BallReviews

Reviews => Lane Masters => Topic started by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM

Title: Yeah Baby
Post by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM
Comments:

This ball is great for heavy oil when the cover is in a dull state

Coverstock Type Diamond Particle
Hook Potential 8.5 (Scale 10)
Box Finish Matte
Particle Load Light
RG 2.62
DRG 0.05
Ave. Flare Potential 6.25
Hardness 72--74
Color Orange/ Gold Swirl
 
.


Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: BuddiesProShopcom - Bill on August 31, 2004, 02:14:02 AM
Lane Masters was kind enough to send us a couple of these balls to test. I drilled one up, along with other person shop staff.

I threw my Yeah Baby on the same 40 foot heavy oil shot as the New Standard. The Yeah Baby went about 5 feet long and made a sharper turn to the pocket. On the heavy oil shot I move over and went more direct to the pocket and this ball was destroying the rack.

On our walled up house shot. I was able to swing 3rd arrow to the 5 board, and the ball would get to about 40-42 feet and then make a hard move to the pocket.

One of the other shop guys shined his up with the LaneMaster polished, and the ball went a couple of feet longer and made a hard snap in the backend.

I think this ball will be a great ball on most medium house shots and will be something that you can just the lanes with.

Any questions, please email me at Bill@BuddiesProShop.com
--------------------
Thanks
Bill
BuddiesProShop.com
"The Place All Bowlers Shop"
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: rexb300 on September 02, 2004, 10:36:13 PM
Hi
bowled on THS wood lanes.
I just a stoker about 14 mph.
drilled it max or stacked pin, CG
It went longer then I would think
a matte finish would but it carried
hits light , but don't all new ball
shot 258 and started with a open 1st frame.
I had to change balls elbow started hurting
again and my son got one to started front 6
he liked his
try one you would be dissapointed and shined
up might be deadly.
Rex
will be back after elbow heals up.
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: Strapper_Squared on September 09, 2004, 08:32:33 PM
Update:

Shined the ball with the supplied Legends polish.  The following week on the same league shot, the polish allowed the ball to save up a little more enery for the backends.  This was by no means a skid/snap type of reacion, but still a very smooth and controlled reaction.  I was very surprised for a particle pearl to get this type of reaction.  Again, hit and carry were average to above average with inside lines working the best.  Was able to keep the ball in play all night, but had to keep moving to catch the oil.  Overall a nice ball to control the breakpoint, but not the big skid/snap type of reaction as advertised.

S^2    




=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

Called the Lane Masters 1-800 customer service number and ordered a 15 lb Yeah Baby! with 3" pin and 2-3 oz top weight.  The ball arrived 5 days later (shipping from west coast to east coast), just as promised with the exact specs requested.  Opening the package, I was pleasantly surprised to see not only was the ball packed in a thick Styrofoam base and lid, but also the ball was resting in a "ball cup" to prevent it from shifting during shipment.  Next I notice that included with the ball are samples of cleaner, polish, and sand paper to make any necessary surface adjustments.  Legends really went a step above and beyond all of the other ball manufactures!

I drilled my Yeah Baby! stacked leverage with the pin 3.5" from the PAP and the cg directly below on the grip line.  I placed a small hole just below my PAP to bring the side weight back to ~ 1/2 oz.  The ball had a small amount of finger weight ~ 1/4 oz.  I left the ball in box condition.

Shot #1 was heavy oil on synthetic lanes with some carry down.  Only threw a few shots here after drilling the ball to see how it rolled.  The ball pretty much skid the entire length of the lane.  Never got into a roll and as a result, didn't hit or carry well.  This could be related to the fact that I was throwing in street shoes too .  Nonetheless, it appears as lots of oil and carry down is not a good combination for this ball.  

