BallReviews

Reviews => MoRich => Topic started by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM

Title: Awesome Flip
Post by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM
Awesome Flip: A performance Pearl Reactive Ball with the largest MB strength we ever used.  Awesome Flip is the perfect compliment to its particle twin, Seek & Destroy, when a later breakpoint is desired.
Drilling Layouts

Track Control Sharp Break Point Forward Roll
High
(PAP > 5-1/4")      
Medium
(PAP 4-1/2" to 5-1/4")    
Low
(PAP < 4-1/2")    
 
Core Type:
 Vanguard Strong Asymmetrical with upper torque cap  Mass Bias Differential:  .028
60 Degree Avg. Spin Time:  5.4 seconds  Coverstock:  Performance Pearl Reactive
Factory Finish:  Compound  Flare Potential:  Large
Differential:  .051  RG:  2.535
Weights (pounds):  13, 14, 15, 16  Color: Razzberry Pearl w/Neon Orange
Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: Precision on April 06, 2006, 03:27:00 PM
Bowler Information:
Track diameter is 10.25.
PAP is measured at 5.5 over and 0 up/down.
Average ball speed (foul line to head pin) is 17 mph.
Axis rotation is typically 45 degrees
Initial rev rate is typically 350 rpm


I've drilled two Awesome Flips for myself; after drilling and rolling the first I knew there was no way I could stop at only one. The layout on my first Awesome Flip is 4.5"x4.0", 3.25"up with a 13/16" weight hole 2.5" deep 3.75" straight over on the centerline. This layout was used because I have a Shock & Awe with the same layout and I wanted to get a valid comparison between the two balls. The second AF layout is 5.375"x2.375", 1.5" up with no x-hole (and again after laying out and rolling the second AF I can already see another in my future, yes I like the ball that much).

I've had the opportunity to roll both balls on wood and synthetic lanes conditioned with both typical house and sport compliant conditions.

First, I have to admit I was completely amazed when I compared the first AF to my Shock & Awe with the same layout. While that Shock & Awe is not the flippiest that I have it is indeed very strong on the back-end, the Awesome Flip made it look a little lazy. But, what was really amazing is that even though the Awesome Flip is very strong on the back-end it is still very predictable and controllable. When I rolled both balls with the covers prepped the same I saw extra length with similar total hook from the Awesome Flip but more of that hook was on the back-end of the lane. On the house pattern I needed to make sure I was playing in and giving the first Awesome Flip alot of room to turn the corner. On the sport conditions the ball also played better in simply because the entry angle was too strong from out. The second Awesome Flip has a layout which provides me with a very smooth rolling pattern and excellent energy conservation without a sharp move at the breakpoint. This ball revs very fast and has a very smooth move to the pocket with amazing continuation through the pins. I also have this layout on other balls and feel I can attack the lanes from many different angles with success. The second Awesome Flip worked well from both inside and further out on both the typical house and sport compliant patterns.

Now, the only thing I have to do is decide how I'll drill a third Awesome Flip.....

Do you think I'll be able to stop at three???
--------------------
Precision
Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: D McLaughlin on April 07, 2006, 11:25:06 AM
For the last 3 or 4 weeks, I have encountered some highly mushy backends on the left side from the very start of league.  Nothing I had was able to cut through it until the 3rd game.  1st two games I was averaging 190 or so and the 3rd game I have been averaging 248 just to salvage decent sets.  Well, I got my AF drilled a few hours before league this past week.  Slight variation of Super Sym drilling.  All I could say was HOLY S*!T.  This ball chewed through the mush like it was a joke.  240-256-267 = 763.  Ball never exhibited ANY signs of jumping early the whole night.  Cleared the heads fantastic and charged off the spot like a homeless bum diving after the last biscuit.  I use MoRich exclusively and I was truly impressed with a ball that actually DOES WHAT IT SAYS IT DOES!!!!  Mo is light years ahead of the pack.  Great job on this one guys.
--------------------
I am a fan of whatever ball is going to fatten my bank account.
Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: The SuperHitMan on April 09, 2006, 12:09:26 AM
Awesome is exactly what it is. Got three high sets of 631/643/693 already with this gem. This is the best MoRich ball so far ever made, high track break point drilling (www.morichbowling.com) with this drilling the flip gets down the lane dang good before well it FLIPS OUT and hits and carries very well. Iv'e played in 3 different house and the ball performs very well even in the mush conditions and is AWESOME on the medieum conditions, never tried it on heavy oil but thats what the Total Shock and Awe is for and the two make a murderous combo. The recovery is sick.....ball recovered from the one board on the right side while standing five on the left....Yea it flipped alright Holy Ginobli it flipped. However like with any ball you must keep is clean and beware of the hitting power because it can plow through the hole so strongly that you can leave stone pins and even splits so be mindful of where it flips, cause when it does.........Holy Ginobli

In short if you wanna FLIP off the competition....get an Awesome Flip its an awesome ball
--------------------
Opponent: What makes you think you can beat me?

