BallReviews

Reviews => Motiv => Topic started by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM

Title: SR2
Post by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM
- INNER CORE: Sigma
- COVERSTOCK: MOTIVat-R
- FINISH: 2000 Wet Sand / Power Gel Polish
- RG: 16#-2.46 15#-2.47 14#-2.51 13#-2.57 12#-2.63
- RG DIFFERENTIAL: 16#-.044 15#- .047 14#-.040 13#-.032 14#-.024
- FLARE POTENTIAL: 5"+ (Medium-High)
- HOOK POTENTIAL: 41 (Medium-High)
- LENGTH: 25 (Medium)
- DESCRIPTION: The MOTIV SR2 is engineered to destroy pins. The Sigma core produces a low RG for easy revs and a high differential for serious track flare. Combine this with MOTIVat-R reactive urethane on the cover and you have a deadly weapon of destruction in the palm your hand.
Sigma Inner Core
The Sigma core is the mechanism of destruction at the heart of the SR2. It provides a low RG for easy revs and a high differential for powerful track flare. The 15# SR2 has an RG of 2.47 and a .047 diff.
MOTIVat-R Reactive Urethane
The MOTIVat-R shell on the SR2 has never been combined with the Sigma core before. This cover provides a smooth, but very strong backend reaction. The SR2 is sanded to 2000 at the factory and then brought to a luster with Power Gel Polish.
Reverb Outer Core
The Reverb outer core of the SR2 is a low-density polyester resin with pin piercing hardness and strength. Rather than absorb impact energy, this outer core reverberates energy as it explodes through the pins.
NeoMark Reactive Urethane Graphics
The SR2 jet black coverstock is integrated with orange and white NeoMark logo graphics. These graphics are also formulated from MOTIVat-R reactive urethane so you have a consistent reaction 360 around the ball surface.
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: BuddiesProShopcom-Chris on November 03, 2009, 01:46:51 PM
PAP - 4 3/4
Layout: 4 x 3 1/4 (up 2 1/2) or Dual Angle 60*4*45

This ball is the best of all the balls Motiv has made. Reminds me of another Black ball that was made in Michigan in the mid 90's. Strong midlane arc with continuation thru backend and the pins. This ball allows me to play more in the track like other medium to lower rev players to start the night. I also threw the ball in league on the Scorpion and Viper Patterns. I could play closer to the gutter to start the night and as the lanes broke down from everyone playing there I just stepped left a little and stayed in the same zone when others in my league had to move much deeper because their balls hooked early. The SR2 never quit in the back and hit amazingly hard. This ball looks like it will make the bag.

--------------------
Chris
http://BuddiesProShop.com
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: mick31 on November 14, 2009, 05:19:05 PM
Been a Motiv fan since they came out w/the TX1. Really like the way they rev up and make a strong, continuous move to the pocket.  The new SR2 is a great addition to their line.  It combines the aggressive coverstock of the TR2 w/the hard rev'ing action of the SX1 core.  Excellent combination!!  I have mine drilled 4 1/2", 50 x 50 w/pin under ring finger.  Took alittle of the shine off 'cause I wanted it for med-heavy oil.  Clean through the heads (like all their products) w/pronounced mid-lane read and move to the pocket.  This is the ball I would start out on for most PBA and sport shots however, it works great on the house condition if used in the out-of-box finish.  Have 2 customers the are Motiv exclusive and they love the SR2.  Forgiving when thrown right a few boards yet holds the oil line well when tugged.  Plan on drilling another one w/pin above my bridge and CG slightly right of center.  
Should be a monster on the backend.   Congrats to the poeple in Muskegon for another fine bowling ball!
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: Brett A Spangler on November 15, 2009, 11:49:58 PM
Layout: 5 1/2 x 5 1/2 with a 2" pin to val buffer.

Undoubtedly, the SR2 is a must have for bowlers looking for a versatile, aggressive piece of bowling equipment.  While it can easily make a move late on the lane with a high gloss, a tweak to the shell will draw the breakpoint closer and smooth the reaction a great deal.  Like all other Motiv covers, it's versatility is astounding.

Though it is not touted as the most aggressive ball in the Motiv line, on many conditions it will cross the most boards.  When left at box condition the TR2 will bleed energy far earlier and provide a very smooth look.  The SR2 is shiny and therefore retains a great deal more energy and spends it much more quickly.  As a result, when there is not enough oil in the heads, the SR2 will clear the front and boom whereas the TR2 will not cross quite as many boards.

