BallReviews

Equipment Boards => AMF => Topic started by: AMF300bowler on August 28, 2015, 11:44:19 AM

Title: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: AMF300bowler on August 28, 2015, 11:44:19 AM
So in 2015, AMF has released three (3) new bowling balls. In contrast, 900 Global has had 14 new bowling balls and Storm has released about 21 new bowling balls. This is  based on a look at the USBC approved ball list.

So, when are getting more? We should at least get a couple for the fall bowling season.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: iamone78 on August 28, 2015, 02:34:00 PM
The Unreal and Pure Adrenaline are our fall releases from AMF. Historically we have seen a release in either late November/early December or January. I would expect the same this year as well.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: j0hnny2x on August 28, 2015, 09:19:27 PM
I'm going to guess an October/November Vintage release just like years past. If they keep the trend going I'm curious what it may be.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: Strapper_Squared on August 29, 2015, 09:44:05 AM
Come on Sumo!  Or Bone XS
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: Impending Doom on August 29, 2015, 10:07:50 AM
I want another Velocity line. Please. Pleeeeeease!
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: dougb on August 29, 2015, 10:56:36 AM
How about the Heist and Heist Pearl!
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: billdozer on August 29, 2015, 11:00:23 AM
ninja
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: slammin60123 on August 30, 2015, 12:10:21 AM
I need another Heist Pearl please make some more
I promise to buy 2 of them 👍👌.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: Southern California Bowl on August 30, 2015, 06:59:40 AM
Slam, there are a few heist pearls on eBay right now
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: dougb on August 30, 2015, 10:21:14 AM
Glad I'm not the only one who recognized what an exceptional core/cover combo the Heist Pearl was. I put a MOtion hole on mine and won a lot of money with it. I always wondered where that cover would fall in terms of today's numerical scale. AMF did us all a disservice by never really releasing it.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: bowlingman817 on August 30, 2015, 05:49:00 PM
Back to the topic, there is a new release coming out probably in October called the Encore. 2.54 rg and .37 diff in 15 lb. F73 pearl cover. 1500 grit polished with a copper/ turquoise color.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: Impending Doom on August 30, 2015, 06:46:34 PM
Sounds similar to the Torch, numbers wise.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: bowlingman817 on August 30, 2015, 06:59:07 PM
It's a symmetrical core called Mallet. Looks like a nice medium oil ball.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: Strapper_Squared on August 31, 2015, 05:38:06 AM
Old Columbia core... Was it the Drive series?

It's a symmetrical core called Mallet. Looks like a nice medium oil ball.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: bowlingman817 on August 31, 2015, 07:27:28 AM
Yep, looks identical to the drive series.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: SVstar34 on September 12, 2015, 12:16:38 PM
(https://www.ballreviews.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi61.tinypic.com%2F4iexrb.jpg&hash=96e528823fb8bca04b4c8913aab7dd3f)
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: strikecing on September 12, 2015, 11:13:05 PM
(https://www.ballreviews.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi61.tinypic.com%2F4iexrb.jpg&hash=96e528823fb8bca04b4c8913aab7dd3f)

The bully line called.....they want there weight block back
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: SVstar34 on September 13, 2015, 07:06:40 PM
That's interesting.  It is the same core from the Bully line. That kinda makes me want it more because that was the first reactive ball I threw
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: tkkshop on September 13, 2015, 07:52:08 PM
It seems that 900G has now remade the Inferno core as well as the Bully core in the last year. Not complaining, but this has to ruffle some bowling feathers. Heck, I may end up with the encore as the core numbers look appealing.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: SVstar34 on September 13, 2015, 08:03:54 PM
Heck, I may end up with the encore as the core numbers look appealing.

The core numbers plus the stronger cover is what's appealing to me. Balls with similar numbers have rolled well for me on our house shot but there have been times when the reaction was there but I just needed more cover
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: AMF300bowler on September 14, 2015, 10:29:36 AM
And the Encore is different from the Pure Adrenaline? How?

F73 vs. F74. Both 1500 Grit Polished. 15lb RG: 2.54 vs. 2.55.

Why do we need this ball? Not enough difference to me.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: bowlingman817 on September 14, 2015, 11:37:01 AM
And the Encore is different from the Pure Adrenaline? How?

F73 vs. F74. Both 1500 Grit Polished. 15lb RG: 2.54 vs. 2.55.

Why do we need this ball? Not enough difference to me.
I believe the Adrenaline has a .55 diff and the Encore has .37 diff. So your getting a lot more core dynamics with the Adrenaline.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: AMF300bowler on September 14, 2015, 11:51:01 AM
The .18 difference is a LOT MORE core dynamics? Really?

Please explain what you think I will get for the .18? More hook? Less Hook? More angular? Less angular.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: bowlingman817 on September 14, 2015, 12:10:45 PM
I don't understand what you're looking for in the line, another high performance ball with the same numbers as the Pure. And yes in my opinion .18 diff is a big difference in ball motion if drilled for that purpose.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: Impending Doom on September 14, 2015, 01:50:26 PM
Core shape dictates motion. Different core shape with similar numbers will create a different motion.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: AMF300bowler on September 15, 2015, 11:10:55 AM
And I get that core shape dictates motion, but if that is the ad for the ball in the picture above, it should at least let you know the difference between it and the Pure Adrenaline.
The balls specs are very similar except for the .18 diff.

I still would like to know what affect the .18 difference will have?
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: ThomasR on September 15, 2015, 11:37:01 AM
I'm not sure I see what the issue is here?  Yes, the coverstock ratings are relatively close, but that doesn't mean they are the same... They have different characteristics.  F74 will produce a bit more friction and midlane, while the F73 tends to skid/flip better. 

As for core numbers...

2.54/0.037 vs. 2.55/0.055 and these balls are too close? 

Let's look at another company's line up...

Guru Master - 2.50/0.044
Primo - 2.48/0.048
Rave - 2.52/0.049
Score - 2.50/0.054
Grease Monkey Whack - 2.54/0.048

Do those seem similar?

The only thing similar between the Pure Adrenaline and the Encore is the box finish, and they are catching flack?  I'm just not sure I understand...
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: Impending Doom on September 15, 2015, 12:04:59 PM
Yes, 73 and 74, even though they're "close" on the number scale, have different characteristics. 73 is very clean and very snappy off the spot. Off the top of my head, the Bank Pearl, Break Point Pearl and Dirty Look all have 73 Pearl. Snappy is a good way to describe the last 2, and the Bank Pearl was strong due to the core shape. My Freight Train was stupid strong off the spot, due to the core shape.

Now the .018 difference... You might not see much difference on a house shot, but lower diff will really show its importance on flatter shots and tougher shots. Where the Adrenaline might Jack knife off the end of the pattern, the Encore will not due to the lower diff. And it is significant. Remember, the max diff is .060, so this is a reduction of a 1/3 allowable diff.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: BrunsNick on September 15, 2015, 01:32:38 PM
Let's look at another company's line up...

Guru Master - 2.50/0.044
Primo - 2.48/0.048
Rave - 2.52/0.049
Score - 2.50/0.054
Grease Monkey Whack - 2.54/0.048

Do those seem similar?


Yes, those Radical Bowling core numbers look similar. However, when you compare the Radical Bowling numbers after drilling (which we provide with every ball) with Radical Bowling's patented Scoop Core Design, the numbers change drastically. You could almost say its a Radical change.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: Urethane Game on September 15, 2015, 01:43:57 PM
WOW That's Radical....
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: Impending Doom on September 15, 2015, 02:10:41 PM
Nick, you know all core numbers change after drilling, some shapes more so than others. So the fact that TJ used those 5 balls as a comparison is coincidence. You could do the same thing with any company.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: BrunsNick on September 15, 2015, 02:42:02 PM
Not a big deal, but being that he chose to compare Radical saying there is hardly any difference on paper compelled me to clarify for those who may read the post.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: Impending Doom on September 15, 2015, 03:05:53 PM
Well, to the average consumer, based off of numbers, there isn't. As Mo has stated, core shape dictates motion, so numbers before drilling are going to be different. Have never seen a Radical drill sheet, so I can't speak to the paperwork you're speaking of, and its a cool idea, but I know a lot of shop operators who will throw that literature in the garbage and still do a pin next to ring MB right of the thumb and call it stacked. All the cool weight block technology is great, and I always applaud Mo for his weight block design, but if you're not following the instructions on how to maximize diff and intermediate diff, its fruitless.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: ThomasR on September 15, 2015, 05:38:56 PM
We had a core called the Composite Flow Technology Core that had a fanned out belt with space in between.  This core significantly decreased the effect drilling had on the core.  The purpose of this was that the post-drilled ball had as close to the advertised core numbers as possible.  The concept is pretty simple, and kind of removes the guess work of what your core numbers actually look like after drilling.  Compared to a 20% decrease in Differential caused by pin under bridge layout, there was only a 5% decrease (small percentages, but a lot of difference when talking about the scale of differential from 0.000-.060) with the CFT core.  Likewise, Pin up layouts stabilized the Differential instead of having a drastic increased %.

At the end of the day, all you can really do is throw the ball, see how it matches up against the rest of your arsenal, and decide the best time and place to throw it...

Spending 2 hours trying to determine a layout and how it will effect the cores numbers, ball motion, etc is just 2 hours you could have spent practicing!

Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: ThomasR on September 15, 2015, 05:41:16 PM
Not a big deal, but being that he chose to compare Radical saying there is hardly any difference on paper compelled me to clarify for those who may read the post.

I just googled the first company I thought of (I'm sure I'll see Phil at league tonight) and pulled their core numbers as an example.  No shots taken! 
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: Impending Doom on September 15, 2015, 07:15:45 PM
CFT was the nut. I love my Network and am picking another one up soon.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: AMF300bowler on September 16, 2015, 11:34:50 AM
Thanks, guys. I wasn't trying to negative here. I just wanted to learn more about this stuff and sometimes being a devil's advocate opens the information up. I look forward to seeing a ball video comparing the Encore to the Pure Adrenaline.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: Impending Doom on September 16, 2015, 12:20:58 PM
Thanks, guys. I wasn't trying to negative here. I just wanted to learn more about this stuff and sometimes being a devil's advocate opens the information up. I look forward to seeing a ball video comparing the Encore to the Pure Adrenaline.

The only stupid question is the unasked one.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: iamone78 on September 16, 2015, 03:08:01 PM
You don't know what you don't know. Well said IMO. Biggest take away should be that undrilled ball RG/diff will change after drilling. On a side note, can we get the CFT core back again?
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: nwilson on November 30, 2015, 12:21:53 PM
I'm trying to figure out how old my old AMF The Angle bowling ball is.  The serial # is 5R2E063.  Does anyone know how to tell via the serial #?  Thanks.
Title: Re: New AMF Balls For Fall?
Post by: AMF300bowler on November 30, 2015, 12:43:42 PM
The "5" would be the year. So that would be 1985.