K.C.: Cause I don't doubt my skill

Opponent: And you doubt mine?

K.C.: Didn't say that

Opponent:

K.C.: Lets fight

Bystander: Do you think your good?

K.C.: Good at what I Do since 1983

Bystander: Your confidence comes off as cockyness.

K.C.:  And thats why I'm a problem to the sport of bowling.

R.I.P Eddie Guerrero Viva La Raza

Shwosh-The SuperHitMan

Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: Gene J Kanak on May 17, 2006, 11:01:47 AM
Box specs: 15.3lbs
                     2-3" pin
                     2.2 oz. top

Drilled: Pin approx. 1" up and 1" right of ring, cg stacked below, mb at around 45 degrees, box finish.

In a word, this ball is sick! I picked this one up because I've loved my other two Mo offerings (Seek & Destroy and Total Shock & Awe). Well, count this one as 3 for 3. This ball will do just about anything you want it to do, within reason. Do you want to stand inside and swing the lane? As long as you've got some dry to grab onto, sit back and wait for this baby to put the blinker on and come roaring toward the pocket. Do you want to go up the boards? No problem. Get this beauty rolling and watch as the strong backend allows you to snap corner pins out like never before. This ball truly can do it all, and it looks nice doing so.

I compared this one next to the two balls that I figured would go on either side of it in my arsenal, The One (medium-heavy) and the Action (medium-benchmark). It goes longer than both and delivers the sharpest backend of the three. It will handle less oil than both, at least that's the way that the box finish will render things, but that's just fine. If you have dry, this ball will recover from just about anywhere. The only caveat is that the sharp angle can cause some ugly leaves. If you get slow, you're most likely going to pay.

Overall feelings:

Hook: 9.5 out of 10--If you like to hook the ball, you'll love this one

Recovery: 10 out of 10--That's what this ball is all about

Midlane: 6 out of 10--This ball really doesn't read the mids at all; it blows right through and saves its juice for the backend.

Hit: 10 out of 10--Typical Mo; it hits hard and drives straight and true through the deck.

Appearance: 9 out of 10--Are you man enough to throw pinkish purple?

Overall: 9.5 out of 10--Just a very good all around ball from Mo; what a surprise?

--------------------
I've only bowled 300, but I've benched 345 : )
 I provide the muscle for the Fellowship of the Saws  
Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: Next Level PS on May 23, 2006, 01:43:24 PM
PAP. 3 over 0 up
tilt 24 degrees
rotation 40 degrees
speed 18-21 mph
rev rate 425


I drilled this ball for basic condition,I layed this out with 3.5 X 4.25 X 2 above the midline. I am suprise that this ball has only 4 reviews on it so far because this piece is flat out sick. I never had a ball that read the lane this way and still went sideways on the back. the AF is one of the pearlize balls that hit the market in a long time. this ball can handle many types of condition just with changing the surface or the layout. Guys go out and get yourself one of these and make sure you take it to the right "CUT MAN".
--------------------
"THE BOWLERS WILL NOT BE DENIED"

Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: srg846 on May 26, 2006, 11:31:11 AM
4x4 drilling
15#
pin under ring finger

THS stood 15 threw straight up effortlessly with a bit of speed. Ball has a smooth transition down the lane with a smooth arc right to the hole. Just sick. First night with the ball (4 game block) 700/941. Normal avg for me 215 or so.  Have left a few crushing 9 pins and a few 10 pins. If I over rev'd just a bit 4-9. Other than that this ball is sick.

