Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 10, 2017, 03:01:54 PM

Title: Son!Q
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 10, 2017, 03:01:54 PM
The Storm Son!Q features the Centripetal HD Core which is the offspring of the original Centripetal Core. The core family has provided one of the most dominant shapes in the Storm line of bowling balls. The Centripetal HD Core is denser than any other Storm core so far. This density produces an RG of 2.47 which creates a very low center of gravity which allows this ball to hit the pins at just the right spot to maximize pin carry. To top off this core Storm covered this ball with the proven R2S Pearl Reactive coverstock. This coverstock is known for moving through the front of the lane and then providing awesome movement on the backend. This coverstock offers consistency through the heads that will turn heads.

Color: Blue/Bronze/Gold
Coverstock: R2S Pearl Reactive
Core: Centripetal HD Core (14#-16#), Centripetal Core (12#-13#)
Finish: 1500 Grit Polished Factory Finish
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium-Heavy Oil
RG: 2.47 (15# ball)
Differential: 0.047 (15# ball)
Fragrance: Gingerbread Smores
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: StormAndrew on February 03, 2018, 05:11:09 AM
Ball Review:
The SON!Q features a new HD Core which is a derivative and evolution of the prior cores in the IQ series. They lowered the RG thus creating a higher carry percentage at the pins when entering the pocket.
I loved how I was able to get left with this ball as the lanes transitioned and began to open up the lane. The SON!Q allowed me to get in my comfort zone of playing the inside part of the lane and throwing it left to right with a soft hand. The ball was very clean through the front part of the lane and maintained a lot of energy and hitting power as it made its move towards the pocket. You will definitely see an earlier rolling pearl with the SON!Q and you will also see a lot of continuaition off the spot.
Any bowler who was a fan of the IQ balls will love this ball. The SON!Q gives control, continuation and hitting power.
Make sure you DRILL IT UP!

Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: jshoe97 on February 05, 2018, 09:41:23 AM
The SonIQ uses the brand new centripetal HD core, wrapped in the proven R2S Pearl coverstock (commonly known for being on the IQTP and IQ30). This new core provides a much higher flaring ball then the previous IQ’s, while still retaining maximum energy through the pins. I can see this ball first out of my bag during league, and a great transition piece during tournaments. The sonIQ is going to be the perfect median between the Code Red and Hyroad. Be sure to head over to your local pro shop today and place your pre-order for the February 9th release date! #StormNation

Review Video:
Title: Storm Son!Q
Post by: fazzone22 on February 09, 2018, 12:05:59 PM
Just by looking at the name of the SONiQ, you would think it’s apart of the iQ Tour family of balls, have been what many many customers have been telling me. The SONiQ features a new version of the Centripetal HD core giving this ball an RG of 2.47 and a Diff of 0.047 wrapped around the R2S Pearl cover. I drilled mine 6x4x5 with no extra hole. My first few shots with the SONiQ, I noticed how early the core read the lanes yet because of the pearl cover it gave me more pop on the back part of the lane compared to say an iQ Tour Solid. This will be a great ball for bowlers after their benchmark type balls begin to become too much, they will still get the same shape out of the core but the pearl cover will offer more backend motion.
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: msipple on February 15, 2018, 09:42:13 AM
Pin Length: 4 - 5 
Starting Top Weight: 2.79 oz
Ball Weight: 15
Pin buffer 2 inches

4 x 4.5 x 2
Rev Rate:  380-420
Ball Speed: 15-16
PAP/Track:  PAP:  5 13/16” and 1/2" up
Box Finish:  factory 1500 polished
The Son!Q is the progeny of one of the most dominant shapes in the Storm lineage: the Centripetal™ Core. Since its inception, the evolution of the design can be traced across the Centripetal™ Core, C3™ Centripetal Control Core, and now the Centripetal HD (high density) Core.

I drilled the Drive pin up with a 2 inch pin buffer. This ball is really smooth though the fronts with a great controllable backend motion. For me the Son!q has about the same amount of hook as my Intense just not as angular on the back end. Overall this is a great first ball out of the bag for many conditions.

