BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 10, 2017, 03:09:15 PM

Title: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 10, 2017, 03:09:15 PM
The Original Hy-Road was introduced in 2008 and bowling hasn't been the same since. Now Storm is introducing the Hy-Road Nano. This bowling ball takes the same Inverted Fe2 Technology core found in the other Hy-Road balls and pairs it with NRG nanotechnology Solid Reactive coverstock that was introduced with the Virtual Gravity Nano. This cover increases oil traction helping to control the midlane. The core in this ball has less material allowing the ball to have a thicker shell which produces more energy that transfers to the pins and allows less deflection. The Hy-Road Nano continues the tradition of more power and control due to enhanced dynamics.

Color: Black/Purple
Coverstock: NRG Solid Reactive
Core: Inverted Fe≤ Technology (14#-16#)
Finish: 2000-grit Abralon
Fragrance: Coconut Cream
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: jshoe97 on November 19, 2017, 01:13:10 PM
As probably one of the most anticipated balls of 2017, the all new hy-road nano is set to release on December 1st. This all new hy-road has the same great proven engine thatís been in all its predecessors, but now is wrapped in the NRG coverstock. This provides a super clean ball reaction that will hook on the heaviest of oils. Personally for my game, the hy-roads and tours are staples in my bag. I have multiple of each with different layouts and surfaces. This hy-road will fit perfectly between my phaze ll and code red. Providing me just as much overall motion is the phase ll, with just a little cleaner ball reaction for when the fronts start to go, but the lanes arenít quite transitioned enough for the code red to be in play. Be sure to pre-order your own hy-road nano now from your local pro shop for the December 1st release date! #StormNation

Review Video: https://youtu.be/HLckQMISKp0
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano by Keven Williams
Post by: kevenwilliams on November 22, 2017, 03:47:43 PM
Hyroad Nano:
Speed: 18mph
Rev Rate: 450rpm
Pattern: Typical House Shot

The Storm Hyroad Nano is a ball motion that I have loved in the past and this one tops them all. The Storm Hyroad Solid would be a little too early at times and just couldnít get around the corner downline. The Hyroad Nano has no problem with that! The original Hyroad and Hyroad Pearl are easily the cleanest balls storm makes and the Hyroad Nano fits right in the gap they were missing. Its still clean in the fronts but earlier than the other Hyroads and much smoother. This ball is going to be around for a long time!
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: StormAndrew on November 23, 2017, 06:02:24 AM
I absolutely love my Hy-Road Nano. This will be one of my go-to benchmark balls when starting off league or tournament play. The ball is very smooth, controllable and has great hitting power at the pins.

I kept the surface to out of the box finish (2000 grit) and I loved the shape that this ball provided. I bowled on a medium volume house shot and I got left immediately (See video link below). The layout I placed on this ball is 45x 3Ĺx35.

This ball will provide bowlers of all styles many options. This is an extremely versatile bowling ball that will be use from medium to heavy house conditions to sport and challenge conditions. I am excited to use this ball going forward!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=obNTUvpFZtw
Title: Hy-Road Nano Review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on November 27, 2017, 10:23:55 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 41 Ft

Volume:High

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):Low Ratio Blended House


COMMENTS

Cover: NRG Solid
Weightblock: Inverted Fe2
Finish: 2000
RG: 2.57
Differential: 0.046

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin Over Ring 60 X 4 7/8 X 30

The all new Storm Hy-Road Nano is the newest ball in perhaps the most popular line of balls in Storm's history. The high RG, High Differential Fe2 core that has driven every ball in the Hy-Road line comes wrapped in Nanotechnology. Both components are proven performers in the Storm line. Nano has come to mean traction, Fe2 means hitting power. This creates a motion that is ideal on a number of conditions, because it gives you a consistent read and great continuation.

I tested the Hy-Road Nano on a low-ratio blended house pattern. It has a considerable out-of-bounds area that forces you inside. If the ball doesn't pick up consistently where needed, the over/under can make you feel like you're in jail. The great advantage of the Nano is not only does it give you the consistent read but it's continuation will save some of your slight misses to the right. This forgiveness only multiplies on a higher ratio pattern.

