BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 10, 2017, 03:01:54 PM

Title: Son!Q
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 10, 2017, 03:01:54 PM
The Storm Son!Q features the Centripetal HD Core which is the offspring of the original Centripetal Core. The core family has provided one of the most dominant shapes in the Storm line of bowling balls. The Centripetal HD Core is denser than any other Storm core so far. This density produces an RG of 2.47 which creates a very low center of gravity which allows this ball to hit the pins at just the right spot to maximize pin carry. To top off this core Storm covered this ball with the proven R2S Pearl Reactive coverstock. This coverstock is known for moving through the front of the lane and then providing awesome movement on the backend. This coverstock offers consistency through the heads that will turn heads.

Color: Blue/Bronze/Gold
Coverstock: R2S Pearl Reactive
Core: Centripetal HD Core (14#-16#), Centripetal Core (12#-13#)
Finish: 1500 Grit Polished Factory Finish
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium-Heavy Oil
RG: 2.47 (15# ball)
Differential: 0.047 (15# ball)
Fragrance: Gingerbread Smores
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: StormAndrew on February 03, 2018, 05:11:09 AM
Ball Review:
The SON!Q features a new HD Core which is a derivative and evolution of the prior cores in the IQ series. They lowered the RG thus creating a higher carry percentage at the pins when entering the pocket.
I loved how I was able to get left with this ball as the lanes transitioned and began to open up the lane. The SON!Q allowed me to get in my comfort zone of playing the inside part of the lane and throwing it left to right with a soft hand. The ball was very clean through the front part of the lane and maintained a lot of energy and hitting power as it made its move towards the pocket. You will definitely see an earlier rolling pearl with the SON!Q and you will also see a lot of continuaition off the spot.
Any bowler who was a fan of the IQ balls will love this ball. The SON!Q gives control, continuation and hitting power.
Make sure you DRILL IT UP!

Video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qFb1OYWtr6A
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: jshoe97 on February 05, 2018, 09:41:23 AM
The SonIQ uses the brand new centripetal HD core, wrapped in the proven R2S Pearl coverstock (commonly known for being on the IQTP and IQ30). This new core provides a much higher flaring ball then the previous IQ’s, while still retaining maximum energy through the pins. I can see this ball first out of my bag during league, and a great transition piece during tournaments. The sonIQ is going to be the perfect median between the Code Red and Hyroad. Be sure to head over to your local pro shop today and place your pre-order for the February 9th release date! #StormNation

Review Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZScfGf6vZw0
Title: Storm Son!Q
Post by: fazzone22 on February 09, 2018, 12:05:59 PM
Just by looking at the name of the SONiQ, you would think it’s apart of the iQ Tour family of balls, have been what many many customers have been telling me. The SONiQ features a new version of the Centripetal HD core giving this ball an RG of 2.47 and a Diff of 0.047 wrapped around the R2S Pearl cover. I drilled mine 6x4x5 with no extra hole. My first few shots with the SONiQ, I noticed how early the core read the lanes yet because of the pearl cover it gave me more pop on the back part of the lane compared to say an iQ Tour Solid. This will be a great ball for bowlers after their benchmark type balls begin to become too much, they will still get the same shape out of the core but the pearl cover will offer more backend motion.
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: msipple on February 15, 2018, 09:42:13 AM
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 4 - 5 
Starting Top Weight: 2.79 oz
Ball Weight: 15
 
DRILL PATTERN
Pin buffer 2 inches

4 x 4.5 x 2
 
BOWLER STYLE:  RH - Stroker
Rev Rate:  380-420
Ball Speed: 15-16
PAP/Track:  PAP:  5 13/16” and 1/2" up
 
SURFACE PREP
Box Finish:  factory 1500 polished
BALL MOTION
The Son!Q is the progeny of one of the most dominant shapes in the Storm lineage: the Centripetal™ Core. Since its inception, the evolution of the design can be traced across the Centripetal™ Core, C3™ Centripetal Control Core, and now the Centripetal HD (high density) Core.

