BallReviews

Reviews => Ebonite => Topic started by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM

Title: Xxxcel
Post by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM
Xcel is the new high performance series from Ebonite. Available in pearl and particle models, this new series is sure to make a believer out of you. Wrapped around a Scalien core, the Bomber Reactive coverstock takes the Xcel Pearl through medium to heavy oil conditions with a clean front and a sharp direction change at the breakpoint. The Bomber Particle coverstock wraps the Xcel Particle and follows a strong mid-lane roll with an explosive backend reaction that delivers a knockdown performance in heavy oil patterns.

Length Rating: 9.0 (scale of 1-30, early to late)  
Overall Hook Rating: 30.0  (scale of 1-30, least to most)  

Color: Black/Purple/Magenta  
Style: 029744-622  
Reactions: Earlier and stronger than the Xxcel  
Target Line: Outside, inside angles and track area  
Lane Conditions: Heavy Oil  
Coverstock: Phazed Bomber™ reactive sanded with 1000-grit Abralon™  
Core: Modified Scalien core
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: the pizz on June 08, 2005, 01:20:44 AM
i have used this ball on a few conditions now and here is my take. one on 38ft and 44ft.

the balls is very smooth up front, you can see it start to flare in the midlane without grabbing. once the ball hits the breakpoint the ball is relentless in its direction toward the pocket. it was very easy to control. just feed it to the breakpoint and watch it move. crush the pocket. no deflect. plenty of stored energy.

mine is drilled with the pin just under and to the right of the ring finger with the cg down and to the right from that. the bomb is about 2.5 to 3 inches right of the thumbhole. there is a weighthole 7 inches over on the midline.

i recommend this ball to any bowler who needs that ball that just plain hooks. it has no problem moving thru carrydown. this ball probably outhooks the Xcel particle by about 5-7 boards with the same surface prep.
--------------------
Paul Smith
04/05 PBA West Region Rookie of the Year
Ebonite Regional Staff
"Bowl to Win"
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: maysbnb on June 21, 2005, 05:15:17 PM
This ball definately creates more friction that previous Xcel's! I have only practiced with it twice and both times there was not enough oil to keep it from burning up.  This ball should work well for me on higher volume or longer patterns.
--------------------
Ryan May
May's Bowling and Billiards
610.678.9931
http://www.maysbowlingandbilliards.com
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: cbasbigfro on July 10, 2005, 04:29:32 AM
Hi i am getting my xxxcel drilled tomorrow. i will be getting it drilled 2 arc and will post more info when it is complete, i will also be getting one drilled for maximum hook so bring on the oil. let u guys know how it goes soon


Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: Amun Re on July 22, 2005, 04:52:35 PM
I have had my XXXCel drilled for almost two weeks now.  All I can say is I have never been more pleased with money spent on anything.  I purchased this ball for Tournament and any other heavy oil conditions.  My house shot is on wood lanes with no to very little oil outside the third arrows, and very little in the middle.  My ball of choice is the 16# Ebonite Adrenaline drilled with pin out 3.5" pin placed just under the ring finger weight hole on the PAP.  Works great, is a beast on the conditions at my house.  Best game with it 286 damn light hit on the 11th ball.  Best series 724 week before.

House shot specifics:  My house shot is standing with outside edge of right foot on the 28 board, aim for the 13 board at arrow depth, ball slides to the 6-7 board around 30ft and then will smooth break back into pocket.  On dry nights have to adjust to the 30 to 32 board and aim for the 15-17 board or heave the hell out of it.  I keep a 45 degree wrist angle with a Robby's Rev 3 wrist support and throw about 17 to 17.5 MPH.  I have no idea about the revs but I would say it is probably about avg, there are people on my team who both throw more and less revs so I think it is average.  My track diameter is about 11.5 to 12 inch.  I carry a 191 Avg. at my house.

The problem:  Tournament or Heavy oil play:  The fact that my house shot has trained me to believe that I have a lot of recovery in my ball, which is false if I get on heavy oil.  The same start position and mark yields a light 6 hit.  This led to tournament adjustment that were kind of ridiculous.  I would have to move foot position to the 2 board and hit the 8 to get it to break into the pocket.  I have no problem adjusting but that was too drastic for me to feel comfortable with my shot.  The release is completely different going from throwing out to throwing across and produced spotty results.  

