BallReviews

Reviews => Brunswick => Topic started by: Ballreviews on November 18, 2014, 12:06:03 PM

Title: Melee Jab
Post by: Ballreviews on November 18, 2014, 12:06:03 PM
Features:
- Color: Deep Bruise Pearl (colors may vary from the picture shown)
- Core: Melee Low RG Symmetric Core (14-16#)
- Coverstock: Savvy Hook Pearl Reactive
- Finish: 500 Siaair Micro Pad; Royal Compound Finish
- Hook Potential: Medium-High
- Length: Medium
- Breakpoint Shape: Medium
- RG: 2.537 (for 15# ball)
- Diff: 0.050 (for 15# ball)
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: Brunswick_fan_BrandonH on December 02, 2014, 08:20:59 AM
BALL SPECS

Pin Length: 3" - 4"

Ball Weight: 16 lbs


DRILL PATTERN

Dual Angle Layout: 60 x 4 1/2" x 75

X Hole (if there is one): 2" down my VAL from my PAP


BOWLER STYLE

Rev Rate: Higher, between 370 and 410 rpm, aka Cranker

Ball Speed: 16.50 mph

PAP/Track: 5 3/8" over and 7/8" up with a high track

SURFACE PREP

Grit: Box - 500, Royal Compound

Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polished


LANE CONDITION

Length: Multiple

Volume: Multiple

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Multiple


BALL REACTION

Length: 7 / 10

Back End: 8 / 10

Overall Hook: 7 / 10

Midlane Read: 7 / 10

Breakpoint Shape:  Clean through the front with angular motion down lane


COMMENTS

Likes: Reacts like a pearl with good backend motion

Dislikes: None


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

The Melee Jab is the latest ball and will compliment the Melee Cross. With the same lower RG core and a 100% pearl cover, this ball will be a go to when the Melee Cross is hooking too much. The Melee Jab clears the front of the lane and will have a stronger hook motion off of the spot. I have used this ball on THS and Sport conditions with no issues. If you are looking for a ball that is versatile, then the Melee Jab is your answer.

Check out a video of Kerry Smith and myself throwing the Melee Jab:
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: nazobowler on December 07, 2014, 01:16:19 PM




On this ball I used a layout the I typically use. 73x4 3/8x78.  My axis is 5 5/16 x 1 1/4.  The ball even being pin down still give me excellent length through the front part of the lane.  In the digs in slowly in the midlane and gives a strong smooth continuous arc in the backed.  On house condition sometime struggle to get the ball to read on misses to the left.  This ball does read the heavy volume in the middle due to its lower RG rating.This is a ball that Brunswick has really need at the price point with a really go pearl symmetric you can throw on a large variety of conditions. I bowl in two houses that put down i would say more than average oil volumes. I like to start with the Fortera Intrigue and the Melee Jab is a perfect stepdown.  I dont feel like i have to over throw the ball to get it down lane and doesn't transition too quickly.

Kyle Metz

Brunswick Advisory Staff

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: JayhawkBowling on December 08, 2014, 04:58:57 PM
THS

75 x 5-1/2 x 40

This ball is a great pearl symmetric that everybody will have a blast throwing.  It is an extremely versatile pearl with the new additive package that Brunswick has pumped into this ball.  The Melee Jab will be great for slower ball speeds needing a ball to get thru the heads, and will also be great for the power players needing a benchmark pearl in their bag.

Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: frike300 on December 10, 2014, 12:05:58 PM
I drilled the Mele Jab with a pin under the middle finger hole down drilling (same as the Cross and regular Mele).  This ball is a look that I have never seen from Brunswick at this price point.  It is a good 2 feet cleaner than the red Mele and easily 5 stronger at the break point.  On a fresh THS, this ball looks really good.  Even with the strong backend , I can go more left to right than the red Mele, and get the ball to return with no problem.  The nice thing with the Jab is that even though the ball is a skid flip reaction, it is not over sensitive or too jumpy off the break point.  I haven’t seen a lot of carry down since throwing it to know if it is not strong enough, but with the layout I have, I highly doubt that it would be.  This is another great ball from Brunswick.
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: BallReviews-Removed0385 on December 10, 2014, 03:04:47 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 38 ft.

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Every once in a while a ball comes around that EVERYONE COULD use, and EVERYONE SHOULD use.  This Melee Jab is it! 

Drilled mine with pin 4.5" from PAP and just below fingers about an inch, with CG and balance hole next to the thumb.  I live and bowl in Utah, where one company has a huge presence, and I'm watching guys check it out as it sits on the ball return. 

This Jab makes me look way better than I am with it's strong read of friction and versatility.  On fresh I can play straighter lines and let it finish, but after transition it allows me to really open up the angles perfectly.  Carry has been ridiculously good. 

My teammate (450 revs) who has predominantly thrown some excellent equipment from another company used mine for about 5 frames and ordered one immediately.  I cannot imagine any style bowler not having as much fun as I am with this ball on the conditions we face 90% of the time.

If I can be of assistance please PM me and I'll do my best to help.  Thank you for considering Brunswick.

Dislikes: Not one.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: BowlingTechGirl on December 19, 2014, 12:22:53 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Likes:

Brunswick Melee Jab
My information
Ball speed-14 mph average/ Rev rate- 270  average
Axis tilt-15 degrees /Axis rotation-45 degrees
Ball drilling on the ball reviewed-60 x 30 @4” P 3 X-hole


Ball stats: Core-Melee Low RG Symmetrical   Coverstock- Savvy Hook Pearl
Surface-500 siaair  Pad /Royal Compound ,RG-2.487   RG Diff-.-0.050
Color-

Overview

The Melee Jab cover and core combination creates less friction
friction than the Melee or the Cross. Clears the heads and midlane
and  has a quicker respond to the friction downlane.
 The ball also has  more skid flip  than the other Melees.
The Melee Jab  creates less overall hook  throughout
 the lane than the Melee or Cross.

The Melee Jab compared to the Melee and Cross

The Melee and Cross  has more overall hook through the entire lane.
The Melee Jab has more length and greater response to the friction.
With more backend at the end of the pattern than the Melee and Cross.

On medium oily lanes 43’ house shot on 15 year old Anvilanes.

The core and cover combo creates less hook throughout the
entire  lane. But has a quick response to friction when it encounters
friction at the back end.

 The Melee Jab clears the heads and midlane  nicely, but has a lot of
axis rotation  left to create a big move on the back end. When it hits the friction
at the back end of the pattern, it turns and doesn't quit. When the lanes
start to go through the transition stage  The Melee Jab  really shows
what  it’s made of. The ease through the heads and midlane and the skid flip
motion allows you to move deeper into the lane,and still get recovery.

 As the shot transitioned during games I could easily move deeper to created
steeper angles. With the steeper angles during the transition the pin carry was
increased. The miss area wasn't so critical .The ball now had extra area to come back
without overreaction.