 COMMENTS
I drilled the Drive pin up with a 2 inch pin buffer. This ball is really smooth though the fronts with a great controllable backend motion. For me the Son!q has about the same amount of hook as my Intense just not as angular on the back end. Overall this is a great first ball out of the bag for many conditions.

 
Mike Sipple
Storm/Roto Grip/Amateur Staff
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: rotogrip_rick on February 20, 2018, 07:38:47 AM
Storm SoniQ
Layout: 55 x 4 ¾ x 60
Finish: 1500Ab with factory polish
 
What I saw on the lanes: First off, the whole approach and settee area smelled wonderful because of this ball. Actually had people the pair over walked over and saw it was “one of those smelly bowling balls”, and wondered what the scent was. Now for the lanes, I compared it to the IQ 30 and saw an improvement in the back end and mid lane roll and also a real difference in pin carry, if you watch my youtube video on the ball, you can see a difference in the carry of the pins. The Updated Centripetal HD core delivers an extra punch in the pocket. The ball for me needed a little tweet on the cover stock when being used on SPL and Brunswick lane panels. I adjusted the cover stock to 4000Ab and the ball rolled great again.
Title: Son!Q Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on March 07, 2018, 09:32:02 AM
The Son!Q is an IQ that isn’t exactly an IQ.  The Centripetal HD core is based on the C3 core from the IQ Tour series, but with an even lower RG and a much higher differential, it’s a ball that rolls heavy like an IQ tour, but is much more aggressive in the last 30 feet of the lane.  It uses the same cover as the IQ Tour Pearl, but the core makes its presence known here. The Son!Q features a very strong roll and is in my opinion the strongest ball with the R2S pearl cover that Storm has made, even a few boards stronger than the Code Black.  The Son!Q for me lives up to expectations, and was well worth the wait.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMnzw5CFBXA
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on March 08, 2018, 08:38:40 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 42ft

Volume: medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS
 
WOW!!!!!! That was my first thought of this ball!! This is the closest motion Ive ever seen to the original runs of the Marvel Pearl. I went with a 70*5*50 layout, same exact layout that I put on my Marvel Pearl remake. When I threw the 2 against each other I knew within the first 5 shots that I was gonna be a fan. Compared to the Marvel Pearl remake the SonIQ is alittle earlier and smoother down lane and is more overall. If you are like and didn't care for all the length that the new Marvel Pearls have then the SonIQ is what you are looking for. As soon as I see alittle transition I can right into it and never look back. Such a good compliment to the stronger solids for when the lanes start to hook because it will still get length but will have no problem recovering. A true must have!!!

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: bowlstorm3 on March 09, 2018, 09:48:10 AM
The Storm Soniq has the R2S Pearl coverstock wrapped around the Centripetal HD (high density) Core at a 1500 grit polished finish. I have had recent success with a 55 x 5.25 x 45 layout which puts the pin above my middle finger so I went with this layout on my Soniq to provide a good comparison to other balls in our line. I have primarily thrown this ball on a 43 foot typical house pattern where the Soniq was clean with a strong, defined breakpoint that I would describe as earlier and less angular than my identically drilled Marvel Pearl. Compared to my Dare Devil Danger with the same layout, the Danger is almost identical through the midlane but it is more archy on the backend than the Soniq. I find these 3 balls to complement each other nicely. I have also tried 2000 and 3000 surfaces on the Soniq. For myself, the 3000 surface seems more useful on a typical housewall as it eliminates some of the over under I occasionally see at the polished box surface.

