BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 10, 2017, 03:09:15 PM

Title: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 10, 2017, 03:09:15 PM
The Original Hy-Road was introduced in 2008 and bowling hasn't been the same since. Now Storm is introducing the Hy-Road Nano. This bowling ball takes the same Inverted Fe2 Technology core found in the other Hy-Road balls and pairs it with NRG nanotechnology Solid Reactive coverstock that was introduced with the Virtual Gravity Nano. This cover increases oil traction helping to control the midlane. The core in this ball has less material allowing the ball to have a thicker shell which produces more energy that transfers to the pins and allows less deflection. The Hy-Road Nano continues the tradition of more power and control due to enhanced dynamics.

Color: Black/Purple
Coverstock: NRG Solid Reactive
Core: Inverted Fe≤ Technology (14#-16#)
Finish: 2000-grit Abralon
Fragrance: Coconut Cream
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: jshoe97 on November 19, 2017, 01:13:10 PM
As probably one of the most anticipated balls of 2017, the all new hy-road nano is set to release on December 1st. This all new hy-road has the same great proven engine thatís been in all its predecessors, but now is wrapped in the NRG coverstock. This provides a super clean ball reaction that will hook on the heaviest of oils. Personally for my game, the hy-roads and tours are staples in my bag. I have multiple of each with different layouts and surfaces. This hy-road will fit perfectly between my phaze ll and code red. Providing me just as much overall motion is the phase ll, with just a little cleaner ball reaction for when the fronts start to go, but the lanes arenít quite transitioned enough for the code red to be in play. Be sure to pre-order your own hy-road nano now from your local pro shop for the December 1st release date! #StormNation

Review Video: https://youtu.be/HLckQMISKp0
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano by Keven Williams
Post by: kevenwilliams on November 22, 2017, 03:47:43 PM
Hyroad Nano:
Speed: 18mph
Rev Rate: 450rpm
Pattern: Typical House Shot

The Storm Hyroad Nano is a ball motion that I have loved in the past and this one tops them all. The Storm Hyroad Solid would be a little too early at times and just couldnít get around the corner downline. The Hyroad Nano has no problem with that! The original Hyroad and Hyroad Pearl are easily the cleanest balls storm makes and the Hyroad Nano fits right in the gap they were missing. Its still clean in the fronts but earlier than the other Hyroads and much smoother. This ball is going to be around for a long time!
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: StormAndrew on November 23, 2017, 06:02:24 AM
I absolutely love my Hy-Road Nano. This will be one of my go-to benchmark balls when starting off league or tournament play. The ball is very smooth, controllable and has great hitting power at the pins.

I kept the surface to out of the box finish (2000 grit) and I loved the shape that this ball provided. I bowled on a medium volume house shot and I got left immediately (See video link below). The layout I placed on this ball is 45x 3Ĺx35.

This ball will provide bowlers of all styles many options. This is an extremely versatile bowling ball that will be use from medium to heavy house conditions to sport and challenge conditions. I am excited to use this ball going forward!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=obNTUvpFZtw
Title: Hy-Road Nano Review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on November 27, 2017, 10:23:55 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 41 Ft

Volume:High

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):Low Ratio Blended House


COMMENTS

Cover: NRG Solid
Weightblock: Inverted Fe2
Finish: 2000
RG: 2.57
Differential: 0.046

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin Over Ring 60 X 4 7/8 X 30

The all new Storm Hy-Road Nano is the newest ball in perhaps the most popular line of balls in Storm's history. The high RG, High Differential Fe2 core that has driven every ball in the Hy-Road line comes wrapped in Nanotechnology. Both components are proven performers in the Storm line. Nano has come to mean traction, Fe2 means hitting power. This creates a motion that is ideal on a number of conditions, because it gives you a consistent read and great continuation.

I tested the Hy-Road Nano on a low-ratio blended house pattern. It has a considerable out-of-bounds area that forces you inside. If the ball doesn't pick up consistently where needed, the over/under can make you feel like you're in jail. The great advantage of the Nano is not only does it give you the consistent read but it's continuation will save some of your slight misses to the right. This forgiveness only multiplies on a higher ratio pattern.