Closing comments:
The cover and core helps supply length and decent revs,
for medium conditions.With 4’ flare..The ball does what it is
designed to do.It gave more length and a sharper move
downlane.It got through the drying heads and light push,
all the while maintaining a sharp angular turn at the breakpoint.

The Melee Jab was best on medium oily volumes.
Higher oil volumes might require you to scuff it up some to
improve traction in oil.

Higher rev players may find they will get a great look with
with more surface on fresh oil.

The length the Melee Jab gets through the heads easy,and still keeps
its axis rotation which helps to conserve energy when coming
in contact with the pocket.

Overall a great ball for most styles.Just find a condition that
 medium,and you will not be disappointed.
Melee™ Jab | Brunswick Bowling.webloc (http://Melee™ Jab | Brunswick Bowling.webloc)


Angela Wilt
Brunswick Regional Staff Member.




Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: UpstateProShopChris on December 22, 2014, 02:13:50 PM
BALL SPECS


Pin Length: 3


Starting Top Weight: 3.2 oz


Ball Weight: 15 lbs 4 oz



DRILL PATTERN


Ball: 55 x 4.5 x 70


X Hole (if there is one): none



BOWLER STYLE


Rev Rate: 375 rpms


Ball Speed:17.5 mph



PAP/Track: 4 3/4 over 3/4 up



SURFACE PREP


Grit: 800 Grit Siaair plus polish


Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polished



LANE CONDITIONS


Lengths of patterns: 41 foot house and 39 foot Viper



Volumes:  moderate



Type: house and sport




BALL REACTION


Length: Clean through the heads with slight read of midlane



Back End: strong continuous arc


Overall Hook: moderately aggressive


Midlane Read: none


Breakpoint Shape: strong arc



COMMENTS


Likes: Versatility, consistency, strong move at the breakpoint



Dislikes: none


The Melee Jab is a stronger version of the original Melee.  It gives me a very useable step down from more aggressive balls like the Melee Cross with more recovery down lane than other options like the Ringer Solid.  The Melee Jab picks up the read a little sooner than the red Melee while still giving plenty of length and recovery.  This ball will be my go to benchmark ball to read ball reaction on any lane condition.  It has the consistent reading characteristic of a solid, while also having the back end recovery of the pearl.  This ball seems to play well from all angles across the lane.  I was able to start playing up the 7th board on Viper and wind up pitching it left to right from the 3rd arrow all the way to that breakpoint with no issues.  The ball would get as angular as I wanted it to be with more axis rotation and would also smooth out properly without rolling out too early when I rolled up behind it more.   It has been an absolute pleasure to roll!  This is truly a ball that most any bowler could use effectively.  If you are looking for a benchmark ball with length and recovery throw a Jab!
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: ROARING RUFUS on December 23, 2014, 09:02:33 PM
To all my Ball Reviews fans:
It's been a while & I am here to review 2 outstanding balls from the Big B!
The Melee Jab (& the Melee Cross) are outstanding! The hit is off the charts!! I recommend you see these 2 for yourselves. I got mine from Brad Snell at New Approach Pro Shop located inside Elk Grove Bowl at 53 S Arlington Heights Rd, Elk Grove Village or if you prefer see him at his other shop located at Poplar Creek Bowl in Hoffman Estates. He's got balls for any lane condition. Got to get rolling for now but have a striking holiday season!!!

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: Alucious on December 29, 2014, 08:15:08 AM
Bobby Benton
Maryland

Brunswick Melee Jab (http://www.bowlwithbrunswick.com/balls/detail/melee-jab/)
55 x 5 x 50 (OOB Surface)

Personal Stats:
400-450 RPM
18-20 MPH
PAP – 5 5/8” over, 1” up
Axis Tilt – Estimated 8-12 Degrees
http://youtu.be/XywVojKDWR4#t=1h12m50s (example)
Current League Average: 237
Sanctioned Sport Average: 210

Intended Use:
I drilled up the Melee Jab looking to fill a big hole in my bag. In my current 6-ball arsenal, prior to drilling the Jab, I had no pearls. Even when expanding to 9 balls, I didn’t fit a pearl in the bag. Only when travelling with 12 balls did I find use for a pearl. In other words – I don’t have any pearls I like! That CHANGED with the Jab. I was looking for a ball that is clean up front, but with my speed still tractions downlane on deep, inside angles. This is a motion I was lacking for later in blocks on medium/long patterns when I am very far left on the lane. Normally, I would use something like an LT-48 or a Mastermind Genius when trying to play this deep, but neither ball was “the answer”. I now have that answer!

Reaction:
Where the LT-48’s solid cover lacked the punch downlane to get corners out, the Mastermind Genius’s Asymmetric Core was too over/under off the friction on a burned up condition. This Melee Jab has solved ALL of those problems. It easily clears the choppy heads with its Pearl cover, retains the energy and releases it downlane, off the back of the pattern, to create excellent entry angles from deep inside where I prefer to use it. What has impressed me most about this ball however, is how versatile it has been on softer house conditions. Since drilling it, I have used it almost exclusively in league for 4 sets ranging between 720-750. On softer conditions, I prefer to use weaker solids/hybrids with surface to play closer to the friction and maximize carry. With the Jab, I can play the same part of the lane with success. The clean cover allows the ball to glide through the dry track area on a house pattern and create excellent entry angle. The cover is also strong enough that misses in the “puddle” on a house pattern don’t hydroplane. This has created more room on a house pattern than I have seen in a while!

Overall:
This ball is a winner. Not only has it filled a hole in my bag exceptionally, it has become my go-to ball on house conditions as well. It has worked exceptionally well for me as a high-rev/high-speed player, but the pearl cover will also be perfect for lower speed/rev dominant players as well.
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: baer300 on December 29, 2014, 12:22:34 PM
The new Melee Jab is a great addition to the Melee balls. This Melee fits right in between the Cross and the original Melee. I have loved all three of these balls. They have provided me with a great benchmark reaction. The Jab is a pearl but doesn't exactly react like a pearl. It is very clean in the front, with the midlane predictability of a solid.

Drilling #1 is 65x4x35. I drilled this one with one intention, friction. This one is super long and very angular. I wanted this one to flip so I went with this layout. This ball is used on high friction surfaces or deep in a longer format when I need the ball to completely ignore the fronts.

