BallReviews

Reviews => 900Global => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 10, 2017, 03:27:30 PM

Title: X2
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 10, 2017, 03:27:30 PM
The 900Global X2 bowling ball is a reboot of the X. 900Global has brought back the POD™ Symmetric Core to provide early revolutions with a very predictable downlane motion. The X2 features the All New S59™ Solid coverstock to provide perfect balance of traction. Order the new X2 to get X-treme on the lanes!

Colors: Red/Black
Core: Pod™ Symmetric
Coverstock: S59™ Solid
Finish: ICE “C” 2,000 Grit
Length: Medium
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium
RG: 2.49 (for 15# ball)
Differential: 0.035 (for 15# ball)
Title: Re: X2
Post by: timmyjanz on November 26, 2017, 08:09:05 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Likes:x2 has same great motion as the x but with the stronger cover comes stronger reaction. have mine pin down just under bridge, PAP is 5 right .25 up. love using this on fresh patterns that have medium volume with clean backends, it really blends out the wet dry nicely. have used it on 37ft low volume sport pattern and the best look I had was with this ball. 900 Global Staff, Tim Janz.

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: X2
Post by: Average Joe Reviews on November 28, 2017, 01:04:40 PM

LANE CONDITION

Length: 41'

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

This time we had the chance to review the 900 Global X2. This ball features the Pod Symmetric core and it is wrapped with the S59 solid coverstock.

The X2 provides a smooth and predictable shape. Personally, when I bowl league I always like to start with a ball that is smooth down the lane with a nice long arc motion, nothing fancy, nothing that go sideways or too angular. This ball is exactly that.

I started bowling in what it is my confort zone, laying the ball around 10 and having 6 as my breakpoint. The X2 seems to have a strong midlane read and a mild response to friction, which allows the ball to transition slowly when it hits the dry part of the lane, providing a smooth and predictable motion. This ball allowed me to play straighter and keep the pocket in front of me, missing outside and the ball offered enough recovery to hit the pocket and misses in the ball never went sideways, it is really smooth and controllable. (I am sorry if I keep using the word “smooth” but if I had to use one word to describe the X2 it will be precisely that one)

When I tried to move in, the ball still had energy to make its move to the pocket, but I noticed that I started hitting light and I left some flat 7 pins. This is not the best option if you need to play steeper angles.

I compared the X2 with another ball from the Tour Preferred series, the Honey Badger. The Honey Badger is a completely different animal and for me these two balls are a great 1-2 punch for most league bowlers. The Honey Badger is way more cleaner and angular than the X2. The Honey Badger saves all the energy for the last part of the lane and it has a faster response to friction. Overall, I feel like the Honey Badger has a little bit more hook potential and it is a great complement to the X2.

Overall, I feel like this ball is one of those balls that will always find a spot in your bag. Either if you are a league bowler or a tournament bowler, the X2 will be a useful weapon to use on most medium oil conditions.

For the league bowler, this ball is a great option when you need to blend the pattern when you are fighting those over/under conditions that most of us see each week during league.

For the tournament bowler, this ball offers a lot of control on flat patterns and short oil conditions.

When you are bowling on tougher conditions, you want a ball that can help you control the breakpoint and have a predictable motion, and this is exactly what the X2 provides, predictability and control.
Title: Re: X2
Post by: Greg Thomas on December 02, 2017, 09:47:26 AM
X^2
Coverstock: S59™ Solid
Finish: ICE "C" (2,000 Grit)
Color: Red/Black
Core: Pod™ Symmetric
Tour Preferred 700
2.49 Radius of gyration
.035 Differential
Positive Axis Point 5 7/16 by 1/4 up
Layout 6 x 5 x 4
  The new X^2 by 900 Global is going to be one of my favorites down the road because of its nice smooth ball reaction from start to finish.  This ball reminds me of the previous released X with the only difference being a little cleaner in the front part of the lane with a slightly stronger mid-lane and back end reaction down lane. You can't go wrong with this ball on  those wet-dry house shots and those fresh medium to short length sport patterns. This will be a popular ball with its mid price point and cool looks.  The X^2 will be a benchmark ball in the 900 GLOBAL lineup.   Every bowler should get a X^2 if you want added performance for YOUR game.

