win a ball from Bowling.com
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email This More...


Author Topic: Radical Tremendous Review  (Read 1761 times)

Maine Man

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2051
Radical Tremendous Review
« on: July 10, 2017, 10:43:14 AM »
Radical Tremendous
Layout: 40 x 4.5” x 70
Surface: Box finish
PAP: 4 5/8 " x 0"
RPM: 360
Tilt: 15-17
Left handed

I have thrown the Radical Tremendous on (3) different oil patterns and really like the motion it gives me for a strong, asymmetrical solid. This ball is an updated and enhanced version of the popular Radical Guru, and it delivers! On a typical house shot, I was able to move inside and keep the ball in the oil longer, taking advantage of the strong cover/core combo. Pin carry was excellent even with the lower angle playing inside, from 21-13. On a medium sport pattern (Athens), I was able to play in around 14-15 and migrate further in as the pattern broke down. I also used it on a short, heavier sport pattern (Stockholm), and had great success playing around 4-5 and letting that big weight block tip the ball into the pocket, as the aggressive cover allowed the ball to roll early and set up perfectly. This ball is a must have for sport patterns, and if you like to play inside on heavier blend house shots. Release date is July 11, 2017, make sure you get Radical!

James Goulding III (Brunswick Staff)
James Goulding
Moore's Pro Shop
Brunswick Staff
M.I.S.T. Tournament Director

 

storybook123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Radical Tremendous Review
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2017, 12:29:08 PM »
Show them the video James! ;)

Roller

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Radical Tremendous Review
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2017, 08:07:34 PM »
One question for those of you who have thrown the Tremendous. it is essentially the Guru back in production, is it not? I ask because I look at the perfect score for the Tremendous, and it is significantly lower than the one for the original Guru, though the core numbers and coverstock are identical. I am just curious as to how this ball now has a different rating, compared to the great "oiler" that the original Guru was.

SVstar34

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4154
Re: Radical Tremendous Review
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2017, 09:56:20 PM »
One question for those of you who have thrown the Tremendous. it is essentially the Guru back in production, is it not? I ask because I look at the perfect score for the Tremendous, and it is significantly lower than the one for the original Guru, though the core numbers and coverstock are identical. I am just curious as to how this ball now has a different rating, compared to the great "oiler" that the original Guru was.

Phil has said it's just an updated version of the original Guru cover. The true "oiler" from radical is the Cash
Harley's Simi Bowl (Simi Valley, CA)
Sunset West (St George, UT)

<a href="http://valentinobowling-com.3dcartstores.com/?AffId=3">Click here to visit Valentino Bowling</a>

Roller

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Radical Tremendous Review
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2017, 10:19:06 PM »
Cool! I mainly throw Storm and Roto Grip, but I really liked the Guru, so I may have to check the Tremendous out for my personal heavy oil ball, like I did with the old one. As for the Cash, I have seen you proven absolutely right by a buddy of mine throwing it on soupy conditions...that thing just cuts through heavy oil incredibly easy.

Bowler19525

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 336
Re: Radical Tremendous Review
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2017, 02:03:25 PM »
Lane Side Reviews posted their review of the Tremendous on youtube.  They indicated the Tremendous is slightly stronger than the original Guru.  Their review was very positive.  Looks like a good ball.
DV8 Endless Nightmare
Radical Primo
Radical Torrid Elite
Columbia White Dot

storybook123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Radical Tremendous Review
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2017, 02:07:44 PM »
Lane Side Reviews posted their review of the Tremendous on youtube.  They indicated the Tremendous is slightly stronger than the original Guru.  Their review was very positive.  Looks like a good ball.

Radical just released a new video, core is the Guru just with a better cover that prevents that lane shine issue or last longer to prevent lane shine.

spencerwatts

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 359
Re: Radical Tremendous Review
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2017, 11:00:25 PM »
I've said previously that I found the original Guru to be a miss. Personally, I've not had good results using it on tournament shots and so it's not one of my primary tournament pieces.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2017, 11:06:29 PM by spencerwatts »
Ball speed avg. (18.25 mph)
Rev rate avg. (400-428 rpm)
Still refusing to accept AARP eligibility and membership cards

Impending Doom

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4463
  • #ihate1500polished
Re: Radical Tremendous Review
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2017, 11:38:11 PM »
Lane Side Reviews posted their review of the Tremendous on youtube.  They indicated the Tremendous is slightly stronger than the original Guru.  Their review was very positive.  Looks like a good ball.

