer pattern.  This ball saves itís energy for when you need it most.  Right through the pin deck.

On the 41 ft. modified pattern, i hit it with 2000, no polish.  This smoothed out my reaction, gave me an earlier roll and set up nicely for me.  When the lanes transitioned, I went to the pearl Dare Devil and was able to stay in the same zone.

The Dare Devil Danger is a great ball in the popular Dare Devil line.  It is a great complement to the Dare Devil and Dare Devil Trick, filling that spot right between the two in my bag.   The Dare Devil Danger is a fixture in my arsenal these days. 

Carol Teel
Roto Grip Amateur Staff Member
Title: Re: Dare Devil Danger
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on January 19, 2018, 07:54:26 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:39ft and 42ft

Volume: Medium-high volume

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: The DareDevil Danger initially was very jerky when it saw friction and wouldn't quite pick up when I kept it in the oil. I found it to be very over/under. It fits right between the first 2 releases in the Daredevil Line. Mine is harder down lane than both the original and the Trick with the original being the cleanest through down the lane. Once the lanes begin to transition and the track area starts to blend the Danger is very very good. Has great response no matter how far left I have to go. Its not the first ball out of my bag on the fresh but it is definitely the first option to handle transition.

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Dare Devil Danger
Post by: bowlstorm3 on January 27, 2018, 05:41:43 PM
The Roto Grip Dare Devil Danger has the Madcap Core, which is also found in the original Dare Devil and the Dare Devil Trick. The Psyched Hybrid reactive cover is designed for length in the front part of the lane while controlling the response to friction down-lane. This ball does exactly that for me. Where a lot of shiny balls with easy length have uncontrollable sideways motion down-lane, I donít feel like this ball has any erratic behavior to it at all. You can see it read the mid-lane to slow itself down a bit and then it unloads on the backend. I have thrown it on 43 Ė 46 ft house patterns and burnt up patterns as well and I have found it to work nicely on both, as long as you can continue to move left into more oil. I went with a 55 x 5.25 x 45 layout which puts the pin above my middle finger. I think this is a logical transition ball from the Dare Devil Trick when the duller surface of the Trick starts to hook a little too quick and flatten out at the pins.

Video Ball Review:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gSD8rjWebe4
Title: Re: Dare Devil Danger
Post by: fjcallahan on January 29, 2018, 09:43:23 AM
The RotoGrip DareDevil Danger is the third release in this HP3 series. The MadCap Core is back and wrapped in the Psyched Hybrid cover. The DareDevil line has been a strong series of bowling balls from Chris and the crew. Each release is very unique on their own, but as a team, they work really well together. I drilled my ball testers Danger, Keith Demaine, with a very controllable layout. It was a 2 1/2 inch pin just outside and under his ring finger, with the CG just outside and below his thumb. We were looking for a condition specific reaction from this ball and we got it. The Danger was pure arc down the lane and unfortunately with time against us the day of shooting, I could not get a sport shot out on the test lane. The video does this ball no justiceÖ.with as smooth as the reaction was, Keithís rev rate and speed on a walled up house shot, the roll was not impressive. It struggled to turn the corner and hit pretty weakÖagain, we drilled it with shorter sport conditions in mind. Keith used it later on a shorter 3 to 1 pattern and his reports back were excellent. The DareDevil Danger is exactly what youíd assume as a perfect middle ground between the OG DareDevil and the Trick. Once again, great Job to SquadRG! #ownit
Title: Re: Dare Devil Danger
Post by: PJ Haggerty on February 11, 2018, 01:26:47 PM
Roto Grip Dare Devil Danger Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

After drilling with the Roto Grip Dare Devil (pearl) and Dare Devil Trick (solid), creating a hybrid version would be a perfect addition to the HP3 line.  The core hasnít changed (RG of 2.48), but the cover is no a Hybrid version to create more length than the Trick, but the Danger provides and earlier motion than the first Dare Devil. 

Iíve drilled all three Dare Devil balls very similar and had success with all of them.  This one is mapped out as 5 ľ x 4 Ĺ with a small hole two inches under my axis.  Iíve mainly used the Danger on medium-longer patterns because of the low RG numbers in the core and also tweaked the surface to 2000.  The cover is still clean, but the surface helps slow the response time down and create a more predictable shape. 

Iíve noticed the Danger is cleaner and more responsive than the No Rules Exist, but stronger than the All-Out Show Off and Hustle Line.

Go drill one!

#OwnIt
Title: Re: Dare Devil Danger
Post by: StormN3rik on March 07, 2018, 02:07:13 PM
The Roto Grip DareDevil Danger has the same Madcap core that is in the other 2 daredevils but is wrapped this time with a hybrid cover. The motion I get out of this hybrid is a perfect fit in between the pearl daredevil and the trick. When the Trick starts picking up too early, you migrate to the Danger for a nice clean front motion with a strong continuous backend. I lightly touched the cover with a 2000 abralon pad and was super pleased with the results. My Danger layout was 50x3 3/4x70, with a low hole. For all you HP3 Roto lovers, this is a must have! #OwnIt

Erik Ramos

SIB Pro Shop Manager

Storm/Roto Staff
Title: Re: Dare Devil Danger
Post by: tommygn on March 23, 2018, 02:33:45 PM
The Dare Devil Danger is the third ball released using the Madcap core. This version uses a hybrid cover stock called Psyched. The core numbers in a 15lb ball come in at 2.48 Rg, with 0.041differential. The color combination  of orange, red, and blue stands out on the ball return.

I really like the Dare Devil, and Dare Devil Trick, so a new release with a different cover stock was an easy decision to give a try. The Danger is cleaner through the fronts than the Trick, and has more backend reaction than the original Dare Devil. I drilled the Danger with a 4 x 5 x 2 3/4 layout (very similar to my Hy-Wire and the first DD Trick I drilled). The Danger works best for me on medium volume, medium length patterns, as I have kept it at the box finish. The backend reaction, is strong but controllable, best described as a hard arching motion. Comparing the Danger to the Hy-Wire (which is my go to, or bench mark ball), the Danger starts itís roll earlier, and has a more continuous shape through the backend, compared to the slightly more defined change of direction and roll of the Hy-Wire.

I decided to not change the out of box cover prep of the Danger, as I like the shape and motion just the way it is. The cover seems to be cleaner than most covers today, so I donít know that I would want to use this ball with surface, as that is what the Trick is more suited for. The Dare Devil Danger would be a really good option for a bowler looking to replace their Hy-Wire with a bit more overall board coverage, or looking for a more rolling core, that doesnít have ďsnow tiresĒ on it. The Danger would also be a good benchmark ball for bowlers not seeing tons of oil on the lane, or bone dry conditions. Thank you for taking the time to read my review of Roto Gripís Dare Devil Danger. Own It!