Video Ball Review:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mAwifd7Gb3s
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: rodbowler75 on March 17, 2018, 07:29:37 PM
Drilled the New Storm Soniq and this ball has really been a go to ball on medium to dryer lane conditions for me. Out of the box it was a little to clean so i had to break down the polish because of my loft. Once i changed it i got a chance to see what this ball could do! Very clean in the mid lane and strong change of direction off the spot. This is a must for anyone that is a fan of the IQ line and you liked the Iq 30.
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: RGisKing on March 17, 2018, 08:07:17 PM
STORM SON!Q
The SON!Q uses the brand new centripetal HD core, wrapped in the proven R2S Pearl coverstock which was use on the IQ30. I took my SON!Q to my practice center which has synthetic lanes and a 41’ house shot, I started playing the track area moving left after a few games. For my game I never lost ball motion and was getting the SON!Q to recover from everywhere. One of the best things I liked about the SON!Q was after the lanes were pretty much burnt up, I could me back right, firm up my speed and go up the back of the ball, and I had a great look doing this. Real clean! I can see this ball being first ball out of my bag during league, and a great transition piece during tournaments. For my game the SON!Q is as clean as the IQ30 with a better mid lane read with a stronger backend reaction. When the SON!Q makes its move and hits the pins it’s incredible how hard this ball hits. The SON!Q is going to be the perfect median between the Code Red and Hyroad. Any bowlers that likes the IQ Solid, Fusion or the IQ Pearl is going to really like the SON!Q!!


Length:  41'

Volume:  Heavy

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):  THS

Likes:  Clean through the front

Dislikes:  None so far
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: StoRoto2013 on March 22, 2018, 01:18:35 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40 feet

Volume: medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


The newest addition to the Master line by Storm is the Son!Q.  The Son!Q is sharing the Master Line with the Phase 2 and IQ Tour.  The Master Line was in need of a powerful pearl bowling ball and bam the Son!Q arrives.  Before we go any farther, the Son!Q has become one of my favorite bowling balls ever. The combination of the R2S Pearl cover stock and the Centripetal HD core blends power with finesse.  I drilled the Son!Q pin down with the cg kicked out with a medium sized hole.  For the dual angle peeps 45 X 5.5 X 75 based on my pap which is 5 5/8 over ¾ up, medium ball speed, rev around 300 and right-handed.  My A game is playing to the right with straighter angles which usually makes league fun.  I may start targeting around 7 to 8 and by the end of the night I am targeting around 15 or deeper at the arrows.  The Son!Q allows me to continue to more left and not have to change balls.  The only time I can do this is when I am throwing an IQ Tour.  The Son!Q has the predictability that the IQ Tour provides but with more length and backend power!  Also who does not love Gingerbread and Smores?  No One!

The Son!Q is the first ball out of my bag whether it is a tournament or league play. Versatility and Power usually do not go together but in this case it does!  Son!Q


Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Storm Son!Q review by Brian Watson
Post by: StormRoto on March 24, 2018, 07:12:23 PM
The SONiQ features a new version of the Centripetal HD core giving this ball an RG of 2.47 and a Diff of 0.047 wrapped around the very successful R2S Pearl cover.
With the letters IQ in the name you know this is going to be a great ball.  One of my favorite balls of all time is the IQ Tour Pearl.  So I was pretty excited to drill the Son!Q with have the same great cover.  But the Son!Q has a lower RG and higher diff.  Which it creates great ball reaction.  I drilled mine pin down, 4.5 x 4 x 4.5 no hole.
For me I get a ball that reads the mids just enough to keep it from squirting and have a hard arcing motion downlane not flippy.
A very good addition to the Storm Line!

Brian Watson
PAP - 3 5/8 up 1 1/4
REV rate - 400
Speed - 16
Tilt - 17

Storm/RG Pro Shop Staff
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: rotostar13 on March 27, 2018, 08:56:16 PM
Layout pin above ring finger cg 1.5 inches to the right of center line

Condition: 40 ft ths on hpl

This ball is ridiculous. I can't say how good this ball is on the house shot. I was able to play the right up 10 or or belly it out alittle and watch the ball rev up and just destroy the pocket. This ball has a great shelf appeal and it's fragrance is s'mores. This ball is available now. Go out and see you local pro shop professional to get one today. You won't be disappointed. Bowl up a storm.
Title: Storm Son!q Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on March 28, 2018, 02:19:57 PM

Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  45, 4 ¾   , 70

The SON!Q is a great new piece from Storm.  Its’ got the R2S Pearl cover (IQ Pearl, Code Black, HyRoad Pearl) and a new modified Centripetal core that rev’s up quick and continues a TON!  The SON!Q is super versatile.  It’s clean through the fronts but still revs up quick enough to catch a consistent midlane.  I have a pin down one that I can play straighter with and a pin up one I can move in and open up the lane.

