BallReviews

Reviews => Motiv => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on May 09, 2019, 03:59:23 PM

Title: Covert Tank
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on May 09, 2019, 03:59:23 PM
Tanks are tough and strong and so is the Motiv Covert Tank. Motiv created a new coverstock that combines the best of urethane and reactive resin. The Frixion Microcell Polymer coverstock absorbs oil much slower than reactive resin but unlike urethane does allow some absorption. This coverstock enables the ball to generate more continuation along with better pin carry while maintaining traction. The Covert Tank offers more versatility than urethane balls to better match more bowling styles due to the strong Torx core. This core has a higher differential that creates more track flare, betters backend motion, and reduces the amount of oil distribution on the lane.

Color: Black
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Coverstock: Frixion Microcell Polymer
Core: Torx
Finish: 2000 Grit LSS
Reaction: Smooth, Overall Hook
Recommended Lane Condition: Light Oil
RG: 2.50 (15# ball)
Differential: 0.051 (15# ball)
Title: Re: Covert Tank
Post by: james.turner@ppg.com on May 13, 2019, 11:59:17 AM
Rev Rate: 400
Ball Speed: 19.5
PAP: 5 1/2 over 7/8 up
Tilt: 4.3

Ball Layout: 60x3.25x30

When I found out about the Covert Tank, I was wanting this ball to work for me more so than any other MOTIV ball within our lineup. I have never matched up well with urethane equipment and with my 19.5mph speed, urethane balls on the right side limit my ability to shape the lane because of carry down issues I get from others using urethane equipment.

This new cover stock, Micro Cell Polymer, soaks up oil at a fraction of what resin does yet still absorbs more oil than urethane. The Torx weight block allows me to shortened my Pin to Pap on this ball because the higher differential gives me the ability to have more track flare plus I get more back end motion too!! The Covert Tank has the predictability of urethane, reads the mid-lane like a traditional resin ball and gives me much better pin carry than a urethane ball does.

I highly recommend this ball for the typical house bowler,  anyone facing those wet/dry conditions and for those bowing on sport patterns.

James Turner
MOTIV STAFF

https://youtu.be/U0YjaIBnW7I
Title: Re: Covert Tank
Post by: MOTIVmags on May 19, 2019, 07:48:47 AM

DESCRIPTION: The Covert Tank is the 5th release in the Tank series. Every Tank has been quite different as far as covers and cores are concerned, this one is no different, especially this one. The Covert Tank holds the Torx core found in the Forza line (Forza, Forza Redline and Forza GT) which has a 2.50 RG and .051 DIFF giving it a stronger benchmark core. Now, the cover is what this release is all about! It is NOT reactive, it is NOT urethane, MOTIV has labeled it Frixion Microcell Polymer. This release requires a little more explanation in the description to educate you on the intent of this piece. The intent is simple, it’s to bridge the gap between reactive and urethane, you could call it a hybrid between the two. It can provide hook potential (layout dependent) like a reactive piece, yet it can provide a very similar shape as urethane (once again layout dependent). The sleek all black and dark logos gives this ball some great shelf too!

REACTION: I am going to describe the reaction of both Covert Tanks that I initially drilled. The first is a 50X4.5X25, which is close to my favorite layout and one that is used on a lot on my first drills of a new release. This is the stronger of the two layouts and easily flares 4”+. This ball reads the front and middle part of the lane very strong and when it reaches friction it likes to slow down and provide plenty of control. In my initial testing I really liked this one on the fresh house pattern, it allowed me to get in and use both the hold and the friction without sacrificing carry with misses either way. I feel like it’s strong enough that the misses in still allow the ball to continue very well through the pins. On the misses to the outside it never ever bounced too hard off the friction, it really does provide the perfect amount of continuation and control. I am strongly defined as a tweener, but I have never really had success with urethane. This leads me to my second layout, which is a 1” pin from axis, 110X1X25 and flares a couple inches. My goal with this layout is to literally replace urethane all together in my bag. I initially didn’t have high expectations because I’ve done pins from on axis to 2” to PAP before with little success. You really need to check out the video to see how good this ball looks and the difference between urethane for me. This layout isn’t for everyone, but for those who don’t like urethane I think this is an amazing option. The 1” Covert Tank for me starts just as soon as urethane but, continues a little better down lane. I know with urethane the point is for the ball to be super slow and controllable down lane, but for me urethane does that too much. If I wanted something even slower, I could do a pin on axis layout, but so far this layout is exactly what I will be using on very short patterns. Comparing the two Covert Tanks against each other the 4.5” one easily plays 6-7 boards deeper to give you an idea how much of an impact the layout has on this ball.

