BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 07, 2018, 05:12:28 PM

Title: Drive
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 07, 2018, 05:12:28 PM
Storm continues their Signature series of bowling balls with the Storm Drive. This ball uses the R2S Nano Hybrid coverstock wich was designed to handle more oil at the heads and at the completion of the pattern. This ball offers predictability where it is needed, at the midlane. The Dual-Drive core continues to offer great entry angle. The Dual-Drive core is a weight block within a weight block. These two weight blocks work together to create a ball core that generates faster revving action and a greater amount of energy transmission at the pins.

Color: Gold Pearl/Navy Solid/Red Solid
Core: Dual-Drive (14-16#)
Coverstock: R2S Nano Hybrid
Finish: 3000-grit Abralon
RG: 2.57 (15# ball)
Differential: 0.050 (15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium-Heavy Oil
Fragrance: Citrus Mint
Title: Re: Drive
Post by: StormAndrew on February 08, 2018, 06:29:30 AM
Ball Review:

The SON!Q features a new HD Core which is a derivative and evolution of the prior cores in the IQ series. They lowered the RG thus creating a higher carry percentage at the pins when entering the pocket.

I loved how I was able to get left with this ball as the lanes transitioned and began to open up the lane. The SON!Q allowed me to get in my comfort zone of playing the inside part of the lane and throwing it left to right with a soft hand. The ball was very clean through the front part of the lane and maintained a lot of energy and hitting power as it made its move towards the pocket. You will definitely see an earlier rolling pearl with the SON!Q and you will also see a lot of continuaition off the spot.

Any bowler who was a fan of the IQ balls will love this ball. The SON!Q gives control, continuation and hitting power.

Make sure you DRILL IT UP!

Video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qFb1OYWtr6A
Title: Re: Drive
Post by: msipple on February 14, 2018, 07:54:42 AM
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 3 - 4 
Starting Top Weight: 2.89 oz
Ball Weight: 15
 
DRILL PATTERN
Pin buffer 4 inches

4 x 4.5 x 4
 
BOWLER STYLE:  RH - Stroker
Rev Rate:  380-420
Ball Speed: 15-16
PAP/Track:  PAP:  5 13/16Ē and 1/2" up
 
SURFACE PREP
Box Finish:  factory 3000 abralon
BALL MOTION
 To complement the original Timelessô, we developed a new R2Sô Nano Hybrid shell which adds traction to better handle more oil, both in the heads and at the end of the pattern.
 COMMENTS
I drilled the Drive pin under with a 4 inch pin buffer. This ball is really smooth with a strong mid-lane roll and continuous backend. This is a very controllable ball good for sport shots and house shots with Medium to heavy oil. I use this ball when I need earlier motion with a controlled reaction. 

 
Mike Sipple
Storm/Amateur Staff
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
Title: Re: Drive
Post by: Onefrombills on February 18, 2018, 09:06:09 PM
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 3 - 4
Starting Top Weight: 2.89 oz
Ball Weight: 15

BOWLER STYLE: RH - Stroker
Rev Rate: 380-420
Ball Speed: 15-16
PAP: 4 7/8 right 5/8 up

SURFACE PREP
Box Finish: factory 3000

The Drive is the second ball in the Jason Belmonte line and has outdone themselves from the Timeless. The Timeless was either really loved or hated, but the Drive is a ball that many types of player will enjoy. Out of the box it is at 3000, but can be changed very easy to match your style of play. Personally, I prefer balls that allow me to stay straighter, like a Code Red or Son!Q. The Drive lets me get in if needed as well as play straight on a longer or heavy pattern.
Title: Re: Drive
Post by: rotogrip_rick on February 20, 2018, 07:37:42 AM
Storm Drive
Layout: 50 x 5 x45
Finish: 3000 grit Ab
 