Solution:  Ebonite XXXCel!!!
This 15# ball is drilled the #2 pattern on Ebonite's Website with a balance hole 5" to the right of the mid span.  It gives me around 10 boards more break than my Adrenaline.  This would have been enough for me but it actually reads great through flooded middles.  As soon as it grips the reaction is brutal.  The reaction is so much different than the Adrenaline, where as it is a smooth slide, roll, bite curve; the XXXCel is a slide, then turn on the rockets because it found the break point.  Pin action is great, and it retains lots of power.  This drilling also took almost a full MPH off my throw as it burns up some of the energy in the oil.  Final result is on the same conditions that produced the light 6 with my Adrenaline I now have a great pocket shot with only adjusting my start mark to the 20 board and my mark to the 12-13.

I know this was windy but I figured I would give as much info to you guys as I could.  Any questions I will try and answer them.
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: Bahosha on July 27, 2005, 08:03:17 PM
I can say great ball, you have to get it and try it yourself!
Bahosha (bowler from Tashkent, UZB)

Thank you to Chris and Bill
from www.buddiesproshop.com
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: GateCityProShop on August 01, 2005, 09:52:27 PM
Layout:
Pin: 4 1/2 above fingers
MB: 55 degreess
no weight hole

If you need something to play heavier conditions this is ball for you.  Out of the box the XXXCel requires quite a bit of head oil.  I changed the surface to 1000 with Extender polish because of my higher rev rate, I now use it on alot more conditions. I use a Classic Nitro as a benchmark, this a good move off of that ball if I am getting too much angle off the Nitro.  The XXXCel is really smooth off of the breakpoint for me which makes it one of my favorites.


--------------------
Jimmy Martin
Gate City Pro Shop
Greesnboro NC
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: ChrisH on August 02, 2005, 08:34:07 PM
Layout :
Pin 4-1/2 inches above fingers
Mb is in the STRONG position

Lane conditions:
AMF synthetics with typical medium oil/house shot

This ball works very well for me on med/hvy to heavy oil. It is clean in the heads and reads the midlane very well. The backend reaction is strong for a dull ball. Highly recommended for anyone wanting a TRUE heavy oil ball. This is the strongest ball to date for Ebonite. A good compliment to the Xcel series!
--------------------
Chris Hayes
McCorvey's Pro Shop
www.mccorveysproshop.com
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: bigmac9931 on September 03, 2005, 10:57:53 PM
I just drilled one of these the other night and all I can say is WOW!  I'm a stroker and I was lining up at 35, swinging it to 10 and it would snap right to the pocket everytime. It gets down the lane nicely and breaks hard on the backend with the same predictability. Great ball for heavy oil
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: Strapper_Squared on September 15, 2005, 03:16:46 PM
Stats are in profile.  I picked up a 15lb xxxcel with a 3.5" pin and medium top weight.  Layed the ball out with pin above and right of ring and bomb in the track area, left of the thumb.  This is roughly a 4" pin to PAP layout for me.
http://eiserver.ei.psu.edu/~skb116/xxxcel.jpg

I threw this ball on two different shots.  First shot was a 40ft medium-heavy house shot on amf synthetics.  Our league bowls second shift after the women's league (mostly straight plastic balls), so a fair amount of carry-down is present.  The second shot is a 38ft heavy oil house shot on older wood lanes.  Lots of "free" friction to the outside here.

I initially tested the ball with the box finish.  On shot #1 (synthetics), the ball was entirely too much.  It had trouble making it through the partially burn heads and as a result, the hit and carry suffered.  I tried playing outside (around 5 board) where the ball started up too early, and inside (18 at arrows targeting 10 at break point) where the ball still overreacted and jumped early.  For this shot, just seemed to have too much surface.

On shot #2 (wood), the ball initially performed much better.  Was able to play across the soup in the middle of the lane and get a strong arcing reaction off the dry outside.  The ball seemed to have a very strong and heavy roll with a smooth backend reaction.  Ball performed well until the head began to go, at which time, it started to jump early.  Definitely a strong ball

I took the ball back to the shop and polished it with Ebonite factory finish to a high gloss AND gave the ball two coats of Doc's Magic Elixir.  From my previous experience, Elixir acts like one step finer sandpaper (i.e. Elixir would make an 800 grit finish ball react like a 1000 grit finish ball).  Elixir also seems to give the ball a little more backend reaction on the appropriate conditions.  

