BallReviews

Reviews => Brunswick => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on June 16, 2016, 11:53:38 AM

Title: Fanatic
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on June 16, 2016, 11:53:38 AM
The Brunswick Fanatic bowling ball combines the I-Block Symmetric core with the Relativity V coverstock to offer a versatile ball. This purple/light blue ball provides great length with an angular backend reaction as well as strong hitting power. This ball is best used on medium to light oiled lanes.

Color: Purple/Light Blue All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown.
Coverstock: Relativity Max Reactive
Core: I-Block Symmetric (14#-16#)
Finish: 500 Siaair, Royal Compound, Royal Shine
Hook Potential: Medium/High 185 (scale: 10-250)
Length: Middle 130 (scale: 25-235)
Breakpoint Shape: Angular 120 (scale: 10-150)
RG: 2.540 (for 15# ball)
Differential: 0.052 (for 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium to Light Oil
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: Apexdave23 on July 07, 2016, 08:41:44 PM
Bowling Ball- Brunswick Fanatic
Coverstock- Relativity V Max
Factory Finish- 500 Siaair, Royal Compound, Royal Shine
Ball Layout- 65x4.75x35
 
The Brunswick Fanatic is a great all-purpose bowling ball that will fit really well on most medium oil patterns. The Fanatic is very clean down the lane, and responds extremely well off of the friction. I’ve had the Fanatic for a week now, and it rolls great on both wood and synthetic lane surfaces. I found the fanatic to be extremely good when the lanes started to transition. With the royal shine, the ball gets effortless length, but thanks to the core design, the ball makes a nice strong predicable backend motion.  Compared to the Brunswick Danger Zone, I have the Fanatic just a bit cleaner down the lane, with more response to the friction. Compared to the Brunswick Melee Jab, I would say my fanatic is just a touch more predictable. Both the Jab and the Fanatic have a similar length, but the fanatic is just a touch smoother. The fanatic has already won me over, and I know that the ball is going to get back, and give me a great look to strike a lot on medium volume oil patterns. Make sure you check this one out July 12th!

Dave Rice
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: notclay on July 11, 2016, 04:20:16 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40

Volume: 26ml

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS
Ball lay out is pin above and 4" from PAP with no extra hole.  Factory surface kept for now. 

Likes: I love that I can stay close to friction and get the predictable Brunswick read of the lane.  Strong and smooth off the friction.  After using it on two different house shots I'm reminded of the motion of the Danger Zone, except it goes a little longer before making the move.  Strong enough to handle some miss to the outside, and clean enough to handle some tug room inside.  Compared to my favorite Melee Jab, it's less angular late, but still strong. 

This could easily be the proverbial "first ball out of the bag" for people who like to play straighter lines through the front.  This one impresses!!  The colors are also a nice plus.  Very nice looking.

I'm not high speed or high revs anymore.  For my bowling style this ball is close to perfect.  Time will tell... Thanks Brunswick!!

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: devildog819 on July 14, 2016, 07:57:23 AM

Brunswick Fanatic Review.

The Brunswick Fanatic uses the I-Block Symmetrical core with the Relativity V cover, which provides outstanding length with angular ball motion.

My Specs...17mph off the hand, PAP 4 13/16 over 1/2 up...Rev Rate 350...Tilt 11 degrees

For this ball, I chose the Rico Drill, which I had used previously in the Melee Jab. This layout places the pin near the center of the grip, CG at 45 degrees relative to the pin, with a weight hole 6 3/4in from the pin. I found good success with it in that ball and with the Fanatic being similar I thought it was a good choice.

The first week I used it with the OOB surface, I found that the ball picked up a little quick in the midlane and my reaction was not the best. I still managed to avg 205 first time out which is below my norm. I decided to change the surface to 4000 and add factory finish polish. 2nd week....what a difference. I played the lanes tight in the fronts and with the change in surface the look I got was fantastic. The length was unreal and off the spot the ball just carried the world. Almost like I could not miss. July 7th bowled 231, 279, 288 for a 798 series. At one point, had 17 strikes in row. I cannot say enough good things about this ball. Thank you to Brunswick for allowing me to be a part of the family.

