BallReviews

Equipment Boards => Brunswick => Topic started by: BowlingForDonuts on December 05, 2018, 01:57:50 PM

Title: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on December 05, 2018, 01:57:50 PM
Long story short the only reactive ball I had that survived my last long bowling layoff was a BVP Rampage that I still use and absolutely love (put up zip codes with it).  Still oh so viable on modern conditions with some surface.  Love that Powerkoil 18 cover inverted bell core combo so much that I picked up a used BVP Nemesis to pair with it.  I know the BVPs were basically entry level balls and aren't spoken in reverent tones like the Infernos but curious which people like more as far as Powerkoil vs activator back in the day.  Went with what I know and like but see some old Infernos on ebay.  I can say from experience that the Powerkoil 18 is fairly low maintenance, and doesn't fade with use and is built like a tank (Storm Shift I had to next to it in bag cracked all the way around in the years the two stored to together in garage).  Do the infernos hold up well as well?  Thanks.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: notclay on December 05, 2018, 09:33:23 PM

I still see lots of Infernos being used today.  The Ultimate and Scorchin' Infernos have been used here in the past week.  These must have hundreds of games on them but seem to still perform.

Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on December 05, 2018, 09:41:35 PM

I still see lots of Infernos being used today.  The Ultimate and Scorchin' Infernos have been used here in the past week.  These must have hundreds of games on them but seem to still perform.

Thanks.  Limited research I've done seems to show Infernos lower RG, bit stronger, handle more oil and more back end than powerkoil BVP balls.  Since activator is derived from powerkoil not surprised they are durable as well (if anything looks like activator even more durable according to posters on here).  Really like the BVP balls though.  Let others think they are old beginner balls as long as they continue to sell them to me at cheap prices.  Have several new fancy expensive balls that are trash compared to my Rampage at least on house shot.  Might have to get an old inferno someday as well.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: AlonzoHarris on December 14, 2018, 05:36:33 PM
I have a 15 year old Lane #1 Hybrid Dirty Bomb and also a Dirty Bomb Pearl. They use the powerkoil formula from when Brunswick was pouring their covers. They’ve held up great. Actually about to plug and redrill the solid one differently for short pattern tournaments.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: avabob on December 14, 2018, 07:20:35 PM
Power coil 18 was first used in the Danger Zone.  Very good shell the was used on many pieces after that.  Activator first appeared in the original inferno.  Both very durable shells.  Activator was considered mire aggressive, but a Brunswick rep told me the rough buff finish was what really made the difference.  Also, Inferno had a stronger lower rg core than most of the predecessors
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on December 14, 2018, 07:21:11 PM
Yeah as a postscript finally got that used BVP Nemesis and lo and behold it was a 14lber advertised as a 15lb ball.  Didn't realize until after had it re-drilled but decided to keep it anyway (didn't want to deal with return and drilled it and may use someday if get older or give to kids).  Did leave negative feedback for seller.  Yep from now on ebay if no scale picture not buying.  Its too bad because ball was in great shape with that awesome miss room my Rampage gives me without quite the hit (did throw it once, how figured it was a 14, karma got me back though when Orange Warlock came was in great shape and prior drill fit my hard perfect woot).  Since it was tough to find another powerkoil BVP ball said screw it and just got me an original used 15lber Inferno made in the USA.  Was looking for more of a solid powerkoil to go with the Rampage but Inferno is a legend for a reason so thinking it will be a good step up ball from the Rampage when I want to go old school.  Love how much miss room those balls give me though.  More than almost all my modern balls at least on house shot.  Might post a comparison between pearlized pk18 and activator at some point for heck of it.

(edit:  Orange Warlock significantly stronger overall than Nemesis.  That ball must have been hella strong 20 years ago)
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on December 16, 2018, 04:09:40 PM
Power coil 18 was first used in the Danger Zone.  Very good shell the was used on many pieces after that.  Activator first appeared in the original inferno.  Both very durable shells.  Activator was considered mire aggressive, but a Brunswick rep told me the rough buff finish was what really made the difference.  Also, Inferno had a stronger lower rg core than most of the predecessors