While I've only had the SR2 for a short while it has already impressed me.  On PBA Chameleon on old synthetic lanes I was able to play directly up the hang spot and get the SR2 to pick up consistently.  On Shark the SR2 is the best option because it is clean and creates enough angle from the inside.  

Short oil patterns are not the best for this ball in my opinion.  Perhaps rotationally challenged bowlers would enjoy the SR2 on short oil.  For me the best options are weak GT1's and any SX1.  

SR2 is an absolutely vital addition to the Motiv line.  It provides superior hook with the perfect blend of control and angularity.
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: Motiv Girl on November 16, 2009, 11:53:53 AM

SR2 Review.

My information:
Ball Speed:15-16mph. Rev Rate:250-265 rpms
Axis rotation:45 degrees. Axis tilt15 degrees.

Ball tested specs:
Pin up-above middle finger.5 1/2"x 4 1/2",No X-hole.
Pin down-under ring finger.5"x4",No X-Hole,

The SR2:
The MOTIVat-R cover(from the TR2)and the Sigma core(from the SX1)
creates a dynamic combination unseen so far from MOTIV.
When the guys from Spring Lake went to work on a ball to fill the
the gap in the MOTIV line-up,they really did the word "angular"justice.

The symmetrical core of the SR2 is a lower RG. and medium differential
helps the ball clear the heads and picks up the revs a little later
in the mid-lanes.
The very hard angular back end of the SR2 is great for carrydown on
medium to medium-oil on medium to longer patterns,39'-44'.
After around three games is when this ball really shines on this type
of patterns.
The angular nature of the SR2 could be a hindrance for higher rev
players on medium length, oilier house shots with fresh back ends,
they may see too much jump off the back of the pattern.But they will
love this ball when they encounter push.
When the SR2 starts to turn the corner there is no quit on the back end,
especially on the mediums patterns.
The SR2 goes longer than the GT1,but will turn the corner on push
better than the GT1 when encountering heavier carrydown.
The 4"-5" of flare I got helped me keep the ball from burning energy too
early ,which helps create the angular nature that is so great on carrydown.

The overall lane hook was less than the TR2 and more than the GT1.
But the total hook is not what this ball was designed for.It was designed
for a more angular look on push,and you do not want total hook
when trying to create back end.

I got the best look with the SR2 during a tourn.( modified sport), with a longer
length,medium volume pattern.When the lanes had about five games bowled
on them, and your were forced to move deeper .The SR2 allowed me
to move in and play fourth and fifth arrow,this ball made it to the
breakpoint with ease and still turn the corner without ever quitting.

Overall the SR2 is the perfect ball for anyone needing a ball to handle
carrydown, when everything else they have is burning up too
early, or not corning when running into carrydown.
Thank you MOTIV, Angel Wilt: Staff Member

--------------------
MOTIV GIRL
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: joshs on November 27, 2009, 02:14:15 PM
Surface: box
pin placement: 4 1/2in
    this puts the pin about 3/4in above my middle finger

This ball is a gem of a ball!  I have a higher rev rate as my "a" game but can back off the revs when needed.  This ball gets through the lane very well and has a strong move off the breakpoint.  I wouldn't call this a skid snap ball but it will definitly turn the corner when you have to move left and get the ball to the right.  
This ball, with this layout and surface, fits nicely under my GT1's and TR2's and above the rest of the stuff.  The way I like to describe it:  it gets through the lane like the Sx1 but has that strong move on the back of the TR2.  
This ball is perfect for the league bowler because it's strong enough and has enough backend to satisfy those who like to stand left throw right.  The beauty of this ball though is the controll that you get that you don't get from other angular balls than can be over/under.  This is that benchmark ball that allows me to read the lanes and determine if I need to go up or down in ball.  
Another GREAT release MOTIV!
--------------------
"Every Strike brings me closer to my next homerun"
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: insidedrive on December 14, 2009, 02:15:18 PM
Stats:
Right Hander
Tweener
50 x 4 x 30 Dual Angle Layout

I was fortunate enough to receive one of these bad boys last week and drilled it up and thew 6 games with it.  I currently have the GT1, TX1, SX1, and QZ1 so I was able to compare the 5.

