BallReviews

Reviews => Columbia 300 => Topic started by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM

Title: Action Packed
Post by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM
Action Packed combines a very low Rg, high-flaring core with our proven M80^2 coverstock. This reactive formula will provide the friction of a particle ball while maintaining one of the strongest backend reactions on the market today. Building on the success of the Action, this core and coverstock match will go longer and stronger down the lane than the original. The perfect pair for high-scoring action.
 
 Ball Specifications  
 Core Technology: Dense core body - featuring dense energy flip blocks.

Core Technology Benefits: Core body concentrates the weight near the center core giving you faster revving action. The flip-blocks add flare potential for more overall hook.

Coverstock: M80^2

Coverstock Benefit: A high luster, aggressive M80^2 reactive coverstock generates the heart stopping traction that enables the Action Packed to create one of the strongest breakpoint-to-pocket hook motions on the market today.

Hardness: 75-78

ABC/WIBC Approved: Yes

Track Flare: 5-6

Color: Blue/Red/Copper

Sanding Process: Polished

Polish Name: 2000 Degree Polish  
Action Packed core

Hook Rating
Overall Hook: 57
Hook Oil: 25
Hook Dry: 32

 Dynamic Properties
Available Weights Radius of Gyration (Rg.) Rg. Differential
16 lb. 2.45  0.054
15 lb. 2.45  0.054
14 lb. 2.49  0.054

Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: jaybowls1991 on March 05, 2006, 08:02:05 PM
great ball goes deep and turns hard keep off of dry lanes has a nice big arc on it
Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: STNCLD25 on March 05, 2006, 11:19:25 PM
I GOT THIS BALL LAST MONDAY FROM CHIS AT BUDDIES PRO SHOP. PIN OF THE BALL IS ABOUT HALF INCH TO THE RIGHT OF THE THUMB HOLE. I THREW UP TEN WOULD GO NICE AND LONG THE A SHARP BREAK TOWARDS THE POCKET. THREW A 300 THE SECOND GAME I THREW IT. I AM MAINLY BUY TRACK BUT FOR SOME REASON WANTED TO TRY THIS ONE FROM COLUMBIA. THANKS CHRIS FOR DRILLING THIS UP QUICK.
--------------------
tra
Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: THE GR8 ONE on March 06, 2006, 10:06:56 PM
Drilled this ball up stacked with pin above fingers. Gets down the fronts really clean and has nice snap on the backend. Hits really hard and Im very impressed so far. If your looking for a ball the will go long snap and crush the pocket this one is for you
--------------------
Art Oliver Jr
Columbia 300 Staff
Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: WMcKleroy on March 07, 2006, 08:57:00 PM
Drilled up the Action Packed a few weeks ago, and so far WOW.  I like the action on account of its mid-lane read, but the backend wasn't as strong as I liked on more than a house shot.  The AP was drilled w/a 4" pin above the ring finger and CG at 45deg from PAP.  I completely love this reaction.  The core and cover - combo is perfect.  This ball works has a clean reaction up front, and a monster recovery on the backend.  I have used this ball on a variety of conditions, and with a small move l-r, I can find the pocket with unbelievable hitting power.
--------------------
Wes McKleroy
Columbia 300 Amateur Staff
________________________
http://www.mccorveysproshop.com
The Complete Bowlers Pro Shop[/i}
Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: ChrisLak on March 08, 2006, 08:19:11 PM
All i can say about this ball is that columbia hit the numbers just right with this ball. Mine is drilled 4 by a 2 inch cg shift and a small hole, the surface is right right out of the box. This ball has great length and alot of backend so it has alot of forgiveness. The action and the action packed off set each other just right, if i need just alittle more early hook then the action is it  but if i need backend and need the inside line this is the ball out of my bag. Great job columbia on another great ball that fits right in the line. I would suggest this ball for anyone that is looking for a mid first block ball or even a late league ball.
--------------------
Chris Lakatosh
Columbia 300 Staffer
Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: Spider Ball Bowler on March 08, 2006, 11:40:43 PM
Left Handed, Stroker, Primarily play 10.  Drilled stacked, x-hole.