COMPARISONS: I compared the 4.5” Covert Tank against a Venom Shock since there are so many people who’ve thrown it. The Venom Shock gets into a roll almost as soon as the Covert Tank, but the Venom Shock out hooks it down lane significantly. I would need to move at least a zone deeper to allow the Venom Shock to find the pocket. The Venom Shock has a smoother to moderate shape down lane compared to the rest of the MOTIV line, so in watching the difference in the Covert Tank you will see how much smoother it is down lane. Next, with the 1” Covert Tank I did two comparisons. First is against the Tank Rampage because the purpose is for me to have a better option than urethane. You’ll notice the Tank Rampage starts up nicely and gets to a similar spot in the mid-lane, but down lane is where the Covert Tank differs and continues where the Tank Rampage just stops or slows down. Now, the Thrill is much weaker overall than the Covert Tank, you’ll see that it has no problem clearing the front part of the lane and then struggles to even get back to the pocket from even the track area on the fresh house pattern.

SUMMARY: Urethane carries oil down the lane for two reasons. First, because it doesn’t absorb oil, but remember the Covert Tank is NOT urethane (it’s Microcell Polymer) and it does absorb oil (just slower than reactive covers). Second, the Covert Tank does flare even with small pin to PAP layouts, so you won’t carry the oil down lane. The Covert Tank supplies the advantages of modern urethane without the disadvantages!

Mike Magolan
MOTIV | Turbo | Brotherhood Apparel | BowlerX, Staff Member
Title: Re: Covert Tank
Post by: Mappa on May 20, 2019, 01:19:33 PM
An all new cover technology for the MOTIV Covert Tank successfully bridges the gap between urethane and reactive resin.  Essentially it gives me a urethane like shape with better continuation through the pins. Plus, the Covert Tank doesn't push the oil down the lane like a urethane ball, so it makes me a better teammate during league play.  ;)

Here is my ball motion video:

In the video I compare a 5" pin to PAP Covert Tank at the box finish (2000 Sanded), with a 2" pin to PAP with added polish. Thanks for watching!

--Kevin Gallagher--
     MOTIV Staff
Title: You Won't See This Coming!
Post by: toverbey on May 31, 2019, 12:34:20 PM
Layout:
   60 x 4 x 30

The Covert Tank: Itís not reactive. Itís not urethane. Itís Microcell Polymer! This refined technology brings a whole new dynamic to the MOTIV lineup in terms of shape and versatility. The Frixion coverstock (finished at 2000 LSS) has been engineered to provide a urethane-type reaction while still providing more down lane motion than what this traditional class of equipment would give. The goal behind this is to give you the ability to play those straighter lines when they are scoring and have more longevity while doing so because it will not quit as early on the lane as itís related counterparts. To help achieve this, the Torx core (2.50RG, .051Diff) is used. Utilizing a stronger core with this coverstock design has many of the benefits of reactive with nearly none of the drawbacks of urethane. The most noticeable effect you can see is the flare generated during the reaction. Not only does that give you fresher cover touching the surface down lane, thereby creating more backend and continuation potential, it also helps to cut down on the amount of carry down this style of equipment creates (your teammates in league will thank you for this as well). Personally, everything I have said above has proven true in my testing of the ball. Whether I have been playing on the fresh or the transition, the expected controlled reaction has been consistently present. Where I see the biggest difference is when the Covert gets to the pocket. Whereas my urethane Tanks hit the pins and want to straighten out a bit, this ball drives through as though it were reactive; the flaring I mentioned earlier is the main reason for this. Because the ball is tracking over fresher cover down the lane it has more grip on the pin deck to keep its rolling motion through to the pit rather than skating off due to the volume of oil it is skidding on. By combining the versatility of low-end reactive with the predictability and control of urethane, MOTIV has created a special ball that is worthy of many modern arsenals. The Covert Tank truly is a unique piece in todayís lineup.