The SON!Q is the new benchmark ball from Storm!
Title: Storm Soniq by Matthew Kemper
Post by: bowlerman147 on March 29, 2018, 06:45:58 PM
Storm Soniq Review:
LANE CONDITION
Lane Type: Wood

Length: 43ft

Volume: 23ml

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

The Storm Soniq is Storm’s newest Master line ball and a continuation of the very good IQ line.  The Soniq has the Centripetal HD Core and is covered with the R2S Pearl coverstock finished at 1500 grit polished.  I drilled my Soniq with a stacked layout with the pin above my bridge to give me a little more backend reaction.  I have found the Soniq to be pretty strong compared to the Hyroads and is very similar to the IQ 30.  The biggest difference between those two is I found the Soniq reads the middle part of the lane a lot sooner than the IQ 30 but both balls have comparable back end strength. 
I recommend the Soniq for anyone who wants to Upgrade their current IQ 30 or IQ pearl or for anyone looking for a solid benchmark ball for house shot leagues who need extra reaction. 
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: Bigmike on March 31, 2018, 08:25:31 AM
I drilled up my SonIQ with a dual angle layout of 65/4.75/35 with a weight hole 5" across my midline. This put the pin up above my ring finger with the CG slightly to the right of my span. I have touched the surface lightly with a 4000 pad a couple of times but mostly thrown it with box finish. The weight hole was mainly to get it back to legal specs.

I have thrown the SonIQ on a variety of conditions like house, modified house, PBA Don Johnson (40 ft), and our state tournament shot. The one thing that stands out on all of them is the cover out of box gets good length thru the front of the lane. The core revs up pretty well and the SonIQ is what I prefer when I need push on slightly burnt heads.

I usually will start one of my leagues on modified house with a couple of different DAREDEVIL DANGERS, one with surface and a rolly layout and the other shined with a little more length and back end. When those become too early in the front or get harder to push down the lane, then it is SonIQ time.

I also have thrown my SonIQ with my HUSTLE INK and HUSTLE HYB. My HYB is smoother and a little earlier move than the SonIQ. The INK is definitely longer thru the front part of the lane. The one thing is that neither HUSTLE has the back end motion of the SonIQ.

Put this one in your bag when you need something to get thru choppy fronts but want a good and crisp motion on the back end of the lane. I will venture that the SonIQ can be thrown with much more surface on it like 2000 or 1000 but I have other pieces in my arsenal to fill those spots.
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: TamerBowling on April 03, 2018, 07:20:57 AM
4 testers - 2 patterns
http://tamerbowling.com/storm-soniq-bowling-ball-review/
Excerpt:
I had to step back and opine on what we saw with the Storm Son!Q. I recalled how when I first got a HyRoad years ago, I wasn’t happy with it at the outset. Why? I felt like the ball was too strong off the dry boards, making it a bit sharp downlane. Once I had some play with it, I fell in love and the rest is history. I feel like the Soniq has the potential for the same fate. I really want to see that shine off and allow a smoother transition, taking advantage of both the clean nature of the R2S cover and the rolly nature of the Centripetal HD Core. The fact that everyone could find the pocket very easily bodes well. The fact that we would want to change surfaces adds a level of uncertainty but we know for a fact surface changes are very effective on R2S. The heavy roll but strong motion off the dry made the Soniq even better on sport than house for us. I think a little more volume or length on the house shot would give the Soniq a better look. If you are informed about what you’re getting here, you can make the right decisions on how to fit this ball in your arsenal and what surface changes if any might be needed to get it where you want it to be. Let’s not lose site of the fact that is is pretty difficult to get a flippy motion while still maintaining a heavy roll and that’s what Storm accomplished here.
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: chrisglaz on April 04, 2018, 05:19:57 PM
The IQ line has been very good too me, so when I saw a new ball in the IQ line, I was beyond excited. I have been using the SONIQ since the early release the first week of February. It has not disappointed yet, on the THS, or on the last 2 tournaments I have bowled. SO the THS here is 42 feet, the ball walks to the pocket standing 20 crossing 15 out to 10. The 2 tournaments were 41 and 47 feet, on both the ball had great reaction and recovery to the left. Even the move left it keep striking.