On the first shot, the polished xxxcel acted like a different ball.  I was able to get lined up and play up the boards (targeting around the 7-8 board) for a good portion of the night.  The ball still retained the same characteristics (strong heavy roll and smooth backend), but with less overall hook.  I was able to play the same area of the lane for the first two games of league, after which I bumped a couple boards inside and continued striking for the remainer of the night.  

On the second shot, I was forced to play a straighter line to the pocket due to the heavy volume of oil in the center.  At this house, I started in the track area and found the ball to react very similar to the previous shot, a strong heavy roll and good carry.  With a few minor adjustments, the ball was very playable all night long.  Carry seemed to be in line with most other equipment I have tried.  This ball was very predictable and in general a nice ball for typical league conditions.  With the strong and heavy roll, I could see this ball being popular on some of the flatter oil patterns where predictability and mid-lane reaction is a must.

In general, the box condition is probably too strong for most unless they are either bowling on a flood OR rev-challenged.  The polished surface made the ball much more versatile in covering medium to medium-heavy league shots.  THis ball has the potential of being one of the more popular Ebonite releases in the past few years.  If you are looking for a strong, but controllable ball, give this one a shot.
--------------------
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
-Strapper Squared

Alias Generator (http://"http://gorillamask.net/ronmexico/")
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: Ball DR on October 08, 2005, 01:08:23 PM
This ball is one of the strongest in the Ebonite line.  Reacts very similar to a particle ball in the front of the lane with good oil coverage.  It is very strong at the break point as long as there is enough oil to get it there.  I would not reccomend this ball for a bad lane surface because of the strength of the coverstock (too early).  However, for someone bowling on a good surface with good head oil this ball will read the lane very nicely in the midlane and backend.  As the track breaks down the XXXCel gets even better if you can move in and take advantage of the oil in the middle and the drier track. No loss of energy and it will make it back to the pocket.  As an added bonus the XXXCel continues to hit with authority as you move deeper on the lane.  Unlike some particle balls that will bleed off too much energy as the track breaks down.  This ball is a resin with no particles so it will definitely give you that look.
--------------------
www.strikingdifference.com
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: Jzero on October 10, 2005, 01:47:26 AM
This is my first review so I hope this helps.

I got my XXXcel drilled for maximum hook and man, I was not disappointed. Where I bowl they use a pretty oily wet dry so when the oil comes out from the middle this ball is perfect.  Also, on the days there are no leagues the put heavy oil out through the whole lane. Normally, I throw this ball up the middle arrow to about the seventh arrow. Once it reaches the break point this ball just turns. There are time I've thrown it from the 1st board to make sure the ball doesn't over hook. When this ball hits the pins it doesn't move off line at all.  The ball just goes through like there was nothing there. This is also a problem to though, because if you miss the pocket you can some very odd splits. One thing to be careful about this ball is that it is sometime speed sensitive. If you throw it too hard this ball sometimes doesn't hook if the lanes are to dry.  I actually think that the heavier the oil, the more this ball hooks.

Overall- This is a great ball for heavy oil ball. 10 out of 10
--------------------
XXXcel
Atomic Chrage

Coming Soon
PBA Fire Green
Classinc Zone Red Pin

if All else fails, just throw it.
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: Mike Dias on October 15, 2005, 01:50:00 AM
This is one of the best heavy oil balls on the market.  The ball gets through the heads clean, but reads the mid-lane extremely well, and the back end is strong arc, even on heavy oil.  The thing that is unique about the XXXCel is that it reads the mid-lane so well.  On oily sport patterns, this takes a lot of the hang out of the mid-lane reaction.  On easier shots, this will open up the lane.

On a tough shot, I've already shot 289-763 with this ball, and it is becoming a ball of choice due to the oil volume and toughness of the shot.  I drilled one for  another player in the same league and he shot 284 out of the box with it.  He also got a very strong mid-lane read and great hit with this ball.
--------------------

Mike Dias
Coach's Corner Pro Shops
www.denverbowling.com
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: Dwight Albrecht on October 15, 2005, 12:55:36 PM
Ebonite XXXcel:

Ball Specs
The ball being drilled was a 3” pin out with 3.00 oz top weight.
Drilling: Pin 4 1/2" from PAP and Mb 5 1/4" from PAP (approximately 60 degrees) pin is Above Ring finger, 3" above grip midline. No weight Hole

Bowler Information:
Track diameter is 10 1/2.
PAP is measured at 5 1/4 over and 3/8" up.
Average ball speed (foul line to head pin) is 17 mph.
Axis rotation is typically 90 degrees
Initial rev rate is typically 300 rpm, "Tweener"
Lane Condition and Pattern:
AMF Bowlero, HPL 9000 Panel. Oil Pattern: Heavy Oil and only slightly clean back ends. Fairly Flat condition from edge board to edge board.