Drilling #2 is 45x3.5x70 with a hole 2" down on my VAL. The intent with this was to use the strength of the ball. This is a strong pearl and I wanted to utilize this one that way. I am going to add some surface to this ball because when it encounters a too much is will go a tad long. I just need it to slow down a tad sooner. The strength of the ball and drilling forces me deeper but most times the angle is a too steep and I ring a lot of ten pins. This will be fixed with the surface adjustment.
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: learnmore on January 03, 2015, 07:39:36 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41

Volume:medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):ths


COMMENTS

Likes: First thing you will notice about this ball is how good it looks.  The second thing you will notice is how easy it is to get it down the lane, and the third will be how much movement you will get after it hits the back end.  I have been using it when my melee cross starts burning up, just switch over to the melee jab and keep swinging

Dislikes: unless your ball speed is really slow, this will not be a heavy oil ball.  also with the amount of back end people who really rev it up be prepared to move left when they get really dry


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: BigBPride on January 04, 2015, 09:38:04 AM
BALL SPECS

Ball Weight: 15 lbs


DRILL PATTERN

Dual Angle: 60 x 6 3/8" x 40

X Hole (if there is one): No


BOWLER STYLE

Rev Rate: Medium , between 250-275 rpm

Ball Speed: 17-18 mph

PAP/Track: 5 1/2" over and 1/2" down


SURFACE PREP

Grit: Box Finish

Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polished


COMMENTS

The Melee Jab is a ball that I must say is one of best clean and flip bowling balls i have had in my arsenal.  The Melee Jab is a great complement to go to after my Melee Cross when the heads and midlane starts to get dry and midlane starts to read too quickly, I switch to the Jab and it skates through the fronts and midlane as if it was a fresh shot.  I drilled mine with these angles to be a inside shot condition ball when i start to lose carry and keep flat 10 with my platinum ringer, the Melee Jab gives me that pop on the backend where the Platinum didn't to kick out the 10 pin.  The Melee Jab is one of the best Pearl ball Brunswick I have ever thrown.


Charles Withers II
Brunswick Advisory Staff

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: Maine Man on January 05, 2015, 02:14:56 PM
BRUNSWICK MELEE JAB REVIEW

James Goulding III
Brunswick Ball Tester
Left Handed
350 RPM
PAP: 4 5/8” x 0”
17* Tilt
18.0 – 18.5 MPH

Brunswick Melee Jab
Layout: 4 3/4” x 65*, pin under grip center
X-hole: None

Review:

40ft. House Pattern, Medium-Heavy Blend

I drilled the Melee Jab pin under to be a smooth, yet longer version of the Melee Cross, and that’s exactly what I got. Using this ball on fresh THS is great, especially when I have room left to wheel it off of, as it creates extra area and “miss room”. Being on the left side, I am able to play straighter with less aggressive equipment while still being able to “bang on it”, which is why the Melee Jab was a perfect fit for my game. My first three game set on my league was a 715 with games of 237, 226, 252. The ball reaction is very clean through the heads and mid lane, but still gives a strong heavy roll into the pocket. I believe the combination of the strong symmetrical motor of the Melee core, as well as the pearl cover stock, both allow this ball to achieve a more down lane type of hook, while still rolling heavy, which is the type of reaction you want from a versatile pearl. As far as comparison to other equipment, I played 5 boards further left with my feet, and 3 boards further left with my eyes than with the Melee Cross with a similar layout. I was also about 3 boards further left with my feet with the same target at the arrows as my Melee, showing just how well the Melee Jab fits into the lineup. If you’re looking for that benchmark pearl ball in your lineup, then pick up a Melee Jab.

Team USA Mexico City Oil Pattern

I was curious how the Melee Jab would handle the longer oil pattern (45ft.) that Mexico City lays down, and was actually pleasantly surprised with the results. With a 4 3/4” pin under layout, the Melee Jab starts its move early enough to give a more readable reaction on this oil pattern. If I had a long pin over layout, I don’t feel it would have given me the look I desired on this longer oil pattern. Carry percentage was the only issue on this pattern when it was fresh, but after throwing a few games, and breaking down the pattern (with the help of the Melee Cross to burn up a spot), the Melee Jab really shined. It’s a perfect compliment to the Melee Cross, which worked great on Mexico City until they broke down, and then I could move right to the Melee Jab and pick up where the Melee Cross left off, playing a similar part of the lane. I shot games of 219, 218, 227 (fresh oil) and then games of 238, 247, 269 on the burn. On this pattern, I played 4 boards further left with my feet and 2 boards further left with my target than the Melee Cross. Also, I was 2 boards further left and 1 board further left with my target than I was with the Melee on Mexico City.

Team USA Los Angeles Oil Pattern

The Team USA Los Angeles oil pattern is a 36ft. pattern, which was a great test to see how the Melee Jab would react to the shorter length, and it really shined on the fresh oil. I was able to start left, placing the ball down around 11, catching my break point at the 5 board down lane, and the ball reaction was incredible. Even as I had to move inside as the oil pattern wore down, I was still able to get tremendous pin carry, which is something that many balls struggle with as you increase the angle off of your hand. I was able to play much straighter than I could with my original Melee or Melee Cross on this shorter oil pattern, and having that pearl cover stock really makes a huge difference, especially on these type of shorter oil patterns. I played 6 further left with my feet and 3 further left with my target than the Melee Cross, and I was able to play 3 further left with my feet and the same target as the Melee. Overall, I was very pleased with how the Melee Jab held up on this shorter pattern. It will be the ball I start with going forward, and if they break down further I can go to my Ringer Platinum Pearl and then the Strike King when they really break down.

Overall Impression

I would say that overall the Melee Jab is a must own for any bowler looking to add a ball that can handle a variety of lane conditions, from medium blends to shorter patterns. The cover stock is very surface adjustment friendly, so don’t be afraid to sand or polish the cover stock to your liking. This ball fits perfectly behind the Melee Cross (very aggressive) and the Melee (medium oil monster) in my arsenal, and it will be in my bag for a long time. If you’re a one day a week bowler, this ball will help get you the most bang for your buck, as the pearl cover will widen the amount of lane conditions you can hit with one ball, especially as patterns break down. Also, if you’re the serious, competitive bowler such as me, then this ball HAS to be in your bag at all times. I can’t wait to use it on an even wider variety of flatter tournament conditions and see this ball shine. If you’re looking for your next benchmark pearl ball, or looking to fill that gap between the super aggressive stuff and the milder reacting balls, check out the Brunswick Melee Jab, you’ll be glad you did!

James Goulding III
Brunswick Ball Tester
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: Brunswickman79 on January 10, 2015, 06:10:33 PM
BALL SPECS

Pin Length:3.5

Starting Top Weight:3.0

Ball Weight:15


DRILL PATTERN

Pin to PAP:4 3/4

CG to PAP:4

X Hole (if there is one):


BOWLER STYLE

Rev Rate:400

Ball Speed:19

PAP/Track:4 3/4 right  1/2 up


SURFACE PREP

Grit:box

Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded):
Polish(box)

LANE CONDITION

Length:40

Volume:medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


BALL REACTION

Length:easy length

Back End:strong but controllable

Overall Hook:medium to strong

Midlane Read:clean in the mid lane saving energy

Breakpoint Shape:strong move but not snappy


COMMENTS

Likes:this ball is playable on everything! Skids enough on the dry and hooks enough to handle some oil.