The first and foremost comment I'd like to make about the SR2 is the hitting power.  This is easily the most powerful hitting ball I've ever thrown.  The GT1 was a monster that I never thought could be beat for hitting power but the SR2 does it.  The carry is incredible and there's just a sound that only the Motiv equipment can make, and the SR2 does it like it's in dolby surround.

In terms of ball reaction, I found the SR2 to be a smooth and predictable angular ball.  It has very good midlane read and makes a hard but predictable move off the breakpoint.  It's about 5-7 feet longer than the GT1 but with more angular flip on the backend.  Usually with polished angular balls you run into a lot of over/under however with this coverstock it's not so much snappy off the breakpoint as it is controllable.  I was able to get unbelievable forgiveness to the right and in the middle of the lane the Sigma core revs and makes the turn if you miss left.  

The area of the lane that I found to be the most fun was just inside the track area.  I could play straight up 5 or more in the track and get an amazing look but because of the strength and characteristics of this ball it definitely looks good with a little belly to it.  The best line I found with this was crossing 10-12 at the arrows and getting it to the 6 or 7 board at the breakpoint.  From there I just continued moving left as the shot broke down and didn't need to give it any more hand.

In comparison to the other equipment, it's longer and stronger on the backend than the GT1, it's much stronger and flippier than the TX1, has a similar look but with more angular power than the SX1, and gives you the strength and angularity that the QZ1 can't offer until the shot has broken down.

Originally the GT1 was the first ball out of my bag each week, now he'll be lonely when the SR2 takes the spotlight!

Do yourself a favor and get your next benchmark ball, the SR2!

Reaction Video Link:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e6BNVx8WVSU
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: buildinazuk on December 16, 2009, 10:13:11 PM
After buying this ball I don't think I will be buying another Motiv product.  This thing does not hook like people are saying it does.  Even sanded it down to 1000 grit and couldn't get it to do much.  I was forced to play the ball straight down the gutters.  I am extremely disappointed with the SR2.  Looks like I will be staying with my 2nd Dimension.
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: aulbyfan on December 29, 2009, 03:54:17 PM
Layout:  Pin under my fingers.  5 x 3 3/8.

I first had it box finish but for me it went a little to long for the conditions I was using it on which is long patterns like the shark pattern and also the world open and US Open.  So I hit my track with a 1000 abralon pad and it made such a big difference.  It has a little more back end then my TR2 which is drilled the same as my SR2, and it is a great one two punch and I have great success with these two balls.  With the SR2 I have shot a 300 and also shot 806 with this ball.  I recommend this ball on long patterns.  On short patterns this ball is a little to much ball.  I have another SR2 and it is drilled stacked leverage and box finished and it is great on house shots and also on flat shots.  

This is such a great ball and I recommend anyone to get this ball because it will be a great ball in your arsenal.  GET MOTIVATED!!!!!!
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: Zef Olantar on January 02, 2010, 09:53:16 PM
Punched this one up this morning as well with the pin 1/2" above and to the right of the ring finger.  Stacked layout 5" X 4 1/2" with no extra hole.  Again.....the Motivato-R coverstock is much stronger than the original Motivator-X that was on the TX1 and SX1.  The SR2 has the same Sigma core that was in the SX1, but with the coverstock change you get a much stronger reaction in the backend.  When this one hits the dry.....LOOK OUT.....it's really making a bee-line for the pocket.

Awesome power going through the pins. Left two solid 9 pins and a solid 8 in the first game I used it yet still posted a solid 234 straight out of the box with no practice!  The other thing that needs to be said about MOTIV balls is about their looks....with the NeoMark-graphics, these balls ALL just look awesome.

Now I just need to get some MOTIV bags to compliment these awesome marbles !!!
--------------------
"You may not like it now........but you will LEARN to like it!"

George P.
PRO SHOP 300
Winnipeg, MB
CANADA
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: kenbowl300 on January 21, 2010, 09:27:07 PM
right handed
high rev rate
pin below ring finger 4 3/4 pap 60 degrees

This is my new favorite ball from MOTIV!!!!  I am very pleased with the length of this ball on league shots and the US open pattern I bowled on.  I have shot 750 out of the box and 1040 in a doubles tournament.

