BallReviews

General Category => Miscellaneous => Topic started by: abrown on December 04, 2017, 08:33:31 AM

Title: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: abrown on December 04, 2017, 08:33:31 AM
For the past years with urethane making a major comeback its always seems to lead to the "well shit their throwing urethane and itll ruin my shot"  when it comes down to it i hardly ever pull out of my bag as long as were winning thus hurting myself but we get the W.

How many if youve faced this issue? Whats your opinion on the matter?
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: Impending Doom on December 04, 2017, 08:41:11 AM
Team bowling is for the collective. If you're worried about you, go bowl singles tournaments.

Btw, no one wrecks a house shot with urethane. That's just some lame ass excuse.
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: northface28 on December 04, 2017, 09:08:58 AM
"ruined my shot"? Lol, what? When were we assigned "shots"?
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: Impending Doom on December 04, 2017, 09:42:27 AM
Guys saying this are the same guys standing on the big dot and have their towel hanging out of their back pocket.
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: HackJandy on December 04, 2017, 10:05:43 AM
Yeah even BTM says that urethane carry down is lame ass myth in all but the most extreme cases (think after kids birthday party or something).  What wrecks shots is half the other team using oil sponge Sure Locks.  Funny how people complain about urethane carry down and yet are using balls that hook just fine in the oil.  That over under you are getting is not carry down from the one guy using urethane in the track its the end of the pattern being obliterated by reactives.  There is generally less oil just beyond the pattern even after like 25 games on it with urethane as there is right next to the channels on THS.
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: ignitebowling on December 04, 2017, 10:06:48 AM
Every ball you throw ruins the shot….. So pick the one that gives you the best chance to get the highest score.
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: HackJandy on December 04, 2017, 10:16:17 AM
>Team bowling is for the

League priced open bowling  :P.  Just kidding.  Go team win.
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: Juggernaut on December 04, 2017, 02:20:47 PM
I used to get this all the time.

 I used to throw urethane a lot, and guys on the other team would make remarks, gripe, and accuse me of using it only to ruin their shot. They never looked at the fact that I was averaging well over 200 with it, or the fact that it was working really well for me, and in fact, they usually ended up shooting HIGHER than usual themselves, which I always attributed to the fact that my urethane ball kept enough oil in the track that they didn’t just burn it the f*** up immediately, and the shot actually had a bit of hold area for them.

 The lay person just does not fully understand, they just tend to parrot the “popular” opinion that they have heard before themselves.

 I am a team bowler when in that environment, and will do whatever it takes to help the team win. Hopefully, that includes me doing well myself.
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: Impending Doom on December 04, 2017, 02:43:17 PM
Next time someone says this, just respond back with "Oh yeah? Well, you're wrecking the shim."

End scene.
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: jkirkerx on December 04, 2017, 05:50:53 PM
My anchor bowler on Friday night has 3 old school urethane's in the bag and 1 reactive. He averages 200+ with them, knows how to use them and doesn't give a shit when people complain. He's hitting the red line for RPMs up the 10 board.

The first season I felt I was bowling against my own team, and I wasn't worried about my opponents. 2nd season I finally figured it out and it doesn't interfere with me anymore. I just use his jet wash now to my advantage for carry. We won the 2nd season as league champs from 36 teams. Now I laugh quietly when the opposing team complains.

I really do think that urethane's mess with the pattern faster than reactive, when the volume is high.
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: HackJandy on December 04, 2017, 08:31:21 PM
Perhaps but I still think its only really noticeable if they are very near your line especially if its only one bowler.  Then again I suppose you may notice more with your style and consistency.
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: jkirkerx on December 05, 2017, 07:52:53 PM
Hard to tell but I agree with proximity. I failed to mention that Human palm sprinkler leads in from of me playing 20 as his standard method of operation.