numbers: right handed, tweener, 55x4x40 my PAP 4 5/8 over 1/2 up.

chris glaz,
storm pro shop staff
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: cmattingly on April 09, 2018, 04:25:02 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 42'

Volume: 21.8 mL

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Doesn't over react off the dry
 Upgrade to the Marvel Pearl

Dislikes: Fits a niche spot in my bag

My Layout is 75 x 5-1/2 x 35.  This puts the pin above the bridge and the CG in the palm.

I have to compare this ball to the Marvel Pearl.  The Marvel Pearl for me reads the midlane VERY well and can almost be sluggish for me in the back. There are times when I just can't get the angle I need, with the Marvel Pearl, to carry, after I've chased the pattern left.  The Son!Q does NOT do this!  I get a little more length and a just enough backend to get very good angle and carry with the Son!Q.  Later in the night when I have to get in deeper (4th arrow and left) the Son!Q does not jump off the dry when I miss right.  I really feel like it gives me a lot of room later in the night.  With the Factory Polish that the Son!Q comes with, It's just not the look I want on the fresh for our house shot.

Casey Mattingly
Storm/RotoGrip Staff
Turbo Grips Staff


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: TonyMarino on May 10, 2018, 09:58:06 AM
SoniQ
The Storm SoniQ (pronounced sonic) uses the Centripetal HD core and is wrapped in the famous R2S pearl cover.

The new HD core has a IQ-ish motion. It rolls heavier than any of its IQ siblings and the R2S pearl makes it glide very easy through the front part of the lane. I think this is one of the strongest pearls in the Storm lineup. I have it a little sharper down lane than the Code Black and rolls much heavier than a Hyroad pearl (all 3 balls have the same cover). So SoniQ fits nicely if you need a ball that corners hard and rolls heavy.
Title: Re: Son!Q Ball Review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on May 10, 2018, 05:11:08 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:39

Volume:Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): 5:1 Modified Pattern


COMMENTS

Cover: R2S Pearl Reactive
Weightblock:  Centripetal HD Core
Finish: 1500 Polished
RG: 2.47
Differential: 0.047

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin over ring 60 x 4 3/4 x 28

The Storm Soniq is the newest version of the incredible !Q line that has made Storm the Ball technology leader in the bowling industry. The Soniq teams up the Centripedal HD core with R2S pearl reactive coverstock. Anyone who loved the !Q Pearl imagine the same performance with even more versatility.

I tested the Soniq on a lower ratio pattern. It's very impressive how many angles you can open up with this ball on a tough pattern. It is so consistant in the midlane that you can reach the breakpoint from almost any angle and still see the ball continue through the pins. The quicker revving core makes it noticeably smooth for a Pearl. The cover keeps it coming after the midlane read and pin action is great.

I also threw some shots on a higher volume, higher ratio house pattern. The mark of versatility to me is the ability of a ball to be useful whether you are reading a tough lane front to back or an easy one side to side. The Soniq has so much forgiveness on a cliffed pattern that it's surprising how good it looks on tougher lanes too. In short the Soniq is useful everywhere you want to throw it. This ball is a great asset to those of us in the Pro Shop industry as it can fit virtually any game under any circumstances.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: PJ Haggerty on May 21, 2018, 11:44:20 PM
Storm Soniq Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

The IQ line has been very successful for Storm, and the Soniq is a perfect addition to it.  With an RG bring lower on the Soniq (2.47) versus the famous IQ solid (2.49), this gives all styles of players a very versatile ball and a ball that can be used on many types of patterns.  I’ve drilled two Soniq’s so far and enjoyed both of them.