It has good backend and length on league shots.  I have it drilled the same as my TX1 and this is longer and stronger.   I want to get another one and drill it a little stronger to see if I can get more backend flip.  I think this layout would also work out well on the Nationals pattern since it is still archy.  Oh, yeah, boy does it hit hard.  


Thanks Motiv,

Ken Kempf
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: coasterp on February 01, 2010, 08:12:35 AM
Just punched this up Friday (1/29/10). Pin is above ring finger slightly to the left. Cg is about mid grip and out to left about 2". Layout meant for length with a good backend move.

Got to throw it Sat. morn. before heading off to a tournament. The morning condition was HEAVY carry down (lanes not oiled yet)with flooded middle. Heads were a little choppy but were still there. There was also a little bounce area around 10. Lanes are synthetic. The SR easily cleared the heads and then rolled up very strong. I was standing about 30 looking 15. Had to keep speed a little soft due to the carrydown. Not what you typically want to due with drier heads. The SR ate this up. I was very surprised and happy at how easily the ball cleared the heads and still had plenty of energy for the backend move. Now off to the tournament. It was a modified house shot (they did not give details) Track in the heads was hooking early. Moving left there was plenty of oil. Backs were clean but not too jumpy. Older wood lanes. I stood on 25 and was looking 15-17. This was left of where most were playing. The SR floated through the heads and then gave a strong arcy roll to the pocket. Carry was amazing all day. The ball drew alot of attention, as no one else had the look I did. Onto Sun. and another tournament. I'm guessing this was a Shark like pattern (again, they did not tell us). Middles were where you needed to play. Outside of 10 was OB death. Wooden lanes in good condition. I stood on 40 and looked 22-24. I was a little nervous that this would not be a good line for the SR but it proved me wrong. I figured with it being so controllable, that a deeper inside line would not be good with this ball. I not only lead the squad but shot high score of the day. The SR2 has proved to be a great addition to my arsenal. I'm now looking at other motiv balls, as the GT1 I have had for a while, along with the SR2, are a great combo for the heavier stuff. I now need something for the drier conditions and am considering the SX1 or TX1. I'll let you now how it works out.
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: GBALLZ on February 17, 2010, 11:52:34 AM
I Have had this ball for 2 month's now and I can honestly say it is the best ball I have ever had. I went from a 4 ball roller to a 2 ball tote, My SR2 and my Nitro for 10 pins. This ball gives me so much control and hits like a SOB.

other balls: Onyx, Venom, roto grip, mars, black / blue hammer, Rhino, Nitro, black knight,
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: KidRevs855 on February 20, 2010, 12:03:34 AM
I drilled this ball with the pin above and a little to the right of my ring finger to where the pin is 4" away from pap cg is 1/4 inch right of center grip line. All I can say is wow. I have never had a ball roll like this in my life. I love how it is continuous on the back end and even through the pins. This ball allows me to play any part of the lane. I prefer to drop the ball around 25 and get it to 10 with this ball I can and it will not over react. I can also move right take a little hand out of the ball and play a more direct line. For any of you bowlers that are tired of equipment coming off the dry sideways. Buy a SR2 you will love it.
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: batbowler on February 27, 2010, 12:26:09 AM
My review:
I have found a new favorite ball and company! For those that haven't tried a ball from Motiv, try the SR2! I'm not on their staff or any company staff, but I have a pro shop and drill and test a lot of bowling balls! I drilled one SR2 and didn't realize how strong it was and used too strong of a layout! I went 30deg x 3-3/4" x 70deg pin below ring finger and weight hole on the P3 location. It read the midlane super strong and I didn't have the ball speed to keep it right of the head pin. I redrilled for a friend of mine and last week and he goes 720 and 727 with 279 and 268 in the two times he's used it. I drilled a new one.
Layout:
45deg x 3-1/4" x 25deg pin 3-3/8" above midline, above and right of ring finger. I placed a weight hole 6" right of grip center through cg past my val.
The ball is cleaner through the heads and makes a very pronounced moved at the break point. I drilled it today before going to bowl and first time using the ball I go 279-10 pin in the 7th frame, 248-had three nine counts: a 10  pin, 4 pin and 9 pin. I shoot 216 last game and rolled two bad shots, but also left another 9 pin, one 4 pin, two 10 pins. I only had one 8 count all night and the rest 9 counts or strikes. My series for the night was 743 for the first time using this ball and I've had trouble carrying the last several weeks using a Jigsaw Corner, Siege, Evil Siege and Wild Card. It's not that I haven't been hitting the pocket, just not get the carry! The Motiv stuff seem to hit the pins different, sound and messengers, and I'm drilling a QZ1 Purple tomorrow! Thanks to Jamie Ireland and Scott Wilbur at Tech-Line Products/Motiv for the help and information on their products!
All I can say is that I've been MOTIV-ATED!