The original Danger Zone had at least as low RG as Inferno correct (little lower I think)?  Did the Danger Zone have a symmetric core?  Get confused by those old zone balls as it was my understanding the original zone core was fairly strong asymmetrical.  Finally does anyone know of any powerkoil 18 balls that were 2 piece (coverstock and core only, no filler)?
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BeerLeague on December 18, 2018, 07:17:17 AM
Power coil 18 was first used in the Danger Zone.  Very good shell the was used on many pieces after that.  Activator first appeared in the original inferno.  Both very durable shells.  Activator was considered mire aggressive, but a Brunswick rep told me the rough buff finish was what really made the difference.  Also, Inferno had a stronger lower rg core than most of the predecessors

The original Danger Zone had at least as low RG as Inferno correct (little lower I think)?  Did the Danger Zone have a symmetric core?  Get confused by those old zone balls as it was my understanding the original zone core was fairly strong asymmetrical.  Finally does anyone know of any powerkoil 18 balls that were 2 piece (coverstock and core only, no filler)?


The original Danger Zone was a symmetric core.  Yes, they are 2 piece - no filler. THey had the bismuth nugget in the center of the core that the remakes do not.  I think the RG was .046 - something like that.
 
I still have an old 16# that you can have if you pay to ship it.

Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on December 18, 2018, 10:21:25 AM
Power coil 18 was first used in the Danger Zone.  Very good shell the was used on many pieces after that.  Activator first appeared in the original inferno.  Both very durable shells.  Activator was considered mire aggressive, but a Brunswick rep told me the rough buff finish was what really made the difference.  Also, Inferno had a stronger lower rg core than most of the predecessors

The original Danger Zone had at least as low RG as Inferno correct (little lower I think)?  Did the Danger Zone have a symmetric core?  Get confused by those old zone balls as it was my understanding the original zone core was fairly strong asymmetrical.  Finally does anyone know of any powerkoil 18 balls that were 2 piece (coverstock and core only, no filler)?


The original Danger Zone was a symmetric core.  Yes, they are 2 piece - no filler. THey had the bismuth nugget in the center of the core that the remakes do not.  I think the RG was .046 - something like that.
 
I still have an old 16# that you can have if you pay to ship it.

Thank you for the info and the offer.  Already picked one up on ebay in 15#.  Was the remake they did ten to fifteen years ago and is made in the USA but with the USBC* line (no vintage on ball so sure not the recent remake).  Not sure if has nugget or not.  Went crazy and picked up original Inferno, the DZ and even found a 15# Nemesis.  Hate to say it but some of those balls from that 2004 to 2008 time frame (Hy-Road, PK18, Visionary, etc) in many ways are better than modern balls on medium volume house shot at least for me.  Top of the line then is great mid range now.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: bowling4burgers on December 19, 2018, 02:29:05 PM
Anyone know how the PowrSurge on the Combat Zone compares (meaning falls short since it wasn't remade   ;) ) vs. those two? Got one for free and it's close enough to throw a bit and it certainly makes a hard left when it hits the dry.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on December 20, 2018, 10:28:56 AM
Anyone know how the PowrSurge on the Combat Zone compares (meaning falls short since it wasn't remade   ;) ) vs. those two? Got one for free and it's close enough to throw a bit and it certainly makes a hard left when it hits the dry.

Just because it wasn't remade doesn't mean it wasn't good.  Brunswick made a metric crap ton of different zone balls so won't remake but a few.  Thread below has some good info.  Personally I would punch it up for sure but I like older pieces as well.

https://www.ballreviews.com/brunswick/combat-zone/
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: bowling4burgers on December 20, 2018, 03:05:46 PM
Anyone know how the PowrSurge on the Combat Zone compares (meaning falls short since it wasn't remade   ;) ) vs. those two? Got one for free and it's close enough to throw a bit and it certainly makes a hard left when it hits the dry.

Just because it wasn't remade doesn't mean it wasn't good.  Brunswick made a metric crap ton of different zone balls so won't remake but a few.  Thread below has some good info.  Personally I would punch it up for sure but I like older pieces as well.

https://www.ballreviews.com/brunswick/combat-zone/
Some day I probably will if this PSO doesn't tell me I'm wasting my money, like my former one said my dad's Forest Fire Storm wasn't worth redrilling for me.