The versatility of the Hy-Road Nano is unmatched. I have yet to find the condition you can't match up on with this ball on your hand. It also responds beautifully to surface adjustments, although in my opinion it requires far less of them then most balls I've thrown.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Hy-Road Nano by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on November 27, 2017, 10:45:30 AM
The Hyroad Nano has been a very anticipated ball, and for me it doesnít disappoint.  Itís just as good as youíd expect it to be from the name, but the reaction is very humble and simple, itís easily the most balanced ball in terms of reaction Iíve ever thrown.  Itís been hard for me to come up with good descriptive terms for it because itís so even across the board.  If anything, itís on the smooth-ish side with a slow-ish response to friction, so lots of control, but still a surprising amount of hit.  For regular use on a house shot it will likely need some polish, but on medium to heavier volume sport patterns, this ball will be a factor.  This ball DEFINITELY reminds me of the Hyroad, very similar shape, just earlier and smoother and about 4-5 boards stronger overall.  Very near the Phaze 2 in terms of overall hook, but with a smoother move on the backend.  For me, the hype is well deserved, I very confidently recommend this ball. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IDKs2oG0zPQ
Title: Storm HyRoad Nano Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on November 30, 2017, 11:55:13 AM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  45, 4 ĺ   , 70

The HyRoad Nano is a benchmark ball for todayís patterns/oils. For the past couple years, Iíve had a hard time matching up with the original HyRoad and HyRoad Pearl because they were just too clean for todayís lane surfaces and oil patterns.  The HyRoad Nano takes care of that problem!  It features one of the strongest solids Storm has ever produced in the NRG Solid cover.  The HyRoad Nano picks up easily in all oil patterns and makes an angular move off the dry.  I could see using the HyRoad Nano right out the gate on a lot of patterns as the new benckmark ball from Storm. 
Title: Hy-Road Nano Review
Post by: Eoff on December 07, 2017, 04:47:38 AM
I am one of the few people on the planet who did not have success with the original Hyroad.  For me it was too strong off the dry, but not strong enough in the oil.  I loved the Pearl and the solid was okay.  I was looking forward to the Nano, because if it is a blend of the original and solid, I figured I would love it and so far I do.

I have used it on a variety of patterns, including a short and a 39' sport pattern.  I used it for 9 games on the 39' sport pattern and just chased the pattern left and averaged 238 for the 9 games leading the event.  The Nano was great on the fresh as it blended out the back of the lane, but was strong enough to handle the volume at over 30mls.  As the pattern broke down, I continued to chase it left and the Nano never stopped hitting.  I used the Phaze II on a few fill balls, just to see what it would do and it was cleaner through the front and probably a couple boards weaker overall. 

I believe the Hyroad Nano will be a great benchmark ball that will be able to be used on many patterns.  Hopefully I will love it as much as everyone else loves the original Hyroad.  My first impression is that I will.
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: Bigmike on December 10, 2017, 05:04:39 PM
I drilled my HYROAD NANO 65 x 4.5 x 35 and left it box finish. I plan to use it as a benchmark type of ball since I don't have a !Q TOUR. The friends of mine who are staffers that have them all say the same thing, smooth off the friction and at the breakpoint. They are dead on. I get control with a stronger cover, but some of my other pieces have more shape like my NO RULES EXIST and INTENSE which both handle more volume and shape stronger on the back end. My DAREDEVIL TRICK is close to the look of this HYROAD NANO and might be just a bit earlier. For me, the HYROAD NANO is right about dead middle of my arsenal and I use it before switching to the smoother hybrids like the DAREDEVIL DANGER or ALL OUT SHOW OFF. Put this one if your bag if you want a smooth reaction that can help you read the pattern.
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: StoRoto2013 on December 11, 2017, 12:56:37 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: Medium Lengths