--------------------
"Train a child up in the way they should go and when they are old they will "Get MOTIVated, be a MoRich Lane Master with a Big B and not turn from it.
Bruce Campbell
USBC Bronze Certified Coach
IBPSIA Certified Technician
Originator of the -35deg x 25 leverage drilling!
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: Jaydubbayu on March 28, 2010, 01:22:10 AM
I've shot about 15 games with my Sr2 now, so a review can be made now.
Little about bowler:
tweener
average ball speed: 17 mph
PAP distance: 4 1/2" right, 1/2" up

Little about ball:
15 lbs
Pin 4 1/2" from PAP, above ring finger
CG 2 1/2" from pin, kicked right a TAD.
Extra hole 3" right of thumb, 1/2" up.

Ok..  I've had this ball a while and I've bowled about 5 sets with it.  It's a great ball.  I started off without the extra hole, and after 2 sets with it, I had the holed drilled.  I bowl on a THS, with decent amount of oil on the outside boards (doesn't SCREAM back from there).  I was playing an inside/out angle with it, and when trying to keep it in the oil longer, it wouldn't finish.  After drilling the hole, I found it finshed better.  I'm able to play straighter up the boards with it, with a good ball speed, and the ball finishes hard.  I haven't had HUGE scores with it yet, as high series with it is 673, but there's been a few high 240's and 250's bowled with it.  I bowl once a week and it's hard to stay consistent.  Most low games bowled with this ball have been due to the BOWLER... Not the ball!  Overall, though, the ball gets through the heads fine every time, and finishes how it's supposed to.  HARD.  It makes a good move left, without being too extreme.  It's a controllable arc, with power.  I've had quite a few messengers with it.  There's been a few times where the shot forced me to stay outside, but with a faster ballspeed, like 18-19 mph.  With other bowling balls, I've had bad luck with that shot.  The ball doesn't lose energy when hitting the pocket with that ballspeed.  This is a rambling ball review, I know.  I would say that this is a great ball for most house shots that have medium oil.  As the oil breaks down on the heads, move inside and give it room out, and it'll still finish hard.  Great ball, and this isn't my last Motiv!
--------------------
Jason Winchester
Tweener from Cincy
7 300''s
High Series 792  
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: jt_shanks on June 11, 2010, 01:40:20 AM
Bowler:
Right Hand
Stroker
League Avg.: 183
Avg. Ball Speed - 14.8 mph
PAP - 5 1/8", up 1 1/8"
Revs: never bothered to calculate

Ball:
14#
Drill - Length+Leverage from Motiv's instructions
Pin - 11/16" straighr right of ring finger
CG - 7/8" right, 1/2" up center of grip
Finish - OOB
Orange Tenth Frame grips (goes well with the orange ball graphics)
15/16 oval thumb insert
No x-hole was needed

First Motiv ball and review, rolled 6 games so far with it. Very impressed by this ball. Normally I'm a Storm user, but have always wanted to check the new kids on the block. Carries light hits and Brooklyns well, and when it hits the pins, it sounds like a baseball bat hitting a watermelon. Ball came back with pin "skin" on it a few times.

I think I'm the only one in my town with a Motiv and have gotten a lot of oohs and ahhs from people when this baby rolls down the lane. Even my pro shop guy said he's going to check into Motiv's product line.

Definitely a fan. To coin a term,  I've been "MOTIVated".
--------------------


Jim
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: LegalizeIt on December 14, 2010, 12:47:45 PM
I am very frustrated with buildinazuk's negative of this fine Motiv product.  This ball has outstanding consistency and has been a key factor in my recent championship run in the greater Beaumont bowling league season.  buildinazuk's endorsement of the 2nd dimension ball is so very typical of the pretensiousness emanating from certain corners of our fine sport.  

Just when America is beginning to recognize the excellence of bowling, through films such as Kingpin and The Big Lebowski, a smug and self righteous review comes along and compromises all of the potential good will we have garnered as a community.