Shot #2 was a league shot: medium to heavy oil with a hang area outside of 5...  older wood lanes and medium to poor backends.  Starting out, it appeared as though the ball wasn't going to be quite strong enough to carry much.  Sort of reminded me of the Shot #1 condition above where it just wanted to skid and not finish.  But after a few adjustments, I was able to square-up and play up 7-8 board and get to the pocket.  I didn't see any of the great carry or flying messengers, but on well-thrown shots I was able to knock all ten down.  As the track area started to dry up, I was able to move in a little deeper and start to swing the ball a little.  The Yeah Baby! gave sufficient recovery to get back to the pocket, but was far from a skid/snap type of reaction, more of a continuous arcing reaction.  The hit and carry here still wasn't great.  Once the last game rolled around, most everyone had bumped in and again it was starting to dry up.  I made a big move: starting roughly 38 on the approach, hitting 19-20 at the arrows and swinging the ball out to 7-8 at the break point.  At this point the ball really started to react well.  It cleared the heads easily and had great recovery.  The hit and carry improved significantly.  

Overall, the ball appears to be weaker than advertised.  Only after the lanes broke down was I able to get left and swing the ball.  Typically I am able to do this much sooner with particle pearl balls.  From my first impression, this ball seems to need at least medium to medium dry backends to really perform at its best.  Under those conditions, you can feel free to swing it out and watch it come back.  Otherwise, carry down seems to give this ball fits, although playing a more direct line to the pocket will produce some good results.  The box finish is a matte which typically doesn't match up well for me.  I am going to apply some of the supplied polish to give the ball a little shine.  Hopefully this is create more of a skid/snap type of reaction over the arcing reaction seen with the box finish.  
Legends Customer Service and Packaging: 10 /10
Initial Ball Rating with Matte Finish: 5 / 10

I will post again after changing the surface of the ball and throwing some additional games with it.  If you have any questions, feel free to message me.
--------------------
Profile is updated for summer!  Check it out
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: rexb300 on September 10, 2004, 08:25:08 PM
back with 2nd review.
just like the add says LONG and STRONG
it rolls heavy how I can explain.
and carrys hits not not normal, games 217 & 259
the 259 solid 7 & 10 pin ,10 strikes.
and 217 missed a 7 pin don't even know how
it didn't fall and a solid 8 pin but that bowling
it rolls up to pocket and fines the pocket
sometimes when not even thrown right.
that was out of box, I would like to try one shined up.
Rex
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: Willow_300 on November 26, 2004, 04:15:21 PM
I received this ball about 2 weeks ago. I drilled the pin at 5 and 1/2 form my pap with the cg within my hand (no hole needed). I polished it with the one in the box. I used it on two lane conditions. One with a lot of oil in the center and 3 boards dry and the other was not a sport shot but a more difficult one. One the first condition, I was able to move way left and swing it to the gutter... When I was a little inside, the ball was still hooking and when I missed to the right, the ball was tkaing more energy and she sat in the pocket! On the other lane condition, I was able to miss everywhere I wanted and the ball was crashing the pins! A lot of messenger and everyone looked at me to see what kind of ball I was using! Good job Legends.
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: thegame on January 09, 2005, 07:27:47 PM
Got this ball after a friend of mine got one, and was very impressed with how well his rolled and carried.  Mine is 15 lbs., drilled with the pin directly above the finger bridge and the CG directly below the pin, almost in the center of the grip.  After a couple games to see how this ball wanted to play the lanes, I am now very impressed with it.  Last night was my first night using it in league, and after a quick scuff with a gray scotch brite pad to start the night, I was very consistent, throwing games of 215, 225, and 223.  The funny thing was in the third game, everyone else was going through balls, and complaining about how much the lanes had dried out, and I was able to stay with the Yeah Baby!, just moving in to find a little more oil, and was able to stay with it all night.  Some of the things I really like about this ball is how few splits I throw with it, not only does it keep me in the pocket, but it seems as though when I do go through the nose, it breaks up splits very well.  In the first 10 games using this ball in 3 different houses, my carry percentage with pocket hits is 80%.  Needless to say I am so far very impressed with my first Legends/Lane Masters ball, and am a little disappointed I won't be able to use it in the PBA Regional I have coming up.  Definitely would consider giving this company another purchase consideration.
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: rocker on March 21, 2005, 12:07:48 PM
Fred this ball is awsome! Thanks got it last wednesday and second game 279 695 series.. second night 279 first game 745 series, third night 279 with a 746 series wow wow wow .. thanks for putting the fun back in bowling RC in VT
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: jayleno on May 04, 2005, 03:02:32 PM
oh my! i bought my yeah baby a little while ago but even at that i've still yet to find enough oil for it! this ball is just wat u need for them long/oily patterns, truly a great ball from lane masters........ say goodnight to the ten pin!
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: Ball Death on July 11, 2005, 02:08:40 PM
all i can say is yeahbaby,yeahbaby,oh my god yeahbaby.iam not going to bore u with a long review,but the ball is one of the best balls in bowling,no ball death,just keeps getting stronger,just hope no ones throwing it against u ,because if they are u will see why.  cover is the best,core carries extermely well.oh who is mike jones?
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: Jordy on August 25, 2005, 10:03:31 AM
Just a question here in response to "thegame" and his comment about not being able to use this ball in the regionals. This ball is USBC approved as of June '04. Am I missing something? I'd like some feedback before I purchase this ball or the New Standard.
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: Randomhero on September 23, 2005, 08:37:25 PM
Drilled my Yeah baby 15.2 top 3.56  3 3/8 stacked with the pin between the ring finger and axis, weight hole on axis 5" and " up to get about 9/16 ounce sideweight and neither thumb or finger weight. had to polish it with the provided particle polish by legends to get a real nice look
THE ball hits like nothing that i have ever seen before, just the other day i shot a 4 game 967 (31 strikes) with the last 2 games 267, 257 typical house shot syntetic lanes with 39 feet of oil played the line 16 to 13 when started and ended up playing 22 to 17 in the end. the ball definitley needs space and oil.
There is no secret anymore that legends make the best balls around  ^_^