Have a Web Tour coming I'll be occupied with figuring out first though.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: charlest on December 20, 2018, 04:34:29 PM
Anyone know how the PowrSurge on the Combat Zone compares (meaning falls short since it wasn't remade   ;) ) vs. those two? Got one for free and it's close enough to throw a bit and it certainly makes a hard left when it hits the dry.
PowrSurge coverstock was slightly less powerful than the PK-18 coverstock.
Around here (central NJ) they were very popular.

Problem with the Combat Zones were the same as every other step down from the most powerful balls, everyone wants maximum hook to prove they are macho. So any lesser hooking balls suffered in sales.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: JustRico on December 20, 2018, 09:46:56 PM
Just so everyone has it correct...PowerKoil18 is a stronger cover than Activator and both were very durable
BVP was not entry level it was more of a mid level versatile line, multiple reaction pieces 
Activator was Brunswick’s attempt at a quicker/faster cover similar to a Utah reaction but was also known for its durability....1000’s of game before cracking and easily recoverable as far as reaction through baking in a Rejuvenator type oven
Surprisingly neither are currently being used
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BeerLeague on December 21, 2018, 08:37:23 AM
Just so everyone has it correct...PowerKoil18 is a stronger cover than Activator and both were very durable
BVP was not entry level it was more of a mid level versatile line, multiple reaction pieces 
Activator was Brunswick’s attempt at a quicker/faster cover similar to a Utah reaction but was also known for its durability....1000’s of game before cracking and easily recoverable as far as reaction through baking in a Rejuvenator type oven
Surprisingly neither are currently being used

"Surprisingly neither are currently being used "

-- isn't that the truth.... they haven't had anything come close in reaction since they quit using them.  The PK18 and Activator balls were some of the best I have ever owned.  I would still be throwing them if I wasn't forced to go to 15# from an injury.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: Impending Doom on December 21, 2018, 09:20:40 AM
Way back in the day, I threw 1 Zone. The Speed Zone. Ball was the nut. Fast forward to the Ultimate Inferno, I hated both the ultimate and intense. Literally gave away every Brunswick ball I had, except for a Power Groove.

Yeah, PK was the bomb.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: avabob on December 26, 2018, 02:38:34 PM
Lots of infernos, but most of the solids were not great for me.   Original Inferno, absolute,  and later the Vapor Zone were the most successful of the Activator shells.  Pearl with low rg core was a better matchup than solid for a lot of us.

Brunswick also reintroduced the Absolute as the Anaconda later.

  I also always suspicioned that the pearl Fury was little more than a Vapor Zone.  All of the other Furys were total busts for most bowlers, so many never tried the pearl, but it was a nice piece of equipment.   Nothing like the original solid that died rapidly
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on December 26, 2018, 02:41:39 PM
Just so everyone has it correct...PowerKoil18 is a stronger cover than Activator and both were very durable
BVP was not entry level it was more of a mid level versatile line, multiple reaction pieces 
Activator was Brunswick’s attempt at a quicker/faster cover similar to a Utah reaction but was also known for its durability....1000’s of game before cracking and easily recoverable as far as reaction through baking in a Rejuvenator type oven
Surprisingly neither are currently being used

"Surprisingly neither are currently being used "

-- isn't that the truth.... they haven't had anything come close in reaction since they quit using them.  The PK18 and Activator balls were some of the best I have ever owned.  I would still be throwing them if I wasn't forced to go to 15# from an injury.

Well after getting to throw both the OG Inferno and the BVP Nemesis I ordered I can kind of answer that.  They just aren't strong enough on today's oil for much more than medium volume unless you have a ton of hand.  Have to use more surface with them than my more modern stuff.  They still read the pattern better than just about anything else (R2S only thing comparable imo) but so far still like the BVP Rampage the best.  Haven't gotten to throw 2nd generation DZ as being plugged but for whatever reason with my game the Rampage's core and cover just match up perfectly on THS.  Even then still need to keep more surface than usual to use it.  Just putting this caveat out there in case someone goes out and buys PK18 balls and then throws hate my way.  Still grateful to pick up those balls but they are going to be more towards the bottom of most people's bags imo.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: avabob on December 26, 2018, 02:52:33 PM
90 % of bowlers would be better off if the went with tamer stuff anyway on house shots. 
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: JustRico on December 26, 2018, 03:01:32 PM
Sorry to contradict you but they are not that outdated as one may think...cover stock technology has not advanced to much more than marketing and surface grit...but too many buy into due to the misconceptions the companies produce in customers
The game suffers from dummying down of the masses instead of actually educating them
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on December 26, 2018, 03:08:57 PM
90 % of bowlers would be better off if the went with tamer stuff anyway on house shots.

