BallReviews

Reviews => Motiv => Topic started by: Ballreviews on November 13, 2012, 11:44:15 AM

Title: Raptor Talon
Post by: Ballreviews on November 13, 2012, 11:44:15 AM
Motiv Raptor Talon Ball Specs:
- Color: Grey/Black
- Reaction: High/Strong Backend All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown.
- Coverstock: Fusion™ Solid Reactive
- Core Type: Predator™ Asymmetric
- Factory Finish: 2000
- Radius of Gyration (RG): 2.46**
- Differential (Diff): .060**
- ** RG and Diff are based off of 15 lb. balls
- Hook Potential: High
- Length: Medium
- Recommended Lane Condition: Heavy Oil

Description: The Raptor Talon introduces the new Fusion Solid Reactive Coverstock and has the Predator™ Asymmetric core. This is the third ball in the Raptor line-up and certainly the most aggressive on heavy oil. This ball is made for oil, the more the better. This ball goes hard all the way through to the pins. If you bowl in tournaments you need this in your arsenal. If you are a league bowler this ball is always recommended for a bowler who needs more ball speed on the typical house shot.
Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: MOTIVmags on November 26, 2012, 09:29:01 PM
Raptor Talon – 3 3/4 X 55 X 65

MOTIV’s current goal is to release bowling balls that will be able to provide bowlers with an arsenal of equipment to combat all conditions. 

Description: The Raptor Talon is the third Raptor being added to the high-performance range.  The Raptor Talon uses the same Predator core as the previous two Raptors, but with the all new Fusion Solid Reactive coverstock.

Reaction:  The addition of the Raptor Talon has filled MOTIV’s slot for a very early revving heavy oil ball.  The Raptor Talon is best suited when everything else is too clean in the front or middle part of the lane.  It allows you to keep a ton of ball in your hand yet maintain control throughout the entire lane.  At the box finish (2000 grit sanded) I found the ball to be most effective for the intentions of the ball.  Adding polish made the Raptor Talon similar in length to the original Raptor (4000 Grit Sanded), yet the Raptor Talon maintained a higher hook potential because of the strength in the front and middle part of the lane.  I didn’t experiment with adding more surface to the Raptor Talon as the box surface started the ball plenty soon!

Comparisons:  The Raptor Talon is obviously MOTIV’s biggest hooking ball.  However, even though you may currently think you don’t need more hook, the Raptor Talon brings much more than just hook.  It brings a lot of power and a lot of control.  In my video you will see that the original Raptor is played a few boards right at the arrows and has a more defined backend motion.  The Venom Strike is even further right at the arrows, although not as continuous as the Raptor Talon.  I think it should also be noted that those who really like there Thrash…The Raptor Talon will be the Thrash’s BIG BROTHER.

Summary:  The Raptor Talon is not going to be a ball for me that will see a lot of league action, but will be the first ball I choose to put in the bag for tournaments.  I can see the Raptor Talon seeing a lot of time on tougher patterns and looking forward to throwing it on some heavier conditions when most are struggling to get the lane to open up.

YouTube Video:
MOTIV Staff Member - Mike Magolan
Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: Mappa on December 04, 2012, 01:30:53 AM
If you’re reading this review, you’re probably aware that the MOTIV Raptor Talon hooks  a lot…. this is very true. But what I want to emphasize is the controllability of the hook, due in large part to the nice big arcing ball motion.  But I am most impressed with the carry this ball gives me. I feel like all I need to do is get the Talon in the general vicinity of the pocket to strike. High hits seem to trip the 4, and light hits shred ‘em. This kind of confidence really frees up the old armswing.

I drilled my Raptor Talon with a pretty tame layout (60* x 6” x 40*).  I’m planning on drilling up a second Talon more aggressively, just to have a little fun. For me the Talon is at least 5 boards stronger than the original Raptor with the same layout.  Here is a link to my ball reaction video. I compare the Raptor Talon to the Venom Strike, 2 Cruel and the original Raptor.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tynvySUpDh4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tynvySUpDh4)

I have a pretty high rev rate (420) in relation to my ball speed (17mph). So, I do need a pretty good amount of oil in order to use this ball. On long “Sport” patterns the Talon allows me to play deeper… in the fresh oil. As all tournament players know, it’s generally an advantage to play just to the left of your opponents (For right handers). I like to take advantage of that whenever I can.

My check list during by 10 minutes league practice right now is pretty simple. Is there enough oil to use the Talon? Yes? Then I use it! If No, then I’ll pull out my Venom Strike, Primal Scream or Ascent. I can’t always use the Talon, but it’s comforting to know that it’s at the top of my arsenal when needed.  If you happen to be more speed dominant, this is a “must have” ball, and you’ll want to throw it all the time.

--Kevin Gallagher—
     PBA Member
     MOTIV Staff
Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: dna300x on December 04, 2012, 08:26:33 PM
BALL SPECS

Pin Length: 2.3"

Starting Top Weight: 2 oz.

Ball Weight: 15 lb 3 oz.


DRILL PATTERN

55 x 5 1/4 x 30, no extra hole


BOWLER STYLE

Rev Rate: 400 RPM

Ball Speed: 19 MPH

PAP/Track: 4 3/8 left, 5/8 up


SURFACE PREP

Grit: 2000

Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Abralon


LANE CONDITION

Length: 35 ft, 37 ft, 39 ft, 41 ft, 40 ft

Volume: variety

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS, PBA Animal Patterns, NCAA Collegiate Patterns


BALL REACTION

Length: 3/10

Back End: 6/10

Overall Hook: 10/10

Midlane Read: 9/10

Breakpoint Shape: 6/10


COMMENTS

Likes: I am thrilled to have the Talon in my bag. It is a tremendous asset for me personally as I am a speed dominant bowler. The Talon grabs the lane extremely early and anchors itself hard in the mid lane. The majority of this ball's reaction occurs in the first half of the lane which sets up for a smooth, controlled breakpoint. I can use this ball longer than most people can because of my physical game and I love the shape it makes. I prefer arcing bowling balls with a lot of overall hook and this ball certainly fills that gap for me. Obviously, the best environment for this piece would be heavier volumes of oil unless you throw hard, then you can also pull it out on medium environments. I had a lot of success with the Talon on Scorpion, NCAA Pattern #2, and PBA Viper. I have even used it on certain occassions on Cheetah when I want the ball to burn up and stop at the backend.

Dislikes: What makes this ball so special is also its demise. It is a very conditional piece because of its aggressive nature. Don't even think about taking this one out on anything less than medium oil. It will most likely burn up and not continue through the pins. I throw quite hard and realistically I only know of one bowling center where I could regularly throw this monster. Even with a good coat of polish and weaker drillings it will want to check up too soon. Use it on the appropriate conditions and you'll be quite satisfied.

*I would also like to point out that for those of you who own a 2Cruel that is a tremendous piece for the middle and later part of a block. It is a lot cleaner, and creates much more angle down lane. You can drill up a Talon with a similar layout (consult your pro shop technician) and have an exceptional 1-2 punch for heavy oil/tournaments. The Talon will dominate the fresh and the 2Cruel will handle the transition with ease. I am personally going to look into this as I feel the 2Cruel will be more handy for me with this latest addition.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qtugVptfaOg&feature=youtu.be
Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: themagician on December 08, 2012, 07:03:27 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=jtSdNKaUUC0

LANE CONDITION
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS

Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: sportshot on December 09, 2012, 10:46:33 PM

Ball Specs:
Motiv Raptor Talon
Solid Reactive
2000 Grit Sanded
Asymmetric Core
Layout  65x4.5x75 (no balance hole)

Bowler Specs:
Right Hand. PAP 5 Over 3/4 up
Rev Rate 275. Tilt 20. Rotation 50.
Speed off hand 18
Review:
The New Motiv Raptor Talon is hook in a box.  My Raptor P7’s hook a bunch, but the Talon is 3-5 boards more. The main difference I see is that the Talon reads the lane much sooner than the P7 but keeps the same backend move. Some balls that read too quickly burn out and don’t have enough “fuel” in them to hit. The Raptor Talon does not seem to have this problem. That being said you will need head oil for this ball to perform its best.  We have also found this ball works well with pin up or pin down drillings. I used the Talon on some flat Kegel patterns and it seemed to love the longer patterns as long as I went up the boards.  This is a nice addition to the Motiv line and with the biggest hook rate given by Bowling this Month magazine you can’t go wrong if you are looking for hook.
The hit and pin carry of this ball is very strong. The Talon even carries light hits nicely. This is probably due to the backend this ball has. The backend is strong for a dull ball that reads the pattern early. The Raptor Talon is the top of the hook chart for Motiv and may be the strongest ball in production at this time.  This ball is predictable as most dull balls are, and is made for heavy oil. Sport shots will be made easier by using the Raptor Talon. The ball has a great logo and color. This color was used on the first Primal and looks even meaner on the Talon.
Summary:
Early read with strong backend motion.
Excellent hit and carry, even on light hits.
A great ball for heavy oil.
Another nice addition to the Motiv lineup.
This is a great piece to have if you bowl on wet lanes or tournaments with longer patterns.
Glenn
PBA Member
Motiv Staff
Turbo Staff
Video Link – http://youtu.be/E1FLMZOSDfo
Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: jrob857 on December 09, 2012, 11:04:24 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 41

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Review:

The Raptor Talon by Motiv is the latest high performance ball to come out. Bowlers This Month or BTM labeled this ball as an “oil monger” and they were not lying. This ball is a beast when it hits the lane; oil and the pins do not stand a chance when the Raptor Talon is rolling down the lane. The Raptor Talon features Motiv’s proven low RG Predator core that revs easy down the lane that produces a massive track flare and then you combine that with the new Fusion Solid Reactive shell, The Raptor Talon starts to hook and never stops. Only thing that stops the bowling ball is the pin decks. If you want a ball that hooks that is very controllable and hits the pins with such authority then this is the ball for you, the Raptor Talon by Motiv.

INNER CORE: PREDATOR
COVERSTOCK: FUSION SOLID REACTIVE
FINISH: 2000 GRIT SANDED
15# SPECS: RG: 2.46, DIFF: .060

Comments:

What can I say but what BTM said about the Raptor Talon is true, this beast is an oil monger. What I love about this ball is I finally have something that I can get through the heads on any oil condition because the Raptor Talon is just so dominate in oil, it’s like oil can’t stop this ball from crushing the pocket and that’s not my favorite part about this ball. My favorite part about this ball is no matter where you stand on the lane, this ball never quits. The continuation that the Raptor Talon brings is just something I have never seen in a bowling ball. In other words, this ball never quits and still has authority to blast all ten in the pit. If you want a ball that hooks and never quits, then the Raptor Talon is the ball for you.

I recommend this ball for all types and style bowlers. Low and medium rev players can be able to throw this ball for all three games on THS league bowling, while high rev players will only be able to throw it 1, maybe 2 games, but an excellent ball for conditions.

Motiv Staff Player,
John Robertson
www.motivbowling.com


Likes: How control the hook is, hitting power, best continuation ball I have ever own.

Dislikes: None


Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: mattyg3535 on December 19, 2012, 07:35:39 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xdWipbdPe1E (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xdWipbdPe1E)
My info is in the Video.
     The Raptor Talon is a more aggressive version of the Raptor.  It uses the same core but the cover is like having sheetrock screws drilled into the track.  The ball will not cover the whole lane, unless it is covered in oil, but it reads SO HARD.  There are basically only a few times you can use a ball this strong.  My fear is that bowlers will buy this ball and say it isn't great when they throw it on lower volumes and  don't see it cover 40 boards.  I found it to be very aggressive in the fronts.  On sport conditions where my benchmark (Track 716T) was washing out, the Talon was going through the face.  The further left I moved the further left I had to move my breakpoint as to retain enough energy.  On the wrong conditions you WILL NOT like the reaction of this ball.  On the house shot I was surprised how this ball worked.  Almost the opposite of what I thought.  I started a little deeper and used my regular release.  Game 1 was nothing special.  As the lanes transitioned and some carry down from the other bowlers got in front of me, the Talon went on the hunt.  I had as much as 5 boards at the breakpoint once the lanes changed.  Others were getting skid and washouts and I had the whole lane.  I only added a little tilt to my release to clear the very front of the lane and the Talon did the rest.
If you TRULY bowl on heavy oil this ball cannot be beat!  You just have to be honest with yourself or you will not like this ball.  Truly a great piece of equipment in the right hands on the right conditions.
Title: Raptor Talon - Oil Eater
Post by: nmbr1sun99 on December 20, 2012, 08:29:41 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 42

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes:Recovery, Angle, Opens the lane, multiple layers of attack

Dislikes: Color


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

Ball Lay out: 70 x 5 x 35
PAP: 5 5/8 right 1/8 up
Ball speed: 19 - 20
Rev rate: 450

The Raptor Talon in a remarkable heavy oil or fresh pattern ball. Out of the box I did notice that the ball was not responding as well as I hoped, so I hit it with an old 800 abralon pad to cut the surface and that was when the Talon began to soar and shred the lanes. As a high rev player, I was very happy to see how responsive the ball is. I really enjoyed the fact that I can ease off the ball and it will actually respond better than fully coming through the ball. This saves my strength and stamina for when I need to begin to move around the lane and that is when the fun and being with really letting this ball fly.

Talon v Scream: The Talon easily reads the mid lanes a lot earlier than the Scream. You can see the strong arcing motion begin to set up where the Scream will push a couple feet further down lane. Also, I was able to stand about 8 board left of the Scream to play more of the lane and stay out away from the breakdown of other bowlers on the pairs.

Talon v 2Cruel: Both of these balls are very strong, however, the Talon is just a beast. I was 5 board left from where I throw my 2Cruel and was able to open up the lanes. With both balls being assymetrical, you do see a similar ball motion down the lane. What I have noticed is that the 2Cruel sets up a little later than the Talon on the fresh and heavy oil patterns I have bowled on.

Recommendations: I highly recommend this ball for anyone looking to tackle heavy oil. This ball can and will fit nicely into anyone game. For anyone who is a high rev player i would recommend a layout similar to mine. Being able to ease off the ball and watch it arc across the lane like it was a 3rd game broken down shot just amazes me.

Thank you for taking your time to read this review

Brandon Joseph
Motiv Staff Member
Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: Motiv Girl on December 24, 2012, 10:16:50 PM
My video for the MOTIV  Raptor Talon.I hope you enjoy.And I hope  the video helps.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=38hhmzjpiaE&list=HL1356408605&feature=mh_lolz (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=38hhmzjpiaE&list=HL1356408605&feature=mh_lolz)
Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: Npahr on January 06, 2013, 06:39:49 PM
The new addition to the Raptor line for MOTIV has unprecedented strength and continuation on the heaviest of oil patterns! The new Raptor Talon uses the proven Predator core from all of the other raptors and introduces the new Fusion Solid Reactive coverstock. This combination of proven core strength and a new coverstock that can handle large amounts of oil creates the strongest ball MOTIV has released to date!The Talon revs up in the midlane stronger than any other ball I have seen yet and still continues down lane and through the pins. The low rg (2.46) and high differential (.060) of the predator core is an early revving core with an extremely strong, continuous motion on the backend. The new Fusion Solid Reactive coverstock on the Talon comes 2000 grit sanded out of box and is plenty strong for any heavy oil pattern. If you are looking for a strong, heavy rolling ball to combat the heaviest and longest of oil patterns then look no further then the new Raptor Talon! See your local pro shop to get your hands on this new release today!

Nick Pahr

MOTIVated Staff Member

Get MOTIVated!
Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: jumhowar on January 10, 2013, 06:56:41 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: Onefrombills on January 10, 2013, 11:24:12 PM
MOTIV Bowling Raptor Talon

CONDITION: HEAVY OIL
The Raptor Talon features the proven low RG Predator core, which is an asymmetric beast having a .060 primary differential and .015 intermediate on the 15# model.  The core revs easily and produces massive track flare.  The Raptor Talon encases the Predator core with our new Fusion Solid Reactive shell, which comes out of the box with a 2000 grit sanded finish.  It starts to hook in the oil and does not stop.  There is no quit in this ball!  The power through the pins is incredible!

Drill Layout/Pattern
Pin is under the ring finger with the CG kicked out

Grit and/or Polishes used
Ball comes at 2000
This ball is very strong and is truly a hook monster, but please remember this is an early hooking ball so it picks up the mid lane more than the Raptor P7….I found using this ball on patterns like Yellow Brick Rd and Bourbon Street I can stand on 23 get the ball at the arrows at 12/13 and at the break point the ball has to be at 7/8. When I would get the ball to 10/11 I saw the ball sliding into the pocket and saw many comer pins and 8-10’s.

Bowler Specifications
Right Handed - Power Stroker
Ball Speed – 15 mph
Rev rate 320
Positive Axis Point (PAP) 5 right ½ up

Brian Hirsch
Motiv Staff Member
Motivbowling.com
Title: Raptor Talon
Post by: toverbey on January 13, 2013, 12:59:37 PM
Lane Condition:
   40ft THS on Brunswick ProLane
   Medium-Heavy Volume

Layout:
   5” x 5”
   65 x 5” x 40

If you need a ball that has no problem finding the friction through even the heaviest of volumes, look no farther.  The Raptor Talon is the newest addition to Motiv’s line that gives you unparalleled control in oil without sacrificing any hitting power going through the pins.  The new Fusion Solid cover stock (finished at 2000 grit) combined with the aggressive Predator core (2.46 RG, .060 Diff) creates a very strong, early motion.  I laid my Talon out a bit on the weaker side based on my (happy) experience with the Raptor P7.  Even with this layout the core is very strong and perfectly complements the aggressive nature of the coverstock.  The moment I release this ball I can see it trying to gain traction on the lane.  The midlane motion is very pronounced; the white and yellow logos make watching this ball flare extremely easy.  While the backend is understandably smooth and controllable, the power through the pins is nothing short of amazing.  To date there have been no issues about this ball hooking on any pattern I have thrown it on.  Raw hook is what the Motiv Raptor Talon is all about.  Shred the lane!

Trent Overbey
In the Zone Pro Shop
Motiv Staff
www.motivbowling.com
Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: rickzakrajsek on January 17, 2013, 12:23:00 PM
LANE CONDITION


COMMENTS

Likes:Raptor Talon
With a HOOK rating of 57 by BTM the expectations for this ball were very high. A tall order to say the least to meet those lofty rating numbers..the highest ever posted. The thing to keep in mind is that Hook doesn’t always mean –Go Left young man- Hook means the ability for a ball to consistently read and react under the oiliest of conditions, the ability for a ball to grab the lane and not skid past the break point while still retaining energy to knock down ten pins. On most typical house shots he who can throw it right scores!!! This ball goes beyond that by leaps and bounds as it’s a MONSTER in the oil. Even on the heaviest of patterns it provides the ability to read and react. The Raptor Talon can provide you with that extra advantage you need early on when you need that extra traction. The talon allows me the ability to continue to play areas of the lane on heavy oil conditions where other mid to heavy oil balls would not. Trust me when I say this ball hooks..but don’t expect it to go directly left because that’s not the shape it was designed for!!! If you got oil the Talon is the ball for you!

Rick Zakrajsek
Motiv Staff Ohio
www.motivbowing.com





PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: Motiv Girl on January 21, 2013, 02:04:22 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

Raptor Talon Ball Review
My information: Ball Speed:15mph average .Rev Rate:285 average.
Axis Rotation:45 degrees. Axis Tilt: 15 degrees.

                                Ball Specs Information
Core: Predator,   Type: Asymmetrical,   Coverstock:Fusion Solid Reactive
RG:2.46  15 lbs,  Diff: .060 15lbs,   Int md diff:.015 15lbs
Colors: Grey/Black with yellow and white logos
Surface of ball tested:OOB 2000 grit sanded.
Drilling of ball tested: 60 X 30 @3 ½”  P3 x-hole 2” deep.

                               Lanes tested:Synthetic
First off.This ball is as adverstised,an oil monster.Unless you have
a ball speed of over 20 mph,keep it off dry lanes.

I used the Raptor Talon on a 42’ heavier oil sport pattern during a tournament.
When the 2 Cruel never bit early enough,the Talon really bit in the midlane.
I used the Talon all 9 games for the tournament.

The Raptor Talon uses a lot of energy in the first 2/3 of the lane.The
Talon really starts it’s heavy roll as soon at it meets the lane.
During the tournament the early roll in the heads and midlanes was
a plus.It enabled me to have some room for error if I missed at the
bottom of the swing.On this longer and heavier volume pattern,the
Talon had a very smooth arcing motion at the breakpoint.The response
to the friction was fast.

During the first 3 games I lined up at 16/7/5.The Talon really shined .
It helped me control the lane.I could miss right and still have  the  ball
recover.This recovery help loosen the swing,knowing that you could
miss and still get the ball back to the pocket.

When the lanes started the transition stage during 4-6,All I had to do was
Move about 5/3/2 which put me around 21/10/7.Now I had oil for hold
And more friction to the right to create bumper area.Which really
helped the pin carry.Now I had extra entry angle to the pocket.


When the lanes opened up on this pattern,during games 7-8,I just moved
4/2/2 left which put me at 24/12/9.I just kept the ball in the oil and
increased my speed.The buffer to the right gave me all the area I needed.


The Talon was all the ball I needed.Early roll,great midlane revs,and a heavy
roll at the breakpoint.But no over-reaction at the breakpoint.
This ball will help speed dominate and rev challenged bowlers when they
encounter heavy oil.

On a 42' house shot that is blened,the Raptor Talon worked great inside
the oil line.Just chase the oil and it works great.But during the middle
of the third game this ball starts to be too much.This is were the Primal Scream
came into play.

Overall this ball is a plus for me.Especially when I find oil.
I can see the speed and rev challenged using this ball on oilier house shots.



Angela Wlit/AKA MOTIV GIRL
MOTIV Staff member
http://www.motivbowling.com/products/balls/raptor-talon.html (http://www.motivbowling.com/products/balls/raptor-talon.html)
Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: dugbark on January 30, 2013, 03:34:20 PM
Bowler Stats-Ball Speed 15.5 MPH Rev Rate-App 280 Axis of Rotation-30 to 60 degrees Axis Tilt 9 degrees Right Handed PAP-5 over, 1/4" up

The Motiv Raptor Talon is designed for heavy and long oil patterns according to Motv. The ball is as advertised and more for me on fresh house shots also. It pushes through the heads surprisingly well on fresh house shots.  The ball revs in the mid lanes and make a strong arcy continuous move at the end of the pattern.  In addition, the core/cover combo allows me to move deeper then normal for me with oilers.  I have had the most success playing up the boards with the Talon until the shot transitions.  The Core of the Ball, the Predator Core, revs early with a lot of track flare. I am able up to play up the boards as long as the friction is far down lane, or swing it out to the dry until their is no longer enough head oil to get it down the lane.  I am also able to tug the ball into the soup on house shots and it still manages to carry.  The carry of the ball is excellent as the surface, for me, seems to match up much better to the core then either the original Raptor or the Raptor Attack.  I know when to put the ball away as I will begin leaving weak corner pins, no matter what adjustment I make.  I have used this ball on heavier oiled lanes/long sport patterns and was able to get the ball to pick up early and create more angle then players with more hand.   I think it will be a great match up for me early in long format tournaments on wood (with higher friction), league nights on heavier centers and on longer length/higher volume patterns. I am excited about my arsenal for Nationals now, as I have a very logical progression from the Talon to the 2 Cruel to the Venom Strike to the Sigma Tour to the Backdraft.  The Raptor Talon cover is very tuneable and with tweaking the over/under reaction on the fresh is minimized.

If you use this ball as designed, that is on heavy or long oil patterns it will be a very effective ball. To throw it on a burnt conditions will require a healthy polish and a longer drill pattern and a lot of speed.  With the Raptor Talon Motiv has a piece of equipment that is stronger then the original Raptor or the 2Cruel.

I'm very colorblind but the Neomark Graphic makes the ball very pleasing to the eye and give it good shelf appeal.

Dug Barker
Motiv Staffer
BTM Youth Writer
Ken Bowl Lanes Youth Director
Positive Coaching Alliance Double Goal Coach
BWAA Member
SWBA Member
USBC Silver
2003 GLBA Youth Coach of the Year
Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: AGbowling on February 11, 2013, 04:26:07 PM
Rg - 2.46

Differential - .60

Cover - Fusion Solid Reactive

Core - Predator


Having trouble at your local house when they seem a little tighter than usual or maybe when you go out of town to an unfamiliar tournament where you cant get the ball to hook. Worry no more the Raptor Talon has arrived.

With its low 2.46 rg and .60 differential matched with the proven predator core and the brand new hyper aggressive Fusion Solid Reactive Coverstock you can hook this baby on ice. Heavy rolling, continuous and consistent this new release from Motiv was given the highest hook rating EVER by bowling this month magazine. There is no amount of oil that this ball cant conquer.

The Raptor Talon gives me the best look on long fresh patterns over 40 feet in length. This ball is easily the strongest ball ive ever put in my hands and no matter what the pattern may be I know that its going to hook every single time and demolish the pins. The Talons strong roll and continuation through the pins will surely catch your competitors eye on the lanes and in the shop. Head out to your local pro shop and get your hands on one and start turning heads. Get MOTIVated!

Aaron Gall
Motiv Staff
www.motivbowling.com
Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: hfkwill on February 19, 2013, 08:48:42 AM
Talk about hook, talk about the Raptor Talon. This ball is an absolute animal on heavy oil. MOTIV’s intent with the release of the Raptor Talon is just that, a ridiculous amount of hook! In fact, Bowling This Month gave it the highest hook rating to date. This ball also looks sweet with its black and grey color with silver and yellow Neo-Marks.

I have drilled two Raptor Talons to date. The first Talon I drilled 40 x 4.5” x 60 (pin out of ring finger, hole on P3). This ball is very versatile depending on the surface I choose to use on it. At 2000-4000 I can use it on a majority of fresh oil patterns. Taking the surface down to 500-1000 its cover stock strength is revealed and it will hook a bunch more! The second Raptor Talon I drilled was 50 x 4.25” x 70 (pin under ring with a big shift and a hole down on P3) and this is by far the strongest bowling ball I have ever put into my hand.

In comparison to other bowling balls in the MOTIV line, the Raptor Talon will cover the most boards on the lane. In contrast to the other Asymmetrical balls in the MOTIV Line, the Raptor Talon hooks much earlier and gives the bowler a strong yet controllable reaction.  Stop by your local pro shop and get MOTIVated!

Here is a link to my Raptor Talon in action:
http://youtu.be/0xkSMFxrkNg


William Welch
Hollywood, FL
10 Back Pro Shops Manager
MOTIV Staff
Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: Bronson on February 21, 2013, 11:16:31 AM
Looking for Hook. The Motiv Rapton Talon is an excellent ball for heavy oil and fresh house shots. With the Predator core this ball has a very easy to read continuous reaction.  The ball reads the lane early allowing you to move inside and play the middle of the lane on a fresh house shot. It easily gets through the heads which is especially beneficial on wood lanes. This ball has tremendous pin carry allowing you to score higher.

I have used this ball on various conditions from a medium oil pattern at 41 foot and a heavy oil pattern at 45 foot and on both wood and synthetic surfaces.

I am right handed and throw the ball at 17mph. I use the Motiv Power Gel Scuff to keep the ball clean and ready to react at all times.

Not only have I had great success with this ball but my customers have also. I have drilled this ball for various styles of bowlers. I have bowlers that have struggled to hook the ball now have all the hook they wanted. Other bowlers can now play an inside line and count on the hook they desired to crush the pocket.

If you want a ball that hooks then this is a great choice. Thank you Motiv for another excellent ball.

Bronson Schalizki
“Motiv Staff Member”
www.motivbowling.com
Title: Re: Raptor Talon
Post by: BobDaBowler on March 06, 2013, 12:47:24 AM
The Raptor Talon features the proven low RG Predator core, which is an asymmetric beast having a .060 primary differential and .015 intermediate on the 15# model. The core revs easily and produces massive track flare. The Raptor Talon encases the Predator core with our new Fusion Solid Reactive shell, which comes out of the box with a 2000 grit sanded finish. It starts to hook in the oil and does not stop. There is no quit in this ball! The power through the pins is incredible!

Review:
The New Raptor Talon by Motiv will give ANY bowler all the hook they can handle!!! This thing flat out hooks from start to finish!  My Raptor Talon is drilled 55X4.5X50.  This ball needs oil and unfortunately I dont not bowl in a house where I get to throw my Raptor Talon to often unless I play the extreme inside part of the lane.  However,  I have gotten the chance to throw it on some longer and higher volume sport compliant conditions and I must say I was very impressed!! This ball makes it very hard for me to over throw through the break point because its always trying to hook and the ball never stops.  I love it!  Its one of the only balls I have ever thrown on fresh shark where I felt I could keep my normal ball speed (17-18) and still have no problem getting the ball to recover in the backend.  Theres a reason Bowling This Month gave the Raptor Talon the highest hook rating ever with a 57!!! This ball is simply a hook monster! IF you need a ball for heavy oil then look no further than the MOTIV Raptor Talon! Check out my Raptor Talon on a typical house shot condition!   
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wrGBuImbTDg Get MOTIVated!!!!! Thanks!

Bobby Middleton Jr
MOTIV Staff Member
www.motivbowling.com