Win a free Columbia 300 Eruption Pro! Click here to enter!
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email This More...


?


BallReviews.com

Promote Your Page Too
?

Author Topic: Radical Times Up Mini Review  (Read 1651 times)

tekneek

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5657
Radical Times Up Mini Review
« on: August 15, 2011, 01:45:43 AM »
 


 


Pre-drilled specs:


15/3, 2.75, 4" pin


Layout: 4-1/4 x 3-3/4, x-hole 2" below midline on the VAL, 3/4" dia x 2.25" deep


Times Up- symmertic core values:  2.533- .041 polished pearl


Began Sunday throwing it on wood surfaces with a good amount of friction, a 41 ft THS, the shot was a left over from the previous nights league shot. Considering this was not a fresh shot I found the TU to be very consistent from shot to shot. It had plenty of recovery on wide right misses, this particular house uses a 1-3 board on each side as OB, anything thrown out there gets you a washout, with that in mind anything out to 4-5 came back to the pocket.


 


After 15 - 20 minutes the lanes were stripped and re-oil for us. The three of us played different lines, I tried several lines, playing straight up 7-10 I really had to keep the speed up to keep it from over running the pocket, which is not my choice of lines or releases. Moved left with feet and eyes, was now able to play more swing, more in my confort zone, easy length is this balls selling point, the medium .041 rg differential is very misleading, I had 4-5"of flare which equates to plenty of recovery on the back end. Many have asked me if this is a skid snap motion, no it is not, but for me it showed a hard hook, more than an arc but not a skid snap motion.


 


In a nutshell the TU, is a medium oil ball with excellent natural length and a strong back end, not a skid/snap motion more of a hard hook. A ball every bowler can use on a THS, tournament bowler on medium oil with shorter patterns, the pictures on the marketing materials don't do the ball any justice, it is a dark blue similar to the Big Heist, in direct light the dark purple jumps right out at you, for pro shops the color combo will sell the ball lots of eye candy!!!


Steve
Leading Edge Pro Shop
brinkley2223@yahoo.com
512-755-2947

http://stores.shop.ebay.com/Leading-Edge-Pro-Shop__W0QQ_armrsZ1


 
Edited by tekneek on 8/15/2011 at 9:50 AM
Steve
Leading Edge Pro Shop
Radical Bowling Technologies Advisory Staff
brinkley2223@yahoo.com
512-755-2947

 

Impending Doom

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
Re: Radical Times Up Mini Review
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2011, 10:07:11 AM »
Steve,
 
This ball looks kind of like the old Crunch Time/Solution/Triton Elite type ball. What do you think?
 
 Crunch Time Specs 
Hook Rating 25-20 
Length 8 
Backend 6 
Core Technology Core 2 Technology 
Core Power 7 
RG 2.52 
Differential 0.047 
Determinator Spin Time N/A 
Flare Potential 5 
Coverstock Power Plus EX Reactive 
Friction Rating 6 
Finish Polished 
Polish Magic Shine 
Reaction Shape Arc 
Lane Condition Medium 
 
Solution Power Plus Specs 
Hook Rating 25-21 
Length 5.0 
Backend 6.5 
Core Technology Core 2 Technology 
Core Power N/A 
RG 2.50 
Differential 0.040 
Determinator Spin Time N/A 
Flare Potential 5 
Coverstock Power Plus Reactive 
Friction Rating N/A 
Finish 900 Grit Sanded 
Polish Magic Shine 
Reaction Shape Arc 
Lane Condition Medium Oil 
 
 
 


The sky is falling
The end is near
The final warning
The sun disappears. 
*Inventor of the FIBJAM*

 
Evil cost the World.
A murder paid it all.
 
My arsenal
 
http://www.flickr.com/photos/67160612@N08/sets/72157632880012479/

tekneek

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5657
Re: Radical Times Up Mini Review
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2011, 10:28:54 AM »
Spoke to Phil regarding the TU, a remake of the DynothaneVendetta Pearl using a different shape core with the same core values. An outstanding ball, if you never threw one you can now !!!