Volume: Medium Volumes

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Various Patterns


The New HyRoad Nano has the Inverted FE2 Core which is the main stay of the HyRoad series of bowling balls.  This legendary core is surrounded by the super aggressive NRG Solid Reactive coverstock.  The HyRoad series of bowling balls are not my favorite and the HyRoad Nano reminds me of the HyRoad Solid.  However, HyRoad Nano is stronger and more continuous from the foul line to the back stop than the HyRoad Solid.  The aggressive continuation of the HyRoad Nano is impressive.  I am not a power player (rev rate around 300).  My PAP is 5 5/8 over and ĺ up and I like to keep my angles straighter if possible. I have all the confidence in the world to chase the pattern left with the HyRoad Nano.  On a regular house pattern the HyRoad Nano with have me slightly more left than usual compared to an IQ Tour.  The HyRoad Nano is strong enough to handle the shots I get left and is continuous enough when I get the ball to the right early.  What I noticed from the ball reaction against the original HyRoad and an IQ Tour is the HyRoad Nano is a beast.  The HyRoad Nano is easily an arrow left of the IQ Tour and is smoother at the breakpoint than the IQ Tour.  The original HyRoad is two arrows right compared to the HyRoad Nano and is more reactive to the wet and the dry.  The HyRoad Nano also takes polish really well and with more conserved energy the HyRoad Nano is still continuous but allows you to keep your angles manageable.  The HyRoad Nano will be in my bag for the heavier medium to short sport patterns that needs controllability with power!
Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: rotogrip_rick on December 12, 2017, 02:51:16 PM
Storm Hy-Road Nano
Layout: 45 x 4 7/8th x 45 at 2000Ab
On the THS in recent weeks, the ball performed really well. I like the early movement off of the pattern on either the 44ft or 46ft THS on HPL I bowl on, this ball is a BIG for me. I cannot believe the difference between these balls, the NANO versus the Hy-Road solid. The solid would roll out and not recover as strong as the NANO, I am talking about HUGE hook off of the pattern. The NANO does not quit regardless of the amount of conditioner or how long the pattern is. On SPL, I was expecting the ball to roll up and out by the end of the pattern, but I did not. I really think I found the perfect ball to use at the center I bowl in that has SPL as the lane surface. I struggle there because I usually have too weak of stuff or too strong of stuck to be consistent there. Really looking forward to plenty of great matches there in the upcoming weeks.
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: rotostar13 on December 20, 2017, 02:51:32 PM
Hyroad nano

Pin below bridge cg kicked out 1.5 inches.

40 ft hpl on ths


I didnít know what to expect either this ball. I absolutely hated the hyroad and loved the nano though. So, I figured I would give it a try at least. To say the least I am quite happy with this ball. This ball holds the ok doesnít over read the pattern for me. I was surprised with all my other hyroads as soon as they saw friction they made left turns, but this one with the nano cover is much different. Not to much hook nor not to little.  This is a super piece. The shelf appeal is good and has a favorite of fine coconut cream scent. This ball is available now. Go see your local pro shop profession today. Bowl up a storm.
Title: Storm Hy-Road Nano
Post by: StormRoto on December 21, 2017, 03:27:48 PM
  The new Storm release is the Hyroad Nano.  With the original Hyroad entering its 10 year in the line, you have to expect that the Nano Hyroad would be good.   That being said the Hyroad was good for me, just was a little too clean and smooth downlane.  Insert the Hyroad Nano, with its 2000 grit finish NRG coverstock and high RG of 2.57 I get both of best worlds.  The nano doesn't squirt up front at all, but still stores a lot of reaction downlane for a solid coverstock.  But its not a  hockey stick reaction, more of a controlled arcing motion at the breakpoint.  Best thing is that for me it doesn't lose the hitting power when moving left when they start to hook.  A lot of bowlers are considering it is a ball down from the Phase II.  As the Phase II has a tendency to lose reaction when they dry up.  The Nano would be a good ball to go to. I drilled mine 5 x 4.5 x 4.5 pin down no hole.  I can see the Nano being a great benchmark ball for a bowlers arsenal.