REVIEW:
I knew this was the ball for this condition when everything else I threw backed up from all the oil. I like the ball, it hooks. The only thing I don't like about the ball, is that the ball changes direction so strong when it reads friction due to the strong weight block on the ball that it gives me a inconsistent break point. If it hits carry down, it comes in light. If it hits the dry to early, it changes direction to soon and goes through the nose. I think it is a prime example of too much motor for the tires, but don't get me wrong, it is a great choice for oily lanes and I am glad I had it that night.

Compared to other Balls:

Hammer Hawg: The XXXcel is earlier and stronger off the breakpoint. The Hawg is cleaner through the fronts and smoother on the backends. XXXcel is about 2 boards stronger.

Overall: Great ball for oily lanes, or bowlers that don't put alot of hand in the ball.

Thanks for reading my review.
Dwight
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: Wadney on October 22, 2005, 09:06:36 PM
I have thrown all four  xcel balls and this is my best by far pick. The ball rolls early through the heads, picks up at the midlane and continues with awesome hitting power through the backend. I shot games of 269,248,256,289,265

I like how the xxxcel has stronger ball reaction on the backend. I have thrown the Xcel Particle, Xcel Reactive, Double XXcel, and the triple XXXcel balls. I like the earlier roll and stronger backend on the xxxcel bowling ball. The ball seems to roll very consistent. I did not get over and under with the ball on different types of bowling conditions. When I lined up to the pocket, I didn't have to worry about carry. I liked being able to play different shots with the ball on the lanes and still get the carry from the backend. If a person is looking for a ball that you can play outside, inside angles, and the track area, then this is one of the balls you would like to be having in your arsenal. This ball comes reactive sanded with 1000 grit abralon. Great job Ebonite on an excellant ball.
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: Wadney on October 22, 2005, 09:06:39 PM
I have thrown all four  xcel balls and this is my best by far pick. The ball rolls early through the heads, picks up at the midlane and continues with awesome hitting power through the backend. I shot games of 269,248,256,289,265

I like how the xxxcel has stronger ball reaction on the backend. I have thrown the Xcel Particle, Xcel Reactive, Double XXcel, and the triple XXXcel balls. I like the earlier roll and stronger backend on the xxxcel bowling ball. The ball seems to roll very consistent. I did not get over and under with the ball on different types of bowling conditions. When I lined up to the pocket, I didn't have to worry about carry. I liked being able to play different shots with the ball on the lanes and still get the carry from the backend. If a person is looking for a ball that you can play outside, inside angles, and the track area, then this is one of the balls you would like to be having in your arsenal. This ball comes reactive sanded with 1000 grit abralon. Great job Ebonite on an excellant ball.
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: Gene J Kanak on November 18, 2005, 05:07:21 PM
15lbs
3-4" pin, can't remember top
Box finish, then polished 5 minutes in a good Lustre Kleen
Tested on THS

Pros
Good from many angles
Very predictable movement
Strong carry
Seems to suit any style