Dislikes:other people can use it.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: BrunsWolf on January 10, 2015, 11:54:20 PM
Bowler Stats:
18.5-19.5 mph
400-450 rpm
7-9 degree tilt
40-60 degree rotation

Layout: 60 degrees by 5.5" by 45 degrees

Initial thoughts: The Melee Jab takes the tried and true Melee Low-RG core and combines it with a new pearl version of the Savvy Hook coverstock. A symmetric Low-RG pearl is historically very good on my wallet. Couple this with talk of this ball being a slightly stronger (and more angular) version of the original Melee and Versamax and I can't wait to throw it.

On the lanes....WOW! This ball gets back from anywhere for me. Plenty of length through the front part of the lane before absolutely unleashing on the backend. On fresh house shots, all I have to do is just send it into the friction and let Jab come screaming back. I can almost stand as far left as I want on house shots and hook it as much as I want, as long as I get it out to the right. The pearl cover at the OOB surface combined with the low-RG core gives the perfect amount of push with misses outside (thanks to the cover) but goes through the pins well even when pulled inside (thanks to the low-RG core). It's perfect on medium to long tougher patterns after a couple of games where some friction has been created to the outside. Once that happens, it's the exact same story: send it to the friction and watch it come back. So far with this Jab, I have been able to play as deep as I want without ever worrying about it not coming back strong enough to send 10 back or snap out 10 pins. Compared to the LT-48 with the same layout, the Jab is about 5 boards stronger for me with all of that coming from the backend. This gives me a great 1-2 punch later in blocks.

Closing Remarks: Backend, backend, and more backend! All this ball does for me is turn left at the breakpoint and absolutely run the pins over from any point on the lane. Mine has earned it's spot in both my tournament bag and my league bag by giving a strong backend reaction and a shape that I've never seen before.

Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: Andyman3333 on January 12, 2015, 01:01:50 PM
Layout 5” 40 degree VAL

I’m a heavy roller with about a 350 rev rate.  Don’t have much axis tilt, don’t get around the ball much and struggle lots of times to get a ball to retain energy and corner at the pins. 

They should really sell this ball with the optional blinker.  Just so you can be prepared for the left hand turn it makes downlane (for a righty).  I really like the direction Brunswick has been going lately.  Designing bowling balls for a variety of styles with defined motion types.  This ball doesn’t come from the Flip line, but it does just that.  Weaker than the Intrigue and Exile with a Symmetric Core for more control on medium to dry lanes, the Jab is more like a Right Hook that makes you say whoa. 

First time I threw this ball was during the 3rd game of league.  The team we were bowling were using a ton of surface and just eating up the lane.  My Intrigue and Exile weren’t matching up quite right with the pattern at that point and I needed something to smooth it out in the fronts, the mids, and still corner through the pins.  I swear after I threw the shot, I turned around after all 10 pins settled in the pit and gave that wide eyed look to my teammates like… Did you see that?  Imagine the original Melee reading the lane like it was designed to do, looking very controlled, and then flipping the blinker on and making a lane change to slam the 1-3 pocket.  I absolutely love this ball.  Gives me great comfort on drier lanes and matches up so well for my ball roll. 
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: Andrew Adler on January 12, 2015, 05:11:30 PM
Andrew Adler
Right Handed
PAP 4 ½ over 5/8 up
Rev Rate 500, Speed 17 mph
Brunswick Regional Staff

Yes. This ball is amazing. I absolutely love the Melee line and this ball is fast becoming one of my favorite balls of all time. I’m a fan of strong symmetric bowling balls and the Jab doesn’t disappoint. It is very clean through the front and midlane, allowing it to store energy for maximum hitting power. I actually drilled this one pin down under the middle finger and cg kicked out. I usually find myself using this ball later in league night, end of game 2 and game 3. It really allows me to get left and keep the line tight without losing carry. A great ball for when the asymmetric balls start to burn up too fast.

Bowled on THS 42' and 43', with 24-25ml of oil.
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: bowler001 on January 14, 2015, 01:28:40 PM
DRILL PATTERN

Pin to PAP: 5"

Val Angle: 35 Degrees

X Hole (if there is one): None


BOWLER STYLE

Rev Rate: 400

Ball Speed: 18

PAP/Track: 5-1/8rt, 1/2 up


SURFACE PREP

Grit: Box Finish

Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polish (Royal Shine)


LANE CONDITION

Length: 41

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


BALL REACTION

Length: 9/10

Back End: 9/10

Overall Hook: 7/10

Midlane Read: 4/10

Breakpoint Shape: Very Hard Arc


COMMENTS

The Melee Jab....wow....this ball is everything you could ever ask for in a symmetrical pearl. So smooth and predictable. A shape I have yet to see from any other ball manufacturer. Strong enough it's not completely allergic to oil, but clean enough it's useable on just about everything.

I drilled this Jab with a pretty typical layout for me, 5" from my axis point, pin up. My original Melee used the same layout and I have the Jab about 2 to 3 boards hookier, but more importantly, the biggest difference is not that it hooks a few boards more, but that it doesn't squirt as much on bad shots or carrydown like the original Melee was susceptible to. The Jab is much more consistent, and versatile in and out of the slicker spots.

On the 41' league condition I bowl on, the Jab can be used for all 3 games. I can start between 2nd and 3rd arrow, and continue to migrate left as more friction develops. If the condition is playing particularly long on a given night, which is common, I may start with a Fortera Intrigue for a little more motion and midlane read, and then switch to the Jab and stay in the same zone versus making big jumps left with the Intrigue.

This ball isn't going to do you much good on super heavy volumes, or torn up lanes with tons of friction, but anything in between, just grab your Jab and get comfortable! Overall, I really enjoy throwing this ball. The purple pearl color really pops and the unique hard arcing motion down lane is unmatched by any other brand!
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: piper3595 on January 15, 2015, 10:04:29 AM
BOWLER STYLE

Rev Rate: 400

Ball Speed: 18.5

PAP/Track: 4 9/16 right 1/4 up


LANE CONDITION


Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

Layout 60 x 4.5 x 30

The Melee Jab is a great compliment to the Melee Cross in the current All Purpose line of balls. This ball’s pearl cover enables this ball to go much further down the lane than the Cross. I am able to angle this ball further away from the pocket and it gives me plenty of recovery due to how well it goes through the front part of the lane. When the lanes start to hook too early for the Cross this ball is a great go to ball. The color of this ball is a really good looking purple which makes it really easy to be able to see what the ball is doing going down the lane.
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: msipple on January 17, 2015, 10:31:34 AM
I drilled the Melee Jab 70 x 5.5 x 50. I drilled this ball so I had a ball to get through the fronts when the heads go. This ball is very clean through the from with a strong continuous motion on the backend. Even drilling this ball with the pin under my ring finger it still goes long with a strong continuous motion. This is a great ball and will not disappoint!
