Henrik Sweden

--------------------
DIAMONDS ARE 4-EVER ^_^
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: braddahron on October 02, 2005, 11:43:10 PM
I don't know much about specs and that kind of thing, but since switching from a storm xxx in the 2004 to the yeah baby in the 2005 winter season my average has gone from a 188 to a 208, just more strikes per game.  I use this ball at a relatively dry house, almost everyone there complains that their equipment hooks way too much.  This ball holds it's line and never overreacts.  I get a consistent roll and hit on every ball.  I can't say enough about lane masters quality.
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: D Pat on December 14, 2005, 05:40:15 PM
Weight: 15
Pin Out: 2.5-3"
Surface: OOB

Style: Power Stroker/Low End Cranker
Speed: 17.5-18 MPH (At the pindeck)
PAP: Approximately 4" straight over

Layout: Pin 3" from PAP

---------------
---O---O------
---------p-----
---------------
----------CG---
-----O---------
---------------x
---------------


Main Bowling Alley: The New Danville Bowl (Danville, California)
Lane Type: Synthetic
Oil Patttern: Medium viscosity 38 ft. Christmas Tree Pattern with OOB outside of 7 board (open play bowled on my lane before me)

Thoughts on the ball:
I can only use this ball if there is at least medium/heavy oil. When there is that oil there, this ball really shines! When there's enough oil, My favorite line with this ball is standing around 30, hitting 17 at the arrows out to around 9 or 10 at the break point. If I don't keep this ball in the oil, it wont recover. If I get it out past about 7, it will probably miss the head pin. Keeping it in the oil provides a good amount of hook while still being smooth. This ball doesn't like dry!