With the OOB finish the ball went long and snapped hard on a light-medium condition.  Gave me a lot of room to play with.  However on the medium to heavy it just skated.  Someone with a lot of hand, would be better suited with this ball on oil.  

I took a scotch brite pad to it and took off the cover, and it works better for me everywhere.  It hooks early, but doesn't over hook.  Rolls well, and still hits as well if not better than it did with the factory finish.

All around a great ball.  One that has found a place in my bag for years to come.
--------------------
My Arsenal:
Columbia 300 Action Packed (dulled), Brunswick Ultimate Inferno (polished), Lane Masters Big Bang, Hammer Road Hawg, Storm Tropical Storm, Roto Grip Spare Tire


Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: Charlie Lacy on March 13, 2006, 10:47:20 AM
Drilled my PACKED 4x2 with box finish and it plays the over-
under with ease. We bowl on typical oil-dry shot on AMF HPL9000
surface. Lanes are normally medium on oil but I am able to play
inside out with plenty of recovery area or increase my speed and
play more of a tighter line in the oil deep. This ball reads the
midlane as well as any ball I have had in 27 years.
Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: Dwight Albrecht on April 13, 2006, 12:40:36 AM
Columbia Action Packed
Ball Specs
The ball being drilled was a 3 pin out with 3.00 oz top weight.
Drilling: Pin 4" from PAP and Mb 45 degree angle or 4 1/4" from my pap. Pin is above ring finger, 3" above grip midline. Weight Hole on my axis. Factory Polished Initially.

Bowler Information:
Track diameter is 10 1/2.
PAP is measured at 5 1/4 over and 3/8" up.
Average ball speed (foul line to head pin) is 17 mph.
Axis rotation is typically 90 degrees
Initial rev rate is typically 300 rpm, "Tweener"
Lane Condition and Pattern:
AMF Bowlero, HPL 9000 Panel. Oil Pattern: Medium Heavy Oil and slightly clean back ends. Fairly Flat condition from edge board to edge board.

Review:
Factory Polished: To lengthy in the Oil, skidded past the break point. Lanes where I bowl are oily. Took it to our shop. Sanded it to 1000 and then took Brunswick Rough Buff to it. Absolutely love it now. I wish ball manufactures would try what Brunswick and Ebonite have done and leave more of their equipment at a 4000 Abralon or Rough Buff Surface Initially.

At the Rough Buff surface the ball still skids nicely down the lane, REVS up real quick in the mid lane and has a strong but smooth arc on the backs. Hits very hard. 1st game on the ball after the Rough Buff front 8 for 279.  I love the reaction and roll of this ball over the Action, this ball spins up quicker and is more readable.

In closing, factory polished you need alot of friction, better ball at 4000 abralon or Brunswick Rough Buff. Great ball for all styles.

Thanks for reading my review.
Dwight

Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: justdale on May 02, 2006, 11:26:27 AM
Drilled this one with pin under ring finger and kicked out slightly, cg 1 /18 off to right of thumb. extra hole to the right of that. PAP is over 5 up 1/4
Ball still able to get down lane really easy, and very controlable. no hard snap, evan arc on back end. Out of box finish.
Wouldn't recommend this drilling for everyone, but if you have a soft hand and moderate speed, this drilling will work.
Ball really wants to go on dry lanes, and on really oily lanes it just stays on the right path. No over adjusting for this ball.
Definatley going to get another one of these balls and drill alot more aggressive.
Will let you know how that reacts:

Tahnks to Bryan Alpert for suggestions on drilling

Dale Williams
Columbia300 Amature Staff
Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: Bronzewickbowla on May 06, 2006, 12:14:09 AM
turd


great boat anchor

Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: DaEboniteKid00 on May 09, 2006, 02:46:58 AM
So as you could most likely tell by the name I rarely drill anything that does not say Ebonite on it.  Well I must have made a good choice drilling a non ebonite with this ball.
Specs: My Axis is 6 over 3/8 up
Pin Distance: 5 1/2
Pin Height: 4 3/4 above midline
Cg: 45 degrees
Slighlty large hole to decrease flare 45 degrees, 3/4 " towards fingers from VAL/midline

This ball is amazing it clears the fronts like its on ice and when it finds the breakpoint rolls like a tank.  First three games with this ball  244 with a brain fart frame (7 2), 259 with a ring ten and a 4 pin, 300, for my first 300 and my first 800(803), thanks columbia, and i guess i should start to drill some other stuff.
Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: Rock77 on May 30, 2006, 04:37:49 PM
My specs are in my profile

Ball specs are 15 lbs, 3 oz, 2" pin w/ 2 oz of tw.

I wanted this ball to go long and move strong, so after discussing with my driller, we ended up with the pin under my middle finger, cg out 1.5" from grip center. If I had to estimate, it would be a 6 x 4 drilling.

First time out with this ball was a Saturday afternoon. Lanes were in rough shape. Light heads, spotty mids and backends. I was able to move left with my feet and stand on 28, get this ball out over 17 at the arrows and hit 12 as my breakpoint. Ball revved up in the mids and turned over hard. Hit the pocket real nice. Good carry.

Next time out was my third game of league last week. Med. oil in the heads, track area was getting burnt up and my Machine was starting too early so I pulled out the AP. Stood on 25, hitting 13 out to 8. Ball went long and then snapped back to the pocket. It didn't rev up in the midlane much due to the amount of oil. Most of the movement was backend. Hit was very good, excellent carry. FWIW, I shot 268 that last game.

Last time out was last night to start league. Oddly enough, there was more oil than usual. So, this gave me a chance to square up and see how this ball would do up the lane. Started with my feet on 23, hitting 11 at the arrows out to 5. This ball was sweet from this angle. I didn't have to move all night. The ball went real long and then turned real hard. Again, the hit of this ball is nothing short of amazing. Great carry, although I did leave a pocket 7 and two pocket 9's. Yet another great night with this ball. FWIW, shot 687.

Summary - Great ball for med to med/light. Goes long with the drilling I have on it. Flips real nice on the backend. Hits the pins hard and carries almost everything. My first Columbia ball since the Flipside WOW, which was anything but WOW. This ball, on the other hand, has exceeded my expectations. Great ball from Columbia. Keep up the great work!
--------------------
www.bowlingkingdom.com
www.trackbowling.com
www.startarevolution.com

"The Revolution" has begun!!!
Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: twelvexs on July 03, 2006, 12:55:18 PM
HATS OFF TO COLUMBIA FOR THIS ONE. I DRILLED MINE UP BECAUSE I GOT IT FREE.
SOME OF THE BEST THINGS IN LIFE ARE FREE AND SO IT GOES FOR THE ACTION PACKED.
i Haven't BEEN AMPED UP ON ANY OF COLUMBIA PRODUCTS FOR YEARS NOW BUT I WILL CONSIDERING FUTURE BOWLING BALLS BECAUSE OF THIS SHORT STORY.

MY PAP IS 4 1/2 RT 5/8 UP . 17 TILT. MY REV RATE SLIGHTLY DOMINATES MY BALL SPEED. CONSIDERING THESE FACTORS I PUT THE PIN ABOVE MY RING AND KEPT THE CG SLIGHTLY BELOW MY MIDLINE ,HAVING NO POSITIVE OR NEGATIVE SIDE. i WENT OUT ON THE LANE AND THIS BALL REVVED UP REAL FAST. WENT BACK TO THE SHOP AND WEIGHED IT OUT . IT HAD A LIL TOO MUCH THUMB WEIGHT THAN I DESIRED . i WACKED A WEIGHT HOLE DIRECTLY BELOW THE THUMB HOLE  AND IT GOT BETTER . i THEN APPLIED A COAT OF MAGIC SHINE TO THE BALL AND THERE WAS THE  'WOW" . tHE POLISH AND THE WEIGHT HOLE GAVE ME THE SHAPE BREAKPOINT I WAS LOOKING FOR .  

MY FIRST 9 GAMES WERE AS FOLLOWS. ( 279,279,193) (268,247,226) (244,266, 298)THE BALL HAD  A VERY Controllable YET STRONG BREAKPOINT . THE BALL WAS VERY Continuos THROUGH THE DECK AS WELL -- HENCE - LARGE SCORES . GRANTED IT IS A EASY  HOUSE SHOT - HAVE YET TO TRY IT ON A SPORT PATTERN AS OF YET .

HIGHLY Recommended.

TWELVEXS
Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: Angelfire on September 13, 2006, 11:07:35 PM
This is probably by far the most aggresive ball that I have ever had and so far I'm liking it! Going to post a video of this ball within the next day or so.

16lbs. 2oz., 3" pin drilled above ring finger and CG kicked out about 45 degrees. PAP about 5".  Small weight hole about a inch left from my PAP.  Stroker style, 15-16mph, medium rev rate.

 First night I tried it the lanes were broken down abit from a previous tournament and this ball literally hooked big. Got through the heads very well and at the midpoint, it made a very hard arc into the pocket throwing it from the 15 board to 5. Moved over to the 20 board to get more room to throw, it still came back very strong. It was almost like it had a snapping motion on the backend.

Tried it again tonight with it, this time with more oil on the lanes and dry boards outside the 5 board. Threw it about the 18 board to 8 and got a much smoother, yet powerful backend reaction this time around.  It's got a good amount of length to it but backing away from your speed will send this ball flying past the pocket and into brooklyn shots. I didn't really leave any unusual pocket shots except for a few solid 4 and 10 pins.  This would go very well with the Action once it starts to become too strong for the lanes, then it's time to bring out the A-Packed.  

With comparisons with some of my other balls in my arsenal:
Sharper backend than the Action, Power Drive, and The One.
Longer in length than the Action.
Same hitting power as the Action and Power Drive.
Same length as The One and Power Drive
Overall: Truly an aggresive ball and it was worth the wait to have.
--------------------
Get You Some!
http://www.allbowling.com/journal/public.php?uid=2248&leagueid=1056
Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: silbasa on September 27, 2006, 10:59:10 PM
Ive had this ball for about 2 weeks now and I love it for certain conditions. I throw the ball around 20 mph and this ball works great for me in Medium Oil with Carrydown only. If the backend is freshly stripped this ball will flip way too much the lane unless you throw it full speed every time. It is usable in all conditions but if you throw the ball fast with a lot of hand.....this is your ball for MEDIUM OIL. The backend is rediculous and if you enjoy watching a ball go sideways once it hits the backend this is your ball. If I were a player that likes to have tons of equipment this ball is a great purchase. If you are a bowler that wants a Strike ball and a Spare Ball only look elsewhere cause this ball will frustrate you.
It hits like a truck but if you miss the pocket watch out because it will leave some ugly messes.

So far I have bowled a handful of games in the 250 - 270 area and hopefully it gets better from there.

Thanks for reading!
Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: Brandon Riley on December 13, 2006, 11:48:44 PM
I've had this ball for just over a month.
Heres a picture:  http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y125/A_Good86/ActionPacked.jpg?t=116605145

I have really enjoyed this ball.  I was fortunate enough to get ahold of an action packed with a 4-5" pin.  Drilled it straight up to hold line even on dry conditions.
I took the surface of the ball up to 4000 abralon and added heavy polish to it.  This has made this ball push another couple feet longer and has prevented overlap between it and some of my other equipment.  

This ball has allowed me to even get through the front of the lane on old wood surfaces and stay further right as the condition breaks down.  The ball hits extremely hard, and recovers well on the backend.  

I strongly suggest this ball for drier patterns and shots that have been broken down.  It can keep you farther right longer, and still have a predictable reaction with a strong backend, even through some carrydown.
Don't bother using it on anything with oil or fresh backends as the ball will come in too sharp and late.