Roger Harley, Jr.
Brunswick Advisory Staff
IBPSIA Advanced Pro Shop Technician
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: piper3595 on July 14, 2016, 12:35:11 PM
I cannot tell you how excited I am about this Fanatic. The C System Versa Max was easily my favorite ball out of the last 10 years of throwing only Brunswick products. I could throw this ball on any pattern medium and shorter. It was my benchmark ball in my bag for a long period of time. I could change the surface of the ball to score on most conditions. Great news is I can see all of this resurrecting with the Fanatic. This ball has the same core as the Versa Max with the new composite cover technology. After throwing this ball for a short period of time I can see this ball becoming a legendary favorite of mine like the Versa was. The ball is going to be a superstar in league due its even shape with awesome energy hitting the pins. This is a must have in your bag when you are going to bowl somewhere where you don’t know what pattern is down. It is going to be a reliable scout to let you know where you need to be playing on the lane. Get to your local proshop and grab one today!
Greg
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: devildog819 on July 14, 2016, 12:40:25 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: EVVLEFTY on July 21, 2016, 07:22:35 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:  41 ft.

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):  THS


COMMENTS

The Brunswick Fanatic is a great all-purpose bowling ball that will fit really well on most medium oil patterns. The Fanatic is very clean down the lane, and responds very well to downlane friction. I’ve had the Fanatic for two weeks, and it rolls great on both wood and synthetic lane surfaces. When the lanes started to transition is when I see the ball work well for me. With the royal shine, the ball has great length, and matched up the core design the ball makes a strong predicable backend motion.  I compare it to the Versa Max from a few years ago.
the layout I chose was 55X5X45, which worked & matched up well for my PAP.

You will not be disappointed with this ball in you arsenal.

Dick Dube
Brunswick Advisory Staff

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: jpbowl300 on July 21, 2016, 01:39:45 PM
I drilled this ball pin above ring finger and left it at the out of the box finish.  Threw it for the first time on PBA Viper during our sport summer league.  Many good bowlers in this league and most were struggling on the pattern but I was able to use the Fanatic o create a very controllable reaction and didn't have to move much at all as the night moved on.

It should be a terrific benchmark ball, and one who, if you're a straighter player like I am, should be able to stay outside and /or up the track longer than you might normally.  Or, the big-handed players will find the recovery they like to see, and the important mid-lane push.

All-in-all, a very versatile ball, good match of cover an core, one that all serious bowlers should consider adding to their bags.

Jeff Poholsky
Brunswick Advisory Staff
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: BigBPride on July 22, 2016, 01:54:42 PM
BALL SPECS

Ball Weight: 15 lbs


DRILL PATTERN

Dual Angle: 30 x 4 3/4 x 70

X Hole (if there is one): Yes


BOWLER STYLE

Rev Rate: Medium , between 250-275 rpm

Ball Speed: 17-18 mph

PAP/Track: 5 1/2" over and 1/2" down


SURFACE PREP

Grit: Box Finish

Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polished


COMMENTS
Brunswick Fanatic is a ball i have been waiting on for a long time.   It's a polished version of the Brunswick Versa-Max.  This ball gives outstanding length with a stronger backend motion than the Versa-Max. I drilled this one 30 x 4 3/4 x 70 just like my Versa-Max to give me that length with a smoother continuous motion in the backend.   This ball is a must if you loved the Versa-Max, you will not be disappointed.



Charles Withers II
Brunswick Advisory Staff
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: UpstateProShopChris on July 24, 2016, 08:52:34 PM
Pin Length: 3.5