Cons
None yet

Overall assessment:
I bought this ball as part of combo deal with The One that buddies was running. I wanted it to take the place of my Real Deal, since the RG and Diff. were nearly identical. Well, I couldn't be happier. I tried this ball first in box finish, but I found it to be a bit too early for my liking. It still had some recovery and hit well, but I could tell that it wanted more oil than I was giving it. I decided to toss it in the Lustre Kleen for 5 minutes, and boy I'm glad that I did. Now the ball is almost a mirror image of my old Real Deal, which was also slightly polished. The ball doesn't want to grab in the first 10 feet anymore. Now it picks up its roll in the early midlane before delivering a very smooth arc on the backend. The best thing is that I can play it straight or circle it and get deep with equal effectiveness. The power and predictability that this ball displayed, even when I altered hand positions and angles of attack, was really striking. I literally feel like I can get this ball to the pocket from anywhere on the lane. Once it gets there, the hit is top notch as well. The pins don't shoot around the deck, but they just seem to implode. It's almost like the ball rolls heavy through the deck. It's really neat. All in all, this is exactly the reaction I was hoping for when I bought this ball for medium-heavy oil.
--------------------
I can't bowl 300, but I can bench 345 : )
 I provide the muscle for the Fellowship of the Saws  
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: soycauno on March 13, 2006, 02:47:14 PM
NO MORE WAITING FOR THE BACKENDS TO DRY IN ORDER TO GET BALL REACTION!
I bought this ball because I realized for the first time, I needed a heavy oil ball.  I bowl in 4 leagues in 3 different houses and avg 205 in all of them.  Lately, I have been unable to get the ball to move to the pocket.  last week I was throwing line-drives at the headpin; I never could get the ball to roll, no matter what I tried.
Out of the box the XXXcel entered the midlane and charged the pocket.  I've rolled 3 series with it shooting 590 (missing five 7 pin spares), 711 (missing four 7 pin and one 10 pin spare) and 671 (missing five 7 pin spares).  Once I get my spare game back, I should shoot 800 before season end.  This ball gives me that kind of confidence.
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: shadowbowler on April 12, 2006, 05:36:40 AM
hi i have a gorilla wife.
you may not know who i am, but when you see a guy go to a bowling alley with a hairy ball and a gorilla for a wife, and bowls violently, you'll know its me. HAHAHAHAA i'm in a frenzy.
i tried the xxxcel recently, and i think it's too light for me and my hairy wife.
i bought it for 20 bananas my wife didn't want, and used it to bowl 1000000000000000000000 perfect games at the zoo's bowling alley.
i made my driller drill 10 holes in my ball. i stuffed it with banana paste.
hey, i can bowl with 10 fingers. don't i have 10 fingers?!
haha. have a good time.
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: Angelfire on April 18, 2006, 04:38:55 PM
I've had my Xxxcel since February (only paid $80 for it) and it's a pretty good ball as long as it's getting enough oil. Drilled with the pin below the ring finger and MB 2 1/2-3" from the thumb at about 45 degrees. I'm not much of a cranker, so I usually throw the ball from the 7-10 board (right side), just a straight shot with a strong backend reaction and it does roll in the pocket pretty well.
     At times, I have to back up on my approach and speed on the extremely heavy oil lanes, otherwise it doesn't snap into the pocket as hard. But when it does hit the pocket?  BOOM!!! Pins are flying everywhere.  On lanes with carrydown, that's where the ball is at its best. It does roll early, so if you have problems keeping your shoulder squared or overhooking the ball, that might be a problem.
    But the Xxxcel is predictable and as long as you keep it sanded every once in awhile, it won't let you down. I sometimes clean the ball every 6-9 games with Ebonite Powerhouse Energizer cleaner and it keeps the ball nice and tacky and you don't have to worry about the ball shining.
    I also bought the Columbia EPX-T1 for $40 and The One for $125, I'm gonna post a review of The One this weekend and the EPX-T1 in two weeks. So far, I'm loving the The One so far, hoping they will come out with some new balls later on this year.
    Also, check out the Big One, I've never used the ball from what I've heard in the forum, it's a very good ball. But for now, I'm settling with my Xxxcel. It's reliable and it's one of the most hard-hitting balls I've ever had.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=960yt0bb9S8 (video)

     
Average For 2006 Season: 208
Ball Style: Stroker
Ball Speed: 15-16 mph
Highest Game: 289 (sanctioned), 300(unsanctioned)
Highest Series: 763

My Weapons of Mass Destruction:
Columbia 300- EPX-T1
Ebonite- Xxxcel
Ebonite- The One
Track- Xception
Revolution- Vengeance

You can give yourself 100% every night when you walk up to those lanes and throw that ball. But there is a part of you that can put yourself beyond that limitation, to an entirely new level. The question is this, can you handle going beyond your own potentials?
Title: Re: Xxxcel
Post by: jaguar2007 on February 01, 2007, 03:38:46 PM
bought this ball at the end of last season, it was slow to come around, but recently had 290 game after putting it up for a while. it is a tremendous ball under the right medium oil shot. i played more inside-out and with a lot slower speed than i usually throw... it carried most all hits, i went 16 in a row....between end of first game and beginning of second, i would highly recommend this ball!!!