Brian Watson
PAP  3 5/8 up 1 1/4
Tilt - 17
Speed 16-17
RPM's - 400
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: TamerBowling on December 22, 2017, 01:17:08 PM
For video and full review:

http://tamerbowling.com/storm-hy-road-nano-bowling-ball-review/

We test on THS and sport pattern

Excerpt:
In the end, Storm added 2 known entities to create the Hy-Road Nano. This one is cover dominant, especially with this much grit out of the box. You get smooth midlane control and smooth controllable backend. Itís pretty even across itís phases. Obviously the shape of the pattern will either make this ball look great or so-so. In the end, we felt this ball will be great for sport shots and decent on house shots. Itís a bit niche and it reminds us of the Match, Torrent and Hy-Road solid in that regard. But when you need that smoothness front and back, this ball will be great. I definitely can see this motion being an asset on shorter patterns.
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on January 05, 2018, 10:57:48 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:40ft

Volume: medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS
First reaction to this ball was WOW!! I was amazed at how easily this ball floats through the front part of the lane. The length this ball gets with such a strong cover on it is amazing. Its so smooth and continuous through the middle part of the lane as well. It has quickly become my benchmark ball. Very predictable roll. It fits great between the high end assymetrical balls medium level performance pieces. I can transition from my Code Red to this if I need alittle more roll through the middle of the lane with continuation.
Nick Smith
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: bowlstorm3 on January 27, 2018, 07:57:49 AM
The Storm Hy-Road Nano has the familiar Hy-Road engine but in this version, we have the NRG solid reactive cover used on the Virtual Gravity Nano. Unlike most, I never found the original Hy-Road to match up real well for me. I decided to go with a 50 x 5 x 60 layout on the Nano which puts the pin under my middle finger. It comes at 2000 grit out of the box. I first threw this ball at a higher friction house with synthetic lanes on a typical house pattern. I was floored with how well it cleared the fronts and maintained such a defined, controlled breakpoint. Within the first couple shots, I knew this was going to be a GREAT ball. To date, I have thrown the Nano on a variety of house patterns ranging from 40 to 46 ft in length. It has impressed me in every situation. One thing I liked about the original Hy-Road was the shape at the backend, but many times it was too much for dry conditions, but not enough for tighter conditions. I see that aggressive, yet controllable backend shape I love, but I personally get more use out of the Nano since my speed seems to dominate my rev rate most of the time.  I worked a rather large Matchmaker recently and to no surprise, this was a favorite amongst the participants as it matched up extremely well for a variety of styles.
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: fjcallahan on January 29, 2018, 10:35:01 AM
The Hyroad Nano is the new kid in the family and the crew at Storm are proud of their bouncing baby boy!!! This ball is STRONGÖ.like, it makes me look like I can hook it strong. I went to my ďpin up on everything because thatís how I like itĒ layout and I was flat out impressed. The day I tested mine, I was shooting four different bowling balls and had a pretty good feel that day. The Nano was the last ball I decided to roll, in fact, I wasnít too sure if I should shoot it that dayÖIím getting old, so I was tiredÖhaha. Just watching this ball roll down the lane after my first shot got my blood pumping again. I continued to bowl with it for almost an hour longer and it was hard to put it down. Iím a bit of a low tilt guy with some forward roll and it is tough for me to get left and bounce it, that is before this thing. I got my feet to about 28 and the Nano had no problem arcing back from five, smashing the rack and then rolling back out of the ball return grinning like, ďI got you bro!Ē Honestly, thatís how it happenedÖ.Iím very excited about this ball and it will be in my bag for awhile to come, not to mention, we canít keep them on the shelf in the shop. Go now, buy it, drill it and #bowlupastorm
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: BeerLeague on January 31, 2018, 09:57:36 PM
As a fan of the Marvel-S and iQ Nano, I was excited to get my hands on the HyRoad Nano.

