Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 07, 2018, 05:04:34 PM

Title: Hustle HYB
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 07, 2018, 05:04:34 PM
In sports we are always told to hustle well now Roto Grip is providing a line of bowling balls that will do just that on the lanes. The Roto Grip Hustle HYB takes the renowned Hustle core which has a lower RG design and lower differential and pairs it with the VTC-H18 (Versatile Traction Control-Hybrid 18) core then is finished with a 3000-grit pad. This combination offers a smooth earlier midlane motion, with more stability down lane, and with more traction and is best on light to medium oil conditions.

Color: Black/Blue
Coverstock: VTC-H18 Hybrid
Core: Hustle (14#-16#) (Lightbulb core for 13# & 12# and a puck core for 11# & 10#)
Finish: 3000-grit Pad
RG: 2.53 (15# ball)
Differential: 0.030 (15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Lighter to Medium Oil
Title: Re: Hustle HYB
Post by: StormAndrew on February 08, 2018, 06:33:56 AM
Hustle HYB Review:

This ball is right up my "alley". Controllable solids and balls with surface are balls typically found in my bag at all times. I love how I was able to play right and a little right of the track area and consistently get to the pocket. Also, the hitting power of this ball was exceptional, especially for a ball in this price range (HP1).

I tested this ball after throwing the Hyper Cell Fused on a fresh THS (Typical House Shot). I was roughly 3 boards further right with my feet with the Hustle than the Fused. The reaction of the Hustle was smooth and controllable. It read the mid-lane well and didn't overreact if I happened to miss with my target.

I definitely see this ball being a step down ball when my higher end equipment starts becoming too much for the lane. This will be a great step down from either the No Rules Exists and/or Dare Devil Trick.

Title: Hustle HYB Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on March 07, 2018, 09:29:18 AM
The Hustle HYB uses the same core as all the other Hustles before it, but has a brand new hybrid cover.  The HYB hooks several boards more than any other Hustle, and outhooks the price point by a significant amount.  If youíre looking for bang for the buck, the HYB is a great place to look, itís really a budget IQ Tour Solid, but if youíre looking for a true light oil ball, you should probably look elsewhere.  This ball is strong enough to be an HP2 ball, and approaches Stormís Thunder line in terms of overall strength. The HYB is a very smooth and controllable ball, there are no surprises with it once you accept how much it hooks despite the price and being labeled an HP1 ball.  The HYB is a great compliment to the Hustle Ink, while the Ink is long and strong, the HYB is earlier, smoother, and stronger.
Title: Re: Hustle HYB
Post by: StormN3rik on March 13, 2018, 12:02:05 PM
The New Roto Grip Hustle HYB is another must have for all types of styles and releases. The Hybrid cover on the HYB is the perfect compliment to the Hustle Ink which is a shiny solid. If you are still looking for a nice predictable motion like the ink but a lil more POP down lane, the HYB Hustle is for you. I drilled mine with the same layout I had on my INK which was a 60x4x30. Go out to your local pro shop and get your Roto Grip Hustle HYB today! #SquadRG

Erik Ramos

SIB Pro Shop Manager

Storm/Roto Grip Staff
Title: Re: Hustle HYB
Post by: RGisKing on March 17, 2018, 08:11:56 PM

Length:  41'

Volume:  Heavy

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):  THS


Once again so much bang for your buck! Shelf appeal excellent, ball reaction excellent and hit through the pins incredible! With the Hustle Hybrid, I first took a look with my Hustle solid and got line up with it, after a few shots of playing 8 to 5 or miss room out to one the Hustle solid was clean as always. Went to the Hustle Hybrid and played the same shot, the Hustle Hybrid was earlier and picked up the mid lane a little quicker. Both balls were box finish. So I made a 3 and 1 move left and just that small of a move made all of the difference in the world. This made the Hustle HYB get the extra length I needed and picked up in the mid lane with a nice controlled backend motion. This allowed me to stay lined up for several games with just slight moves left. The performance of the HP1 line will surprise anyone that hasnít thrown any of the balls in the line. The Hustle HP1 line will be for most all house shots.

Likes:  A lot of ball for little money.

Dislikes:  Heavier oil patterns

Title: Re: Hustle HYB
Post by: Bigmike on March 21, 2018, 11:07:40 AM
I drilled my HUSTLE HYB 65/4.5/40 which is my standard drilling for a ball to gauge where it fits or where to increase the numbers at. I put a 7/8"/2" deep weight hole on my axis which is 5 1/4 x 5/8 up. I left this one box finish.

I have thrown this on mostly THS at 2 different centers. The HUSTLE HYB is a slower response piece in my hands especially compared to my HUSTLE INK and ALL OUT SHOW OFF.  The ALL OUT SHOW OFF is about 6-8 boards stronger and the HUSTLE INK is about 3-5 boards stronger. The motion is smooth and slower response and will let me stay right of higher traffic areas on the pair.

Put this one in your bag if you are looking for a piece that is smoother off the spot than the HUSTLE INK or MATCH UP'S and also a possible first ball option on short patterns.