Starting Top Weight: 3 oz


Ball Weight: 15 lbs 3 oz



DRILL PATTERN


Ball: 60 x 5 x 35


X Hole (if there is one): small xhole low on val



BOWLER STYLE


Rev Rate: 375 rpms


Ball Speed:17.5 mph off hand



PAP/Track: 4 3/4 over 3/4 up



SURFACE PREP


Grit: 4000 Siaair with polish


Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Sanded



LANE CONDITIONS


Lengths of patterns: 41 foot house



Volumes: Moderate



Type: house




BALL REACTION


Length: Clean through the front with a strong and smooth backend



Back End: strong arc


Overall Hook: moderately aggressive


Midlane Read: smooth with length


Breakpoint Shape: strong arc



COMMENTS


Likes: Length and predictable, strong backend motion



Dislikes: none

The Fanatic is a new controllable symmetrical ball featuring the core from the great C System Versamax.  Many bowlers including myself have been hoping this core would return and it doesn't disappoint.  It is about two boards straighter through the front and a foot or so longer than a Danger Zone.  I can see this ball allowing me to stay closer to the friction on our house shot throughout this season.  I also see the Fanatic being used on medium and shorter tournament patterns for long periods of time.  The Fanatic is very versatile.  I can change speeds and rotations and move throughout the lane.  The Relativity V Composite cover should also enhance durability and extend the balls life span.  Overall, this a great benchmark type ball that will perform for most bowlers on a wide variety of lane conditions.   
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: Troy on July 30, 2016, 09:31:20 AM
I drilled mine 70 x 4 1/2 x 40 to put the pin above the fingers.  The intent was to match the angular back end motion of this ball.  This will be a great ball for most house patterns, or medium to light oil pattern.  I found I could play more direct angles with this ball because it delivers a predictable angular motion off the spot.  In my arsenal this ball will most likely be a ball I go to when the pattern breaks down and there is a lot of traffic on the lane.   I also see this as a ball that will allow great predictability on lighter oil sport patterns.

Troy Schaefer
Brunswick Regional Staff Player
#bowlwithbruns #teamBrunswick
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: bowler838 on July 31, 2016, 05:05:42 PM
This ball stores energy so well.  I put my favorite pin up layout with a hole and this ball is so angular its not even funny.  This ball for me is gonna be my bench mark ball when traveling from house to house as to know which way to go in balls whether it be up in balls or down in balls.  On patterns, this ball is gonna be amazing when the front gets chewed and its time to get in a wheel it.  I know I will have total faith in this ball later in the block.
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: kingofsqueeze on August 04, 2016, 04:03:44 PM
With my Fanatic I can move either outside straight up the boards on fresh or a short sport condition and it holds its energy. I love it.... Also, with the Fanatic with pin up 3-4 in pin I can play on just about any shot inside and I don't have to worry about not having enough to get back to the pocket. Great ball for just about any condition.

David Tullos
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: jpeery13 on August 09, 2016, 02:50:17 PM
Brunswick Fanatic
15lb 1oz
Top 2.4oz 3-4"
Out of the box finish

This ball is absolutely amazing.  Drilled and picked up on Saturday Aug. 6th.  I practiced a little - shot 212,288.  Then Sunday the 7th in a tournament shot 290,222,278 for 790.  Then Monday the 8th in a tournament shot 289,249,269,246 for the WIN!  I am left handed and the pin is just under the ring finger.  Playing about 20 to 10 the Fanatic holds the line really well with a nice even arch on the back end.  I love the length it gives when playing a medium to direct line.  I can also move another 10 right and play the whole lane with great recovery on the back end - no skid flip, a very nice round hook.  When I was playing the whole lane and maybe missed a few boards "in" the ball held the line well and still struck.  I really felt that no matter what I did wrong from time to time the ball seemed to reward me.  I just love the evenness about this ball and just might have to get another soon.

Jason Peery
Brunswick Advisory Staff
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: brunswickroller on August 11, 2016, 07:06:10 PM
The Fanatic uses the much acclaimed Versa-Max I-Block core. This core is super stable, very dynamic and readable at the breakpoint with a very early midlane read, the absolute perfect benchmark type reaction.

The Fanatic features a composite relativity v max coverstock that is 100% pearl. Out of the box is 500 siaair with royal compound and shine, the surface on my piece was changed to 4000 siaiair spinner followed by royal shine.

Drilled the Fanatic with my benchmark symmetrical drill of 55 x 4 7/8" x 55 with a 3/4" x 3 1/2" P3 weight hole

This ball is a perfect benchmark type reaction for the medium to heavy side of lane conditions in my hand. With the polished cover it will glide very well thru lighter oil conditions as well. The Fanatic has a very mellow and controlled breakpoint with a very early midlane read and tons of continuation, hitting the ball with a 4000 pad on the spinner will smooth it out even more. Shot 703 with this ball first league set I encountered the perfect lane condition to use it on, left 3 corners all night. This is a perfect all purpose ball motion that will fit in the middle of your bag, with slower ball speed and some rev dominance you could easily use it on heavier lane conditions, especially with some of the shine knocked off. A benchmark masterpiece that I will be looking to add more of to the bag with some different drills


-Gary Murrell
Brunswick Regional Staff
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: Brunswickman79 on August 12, 2016, 10:04:00 AM
BALL SPECS

Pin Length:3-4

Starting Top Weight:3.23

Ball Weight:15


DRILL PATTERN

Pin to PAP:45* X 4 3/4 X 70*

CG to PAP:

X Hole (if there is one):X-hole is on VAL down 1 1/2


BOWLER STYLE

Rev Rate:450-470

Ball Speed:19-20

PAP/Track:4 3/8 right and 7/8 up


SURFACE PREP

Grit:box

Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded):polish


LANE CONDITION

Length:variety

Volume:variety

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):variety


BALL REACTION

Length:clean thru the front but not too much skid

Back End:strong but very controllable

Overall Hook:scale of 1-10 the fanatic is about a 7 overall

Midland Read:good mid-lane read without over reacting to the friction

Breakpoint Shape:very smooth, arcing shape and very continuous.