Trent Overbey
In the Zone Pro Shop
MOTIV Staff
www.motivbowling.com
Title: Re: Covert Tank
Post by: The SuperHitMan on June 05, 2019, 01:44:34 PM
Weight Block: Torx
Cover Stock: Frixion Microcell Polymer
Finish: 2000 Grit LLS
Length: 13
Backend: 14
Hook: 45
Flare Potential: 5+
Layout: 45 x 4  x 35

ďA tank might be dangerous, but only if you got in its way.Ē-Cindy Skaggs

Tank
Rebel Tank
Rampage Tank
Combat Tank and with the 5th overall pick Motiv has createdÖ.
Covert Tank

It is not resin. It is not urethane. It is Microcell Polymer. Covert Tank was created to fit in your resin and urethane weaponry, it will provide you with ample hook potential (pending your layout and DNA) or it can provide you with a familiar urethane shape again depending on your choice of layout and DNA. The core is Torx which is the very same core that was inside Forza, Forza Redline, and Forza GT, Covert Tank.

I like how Covert Tank reads the midlane and upon encountering friction it provides me with the control and continuation Iím accustomed to, Covert Tank is was house shot friendly allowing me hold in friction without the worry of losing carry and when I did miss and got it into the friction to early a harsh reaction wasnít my reward.

 I feel what makes Covert Tank epic is what it is made of and the benefits it provides, when my Combat Tank would start to straighten up on me Microcell Polymer is continuous through the pin deck as if it were made of resin.  The flaring of Covert Tank to me is nothing short of phenomenal.  Motiv science has combined the predictability of small weaponry with the control of urethane which makes Covert Tank useful in your bag, Covert Tank grants you the advantages of urethane without it being made of urethane meaning you will not encounter the disadvantages of urethane.


The game of small weaponry has changed and Motiv is responsible for it. 

Do yourself a favor by not overlooking Covert Tank.

Your game will thank you for it.

K.C. White II
Motiv Staffer
Title: Re: Covert Tank
Post by: Fanz847 on June 05, 2019, 09:02:27 PM
I have been throwing the tank for a little over 2 weeks now. I have never been one that had much with urethane but with the tank it can give me the urethane reaction that I need on shorter patterns. Also thisball gives you the reaction when you move in and hook the lane. Had success with this at usbc both in the team event and minors. With the lanes got tricky I could get this ball throw but still have enough pop down lane and have it finish strong creating angle. This is a ball that I will enjoy and will be good for a league bowler or someone who needs a urethane reaction at tournaments. Donít miss out on getting a tank. You will be sorry!!

Kevin
Motiv Midwest
Title: Covert Tank "Game Changer"
Post by: cyafromfla on June 06, 2019, 01:18:23 PM
This ball is a brand new design into the MOTIV line of bowling balls. The MOTIV Covert Tank is a game changer.  It is a new revolutionary cover called Frixion. It is not urethane nor not reactive resin.  Itís microcell Polymer.  The Covert Tank created by MOTIV features the Torx weight block.  This combination creates a new shape to the sport of bowling.  The cover creates more continuation and better pin carry without sacrificing traction that you would see with typical urethane.  While the higher differential of the core produces more track flare, which both improves backend motion and also limits oil redistribution.  In all, this cover/core combination creates impressive control and outstanding continuation.

The Covert Tank will be a great fit in your bag because of it unmatched versatility.  Unlike urethane that is virtually non-absorbing or reactive resin which is highly absorbent.  Frixion microcell polymer absorbs oil at a fraction of the speed of reactive resin, but is still capable of absorbing oil at a very slow rate.  This microscopic difference is what make the cover so unique and creates a smooth response to friction and outstanding continuation . The Covert Tank will become that ball you can count on when you need the ball blend the pattern.