What I saw on the lanes: Comparing to the Timeless with used the same Dual-Drive core, the Drive with the R2S Nano Reactive cover stock proved to be what the Doctor ordered for me to like this core. The Timeless for me needed the cover tweeted for me for each lane surface I used it on. The Drive with the R2S hybrid cover helps the ball handle the oil better in the front part of the lane and also on the back side of the pattern. Itís more reliable in the mid lane area, but I did not lose the angles into the pocket. The ball was a true striking machine and to see the evidence, check out my youtube video of the Storm Drive.
Title: Drive Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on March 07, 2018, 09:31:03 AM
The Drive is the second ball released in Stormís Signature line, and is another collaboration with Jason Belmonte.  The most interesting feature of the Drive is that itís a blend between their Nano cover and R2S. The Drive in my opinion solves all the issues that anyone may have had with the Timeless, namely that it could go too long and/or be flat at the pocket.  The Drive uses the same core as the Timeless, but being that the coverstock is more aggressive, itís both earlier and smoother than the Timeless which helps make it much more controllable and consistent. In my opinion, itís going to be an excellent choice for the USBC Open Championships this year. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fm49xvz48xY&t=1s
Title: Re: Drive
Post by: bowlstorm3 on March 09, 2018, 08:43:10 AM
I really like the Storm Timeless, but it has its moments - usually later in the league night or late in a tournament block as it was very clean for me on most patterns. I personally feel like the Storm Drive takes all of the great characteristics of the Timeless and improves upon them to create a ball that doesnít need the lane to breakdown to throw it.

I decided to go with a 60 x 4.25 x 60 layout on my Drive which puts the pin under the bridge - identical to my Timeless and Phaze 2. For me, it is strong in the midlane, yet controls the breakpoint better than some of my other bowling balls with its continuous, controllable backend motion.

I have thrown the Drive on a 43 foot house pattern and a sport compliant 40 foot pattern. Although I was impressed by it on the house pattern, it amazed me on the sport pattern. It provided easily the most room of anything in my bag with a consistent, forgiving rolling motion into the pocket. I canít wait to see what this ball does on the USBC nationals patterns!

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Mufrl3IU2f8&feature=youtu.be
Title: Re: Drive
Post by: StormN3rik on March 14, 2018, 02:22:07 PM
The NEW Storm Drive is definitely one of my favorites in my bag currently. I was intrigued to see what this ball was going to do, being that it had the R2S Nano Hybrid Cover over the Dual Drive Core. I ended up shining mine up again, due to my slower ball speed, and what a monster this ball ended up being. The Drive goes into an earlier roll then the Timeless, which gives it a nice consistent midlane roll, with a very predictable continuation through the pins. I laid my Drive out with my "A" Pin Down drilling pattern which is 60X4 1/8X70 (No Weight Hole). What a great 1-2 Punch Storm has come out with in the Signature Series....... Go Out and Get Your Storm Drive Today! #StormNation

Erik Ramos

SIB Pro Shop Manager

Storm/Roto Grip Staff
Title: Re: Drive
Post by: fjcallahan on March 15, 2018, 09:31:37 AM
The Drive is the Second Signature release from Storm And Jason Belmonte. It features the DualDrive weight block from the Timeless and the all new R2S Nano cover. I drilled my Drive with a Five inch pin above my fingers and my PSA slightly right of my thumb. I did not get time to practice with it before I bowled league, so I just went for it. We bowl on a 42 foot THS, Current conditioner and it's not tough to find the pocket. I was very impressed with how easy the Drive got down the lane, I thought that the cover would be way to much for our medium-ish volume. The ball hit really well and shaped up nicely at the end of the pattern. I used it for two games, the first game I shot was 237 with a split and a few corners and the next game was clean in the 220's. Near the end of the second game is where the carry started getting tough, I couldn't get a good angle to the pocket to shake out the ten pin. I don't create enough axis rotation to move in and staying right was not an option, so at that point I switched to a weaker cover. I've drilled a bunch of these for my customers and the feed back has been incredible. All in all the Drive is a great partner to the Timeless, they both shine in what they do best, the Drive is honest and smooth, the Timeless is cocky and sharp....great descriptions right? If you need that control ball for more oil or that sport shot killer...this Drive is the real deal. Cheers to the Utah Gang for a great release!!! #stormnation
Title: Re: Drive
Post by: rodbowler75 on March 17, 2018, 07:46:16 PM
When I drilled up the storm drive i was really looking forward to it after my success with the storm timeless. What i found is this ball everything i was looking to go with my timeless. A ball that could read the lane faster and give me that same great motion on higher volume of oil. This is a great choice if you're looking for a high end ball to add to your bag this spring.
Title: Re: Drive
Post by: RGisKing on March 17, 2018, 08:05:00 PM
STORM DRIVE