To be fair, Rob is on Brunswick staff, and I've never heard them say something bad about anything.. Face it, as a consumer, you need to be able to watch ball reaction and not believe the marketing hype.
Go Global or Go Home!
-------------------------------------------------------------------

leftybowler70

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 957
Re: Radical Tremendous Review
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2017, 07:34:53 AM »
Lane Side Reviews posted their review of the Tremendous on youtube.  They indicated the Tremendous is slightly stronger than the original Guru.  Their review was very positive.  Looks like a good ball.

To be fair, Rob is on Brunswick staff, and I've never heard them say something bad about anything.. Face it, as a consumer, you need to be able to watch ball reaction and not believe the marketing hype.

^^^^

spencerwatts

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 359
Re: Radical Tremendous Review
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2017, 10:50:18 AM »
I look forward to Rob's videos on the latest Brunswick and Radical releases. I think you have to listen to what they say and more importantly how they say it to get a sense if they really liked the ball or not. Even so, I still don't take what they say as gospel. I rely more on my instincts and I ask others before I consider whether adding another ball to my tournament arsenal.

That said, the original Guru was a miss for me because I went for the hype.
Ball speed avg. (18.25 mph)
Rev rate avg. (400-428 rpm)
Still refusing to accept AARP eligibility and membership cards

Impending Doom

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4463
  • #ihate1500polished
Re: Radical Tremendous Review
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2017, 11:47:29 AM »
To be honest, the whole 900 Global Prime line has been horrible for me. I think I'm the only person on the planet that didn't like the Respect, but the Truth Solid never looked good to me, and my Moxie was meh. I should have gone with a larger Val angle because I was always stuck between it being too much off the spot if I squared up, and not enough if I got in.

Staffers (and certain ball reviewers) are compensated with free equipment to say flattering  things about each ball.
Go Global or Go Home!
-------------------------------------------------------------------

billdozer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3806
  • Don't throw strikes, throw bolts!
Re: Radical Tremendous Review
« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2017, 10:23:57 PM »
To be honest, the whole 900 Global Prime line has been horrible for me. I think I'm the only person on the planet that didn't like the Respect, but the Truth Solid never looked good to me, and my Moxie was meh. I should have gone with a larger Val angle because I was always stuck between it being too much off the spot if I squared up, and not enough if I got in.

Staffers (and certain ball reviewers) are compensated with free equipment to say flattering  things about each ball.

i was the same way with the respect.

i let the ball be too much and put some speed on it, balls carries great on oil!
In the bag [NØ Rules Pearl, Dream, Pathogen, Respect, !Q Fusion, Uproar]
*Now Testing* Hyroad pearl, Haywire, !Q Tour, Loco Solid, DDTrick
Coming soon.. 900 OG dream, Respect pearl, Breakdown, AZO Cheater hybrid, Legit

robert way

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: Radical Tremendous Review
« Reply #13 on: August 19, 2017, 09:06:09 PM »
Tremendous

I am a left gander with a Pap of 5" over. My ball speed is around 15mph. Rev Rate around 300 rpm. I recently punch up a Radical Tremendous. My choice of layout is 50 x 4 1/2 x 40 with a P3 balance hole (layout A). This ball is a great match to my Quick Fix. My quick fix is layout 65 x 5 1/4 x 40. The Quick Fix gives me a smoother backend motion than my Tremendous. The   Tremendous picks up a little sooner with a stronger backend movement than my Quick Fix. The Tremendous allows me to move a little deeper and open the lane. Another Great ball from Radical a Bowling Technologies.
Robert Way

jensm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
Re: Radical Tremendous Review
« Reply #14 on: August 21, 2017, 01:30:43 AM »
Thanks James! This review gives me a good sense of what this ball is about. Thanks for sharing!

Regards,

jensm