BallReviews

Reviews => Brunswick => Topic started by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM

Title: Monster ScreamR
Post by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM

Coverstock: N'Control PowerStock - Reactive

Color: Blue w / Violet Pearl

Hardness: 77-79

Core Dynamics:

   
Performance:

   
Available Weights: 12-16 Pounds



View the official Spec sheet including Drill Instructions
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: Sweet Lefty on January 13, 2002, 12:27:26 PM
I got this bowling ball as soon as it came out. I threw 5 games with it and they were all in the 140's. That is bad considdering i have a 186 average. I had the oil man oil the lane each time differently for me and the ball still reacted the same...So if you like balls that suck or if you want a ball that reacts the same nomatter what the lane conditions are then you should get this ball. On a scale from 1-10 i give this ball a 6.2
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: JBOWLER2 on January 18, 2002, 12:29:19 PM
I was reading over the reviews of the Monster ScreamR and was surprised by the reaction of the one review, in particular. My Proshop put the ball in the hands of a full roller, a low track and a high track player.  The results were all very positive. Within the first two weeks all three players went to the pay window. One of the players even posted a 300 and 813.

   Our feeling is that Brunswick has produced a ball that will compete well in that mid-price market. The Monster ScreamR is for the person that is looking for a reaction similar to TI-messenger or slightly less then the Savage.

   If this ball is drilled for your game you will have all the reaction you need for any house condition.
Again the Monster ScreamR matches up well with its competitors in the mid-range market and is sold at slightly lesser price. This ball is definitely worth taking a chance on, itís priced right and performs well.

Jbowler2

Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: Precision on January 23, 2002, 02:06:24 PM
All the performance at this price means this ball is a "STEAL". I am glad Brunswick deceided to produce this ball. The ScreamR fills a gap in their line-up for a pearlized reactive that can be used by many different styles. The ScreamR gets through the heads with ease and offers enough strength on the back-end without being over-reactive when hitting the dirt outside.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: bowling god 1981 on January 25, 2002, 03:47:45 AM
I HAVE HAD THIS BALL FOR ABOUT 2 DAYS NOW AND AM VERY IMPRESSED WIH IT. I DIDNT THINK I WOULD LIKE IT CASE I DIDNT LIKE MY PURPLE MONSTER. WELL I HAVE THIS BALL DRILLED TO GO VERY LONG THEN SNAP BACK WITH AUTHORITY. I SHOT ABOUT 15 GAMES WITH IT TONIGHT AND MY LOWEST WAS 223 AND HIGHEST WAS 289. I WAS JUST ON AND MY FRIENDCUL NOT BELIVE IT. STRIKE AFTER STRIKE AFTER STRIKE I COULDNT MISS THE POCKET. I DID LEAVE A GOOD AMOUNT OF SOLID 9 PINS THOUGH. ALL IN ALL I THINK THIS BALL IS A GREAT BALL AND WOULD LIKE TO BUY ANOTHER ONE FOR MY FRIEND. THNAKS TO BRNSWICK FOR A GREAT BALL. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.

KEVIN SPEAR
FRESNO,CA
--------------------
KEVIN SPEAR
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: jkaiser on January 30, 2002, 04:38:08 PM
Layout
PIN-1/2 inch above ring finger
CG-1/2 inch above midline inline with pin

The scream-r goes longer than the raging red fuze but has a strong backend reaction,more so than i anticipated.  The ball really makes the corner when you move in.  The coverstock allows the ball to get down the lane very easily.  The ball goes just a little to long when there is more oil on the lane.  Very predictable.  The ball gives the low hook players an option in there bag to open up the lane when the lanes start to open up. A nicely priced resin ball that will fill the needs of many bowlers.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: BackToBasics on January 30, 2002, 10:51:45 PM
This is an excellent addition to the Monster line. You have the agressive coverstock of the ARC but with the lower flaring, controllable Teal Rhino core.  This provides more length with a slightly more angular backend.  Basically a skid/snap Arc.

I have an ARC drilled 5 x 3 with an XH 1" below my axis.  I drilled the ScreamR 5x5 with an XH on my axis.  The ScreamR allows me to move further right and play straigher through the heads but with a strong, controllable finish. However, I can also increase my rotation and get a much more angular move.  It's very easy to get his ball to turn the corner.  It's very susceptible to hand changes, much more so than the Arc.  This is because of the lower flaring core.  The Arc wants to stand up so much sooner that it's tough to get the length neccessary for it to turn the corner.

This is an excellent ball with tremendous performance.  Very versatile to hand changes and because of the lower flaring core, I think the heavier handied players can get more use out of it.  However, the cover is strong enough that tweeners and straighties could open them up once there is enough friction.



Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: Ryan Peebles on January 31, 2002, 10:53:27 PM
This review is about a half month overdue, but regardless, this ball is a winner!  I had my fifteen-pound Monster ScreamR mapped out differently from my TE2:  pin above middle finger (5 3/4" from PAP) and CG above midplane, right of center (drilling 4L on Brunswick's Low-Differential Drilling Sheet).  I left the box finish on this ball, testing it on a synthetic surface that had two leagues worth of breakdown and carrydown.