Imagine if the civil rights cause had been as self destructive as buildinazuk's attitude toward the fine folks at Motiv.  I challenge each and every one of our fine website's contributors to no longer voluntarily sit in the back of the sporting bus behind half assed sports like football and basketball.  The first step in this transformation is praising the strong product that Motiv has produced.

Title: Re: SR2
Post by: rhink551 on March 04, 2011, 07:23:23 PM
While I was buying balls for the medium conditions (see my other reviews), I caught my eye at a particular Motiv model - the SR2 - because I was hedging my bets to include a ball for the wet-medium to medium range instead of the medium to medium-light range as I had done with the other balls that I got.
 

Plus, I always wanted to try a Motiv ball ever since they came out years ago.  So this SR2 is my first Motiv.  I drilled a 4.5" x 3.5" layout with pin just above the ring finger and the mass bias just slightly right of the "strong" position (more like semi-strong).   Surface was reset to 4000 Abralon with polish.

 

When trying it out on the White and Blue patterns, the ball is already slightly too strong due to its lower RG core and its flare (the breakpoint appeared earlier than my Rising Star) but I can't believe how super-clean it is.   It revs and rolls in a strong continuous arc through the midlane & back end.     The way it looks as it spins is so pleasing to the eye becuase of its graphics markings that are integrated in its coverstock.

 

The next day I took it to another house with more oil in the THS pattern on Brunswick synthetic lanes.  Here my Rising Star would skid just a bit too far, this allows me to change up to the SR2.   The ball fits strongly in this condition by playing best on the down-and-in shot between the 3rd & 4th arrow.   The ball never stops !   It always seems to hit the pocket before it had a chance to roll out.   The ball is awfully good when playing deep.

 

Meanwhile, testing it on the outside shot, it already went left to Brooklyn (due to my slower speed).   I would need longer oil for this shot but I would rather stay inside.  If I wanted to use it for heavier oil patterns, I would simply change the surface back to 2000 Abralon.    The ball is very easy to tune to the pattern that you need to play it on.

For me, keeping it in 4000 Abralon, I am targeting wet-medium conditions.   This is my "ball up" from my other balls that are drilled for medium conditions; it'll keep me protected when there is unexpected heavier oil than my Rising Star could handle.

 

For my 2 cents, I will say that Motiv balls are HIGH QUALITY.   It can't hurt to have one on the side.   Just study the different models that Motiv have to offer and decide the best fit for your needs.    (If you wanted to throw a Motiv for really heavy oil, you'd select the TR2, for instance.)

 

 


"Hink"  -  Storm bowler with a few RotoGrips & Ebonites on the side - and one Hammer thrown in the kitchen sink   Plenty of competition in L'il Rhody if you know where to find it !
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: rhink551 on March 04, 2011, 07:23:50 PM
While I was buying balls for the medium conditions (see my other reviews), I caught my eye at a particular Motiv model - the SR2 - because I was hedging my bets to include a ball for the wet-medium to medium range instead of the medium to medium-light range as I had done with the other balls that I got.
 

Plus, I always wanted to try a Motiv ball ever since they came out years ago.  So this SR2 is my first Motiv.  I drilled a 4.5" x 3.5" layout with pin just above the ring finger and the mass bias just slightly right of the "strong" position (more like semi-strong).   Surface was reset to 4000 Abralon with polish.

 

When trying it out on the White and Blue patterns, the ball is already slightly too strong due to its lower RG core and its flare (the breakpoint appeared earlier than my Rising Star) but I can't believe how super-clean it is.   It revs and rolls in a strong continuous arc through the midlane & back end.     The way it looks as it spins is so pleasing to the eye becuase of its graphics markings that are integrated in its coverstock.

 

The next day I took it to another house with more oil in the THS pattern on Brunswick synthetic lanes.  Here my Rising Star would skid just a bit too far, this allows me to change up to the SR2.   The ball fits strongly in this condition by playing best on the down-and-in shot between the 3rd & 4th arrow.   The ball never stops !   It always seems to hit the pocket before it had a chance to roll out.   The ball is awfully good when playing deep.

 

Meanwhile, testing it on the outside shot, it already went left to Brooklyn (due to my slower speed).   I would need longer oil for this shot but I would rather stay inside.  If I wanted to use it for heavier oil patterns, I would simply change the surface back to 2000 Abralon.    The ball is very easy to tune to the pattern that you need to play it on.