To see the ball in action (http://www.playdromelanes.com/test/) click the first and third movies. Our lane guy loves playing with his digital camera.
Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: coaster on August 31, 2006, 11:34:37 PM
I absolutely love this ball. I am a tweener with 15.3 mph ball speed. Ball is drilled 3 3/8 x 4 1/2. Pin right above fingers. Awesome in medium-medium heavy oil. Really great when you move inside and play a line that most struggle with. The guy who drills my balls has the same specs as I do have. I picked up his awesome flip threw 2 practice shots and had to have it. Went out and shot 745 series the 1st time I touched the ball. The ball literally blows the pins away. As long as you don't let the speed drop you don't get in trouble.

When it makes the move to the pocket it really FLIPS!

My Arsenal. Lane Masters New Standard 2, Morich Awesome Flip, Lane 1 Tsunami H2O, Storm Tropical Storm, White Dot
--------------------
Coaster
Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: earlthepearle on September 04, 2006, 08:39:24 PM
Pin is a half inch under the ring slightly to the right.....CG is centered at the palm. I have a balance hole as well 5 inches from my CG to the right...pretty much a basic house drill..with some length. First let me say that its a good ball to have, rolls very nice, above average carry. The Awesome Flip is  very shot specific. I would only recommend this ball on shorter patterns. It will give good length no matter what the drill layout is....The coverstock will back me up... In saying that...there will be some situations where you can use this ball and be very affective. Im just saying that in my opinion its not a ball for game one. When the heads are gone this can be the choice to go to. Reads broken down heads as well as any ball ive thrown. A very nice addition to your med. oil ball. I will update this ball in about 2 months into the fall season....Im gonna get a good track on it and really let you know whats going on........Earl
Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: strikeordie on September 17, 2006, 09:12:37 AM
15lb 2oz, 3"pin, 2.7 top
drilling: 4 by 4 resulting in the pin being just above and to the right of the ring finger and mb just to the right of the thumb. Extra hole on val.

Mini Review: I have only thrown this ball for three games so I will update this review after I get more games on it. I tried a handful of shots going down and in which is not my "A" game. The results were pretty good. Then I tried swinging the ball. This is where the ball shines. It glides thru the mids then immediately takes off towards the pocket. If you get close to the pocket the results will be good. I was able to string the first 8 in game two of league play. Lots of pin action with this ball. It also seems to handle carrydown quite well. The ball is also very forgiving. When my shot was slightly off, the hit and carry was still amazing. This is probably the best ball I have matched up with in a while. I foresee some high series this winter. To some the ball up in one word, "Awesome."
Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: mainzer on November 09, 2006, 12:09:36 PM
THIS IS THE LAW OF THE BACKEND

SPECS: Pin is above my ring finger and and the mass bias is out only 1 inch to 1 and 1/2 inches. for PAP is about 5 inches out.

THS: 38 Feet buff to 40-42 feet, med oil in the middle and not much less everywhere else. the oil gets in volume as you move toward the ditch but not as much of a drop off as I have seen elsewhere.
Flip is as advertised on this pattern goes looonngg, and Flips at the end of the lane. I tried a variety of lines in the session moving left testing the balls ability to recover and it recovers incredibly well, I couldn't get left enough to get the ball to hang up the more oil Flip was in the longer it would go and the harder it would turn at the end of the lane. I started this process trowing 12th at the arrows and the break point was the gutter and it flow back to the pocket CRUNCH! pins gone, I moved left at two board incerments and moved the shot along with my feet finally finishing throwing the ball at about 19th at the arrows and 5 at the break point and it was the same result as the first ball.
 
MASTERS Tournament: I BOWLED LIKE GARBAGE THERE I ADMIT IT ARE YOU HAPPY!! Anyway at the Masters I had alot of room to move the ball gave me good area and freedom to make a mistake. I used Flip on the 2nd shift first day of the Masters I had out of Bounds at 10th board but other than that I could throw the ball anywhere I wanted and it would come back the problem was I didn't figure this out until the last game, I was trying to play to tight the hole day. I will do better next time!


Overall: This ball has alot of power under the hood as long as it has dry it will react for you, it reads the lanes very well and doesn't react to early or to late it is right on time. Ball is forgiving when you miss to the left or right, it makes up the difference it almost looks like you made the mistake on purpose! Ball hits and carries like a dream it doesn't leave many 9 pins at least not with the setup that I am using it just makes a quick change of direction it looks almost effortless. On the Heavy stuff the reaction is late and quick but still very effortless looking and very easy to predict. on med oil it is sooner and smoother but later than anything with a solid cover.