+1 and pk18 is darn good for THS. Plus to be fair being a speed dominant spinner I tend to need stronger coverstocks than most and all of them are still more usable and stronger on THS than say my Pyramid Path Rising. I hesitate to compare but strength wise in same ball park as my Cyclops at least.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: JustRico on December 26, 2018, 03:23:13 PM
PK18 is one of Brunswick’s strongest covers
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BeerLeague on December 27, 2018, 12:01:45 PM
PK18 is one of Brunswick’s strongest covers

I'd love to find a 15# Avalanche Solid.  That ball was awesome. 
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: SVstar34 on December 27, 2018, 12:18:17 PM
PK18 is one of Brunswick’s strongest covers

I'd love to find a 15# Avalanche Solid.  That ball was awesome. 

I'd like one too. Pair it with my Melee Cross.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: avabob on December 27, 2018, 03:52:39 PM
Brunswick was making the bedt tourney stuff for me until about 10 years ago.  Danger Zone, Impact Zone, Raging Red Fuze, Deep Violet,  Riot Zone, Inferno,  Vapor Zone.  All made me lots of money.   
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on December 29, 2018, 10:13:23 PM
Finally got the to throw the 2nd generation Danger Zone today and wow yeah that is plenty of ball even for modern THS.  That ball must have been a monster back in the day.  Crap ton of recovery for a solid.  Also to complete my retro big B bag found a single drill vapor zone on Ebay.  Been surprisingly easy to find made in the USA Brunswick stuff in great shape.  Lot less work than chasing down Visionary stuff in 15# for sure.  Love throwing both and edge to being a THS warrior is both are viable scoring options even today.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on January 22, 2019, 08:13:35 PM
I take back what I said earlier in the thread about these older covers strength.  Finally got to throw the last retro ball I picked up the OG Vapor Zone and quickly found even 2500 grit compound was too much surface for house shot I was on.  Didn't expect to see a retro ball burning up especially one as long as this piece but it was definitely reading a ton of friction at the end of the pattern.  Activator plus even pearlized is for real on modern conditions.  Driller said I was smart to get the old version as well as people were complaining the new vintage version is too strong.  Considering ended up having to polish crap out of the older one plenty strong for me so probably right.  Might compare it side by side to my Creed at some point just for kicks.

(btw asked earlier in thread if there is a high RG powerkoil.  Damage is the answer, not 2 piece I think but higher RG, very tempting as well as those Avalanche (lower diff) balls,  so many gems so little storage space)   
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BeerLeague on January 23, 2019, 07:09:11 AM
I just pulled the trigger on the Vapor Zone re-issue .. the original was so good that I had to try it.  NOw if they would just re-issue the Ultimate Inferno.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: Brandon Riley on January 24, 2019, 12:59:58 PM
Avalanche Solid brings back some great memories as does the Karma Solid.  I have always loved Brunswick's lower end equipment.  Legit covers with proper cores. 
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: avabob on January 26, 2019, 09:01:54 AM
Best thing about those old covers was their durability.  Activator seemed to last fir hundreds of games eith little up keep.  PK 18 revived well with hot eater bath.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: Jesse James on January 28, 2019, 11:59:00 PM
I love the PK18 stuff! I'm a collector of sorts!

I still have 2 Red Alert SE's; 2 original Infernos; An Absolute Inferno and an Ultimate!! I also have a Demolition Zone which was one of their more underrated medium pieces!

I just fell in love with that early roll and its durability!
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on January 29, 2019, 07:19:34 PM
Just curious if anyone has ever compared the Danger Zone remake Brunswick made in Mexico back in 2006/2007 time frame with the original Danger Zone?  Seen conflicting information both ways.  The one edge to the Mexican DZ is less likely to have the core separate even if do lose a little hit.  Also the Danger Zone remake was never made in the US correct? (all Made in US Danger Zones were made before 2001)  Just curious.  Thanks.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: avabob on January 29, 2019, 08:13:15 PM
I made a lot of money with the original DZ.  I thought the remake was junk
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: bowling4burgers on February 26, 2019, 09:19:22 PM
Redrilled the Combat Zone finally. I almost want to say it's going to be money on my house shot, but didn't have many actual quality shots because the thumb isn't right yet.

