BallReviews

Equipment Boards => Brunswick => Topic started by: tennispro11_7 on November 08, 2019, 09:59:12 AM

Title: Looking for a replacement for the Braniac
Post by: tennispro11_7 on November 08, 2019, 09:59:12 AM
Hi Everyone,

I am looking for the closest replacement to the Braniac-looking for suggestions in the Brunswick family.  The Braniac is the best ball from Brunswick (and maybe from anyone) that I've ever rolled.

I am a stroker, revs/speed matched, looking for something to go above the White Hot Badger to start the night.

Thanks for the help in advance!
Title: Re: Looking for a replacement for the Braniac
Post by: SVstar34 on November 08, 2019, 10:40:34 AM
I think the Conspiracy Pearl is the closest.

PB3 threw the Braniac a lot. Last year he was throwing the Conspiracy Pearl a lot after it came out
Title: Re: Looking for a replacement for the Braniac
Post by: notclay on November 08, 2019, 02:18:22 PM

In addition to the Conspiracy Pearl, which will have a higher differential (.056) and likely be a tad stronger late, I'd suggest the Prism Hybrid.  This ball clears the heads easily, and the differential (.051) is closer to the Brainiac's (.048) so could also be a great option for you.

On the symmetrical side of things the Hero is a clear winner in my opinion.  Best of luck with you.  Please let us know how it goes for you.


Title: Re: Looking for a replacement for the Braniac
Post by: tennispro11_7 on November 08, 2019, 03:06:52 PM
Thanks for both of the replies.  Since I've only bought one ball the past 3 years, I'm contemplating buying 2 pieces.  I have been looking at both the Prism Hybrid, and Conspiracy Pearl.  I also see the Conspiracy Theory is out.  I'm trying to get a handle on how I can get best get 2 different shot shapes out of these.  I've never matched up too well with solids, and I like having Asymmetric pieces at the top of my bag.
Title: Re: Looking for a replacement for the Braniac
Post by: Brandon Riley on December 04, 2019, 04:17:36 PM
Personal opinion having thrown all of the balls is that the Prism Hybrid is quite clean through the front and stronger down the lane than one might expect out of a hybrid.  I think that it would be a good replacement for the Brainiac.
Depending on your needs I may suggest something like a solid sym as the second ball to balance out your bag.  Phantom, Squatch Solid or Jagged Edge Solid maybe?
Title: Re: Looking for a replacement for the Braniac
Post by: Kegler300800 on December 05, 2019, 11:13:23 AM
Go Motiv. Go Made in the USA.
Title: Re: Looking for a replacement for the Braniac
Post by: tennispro11_7 on December 05, 2019, 12:32:43 PM
I ended up buying a Prism Hybrid for now and also bought a Conspiracy Pearl to stow away since I got it for less than $100.  One strange thing is that the Prism Hybrid I got was SUPER shiny..so I knocked a little shine off.  Only 3 games on it, but seems pretty similar to Braniac.  Looking forward to getting a few more games on it to see if it can officially replace it.

Thanks for the insight and suggestions.
Title: Re: Looking for a replacement for the Braniac
Post by: Brandon Riley on December 05, 2019, 01:54:19 PM
My Prism Hybrid came shiny as well and although it looks beautiful, mine rolls best at around 3k.
Title: Re: Looking for a replacement for the Braniac
Post by: notclay on December 05, 2019, 04:51:11 PM

^^^^^^^

Mine too