The first one is mapped out as 5 x 4.5 with a surface of 2000.  The pin is above my bridge and this layout gives me a very predictable motion because the RG is so low, but also gives me length because the pin is above my fingers.  I normally use this Soniq after the pattern transitions and I can open my angles.

The second one I drilled is 5 x 3.5 with a hole under my axis.  This puts the pin below my bridge and gives me an earlier motion with a slower reaction time as well.  I’ve had success using this on medium-longer patterns and when the ‘big’ balls are too strong.  It gives me a great compliment to the Sure Lock, Hyper Cell Fused, and Intense. 

Overall, if you need a benchmark ball that can be used on all types of patterns, history has shown the IQ line has been successful, and the Soniq is a perfect fit.

#StormNation
Title: Son!Q
Post by: Haley3 on June 03, 2018, 11:06:42 AM
Storm Soniq

Gender : Female 
Speed :  16.5 mph
Rev Rate : 315
P.A.P : 4 1/2 & 1 - 1/8 up

Skill Level   : Upper Mid Performance
Color   : Blue/Bronze/Gold
Coverstock   : Pearl Reactive
Lane Condition   : Heavy-Medium Oil
Finish   : 1500 Abralon
Flare Potential   : Medium-High

I could not wait to get this ball drilled. I loved the look and the shape that I seen in the teaser videos. After I got a chance to throw it myself it definitely  exceeded my expectations. I loved how clean it was through the fronts but still started up a bit earlier then my Code Red to allow me to use it on patterns with a little more volume. I now start with this ball during my leagues mainly because it only forces me to move about 2-4 boards throughout the night. Great ball for a bowler with low rev rate allowing them to create a good angle to the pocket.

Haley Lundy
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: nibrocmc on June 05, 2018, 11:06:58 PM
Storm Soniq

Being that I loved the original IQ Tour (had 6 of them) I couldn't wait to get me hands on the new Soniq. Once I got it I put my favorite drilling on it which is pin above my ring finger and the cg 1.5 inches from my center grip with a low hole and I wasnt disappointed. This balls goes longer than the Tour and bounces out the end of the pattern harder for me. When the fronts start to go this ball allows me to move in more and still have the confidence that I need. #StormNation
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: fjcallahan on June 06, 2018, 09:16:33 AM
The SonIQ is the latest Master Line release from Storm. It features the tried and true R2S pearl cover and a high density variation of the popular Centripetal core, with a 2.47 RG and a .047 diff, the SonIQ creates a ton of torque in the mid lane. I drilled mine with a 5 inch pin above my fingers with my cg kicked a bit right of my grip center...that's my go to layout considering my higher tilt and ball speed. I was very comfortable right away on our THS which is 42ft feet, 24 mils and walled up just right for everyone to be around the pocket. The SonIQ is a lot like the gold IQ but with a bit more control of the breakpoint, it does backend pretty hard but it offers more predictability in my opinion. My first night with it was fun, I could stay around ten and I had 3 to 5 boards of miss room right....bounce it off the gutter and watch the fireworks!!! The core hit very well and kept the pins down. I bowled on the USBC White 2 pattern in our state tourney, that shot is not hard by any means, but it has a bit more conditioner and some flatter ratio compared to a THS. I had to get more right, but I ended up bowling pretty well with the SonIQ. As long as I didn't miss too far right, the SonIQ had enough power to get back and slap some pins around. Since drilling this ball it has not left my bag, I loved the Marvel Pearl and the SonIQ rolls pretty close to it. I've drilled a bunch of them for my customers and it's got a few of them some new honor scores. Cheers to Chad and the gang for another fun ball to roll. #stormnation
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: tommygn on June 07, 2018, 12:46:42 PM
The Son!Q is the latest release from Storm in the Master line. Son!Q has a new version of the Centripetal core called HD (high density) which creates a lower RG than previous versions, coming in at 2.47 with a diff of 0.047 in 15lbs. Using a blue/bronze/gold, R2S pearl cover finished at 1500 polish, the Son!Q has reminded me of the Anarchy while sitting on the ball rack. The Son!Q has a Gingerbread s'mores scent, for those of you taking note.