 
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: Kenny Lawson on January 17, 2015, 01:45:08 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40

Volume: medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Likes:The Melee Jab is a lot longer and more angular down lane than the Cross. I use this ball when I open up the pattern for better entry angle to the pocket. The Jab gives me a great look when the front of the lanes start to breakdown because the ball clears the front with with ease and maintain energy for great pocket entry. The Jab fits nicely in Brunswick"s all purpose line.

Dislikes:none at this time


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: cuzy51 on January 17, 2015, 02:45:02 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:
Multiple
Volume:
Different every league night
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Likes:
The Melee Jab is not what's advertised,this ball does so much more, it really clears the fronts,picks up momentum center lane and finishes real strong. Hits hard and has outstanding carry, Brunswick was very modest in it's advertised expectations. This ball exceeds everything they say and in my opinion there is nothing offered in the current market that gives you a bigger bang for your buck. Works well on a variation of lane conditions. Dilled mine with pin 4" from PAP and balance hole on the VAL 1 1\2" below midline.I tell everyone it's like buying a Volkswagen but getting Porsche performance
Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: seabreeze on January 17, 2015, 03:04:12 PM

This ball is going play a big role in my arsenal. I have been missing a strong pearlized symmetrical bowling ball and this one is just what the Dr. ordered! This ball is super clean through the front and middle part of the lane and is all back end hook. This is the perfect compliment to the Melee Cross, a little further down the lane and quite a bit more continuation. This ball will be a great option for you once the lanes start to dry up, medium to dry lane conditions are when this ball will shine. Perfect step down ball from my Exile. If you don't think Brunswick Balls hook down lane you might try this one!

Perry Goldman


Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: revitup18 on January 18, 2015, 01:38:47 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:
I have purchased all three of the Melees and this one is my favorite! The first time i used this ball was on the Viper pattern at parkway lanes in NJ in the PBA experience league. I was plus 100 after our 4 game set. The Melee jab was so clean thru the front and had incredible down lane reaction.
I also used the Jab on THS and it was just as impressive! i will will buy more than one!
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):
Viper Pattern

COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: fatman_FUBAR on January 21, 2015, 07:59:32 AM
Following up a viscous left CROSS with a MEAN #JAB, watch Lane Side Reviews go toe-to-toe with Brunswick Bowling's Melee Jab!
#TeamBrunswick #melee #lsr #teamTURBOGRIPS #TeamRBT #TeamAXIS
http://youtu.be/a4sGG2iU_W4


Brunswick Melee JAB

BALL SPECS
Pin Length – 3-4"
Starting Top Weight – 2.9 oz
Ball Weight - 15lb 2oz

DRILL PATTERN
Drilled at 70 Degrees X 4” x  25 Degrees

BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate – 240 / 352 / 436
Ball Speed – 14.1 MPH / 18.6 MPH

PICTURE AND VIDEO LINKS

https://scontent-a-ord.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfa1/t31.0-8/10842236_908895782462079_7193236805292899949_o.jpg

SURFACE PREPARATION
Grit - Out of the Box
Type (Matte, Polish, Sanded) - Out of the Box

LANE CONDITION
Length - 41 ft
Volume – 18.30 ml
Type (Wall, Xmas Tree, Sport) – Kegel Main Street (THS)

Don’t forget to follow us on Facebook @ Http://www.Facebook.com/LaneSideReviews
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: MattSBrunswick on January 21, 2015, 06:35:12 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41'

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

This ball I wasn't sure of only because of the way I drilled it. I tend to have more bowling balls drilled pin up, but I went the way of going pin down, and I have to say I am truly impressed with this reaction with the pin down layout. I throw this ball on more of a burned up pattern and I can get way left, and project it out, and it recovers nicely. It is a very smooth, and controlled motion, and that's exactly what I look for in any ball that I throw in league or a tournament. This ball is a great follow up to the Melee Cross.


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: iumatrix on January 21, 2015, 07:55:34 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: Varies

Volume: Varies

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Sport


COMMENTS

Likes: Very smooth through the heads... No need to over power the lane (which I tend to do sometimes, even being a lefty). Pin down drillings are my favorite but this one I actually drilled it pin up above the bridge. Gives me the length I need and it sure does recover well.

Dislikes: On the sport patterns, there tends to be quite a bit of over/under...


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

No pics/videos...  The ball looks good and it hits like a truck! Not to mention it's very affordable and worth the price point.

Storey
Brunswick Regional Staff

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of the Brunswick Corporation. 
Title: Melee Jab
Post by: ryne299 on January 21, 2015, 09:27:56 PM
I drilled 2 Melee Jabs. Here's what I see out of both

First one drilled pin 1" below my fingers, cg kicked out 45 degrees.
WOW!!! This is by far my favorite ball to throw on a house shot. It's so clean threw the heads and very readable and strong. For the first time in a long time I feel like I can compete on a house shot when it is pretty much a shoot out. This ball really opens up the lane for me, and carries incredibly well. This is the first ball out of my bag anywhere I go

2nd one drilled pin above my middle finger, cg out 1" from my center grip
This ball has incredibly easy length, soooo clean and smooth through the heads no matter how beat down it is. Easily an extra 4 ft longer than my first one. Makes a strong but very predictable move at the break point

I left both balls OOB surface wise, and they play extremely well off of each other. I would put the melee jab up against any other companies mid level balls, it reminds me of a hyroad pearl but a smoother more predictable, stronger roll. Id definitely recommend the Melee Jab to just about anyone, this ball is soooo versatile.


Likes:

Dislikes:

Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: bingadot on January 22, 2015, 12:25:59 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: Professorr on January 22, 2015, 03:34:23 PM
BALL SPECS

Pin Length: 2 - 3

Starting Top Weight: 3.0

Ball Weight: 15lb


DRILL PATTERN

Pin to PAP: 5"

CG to PAP:n/a

X Hole (if there is one): n/a


BOWLER STYLE

Rev Rate: 325

Ball Speed:17 off Hand

PAP/Track: High


SURFACE PREP

Grit: OOB

Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polish


LANE CONDITION

Length: 40ft

Volume: 23ml

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


BALL REACTION

Length:Very smooth in the fronts

Back End:Strong

Overall Hook: Continuous

Midlane Read:

Breakpoint Shape:


COMMENTS

Likes: Melee Jab is the First ball out of my bag on those med to med heavy conditions. Using my favorite layout 65x5x50 provides me great length through the fronts with strong backend continuation

Dislikes: On heavier volume the Melee Jab push a little long for my style, balling up to my Melee Cross gives me enough upfront read to open up the lane


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: jpbowl300 on January 25, 2015, 09:51:47 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:  39'

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):  USBC Blue


COMMENTS

The Melee Jab is amazingly clean through the fronts and the midlane.  For me, not a huge backend move but a really predictable hard-hitting reaction.  Mine is drilled RICO and this layout is a great choice for this ball.  This will be a great ball choice for most medium patterns, and also lighter volumes with moderate speed.

