BallReviews

Reviews => Motiv => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on September 12, 2018, 10:06:57 AM

Title: Trident Abyss
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on September 12, 2018, 10:06:57 AM
Motiv continues the popular Trident high performance ball line with the Motiv Trident Abyss. This ball introduces the Coercion HV3 Reactive Solid coverstock and pairs it with the proven Turbulent weight block. This combination produces awe inspiring motion in heavy oil conditions by clearing the front part of the lane, hooking hard in the mid lane while storing energy to blast through the pins. This ball is a great for speed dominant bowlers as well as low rev bowlers looking for increased hook.

Color: 2-Tone Grey
Core: Turbulent
Coverstock: Coercion HV3 Reactive
Finish: 2000 Grit LSS
Reaction: Strong and smooth mid lane motion
RG: 2.49**
Differential: 0.054**
** RG and Diff are based off of 15 lb. balls
Recommended Lane Condition: Heavy Oil
Title: Re: Trident Abyss
Post by: MotivLou on September 12, 2018, 10:50:42 AM
Trident Abyss

The all new Trident Abyss is a HOOK MONSTER. This is the biggest ball Iíve ever thrown period. It features the Turbulent weight block that was also on the Trident and Trident Quest. Itís wrapped around the new Coercion HV3 solid cover. It is the absolute strongest cover that Motiv has made to date. When I first got my Abyss I kept hearing all the other staffers talking about how much this ball hooked and I needed to see for myself. I hopped on a fresh house shot and got lined up with my then biggest ball the Jackal Rising. After I lined up with the Rising I threw the Abyss from the same spot and missed the head pin left (Iím right handed.) This ball is a beast!!! Will be best suited on higher volume patterns. But if youíre a low rev or high speed player this ball will be money for you for your league nights as well ! I HIGHLY recommend this ball if youíre in the market for a bigger asym solid !! Ball is available October 3rd!! Hereís a link to my YouTube video review on the Abyss ! #GetMOTIVated
https://youtu.be/5RWhR7Pr5cU
Title: Trident Abyss
Post by: james.turner@ppg.com on September 12, 2018, 05:03:27 PM
Trident Abyss:

MOTIV Trident Abyss.
Weight Block: Turbulent
Cover Stock: Coercion HV3
Finish: 2000 Grit LSS
When you pair the Coercion HV3 reactive solid cover stock with the proven and very successful turbulent asymmetrical core, the Trident Abyss was born. This combination produced the strongest ball ever created by MOTIV. The HV3 cover was altered to excavate through heavy oil conditions with still allowing a super strong mid-lane.

Being a speed dominant player with 500 plus rev rate, I was extremely impressed when I tried the ball for the first time. Listing to other bowlers tell me I needed to literally move 5 left (right handed), I wasnít certain this was the case for me since I roll the ball at 19mph. I made the adjustment based on feedback from others by sliding at board 40 and rolled it over the 5th arrow out to the five board. The ball cleared the front part of the lane, hooked through the mid lane and provided great energy when exiting through the pin deck. I can move further in, open up my angle even more and still see this ball get down-lane with enough energy to get through the pins.
 
Competitive bowlers wanting a very strong piece that provides control on heavily oiled patterns will want the Trident Abyss in their bag.

https://youtu.be/hlLMCjh1ZuQ

James Turner
MOTIV Staff.
Title: Re: Trident Abyss
Post by: MOTIVmags on September 13, 2018, 10:04:15 AM
Please click link for video: https://youtu.be/4eHarHK22ho (https://youtu.be/4eHarHK22ho)

(YouTube preview not working on this site currently, attached direct link)

Description: The Trident Abyss is the third Trident in the very successful series. It is the first Trident however to have a solid coverstock (Coercion HV3 Reactive). The box finish is 2000 Grit LSS (Laser Scan Sanded). It uses the same Turbulent Core, with an RG of 2.49 and a .054 differential. According to MOTIVís hook scale it is tied for their most hooking ball produced, however I think itís noticeable stronger than the Jackal Rising.

Reaction: Letís get down to itÖit is the most hook Iíve ever had, it is not equal to the Jackalís, it is more. Everyone says a ball really hooks and the newest one always seems to be the strongest, so I really want to back it up with a description. Being asymmetrical it does start up soon, but it is not too early where all the hook is only in the front part of the lane. The hook potential is evenly disbursed throughout the entire lane, front, middle and backend. You will notice the original Trident is now in the Heavy Oil/Angular spot on the Ball Guide (http://www.motivbowling.com/ball-guide/). The NEW Trident Abyss may be in the same row but it is placed in the Heavy Oil/Smooth location on the ball guide. I have had the ball for a while now and it easily has 20+ games on it already. I feel the cover has really held itís out of box surface grit as well, it has barely if at all, shined up in 20 games.  This is going to be a ball that will make my bag for just about every tournament. It allows me to get in ahead of some of the other players a little quicker and stay ahead of the moves all while allowing me to control the lane with ease. No doubt a ball to be utilized on say the USBC pattern for doubles/singles that has been laid out the last few years.