I was looking forward to the Drive coming out on one hand, and a little nervous on the other hand. I like the the Timeless, but it didnít match up with my game on some patterns.
So I took my Drive to my practice center on a fresh 41í synthetic lane surface. The huge thing about the Drive for me is I could keep my angles straight for several games, but when I had to move left it was small moves and my Drive never lost its movement and hitting power. One of the great things was now with the Drive once I burnt up the outside part of the lane, without moving I could get my Timeless out and stay in the same part of the lane. I threw it on a couple of heavier sport patterns, and the Drive did not disappoint. On the heavy oil pattern I threw the Drive on I hit it with a 1000 grit abralon pan and it performed very good. On the heaviest patterns it wasnít quite enough for me and my game, but between Roto Grip and Storm Iíve got a ball or two that will fill that need. If you had a problem with the Timeless, the only problem youíll have with the Drive is not owning one. Great addition for any league bowler and a must for tournament bowlers.


Length:  41'

Volume:  Heavy

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):  THS

Likes:  I can keep my angles straight.

Dislikes:  None so far.
Title: Re: Drive
Post by: StoRoto2013 on March 22, 2018, 12:09:27 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40 feet

Volume: medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


The Drive is the newest bowling ball in The Signature Line by Storm.  The Drive combines the Dual-Drive weight block a new Hybrid R2S Nano coverstock.  I was pleasantly surprised by the 3000 grit surface and the color combo is eye catching.  The Drive is in the same series as the Timeless.  They both use the same core (Dual-Drive) but reactions are quite different because of the different cover stocks.  The Timeless was extremely condition specific to me mainly because of the hybrid R2S was just too sensitive.   I was hoping with the beefed up coverstock (Hybrid Nano) on the Drive would make it a little more versatile and readable.  Obliviously with the Nano Cover the Drive is going to start up more than the Timeless and be smoother on the backend.  The Timeless had no chance on the Typical House PatternÖ The Timeless was erratic and unreadable.  Whereas the Drive was continuous and created room at the break point!  So to get a fair comparison, I threw the HyRoad Nano and the Drive on a typical house pattern roughly 40 feet long with a mound of oil at 10 and the Sahara ten to the gutter.  The surprising part of the experiment was the fact that the Drive was overall stronger than the HyRoad Nano.  The HyRoad Nano did start up a touch faster but was way smoother in the mid lane and on the backend.  The Drive allowed me to chase the pattern left as long as I did not get the ball to the Right quick!  Instant hook but still gave me a chance with the continuous motion.  The HyRoad Nano was just too smooth to go left and slightly go around the carry down.  The Drive was aggressive enough in the oil but still had enough to motor threw the carry down.  The layout for the Drive was pin below the bridge with the cg kicked out with a medium sized weight hole down.  The dual angle numbers are 50X5.5X75 based on my pap which is 5 5/8 over and ĺ up, medium ball speed, rev rate around 300 and right handed.  If I had to choose between a HyRoad Nano and a DriveÖ  I would choose the Drive.  The Drive is a strong continuous bowling ball with an aggressive backend motion.

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Storm Drive review by Brian Watson
Post by: StormRoto on March 24, 2018, 08:16:56 PM
  The new ball in the Storm Signature line is The Drive.  This is 2nd ball in the line next to the Timeless (Jason Belmonte).  The biggest I heard from bowlers was the Timeless reaction was a little over/under at times and went too long.  Well the Drive should take care of that problem.  The Drive uses same core (Dual-Drive) but has the R2S Nano Hybrid coverstock.  With this coverstock the Drive is earlier and smoother than Timeless.  Which does help with the over/under from the Timeless.  The Drive is great ball to go up the lane and to control the pocket.  The Drive will be a great ball for the USBC Open Championships in NY this year.  I drilled mine 4.5 x 4 x 4.25 pin down no hole. 