Great ball
--------------------
Mainzerpower
Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: eBinks on February 01, 2007, 01:18:22 PM
MoRich caught my attention with this ball. Had it drilled with the pin below the fingers about an inch or two with the cg kicked way right and a balance hole.  I took the surface down to 320 then polished it.  Ball revs so hard in the midlane and still hits like a truck.  This has become the one ball I dont think that I could live without.  Every house and every pattern that I have seen, there is always a shot for this ball. Whether its the rail or the fifth arrow its so versatile.  MoRich gets my standing O!! Thanks to Burke for a great layout.
--------------------
the names Munson, what I am doing is flossing...
Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: Brandon2369 on February 14, 2007, 11:16:31 AM
Pin above ring, 16-18mph, stroker.  First off, I love mo stuff~ This is definatly everything that the ball title portrays. Its awesome, and there is no question that it flips!  I have my highest game ever with this ball. This ball is very readable in the midlane and then woooww the aggressive moment to the pocket is remarkable!  The pins have no chance with this ball, just flips them right off, literally.  The carry is also great with this ball.  I would recommend this ball as well as any Morich ball to everyone!
Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: vietbo1831 on April 29, 2007, 02:24:30 AM
15# IM A CRANKER WITH 15-16MPH PIN IS NEXT TO RING FINGER (STACKED LEVERAGE)WITH MB OUT 1\2 OUT,WELL FIRST OFF THIS BALL LIVES TO ITS NAME,I LIKE EVRYTHING ABOUT IT ,THE CARRY DOWN I GET IS GREAT,HITS PRETTY GOOD WITH ACTION, ONCE AWHILE IT WILL LEAVE A TEN PIN BUT NO BIG DEAL TO ME.OVERALL IM HAPPY WITH MY FIRST MORICH
Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: Brandon2369 on August 14, 2007, 10:25:35 AM
Im a stroker, throw around 16-18mph on a THS.
I like the roll that I get much better with the flip.  Its recovers from anywhere and I have thrown it on various conditions with ease.  I dont know why there isnt more hype about the flip but is a great ball.    Another thing that I love about the flip is the carry, just amazing. Great JOB MO!
Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: John D Davis on December 11, 2007, 10:11:23 PM
Ok this ball is bit...ch if you know what I mean... I can play where ever I want with this ball with a slight hand change. My PAP is 3 3/8 over and 1 5/8 up.

1st A Flip= 3 1/2" straight above my fingers putting the mass bias 2" over and 1/4" down from my centerline. Needed a small weight hole to take out some finger weight.

2nd A Flip= pin is slightly above my two fingers with the mass bias being at 45" and 1/4" from my thumb.

These two balls are very very strong. I have seen a few people suggest these balls for lighter conditions and I dont know what their thinking because I usually play mine very deep inside and even on some longer patterns. I bowled on a couple TOC patterns and where my other balls was rolling to heavy and not really giving me the backend look I needed where this ball was going a little to long at times but the recovery off the dry was incredible. For any bowler with a higher type rev rate this should be ur first ball from the mo rich line if you dont already have one. If theres one ball I can compare this to it would be a vapor zone. Both of the wonderful designes rev up very strongly in the midlane especially when shined!!! When I get on a broken down pattern and need to play inside the 4 and even the 5th arrows this will be the ball I use. The backend energy is simply incredible! When other balls just wont drive when playing to deep just remember this one will!

I give this ball a perfect 10 because it compliments all the other balls. This is the only really reving up ball made by mo. Im a proud user of Rons Magic Carpet. For those of you that havnt tried it, its ur own loss! www.bowl4fun.com
Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: mainzer on September 12, 2008, 03:00:24 PM
NEW DRILL PATTERN SAME BALL!

SPECS: Shawn Rash layout, pin under my middle finger mb turned out 3 1/2 inches OOB Finish.

THE IDEA: was to use this ball on lighter conditions giving me an extra option in between my HPP and Finish. The pattern allows me to use the ball ''closer to friction'' and I must say it does allow me to do that.

T&O LANES: 20 feet of guardian then wood the rest of the way, heavy in the center dry outside over the top returns so no getting way left on the right lane. Enter Flip When HPP isn't turning quite hard enough I bring the Flip out, Flip gives me a stronger reaction a little further down the lane than the HPP(HPP DRILLED PIN UNDER BRIDGE.) I go about 14 at the arrows out to around 8-10 range and watch the ball bury the pins, Flip gives me more room when we are bowling against, or with in some instances, guys using urethane which is just causing a sick amount of carry down.