So far I have been disappointed.  The hi-rg core with the massive cover makes for a ball the goes sideways for me.  I have 400 rpm, 20í tilt and get around the side of the ball. Perhaps more surface will simmer it down.... but if smooth reaction is what you are looking for, this ainít it.
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: bradsnell on February 01, 2018, 10:16:09 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:
THS, Viper
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Likes:Very Versatile ball

Dislikes:None

The Hy-Road Nano uses the NRG solid reactive cover stock with the inverted FE2 weight block. I drilled mine 65x4.5x60.

I first used the Hy-Road Nano on the Viper sport pattern with medium volume of oil. The ball motion was very easy to control. Using different speeds and releases, the ball allowed me to attack the lane from different angles. On this pattern I felt the box 2000 finish was best.

I next used the ball on the THS. On this condition the 2000 grit surface forced me further inside. My carry was not as good as I moved inside and opened up my angles. I made a surface adjustment by adding some Storm reactive polish. This made a big difference in my ball motion. Now the ball used less energy in the front half of the lane and I had more continuation going through the pins.

I would recommend this ball to anyone looking for a benchmark ball motion. The ball is very versatile and hits great. Thank you Storm for another great piece.

Brad Snell   #Stormnation

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Storm Hy-Road Nano
Post by: fazzone22 on February 09, 2018, 12:26:35 PM
This ball yells the original Hy Road core with an RG of 2.57 and a Diff of 0.046 but futures NRG Solid cover that comes 2000 grit out of the box. I drilled mine 5x5x2 with no extra-hole. My first thoughts when throwing this ball was despite the dull Nano cover, this ball is still clean throughout the front part of the lane with a strong motion in the back part of the lane like the original Hy Road. Medium length patterns with tighter backends or those longer patterns after a few games will match up the best with this stronger cover stock. Lower rev bowlers will also like the stronger cover to use on a variety of conditions. This is another great addition to the Hy Road line for when the original Hy Road isnít strong enough
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: PJ Haggerty on February 11, 2018, 12:50:38 PM
Storm Hy-Road Nano Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

Who hasnít drilled a Hy-Road?  In the nine-or-so years itís been around, itís been seen on television multiple times and all types of bowlers have enjoyed the success theyíve seen with such an all around great ball.  The Hy-Road Nano gives players the historic Hy-Road core with the N-R-G solid coverstock.  Itís been an extremely successful combination and Iíve been able to use it on multiple patterns. 

Iíve drilled two so far and really like what both of them give me.  The first one is mapped out as 4 x 4 at a surface of 3000.  This gives me a very clean and predictable response time.  I find this to be a Ďpattern finderí ball if you will.  After a few shots with this Hy-Road Nano, I can quickly figure out if I need something stronger or weaker to attack the pattern.  Iíd categorize this as the most predictable ball motion in my bag.

The second one is mapped out as 5 x 3 with a 57/64 hole on my axis.  The surface on this one is around 2000 and Iíve used this Hy-Road Nano to open up the lane a lot more.  Iíve been able to use this one later in blocks when the pattern has broken down and I need to create more angle in the front of the lane. 

I think you can drill the Hy-Road Nano multiple ways and have a lot of success on multiple patterns with it. 

Go drill a couple!

#StormNation
Title: Re: Hy-Road Nano
Post by: lureman on February 17, 2018, 10:40:30 AM
I'm 61 years old.  I drilled the storm Hy-road Nano 50x43/4x35 pin up. This is a great ball for oil. I don't have a lot of hand so I play straight up the outside. My ball speed is about 15-16.  This ball is great to start with when the lanes have a fresh oil.  Our house shot is 42 ft. when they start to break down and then I go to the phase 2 to roll the same line.  The Hy-road Nano ball is strong and smooth with a continuation off the friction to the pocket and has a lot of pin action. I shot 720 out on the box with the box finish of 2000.  Other bowlers keeping asking which ball I am using who they can order one as well.  One of my teammates ordered it and loved it (he is a full roller).