Greg Thomas 900 Global staff
Title: Re: X2
Post by: Donny Carr on December 03, 2017, 08:36:12 AM
X2
The X2 can be the first ball out of your bag. It fit’s between a medium heavy and light oil ball. Bowlers with slow speed can use the X2 on slightly higher volumes of oil, medium speed bowlers will be good on the fresh as well as higher speed players. For lane conditions that are hard to figure out, the X2 will give read the lane and make it easier
to adjust. If you need a benchmark ball or a ball for tough conditions, you need the X2.
Drill this one up for control.

Donny Carr, 900 Global Staff
Title: Re: X2
Post by: MSGLefty on December 13, 2017, 11:16:14 AM
900 Global X2
Coverstock: S59
Finish: ICE”C” (2000 Grit)
Core: Pod Symmetric
Color: Red/Black
Lane Surface: HPL
Ball Speed: 17.5
Layout: 50x5x50

The X2 is the next ball in the Tour Preferred series that provides a follow-up to the X.  First off, the color scheme is a Black/Red combo that will provide a real nice shelf appeal.  The X2 has the same Pod Symmetric core with a slightly stronger S59 solid coverstock.  You will still get that smooth arcing motion like the X, but it will start up a little sooner with a touch more backend reaction. 

I took the X2 to my Tuesday Night league on a 41ft Main-Street oil pattern.  The lanes are 10 year old high friction AMF HPL synthetic lanes.  I began the night laying the ball down around 8 and crossing at 3/4 at the arrows.  The ball let me play really straight with its nice mid-lane read and predictable arcing motion to the pocket.  This ball just does not give you that angular bounce of the spot, it is just so smooth and controllable.  Near the end of the first game I made a small move and the X2 continued to impress.  I would not try to play real steep angles with this ball.  At that point the Honey Badger or Truth pearl would be my go to options.
The X2 will be the first ball out of your bag on the med conditions or on those tough conditions where the predictability will be your friend.  The X2 will help keep the pocket in front of you and will be a tremendous benchmark ball for your arsenal. Go out and get the X2 and see your strike percentage increase exponentially.

900 Global
Performance for YOUR Game!
Title: Re: X2
Post by: Jesse James on December 30, 2017, 10:40:29 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41

Volume: a little heavier medium condition

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Loved it! Predictable

Dislikes: None


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

I tried this ball for the fist time at a Demo Day. I loved this ball immediately!

If you enjoy a cool walk in the park on a summer's day .....get this ball!

If you like smoothness, without irritation....get this ball!

If you like predictability without a lot of downlane drama.....get this ball!

This is a steady, consistent, smooth as butter piece that will give you predictability and consistency every time you throw it. Nothing overwhelming just good, steady downlane reaction each and every time!

This ball would be great for smoothing out a wet/dry situation. This is a great ball from Global. Very comparable to a Gamebreaker or an IQ in my eyes! Steady as she goes!

P.S. I am not on Global staff....I just know a good one when I see It!
Title: Re: X2
Post by: fatman_FUBAR on January 21, 2018, 10:47:55 AM
Join Lane Side Reviews as they take the new #X2 from 900 Global to the lanes in the latest episode!

Title: Re: X2
Post by: scottymac800 on February 08, 2018, 09:54:13 AM
COMMENTS

As good, if not better, than the original X

This ball is just flat out great! It has everything you are looking for when trying to control the breakpoint as your ball exits the pattern.  The X^2 does not overreact when it exits the pattern and allows you to control the pocket on those tuff tournament patterns.  If this ball is not a benchmark ball, I don’t know what is!  This ball is literally just a pinch stronger than the Original X.  It continues with 900 Global’s Tour Preferred 700 Series expectations and quality.  There is nothing better than throwing a ball that you know will work on just about anything.  This is that ball!!!


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: X2
Post by: BRitch14 on March 13, 2018, 12:31:11 PM
Drilling pattern: 78x3.75x70
Pin placement: Below ring finger

I drilled this ball almost identically to one of my favorite all time balls, the Chemical X, looking for that very smooth, very controllable reaction. I ended up with about 90% of what I was looking for. While the ball is certainly very controllable, and versatile, this ball was significantly stronger (to me at least) than both the Chemical X and the X. With the fresh coverstock I personally needed a decent amount of head oil to keep the ball from checking too early. This ball will be fantastic as a first ball out of the bag, but once the flat 10's and noticeably early roll appear, it will be time to put away.

Brent Ritchie
900 Global Regional Staff