Human Sprinkler:
One that palm bowls in a wild manner which causes his ball direction to go anywhere and never the same place twice. The human sprinkler will continue this insanity until the lane conditions match up or the right amount of beer or sprits are consumed allowing the ball to proceed to target.
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: SG17 on December 05, 2017, 09:03:05 PM
if someone ever complained to me about ruining their shot, the next time I bowled them I would intentionally ruin it.  If me using urethane is ruining your shot, how about I take my sure lock to 200 grit and burn up the heads in your line.  lets see how that goes.

and since my team mates are all lefties, I wouldn't be hurting my teammates either.
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: HackJandy on December 05, 2017, 09:22:41 PM
if someone ever complained to me about ruining their shot, the next time I bowled them I would intentionally ruin it.  If me using urethane is ruining your shot, how about I take my sure lock to 200 grit and burn up the heads in your line.  lets see how that goes.

and since my team mates are all lefties, I wouldn't be hurting my teammates either.

That is what my epoxy ball is for which I still think is about the greatest oil sponge ever released (doesn't just trap oil in pores but in valleys in the coverstock as well) but heard the AMF Incinerate is right up there as well at destroying its own shot in a half a game.
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: JazlarVonSteich on December 06, 2017, 10:54:18 AM
if someone ever complained to me about ruining their shot, the next time I bowled them I would intentionally ruin it.  If me using urethane is ruining your shot, how about I take my sure lock to 200 grit and burn up the heads in your line.  lets see how that goes.

and since my team mates are all lefties, I wouldn't be hurting my teammates either.

Exactly. If I know someone is so convinced urethane is going to mess them up, I'm pulling it out and bowling with it, at least to get in their head. If I have a good look with it, I will stick with it.
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: avabob on December 06, 2017, 10:56:58 AM
Urethane only ruins the shot for someone who has no clue how to adjust.   
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: leftybowler70 on December 06, 2017, 10:58:22 AM
^^^
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: avabob on December 06, 2017, 05:55:46 PM
Now that I think about it the only time urethane has ever ruined a shot for me was when I was throwing urethane. 
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: JazlarVonSteich on December 07, 2017, 09:20:35 AM
Now that I think about it the only time urethane has ever ruined a shot for me was when I was throwing urethane.

I think there is actually some truth to that, despite what I think you meant. Urethane is going to affect the shot more for people throwing urethane than resin. You see this on a lot of the PBA telecasts when someone uses urethane for more than a game. The shot is great and then all of the sudden they can't get a consistent reaction.
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: avabob on December 07, 2017, 12:32:09 PM
That is exactly what I meant.  I have backed myself into a corner using urethane, and have seen pros do the sane thing multiple times.  Urethane is so condition specific, and is impacted more by carrydiwn that it is a common occurrence. 
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: rocky61201 on December 07, 2017, 01:19:50 PM
That is exactly what I meant.  I have backed myself into a corner using urethane, and have seen pros do the sane thing multiple times.  Urethane is so condition specific, and is impacted more by carrydiwn that it is a common occurrence.

Could this be why my Hot Cell has a tendency to stop finishing/hook less after about 1 complete game?  I've been trying to make this new ball work for me, but I'm having a hard time. 
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: avabob on December 07, 2017, 02:57:19 PM
Yes.  The big advantage to resin when it first came out 25 years ago was that it would cut through the carrydown urethane created, and create less csrrydown itself.  Csrrydown was a huge factor pre resin, but became a non factor until the oil volumes increased so much to combat the absorption of the resin balls. 


It would be nice if there was some way to enforce a rule that would limit surface adjustments and keep them at 3-4000.  High rev guys could still blow up patterns, but not nearly so quickly.
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: HackJandy on December 07, 2017, 09:36:36 PM
Plus after about a game or so you can no longer keep the ball completely dry of oil minus using cleaner.  Learned the hard way to at least try or get that sh1t all over my pants (start ball resting front of my hip). 
Title: Re: For the better of the team or yourself?
Post by: cheech on December 08, 2017, 09:16:50 AM
these new higher flaring urethane balls like the hot cell or widow urethane will cut down on urethane carrydown though because they flare a lot more than "normal urethane" so really the only carrydown should be when the bowties hit the lane.....in theory