Steve
Leading Edge Pro Shop
brinkley2223@yahoo.com
512-755-2947
 
http://stores.shop.ebay.com/Leading-Edge-Pro-Shop__W0QQ_armrsZ1


Steve
Leading Edge Pro Shop
Radical Bowling Technologies Advisory Staff
brinkley2223@yahoo.com
512-755-2947

charlest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21832
Re: Radical Times Up Mini Review
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2011, 11:10:40 AM »
Impending Doom,
 
I had several Crunchtimes and few liked that ball as much as I did. But since it was a particle pearl, I found that when the circumstances for it were right, nothing was better, but it was such a medium oil ball that I found it hard to use without adequate head oil. I think the Times Up, being a Phil remake, will be much more usable over a wider variety of oil patterns. At least that's what I'm hoping.


"None are so blind as those who will not see."

 
"None are so blind as those who will not see."

stormed1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1405
Re: Radical Times Up Mini Review
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2011, 03:28:06 PM »
Steve
Thanks for the review  I'm punching my TU up tonight and your review was quite helpful in deciding the layout i am going to use


Castaway's Bowlers Pro Shop
Calumet City,Il. 60409
(708) 862-1602
 
Arsenal:  OMG,Aftermath,Bank Pearl,Raw Profit ,Shred-it x3,Sideways x2,Profit x2,Slant solid & pearl Clutch Pearl,Double Clutch Pearl,Heist Pearl,Hype urethane,Hook (all 3 colors),Missing Links solid &Pearl, Desperado,Mars, Grenade Pearl,Golden Globe

http://s485.photobucket.com/albums/rr220/stormed1/My%20Arsenal/
Bowlingboards.com

tekneek

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5657
Re: Radical Times Up Mini Review
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2011, 05:23:22 PM »
A great piece Bob you won't be disappointed !!!!


Steve
Leading Edge Pro Shop
brinkley2223@yahoo.com
512-755-2947
 
http://stores.shop.ebay.com/Leading-Edge-Pro-Shop__W0QQ_armrsZ1


Steve
Leading Edge Pro Shop
Radical Bowling Technologies Advisory Staff
brinkley2223@yahoo.com
512-755-2947

Impending Doom

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
Re: Radical Times Up Mini Review
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2011, 06:29:58 PM »
CharlesT,  
 
The Crunch Time had particle in it? I had one, and I don't remember ever seeing any literature stating that there was particle in it.
 
Steve,
 
I forgot that he had used that weight block in the Dyno days. Still an awesome rolling weightblock, no matter what cover you match it up with. 
 
 
charlest wrote on 8/15/2011 11:10 AM:
Impending Doom,
 
I had several Crunchtimes and few liked that ball as much as I did. But since it was a particle pearl, I found that when the circumstances for it were right, nothing was better, but it was such a medium oil ball that I found it hard to use without adequate head oil. I think the Times Up, being a Phil remake, will be much more usable over a wider variety of oil patterns. At least that's what I'm hoping.


"None are so blind as those who will not see."

 


The sky is falling
The end is near
The final warning
The sun disappears. 
*Inventor of the FIBJAM*

 
Evil cost the World.
A murder paid it all.
 
My arsenal
 
http://www.flickr.com/photos/67160612@N08/sets/72157632880012479/

slashrr69

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1266
Re: Radical Times Up Mini Review
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2011, 08:48:28 PM »
hey steve

  your getting pretty good at this ball review thing.. nice post!!  keep them coming.. slashrr69

charlest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21832
Re: Radical Times Up Mini Review
« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2011, 06:19:32 AM »
Yes, it was yet another of those dirty little secrets. A bunch of Track & Columbia balls had particles in them that weren't advertised as such. Some were mild and some were medium oil balls. Many were polished. One of my favorite mild one was the Columbia Ego. Still have a NIB 16 lb one.
 
Impending Doom wrote on 8/15/2011 6:29 PM:
CharlesT,  
 
The Crunch Time had particle in it? I had one, and I don't remember ever seeing any literature stating that there was particle in it.
 



"None are so blind as those who will not see."

 
"None are so blind as those who will not see."