Brian Watson
PAP - 3 5/8 up 1 1/4
RPM - 400
Speed - 16
Tilt - 17

Storm/RG Pro Shop Staff
Title: Re: Drive
Post by: rotostar13 on March 27, 2018, 08:34:42 PM
layout: pin below bridge, cg kicked out 1 inch

condition: 40 ft ths on hpl

When I drilled this ball up I really didn't know what to expect from it. I really didn't like the timeless all that much and wasn't sure if this one would be any different. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised and glad that I drilled this ball up. It was way more ball then the timeless and really allowed me to open the lanes up much more. I was able to cross the boards more with it rather then playing straight up the boards with the timeless. This ball has wonderful shelf appeal with is good, navy and red scheme and the fragrance is citrus mint. This ball is available now. Go see your local pro shop professional today. Bowl up a storm
Title: Storm Drive Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on March 28, 2018, 02:18:33 PM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  45, 4 ĺ   , 70

The Drive fixes the problem I had with the Timeless.  The Timeless was simply too clean.  I liked it if there was enough friction, but there rarely was.  The Drive has the same Dual Drive core but with a MUCH stronger Nano Hybrid Cover.  The Drive ALWAYS get into a roll.  It catches a midlane very easy and has a smooth continuous backend.  Great improvement! 
Title: Re: Drive
Post by: Bigmike on March 31, 2018, 09:01:52 AM
I drilled my DRIVE up with a 65/4.75/35 layout but with no weight hole. I wanted to leave the option to tweak the motion if needed. This put the pin slightly above my ring finger with the CG still in USBC legal range. I have left it box since I have other much stronger options on higher volume/longer patterns.

I have throw the DRIVE on house patterns, a modified house pattern, and a couple of Kegel Challenge patterns. The DRIVE is smooth. It makes me think of my HYROAD NANO with just a touch more back end motion. Compared to my IDOL or CODE X, the DRIVE is smoother and not as hard off the point like both of those can be.

I would think anyone looking for control out of a stronger surface ball on longer and tougher patterns would want to put the DRIVE in their bag.
Title: Re: Drive
Post by: TonyMarino on May 10, 2018, 09:48:52 AM
Drive
The Drive is a 2nd release of the collaboration between Storm and Jason Belmonte. The Drive features the same dual drive core, but has a new cover that blends the R2S solid and the Nano covers together. This blend really makes the Drive stand out from the Timeless. The drive is way earlier and smoother than the Timeless, and has a great forward rolling shape versus the angular motion in the Timeless.

Because of the Nano cover I see similarities between the Drive and the Hyroad Nano, but the Drive is smoother and slightly earlier in the mids and the Hyroad Nano.
Title: Re: Drive
Post by: PJ Haggerty on May 16, 2018, 10:09:28 AM
Storm Drive Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

The newest collaboration between Storm and Jason Belmonte is the Storm Drive.  After the low RG, hybrid reactive cover, Timeless was introduced, it only makes sense the next release would be a solid, stronger version of the Timeless.  I found myself using the Timeless when there was a good amount of friction, so itís natural that the Drive would complement it nicely.  The Drive gives us the same symmetrical engine as the Timeless, but with the R2S Nano solid cover.  Itís considerably stronger than the Timeless, and great when thereís a good amount of oil on the lane. 

Iíve drilled one Drive so far and itís mapped out as: 5 x 4 with a hole under my axis.  I left the surface alone (3000), and allowed some oil to give it some lane shine.  Iíve noticed itís given me a smooth, slower response time motion, but still cleaner through the front than a Sure Lock, Idol, and Phaze II.  We all know Belmo can do things most of us canít, but Iíve had the most success keeping my angles in front of me with the Drive.  Once I start to go right-left with it, I need to go to something cleaner with a quicker response time.  Iíd put the drive in between the Sure Lock / Idol, but stronger than the Hyroad / Timeless. 

Go drill one to enjoy the collaboration between two of the worldsí greatestÖ Storm & Belmo!
Title: Re: Storm Drive review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on May 22, 2018, 12:09:03 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:40

Volume:Med-High

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Cover:  R2S Nano Hybrid
Weightblock:   R2S Nano Hybrid
Finish: 3000
RG: 2.57
Differential: 0.050

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin over ring 85 X 5 X 25

The Storm Drive is the newest ball in the signature line developed in collaboration with Jason Belmonte. It features the same Dual Drive weight block featured in the Timeless. They wrapped the Dual Drive with a new higher friction cover. They added Nano technology to the R2S Hybrid cover to improve mid-lane grab.

The Drive has definitely been the biggest surprise for me in recent years. For me the Timeless was very pattern specific. It was fairly clean through the front end and very smooth downlane. It was an ideal motion for places with extremely fast back-ends. My issue was with higher volume cliffed house shots where I would see the ball skid too far in the oil, react too early off the friction and have trouble going through the pins when you tried to adjust the angle. When I heard they were putting a stronger cover on the new Drive I was very skeptical about how it would perform after the issue I had with getting the timeless you retain energy.

Surprisingly I have found the Drive to be much more continuous despite the higher friction cover. It is very consistant in terms of motion which was what I liked most about the timeless, but the Nano Hybrid cover seemed to fix all of the issues I had with the Timeless. This ball with still read the middle of the lane in oil, makes a predictable move off the friction and continues so well. After being prepared to have to manage my expectations I threw the front 11 with the Drive the first night of league.

I feel like it is a versatile ball on a open house pattern. I can manipulate angles beautifully and whether I'm pushing the ball up the friction or pushing it left to right toward the breakpoint it is forgiving and when it sees the spot it just keeps coming. I love to see the 10 come out on my half pocket shots and this ball feels like it gives you an incredibly big pocket.



PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Drive
Post by: Kevin Duncan on June 07, 2018, 09:32:00 PM
Storm Drive
Layout: Modified 1:30 Leverage drill w/ 4Ē pin
Rev Rate: 300 rpm
Testing information: 41 foot THS (medium volume) Ė Kegel Machine Ė Brunswick Anvilane
Test results: Storm accomplished what they set out fto do with the R2S Reactive Nano Hybrid (2 part solid Ė 1 part pearl) coverstock and Dual-Block core of the Drive. The Drive reads the mid-lane better than the Timeless, which prevents it from skidding past the break point. The Drive is a good step down from the either the No Rules Exist or Hy-Road Nano once the breakdown starts. The Drive reminds me of my Phase II but just a touch earlier. My Drive read the lanes nicely at this year's USBC Open Championship at the beginning of the Doubles event, then I transitioned in with my Hyper Cell Fused. #Stormnation
Title: Re: Drive
Post by: dcutler on June 09, 2018, 07:56:06 PM
My name is Doug Cutler and I am a Storm/Roto Grip Regional Staffer. I am Left Handed  and throw about 15-16mph. The Storm Drive is the 2nd Version of the Belmo Premier Series. The Storm Drive I think really compliments the Timeless. People liked and hated the Timeless and some of the complaints was the ball was not to strong in the midlane and the Drive for me really did this for me.  I really like the Timeless and when the Drive came out I was really excited. I have used the Drive on fresh shots and even on THS in the beginning.  The Drive reads the Midlane really good and has a smooth back end reaction and is really controllable. The Drive works well on Medium to Oily lanes and also THS. I shot 1-300 and 1-800 so far with the Drive.  I shot 800 with the first time I used the ball.  This is a ball you can start with on Fresh Shots and hits really hard and keeps the pins low. If the ball starts to read to early, then I got to my Roto Grip Fused. If the Drive is not enough then I go to the Storm Code X. The Storm Drive is a ball I really like and I think you would also. #stormnation #stormdrive #bowlupastorm

Doug Cutler
Storm/ Roto Grip Regional Staffer
PBA Regional Champion