It's a fantastic addition to the Melee line and everybody should think about adding this ball to their arsenal.

Likes:  Predictable and effortlessly clean down the lane

Dislikes:  Not great on long patterns


Jeff Poholsky
Brunswick Bowling Advisory Staff

The opinions above are mine and not necessarily those of Brunswick Corporation.
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: Gene J Kanak on January 26, 2015, 11:33:34 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 38-40 feet

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Just THS so far

Layout: Pin under ring, cg kicked slightly toward PAP

Coverstock prep: 2000 abralon plus hi-gloss polish


COMMENTS

Likes: This ball clears the heads with ease, but it doesn't completely ignore the midlane the way some "long-and-strong" balls do. As such, it allows you to get left without being completely skid-flip.

Dislikes: Again, I didn't care for the 500 Siar plus Royal Compound box finish. For me, the ball had a strange shape and lacked continuation with that preparation; however, as soon as I changed the surface, the ball was exactly what I wanted/needed.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

I was fortunate enough to get this ball sent to me from Brunswick's Ron Bragg (Thank you!), and I really appreciate it! Out of the box, the Jab was a bit earlier than I expected, and it really didn't give me the continuation others had raved about. I'm beginning to think my game and my center don't match up well to Brunswick's 500 Siar + Royal Compound box finish. No worries; I changed the surface to 2000 abralon plus a light coating of High Gloss polish, and the ball became the beast I had heard about.

The Jab is great when you have a lot of friction to clear in the front and to bounce off of at the break point. This ball can be used early in the night if you want to go up the back of it more and play with the boards (or if you have a lot of hand and/or friction); however, for me, the Jab is best as I begin moving inside later in the night. As I do, the Jab clears the heads with ease, recognizes the midlane, and gives me a strong, sweeping arc on the backend. For reference, I switched to the Jab toward the middle of Game 3 during a charity event yesterday when my Mastermind Genius began to struggle to retain energy from inside, and I promptly flushed the last 7 in a row after switching to the Jab.

All in all, the Jab is a real looker both on the rack (great color!) and on the lanes. The guys and gals who really put the revs to it can probably make this one go sideways and really turn some heads. I'm more of a tweener to power-tweener, but I still get plenty of recovery and great hitting power from this ball. In fact, I'm so impressed with this one that I will likely try to pick up a Melee Cross as well. If you're looking for a smooth, strong, hard-hitting pearl, consider a Melee Jab; you won't be disappointed!

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this review, feel free to contact me via private message. Good luck and good bowling to all!
Title: Melee Jab
Post by: impactbowling on January 26, 2015, 10:03:27 PM
BALL SPECS

Pin Length: 3-4 & 2-3

Starting Top Weight: 3.2 & 2.7

Ball Weight: 15lb 2 oz &15lb 4 oz


DRILL PATTERN

Ball #1 45x5x70 x-hole 2 1/4 down VAl
Ball #2 60x5x30 x-hole on axis



BOWLER STYLE

Rev Rate: 400

Ball Speed: 17mph off hand

PAP/Track: 4 7/8 over 3/4 up


SURFACE PREP

Grit: 4700 and 5500

Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): sanded


LANE CONDITION

Length: 41 ft

Volume: 26ml

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


BALL REACTION

Length:

Back End:

Overall Hook:

Midlane Read:

Breakpoint Shape:
ball #1

Provides a strong arc off the friction without over reacting and jerking off the friction. This melee jab can cover boards downlane without creating a change of direction that is too short and hard to control.

Ball #2
The pin up jab is extremely clean through the front part of the lane and to me misses the midlane a touch too much except for when I need to get left and store energy downlane to get around the corner.

To me both of these balls are very reminiscent of the versa max ball motion with more pop off the friction.     


Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: FranVarin on January 27, 2015, 09:56:19 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:  Medium Sport, House and various tournament shots

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):  THS and Pro Anvil


COMMENTS

This is a ball that I instantly liked from the very moment I threw it. In my opinion this is the best of the Melee line. I love the way the Melee Jab is clean through the front and provides a strong continuous move off the spot. There are no surprises ever when you throw this ball, it is very predictable and that's one reason I like it. I like a ball that I can gain confidence with quickly and the Melee Jab is such a ball. Make no mistake, it needs to see a little friction on the lanes so, I typically go to this ball when the lanes start to transition. It really springs to life in that case. Shorter patterns and those with a bump to the right are ideal for this ball. Brunswick continues its tradition of producing awesome pieces of equipment and the Melee Jab is one of the newer examples of this. It fits great in the middle of an arsenal and is quickly becoming a go to ball for me.

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
(https://www.ballreviews.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2F&hash=00037d96e26341d7f6fc6eda48566183)
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: tmento08 on January 28, 2015, 09:26:11 AM
The Melee Jab is a great ball to be first out of your bag. Whether your bowling on a sport pattern or a house shot, this ball will match up to many conditions. It is very clean through the front part of the lane with a reasonably strong continuous motion down lane. The Jab matches up perfectly when the cross starts to burn up in the front part of the lane. In my opinion it also fits in between the Brunswick Royal Blue Ringer and the DV8 Rude Dude. This ball is very versatile and i believe it will make many bowlers happy they decided to "jab" some holes into one!
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: jvarno1 on January 29, 2015, 10:45:28 PM
The Melee Jab is an outstanding ball. This ball has a strong angular ball motion on the backend but it is very predictable. For me it does not jump out of control off the friction but it makes a hard move to the pocket. The best thing I like about this ball is if I miss left it still recovers strong where as usually with a pearl ball if I miss left they tend to skid a lot in the oil come up light. I can play this ball on a fresh shot and I can also play it late in a tournament from deep inside and still have great carry. This is a great compliment to the Melee Cross. When the cross starts leaving flat tens and is hooking to early I can jump to the Jab to clear the fronts a little better and still have a good backend reaction. Very versatile ball and would be good for anyone.

Jim Varno
Brunswick Regional 1 Staffer

**This post reflects my opinion of the ball and not necessarily those of the Brunswick Corporation.**
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: devildog819 on January 30, 2015, 03:04:19 PM
45 X 4 1/2 X 70....small WH on VAL

I wasn't sure about this ball because of the way I drilled it. I tend to have more of my equipment pin up, but I went pin down and I have to say I am truly impressed with this reaction. I throw this ball on more of a burned up pattern and I can get way left, and project it out, and it recovers nicely. It is a very smooth, controlled ball motion.....exactly what I was looking for in this ball for both leagues and tournaments. This ball is a great compliment to the Melee Cross.