For me, keeping it in 4000 Abralon, I am targeting wet-medium conditions.   This is my "ball up" from my other balls that are drilled for medium conditions; it'll keep me protected when there is unexpected heavier oil than my Rising Star could handle.

 

For my 2 cents, I will say that Motiv balls are HIGH QUALITY.   It can't hurt to have one on the side.   Just study the different models that Motiv have to offer and decide the best fit for your needs.    (If you wanted to throw a Motiv for really heavy oil, you'd select the TR2, for instance.)

 

 


"Hink"  -  Storm bowler with a few RotoGrips & Ebonites on the side - and one Hammer thrown in the kitchen sink   Plenty of competition in L'il Rhody if you know where to find it !
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: Bluff on April 16, 2011, 05:57:57 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: THS  
 
Volume: NO Idea

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

 
COMMENTS

Likes: Just About the Best Ball I Ever Owned to date

Dislikes: NONE ARE YOU CRAZY'?

 
PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
 
15 lb drilled 45 x 4.5 x 45 small P1 Weight Hole to keep it In Check.
 
After my TX1 Experience with Motiv I  really motivated :) I pick up this ball from bowling.com And I think this the best hidden Gem I found. I use this one AMF POA tournament and I was able to beat my average by 50 stick on division final. I took it with me to Vegas and bowl pretty good there. Just not when I needed. For the 19 games that I bowl I was able to average 221.00 for 19 games That was a personal all time best.
This ball hooks when there is med to light oil. The carry on this ball is simply amazing. Every one take a peek at what it was throwing.  Clears the heads with ease and great arc backed with control. Now I am so Motivated I order my self a C51LE and Primal and pick up a couple more SR2 :) 
 


"A man with no skills can be taught. A man with no honor, has nothing."
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: dna300x on April 16, 2011, 10:11:32 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: varied
 
Volume: varied

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS, USBC Nationals 2009

 
COMMENTS

Likes: very smooth, predictable motion. Perfect for a benchmark ball, and works on a wide variety of conditions.

Dislikes: Hard to find any. If there was one dislike I tweaked the surface as I felt it was too similar to my QZ2 so I played around with the cover stock prep. to get a bigger gap b/t both balls.
 
I have to say that this piece will be with me everywhere I go. It's a great tournament ball and something you can really read and make adjustments off of. The cover is extremely tunable and takes to surface adjustments very well. This piece with the cover stock finish I have on it now (500, 2000 abralon) is about 5 and 3 weaker than my Cruel C51 L.E. 4 and 2 stronger than my QZ2.  I am very satisfied with this piece of equipment! One of my favorites.

 
Drilling:
 
My stats are as follows:
 
PAP - 3 3/8  over, 5/8 up
Speed - 18 mph
rev rate - 350 rpm
axis tilt  - 10 degrees
 
Drilling was a 60 x 5 x 70 with no extra hole dual angle layout. I also tweaked the surface and decided to leave it at a 500, 2000 grit finish from it's original factory finish of 2000 w/ power gel polish. 
 
 
 


Darren Andretta
Motiv/Vise Inserts Regional Staff
www.motivbowling.com
Get MOTIVated!
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: awesomeflip on June 15, 2011, 10:56:49 PM
LANE CONDITION






Length:28'

 

Volume:Kegglers middle of the road


Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):
THS

 



COMMENTS





Likes:I had to change the surface of my SR2 1,000 grit and light polish with Motiv Power gel polish I love the way i can swing her out and she will grab the lane and turn hard & sweet  BOOM right into the pit ten go very very SWEET ball Motiv keep it up


Dislikes: None as of yet


 


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

 

 

 


Awesomeflip

God, Bowling & my kids nothing in life is better.
Title: Re: SR2
Post by: Go Canucks Go on August 02, 2011, 09:21:17 AM
LANE CONDITION






Length: 45 foot   

 

Volume: Medium to Heavy


Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Sport


 



COMMENTS





Likes:  This ball has me very excited.  It allows me to play deeper on the lane than usual  with incredible continuation.  It is  not for light oil, but seems to consistently get the 10 pin out.  Thank you to Dave Wilson and Chris Wilkes for their recommendation and layout advice.


Dislikes: 


 


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS