BallReviews

Reviews => Motiv => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on January 23, 2019, 12:37:58 PM

Title: Golden Jackal
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on January 23, 2019, 12:37:58 PM
The legend of the Jackal is back as the Motiv Golden Jackal Pearl. This high performance bowling ball provides more length through the oil and produces an exceptional backend motion. This version features the Predator V3 asymmetric core which creates huge track flare potential and hook power. This weight block also has a low RG which makes it easier to rev and control on heavier oil conditions. This ball is covered with the Hexion SE Pearl coverstock which produces a powerful angle when a high oil volume is present. With a 4000 grit LSS finish this ball gives great down lane motion without losing traction.

Color: Gold
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Coverstock: Hexion SE Pearl
Core: Predator V3
Finish: 4000 Grit Laser Scan Sanded
RG: 2.47**
Differential: 0.055**
** RG and Diff are based off of 15 lb. balls
Recommended Lane Condition: Heavy Oil
Title: Re: Golden Jackal
Post by: MOTIVmags on January 24, 2019, 09:42:55 AM

Description: The Golden Jackal is the fifth Jackal in the very successful series. It is the first pearl Jackal since the original, this time with the Hexion SE Pearl Cover. The box finish is 4000 Grit LSS (Laser Scan Sanded). It again uses the Predator Core, with an RG of 2.47 and a .055 differential. According to MOTIVís hook scale it is their most hooking ball produced in the angular motion column.

Reaction: The Golden Jackal certainly provides plenty of hook on heavy oil conditions, however it doesnít hook as soon or as much as the other two Jackals currently in the line, the Jackal Rising and the Jackal Ghost. Where the Golden Jackal differs is the extra length and shape it provides down lane, without all of the hook being in the front and middle part of the lane. For a ball designed for heavy oil, it allows me to open up my angles and provide plenty of shape down lane. I think the biggest statement that I can make is that if in any way you liked the original Jackal, donít miss out on this release because that is what this ball reminds me of, the Golden Jackal is a little cleaner than the OG. I did a 70X5.5.X40 layout which is a weaker layout for me, basically the pin centered right above my fingers, the CG in my palm and the mass bias in my thumb. I wanted it to be a ball that I could use on the fresh in leagues, it allows me to get a little deeper and really use all of the hold on league patterns and yet provide a really nice shape when hitting that big friction spot to the outside. You will notice the Golden Jackal is in the Heavy Oil/Angular spot on the Ball Guide (http://www.motivbowling.com/ball-guide/).

Comparisons: The Trident Abyss is the exact opposite in shape in my opinion even though they are both designed for Heavy Oil, the Trident Abyssís strength is in the front half of the lane while the Golden Jackalís strength is in the back half of the lane. Depending on what type of heavier condition you are bowling on youíll have two options of where you want your ball to read. Comparing the Golden Jackal to the Villain Scorn was also necessary in my opinion because they are both asymmetrical and in the Angular column. The Villain Scorn is cleaner and noticeably more angular, so if you need something a little stronger and a little smoother the Golden Jackal would be your best option.

Summary: Overall, this release allows me to play deeper lines and create more entry angle than I would with other high performance/heavy oil balls. Since the box surface is 4000 Grit LSS it also has the option to be even longer and more angular by polishing it (Which I have done and prefer). It also has some great shelf appeal too with that gold!

Mike Magolan
MOTIV | Turbo | Brotherhood Sport Apparel | BowlerX, Staff Member
Title: Re: Golden Jackal
Post by: MotivMackie on January 28, 2019, 05:32:56 PM
Motiv Golden Jackal Review

This ball is amazingly versatile on the Lanes, Out of box it has a light surface which has it read the mids sooner but it stays continuous down lane. Box surface was a little to strong for me personally so I hit mine with 3k and then polished it. The polish helped it get down the lane but being the bigger ball that the Jackal is it still kept the strong continuation down lane and made it more cleaner and controllable..

     This is one of the biggest balls Iíve drilled in quite some time. It fits in the bag though. When I need something to pick up and create shape down lane where other pieces arenít itís definitely the ball to go to. I used a 70x5.5x45 layout to help it get down lane, it also lets me use it on most house shots without it being to big of a motion.

-Sean Mackie

#MOTIVNation #MOTIVMackie #TeamCASH

Ball Motion video:
https://youtu.be/roz5xgSsjxk
Title: Re: Golden Jackal
Post by: Mappa on January 29, 2019, 11:30:40 AM
Here is my ball reaction video for the Golden Jackal:


In the video I compare the Golden Jackal to the Hydra, Venom Shock Pearl, Forza SS, Rogue Blade, Villain Scorn, Forge & Trident Abyss on Kegel's Bourbon Street Pattern.

This ball is as advertised! I can really play those deep inside lines without the fear of throwing it through the breakpoint - which can often happen with angular equipment.

Looking forward to taking this one out to tournaments!

--Kevin Gallagher--
     MOTIV Staff
Title: Re: Golden Jackal
Post by: scottyb300 on February 01, 2019, 11:04:05 PM
I try to contain my excitement with all of the great releases that have been coming out lately, but this one has me ecstatic.
I've had some time to roll this and to say I'm impressed is an understatement!
We decided to drill this 45x4.5x70(pin under bridge). I do this layout on all of my first ones because it allows me to see the balls true motion for my game.
 This ball is an absolute hitter. For a pearl it is nice to see it read the mid lane extremely well while retaining plenty of energy on the back ends. What makes this ball so unique is that it is an Asymmetrical ball and it's a pearl, it doesn't make a sharp turn downlane. I find it extremely controllable and a moderately slow response to friction and rolls through the pins like an absolute train.
I compared this to my Jackal Rising and put both balls at 2000 grit with some light polish. I found that my jackal rising had a faster response downlane and forced me to open up my angles faster(I'm left handed). I am beyond impressed with this ball and definitely will be getting a few more!
Title: Re: Golden Jackal
Post by: james.turner@ppg.com on February 05, 2019, 02:22:28 PM
Looking for a ball that can produce a rather large track flare and a weight block that loves to rev up or better yet a ball that has the most hook potential and angular shape according to MOTIV Bowling? Well the Golden Jackal is a great choice.
 
The Predator V3 asymmetrical core pared with the Hexion SE cover is a perfect match on multiple conditions. The Jackal product line has always been a trusted grouping of balls within the MOTIV line up and this ball can be used on many different conditions and fits well within most people's arsenal .
 
With the Golden Jackal being a pearl, I really like the additional length I get when comparing it to the Trident Abyss. The Abyss focusses on the front part of the lane and is much smoother when it comes in contact with friction as opposed the Golden Jackal having the ability to get down lane and really create angularity as it responds to friction.
 
I really like the Golden Jackal because it's versatile and with it being so angular, I can move in and still have confidence to not miss the breakpoint.
 
Highly Recommend.

James Turner
MOTIV Staff
Title: Re: Golden Jackal
Post by: MotivLou on February 06, 2019, 03:59:14 PM
The LEGEND continues !! The Jackal series has hit an absolute home run again with the Golden Jackal ! This ball features the Predator V3 core wrapped around the Hexion SE pearl cover ! I compared it to several different ball in our current line and this is what I came up with. Itís cleaner and more angular than both the Jackal Rising and the Jackal ghost but maintaining that classic Jackal shape ! Itís earlier and smoother however than the Villain Scorn ! I found in testing that the Golden Jackal was a great combination with the Scorn ! Iím really excited about the addition of another Jackal ! Ball will be available on 2-13-19 !! Go out and #GetMOTIVated

https://youtu.be/z37ojwNIAx0
Title: Re: Golden Jackal
Post by: Wolfstrike on February 08, 2019, 01:49:11 PM
If you have loved the jackals in the past this one will be a perfect companion to the others. It's a few feet longer than the rising it feels like and much stronger change of direction downlane. It should be useful on a variety of patterns and house shots.
Title: Re: Golden Jackal
Post by: rayner13 on February 12, 2019, 05:33:28 PM
First off.  Itís a Jackal and everyone that has thrown a Jackal before understands how great they are.  This time around we finally have a pearl Hexion SE cover that comes out of the box at 4000.  This Jackal is able to handle the fresh conditions with ease as it floats through the front and doesnít over read the friction.  The ball is strong and once it makes its move it doesnít stop.  For me this is a step down from the Abyss and earlier then the Scorn.  Itís very readable and hits with the trademark Motiv power down lane.  You will enjoy throwing this one.  The cover takes very well to being tuned also in case you want to hit it with a little Motiv Gloss and really see how angular this ball can be.  Expect to see quite a few of these gold balls around, itís a special release. 

#getMOTIVated

Matt Rayner
Motiv Staff Member
Title: Re: Golden Jackal
Post by: kshipley17 on February 13, 2019, 02:37:41 PM
Hello MOTIVnation.
First of I would like to talk about the new Golden Jackal.
This ball uses the Hexion SE Reactive coverstock and uses the Predator V3 core.
It is at 4,000 grit LSS. This is the first Jackal pearl since the original. It has a RG of 2.47 with a diff of .055. This is an angular ball with phenomenal continuation. This is the first ball out of my bag and is and combined with the Forge you have a very solid 1-2 punch when trying to decide which ball to go to during transition of the lanes. Everyone should have some gold in their ball and you won't be disappointed by the results. World wide release day is today 2/13/19 . Order yours today

Kye Shipley
Motiv staff member.
Title: Re: Golden Jackal
Post by: The SuperHitMan on February 18, 2019, 01:59:16 PM
Weight Block: Predatorô V3
Cover Stock: Hexionô SE Pearl
Finish: 4000 Grit LSS
Length: 16
Backend: 18
Hook: 57
Flare Potential: 7+

It is much better to have your gold in the hand.

I couldnít agree more.


The Golden Jackal is the first pearl created since the original Jackal and it features the Hexion Strength Enhanced Pearl coverstock, the box surface of this weaponry comes at 4000 Laser Scan Sanded and at the core is the proven Predator V3.  As it currently stands Golden Jackal produces the most overall hook in terms of angularity.

The Golden Jackal provided me with a lot of copious amounts of hook on heavier patterns however it doesnít sit up as quickly as the Jackal Ghost or the Jackal Rising which I consider to be a benefit in terms of overall versatility.  The difference in the Golden Jackal is its length and overall shape it provides throughout the lane, because the majority of the muscle is not used up in the heads or the midlane it allows me to open up my angles and still maintain a reasonable shape down lane.

My Golden Jackal is 39 x 4 Ĺ x 29 and I also went over it with our Hi-Gloss polish, I did this because of the understanding I have about the Hexion cover and the result of doing so allow me to use a giant asymmetrical pearl that I can use on both the fresh and transition.  On the fresh I can play in the track area without having to deal with the grab area that it provides and as the transition comes into play Iím not forced as far left as I was when I had the previous Jackals in my hands, when I do move far left I have the all the angularity I need to circle the lane and the continuation is nothing short of magnificent.

Golden Jackal is on the opposite side of the chart much like at the other end is the Trident Abyss, both are indeed designed for heavy oil however the difference between both of them is where their muscle is displayed. The muscle of the Trident Abyss is up front as it provides a lot of hook and traction, the traction it provides allow me break down heavier patterns at a quicker rate. 

The muscle of the Golden Jackal is down lane overall,  Hexion will indeed get it down lane and the Predator V3 core gives you the familiar Jackal roll in the backend.  If itís traction you want on heavier patterns I like the Trident Abyss for what it provides, if youíre interested in opening up your angles and having plenty of down lane shape then I would encourage the Golden Jackal. 

In terms of comparing asymmetrical weaponry I would like to mention the Villain Scorn is a cleaner than the Golden Jackal, however the Golden Jackal is stronger and smoother overall. 

Iím pleased with the Golden Jackal. Iím pleased because of the overall versatility it provides me with, I now have a giant asymmetrical pearl that I can use on a variety of conditions outside of the extreme burn. It is by far the most versatile Jackal and my favorite one to date and if youíre in the marker for a giant asymmetrical pearl look no further than the Golden Jackal.

Gold makes monsters of men.  Allow it to make a monster of you.

Your game will thank you for it.
K.C. White II
Motiv Staffer
Title: Re: Golden Jackal
Post by: Motivtylerjlew on February 19, 2019, 06:41:54 PM
The new Golden Jackal brings the pearl Jackal back to life. This ball displays more length through the fronts and a sweet backend motion. It has the Predator V3 asymmetric weight block to provide a lot of track flare potential and hook. This also produces a very low RG so the ball revs easier, making it more forgiving on heavier oil patterns than higher RG balls that might push past the breakpoint. The Hexion SE cover on this ball helps maintain the backend without sacrificing oil. I have this ball as a great small step up from the Forge when you want something to go a little longer but retain a good amount of energy for the back!

MOTIV Staff
Tyler Lewis
Title: The Midas Touch
Post by: toverbey on February 21, 2019, 03:52:52 PM
Layout:
   55 x 5 x 25

What better way to get back on the prowl than with a bit of bling in your arsenal? The Golden Jackal looks good not only in the bag, but also going down the lane. The trusted Predator V3 core (2.47RG, .055Diff, .019Int.Diff) has been wrapped in the brand new Hexion SE Pearl (4000LSS) to marry the length and backend reaction of a pearl with the power and continuation of this asymmetric core in heavier oil conditions. I left mine at box finish as I wanted a little more midlane grab on my fresher local conditions rather than a Ďtruerí skid/snap. The combination of longer and higher pin placement on this ball (the pin is about two inches above the top of my bridge) have given me a reaction that is easy to read but still quick off the friction. The sheer power the Predator has in the reaction is clearly shown in the midlane as this Jackal, whether the conditions are fresh or worn down, reads the mids in a decisive manner; I have seen flare upwards of six inches even with this Ďweakerí layout. This read, however, does not take away from the response time once the ball finds the dry as I still get a pronounced movement at the spot. What I love most about this combination of read and breakpoint reaction is that the ball still goes through to the pit with force. Once the Golden Jackal decides to go towards the headpin, there is no quit in it. I have flirted, and have been caught, with the nine pin many more times that I have with either of MOTIVís previous releases. Staffers from other companies have come up to me and commented on how they were impressed with the motion this ball provides down lane and into the pit; I do not think there is a higher compliment that can be given than that. If you need a piece in your bag that will give you a pearl-shaped reaction in heavier volumes, look at the Golden Jackal. I cannot overstate what an amazing pairing the Predator V3 and Hexion SE Pearl is for this purpose.

Trent Overbey
In the Zone Pro Shop
MOTIV Staff
www.motivbowling.com
Title: Golden Jackal - the Best of So Many Worlds!
Post by: Jeff Piroozshad on February 24, 2019, 06:27:12 PM
The all new Golden Jackal takes everything people love from the Jackal series - hook, continuation, power, control, and brings it to a new level with a sheen pearl coverstock.  This results in a ball that has the ability to cut through heavier oil volumes without the unpredictable skid-snap motion that people generally don't like about pearl balls.

This means you get all the bite with more entry angle and energy retention. The Golden Jackal truly is the best of not just both worlds, but all worlds!

You can watch my video of the Golden Jackal here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JV_jIM7MxM4


Jeff Piroozshad
MOTIV Staffer
Title: Golden Jackal
Post by: cyafromfla on February 26, 2019, 11:59:25 AM

This ball is the newest introduction into the Jackal line of bowling balls. The MOTIV Golden Jackal features the Hexion SE reactive  pearl coverstock combined with the latest Predator V3 asymmetric core. This core provides massive track flare potential and hooking power, when in combined with this cover, you get length through the front of the lane, enough strength to not miss the midlane and impressive backend reaction. 

It will be a great fit in your bag on medium to heavy oil. I have the used Golden Jackal on high to medium volume sports patterns, as well as on your typical house shots. It's strong and continuous enough to handle the sports patterns and recovers on a house pattern from almost anywhere on the lane.  The very low RG makes it easier to rev, making it more forgiving on heavy oil patterns than higher RG balls that may slip past your breakpoint.

My Golden Jackal is laid out with the pin my in ringer finger, CG shifted right and no extra hole down. Since this ball's release it is quickly becoming one of my favorites. This ball allows me to open my angles when the heads start to go and I still need that strong ball down lane. It is definitely the big pearl ball Iíve been looking for.  I have found it too be very versatile, have the ability to generate powerful angles in high volume environments and be continuous beyond belief.  MOTIV has hit another Home Run out of the park..

Craig Auerbach
MOTIV Staff Member
Florida
Title: Re: Golden Jackal
Post by: RipSlinger on February 26, 2019, 01:59:53 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 41 Ft

Volume: THS

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Ball: The Golden Jackal is the newest addition to the Motiv Jackal series. The Hexion SE Pearl is the first pearl cover used since the original Jackal in 2014. The Golden Jackal comes at 4000 Grit LSS and utilizes the Predator V3 core.
Motion/Comparison: Motiv has the GJ slotted in the Angular/ Heavy oil slot. This ball is surprisingly clean for a 4000 grit Asymmetric ball. We are finding that medium to low rev bowlers will find this as a benchmark on most medium to heavy house shots when the surface is kept at OOB finish. For the high rev bowlers, this ball will allow you to open up your angles when your Forge or Villain starts leaving the corners. I will note that I am a high rev bowler and this is not the first ball out of the bag for me on THS. I usually start with my T10 or Rogue Blade and migrate to the GJ as the fronts go and my angles open. The GJ is sooner and more overall than the Scorn, and also needs slightly more oil in the fronts for the balls to really separate from each other. I feel that the GJ is perfectly slotted on the ball chart and can be utilized at OOB surface for the matched styles while adding polish will help the rev dominant bowler.

Video coming soonÖ


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Golden Jackal Review
Post by: sportshot on March 03, 2019, 02:14:18 PM
Ball Specs:
Motiv Golden Jackal
SE Pearl Reactive
4000 Grit LSS
Ball Specs: Asymmetric Predator V3 Core
Layout  40 x 4 x 35

Bowler Specs:
Right Hand. PAP  4-3/4 Over 1/2 up
Rev Rate 300
Speed off hand 18

Review:
The New Motiv Golden Jackal provides a clean move through the front part of the lane without any slide past the break point. The backend motion is strong and angular. The Golden fits between my Villain Scorn and Jackal Rising in total hook but has a more length and angular shape. This ball hooks a lot for a pearl but is not as strong overall as the Abyss or Forge. The Golden is a nice piece that Motiv needed in the line. I have always done well with the Predator Core and feel we will see more asymmetric balls coming out due to the balance hole rules changing in 2020. The core on the Golden is very good but the surface is what makes this ball special in my opinion. The Golden always seems to read the mid lane well without squirting past the break point even on bad releases. I have had the chance to try the Golden on some different conditions, all on the slicker side and I have been impressed by the move this ball makes when it reads friction.  We have dulled the Golden and see more total hook without giving up the backend move. We have polished the Golden, which looks super good and got only a bit less hook but more skid- flip in motion. The Golden Jackal surface cleans and adjusts easily and does not seem to lane glaze quickly. To me this is more evidence of a quality cover stock. We just held a Motiv Test Drive (demo day) and the Golden Jackal was a favorite and worked well for all styles from the fresh oil of the first shift till the burn of the third shift. So far I am very pleased with this addition to the Motiv line.

Summary:
The Golden is a very strong angular pearl.
The ball has excellent hit, and drive through the pins.
The Golden is a nice new ball motion offered by Motiv.
I only heard positive things about this ball at our Demo Day.

Glenn Wendel
PBA Member
Motiv Staff
Turbo Staff

gwendel@comcast.net
www.motivbowling.com
video link -  https://youtu.be/nKkt4M-Rjns

Title: Re: Golden Jackal
Post by: jamotivated on March 09, 2019, 02:18:19 AM
The Golden Jackal is Motivís latest asymmetrical pearl release, combining the core of the Jackal Rising with a Strength Enhanced version of the Hexion Pearl cover. If youíre looking for a big asymmetrical pearl, why not go for the first pearl Jackal since the original?

I drilled mine fairly strong, 65x4.5Ē.x40 and my first impression that it was a little bit difficult to control on a fresh house shot, but really looked good once the lanes burned up. I ended up hitting it with a 2000 pad so I would be able to use it a little earlier and havenít looked back since.

For me this ball rolls best on medium shots when I donít have to swing the ball too much. If I needed to swing the ball, Iíd probably ball down to a Villain Scorn or a Rogue Blade for a little more angle.

Jamison Peyton
Motiv Staff
PSO at BowlersMart Texas Station in Las Vegas, NV.
Title: Re: Golden Jackal
Post by: rickzakrajsek on March 12, 2019, 12:30:41 PM
Quite a tremendous compliment to my JACKAL GHOST - Which for me provides one of the best reactions from a MOTIV ball I have seen, The addition of a pearl coverstock to that line provides me with the perfect compliment while not having to sacrifice continuation or controllability when changing balls. Its performance and ability to compliment the Ghost was the perfect combination for me and its not bad looking either!!! Don't miss this one as you wont be disappointed!

Rick Zakrajsek
PBA50 MOTIV STAFF
Title: Re: Golden Jackal
Post by: jrob857 on March 19, 2019, 11:19:21 AM
Review:

The Golden Jackal is the latest release from MOTIV Bowling products. They say a legend never dies and boy are we right with the Golden Jackal. The Golden Jackal brings back the legend of the original pearl Jackal with the shape we loved to todayís standards and technology. The Golden Jackal features the Predator V3 asymmetrical weight block and we paired it with the Hexion SE cover stock. This combination gives the Golden Jackal massive hooking power and strong backend motion that just drives through the pins on heavy oil. If youíre looking for something strong and looks good then the Golden Jackal is for you.

Weight Block          Predator V3
Cover Stock           Hexion SE Pearl
Finish                    4000 Grit LSS

Comments:
As they say a legend never dies and The Golden Jackal brings a legend back to life. If you loved how the original Jackal looked and preformed then you will love the Golden Jackal. I love the shape it gives me as well as it performs when Iím bowling on heavier and flatter patterns. For me being a higher rev player, THS I will use this first game but as the pattern breaks down, Iíll ball down to something slower response. But this is the ball I usually use when bowling tournaments because it just does not disappoint. Medium to higher rev players will love this ball just as I previous stated. Lower rev players will love this because the length you will get as the hitting power both on fresh and as lanes break down and you have to move in.

Likes: Hooking power; Retainable Energy; continuation through the pins
Dislikes: None

I recommend the Golden Jackal for all types of bowlers.

MOTIV Staff Player,
John Robertson
www.motivbowling.com