Remind me not to drill balls on league night  :P
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: comy24 on March 17, 2019, 10:31:51 AM
Hi, I know that this is an older post but wanted to let you know that I have a NIB BVP Wizard 15lb. 2oz 1-2" pin I would sell you if interested?
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on March 17, 2019, 11:09:41 AM
Hi, I know that this is an older post but wanted to let you know that I have a NIB BVP Wizard 15lb. 2oz 1-2" pin I would sell you if interested?

Someone should jump on this. Already have a Nemesis and DZ remake myself.  PK18 is the bomb.  That said trying to get big b other coverstock n’control to work for league at dry house.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on April 02, 2019, 02:41:30 PM
Saw an Absolute Inferno in nearly mint condition couldn't pass up.  Wow am I glad I did.  That ball is a monster.  Way more continuous than my Vapor Zone and for whatever reason (drilling perhaps) stronger overall as well (was standing about as far left as I ever do).  Ball would recover from nearly anywhere and read the midlane about as well as any ball I have.  Easy to see why its many peoples favorite ball of all time.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: Geigs on April 02, 2019, 04:46:07 PM
Had a Brunswick wildcard few years back. One of my favorites of all time. I could use that ball on anything. Anyone know what cover was on that? I emailed Brunswick and asked what ball today would replace the wildcard? Ryan mouw from Brunswick responded wth method solid. Said it has a strong solid cover, and core just like the wildcard did of years past. Been looking for a new old stock wildcard all over, nowhere to be found. May have to take a shot at the method.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on April 02, 2019, 06:14:43 PM
Here you go for info.  If see one if remember will give you a hollar.  Not as big on Mexican stuff but did pick up a Karma and a Slingshot from that era. (Avalanche Pearl too but yeah N'Control sure is condition specific)

BJI - WILD CARD
54 Hook • 12 Length • 14.5 Breakpoint Shape
Cover Type: Connexion Solid Reactive
Box Finish: 2000 Micron Pad
RG: 2.510 • RG Differential: 0.045
A very strong arcing solid
for medium to heavier oil

https://www.bowlingball.com/products/bowling-balls/brunswick/7586/wild-card-.html

http://123bowl.com/bowling-balls/brunswick/wild-card/
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: Geigs on April 02, 2019, 06:36:33 PM
Great info, thanks donuts.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: avabob on April 03, 2019, 09:51:34 AM
PK 18 was introduced on the original DZ in. 1996.  Great ball that spawned a whole series of pk 18 shell balls.  Activator came out about 2003 in the Inferno.  Stronger than pk 18, and the shell was equally low maintenance.   Absolute inferno had a tweaked version of activator and acted stronger yet.  Vapor Zone wad the first asymetric to use activator.   I thought it was the best activator ball ever.

I have always suspected that pearl fury was actually nothing more than a red vapor zone.  The rest of the fury series were collosal flops.  Brunswick was coming up with more cover names back then than were chemically possible in my opinion. 
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: LuckyLefty on April 03, 2019, 09:03:54 PM
Oh, We have some guys around here that still Love the Fury solid and the Twisted Furys!

As to the PKs though I sort of liked the Red Fuze and LOVED the Demolition Zone from above!  I would love to find another one!  Jesse and I seem to like many of the same great bowling balls.

But many oI f the balls this lefty liked from Brunswick had something that slowed their speed down off breakpoint.  Either a slower reacting lower number PK.  or a particle blend. 

In the slow PK17 versions I've enjoyed the Battle Zone Bullet Long and smooth, and the Sapphire Zone.  I also Have liked the Combat Zone solid and the Walter Ray MVP with think PK15!  smooth!

Of course I have nice success with 3 nice Lefty oriented particles, The Pro Zone Azure, The Deep Violet ProZone(almost tied for 1st of my Favorite all time balls), and the Jade Quantum.  LOVED that thing too!

Those were the days!