Roger Harley Jr.
Brunswick Advisory Staff
IBPSIA Advanced Certified Pro Shop Technician
USBC Bronze Certified
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: JoneseR on January 30, 2015, 08:52:18 PM
The Melee line is the line that I never leave home without.  This line provides great all-purpose ball motions on various conditions.  THe Melee Jab has been a ball Brunswick has been missing for a very long time.

The ball is very sharpe looking and has great shelf appeal.  But the when the you take the ball to the lanes, that's when it really starts to show off!

The Melee Jab is offers a pearlized coverstock allowing the ball to get down the lane and have a very strong yet predictable backend reaction.  For a pearl ball this ball still works very well on heavier/longer patterns.  I like to use this ball when my original (red)Melee just isn't cornering hard enough for me.

Jason Jones
Brunswick Staff
Co-Owner Pin Action Pro Shop - Bloomington, IL

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: rlychin on January 30, 2015, 11:58:27 PM
The Brunswick Melee Jab is the most responsive ball off the friction that I have seen in awhile. When this ball enters the pocket, the carry is unbelievably good! I feel like when I have to get left during college tournament, this ball will turn out to be really good.

I witness a Melee Jab during league, he went 836 and 797 the last two weeks of league on the THS. I feel like this ball is good for any kind of pattern.

#GoDogs
#Brunswick

LANE CONDITION

Length: 41"

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Multiple


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: BigB on February 13, 2015, 07:51:25 AM
The Melee Jab is clean through the fronts with good midlane and backend continuation. I drilled my Jab with the pin under ring finger with a weight hole down. This ball is hands down the most continuous ball motion that I have seen from Brunswick in quite some time. Being a pearl it is quite responsive to friction, but never really jerks off the spot and is a controlled yet strong and very continuous motion on the back.

The Jab is a very versatile ball as I've been able to play many different angles on the lane without any doubt of recovery and striking. I would suggest using the melee jab on mostly any oil pattern but fresh heavy oil patterns. For me, the Jab requires a little bit of friction the more oil/longer the pattern may be. Get a Melee Jab, you'll be surprised at how continuous it is and won't be disappointed!
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: Auntj300bowl on February 16, 2015, 04:14:28 PM
Bowler Style:
   Rev Rate: 280-300 rpm
   Speed: 16 mph
   PAP: 5' right x 1/2" up
Layout
   70 x 3.5" x 25
   x-hole: N/A
   Surface: OOB
Comments:
   This ball is not like any other ball that I have thrown from the Brunswick name. It is extremely clean through the front 2/3 of the lane, and then it makes a strong movement and continues all the way  through the pins. I have had both of the preceding melee balls and this one is the most versatile for me. I have had an opportunity to throw this ball on fresh challenge and sport shots and this ball still didn't go too long for me. It has been one of the best balls on medium level house shots as well, on them I was able to start straighter and use it all night while chasing the shot inside.
   Overall this ball has been very good for me, compared to the Brute it is cleaner, longer and more backend (2-3 boards).
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: Bustysmalls on March 18, 2015, 02:42:41 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):
THS


COMMENTS

Likes:My first time back in a couple years throwing brunswick bowling balls and let me tell you, we never saw a motion like this. Bowled league with it last night for the first time and was able to use it the whole night. I have never been able to use a ball the whole night of league at the house im at now without having to make a complete zone change or fight to carry. This ball gives you the length you need through the front and reads the middle part of the lane just right and gives plenty of motion through the pins. for those curious about layouts, I just used my favorite pin up (45x5x30). Helps promote that natural clean length from the ball with a strong angular motion down lane.

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: BeansProShop on March 22, 2015, 11:41:43 PM
Melee Jab

BALL SPECS

Pin Length: 3 Inches

Starting Top Weight:2.25 oz

Ball Weight:13 lbs
DRILL PATTERN

Dual Angle:45 x 4 x 70

X Hole (if there is one):P3

BOWLER STYLE

Rev Rate:400+

Ball Speed:17-18 Avg

PAP/Track:4 3/4> 3/4^

SURFACE PREP

Grit:Out of Box

Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded):Polished

LANE CONDITION

Length:39 ft on HPL Synthetics

Volume:Med Volume on smooth surface

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS

BALL REACTION

Length:9 out of 10

Back End:9 out of 10

Overall Hook:7 out of 10

Midlane Read:7 out of 10

Breakpoint Shape:10 out of 10

COMMENTS

Likes: Purple Pearl cover without too bright of a logo. Gives that smooth look regardless. Probably the best pearl symmetrical I can remember throwing. Easy length and sparks in the back off the friction.
Dislikes: I really haven't seen anything bad about this ball other than not being able to handle heavy oil but it wasn't built for that!
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: tonybowler on March 28, 2015, 10:18:28 PM
The Melee Jab is one of my favorite bowling balls in my bag. I used it for a Tournament in Jan in Las Vegas and shot 300 the first game. I used it on the fresh THS pattern. I have the pin under the fingers and the CG is about ½ inch right of center line. I kept the OTB surface. My rev rate is around 360. I really liked the roll of the ball. The ball pushed through the fronts picked up a good mid lane roll. The pocket hit kept the pins low and the ball had good drive through the pins. A few weeks later I tried some surface on the ball and was surprised the ball didn’t roll out. With the surface I could use the ball in heavier oil. On either pattern I could move in when the shot broke down and the ball didn’t lose the hitting power. The other great aspect of the ball is great color.
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: teamDV8 on March 31, 2015, 10:36:07 AM
I am left handed and my ball speed i around 15-16mph.
The ball surface I have on the Melee Jab is Right out of the box.
The drilling that I have on the Melee Jab is I have the Pin below my ring finger, and the Cg kicked to the left with a small weight hole.  The pin is 4"
I was missing a ball in my line, and this is the ball motion that I have been missing. This ball gives me really clean through the heads and mid lanes and it gives me that  hockey stick motion in the back, and this ball has really helped on the THS patterns.  I have used this ball on THS, and also Sport Patterns like High Way to Hell, Route 66, Sydney, and Mexico City, and have done really well on all of them.  This ball works the best on Medium to Oily Lane Conditions. If you are going to use this ball on Long Oily lane conditions, you will probably need to hit the ball with some surface. The Melee Jab is the most Versatile ball I think out on the market and with this ball I am able to play straight up the boards, or move right and open the lane and either line the ball still hits hard.  Lately this is the first ball out of bag and if the ball is going to long, I go to my Diva Divine.  If the Melee Jab is not enough ball in the back, I jump to my Thug Unruly.  These 3 balls compromise each other really well and they have been the only balls besides my spare ball I have been taking to league, or tournaments.  Brunswick has hit a home run with this ball, and now we have a ball that will compete with Storm balls that have the Hockey Stick motion, and this Melee Jab looks cool also. I don't have any dislikes with this ball at all.  The tournament season is in high gear, so get to your local pro shop and purchase a Melee Jab today!!  You will not be disappointed! Brunswick Brands I think are the best balls on the Market!  www.brunswickbowling.com  #brunswickbowling

Doug Cutler
DV8 Regional Staffer
PBA Regional Champion
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: Jkoss14 on April 18, 2015, 09:24:28 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: Brandon Riley on February 02, 2016, 05:19:28 PM
The Melee Jab is laid out 55x5x40 (pin up) with the intent of being very clean through the front and going sideways to help me open the lanes up when I get real deep late in tournaments or on longer patterns.  I have used this ball at the polished box finish but have also played around with it using a worn 3k pad when encountering houses with crisper backends. 

My best reaction with this ball has been during games 3-4 of our Challenge League on 43' 3:1 Dead Man's Curve standing against the return and playing fairly tight between the 4 and 5 arrow.  The Melee Jab gives me such a good look on that pattern because I can get both easy length and a really quick response to friction without having to manipulate the ball much with my hand.  The strong pearl cover is the single best part of this ball as even though this is the most angular ball in my bag it is not squirty in the oil, allowing me to use it effectively on a wider range of patterns. 

In comparison, it is a nice step down from my pin up Vandal, once it begins to read the midlane a little early, while the Jab can handle a little more oil than my tall pinned LT48.  The Melee Jab is a little bit longer/sharper than the Ridiculous and in my opinion the most angular ball that Brunswick has ever made.

I highly recommend the Melee Jab for anybody looking to open up their angles and wanting help to make the corner once the lanes have taken in a few games of wear.  This is an excellent tournament ball that will more than earn its spot in the bag when you need to step left on longer oil patterns. 
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: jmcelliott on January 10, 2020, 12:02:45 PM
Everyone I knew rolling this ball was trying to find another one. I joined the party and wanted a ball that would help me in late blocks with a very clean cover and would pop well at the end of the pattern. This ball is giving me exactly what I was wanting. A must in your bag if you’re looking for late set ball. Mine is drilled 60x4.5.40. The ball does go relatively long, so putting the pin too far out may cause it not to come into play as often as you’d like. The ball does need friction
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: imholte08 on January 13, 2020, 09:33:30 AM
Hello and thank you for stopping by to read my thoughts about the Melee Jab SE. I am sad to say that I missed the first time this ball was out because it is a great shiny symmetrical ball. I used “the force” and put the pin at noon above the bridge, really scientific I know. I wanted to see what this ball could do off the spot and I get just that. A quick response to friction that doesn’t quit. The cover doesn’t seem too allergic to oil, but I haven’t seen too high volumes yet. This is a great piece to go down into when the big ball starts to quit.
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: RJA300 on February 01, 2020, 12:47:44 PM
BALL SPECS
Pin Length:  3” - 4”
Starting Top Weight:  3.3
Ball Weight: 15
 
DRILL PATTERN
 Pin up 4 X 3 – Pin above ring finger
 
BOWLER STYLE:  RH - Stroker – slightly speed dominant
Rev Rate:  280
Ball Speed: 17-18
PAP/Track:  PAP:  4 5/8” and 5/8" up
 
SURFACE PREP
Box Finish
 
LANE CONDITION

Fresh House Shot

 COMMENTS

Note - This review is for the SE.

Having been with Ebonite for the last 7 years, I haven’t had any experience with other brands, so forgive me as being new to Brunswick, DV8, and Radical I make comparisons to the ball reactions with which I’m familiar.  The Melee Jab SE is a strong pearl and an excellent ball for medium league patterns if you’re more of a down and in player.  I was able to line up slightly to the right of the oil line and had an incredible look.  The Jab SE is in the same class as the Ebonite GB3 Pearl, but it reads the late midlane stronger and is very continuous through the pins. It is useable for all 3 games with just minor adjustments.  I also had considerable release forgiveness with the SE.  It will be my go to ball every Monday night.  I have no doubt that bowlers of any style will have fun watching this ball crush the pins on a weekly basis.  For more information, check out www.brunswickbowling.com.
 
RJ Alman
Brunswick / Ebonite Regional/Advisory Staff

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: Brandon Riley on February 01, 2020, 03:16:41 PM
Drilled up the Melee Jab SE and the Uppercut both 60x5x30 within 2 weeks of each other.  I am a balanced tweener type player with above average speed/turn and a bit lower track with more tilt so I will naturally see a stronger change of direction at the break point than most bowlers.

The Jab SE looks and rolls much like the original but with a slightly stronger cover - still fairly clean through the front, the same rounded move in the hook phase but just a little less angle down the lane.  The change in coverstock has made this ball easier to use for me and it took me all of 2 shots to know exactly where this ball would fit in my tournament bag.  Much like the original, I have since taken it down to 3k to control my shapes down the lane and have found it even more versatile on a wider variety of patterns.  Highly recommend this piece!

Now the Uppercut (same melee core, new cover) really caught me off guard.  I expected the Uppercut to be earlier and stronger than the Jab SE (Savvy 3.0 vs Savvy 2.0) but I was wrong.  The Uppercut was a lot cleaner out of box than I expected with a very strong move off of the friction.  Moving right and seeing the friction sooner improved my look, but a quick trip to the spinner with a used 2k pad solved my problem.  It was obvious to me that the change in coverstock in the Uppercut has dramatically increased its responsiveness to friction and this ball has since been effective for me on burnt lanes when my feet are much closer to the ball return and I want to see more hook down the lane.  In testing, I found the Uppercut in box finish to be very close to the DV8 Glam.  Maybe it was just the colours, but my eyes saw the Glam with a quicker skid/flip/roll motion at the break point while the Uppercut seemed to be a bit rounder and continuous.

Trying to decide which ball to buy between the Melee Jab SE and the Uppercut?  They share the same core and both feature pearl coverstocks but see the lane quite differently.  The Jab SE is as close to all purpose ball motion as I have ever seen out of a pearl - smooth shape, easily tweakable surface and useful on a wide variety of conditions.  The Uppercut fits behind the Jab SE for when I need to stand way left and aim right. 
Personally, I think that more bowlers will like the Jab SE, but the more angular shape of the Uppercut fills a gap in my bag by really making the corner on beat up lanes. 
Title: Re: Melee Jab
Post by: Powell300 on March 24, 2020, 06:22:06 PM
The Brunswick Melee Jab is the third installment in the Melee line and it is the first to have a pearlized coverstock. The new Savvy Hook Pearl reactive cover comes from the factory finished with a 500 pad followed by Royal Compound. This finish on the pearl cover allows this ball to glide down the lane with no effort. I had my best reaction with the Melee Jab on a medium pattern. The Jab easily gets down the lane before making its moves at the back end. This ball gets better as the front of the lane starts to hook more. With each shot, the Jab was able to have more length and very predictable break point.  This is a must have ball in your bag when you need controllable ball motion.