Just find a drier pattern with a little oil left and this ball will keep you in the pocket all day long without having to throw excessive speed.  Its a great ball, especially those who throw slower and love to stay up the back of the ball.
--------------------
Brandon Riley
Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: HasBeenOrNeverWas on January 24, 2007, 12:25:09 PM
For context, see my profile.

Picked up the Action Packed (edit note:  I mistakenly earlier referenced the "Max" - it is actually the Action Packed) and had it drilled this week.  Pin above and to the right about 1/2" from the ring finger, CG about 1.5" out from mid span with a hole right on the axis for weight.  Ball was 3oz top, 3.5" pin out, 16#.

Excellent through the heads, revs up nicely in the mid-lane, but does not yet move, then strongly moves and does not quit through the pindeck (I'm not going to say pocket because that part is up to the bowler).

Drilled at a synthetic house with a pretty easy shot, so it was hard to get a real good read on it.  Had a lot of room right, about 15 to 6 swing.  Brought it to league last night and put up the house high for the season with 234-270-278 (782).  Severe out of bounds to the right, where the shot had been the previous few weeks.  (You can't count on playing the same shot week to week there, which is nice).  Ended up playing 14 at the splices to about 9 at the break at the beginning of the night.  17 to 11 or so by the end.  If you were outside about 8 or so at the break point, you'd likely miss the head pin (as I actually did twice in the first game).

So far obviously, I have not found anything not to like about this ball.  Since it's not the very latest Columbia release, you may be able to find a deal on this one.
--------------------
-Russ
Back in it after 10 years away...

Note:  My belief is that these ball reviews will not mean much unless you have context regarding who's doing the review.  For that, please check my profile.

Arsenal:
Brunswick Danger Zone (original - one of only two balls I kept when I left the sport in '96).
Brunswick Radical Inferno
Columbia Action Packed
Storm Thunderstruck
Brunswick Total Inferno
Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: Jeff the King on February 05, 2007, 10:50:42 PM
Great ball first day I got it I bowled a 266
--------------------
Jeff
Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: FastTracker33 on February 06, 2007, 09:18:09 AM
Layout: 5" Pin to PAP .. Pin ended up above fingers, and CG kicked.
Lanes: 10 x 10 Oil pattern. Heavy in the middle. Dried on the outsides.

Bowler Stats in profile..

Review:

Fresh Oil - This ball is money on this shot at my center. I played straight up the second arrow, with some speed, and this ball went nice and late, and had a hard controllable backend reaction on it. This is my favorite pattern to use it on.

Carrydown - This ball does NOT like carrydown one bit. It had a hard time moving through it, and the only line i was able to play was straight down 5 with a little less speed to get it to move.

Spotted Oil (used up lanes) - This ball was still shining well on this pattern. It had a controllable read, and a little harder move off the dry then it did on the Fresh Oil shot. I liked using my Action Packed on this type of pattern.


Overall I would give the Action Packed a 9/10.

It's just a great ball, and has tons of hitting power. I hope my review helped some. If theres something i missed, then tell me, and i'll add it. Thanks for reading

EDIT: I forgot to tell you how nice of a review you had Jeff!
--------------------
-BrIan
Track Legion

Phoenix,  EQuation , DEsert HeAt
http://trackbowling.com/  
"Track...you Just can't Beat That!"
Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: J CRANE on September 23, 2007, 12:15:51 PM
I bought this ball used for $45 off this site
great ball I bowled a 300,232,274 for a 806 series in my saturday morning youth league.this is a great ball it hits really hard and its very controllable on medium dry to medium oily lanes.I have all 4 of the actions and this one is my favorite
--------------------
ITS LONELY AT THE TOP
        TOP DOG
Title: Re: Action Packed
Post by: 06vrodridder on January 28, 2011, 07:48:15 PM
The action packed has been a great ball for me since I bought it the month it came out. Last year I bought a Storm Virtual Energy, loved it for about a month and then went right back to my Action Packed! Unfortunately I think it may be time to retire it. So I'm sticking with the brand I love and getting a Ransom and a World Bearer.