Sincerely,

Luckylefty





Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on April 04, 2019, 02:17:28 AM
Yeah hard to go wrong with Brunswick balls that say made in the USA on them.  The move to Mexico coincided with their cover stock formulas going to crap imo.  N'Control Powerboost is a real turd imo (over under for days).  To be fair been impressed with my Mexico made Slingshot as PK17 is PK17 and boy does it own dry houses.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: LuckyLefty on April 04, 2019, 02:20:37 PM
Ooops, Ncontrol Powerboost was on one of my favorite balls the Revolution Rebel ECX!

Bring back that smooth powerful solid!  Phenomenal ball@

As to the Ncontrol Powerboost.  I almost think the pearl version was/is on my Control Zone which REALLY gets down the lane both because of the cover and the High RG core for a 2 piece ball!

If I can find enough friction outside I will roll this thing a long way in the dry, then it turns up really hard smooth and stong and smashes!

Let me know, is that N. Control powerboost on that Conrol Zone from a long time ago! 

Sometimes iit is just a wonderful answer!

Sincerely,

Luckylefty
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: bowling4burgers on April 04, 2019, 02:46:16 PM
Oddly I hated my Sapphire Pearl Zone that looked great downlane and had zero carry (drilling? too strong for lanes? bad matchup period?), but love my polished Combat Zone that seems to roll identical to what I remember the Sapphire Pearl doing, only actually hit...


...when I can throw it right...something still way wrong where it can completely hang one shot and drop behind me the next  :(
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: Geigs on April 04, 2019, 03:18:40 PM
Any of you guys throwing the vintage inferno (remake) with the 2.0 activator pearl cover? Just picked one up on eBay nib for $70. With shipping.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on April 04, 2019, 03:53:49 PM
Ooops, Ncontrol Powerboost was on one of my favorite balls the Revolution Rebel ECX!

Bring back that smooth powerful solid!  Phenomenal ball@

As to the Ncontrol Powerboost.  I almost think the pearl version was/is on my Control Zone which REALLY gets down the lane both because of the cover and the High RG core for a 2 piece ball!

If I can find enough friction outside I will roll this thing a long way in the dry, then it turns up really hard smooth and stong and smashes!

Let me know, is that N. Control powerboost on that Conrol Zone from a long time ago! 

Sometimes iit is just a wonderful answer!

Sincerely,

Luckylefty

Ok will admit can't judge a coverstock by one ball but at least with the Avalanche core pearlized N'Control I am not impressed.  There was a reason they put out a pearlized PK18 black/green Avalance version instead very shortly after release of blue white.   To also be fair haven't played with surface and and used on different conditions a lot but can already tell at best its going to be condition specific at least for me.  Got ball shipped for like 50 bucks (just needed new inserts luckily) and wanted an Avalanche which are hard to find (urethane aside) so no biggie.  Still its the only older Brunswick ball haven't really liked so far.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: don coyote on April 04, 2019, 04:11:43 PM
Does anyone know what kind of cover the “Ambush” has? I have one nib and have no idea what to expect. I do know it is a particle pearl but other than that, I have nothing.
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on April 04, 2019, 04:15:40 PM
Does anyone know what kind of cover the “Ambush” has? I have one nib and have no idea what to expect. I do know it is a particle pearl but other than that, I have nothing.

Ambush fits between the Rampage and the Nemesis in the BVP line (strength and length wise).  Heard good things about it.  NIB means also no worries about particle death also.  That ball should tear it up on house shot.  Pretty versatile from what I understand.

https://www.ballreviews.com/brunswick-125/bvp-ambush/
Title: Re: Activator vs Powerkoil (old school versions)?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on April 12, 2019, 02:55:55 PM
Finally got to roll my Ultimate Inferno today but had limited time so only one game but it was a 240 with a 7 bagger which I think is best first game ever had with a ball (tend to do not so good with new pieces unlike most).  The ball reaction was great but since went cheap and didn't replug it, span slightly funky so could have done better I believe.  Also just learned the trick (big props to Joe Slowinsky's writing once again) about how to distract your logic brain (reduce working memory he says) on approach by counting (some say to count down but I count up also some hum song in head instead) to get your body to fire on muscle memory only.  Want some more samples of both but could be big missing piece for me (mental game has always been weak point for me as fairly athletic on physical side).  Also got to try out my Pathogen blue dot plastic ball for spares.  Very impressed so far.  Can visually see how much more hit you get than pancake.  Pyramid's plastic balls rule.  Super durable and price rules.