Comparisons: The original Trident in my opinion is cleaner and more angular than the Trident Abyss, as stated earlier and shown on the latest Ball Guide. I see the Trident Abyss suited best on fresh and heavier conditions. Thus far in league it isnít a ball I have stayed with for an entire 3 games, but for me there isnít an asymmetrical ball that I could probably stay with for 3 games on ďmostĒ league conditions. Compared to a Villain, I feel the Villain is cleaner and just picks up a little more down lane, in addition to it forcing me to move at least a zone if not two away from the puddle.

I think MOTIVís last 3 releases could round out an entire 3-ball lineupÖThe Trident Abyss is your strongest couldnít ask for more hook ball, the Rogue Blade your benchmark ball that isnít too strong or too weak without being too smooth or too angular and finally a Hydra which is so clean and retains energy on even the lightest or driest of patterns.

Summary: Itís very apparent what you get with the Trident Abyss, hook in a box. You also are getting a lot of control, yet no hesitation down lane. This is currently one of, if not the strongest ball on the market. Has a different shelf appeal too with the two-tone gray scheme.

Mike Magolan
MOTIV | Turbo | Brotherhood Sport Apparel | BowlerX, Staff Member
Title: Go Deep!
Post by: toverbey on October 04, 2018, 04:04:45 PM
Layout:
   90 x 2 ĺ x 35

Holy hook in a box, Batman! Honestly, when first opening the packaging I thought that a piece of the parking lot was shipped instead. Much to my delight, there was no error and it was the Trident Abyss. The all new Coercion HV3 coverstock (finished at 2000LSS) gives off a sense of pure hook in both sight and feel while the proven Turbulent core (2.49RG, .054Diff),the workhouse of the Trident line, is lurking beneath the surface. I could go into the typical details of  how this heavy-oil ball rolls through the soup, but instead I will just say that this rock, the most hooking piece ever created for MOTIVís lineup, will provide you with all the traction you need plus a bit to spare. Even with my low flare layout there is still no issue in getting this ball to read the lane and create its own friction to move towards the pocket. Make no mistake, this is a lot of ball on a typical house shot, so be prepared to dive deep even on the fresh. Prepare to dive into the Abyss!

Trent Overbey
In the Zone Pro Shop
MOTIV Staff
www.motivbowling.com
Title: Trident Abyss
Post by: cyafromfla on October 12, 2018, 02:01:21 PM

This ball is the newest introduction into the Trident line of MOTIV bowling balls. The MOTIV Trident Abyss features the combination of the Coercion HV3 cover stock and the Turbulent asymmetric core. This is the strongest ball ever made by MOTIV and is built to dominate in a flood of oil.  Most importantly, it features the continuation through the pins that MOTIV balls are becoming known for.

It will be a great fit in your bag on heavy oil. With the merging of a high differential with a low RG, the Trident Abyss creates maximum track flare to make the turn in deep oil. The Trident Abyss will become that ball you can count on when you need the ball to dig on heavy volume patterns.  When I was told how much this balls hooks, I was honestly worried that it would burn up.  To my excited surprise, it never even thinks about it.  I have never seen such a big ball continue through the pins anything like this special ball does.

My Trident Abyss is laid out pin down (below my bridge), the cg shifted to the right (no extra hole). This ball has already found a place in my bag and drives through the pins with easy from any angle. If you are looking for a ball that will hook on anything, provides control, does not sacrifice backend reaction, has continuation and awesome hitting power. Look no further, you've found it.

Craig Auerbach
MOTIV Staff Member
Florida
Title: Re: Trident Abyss
Post by: Motivtylerjlew on October 12, 2018, 10:12:25 PM
Motivís NEW Trident Abyss merges the Turbulent assymmetric core and the Finally got to throw this ball as a new staffer, and I was left with no words. The #StepLeft is real. My home center typical is heavier in the middles, but the Tribal Abyss cuts through the pattern and hits like a truck. I strongly recommend this ball for speed dominant or lower rev players and for higher volume/heavier oil patterns!

Tyler Lewis
MOTIV Staff
Louisiana
Title: Re: Trident Abyss
Post by: jumba98 on October 13, 2018, 08:22:22 PM
These guys ain't kidding this ball is the strongest and best finishing ball I've ever thrown and I've thrown every brand out there. Problem WILL BE FINDING ENOUGH OIL