Mike Sipple
Storm/Roto Grip/Amateur Staff
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: rotogrip_rick on February 20, 2018, 07:38:47 AM
Storm SoniQ
Layout: 55 x 4 ¾ x 60
Finish: 1500Ab with factory polish
What I saw on the lanes: First off, the whole approach and settee area smelled wonderful because of this ball. Actually had people the pair over walked over and saw it was “one of those smelly bowling balls”, and wondered what the scent was. Now for the lanes, I compared it to the IQ 30 and saw an improvement in the back end and mid lane roll and also a real difference in pin carry, if you watch my youtube video on the ball, you can see a difference in the carry of the pins. The Updated Centripetal HD core delivers an extra punch in the pocket. The ball for me needed a little tweet on the cover stock when being used on SPL and Brunswick lane panels. I adjusted the cover stock to 4000Ab and the ball rolled great again.
Title: Son!Q Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on March 07, 2018, 09:32:02 AM
The Son!Q is an IQ that isn’t exactly an IQ.  The Centripetal HD core is based on the C3 core from the IQ Tour series, but with an even lower RG and a much higher differential, it’s a ball that rolls heavy like an IQ tour, but is much more aggressive in the last 30 feet of the lane.  It uses the same cover as the IQ Tour Pearl, but the core makes its presence known here. The Son!Q features a very strong roll and is in my opinion the strongest ball with the R2S pearl cover that Storm has made, even a few boards stronger than the Code Black.  The Son!Q for me lives up to expectations, and was well worth the wait.
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on March 08, 2018, 08:38:40 AM

Length: 42ft

Volume: medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

WOW!!!!!! That was my first thought of this ball!! This is the closest motion Ive ever seen to the original runs of the Marvel Pearl. I went with a 70*5*50 layout, same exact layout that I put on my Marvel Pearl remake. When I threw the 2 against each other I knew within the first 5 shots that I was gonna be a fan. Compared to the Marvel Pearl remake the SonIQ is alittle earlier and smoother down lane and is more overall. If you are like and didn't care for all the length that the new Marvel Pearls have then the SonIQ is what you are looking for. As soon as I see alittle transition I can right into it and never look back. Such a good compliment to the stronger solids for when the lanes start to hook because it will still get length but will have no problem recovering. A true must have!!!



Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: bowlstorm3 on March 09, 2018, 09:48:10 AM
The Storm Soniq has the R2S Pearl coverstock wrapped around the Centripetal HD (high density) Core at a 1500 grit polished finish. I have had recent success with a 55 x 5.25 x 45 layout which puts the pin above my middle finger so I went with this layout on my Soniq to provide a good comparison to other balls in our line. I have primarily thrown this ball on a 43 foot typical house pattern where the Soniq was clean with a strong, defined breakpoint that I would describe as earlier and less angular than my identically drilled Marvel Pearl. Compared to my Dare Devil Danger with the same layout, the Danger is almost identical through the midlane but it is more archy on the backend than the Soniq. I find these 3 balls to complement each other nicely. I have also tried 2000 and 3000 surfaces on the Soniq. For myself, the 3000 surface seems more useful on a typical housewall as it eliminates some of the over under I occasionally see at the polished box surface.
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: rodbowler75 on March 17, 2018, 07:29:37 PM
Drilled the New Storm Soniq and this ball has really been a go to ball on medium to dryer lane conditions for me. Out of the box it was a little to clean so i had to break down the polish because of my loft. Once i changed it i got a chance to see what this ball could do! Very clean in the mid lane and strong change of direction off the spot. This is a must for anyone that is a fan of the IQ line and you liked the Iq 30.
Title: Re: Son!Q
Post by: RGisKing on March 17, 2018, 08:07:17 PM
The SON!Q uses the brand new centripetal HD core, wrapped in the proven R2S Pearl coverstock which was use on the IQ30. I took my SON!Q to my practice center which has synthetic lanes and a 41’ house shot, I started playing the track area moving left after a few games. For my game I never lost ball motion and was getting the SON!Q to recover from everywhere. One of the best things I liked about the SON!Q was after the lanes were pretty much burnt up, I could me back right, firm up my speed and go up the back of the ball, and I had a great look doing this. Real clean! I can see this ball being first ball out of my bag during league, and a great transition piece during tournaments. For my game the SON!Q is as clean as the IQ30 with a better mid lane read with a stronger backend reaction. When the SON!Q makes its move and hits the pins it’s incredible how hard this ball hits. The SON!Q is going to be the perfect median between the Code Red and Hyroad. Any bowlers that likes the IQ Solid, Fusion or the IQ Pearl is going to really like the SON!Q!!

Length:  41'

Volume:  Heavy

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):  THS

Likes:  Clean through the front

Dislikes:  None so far