Reaction Shape: Arc

Hook:
This ball loves oil! As long as there's some oil, but not a flood out there, this ball will hook!
9/10

Control:
This is my go-to ball on tougher shots (like sport shots) when I can't get anything else to work. I love the control I get with this ball... but I'm sure the drill pattern had something to do with it.
9/10

Hit:
This ball hits very hard as long as it conserves enough energy! VERY powerful at the pins!
9.5/10


Thanks for taking the time to read my review! Let me know if you have any question about the ball .
--------------------
I'm officially a ball junkie
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: davholio on January 31, 2006, 02:08:01 AM
Power stroker
Ball Speed - 18/19 mph
Leverage Drilling
Surface: Currently Polished

Bought the Yeah Baby at the suggestion of my pro shop.  I initially bowled with it in its OOB surface at a Pro Anvilane house in Vegas(Strike Zone).  I found the reaction to be sensitive on this lane type for the ball speed I was throwing.  I took the ball back to the shop and had it resurfaced to a 800 grit.  This provided enough punch for the ball to mostly finish like I needed it.

My normal league runs at Sam's Town which is an older AMF synthetic house.  I have bowled the first half of the year with the 800 grit sanded surface and I am currently averaging 217.  Overall, it has worked well because it does not over-react.  I can miss my mark a little inside or outside and it will recover or hold as needed.

Tonight, I switched it up and polished the Yeah Baby using the Legends Ball Polish.  It is now officially a pin throwing machine.  I am thoroughly happy with this ball and its versatility in changing the cover stock.  From a sanded to a polished surface, I have yet to feel that I couldn't read what the ball was going to do after a couple of shots.  I also felt pretty comfortable sticking with it through a three game set.  Normally, I would be putting a particle ball away in the 3rd game, but the Yeah Baby seemed to hold its line really well.

Rating 9/10
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: truexmiracle on April 11, 2006, 12:52:05 PM
I'm planning on gettin a new ball and i cant decide which one to choose from.. either the New Standard or Yeah Baby.. I was wondering if anyone has any insight or suggestions for me.. I like to have it to go long so i was wonder if anyone know which one hooks more and which on will go longer. Thanx
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: JessN16 on April 26, 2006, 01:17:06 AM
Just got a 14-lb Yeah Baby used from a member here. The ball came drilled pin under the ring, CG just outside the grip line, about a 2.5" pin, normal top weight, weight hole apparently on the former owner's PAP.

I had to plug the thumb hole and move it down and to the right a little to correct the span, but all the measurements above stayed where they were.

I got the ball to go under a Storm Dark Thunder and above a Roto Grip Silver Streak SE, and to be smoother than the SSSE, which is sometimes too angular. Because of where I track versus where the previous owner tracked, I would be tracking on a "new" part of the coverstock. Because I've always wanted to try a polished particle ball, we took this ball up to 4000 abralon, but applied no aftermarket polish creams.

The ball did exactly what I wanted it to do. It's very smooth through all areas of the lane and gave me a nice, predictable arc to the pocket. It was angular only when I pushed it a little too far to the right, and then it gave me some recovery. The shot I tested it on was a league THC, and tonight it had a flood in the middle with average backends.

First game out of the gate was a 220 (I'm a 190 average bowler), and that was with the thumb hole drilled way too tight. I eventually had to put it away because of the thumb hole issue; I'll get that fixed before next week.

The polish seemed to keep the ball from reading too early. I'm glad we did that. Overall, I found this ball to be very predictable and easy to control. I found that it gave me a very true read of my shot. No surprises, and that's a good thing.

One thing of note to add was that, for a 14-pound ball, this ball carried like a 15-pounder. I didn't leave a corner pin in the game-and-a-half that I used it, and I got some trips I didn't deserve.

This is my first Legends/Lanemasters ball and I'm very pleased with what I got.

Jess
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: gogunners on October 24, 2006, 09:24:13 PM
got my 15lb yeah baby drilled today, stacked leverage pin and cg 3 1/2" from PAP (i think) anyway its drilled for a controlled arc and most overall hook.

it outhooks my arsenal artillery by about 6 boards or more and is not as sharp at the breakpoint.

i bowl at about 16 mph with about 280rpm. generally standing 3 boards left of middle dot aiming in between 2nd and 3rd arrows. with this i have had to move 4 boards left and slow the pace down a bit and let it out of the oil where it really shines and hits very hard with that famous lane masters "crack"

the attention to detail and consumer satisfaction was unbelievble with many accessories added with the ball.

highly recommended for heavy/mediums and can handle carrydown in its stride.