THOUGHTS: I like the ball with the new layout more than I thought I would at first I was kinda iffy the ball doesn't turn the corner if their isn't friction almost useless on a fresh shot. However Break down and places like T&O with alot of skid through the head and then alot of backend movement this ball dominates. PBA Patterns like Cheetah and Chameleon this ball with this layout is perfect for. Control is amazing it seems to glide to the break point where other similar balls are having issues getting their movement off the break point is strong but not to nasty it faces up easily, again as long as their is alot of friction. Hit and Carry is typical MO style so no surprises their. U can do alot with the ball if you have alot of dry you can swing it if their is alot of oil in the center of the lane or alot of crankers playing through the center and you wanna stay right of them and out of their way this is a good choice.

This ball is one my favorites in the bag once again just amazing all around. Great Job Mo as usual
--------------------
MainzerPower
Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: noturcuzin on December 28, 2008, 09:12:12 PM
Bow down to the power of the Awesome Flip.lol What an amazing ball! I used my Awesome Flip on a med/heavy oil pattern. It got through the heads easily and had a strong move in the backend to destroy the pocket. Man, am I glad I bought this gem. When the lanes start getting drier it was back in the bag for the Awesome Flip and out for the Creature(also a great ball). Drier/shorter patterns are not the Awesome Flip's friend. Awesome Flip rating, 10/10 for sure! Thanks for reading.

Here is a pic of the ball: http://s455.photobucket.com/albums/qq272/noturcuzin/?action=view¤t=IMG_2013.jpg

--------------------
CHRIS FARLEY:1964-1997  
JOHN CANDY:1950-1994
JOHN BELUSHI:1949-1982  
 
"NO RESPECT, I GET NO RESPECT."-the great Rodney Dangerfield

InSite Bowling Products:2004-2008

Proud owner of all 5 InSite bowling balls.







Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: whiles on May 04, 2009, 11:06:58 AM
WOW What a ball - I picked up this ball off ebay the drill specs were close to mine and I like the pin and CG layout. This was a PBA drilled ball so I new it was good quality first off. Ball is drilled out leverage for late flip - this drilling only accentuates what is already designed into this ball. This Ball Flips and Flips hard. Instant change of direction and absolutely no quit once the hook starts.

Ball has a weight hole. I changed the grips in the ball right away to my favorite style and threw some games of practice, I was amazed on how much hook this ball had for a pearlized cover. I put this ball away for league shot and that was a big mistake struggled all night with my Solid Leverage trying to carry, had not played really deep all season so I shied away from using the Awesome Flip.

Friday night league at Danville Bowl I did not repeat that mistake - THS with a bias to playing up and around the five board. put together games of 244 - 245- 244 for a 733 set - won my brackets a high game pot and high series for the night. In one league night the ball paid me back!

this ball has unbelievable back end recovery ability, once it makes a move it does not stop and I find a great angular pocket hit with this ball, the best part with this type of hit is the carry - this ball carries a ton. This ball also goes through the head and leaves splits if you get soft with the ball speed.

Pulled this ball back out of the bag on Saturday night at Clayton Valley Bowl - shot 254-210- 236 with it for an even 700 set.

My first two sets with this ball 733 and 700! I am really impressed with the carry of this ball and the readability, when this ball moves early, you no instantly you need to move your feet, there is no quit with this ball and the angular pocket hits really carry well, make no mistake - you must be firm with this ball on all but the oiliest conditions, otherwise it will rev up early and over react.

I score this ball a 9 out of 10 I wish Mo would put Flip caps on his awesome "Ez Rev Core" and stick that engine in a pearl coverstock like the Awesome Flip.

This Ball is Flipping Amazing!

Thanks,
whiles
Title: Re: Awesome Flip
Post by: louie on January 14, 2010, 03:54:38 PM
I have 2 of these balls. Both have pin next to ring finger. One ball has the mb on val and the other ball has the mb just right of thumbhole. Both balls are very clean through the heads with a nice strong snap off of the dry. The Mb on val ball is slightly earlier and covers a couple more boards than the ball with the mb near the thumb. The cover is a bit oil allergic. You get a lot of hook once it hits the dry and almost none in oil. This allows me to chase the oil line on a house shot while playing deep. Carry is above average. I like this ball a lot on a house shot. Good carry with a lot of miss room.
--------------------

Why does everyone laugh when I bowl?


louie