I have already drilled 2 Covert Tanks.  1 is laid out pin up, about 2Ē above and  to the right of my ring finger, the cg is basically in my palm, with no extra hole, making this about a 3Ē pin to PAP for me.  The other is pin down, below my ringer finger and the cg shifted right.  I canít believe the difference in these 2 balls.  The pin down has almost no flare, similar to modern urethane, but with smooth continuation on the backend.  The pin up ball flares a good 4 or 5 inches, making a much stronger, but still smooth and continuous move on the backend.  This motion reminds me of old school urethane, when we used to bowl on much shorter and lighter volume patterns.  Both balls have already found a place in my bag, being a lower rev player it feels like I have taken away the advantage that high rev player can create using urethane.  The Covert Tank has the continuation of resin, combined with the smooth reaction of urethane and drives through the pins like nothing Iíve seen. If you are looking for that go to ball that will smooth out the pattern, not hook at your toes, provides control, has continuation and awesome hitting power. Look no further, you've found it.

Craig Auerbach
MOTIV Staff Member
Florida
Title: Covert Tank
Post by: sportshot on June 11, 2019, 06:52:50 PM
Ball Specs:
Motiv Covert Tank
Frixion Microcell Polymer
2000 Grit LSS
Symmetrical Torx Core
Layout  70  x 3-5/8  x 30

Bowler Specs:
Right Hand. PAP 5 Over 3/4 up
Rev Rate 275. Tilt 20. Rotation 50.
Speed off hand 18

Review:
Motiv has created a new cover stock that fits between Traditional Urethane and Reactive Urethane. The cover is called Frixion Microcell Polymer.  The intent was to create a ball that had the control characteristics of Urethane but enhanced performance to give it ability to be used by a greater range of bowlers. The Covert Tank flares more, and hits harder than Traditional Urethane.  Normally when I use my Burgundy Tank I feel I donít have much room for error. The Covert Tank allows miss area to the right with recovery and carries extremely well. I have used the Covert Tank on a good variety of patterns and the ball motion is very nice. When I use traditional Urethane I feel I need to move right as oil carries down. With the Covert Tank I can move left and create more area, this is most likely due to how the Covert Tank absorbs oil slow enough to maintain a better lane pattern. The Covert Tank is stronger than my Thrill but is weaker than my Venom Shock. To me it rolls closer to Reactive than true Urethane. The Covert Tank reads the front part of the lane but still has a nice controlled move off the dry.  I have let my high rev and no thumb bowlers test the Covert Tank out and think it will be a great addition to their arsenal. The ball is very predictable and there is no over / under reaction.  The Covert Tank goes through the pins with a strong continuous motion. For someone like me who has limited use for the traditional Urethanes I can see myself using this ball a lot, especially on house conditions. This ball should allow you to stay in the pocket as the lanes transition with very little adjustment.

Summary:
The Covert Tank has a Predictable and forgiving motion.
The hit and carry was better than expected.
This is a ďUrethaneĒ ball for those who struggle with Urethane.
I fell this new cover technology has great potential.
The Covert Tank should be a great addition to a tournament arsenal.

Glenn Wendel
PBA Member
Motiv Staff
Turbo Staff
https://youtu.be/RRQ6FB-a4h4

Title: Re: Covert Tank
Post by: MotivMackie on June 16, 2019, 01:33:26 AM
Motiv Covert Tank Review
 
  The Covert Tank is a unique piece with tons of versatility in creating different motions. It has a bigger core mixed with the new micro polymer cover giving it almost a Urethane shape down lane but reads the fronts like resin. I drilled mine with a stronger layout using a 4í pin which actually gave me a bigger flare then anticipated. But it lets me move in and control the lanes when the lanes start getting jumpy. Itís also a good piece for the flatter patterns when I want something with a real controlled motion. Definitely a game changer in ball Motion and not like any other piece in our line up.

Motiv Staffer:
 Sean Mackie
Title: Re: Covert Tank
Post by: Wolfstrike on June 20, 2019, 03:25:16 PM
When you look at this ball you wonder what's different? Well, let me tell you.
First It has a brand new kind of coverstock. It's not urethane its not resin. Its something brand new and fits in between both of those coverstocks.
Second, let's talk about the ball reaction. This ball will remind you of urethane in its overall shape. It's very rolly and doesn't change direction
very quickly. It flares A TON more than a urethane ball, so that's nice if you love urethane but don't want to be a bad teammate wrecking the pattern.
This ball will give you that shape without destroying the pattern. It also allows you to throw this ball on a multitude of patterns.
Do your research and it will show you how good this ball is! This ball will be a legend in its own time!


Motiv Staffer
Stephen Mohn
Pro shop Operator 23+ years experience
Title: Re: Covert Tank
Post by: kshipley17 on June 27, 2019, 05:27:43 PM
Hello #motivnation,
The all new Covert Tank comes with the Torx core along with a new cover. It comes with 2,000 LSS finish and has a RG of 2.50 in both 15lbs and 16lbs. The max differential for the 16lb is 0.46, where the 15lb ball is 0.51.
This is a ball that everyone will want in their bag. This ball is not reactive resin and it is not urethane. This is an all new material called Frixon Microcell Polymer. This is the in between ball when you hit some lane conditions where reactive resin is too strong and urethane is not enough.
This ball has been the first ball out of my bag on almost every single pattern I have bowled on over to sport shot leagues this summer. This ball also gives you some pretty interesting options when it comes to drilling this ball. You can drill this ball really strong and watch the ball hook like you would not expect, you can get another one drilled with a 1" pin or pin axis drilling and watch this ball roll almost like urethane would, but with more continuation. For me, this ball is going to stay in my lineup for quite a while because of the versatility it brings to the lanes.

Kye Shipley
MOTIV STAFF MEMBER
PBA MEMBER
Title: Re: Covert Tank
Post by: Motivtylerjlew on July 01, 2019, 10:02:34 PM
The new Covert Tank features the brand new Frixion cover material. It is microcell polymer which is not urethane nor reactive resin. Normally, a urethane cover doesnít absorb oil and reactive resin absorbs oil a high rate. This brand new cover, however, absorbs oil at a very low rate. The purpose of this is to have the same motion as urethane, but more continuation and pin carry, much like reactive. This is one of my favorite bowling balls right now. I am able to play right as I would with urethane, but have little to no carry down on the lanes. I was also able to get left and hit on it, and still get to the pocket with ease. It has very strong continuation and more backend than you would usually see in traditional urethane. I see myself throwing this on variety of patterns. Most balls have their certain strengths and weaknesses, but you could drill this ball in such a way that makes it usable in almost any circumstance!

MOTIV STAFF
Tyler Lewis
Title: Re: Covert Tank
Post by: rayner13 on July 06, 2019, 08:44:28 AM
Motivís new release the Covert Tank utilizes the Torx core previously found in the Forza line and wraps it in a brand new coverstock- Microcell Polymer.  This coverstock is completely new to the industry as it creates track flare seen in resin balls with the motion of a urethane ball.  As a speed dominant player this ball allows me to stay right a lot longer and play up the lane.  It gives me the predictable shape of a urethane ball but with the track flare that doesnít destroy the front of the lanes for the rest of our team.  Mine was drilled 50 x 4.5 x 30 which allows it to be smooth and have enough power down lane to carry.  This is a unique piece in the market and fits in everyoneís tournament bag. 

Matt Rayner
MOTIV Staff Member
Title: Re: Covert Tank
Post by: RipSlinger on July 08, 2019, 10:40:50 AM
The Motiv Covert Tank, featuring the NEW Frixion Microcell Polymer cover stock, has really allowed me to thrive on drier or beaten down lane patterns. The cover stock has more length than urethane, with a slower response to friction than reactive resin, but with the continuation through the pins of reactive resin. The cover, combined with the Torx core, has made for quite the motion as we are seeing flare of 5-6 inches when drilled with stronger layouts. But, what does this mean in real world settings? On our summer house shot, which has slightly less volume, I am finding that my Recoil and Shock are too soon while the Shock Pearl and Hydra are too angular. The Covert Tank has allowed me to play a little more direct through the track area and chase left (right-handed) as the night wears on. The Thrill is a great compliment if the Covert starts reading too early due to transition. Also note, a shorter pin to pap layout on this ball will yield the more traditional urethane roll while a longer pin to pap layout will allow the ball to transition slightly quicker for a more pronounced motion at the break point.
Motiv Staffer
Elliott Askey