The versatility of the Hy-Road Nano is unmatched. I have yet to find the condition you can't match up on with this ball on your hand. It also responds beautifully to surface adjustments, although in my opinion it requires far less of them then most balls I've thrown.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Hy-Road Nano by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on November 27, 2017, 10:45:30 AM
The Hyroad Nano has been a very anticipated ball, and for me it doesnít disappoint.  Itís just as good as youíd expect it to be from the name, but the reaction is very humble and simple, itís easily the most balanced ball in terms of reaction Iíve ever thrown.  Itís been hard for me to come up with good descriptive terms for it because itís so even across the board.  If anything, itís on the smooth-ish side with a slow-ish response to friction, so lots of control, but still a surprising amount of hit.  For regular use on a house shot it will likely need some polish, but on medium to heavier volume sport patterns, this ball will be a factor.  This ball DEFINITELY reminds me of the Hyroad, very similar shape, just earlier and smoother and about 4-5 boards stronger overall.  Very near the Phaze 2 in terms of overall hook, but with a smoother move on the backend.  For me, the hype is well deserved, I very confidently recommend this ball. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IDKs2oG0zPQ
Title: Storm HyRoad Nano Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on November 30, 2017, 11:55:13 AM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  45, 4 ĺ   , 70

The HyRoad Nano is a benchmark ball for todayís patterns/oils. For the past couple years, Iíve had a hard time matching up with the original HyRoad and HyRoad Pearl because they were just too clean for todayís lane surfaces and oil patterns.  The HyRoad Nano takes care of that problem!  It features one of the strongest solids Storm has ever produced in the NRG Solid cover.  The HyRoad Nano picks up easily in all oil patterns and makes an angular move off the dry.  I could see using the HyRoad Nano right out the gate on a lot of patterns as the new benckmark ball from Storm. 
Title: Hy-Road Nano Review
Post by: Eoff on December 07, 2017, 04:47:38 AM
I am one of the few people on the planet who did not have success with the original Hyroad.  For me it was too strong off the dry, but not strong enough in the oil.  I loved the Pearl and the solid was okay.  I was looking forward to the Nano, because if it is a blend of the original and solid, I figured I would love it and so far I do.

I have used it on a variety of patterns, including a short and a 39' sport pattern.  I used it for 9 games on the 39' sport pattern and just chased the pattern left and averaged 238 for the 9 games leading the event.  The Nano was great on the fresh as it blended out the back of the lane, but was strong enough to handle the volume at over 30mls.  As the pattern broke down, I continued to chase it left and the Nano never stopped hitting.  I used the Phaze II on a few fill balls, just to see what it would do and it was cleaner through the front and probably a couple boards weaker overall. 

I believe the Hyroad Nano will be a great benchmark ball that will be able to be used on many patterns.  Hopefully I will love it as much as everyone else loves the original Hyroad.  My first impression is that I will.
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: Bigmike on December 10, 2017, 05:04:39 PM
I drilled my HYROAD NANO 65 x 4.5 x 35 and left it box finish. I plan to use it as a benchmark type of ball since I don't have a !Q TOUR. The friends of mine who are staffers that have them all say the same thing, smooth off the friction and at the breakpoint. They are dead on. I get control with a stronger cover, but some of my other pieces have more shape like my NO RULES EXIST and INTENSE which both handle more volume and shape stronger on the back end. My DAREDEVIL TRICK is close to the look of this HYROAD NANO and might be just a bit earlier. For me, the HYROAD NANO is right about dead middle of my arsenal and I use it before switching to the smoother hybrids like the DAREDEVIL DANGER or ALL OUT SHOW OFF. Put this one if your bag if you want a smooth reaction that can help you read the pattern.
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: StoRoto2013 on December 11, 2017, 12:56:37 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: Medium Lengths

Volume: Medium Volumes

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Various Patterns


The New HyRoad Nano has the Inverted FE2 Core which is the main stay of the HyRoad series of bowling balls.  This legendary core is surrounded by the super aggressive NRG Solid Reactive coverstock.  The HyRoad series of bowling balls are not my favorite and the HyRoad Nano reminds me of the HyRoad Solid.  However, HyRoad Nano is stronger and more continuous from the foul line to the back stop than the HyRoad Solid.  The aggressive continuation of the HyRoad Nano is impressive.  I am not a power player (rev rate around 300).  My PAP is 5 5/8 over and ĺ up and I like to keep my angles straighter if possible. I have all the confidence in the world to chase the pattern left with the HyRoad Nano.  On a regular house pattern the HyRoad Nano with have me slightly more left than usual compared to an IQ Tour.  The HyRoad Nano is strong enough to handle the shots I get left and is continuous enough when I get the ball to the right early.  What I noticed from the ball reaction against the original HyRoad and an IQ Tour is the HyRoad Nano is a beast.  The HyRoad Nano is easily an arrow left of the IQ Tour and is smoother at the breakpoint than the IQ Tour.  The original HyRoad is two arrows right compared to the HyRoad Nano and is more reactive to the wet and the dry.  The HyRoad Nano also takes polish really well and with more conserved energy the HyRoad Nano is still continuous but allows you to keep your angles manageable.  The HyRoad Nano will be in my bag for the heavier medium to short sport patterns that needs controllability with power!
Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS