BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on March 07, 2018, 05:16:30 PM

Title: Code X
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on March 07, 2018, 05:16:30 PM
The Storm Code X continues the popular Code line of Storm bowling balls. This ball is the solid version of the Code Black and Code Red. The Code X features the R2S Solid Reactive coverstock that is wrapped around the RAD4 Core and is finished with a 3000 grit Abralon pad. This bowling ball offers more midlane read and performs well on heavy oil conditions.

Color: Black/Blue/Purple
Core: RAD4
Coverstock: R2S Solid Reactive
Finish: 3000-grit
RG: 2.50 (based on 15# ball)
Differential: 0.058 (based on 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium-Heavy Oil
Fragrance: Orange Zest
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on March 08, 2018, 08:51:52 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 42ft

Volume: medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

I was so excited when I read about the making of the Code X. Being a huge fan of the Code Black and Red and also loving the R2S solid cover, I couldn't wait. This ball is even better than I expected. Who wouldn't love a Code Black with an IQ Tour cover? I went with a 65*5*45 layout, my standard for almost all my first drills. My initial reaction to this ball when I threw it was that of excitement!! This ball just floats through the front part of the lane so effortlessly. The smooth continuation it has when it reads the middle part of the lane is nothing short of phenomenal. I threw about 6 games with it and as I moved left to stay ahead of the transition this ball never showed any signs of stopping. Its one of the best motions ive ever had from a strong asymmetrical piece. Compared to my SureLock it is not as early and rolly. It definitely continues more down lane but it doesn't handle heavy oil as well as the SureLock. It started up alittle too late when I threw it on a pattern that had aliitle more volume through the front part of the lane. This ball has yet to leave my bag since I drilled it.

Nick Smith
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: StormN3rik on March 16, 2018, 09:44:19 AM
The NEW Storm Code X is a HOOK MONSTER....... Imagine an Alpha Crux on steroids........ That is the Storm Code X. I drilled mine with a 62X4 1/4x38, and hit it with 2000 abralon and reacta shine. Even with attempting to smoothen this ball out, it still comes off the spot HARD and was much more aggresive then I was expecting, but boy do I like it!!!! You will need higher volume or just longer patterns in general for this hook in a box to be your weapon of choice. I believe this ball should be a must in your bag if you have a lower rev rate and are looking for more help from the ball itself, and for those tournament bowlers who see those longer tougher patterns and are looking for that earlier traction type of motion. Go out and get your Storm Code X today!

Erik Ramos

SIB Pro Shop Manager

Storm/Roto Grip Staff
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on March 16, 2018, 12:00:02 PM
In the simplest terms, the Code X is the Alpha Crux reborn.  LIke the Code Black and Code Red, it features the R2S coverstock, just in solid form.  This is a weaker cover than the Alpha had, but the core is stronger, delivering more flare and overall torque, which provides the familiar roll, but in a vehicle that’s even more versatile.  Due to the medium strength of the cover, it is usable on a wider range of conditions and is easier down the lane, also providing a bit more downlane shape than the Alpha.  Compared to the Black and Red, the X is several boards stronger than both, as well as firmer on the backend than the Red, but not quite as sharp as the Black.  The math is very simple on the Code X, R2S + RAD4 = X, which to me is one of the simplest yet most effective formulas in bowling.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lBMn10MIudU
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: RGisKing on March 17, 2018, 07:51:22 PM
STORM CODE X

Can you say HOOK and HIT? For any and all of the Code series fans, you are going to love the release of the Code X. The Code X will tackle the heavier oil patterns so when they start breaking down you got the Code Red or Code Black to go to. I took the Code X to my practice center and bowled with it on a 40’ house shot on a synthetic lane surface. The Code X was amazing how well it rolled through the fronts without losing and energy, with an incredible mid lane read and unbelievable continuation through the pins. At box finish this ball clears the fronts as well as any. Even for an old guy, I had pin flying everywhere, even with a few scouts. So on the heavier patterns you’ve got a ball in the Code X that’ll get you through the earlier games until the pattern starts breaking down. The Code X will definitely in my bag for tournaments and heavier oiled house shots. This ball is going to be a great addition to all league bowlers and a must to all tournament bowlers.


Length:  41'

Volume: 

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):  THS

Likes:  Hook and more hook

Dislikes:  Light oil patterns

Title: Re: Code X
Post by: rodbowler75 on March 17, 2018, 08:01:09 PM
Drilled the Storm Code X and wow! This ball has been really special in my hand i have a hard time putting it down. I really liked my Alpha Crux and to see the same type of motion was something i was missing in my bag. The cover is weaker but with a stronger core made a big difference to me allows me to move left more and know this ball will still have energy down lane. If you like the code black and the code red you'll love this bag as a great heavy oil ball.
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: BSumner on March 18, 2018, 03:43:05 PM
I laid out my Storm Code X with a 40x4.5x60. My goal was to get a better mid-lane read on those heavier and longer patterns. I wanted a ball that was slower through the hook phase.
Everything about this ball was spot on what I expected. Having thrown the Code Black and Code Red, the RAD4 core is just as predictable and controllable on the Code X. 
The 3000 Abralon surface did shine a bit as the frames and games added up. The initial aggressive motion you generally see with high friction surfaces began to tame a bit. That’s not to say it became ineffective. As the lanes transitioned, I was actually able to stay with the Code X longer than anticipated. It still pushed through the heads and recovered on the backends where other surface equipment might have sparked early or burned up.
Like the Code Black and Red… Storm has hit another home run with the RAD4 core!

LANE CONDITION

Length: 41

Volume: 22mls

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: Onefrombills on March 23, 2018, 12:02:02 AM
Storm Code X Bowling Ball
With an intermediate differential that’s higher than any other ball in its line, the intuitive RAD4 Core provides pro shop professionals more fine-tuning possibilities for bowlers of all styles. At over 10% more midlane read than the Code Red, R2S Solid is a chassis that favors heavy oil. It’s a perfect marriage between cover and core machined to precise specifications to achieve optimal performance no matter the condition you throw at it.
Color: Black/Blue/Purple
Coverstock: R2S Solid
Weight Block: RAD4 Core
Factory Finish: 3000 Abralon
Flare Potential: High
Radius of Gyration (RG): 2.50
Differential (Diff): 0.058
Intermediate Differential (Diff): 0.020
Fragrance: Orange Zest
I was very happy to hear that a new “Code” ball was going to be released. The the Code X is the Alpha Crux on steroids. The Code X is the solid version of the Code Black and Code Red, which both had the R2S Coverstock as well.
BOWLER STYLE: RH - Stroker Rev Rate: 380-420 Ball Speed: 15-16 PAP: 4 7/8 right 5/8 up
This ball has everything that the league-to-tournament bowlers could ask for… Hook & Hitting Power! This ball comes out-of-the box at 3000 Abralon, but can easily be changed to the surface desired. I have mine drilled with the pin one inch above the fingers and CG kicked out. On a THS this ball gets down the lane very well for a duller ball and still hits with authority. I was worried that I might have to shine it up a bit, but after seeing it in motion I will not be changing the surface.
Compared to the previous releases from STORM, I found myself to be about five boards right with my feet with the DRIVE and eight right with the SON!Q

Brian Hirsch
Storm - Roto Grip - VISE - Logo Infusion Staff Member
Title: Storm Code X review by Brian Watson
Post by: StormRoto on March 24, 2018, 09:01:59 PM
  The new ball in the Storm Premier line is the CODE X.  I personally think the CODE X
is an Alpha Crux with stronger motion down lane.  I drilled mine 4 x 5.5 x 2 pin up no hole.  I added Storm Step 2  on it and hit it with a light 1000 pad.  I was fortunate to shoot 300 with it first game off the press.  The Code x was a little cleaner than expected with a solid cover but still had plenty of midlane and great motion on the backend.  The CODE X has been a big hit in our Storm Matchmaker events with all styles of bowlers.  Another great addition to the Storm Line.

Brian Watson
PAP - 3 5/8 up 1 1/4
RPM - 400
Speed - 16
Tilt - 17

Storm/RG Pro Shop Staff
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: StoRoto2013 on March 26, 2018, 12:23:20 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


The Code X is the third installment in code series bowling balls within the Premier series from Storm.  The Code X uses the Rad4 Core like the Code Red and Code Black but what sets the Code X apart is the Coverstock.  The Cover stock is the legendary solid reactive R2S.  The Code X wants to start out of my hand and motion big time in the mid-lane.  I did not do any surface changes but the Code X will polish and be slightly more angular on the backend.  The layout I used is very similar to the layout I used in a Sure Lock.  The pin is over the bridge with the CG and Mass Bias kicked out with weight hole on mid line at 6 inches.  The dual angle numbers are 40 X 5.5 X 45 and that is based off my pap which is 5 5/8 over and ¾ up, medium ball speed and rev rate around 300.  I threw the Code X and Sure Lock on a fresh house pattern and I was surprised by how much and where the Code X Hooked!  The motion reminded me of the Alpha Crux with a more powerful backend.  The Code X allowed me to open up my angles and just hook it!  The Sure Lock gave me slightly earlier hook but the backend suffered as I moved deeper into the lane.  The Code X was just more powerful in the mid lane and on the backend.  When everything was said and done I was a good arrow left with my feet compared to the Sure Lock and there was no quitting on the backend.  I can see me using the Code X on tighter and / or longer patterns and have the confidence that the Code X was going to HOOK!  The Code X definitely gave the Premier Line a big boost of Hook Power!

Likes: HOOKS

Dislikes:  Have to move my feet to compensate for the hook


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Storm Code X Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on March 28, 2018, 02:17:42 PM

Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  45, 4 ¾   , 70

The Code X is everything I’ve been waiting for.  It’s got the IQ Tour Solid cover with the Code Series cores.  I love my Code Black and Code Red but sometimes they’re a little too clean.  Can’t handle the oil.  Code X has no problem with that.  Amazing performance.  Rolls early and tips more than any solid ball I’ve ever owned.  If you like the Code Balls or the IQ Tour, the Code X is a no brainer.
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: rotogrip_rick on March 28, 2018, 03:36:59 PM
Storm Code X         Line: Premier
Core: RAD4 core      Cover: R2S Solid
Finish: 3000 grit       Flare: 6” plus
Layout:  50x5x50
The Storm CODE X is the latest Asymmetric ball added to the Premier Line.  Using the lightweight RAD4 core and the proven R2S solid cover stock allows to add this to an already impressive line from Storm. I got to chance to demo this ball and then drilled one for myself shortly after that. Bowled on 45ft THS a few nights before my car accident, which is why this is a little delayed in getting reviewed by me. Since I am pretty close to a “spinner” I have my drilled with a 5 inch pin to help it get down the lane, which did help compared to my Sure Lock with a 3 ¾” pin layout. Did notice earlier and cleaner movement in the mid-point of the lane then a similar drilled CODE RED, but did save a good bit more energy in the back end for me then the SURE LOCK with notable better pin carry. Matching the core and cover was really a match made in heaven for any bowler that bowls in scratch tournaments and also heavy oil house conditions no matter what surface the lanes are.
Title: Storm Code X
Post by: bowlerman147 on March 30, 2018, 08:54:48 AM
The Storm Code X is the newest Premier line ball for Storm and is the solid edition of the very popular Code series.  The Code X contains the RAD4 Core and is covered by the R2S solid coverstock which is finished at 3000 grit matte.  I drilled my Code X with my new favorite layout where the pin is 4 inches from my pap with the CG stacked below the pin.  This gives me the ultimate control and I have now used it on my Intense, Hyper Cell Fuzed, and Dare Devil.  The Code X is very strong.  Even with the Shorter pin layout the ball still has a lot of pop and drives hard through the pins.  The Code X for me is pretty comparable to the Code Red in that both reads the mid lane early but still has enough energy left to finish when playing from deeper angles.  The Code X is just stronger than the Red by about 5 boards. 
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: rotostar13 on March 30, 2018, 08:04:28 PM
Lay out: pin below the bridge, mb 1 inch to the right of the thumb

Condition: 40 ft ths on hpl

This ball is a great addition to my bag. It's a solid with 3000 grit abralon. For me, it doesn't have that sharp break off the back end like the Black or the Red: it's a little smoother but still packs a punch. I generally just try and stay inside in the oil and stay away from the friction of the track area so the ball doesn't decide to hook up early on me. I have found that I can use this ball on a house shot but will usually have to put it away by the third game. This ball is very similar to the Alpha Crux in color scheme but the fragrance is an orange zest. This ball is available now. Go see you local pro shop professional today. Bowl up a storm.
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: Bigmike on March 31, 2018, 08:47:07 AM
I drilled up my CODE X with a standard asym layout of mine, 65/5/35 with a weight hole 5" across the grip center. I have throw this box finish and then hit it with a 2000 pad to make it a little more earlier for a tournament with more head oil. This puts the pin above my ring finger with the RAD4 slightly right of my thumb.

The CODE X is strong especially compared to some of my other balls that I prefer when there is more oil up front like my NO RULES EXIST or IDOL. Compared to the IDOL, my IDOL is much earlier and the CODE X is more on the back end. Compared to the NO RULES EXIST is a little tougher because I usually leave the NRE at 1500 abralon so naturally it is much earlier than the CODE X. They are good compliments in that progression of surface as when the NRE starts to ping or check too quickly, the CODE X is in play.

Put this one in your bag if you want a ball for oilier lane conditions that has back end movement.
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: TamerBowling on April 03, 2018, 07:24:43 AM
3 testers - 2 patterns

http://tamerbowling.com/storm-code-x-bowling-ball-review/

Excerpt:
Storm was very smart to put out a high end ball with the R2S solid cover. The Code X represents a more usable high end ball. Why? Because even though it has surface, R2S is not the most aggressive cover out there. So you get the benefit of having a strong surface ball without it being at the extreme top end. What will happen is this. Lots of bowler styles will be able to use this ball. When new, some will use for a game, some for a set. However, as it ages, you may see less midlane with more punch downlane. That will make it even more usable over time. People will feel like it was money well spent.
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: cmattingly on April 03, 2018, 01:17:38 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:42

Volume: 20.4 mLs

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Very Clean Through the front part of the lane. Control downlane on tougher patterns.

Dislikes: A little sluggish for me down lane, on the house shot.

Hey everyone, My CodeX is drilled 60x5x35. I want to start with my comments in the Likes/Dislikes section. The CodeX is really clean through the front of the lane once the ball transitions, for me, its not as strong as I was anticipating. I had heard comments about it being earlier and stronger than the Code Red. For me, it is not. It does however seem to have a lot of control but compared to the AlphaCrux it has more pop. I would compare this ball to a IQ Tour on steroids. It is not quite as clean as the IQ and it has a heavier roll down lane.

This is a great piece for Modified or Sport patters, when you need to control the back part of the lane when the ball exits the pattern. This ball for me is not something that will see regular games on the House Shot. I want something to read a little more in the midland and/or a littler stronger in the back.

Balls that have been getting the house shot love lately are:

Code Red: 45x5x35, no hole

DareDevil Danger: 60x5x55, P3 Hole

Idol: 60x5x55, P3 Hole

Hustle INK: 60x5x35, no hole

Casey Mattingly
Coach's Corner Pro Shop Owner/Operator
Storm/RotoGrip Staff
Turbo Regional Staff


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: chrisglaz on April 04, 2018, 05:47:33 PM
I waited on drilling this one up until I saw more reviews. I hate that I waited so long to drill up another great ball from storm. The code X gives plenty of miss too the right on your THS, length of 42 feet. it drives through the pins harder than anything I've had since the Alpha Crux, since my Alpha Crux cracked out I was looking for a replacement, well this ball fits that hole perfectly. I did touch the surface with 1500 abarlon.

Numbers: Right handed, tweener, pap 4 5/8 over and 1/2 up. layout using storm system 4 3/8x 3 3/4x 2 1/4.
Title: Code X Ball Review
Post by: yellowdog07 on April 10, 2018, 02:22:33 PM
Weight:  14 lbs.
Pin Length:  4 ”
Drilling:  50 X 3 4-1/2 X 35
Pattern Length:  39 ft. & 40 ft.
Pattern Volume:  Medium
Pattern Type:  THS
Right Handed

The Code X has the asymmetrical  RAD4 Core, wrapped in the R2S Solid reactive cover stock, with a 6” plus flare potential.  The box finish is 3000 grit, but as always, can be polished and/or changed to suit  different lane conditions.  The Code X is blue/black/purple scented with orange zest.

I have used the Code X on a 39 ft. medium volume house pattern, and a 40 ft. medium volume house pattern.

For the 39 ft. THS, I needed to add some polish.   This allowed me to get the ball through the heads easily and have a strong backend finish.  As the pattern broke down, I moved further in to pick up more head oil, and The Code X saved lots of energy.  The polish allowed me to use the Code X on our THS and not burn up before arrival.

On the medium volume 40 ft. pattern, the Code X gave me a better look at the box finish of 3000 grit. The Code X is a heavy rolling ball and comes off the pattern very strong.  As I had to move with the pattern transition, I was still able to get the corners out.  I compared the Code X to the Roto Grip Idol.  I  found the Idol to start up a bit earlier in the mid lane.  The Code X was a good starting ball for me on fresh, with polish on the shorter pattern, and at box finish on the longer pattern.

If you’re looking for a ball for heavy oil, this ball would be a perfect addition to your arsenal.  With a little surface changing, it can be used on league shots as well. 

Carol Teel
Roto Grip Amateur Staff Member
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: msipple on April 11, 2018, 10:36:12 AM
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 3 - 4 
Starting Top Weight: 2.62 oz
Ball Weight: 15
 
DRILL PATTERN

50x4.5x30
 
BOWLER STYLE:  RH - Stroker
Rev Rate:  380-420
Ball Speed: 15-16
PAP/Track:  PAP:  5 13/16” and 1/2" up
 
SURFACE PREP
Box Finish:  factory 3000
BALL MOTION
The Code X with an intermediate differential that’s higher than any other ball in its line, the intuitive RAD4 Core provides pro shop professionals more fine-tuning possibilities for bowlers of all styles. At over 10% more midlane read than the Code Red, R2S Solid is a chassis that favors heavy oil. It’s a perfect marriage between cover and core machined to precise specifications to achieve optimal performance no matter the condition you throw at it.
 COMMENTS
I drilled the Code X pin up to match my Code Red. I really love the reaction and motion I get with my Code Red so I was looking for something with the same motion just a little stronger. The Code X reads the mid-lane a little sooner and hooks more but not as sharp as the Code Red. This ball works great for me on fresh and heavy oil but when the lane starts to burn up its time to put it away for the Code Red. This ball is great for heavier oil.
 
Mike Sipple
Storm/Roto Grip/Amateur Staff
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
Title: Storm Code X
Post by: fazzone22 on April 12, 2018, 10:24:47 AM
I drilled my Code X 4.5 x 4.5 x 2 with a 1 inch extra-hole 4.5 inches of the center of my grip line. My first impression of this ball was that it wasn’t as early as Sure Lock but it gave me more continuation thru the pins. For all those people who liked the Code Reds and Code Blacks, they will absolutely love this ball for times when there is more oil and don’t be afraid to take the surface down to 1000 or less if you are looking for more hook depending on your style of bowling.
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: RubrightReviews on April 20, 2018, 12:38:22 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 43'

Volume: Medium (22mL)

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Used on both THS and Sport Shot.


COMMENTS

I drilled my Storm Code X 55 x 5” x 75 with a weight hole 2” down on my VAL.

The Storm Code X consists of the RAD 4 Core and the R2S Solid Reactive coverstock.  This low RG, higher differential combination matched up with a slower reacting coverstock creates a piece that is essential for every sport bowler’s arsenal.  Bowlers that threw the Storm Alpha Crux say the Code X is very similar but a little more continuous.   

I think that this ball is versatile in the sense that you can keep your angles straight on the fresh medium to heavy oil patterns and continue to move left as the lanes break down.  The coverstock is slow enough so it does not over react on the fresh backends, but still has enough core and cover to dig when you need it to cover more boards.

If you are curious as to what the ball reaction looks like, be sure to check out the video Rubright Ball Reviews has put together.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntt_D1hKYUQ
(Video was conducted on a THS)

Title: Re: Code X
Post by: TonyMarino on May 10, 2018, 09:45:44 AM
Code X
The Code X is the solid addition to Storm’s Premier line that uses the asymmetrical RAD4 weight block and the R2S solid cover. Makes its return to the Premier line with this release, and it is finished from the factory at 3000 Abralon.

I drilled mine to be pretty rolly and continuous and I absolutely love my Code X. Many are comparing the Code X to the Alpha Crux, but I think the Sure Lock is a closer match. For me the Code X is cleaner and smoother at the break point than both the Alpha and Sure Lock. The Code X leans more towards a benchmark ball than a high volume hook monster in my option, and because of that it has been finding its way in bag everywhere I go!
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: PJ Haggerty on May 25, 2018, 04:58:55 PM
Storm Code X Review by PJ Haggerty

The Code X is the third “Code” series ball and has been my favorite thus far.  I am still a huge fan of the Code Red when the lanes start to hook and you need to create more angle down lane.  The Code X has given us the strongest Code ball so far and it goes everywhere with me.  I’ve been able to use it on multiple patterns and had a lot of success with it. 

I haven’t made any surface changes to my Code X’s either.  I’ve drilled two of them so far and both provide different motions.  My favorite is mapped out as: 6 x 5.5 x 70.  This puts the pin above my middle with the mass bias just to the right of my thumb.  I’ve been able to play straight and trap it or really open my angles up and it gives me a very smooth response time.  My second is mapped out as 5 x 3.5 with a hole under my axis.  This motion is certainly earlier and more overall hook.  I tend to use this one more on fresh patterns and earlier in blocks.   Either way – I have a ton of confidence when the Code X is in my hands.

I’d think of the Code X as a stronger Hy-Road Nano, but not as strong as the Sure Lock or No Rules Exist.  For tournaments or league, this ball can be used anywhere and everywhere.  Go drill one!

#StormNation
Title: Code X
Post by: Haley3 on June 04, 2018, 08:12:31 PM
Gender : Female 
Speed :  16.5 mph
Rev Rate : 315
P.A.P : 4 1/2 & 1 - 1/8 up

Skill Level   : High Performance
Color   : Black/Blue/Purple
Coverstock   : Solid Reactive
Lane Condition   : Heavy Oil
Finish   : 3000 Abralon
Weight Block   : Asymmetrical
Flare Potential   : High
Fragrance   : Yes
 
When I drilled the Code X I did not think it would be such a game changer. I figured I would probably just use it on longer patterns and keep it in my tournament bag. After I struggled in league I gave it a shot and it didn’t disappoint. Could move all over the lane and still loved the shape. I have to move about 8 boards left from my Code Red as the Code X just has a lot more midlane hook. The thing that surprised me the most would have to be that I can use it on short , medium and long patterns with the right surface added. I’d say this ball should be in your bag for all tournament bowlers. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Haley Lundy
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: fjcallahan on June 14, 2018, 09:09:09 AM
The CodeX features the R2S cover and the RAD4 Asymmetrical weight block…the numbers are 2.50 RG, .058 Diff and an Intermediate Diff of .020
This ball reminded me of a more angular SureLock, if you can imagine that. The CodeX is stronger off the friction and longer down the lane. I don’t have a lot of axis rotation so, my SureLock rolled up too soon once the track dried out and I couldn’t move left and still carry the corner pins…with that said, The CodeX filled that void for me, if you need a strong piece and struggle a bit with axis rotation and or rev rate, you should take look at this ball. I’ve drilled a few for higher rev rate players and they can get this ball back from anywhere.
I’m a huge fan of the RAD4 weight block and I enjoyed rolling all of the Code Series Bowling balls. The CodeBlack was fun and it really turned the corner, the CodeRed was more reserved and controlled the pocket. The CodeX, to me, is the perfect addition to this line.
It is the ball you go to on higher volumes and longer patterns or if you need a little help with some hook. What can I say, I hope this ball stays around for awhile.
I’ll quickly touch on the “Is this the Alpha Crux reborn” Topic…In my opinion, It Is NOT…which isn’t a bad thing, they are two different rolling balls. I know some specs were released showing similarities but, again, I personally didn’t see them very close...that's just my opinion.
The CodeX is a nice fit into my arsenal and I think you would like it too, given the right situations. #stormnation
Title: Code X Ball Review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on June 15, 2018, 12:28:31 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:40

Volume:Med-High

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

COMMENTS

Cover:  R2S Solid
Weightblock:   RAD4
Finish: 3000
RG: 2.50
Differential: 0.058

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin Over Ring 55 X 5 X 45

The R2S cover has been featured on some of the greatest balls ever put on the Market. Storm decided to combine this legendary coverstock with the ultra-powerful RAD-4 core that was featured in the Code Black and Code Red. The result is the Code X, a powerhouse ball ideal for heavy oil.

I tested the Code X on a high volume house pattern. For lower rev rates this ball will be in play right away, which is very helpful when you are used to having to take a lot of surface to the lane to see your ball move on heavy oil. Making those extreme surface changes can cause you big headaches when you start to see transition and that same ball that you had relied on stops getting the 10 out because you've been forced left and can't create angle because the excess friction burns the ball's energy up too soon. Normally you'd have to move to another ball, a different reaction and it is often difficult to predict how the next ball is going to react because you aren't just moving areas on the lane but the surface difference makes it a completely different reaction. The Code X is one of those rare balls in the same vein as the Sure Lock and Virtual Gravity Nano that are in play immediately on the highest volumes but give you a more predictable transition to the next ball when they start to hook too much.

The 3000 grit finish also helps keep the ball in play longer. Your line doesn't burn up as fast as using surface to combat the volume but the ball is strong enough to use right away. The RAD cores have already proven themselves a powerhouse with the earlier Code releases. This ball will flare and read in the mid-lane without the need to make extreme surface changes. The result is unmitigated power and control.

If you're in the pro shop keep these stocked. We all go through periods where the laneman goes nuts and the seniors and lower rev rate guys are in screaming for something that will actually hook. Hand them a Code X and wait for them to come back and thank you for it.
PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Code X
Post by: bowlstorm3 on June 19, 2018, 09:39:25 PM
I frequently throw my Storm Code Black and Code Red. I find them to be some of the most angular asymmetrical balls I have thrown and find them useful on a variety of patterns. I even add quite a bit of surface to my Code Black for really long patterns as it still provides shape even with a ton of surface. So, I was excited when Storm announced a dull surface R2S solid cover to the series in the Code X.

With a similar layout as my other Codes (50 x 4.75 x 50), I was not in love with the 3000 grit surface on the R2S solid cover out of the box. The surface forced me a bit too far left and was too smooth on the backend to create the proper angle downlane for carry. After some struggles, I hit it with a fresh 2000 pad. Then, it picked up the midlane better and produced a better reaction overall on our house patterns. Since then, I added even more surface for sport patterns and it seems to handle it well. In my opinion, if a bowler matched up well with the Code Black and/or Code Red, this is a logical step for someone looking to handle a bit more volume/length.

Check out the video review at:
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=tDTBUwcqf0U