9/10 would be 10 but left a few ten pins, but that may have been me but i know ill find out soon enough.
--------------------
thats a knee to the shoulder... lets hope its not his kidneys
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: Skip Wilson on March 26, 2007, 05:10:16 PM
Just another great ball in the Legends line. This is an earlier release ball but I had heard so many good things about it I decided to get one to go along with my Buzz for a heavier oil pattern. Like all Lane Masters and Legends equipment it has a very predictable move and always seems to finish. Backend movement is strong but doesn't seem to over-react off the dry. First time out with it in a tournament, 300, 794. Great ball to have when your wanting to open up the lane. Thanks Legends/Lane Masters for making a quality product you can depend on.
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: gr8scott6 on December 22, 2007, 03:51:57 AM
I gotta agree with Skip--just another great ball from Legends/LM!

Mine is drilled 4X4, and I left it in OOB finish. Gets down the lane well, turns in a strong, smooth arc, and crushes the deck. Hooks a couple boards less than my Terminator with a smoother arc. A couple of weeks ago, I was on a pair where the left lane was hooking significantly more than the right. Used the Terminator on the right lane and Yeah Baby on the left and shot in the mid 200's every game.

Great read, great roll, great carry, great ball.
--------------------
"Love God, laugh more, spend more time with the ones you love, play with children, do good to those in need, and eat more ice cream. There is more to life than bowling." Scott F. Guinn
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: batbowler on April 22, 2008, 04:04:35 PM
I must say that this ball is probably my favorite and most used L/LM ball to date! The layout is pin to the right and slightly above my ring finger, think of 1 o'clock position and the cg is stacked below and in the thumb quadrant. The ball had a 41/4" pin to cg and I drilled a weight-hole on a line from grip center thru cg and 11/2" past val. If the lanes are wetter I can move my feet right and when they open up a bit, I can move my feet left and have the same great carry! I have a Big Bang drilled the same and if the lanes are really tight I can use the Big Bang to burn a line for the Yeah Baby. Great ball for a lot of different conditions, except burnt heads or too light of oil and that's what I have a Buzz for! Thanks, Bruce
--------------------
"Train a child up in the way he should go and when he is old he will not turn from it."
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: morgs on March 19, 2009, 05:53:53 PM
first of i must say this is my favourite ball since i started bowling. i have got a drilling on it which causes it to break fairly early with a strong arc into pocket. i find it great on the heavier volume patterns and the longer patterns.
the big downside to this ball is that i find it to be very pattern specific. i've kept it at its oob finish and i've found that on the medium oil and the shorter oil patterns it doesnt have enough time to build up any energy ready for the break and i find that as a result it doesnt have a strong break and arc into the pins, more of a weak arc.
but on the heavier and longer patterns it builds up alot of energy and has a real strong arc into the pocket with a early break just as i wanted. it goes perfectly with my kong which goes longer/later with more snap. it has a really consistent action and break causing what i find to be a massive confidence booster in my beleif of the ball, resulting in better scores.
so like i said great ball.
10/10
--------------------
15lb balls -
legends yeah baby
legends kong
ebonite nvs
2x hammer black widow
brunswick bvp wizard
brunsiwck zone spare ball
storm tropical storm
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: Pat Patterson on September 16, 2009, 08:29:07 AM
Purchased ball on April 2009 from Mike Miller at 10 Pins and More in Rio Rancho, NM. Ball came 15-0, 3-1/8" pin and 2-1/2 oz TW. Ball is laid out (72* X 3" X 50*) with no weight hole, cover in box condition

This ball with this lay-out is very, very smooth compared to most of  my stuff.
It seems to excel the best when lanes are fresh to a little bit on the oiler side of med-heavy. It has a pretty pronounced move at the breakpoint when it does seek the extreme dry.

Yet another fine product by Lane Masters.

