win a ball from Bowling.com

Author Topic: 900 Global Equilibrium video and written review  (Read 2639 times)

Average Joe Reviews

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
  • A bowler just like you
900 Global Equilibrium video and written review
« on: January 14, 2020, 11:42:51 AM »

This time we had the chance to try the 900 Global Equilibrium. This ball features the S74R hybrid coverstock and the inverted Dome symmetric core. So far, I am impressed with this ball.

I tried this ball on our fresh house shot pattern and I was able to find my way to the pocket easily with the Equilibrium. The ball is clean through the front part of the lane and it has a strong, but very controllable downlane motion.

The Equilibrium has a smooth and predictable roll. It revs up quick but it pushes farther down the lane to provide a strong, but controllable backend motion. It has a unique shape that I really enjoyed.

When I missed outside my target, the ball offered enough recovery leaving some corner pins when I missed too far out. Misses inside were not as forgiving as misses outside.

The people at 900 Global chose the perfect name for this ball. Throughout the session, I noticed how the Equilibrium offers the perfect balance of length, control and strength down the lane. It doesn't have a skid-flip motion, but it offers enough length to feel comfortable knowing that the ball will never hook too early and that it will have enough energy to provide a strong shape down the lane.

I was able to play from different angles. I started playing straighter with great results and when I had to move inside the ball still had enough energy to hit the pocket.

This ball might be what some call "House shot killer". It is not early, it is not extremely clean and it is a versatile piece that will be useful for a lot of bowling styles. On fresh, this ball can be used playing tighter angles, but I feel that where this ball will really shine is on the transition or once you have found some friction.

The Equilibrium will be a great option to have in your arsenal once stronger balls like the Volatility or the Honey Badger Extreme Solid start hooking too early or getting lazy down the lane. The Equilibrium will be a great option on broken down patterns. Once there is some friction and you need more length and more shape at the backend, the Equilibrium will be a great ball to go to.

The guys at 900 Global nailed with this one. You won't be disappointed.
Angel Loaeza

I am just an average bowler, I don't work for any company nor I am on staff with any ball company.

Social Media:

Twitter: www.twitter.com/AverageJoeBowl
Facebook: www.facebook.com/AverageJoeBowl
Instagram: www.instagram.com/AverageJoeBowl

 

vadertyme03

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
Re: 900 Global Equilibrium video and written review
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2020, 01:01:17 PM »
Angel, appreciate the review of both this ball and the Volatility. Just one question, do you see the Equilibrium being close to the Money Badger Tour? Are they different enough, or would a Volatility provide greater differentiation? Thanks.

Average Joe Reviews

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
  • A bowler just like you
Re: 900 Global Equilibrium video and written review
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2020, 02:54:40 PM »
Angel, appreciate the review of both this ball and the Volatility. Just one question, do you see the Equilibrium being close to the Money Badger Tour? Are they different enough, or would a Volatility provide greater differentiation? Thanks.

You are welcome! No, the Money Badger Tour is stronger, earlier and smoother than the Equilibrium. The Equilibrium will be a good ball if you want a cleaner ball with more shape downlane without being too angular. The Volatility might be closer to the Money Badger Tour, similar shape but stronger overall.

Strength wise they would be like this: Volatility > Money Badger Tour > Equilibrium

If you are thinking about Equilibrium or Volatility I would go with the Equilibrium if you want a complement for your MBT and if you mostly bowl on THS. If you want a bigger ball than the MBT and you bowl on flat patterns and more challenging conditions, then the Volatility might be a better option.

I hope this helps!
Angel Loaeza

I am just an average bowler, I don't work for any company nor I am on staff with any ball company.

Social Media:

Twitter: www.twitter.com/AverageJoeBowl
Facebook: www.facebook.com/AverageJoeBowl
Instagram: www.instagram.com/AverageJoeBowl

jelt2359

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
Re: 900 Global Equilibrium video and written review
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2020, 07:17:11 PM »
Thank you for the review. Tamer likes it a lot as well, puts it in the same company as phase 2 and hyroad. What’s your take on how versatile this ball is on a THS? Could it be used the whole night?

Average Joe Reviews

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
  • A bowler just like you
Re: 900 Global Equilibrium video and written review
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2020, 10:38:56 AM »
Thank you for the review. Tamer likes it a lot as well, puts it in the same company as phase 2 and hyroad. What’s your take on how versatile this ball is on a THS? Could it be used the whole night?

You are welcome. Yes, for me it has everything to be considered a benchmark ball. It fits between the Phaze II and the Hy-Road. The Equilibrium is a tad cleaner than the Phaze II and a tad smoother than the Hy-Road. I found it extremely versatile.

Funny you ask about how it works on a THS. I bowled with it yesterday during league, I shot 270-225-207 and I used the Equilibrium the whole night. I started playing straight and I couldn't miss. At the end of the second game I noticed a little bit more friction so I just made a small move in. Between some bad shots and some carry issues, I ended up with a 207 the last game. I would say that you can definitely use the Equilibrium all night if you want. Ball is so forgiving and so predictable that for me its what we call a "House shot killer".

I hope this helps!
Angel Loaeza

I am just an average bowler, I don't work for any company nor I am on staff with any ball company.

Social Media:

Twitter: www.twitter.com/AverageJoeBowl
Facebook: www.facebook.com/AverageJoeBowl
Instagram: www.instagram.com/AverageJoeBowl

n00dlejester

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3245
  • The Dude Abides
Re: 900 Global Equilibrium video and written review
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2020, 10:41:33 PM »
Great review, Angel! This ball is very intriguing to me. How would you compare this ball to the Respect?
"This is not 'Nam. This is bowling. There are rules."

jelt2359

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
Re: 900 Global Equilibrium video and written review
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2020, 10:18:50 AM »
Thank you for the review. Tamer likes it a lot as well, puts it in the same company as phase 2 and hyroad. What’s your take on how versatile this ball is on a THS? Could it be used the whole night?

You are welcome. Yes, for me it has everything to be considered a benchmark ball. It fits between the Phaze II and the Hy-Road. The Equilibrium is a tad cleaner than the Phaze II and a tad smoother than the Hy-Road. I found it extremely versatile.

Funny you ask about how it works on a THS. I bowled with it yesterday during league, I shot 270-225-207 and I used the Equilibrium the whole night. I started playing straight and I couldn't miss. At the end of the second game I noticed a little bit more friction so I just made a small move in. Between some bad shots and some carry issues, I ended up with a 207 the last game. I would say that you can definitely use the Equilibrium all night if you want. Ball is so forgiving and so predictable that for me its what we call a "House shot killer".

I hope this helps!

Thank you! Between your rec and Doom's (before he left this brand), I've ordered one.

Average Joe Reviews

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
  • A bowler just like you
Re: 900 Global Equilibrium video and written review
« Reply #7 on: January 16, 2020, 03:38:25 PM »
Great review, Angel! This ball is very intriguing to me. How would you compare this ball to the Respect?

Thanks! The Respect is a bigger ball. They have a similar motion but the Respect for me was stronger overall and more angular than the Equilibrium.
Angel Loaeza

I am just an average bowler, I don't work for any company nor I am on staff with any ball company.

Social Media:

Twitter: www.twitter.com/AverageJoeBowl
Facebook: www.facebook.com/AverageJoeBowl
Instagram: www.instagram.com/AverageJoeBowl

Average Joe Reviews

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
  • A bowler just like you
Re: 900 Global Equilibrium video and written review
« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2020, 03:40:34 PM »
Thank you for the review. Tamer likes it a lot as well, puts it in the same company as phase 2 and hyroad. What’s your take on how versatile this ball is on a THS? Could it be used the whole night?

You are welcome. Yes, for me it has everything to be considered a benchmark ball. It fits between the Phaze II and the Hy-Road. The Equilibrium is a tad cleaner than the Phaze II and a tad smoother than the Hy-Road. I found it extremely versatile.

Funny you ask about how it works on a THS. I bowled with it yesterday during league, I shot 270-225-207 and I used the Equilibrium the whole night. I started playing straight and I couldn't miss. At the end of the second game I noticed a little bit more friction so I just made a small move in. Between some bad shots and some carry issues, I ended up with a 207 the last game. I would say that you can definitely use the Equilibrium all night if you want. Ball is so forgiving and so predictable that for me its what we call a "House shot killer".

I hope this helps!

Thank you! Between your rec and Doom's (before he left this brand), I've ordered one.

Trust me, you are going to love this ball! Honestly I didn't know what to expect when it was announced, but once I did the video I was like WOW! You are going to enjoy it.
Angel Loaeza

I am just an average bowler, I don't work for any company nor I am on staff with any ball company.

Social Media:

Twitter: www.twitter.com/AverageJoeBowl
Facebook: www.facebook.com/AverageJoeBowl
Instagram: www.instagram.com/AverageJoeBowl