COMMENTS

Likes:clean thru the front with a good mid lane read and that incredibly smooth reaction on the back. This ball will allow the straighter guys to stay closer to the friction without the ball over reacting. The high rev guys will love this because they can stay inside a little and hit on the ball as much as they want and the ball won't over hook off the dry.

When I compare this ball,  i compared it to the Melee Jab, Jackpot, LT-48. The Fanatic seems to slow down a little quicker then the jab and is way less reaction on the backend. The fanatic was a little cleaner in the front then the Jackpot with less backend.   When i compared the LT-48 i found the Lt_48 to be the closest over all reaction. Lt-48 was a little cleaner and little stronger on the back but the fanatic seemed to always go thru the pins better. to line those 4 balls up strongest to weakest Jackpot, Jab, Fanatic and then the LT-48

personal opinion, this is going to be a great benchmark ball. going to be first ball out of the bag to help you read the lanes. It going to be the easiest ball to read as it goes down the lane. i also feel it will match up on many conditions. house shots and sports shots alike. move your feet and the fanatic might never leave your hands. I see this being a perfect ball for the THS!

Dislikes:still looking.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: fatman_FUBAR on August 14, 2016, 01:37:39 PM
Fanatic: filled with or expressing excessive zeal.
See why this ball has Lane Side Reviews overflowing with zeal....AND‪#‎Strikes‬ as they take the Brunswick Bowling ‪#‎Fanatic‬ to the lanes to see how it ‪#‎stacksup‬.
‪#‎TeamBrunswick‬ ‪#‎TeamLSR‬ ‪#‎TeamLogoInfusion‬ ‪#‎TurboGrips‬ ‪#‎Bowling‬‪#‎VersaMaxxx‬ ‪#‎Iblock‬ ‪#‎THS‬



Brunswick FANATIC

BALL SPECS
Pin Length – 2-3"
Starting Top Weight – 2.6 oz
Ball Weight - 15lb 3oz

DRILL PATTERN
Drilled 60 x 4 x 30, no hole

BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate – 240 / 352 / 570
Ball Speed – 14.1 MPH / 18.6 MPH

PICTURE AND VIDEO LINKS

https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/13718608_1305240546160932_238306459126712657_n.jpg?oh=7e540aa0b6df1492c8260f4259ded054&oe=58495377

SURFACE PREPARATION
Grit - Out of the Box
Type (Matte, Polish, Sanded) - Out of the Box

LANE CONDITION
Length - 41 ft
Volume – 18.30 ml
Type (Wall, Xmas Tree, Sport) – Kegel Main Street (THS)

Don’t forget to follow us on Facebook @ Http://www.Facebook.com/LaneSideReviews

Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: TBohannon on August 25, 2016, 11:30:33 PM

The Fanatic uses the much acclaimed Versa-Max I-Block core. This core is super stable, very dynamic and readable at the breakpoint with a very early midlane read, the absolute perfect benchmark type reaction.

The Fanatic features a composite relativity v max coverstock that is 100% pearl. Out of the box is 500 siaair with royal compound and shine, the surface on my piece was changed to 4000 siaiair spinner followed by royal shine.

Length:

Volume:

I drilled this ball with one of my favorite layouts, pin up
60 x 4 x 35 with no hole, ball is extremely clean thur the fronts and loves to go left when it finds
friction.
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: Brian Green on September 06, 2016, 10:31:55 PM
Bowler Stats
Left Handed
Rev Rate 425-450
Axis Tilt 17 degrees
PAP 5 over by 3/4 up
ball speed 17.5-18mph

Ball Specs
15 lbs
pin 3-4
top 2-3

     I drilled my Fanatic 55x5x60. I laid it out identical to my Danger Zone as I wanted a ball that was over all just stronger than my danger zone but I didn't want a different look..  My Fanatic is about the same length as my danger zone, there is a more pronounced back end movement with my Fanatic though....   on a house shot this ball is a little too strong for me but it is my first ball out of my bag on medium volume tournament patterns

if you are looking for a good all around ball that can handle the medium/heavy oil patterns and allow you control your breakpoint,  Consider drilling a Brunswick Fanatic
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: bigtdog69 on September 12, 2016, 03:14:41 PM
Bowling Ball – Brunswick Fanatic
Coverstock – Relativity V Max
Factory Finish – 500 Siaair, Royal Compound, Royal Shine
Ball Layout – 80 x 4 ¼ x 30

The Brunswick Fanatic is a must have ball in your bag.  It’s a great all-purpose ball that can be used for light to medium oil patterns.  With its royal shine finish it gets through the heads very clean and responds very well when it sees friction.  This is probably the smoothest ball reaction I have seen in the Brunswick line.  Even with the smoothness it still has enough pop to drive through the pins and split the 8-9 on a consistent basis.
This should be a good benchmark ball and on most house shots will be the first ball out of my bag.  It allows me to play straighter to start and when the lanes start to transition I can move left and bounce the ball off the friction and not worry whether or not it will read correctly and make it back to the pocket.

Troy LaBrie
Brunswick Regional Staff
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: TamerBowling on September 24, 2016, 09:38:27 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40ft

Volume: Medium THS



COMMENTS

Check out our complete review and video:
http://tamerbowling.com/brunswick-fanatic-bowling-ball-review/



PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: Brunswick_fan_BrandonH on October 18, 2016, 04:50:09 PM
BALL SPECS


Ball Weight: 16 lbs


DRILL PATTERN

Dual Angle Layout: 70 x 4 1/2" x 35

X Hole (if there is one): none


BOWLER STYLE

Rev Rate: Higher, between 370 and 410 rpm, aka Cranker

Ball Speed: 16.50 mph

PAP/Track: 5 3/8" over and 7/8" up with a high track


SURFACE PREP

Grit: Box - 500, Royal Compound, Royal Shine

Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polished


LANE CONDITION

Length: Multiple

Volume: Multiple

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Multiple


BALL REACTION

Length: 8 / 10

Back End: 7 / 10

Overall Hook: 7 / 10

Midlane Read: 6 / 10

Breakpoint Shape: Angular


COMMENTS

Likes: Great ball when the lanes begin to break down

Dislikes: None


The Fanatic brings back the I-Block core with a new coverstock formulation that will give you a versatile reaction on the lanes. The fanatic will have a little more length compared to the Brute Strength, but will have a stronger continuation through the pins. With the composite coverstock technology, it will allow you to stay at the same place on the lane without creating a dry spot because it doesn't absorb the oil as quickly. With the polished box finish, it will create easy length with a strong snap on the backend. This ball would be best used for medium oil conditions or on a house shot. This ball takes well to surface changes so you can dial in the reaction for your game and could be a first ball out of your bag.

Here is a video of me throwing the Fanatic:
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: wally on January 11, 2017, 08:58:24 PM
 Right Handed
 Ball Speed 17-18
 Rev Rate 450
 Pap 4 3/4 right 1 5/8 up

 Ball Specs
 Pin 3-4
 Top Weight
 2 3/4

 Layout RICO


All I can say is wow!! For me when I use the rico layout, I typical use it only on tougher patterns when it is time to get deep and open the lanes up. When that time comes, this ball really gets down the lane clean and has plenty of energy to make the corner from yeah! Pretty much everywhere! This is one heck of a ball for the price! I will most likely add another one of these balls to my arsenal with a pin up layout.

If your in need of a ball that gets down the lane clean and save some energy to make the corner without spending a bunch of money this ball is for you!

Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: piper3595 on January 23, 2017, 12:50:39 PM
If you loved the C System Versamax, the Fanatic is a must have ball in your bag. This ball has that same core that was successful on so many different conditions. The cover has been updated with a new composite one that gives this ball makes it perform exceptionally well on today’s lane conditioner. This is my go to ball on lighter oil conditions as it gets down the lane very easily. This ball is very useful once the front part of the lane starts to burn up. The shape of this ball is extremely predictable and is a must have for slower ball speeds and rev dominant players.

Greg
Title: Re: Fanatic
Post by: Corey C on April 04, 2017, 10:35:52 PM
4.5" pin high with a light 2000 pad to take off the shine

When I first used the Fanatic I found it a little erratic, but once I hit the surface with a light 2000 the ball read the pattern way better without sacrificing skid through the heads. I was able to open up the angles later in the block once it was time to put away the Forest Quantum. The reaction is strong but not a skid/flip with the slightly touched surface. If you need a skid/flip reaction leave the ball OOB shine. Don't be afraid to touch the surface to match up to the sport patterns.