--------------------
Pat Patterson
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: Pinbasher209 on May 20, 2010, 04:48:30 PM
I love this ball, I have used it on several lane conditions, has a strong back end, clean thru the heads, shot a 299 in Dec09. Solid 9 pin, I guess it was too good of a shot, also shot my high series 774. Good ball for stroker with low rev's ball turns well for me, crushes pins, I have just replaced with the Motiv TR2, but this ball still has a spot in my bag.
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: Pinbasher209 on October 27, 2010, 06:29:05 PM
Back to the Yeah Baby, I worked with the TR2 Motiv, just didn't match up well, down 20 pins in average.. back to trusty rusty..See If I can save my average..Sorry Motiv
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: whoobird on February 01, 2015, 09:41:27 PM
Got the Yeah Baby this Christmas. 14 pounds, 2-3' pin, 2 1/2 ounce top weight. Had it drilled label leverage. I am a stroker...medium speed average 14 mph. I have used the Yeah Baby in several houses with varying lane conditions. Very controlled reaction down lane and has a smooth and controlled reaction in the back end. Works very well on sports condition but wasn't as aggressive on a house shot.

Might have to tweek the cover stock to give a little more reaction down lane. I would recommend the Yeah Baby for medium speed bowlers between stroker and tween who look for more back end in the ball.
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: batbowler on February 01, 2015, 10:40:56 PM
I just wish they would have used a similar coverstock as the original Yeah Baby. The diamond particle on the first Yeah Baby was hard to beat.
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: Supermo on February 25, 2015, 06:51:24 AM
Just picked up the Original Yeah Baby still new in the box. Many yrs ago had the Big bang which was one of my fav Legends balls so thought I would try this one as it came very cheap. Got a stacked drilling on it one which I have never used before. Played last night using it for the first time and even though it was only a 602 was really suprised at the smooth roll and very strong arc finish. Playing again tomorrow so see how I do with it then.
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: edwardskara on April 23, 2015, 08:42:31 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):
Ths

COMMENTS

Likes:ball is great, carries high hits and light hits pins are dancing all around, threw in 2 leagues, scored 214-228-232 in 1 house and 256-244-225 in another house. Not an overhooking ball, but just right for down and in players, I play anywhere from 6-8 board and she just walks into pocket.
Dislikes:ball does not like extreme carry down oil, just change your angle of entry and your fine.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: Kheckman31 on August 19, 2015, 07:08:06 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Likes: I am on staff with Lane Masters, this is my least favorite ball so far.  It could be the drilling.  70x4x30, but I am getting nothing on it.  The ball hooks around the arrows then flattens out.  Might need to tweak the coverstock

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Yeah Baby
Post by: 9orbetter on December 19, 2015, 01:01:20 PM
This review is of the Reactive version of 2015

(https://www.ballreviews.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi12.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Fa238%2F9orbetter%2FLord%2520Field%2F20150310_093434_zpsflbunwei.jpg&hash=519b2b949c97e65eee4e9dfcad3962f2) (http://s12.photobucket.com/user/9orbetter/media/Lord%20Field/20150310_093434_zpsflbunwei.jpg.html)


Lane Conditions: Medium Oil
Typical Conditions: House Shot
Type of Lane: All Synthetic
What part of the lane did you play? Second Arrow
Did the ball track out? Normal
Weight of bowling ball: 15
Surface of bowling ball: Sanded
What grit was the surface of the ball? 800
Likes: Carry is awesome
Dislikes: Heavy/heavy medium OIL.

Was advised by a fellow staffer to get this ball. I was reluctant but decided to buy. Drilled ball identical to my Lord Field talent and was disappointed at the box reaction. so much length without the pop on the back end. Changed cover from the factory sheen to 2000, then again to 4000. I was ready to toss then decided to change the cover again to 800 lightly sanded. the boom! The back end continuation finally happen. Carry was now at its uttmost with great midlane read. 3 weeks into the cover change gave me 3 800's , 2 300's in multiple alleys. Very happy I kept trying. Never give up to early on a ball without trying every available option