I drilled my Son!Q using the layout 4 ¼ x 5  x 2 ½. Comparing the Son!Q to my Dare Devil (same layout), the Son!Q has a stronger cover and handles oil better, and reacts stronger to the dry boards once encountering friction. The Son!Q doesn't seem to slow down as fast as the Marvel pearl, which creates a little more change of direction at the breakpoint. For me personally, the Son!Q has a very similar shape on the lanes as the Optimus had. The low RG core in the Son!Q does need some oil in the front of the lane for bowlers who may be softer with their speed, even though it is a polished finish. On a side note, I am a big fan of the !Q30, and !Q tour pearl, and the Son!Q is a perfect complement to those balls, when they begin to lag downlane, or become a little dart/dive type reaction. The Son!Q does a great job of evening that out. Heavy handed bowlers will like the Son!Q on higher volume house conditions, when they are trying to open up the pattern. Weaker releases will find usage from the Son!Q on medium conditions, and some tournament patterns that are a touch flatter as the ball will get into a roll for them and open up the pocket a bit.

The Son!Q is a good ball, and has a specific place in my arsenal. If your Marvel Pearl or Dare Devil are starting to show signs of a lot of usage, it is time to give a Son!Q a try, and freshen up the backend move to the pocket! Thank you for taking the time to read my review of Storm’s Son!Q.
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: Kevin Duncan on June 07, 2018, 09:20:39 PM
Storm SoniQ
Layout: 55 x 4.5 x 30
Rev Rate: 300 rpm
Testing information: 41 foot THS – Kegel Machine – Brunswick Anvilane
Test Results: What a great ball – smells good too (Gingerbread Smores)! The Storm SoniQ utilizes the Centripetal HD (high density) Core and R2S Pearl Reactive Coverstock. The R2S coverstock was also used in the Hy-Road and IQ Tour balls, and a key part of their success. Storm hit a home run with the combination of this core and shell. The pearl coverstock allows for easy length through the front part of the lanes and the low RG of the high-density core keeps it from skidding through the break point. The back-end motion is strong with continuation through the pins. For me, it is a great combination that allows me to be able to use this ball on a lot of different conditions. I will probably choose a stronger ball with surface for the heavier oil patterns but the SoniQ will be one of the first balls I switch to once the pattern break down starts to occur. Looking forward to having this ball in my arsenal for a long time. #Stormnation
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: dcutler on June 08, 2018, 10:14:30 AM
My Name is Doug Cutler and I am a Storm/Roto Grip Regional Staffer. I am left handed and I my ball speed is between 15-16mph. The ball review today is on the Storm Soniq and I want to say that this ball is a special one.  I have used this ball on numerous patterns and was able to use it which is great because it is not a ball that is for a specific pattern. The surface I have on my Soniq, is I lightly hit the surface with a 3000 Abralon pad.  I drilled the Soniq with the Pin Above my Ring finger and CG kicked to the left just a little.The Soniq is very clean through the midlane and has a strong back end reaction. I hit the surface with the 3000 pad to blend the motion and be very controllable. The Soniq I have shot 1-300, and 2-800 series(802,816).  I compare the Soniq with the Storm Drive. The Soniq against the Drive for me the Soniq is cleaner through the mid then the Drive, and the Soniq is much more angular in the back then the Drive. These 2 balls are really great for me and they are a great 1-2 punch.  I normally start out with the Drive on our House Shot and then when I start to get early hook and start to leave some 7 pins I go with the Soniq and I can stay in the same spot or even move right a few boards and open up the lane a little. This ball works really good on THS, and Medium to Oily Lanes. This is a ball I would highly recommend you need in your bag, and is a really good House Shot ball, Oh and it really Smells good also!! #stormsoniq, #stormnation #bowlupastorm

Doug Cutler
Storm/Roto Grip Regional Staffer
PBA Regional Champion