I rolled a opening game of 268 (leaving solid 10-pins in the eighth and ninth frames).  This ball has no problem with length, thanks to the pearlized N-Control Powerstock.  With the low-RG, low-differential Teal Rhino Pro core, the ScreamR has a nice roll and predictable break.  A great ball for the late-shift leagues...
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: Scott Brunner on February 08, 2002, 02:23:25 AM
The ScreamR,
 
Not being sure on drilling a brunswick ball
because my shop dont sell alot of brunswick,
I decided to call my brunswick rep he (BillyO)
reassured me that it would make a great choice of ball
for myself and my customer's::::::

This is how i set it up,
As a lefty i set my ScreamR up with a 4in stack
with a 23/32 hole 3in deep drilled 1in beyond pap
i also did this setup for my employee(RightHanded)

We both found this ball to be very smooth with a sharp breakpoint
before breaking the coverstock in are area conditions..
when breakdown or carrydown occur's this ball saves energy
and really hits hard.
The first two sets out of the box for myself were 792-809
My employee after about 10 games shot his first 300 with it

After 3weeks of having them in the shop and have now drilled them
for junior's thru senior's with a couple surface changes
this is the best ball for anyone to use with a great price tag =)

Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: au118 on February 09, 2002, 01:15:48 AM
I'm a bowler who started bowling about 7 years ago. When I first started, I was only averaging about 170s. In the first 2 years since I started, I was able to raise my average to 200s from help of my friends which are PBA and PWBA bowlers such as Charlie Tapp, Marlis Tapp, Scott Brunner, and Tim Beebe. I'm an avid bowler currently bowling in 4 leagues for 4 nights of the week. I average around 200s+ all of my leagues. I'm also trying out for the PBA. I've bowl in several PBA regional meets in my region and bowl fairly decent in them but have yet a chance to cash.
      Over the 7 years I bowled, I have use bowling balls from almost all the bowling ball companies that are out there. I tried all sorts of layouts for bowling balls and the first sanctioned high game I shot was a 289 with the front 10 strikes about 4 1/2 years ago. I was not using a Brunswick ball when I shot that game. I have shot 300 numerous time in practice, 369 tournaments, no-tap tournaments but I never shot it in a sanctioned league or tournament. So I waited and waited to shoot that sanctioned perfect 300 game. I finally did it last week on 1/30/02, a Wednesday, in a major scratch league in my hometown of Kalamazoo. The name of the league is Miller Lite/Overhead Doors Majors and I shot the 300 game in the 2nd game with the Brunswick - Monster ScreamR which I bought and drilled 2 days earlier, probably the best bowling ball made by Brunswick. Not only did I shot the 300 game, I have been hitting high 600s and 700s series with the ball since I got it. I hate to say this but over the years, I have bought and sold over 50 bowling balls and out of all those I only had 4 balls from Brunswick including the Monster ScreamR. I did not like the 3 other ones I had before because I never had any luck shooting high games with it plus it leaves a lot of 10 pins for me even on nice pocket shots.
       I bought the Monster ScreamR because my good friend, Scott Brunner, a pro shop owner and a PBA member had the ball and he was bowling good with it. He shot his first ABC sanctioned 800 with it. I was talking to him about it and I said there's no harm in trying it. I bought the ball, had a little help laying it out from Scott and drilled it up myself in his shop because I working part-time for him. When I have to retire this ball, I will put it in a glass case as a reminder to my first sanctioned 300 game ball. Overall, on a scale of 1-10, I rate this ball a 9.5. And I think it would be a best seller for Brunswick. I thinking about getting another one to be drilled slightly different from the one I have now.

Loi Ming Au a.k.a Kenny Au
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: YeahHossNV on February 18, 2002, 08:01:27 PM
i drilled this ball with a 2 inch pin out with the pin under the middle finger.and the cg in the center of the grip. the ball is very clean and smooth throughout the whole lane. the ball get down the lane nicely and has a smooth arcing and backend. this ball is great on medium-dry conditions with really dry backends because it does not overreact. this ball is very controlable and has a big margin for error. overalli think this ball is a great compliment to the red fuze. i deffinately recomend this ball.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: ScuZzY on March 03, 2002, 01:32:25 PM
I bought this ball and drilled according to my appointed layout. I rolled 10 games with it but I couldn't get any strike during ball testing and yet still satisfied with the scores. During a league in my district, I tried to use ScreamR on that night. I couldn't get any strike after 1st game and frustrated of it. And it still remained the same until the 5th frame on 2nd game. I planned to use my other ball which is Trauma RECOVERY from Storm and throwed away the ScreamR in my bag. Upon the first throw of RECOVERY, I smells the peppermint scent from the ball, increased my mental strategy to handle my scores. Surprisingly, I got a consecutive stikes until last game. Although there are 3 splits after hitted a pocket in my last game, but I'm able to adjust my scores to high series on that night with RECOVERY. And after that league, the whole week I was testing the ball of ScreamR and RECOVERY every day and night. The results are still the same. Not to say I have bias on ScreamR but it often gave me splits after hitted a pocket! And believe me guys and gals, try RECOVERY and bet you'll love it! You even more like the smells of the ball. But remember, RECOVERY is a very sensitive ball. Before drilling, choose and check the attached layout. You can always consult with pro shop assistant. From the mark out of 10, I would rate RECOVERY a 9.7!
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: BowlPro on March 04, 2002, 10:04:45 PM
The New Monster Scream/R is just what Brunswick Needed!

A Big Shot in the Arm! Finally a great ball from the Old King of
Bowling Equipment!

The Monster Scream/R is the closest thing to the "Magical Ball"
that we have seen in a long time!

The Tried and Proven weight block from the Ole, Rhino Pro Teal, with
the New Dense/Impregnated Core Technology, is a great match of
motor and coverstock.

The Monster Scream/R drilled label leverage will provide any bowler
with all the Hook and Power one could ever want.
*4X4 Drilling, Pin & CG 4" from the PAP.

Smooth and Hard hitting!!!! Adaptable to a large range of lane conditions!

This ball is a MUST for any bowler!!!

We highly recommend this ball to all bowlers and if you do not have one?
You are missing out on one of the best balls on the market!!!

BowlPro
www.discount-proshop.com

PS. Now let's just have Brunswick bring back the "Rhino PRO Gold Pearl"
and every bowler will be set!
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: john_kleist on March 10, 2002, 01:13:51 PM
I had my ScreamR drilled up 4X4 with a small weight hole.  I absolutely LOVE this ball reaction.  Out of 100 people I was 1 of 4 people that shot over 600 in a tournament yesterday.  I had a very consistent ball reaction that delivered quite a punch.  The only problem that I have been having is that I have been leaving quite a few 10 pins with this ball.  I highly recommend this ball to anybody that has a lot of revs and has problems throwing the huge hooking balls like the ER or Roll or something.  Delivered great back end while still getting through the heads.  I give this ball a 8.5/10 for now because of the high amounts of 10 pins.  This is the first non-Storm ball that I bought in like 2 years and I do say that I am impressed.

John Kleist III
www.scratchbowling.com
jkleist@scratchbowling.com
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: tburky on March 22, 2002, 10:11:05 AM
Axis coordinates are: 4-3/4" right and 1/2" up.
Pin distance from cg: 3"

Ball Layout: Pin 4" from axis and c.g. 3-1/4" from axis.  C.G. is approximately 9/16" above grip midline.  No weight hole needed.

This my first Brunswick ball in a while.  Brunswick has a reputation with balls hooking early.  The ScreamR is a huge exception to this reputation. This ball has exceptional length through the front part of the lane and recovers very well in the back part of the lane. On drier conditions this ball still pushes well through the front of the lane and still has plenty of recovery in the back. This ball does not burn up to quick on the drier condition. This is a smooth rolling ball and a must ball in the bag for the serious bowler.

Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: BrunsMike on March 31, 2002, 03:50:42 PM
Well, I dont know all the pin lay outs and what not. But I'll explain it as best as i can. CG is about 1" from top striaght up, the Pin is above and just right of my right hand ring finger. No axis hole needed.

This ball gets through the heads very cleanly. Nice recovery 95% of the time. This ball is not a heavy oil ball what-so-ever. If the oil is heavy then it would make a real nice down the 5 board and in shot. I've had the ball 3 weeks now and have about 90 games on it. Low game is 161 and High game is 263. Low series is 501 and high series is 728. I am a cranker and for this ball to be as predictable as this is, im amazed. Beware to those of you who dont like single solid pin leaves. This ball is Notorious for sloid 8, 9, and 10 pin leaves. Also leaves the 4 pin on occasion. Another warning. With my shot this ball has left me 2 types of splits. The 2-4-10 and the 2-4-8-10. Over all rating from me, 9 out of 10.

P.S. those of you who have used the Track Synergy, Very close relation to that ball.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: au118 on April 01, 2002, 04:18:41 AM
Hi, it's me again. Well, I'm writing to say that I have shot my second ABC sanctioned 300 game with the Monster ScreamR on 3/21/2002 in a different house roughly about 2 months after my first one on 1/31/2002. I would say I roughly have about 120 games on this ball already. I had to rejuvenate it and resurface it after about 70 games and it is still doing well for me. I would strongly recommend this ball for all types of bowlers because of it's adversity and easy read on the lanes. Till next time, have fun bowling.

Loi Ming Au a.k.a Kenny Au
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: Cbjdc on April 02, 2002, 02:18:33 PM
Okay so I havent really thrown a brunswick ball in a while.  My problem with brunswick started with the HPD series and didnt impress me with any of the proactive equipment.  However,  If you want something that will change your opionion quickly this is the ball.  
This ball can get down the lane in a hurry and almost make a ninety degree turn.  I work in a center where people have been purchasing this ball.  Everyone of them has nothing but praise for this little beuty.  I even went as far as to purchase my own.  I have been using it for a couple of days but this ball man if it hits either the one-two or one-three nine times out of ten your going to strike with this ball.  Just let it get right and watch it fly back.  I have seen kids and even adults with little hand put this ball to the one board at forty feet and see it come back into the pocket leaving nothing standing.  
Versitility shoot this ball you can polish, sand, and probably do almost anything to this ball and it still works.  The only thing I dont recommend is sanding the ball for heavy lanes.  This ball is all you need to combat med-heavy patterns.  It could even be a great ball for the pesky reverse block that sometimes come up in a house condition.  
Overall pricing of the ball man you get a lot of bang for you buck out of this ball.  And even if you think its a little pricy at only 120 dollars you make up for it when you get out on the lanes and anihalate the competition with this ball.
I have to take my hate off of the brunswick staff they really did the best job they could on this ball.  It is really a monster (but in a seriously good way)

Let me know what you think
Drop me a line at
CBJDC@YAHOO.COM
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: sbfatkid on April 02, 2002, 07:04:26 PM
Well, I hadn't bowled in a league in over 8 years and didn't know anything about today's equipment.  I told the guy at my local proshop I used to throw a Teal Rhino Pro and he suggested the Monster ScreamR...very good suggestion.  It's a very similar ball.

My first 6 games with this ball were 248, 247, 218, 238, 279, 255.  I'm a lefty and throw 15-16 mph and give the ball a good deal of hand, but I'm sure it would be effective with less revs as well. This ball carries strikes with solid pocket hits and light pocket hits.  You can work this ball inside because it slides well and has great backend, or you can play outside and the thing comes roaring back at a sharp angle.  I like this ball best on med-dry to medium-oily conditions.  When the lanes are bone dry I have to throw it about 17.5 mph to stay left of the headpin.  On oilier conditions, this ball works with some good hand and slower speed if roughed up a little.  I'm starting to leave more 7 pins than when i took this thing out of the box, but I don't think that's the ball's doing.

The drilling is pretty standard...pin under left ring finger and about 2" from cg.

I highly recommend this ball.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: Chrispy on April 04, 2002, 09:04:53 PM
Ball drilled 5 x 4 with the pin just left if my ring finger.
Left handed, 17+ mph. speed. Around 420 rpm.

I bowl in two houses.

Wood lanes, Most of the time i have to play third arrow out to the gutter to get to the pocket. Thats if they put any oil in the heads. If the machine isn't working to good that day i have to play 4th arrow out to the gutter.

Synthetic lanes, These lanes i can play outside of 3rd arrow and sometimes i can play 2 board down and in.

I think that if you have a gap in your equipment and you run into a situation were nothing is working this is the ball to go to.

Good job Brunswick. P.S. Please bring the rhino pro series back.

Special thanks to Bill Rowe for helping me to pick this gem.

Thanks,

Chris

zap03@hotmail.com
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: RINGA7 on April 04, 2002, 10:07:09 PM
THE SCREAM IS ONE BACK END BREAKING BALL. I LAY IT DOWN AROUND 4TH ARROW TAKE IT TO THE 2 OR 3 BOARD AND NEVER HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT IT NOT COMING BACK!
I LOVED THE TEAL PRO RINHO, AND I THINK THIS IS AS CLOSE TO IT AS THERE IS.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: Dwight Albrecht on April 13, 2002, 12:17:59 PM
Hello Readers,

This wonderful reactive from Brunswick is a true "Bang for the Buck" ball with the hit of alot of the $200 price balls out there.

The coverstock is "N'Control" wich was found in the arc with a core similiar to the Teal Rhino and T2.

I drilled the scream/r Pin 5 3/4 x 75 Degree mass bias. Hoping to find a ball that would give me a good reaction from an inside angle. It does this nicely. The does not mean that you can't use this ball with a leverage drilling from an oilier condition, you can.

I used this ball at Men's state tournament and it reacted nicely when the lanes broke down. It cleared the fronts cleanly never showing any sign of early hook. On the backends it was controllable but strong with better than average hit.

I will drill another up with a stronger layout so I can use it over more variety of conditions. The drilling I put on this ball is a little more specific condition of a layout.

Best Bowler for this ball would definately be a tweener/cranker. Strokers can use it with a stronger layout and drier conditions.

Again, it's nice to see Companies like Brunswick coming out with balls that a variety of bowlers can use with different games and keep the price reasonable.

If you are looking for a nice hard hitting controllable reactive consider this one as a choice.

Thank you for reading this review and best of luck to you.

Dwight
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: prince of cats on April 18, 2002, 07:37:36 PM
i wanted a ball that would go long before breaking and this is it.
drilled with the pin underneath my ring finger and a big weight hole near my thumb to roll early.
this ball hits great and carries most of the time when it hits brooklny.
a very controlable and predictalbe ball, just what i wanted. this ball never gets any oil on it either and my league is heavy-med. oil. probably the best ball i have ever owned and it was cheaper than any other ball i have ever bought. i give this ball a 9 out of 10.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: hiroka on April 23, 2002, 02:52:08 AM
I got this 14lb ball last week and I drilled my ball as 1L on the drilling spec. but no weight hole for extra flare.

i'm a right handed power stroker which have 17 -19 miles per hour and 300+ revs, shooting 3rd arrow out to 5-10 boards.

I bowl on 3 leagues, 10 -10 blocks on wood lane, sport shots on syn. and chrismas tree on syn.

I bowled on chrismas tree condition tonight and have my highest game on this season (290). I have a hard time on the first game but it is ok on the 8th frame on the first game. I start with a solid 9 on the 1st frame on my second game, then as we know 11 in a row on the rest of the frames. The ball reaate really good at the backend, never too strong.

I'm looking for the sport shot tomorrow.

I give this ball 9.5 out of 10 coz it give me some solid 9s

Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: Ricky Zevgolis on April 25, 2002, 12:44:01 PM
It is nice to see Brunswick back with this nice bowling ball. All the industries have been selling us on new technology when some of the old blocks will do just fine. I had this one drilled leverage 3 3/8 but not stacked.  Side weight was 1/2 postive with 1/4 fingers weight.  

This ball reacted well shooting it up the dry on a regular league shot. It went long while having a strong flip in the back end.  It had reacted well in the oil when you swing it to the dry, the reactive cover stock helped it come back strong and clean.  The pins simply had jumped off the ball.  The ScreamR is on the same level as the Columbia Messager Black and Gold Pearl but with more break on the back end.  

This ball is a  bargin at any price.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: Michael on June 30, 2002, 04:57:07 PM
I just recently drilled this ball a week ago to be exact. We layed it out with the pin 2in. from my pap, and kicked the cg back towards my center of grip, put a medium sized weight hole on my pap. Then took some ebonite factory finish to it! This is one of the greatest bowling balls I have ever thrown. I already have another one ready to be drilled! The ball is so smooth yet strong, it rolls like a urathene, but with a little more fire under it's butt. I am a stroker so I like my equipment to be very smooth and predictable. This ball was very predictable. I had no trouble getting the corners out, and very little 8-9 pins. In league I have only used it 9 games and shot 674-676-755! Not bad for a weeks worth.That 755 is the only honor score I have at that particular house!!! I think this ball would roll good for just about anyone who threw it.

Good Luck and Good Bowling
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: Michael on July 17, 2002, 05:22:44 PM
I just recently purchased another one of these babies. We layed it out on label pin right by ring finger and had about quarter neg. in it. Put a little bit of factory finish on it and off we went. This ball rolls just as good as the first very smooth through the heads and a nice arc on the back end! The first one is a little more aggressive but this is a good ball for when the heads are fried or the back ends are burnt. Carries very well and is very versatile. I honestly think this ball would roll good for just about anyone!
Good Luck and Good Bowling,
Michael
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: sandbagger on July 30, 2002, 07:11:04 PM
This ball is not very good.  It goes forever without hooking and I leave a lot of fences and washouts with it.  I play down and in with slow speed and low revs and this ball goes forever and doesn't hook at all.  When it hits the pins it hits weak and I don't get any messangers.  Out of 1-10 I give this ball a 2.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: john_kleist on August 20, 2002, 03:57:40 PM
I am high revs, high speed, right handed.  I had this ball drilled 4X4 and it is shined up all the way.  This is the best ball I have ever thrown.  This is the first ball I pick up out of my bag any time I bowl.  It hits like a truck and has such a predictible reaction.  When I can't keep my Red Fuze or Smash R on the lanes I can string the heck out of them with my ScreamR.  I would vote this ball BALL OF THE YEAR!!!!  Shot great with it at ABC's and most of my honor scores over the last 6 months have been with this ball.  HIGHLY RECOMMEND...especially to anybody out there who has some hand!!!
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: whitepinoy02 on September 16, 2002, 11:14:07 PM
The Third ball i own in the monster series.  the pin is 3 3/4" from the CG. im left handed, so it was drilled with the pin left of my ring finger with the CG between finger and thumb holes.  Major Major Backend.  the first time i laid the ball on the oil, and as soon as it found dry it took of for the pocket. the ball hit so hard that i left a solid 8 pin.  i had to move right to hit the pocket lighter. now i know why its called the screamR, cause when the pins see this ball comin full speed ahead at them, they scream like little girls!!!
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: Bob Hanson on September 24, 2002, 03:42:07 PM
Add another one to the list of ScreamR fans.  I drilled this ball out to replace my Battle Zone Cannon that some on this board have heard me ramble on about.  The ScreamR came with a 2 inch pin that I put right on the grip line just below my bridge with a stacked cg.  This gave me roughly a 5 by 4.5, the same as I had on my cannon.  The characteristic of the cannon was early rev, midlane arc, and not too big a back end.  I used it to stay a little more direct on very dry conditions, and also to jam into the oil when I wanted to play very direct and not get the early move that would have come with a strong shelled ball.  I tried the ScreamR out using both techniques today.  I first went to about 8 board on a heavy wall shot and was able to play up the boards with little out angle.  Carry was exceptional, until I started pushing what little oil I had down the lane.  I got a little more push through the heads than with the cannon, but still got a small angular midlane move.  I then went to 11 board and did my best Ernie Schlegel imitation of jamming the ball right to the hole in heavier oil with end over end roll.  I carry 11 out of 12 playing this shot.  

A few observations about the ball.  Some people have said it was skid snap and others have said it was pretty controlled on the back.  I think if you have a release that gives you skid snap on many conditions you will find that the ScreamR will snap.  If you normally don't get a lot of back end pop you will find the ball to very controlled on the back.  This is not a ball to send wide unless you have lots of hand.  The low differential is not going to give you hit going coast to coast unless you are Robert Smith.  If you want a dry lane ball drill it for length and be happy playing a little more direct on the dirt.  If you want a more versatile ball, drill this ball stronger and you will probably find it to be fairly versatile on league shots where there is usually a dry area.  It was designed to be a ball that the heavier handed players could drill a little more aggressive without getting too much flare.  It definitely acts that way.  One other observation.  After throwing a bunch of strikes jamming it up 11, I took my SmashR and moved my feet 4 boards deeper, swing 11 and strung several with that ball.  It's always easier on a wall.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: LuckyLefty on October 05, 2002, 01:14:59 PM
OK,

Here goes, after using and discussing the initial break in period on the Brunswick Forum.  

This 2 1/2 pin out ball is drilled 4.5 X 5.  Label really. No weighthole

Condition intended on is medium to lighter.  

This ball was put up against my previously reviewed and enjoyed Battle Zone Bullet.
My length and flip ball for the past two years many a high score.

What is interesting about these two balls are the different specs, the scream/r is lower rg, and lower differential and has a coverstock (pearl NControl Powerstock) that is a little skiddier in the dryer heads and a little less pure reaction off dry.  Yet what is surprising is that both balls when used on different conditions are often played on exactly the same part of the lane.  What is even more unique is that the balls will cover the same lines but with dramatically different flight plans to the pocket!

For example on a medium to medium heavier oiled league shot recently I put both balls up against each other.  At the beginning of practice both balls I started by standing on 25 angling my feet slightly and throwing at the arrows over 12-13.  The Scream/r because of its earlier revs only projected to about the 40 foot mark and as wide as 9 or 8 and then made a quick angular move to the hole.
Crush!  

The Battle Zone Bullet on the other hand projected straighter and on the same line about 5 feet farther and then all the way out to the 5 -6 board area.
It's large differential then allowed the ball to make it's big move and recover all the way to the hole!  However many balls had covered too many feet on the lane and did not have the Pop at the hole that the Scream/r did.

Then during league I used this ball because of the strong move while many others were using low load particles.  What was interesting was though really there was too much oil on this shot for this ball it was very workable and had so much energy at the 1-2 pocket that there were gasps from my opponents.
(I am only medium handed).  At one point after a six bagger early I put down do to some 7s.  Used a particle for a game and a half without much pop and then switched and closed the night with 7 out of 8 after making a straighter 2 and 1 move outside with my feet.

What is interesting also is if you tug this ball into a league crown it will still make a small flip move and maybe carry.

I now use this ball where I did use my great Battle Zone Bullet with less lane coverage and more consistency, maybe more hit as documented above.

I also compare this ball very favorable to the much loved and high scoring for me Pulse Pearl (blue) from Columbia.  To contrast these two.  The Pulse Pearl if swung out to the dry would come back and crush the hole if it found dry.
If it was pulled into the crown it would not move and would leave a washout.
Thru the fronts they are very similar, it is just at that greak point juncture that the monster proves it is better on most house type patterns(crown).

This Monster Beauty in comtrast to the Pulse Pearl will instead be able to move from outside or if pulled inside and still create impressive angle and energy to the hole.

This is truly a gem from not the dryest but up from that all the way into certain oilier than medium conditions.

Enjoy it and get it! It is a beautiful blend of cover and core for the lighter conditions!

REgards,

Luckylefty

Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: BrianN on November 16, 2002, 07:08:02 AM
Specs: 15.1, 3 oz top, 3" pin. 1 o'clock layout, CG in grip center, no weight hole.

I completely trust ScreamR's reaction. It is my ball of choice for tough lighter/medium conditions. I bought it for a short, light Christmas tree on older wood, but found it to work well up to a decent medium. When you have a shot where every frame is a battle, this is the blunt instrument of persuasion you want to use.

I've thrown two Brunswick pearls now and my impression is that they are optimal for the end-over-end player. N'control is an appropriate name for this coverstock. You get exactly what you give it in your release. Of course, this cuts both ways, which is why I think ScreamR is more for the experienced player, the guy with some consistency and a couple of releases in his bag of tricks.  Other than that, I don't perceive it as style-specific. There's something here for cranker, tweener and stroker alike and I've seen all of them use it with good success.  

Compared to Powerkoil 17, N'Control gets through the heads easier, is longer and has the potential for a bigger flip. If I hit it pretty good, Scream/R is actually bigger and more angular than my Ti Messenger Pearl. If I take something out of it, lay it on its side, it behaves more like a 3-piece.

It revs up quickly off your hand, but still gets a bit of length and is forgiving at the breakpoint. One of the main reasons I bought it was to retain energy, and it does a very good job of that. I like the low-diff, low-RG core in a mild cover in both concept and execution. It seems like a simple idea - wrap a lightbulb in pearl resin - but with anyone else's coverstocks, it'd just be squirty and weak. Lower RG pearls are definitely the way to go for me.

I've used it very successfully now for several weeks in two circumstances - playing deep inside on light oil and  feeding it into a drying track at a specific location, both breakpoint-sensitive tasks. Not sure why, but it really likes being played inside. When you have to get in around 4th, 5th arrow to find some oil, this is the ball you want.

It's hard to find much to criticize in ScreamR. You can nitpick that maybe it's not so hot on carrydown or not the biggest hitter in the world, but the bottom line is that it's effective and it keeps you in play.

Ratings:

Control - 9. A very good control pearl. Dependable reaction, very responsive to release changes and good forgiveness at the breakpoint.

Versatility - 9. By anyone's standards, good for everything from light to a decent medium, generally covering the normal range of league shots. I like it on pretty much anything you'd put a 3-piece on up to what you'd throw a Ti Messenger Pearl on.

Hit and carry - 8. Not a huge hitter, but plenty good enough.

ScreamR is a modern-day classic. This will be a ball that people scrounge for years after it is discontinued. Definitely worth buying one to drill now and one to put away.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: YeahHossNV on November 19, 2002, 10:31:05 PM
This ball has a pin out 2-3. I drilled the ball with the pin over the bridge with the cg on center line of my grip. This is one of Brunswicks' best inventions. The ball gets great length and a nice smooth recovery in the backend. This is not the best ball to use to get a read on the lanes as it goes long no matter what. The ball hits hard but not too hard. And carries real well. this ball offers a lot of control and is very forgiving even on hard lane conditions. The ball is really not known for overreacting on dry parts of the lane. This is a great ball for anybody.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: jwsmith01 on December 18, 2002, 07:46:00 PM
16 pounds
Top Weight: 3.6
Pin out: 2-3 inches
Factory Surface

Likes: Consistancy, Hitting Power, Backend, the list goes on an on
Dislikes: Heavy Oil

Sorry about the delay guys, I have had finals and just finished up the semester up. It has been a pretty busy end of the year.....
What an amazing bowling ball. I drill this one up 5 1/2" strong, with the pin above my fingers. I drilled this up for when the backends are toast during the later games of a tournament. And, this is what a bowling ball should be. The way it eases through the heads, and once it reads the dry on the backend goes that extra foot and makes a nice hard controlable arc towards the pocket. It reminds me of a Zone X low diff on steroids. Once it gets to the pocket, nothing is left standing, maybe a few 8 or 9 pins, but the ball is like a ton of bricks. The ScreamR fits nicely between my Ignitor and Zone X Low Diff. It goes just that tich further than the Ignitor and when the lanes fry out too much I go right to my low diff. This is one hell of a ball for all types of bowlers, if you are just starting out it has that controlable reaction that you are looking for. Plus, it has all and more of what the tournament players are looking for. Great ball Brunswick.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: Southbank on January 02, 2003, 05:38:50 PM
Ball Specifications - 15.3 LBS , 3-4' pin

Alright , now this is definitely a great ball to buy I drilled my ball with the pin above my ring finger a little offset to the right... and the CG slightly above my Center to grip , plus about an inch and a half offset to the right... keep in mind guys... my span is 5 and a half inches wide...

I gotta say... this ball hits like a truck... even in heavy oil , I can still throw this ball down the lane and it still comes back , it has a very nice and stable mid lane roll... combined with a nice arc at the backend.

This is a very controllable ball and i recommend it to beginners or high rev players who are planning to get a new ball.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: tankantc on January 05, 2003, 07:38:46 PM
All I can say is I will never spend money on any other line again as long as Brunswick puts these out.  I have been a Big "B" hater my whole life but the red alert changed that for a while, then the quantums and now these.  I have the Frenzy, which is an awesome ball so I tried the Scream.  HOLY COW!  Out of the box the ball is exactly what I wanted.  We drilled the pin in the ring for a pretty boring traditional drilling.  I wanted more length than I was getting with the Frenzy with a strong snap and I got it.  Out of the box in our City Tournament, which is a very tough shot traditionally, 243, 279, 201, 235.  All I can say is it goes long, turns hard and hits great!

If you are looking for a monster that has some potential to go in deep and go long but not lose the hit, this ball may be for you!
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: morpheus on January 06, 2003, 04:03:43 PM
Had this ball for a while, but haven't had the chance to use it much because the house I bowl league at is usually pretty slick.  Ball is drilled with the pin under the middle finger, 2" shift with a small hole past the axis.  This has been a condition ball for me because of the weak drill, but I really like it on flatter patterns with some backend.  This ball gets down the lane well, but gives good midlane read and hitting power is excellent.  Cover is very versatile and provides excellent control.  Definately an arsenal ball for the tournament player.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: Deezul on January 26, 2003, 10:30:23 PM
15LB. 3IN. pin. Bought this Jewel used From AMS Pro Shop in North Kansas City MO. I used this ball last night on DRY lanes I mean D R Y! it was way to much ball but I stood my ground and gave it a shot. The lanes werent oiled for days as I was later told. I survied to say the least and the ball once place on the lanes would go about 8 feet then start to snap. stood all the way left flattened out my hand and through the spare ball shot and it was just arcing into the pocket. Today on fresh oil medium condition the ball was a well a...MONSTER! I would run it up the 2nd arrow and BOOM nothing but flat out Devastation! it got me 8 strikes in a row but I was taking a lesson and only in pratice mode. Some over under but I think its the bowler not the ball. 10 out of 10 way to go Brunswick!

Greg
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: Ryan Peebles on January 30, 2003, 09:33:17 AM
I purchased a second ScreamR this past week; my first review was 1/31/02.  I had this fifteen-pounder (1 1/2" pin-out, @ three-oz top weight) set up 4 1/4" X 4 1/4" with the pin under the ring finger.  My first ScreamR was 6 1/4" X 4 1/2", pin above middle finger, CG under ring.

My goal was to "recreate" my Zone X TE2 (a.k.a. Orange Pin, see my second review of the TE1 from early 2001).  In eight games of total use over a seven-day period (190-242; 189-217-238; 243-257-222), this ball is fantastic.  It rolls clean and arcs beautifully on medium oil with good backs.  The low-RG Rhino Pro Teal core with the Command Zone cover to complement makes the ScreamR one of the most predictable, forgiving, and economic balls on the market.  A great combination, and a great ball for a typical medium-oil league pattern.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: LuckyLefty on March 27, 2003, 09:10:47 AM
Slash!!!

I've reviewed this ball before.

Couldn't really get a great look on my home lanes(too much head oil).
It always wanted to hit and looked great on the lanes and exciting, but I had breakpoint control problems.

2 inch pin out, drilled 4 1/4 X 5.  Basically label leverage for me.
Almost no side weight(which I don't often do).

Tried 3 ideas on my home house. 1000 grit dull, 600 grit polished, 1000 grit polished, (black magic on both).

To make a long story short, 1000 dull took away all backend, 600 grit black magic was too early and 1000 with Black magic was just about the right break point.

Back end was back to out of box condition but breakpoint about 4 to 5 feet earlier.

This ball was explosive and on a fresh pattern covers so many boards so fast it can really hit!

Ball still looks fast on the lanes and I probably had more reaction than anyone in the house.

By the 2nd game I had already moved to playing 16 to 8 at the break and let one slip away to the two board and still struck.

I took this ball in a tournament to an all synthetic house(my home house is synthetic to 30 and wood the rest).  Same thing just humungous runaway backend for me.

Is it the drilling or the ball.  For me the excitement is unbelievable to watch and the ooohs and aaahs in the background are nice.
After awhile while playing this deep this ball starting slashing in and leaving 8 pins and 6 8s for me, a little deeper and then 10s.

Lots of excitement, tremendous reaction and medium ok scores.

This ball will soon end up in someone else's hands.  Maybe someone more up the back who will find more control than I did.

Beautiful high testosterone reaction for me, moderate scoring.

In comparison other balls used on both patterns above that gave me a more smooth and controllable reaction, eraser, Rebel ECX.  Almost the excitement of the Demolition Zone just farther downlane!

REGards,

Luckylefty

Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: theHHHgame on April 10, 2003, 01:10:12 PM
I have to change my 1st review of this ball not that i have so more bowling exp and a little more knowledge to my game

Length is good hooks more than my frenzy this ball is 15 lbs and drilled with the pin above the ring great compliment to my frenzy this ball does the trick on most conditions from light-med to med-heavy for me

hook this ball really moves and moves hard goes down the lane and snaps back to the pocket i love this ball and now i have figured out the control and times to put it away

control can be a bit snappy at times and for me if i put to much hand in it i leave alot of 3,6,10's and 3,6,9,10's from coming in heavy but for the most part it is very easy to control it is not speed sensitive but is very responsive to hand changes

hit-this ball is absolutly lovely i shot 287 3 weeks ago and everything is great with this ball just like the frenzy you have length, hit, control, and carry for under 100 bucks

personal opinion the monster line is the best on the market right now if you don't have one pick up any of them and you to will be a fan of brunswick
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: CGproshop-Sean on August 19, 2003, 03:36:26 AM
Picked this ball up at the Ace Mitchell tent sale, it has a 1" pin, and I drilled it with the pin and GC stacked under the bridge. I now have found my new dry lane ball. I was using a Hot Rod, but this ball has a much more controlled back end. This is another ball that has me believing in Brunswick again (Inferno, Danger Zone re-release)
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: Scolai on September 26, 2003, 01:12:11 PM
I picked this ball up used on BR.com for about $45.  What I basically wanted was a ball I could use to test a new thumb pitch without fouling up my current equipment.  The ball is drilled for length with a good pop on the back end.  Check my profile for my bowling stats.  Pin on this ball is 1/4" southwest of my ring finger.

Before last night, I had never used this ball for more than a few games in practice, so pulling it out was a little risky at best.  Our lane man decided that he would give in to all the people moaning about the fact that the shot breaks down "too quickly".  As a result, he flooded the heads with 120 units in the center down 36' buffed to 41'.  90 units outside of that.  There was a definite out of bounds.  In game 1, I threw my Minotaur and a Track Hex looking for some back end but came up empty.  Net result was a 148.  In the 8th frame of that first game, I pulled out my ScreamR.  The first shot surprised me a little by going through the beak, but a little fine tuning really opened the lane up.

The ball did just what it was supposed to do: nice long skid through the heads before revving up in the midlane and taking a hard right at the breakpoint.  The ball has a very predictable reaction when well thrown, and it even surprised me a few times on some fairly poor shots.  Despite the dismal showing in the first game, I posted 234-227 for a 609.  I think with different layouts, this ball has a lot of good potential for varieties of lane conditions.  I didn't figure this would be my go-to ball in a flood, but it did the trick for me.

Rate the ball 9 out of 10 for predictability, versatility, and overall performance.  The ScreamR loses a little credit for its carry.  Not so much that the corner pins were a problem (though I did leave a few 7's last night), but sometimes the ball just turns so hard that it can blow by an 8 or 9 pin from time to time.

A good ball for the seasoned vet or the newbie looking for some turn.
--------------------
Nut

If you wonder if you're good enough, then you're not good enough.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: fabes on October 19, 2003, 08:51:40 PM
Got this one from Brunswick last season, late in the year. Wanted something that would get through the heads well, go down a ways and then turn and hit. I am a right handed power stroker who can swing it or go straight up the boards if need be.

My ScreamR is drilled with the pin just below the ring finger and the Cg kicked just to the right of my palm. To date I have used this ball mainly as a back up to a couple of balls that I am really comfortable with. That situation is changing, it is now my primary ball for my Monday league. I have gotten to love the reaction I get from this ball. It gets through the heads really clean, even when they are starting to dry out, goes down past midlane and then turns up and really smashes the pocket. The hit has been great, as it seems to carry a variety of hits well, especially light hits. I have to say that this ball even carries better than any ball that I have thrown when I need to move left to find some oil. A problem I usually have and can not overcome due to my high ball speed.

I am truly impressed with it and do consider it an excellent addition to my arsenal. I continue to use it and will post another review after I have more games on it. Currently my low game with this ball is 216. Great job by Brunswick.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: stormbowlingballfan on October 25, 2003, 01:38:00 AM
I got this ball 12 pounds about 5 months ago.

Likes: This ball hits like a truck in the pocket. It has a really good drive. I shot a 238, and it is the first ball out of my bag.

Dislikes: Leaves some 10 pins...
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: cavalier1968 on January 17, 2004, 02:23:53 AM
Me.....stroker, avg 191, slow revs, med ball speed.  I usally play up the 10 board. Tonight, for some reason, the lanes were quite slick.  I used the screamr straight out of the box, shiny and all.  

Had ball drilled for max backend....Brunswick chart

Impressions.... this ball looks great, doesnt overreact and somehow finds the pocket.  I threw several balls too far right and the screamr came back... I shot 218-202-215...Only 1 10 pin the whole night.  I give this ball a 9....

Cavalier
--------------------


"Baseball is designed to break your heart. The game begins in the spring, when everything is new again, and it blossoms in the summer, filling the afternoons and evenings, and then as soon as the chill rains comes, it stops, and leaves you to face the fall alone."
--A Bartlett Giamatti, Comissioner of Baseball, 1989
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: 00-butler-j on October 05, 2004, 07:37:44 AM
I had this ball about four months ago and used to be a common straight bowler
but with a bit of help from my older brother i have knocked my ave up from 136 to 189 i now send the ball down a way and it has a massive backend on it, it has been sanded but i am not sure what to i generall am a low rev bowler yet the ball still moves a LOT! This ball is a briliant addition to your arsenal but dont expect miracles with your first bowl Brunswick have a keeper here
--------------------
Jason Butlr
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: scratchwoods on December 14, 2012, 01:29:45 AM
My Stats : PAP 5 1/2 right 3/4 up.
Speed 18.5 mph off the hand.
Revs 500rpm
Axis Tilt 13 degrees
Axis rotation 40 degrees
Layout : Pin to Pap 5 1/2 inches
Drill angle 50 degrees
Val angle 70 degrees
X hole 2 inches down the val

Reaction on fresh oil : Skid SNAP !!!
Reaction on the burn : Skid arc.  (This is when I use it)

The Monster ScreamR is one of the most controllable balls in my arsenal. With this layout it doesn't flare too much and saves heaps of energy for the pins. Polished, this ball is not for heavy oil, but when other stronger balls become unpredictable once the lanes have broken down, the ScreamR rules. It shoots through patchy conditions, gets good length and makes a strong yet predictable turn.
I know this is an old ball from 10 years ago, but for high rev players, like myself, controllability is paramount. Weaker coverstocks and lower flaring cores may now be called "entry level", but it's scoring that really matters. When my Storm Reign is too strong the ScreamR has hold and recovery that surprises everyone that has seen me use it.
If you can find one, BUY IT.
Title: Re: Monster ScreamR
Post by: Daher848 on December 14, 2012, 11:04:14 AM
I have a NIB #15 Monster ScreamR, great specs, PM me if interested...