win a ball from Bowling.com

Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
1
30764 - Storm / Re: Ball for Med/Dry
« Last post by SVstar34 on Today at 01:08:42 PM »
Revenant or Phaze5 would be my pick.

IQ Tour is pretty close with the Camo. If you want a chuggier and earlier Camo, that would be the Hyped Solid.

Storm/Roto/900G is missing a UC2/Honey Badger reaction in the current lineup right now.
2
10539 - Storm / Ball for Med/Dry
« Last post by NY Mike on Today at 12:41:51 PM »
Time to upgrade the bag for med/dry ball, currently using UC3 as third ball (of 4).  UC2 showing it age.

Current ball bag has Realty, Zen, _____ and HUSTLE Camo.  I am looking at the IQ Tour, Hyped Solid and the Revenant.  My PSO told me to wait and see what the Revenant looks like in hands of bowlers before jumping in.  Any thoughts.
3
30096 - Motiv / Re: Primal Shock - Release date 2/22/23
« Last post by 3835 on Today at 12:15:14 PM »
Nice video. Thanks for sharing!
4
52676 - Columbia 300 / Columbia 300 Catalogs from San Antonio Era
« Last post by ta2dmale on Today at 08:51:43 AM »
Hello All,

I am looking for old Catalogs.  I will scan them and return them to you.  A lot of the history has been lost over the years, and I would like to scan it in and make it available to everyone before it is lost forever.

Please let me know what you have available.  I need Columbia 300 San Antonio Era, Track San Antonio Era, Faball, and any other urethane era balls.
5
24610 - Motiv / Re: Primal Shock - Release date 2/22/23
« Last post by themagician on Today at 08:16:28 AM »
First impressions here on the Primal Shock.
In comparison to the Venom Shock, the Primal for me is around 4 with feet, and 2 at the arrows stronger. The Primal isn’t much earlier than the Shock, but it is stronger off the spot down lane and feels quite a bit faster. What this means when bowling for me is the Primal created a little more angle, and allows me to move inside deeper before the pattern develops as much, relative to the Venom Shock.

For my two Primal Shocks specifically compared to each other, I have a pin up one, 5.25”x30 and a pin down one, 4”x70. The pin down one having a stronger pin placement flares substantially more, and the motion is a lot more rolly at the breakpoint, the ball hooks for longer. I can bounce it off house pattern friction without as much over under shape with the pin down one. The Pin Up one is sharper off the alt and easier for me to move in and let it rip downlane, but it definitely is more susceptible to the wet dry line.

I haven’t had much time to film, but did get some footage the other night and put together a quick look at the Primal Shock here, filmed after league, I’ll have more content coming, included a narrated review when I can catch a fresh pair, and also a group video coming with a few of the other staffers in my state.

If you made it this far, thanks for reading, and let me know if you have any questions.

6
54224 - Storm / Re: Revenant Review
« Last post by bowlstorm3 on January 25, 2023, 07:14:58 AM »
Storm Revenant
Coverstock: R3S Pearl Reactive Coverstock
Core: Vector
Factory Finish: Reacta Gloss
Layout: 4 x 3 x 2

Revenant is defined as, “one that returns after death, or a long absence.” The Revenant is essentially the long awaited return of the Spectre, as it has the exact core/cover combination as the Spectre. I do see Spectre characteristics in the Revenant but I think the new out of box Reacta Gloss finish increases how clean the Revenant is compared to the Spectre out of box. The Revenant glides through the heads with ease but doesn’t seem to wiggle down lane in the oil, which is awesome on those misses inside. I see the Revenant as a bit stronger HyRoad Pearl and that logical step up from the Electrify line. I have thrown the Revenant at a couple of bowling centers on very different THS patterns. At one particular house, I find it hard to blend the lane with shiny balls. The Revenant was clean like my Phaze 5 but seemed to retain more energy and continue harder on the backend. Compared to my Fate, the Revenant is a nice step down.

Based on what I have seen, the new Revenant will excel in bowling centers with a lot of hook built into the pattern/lane (wood, high friction synthetics, etc.) and for bowlers with slower ball speeds and/or heavier handed bowlers… And, it smells great (Bear Claw).

YouTube: https://youtu.be/ToSAtUbsnio
7
54224 - Roto Grip / Re: Exotic Gem Review
« Last post by bowlstorm3 on January 25, 2023, 07:08:25 AM »
Roto Grip Exotic Gem
Coverstock: MicroTrax Pearl Reactive
Core: Defiant LRG
Factory Finish: Reacta Gloss
Layout: 5 x 5 x 2

Exotic is the right name for Roto Grip’s new shiny hook monster. When I first heard fast revving asymmetrical core with the earliest and most aggressive pearl coverstock currently offered, I found it hard to imagine many situations where it would be useful in the bowling centers I frequent. I waited and watched a few others punch it up and I saw a motion that was very unique and useful. So, I drilled mine with a pin up 5 x 5 x 2 layout and we have a ball that picks up in all the right parts of the lane. As this ball is gliding through the heads, I always have confidence that it is going to slow down at the right spot and make a left turn. I definitely think it may be the strongest shiny pearl asymmetrical ball I have ever thrown. I find it a bit like the 900 Global Altered Reality but the Altered is just a bit cleaner and maybe a bit more round and less aggressive on the backend than the Exotic.

The Exotic will definitely help those that need a strong ball but struggle with the big dull balls retaining energy through the pins.

YouTube: https://youtu.be/1ZGjzoiBe3w
8
43485 - Hammer / Re: 2 new Hammer relases, Envy Tour and Widow 2.0 Hybrid - releases 2/23/23
« Last post by bradl on January 24, 2023, 06:31:15 PM »

Chris Beans just posted a video of the BW Widow 2.0 hybrid going down the lane. It looks phenomenal. And the shelf appeal of that will definitely see it sell. HK22 on a widow, let alone with the Aggression Hybrid coverstock looks amazing. Video is here:


Now, the Envy Tour.. as Chris said, that screams control ball, but not something I’d call a benchmark piece. For me personally, this would be a perfect replacement for my GB4, plus I’ll see more use for it as I have barely put 5 games on the GB4 as it needs oil. I have room for it but would like to see it on the lanes before getting that.

Definitely looking at the Widow.

BL.
9
30096 - Motiv / Re: Primal Shock - Release date 2/22/23
« Last post by 3835 on January 24, 2023, 03:19:41 PM »
Saw Kennon McFall's video on YouTube already. Looks very good in the few shots he threw.
10
30096 - Hammer / 2 new Hammer relases, Envy Tour and Widow 2.0 Hybrid - releases 2/23/23
« Last post by 3835 on January 24, 2023, 03:18:50 PM »
New Hammer releases:

The Envy Tour is a solid reactive using the original Envy cover with the Obsession Tour core (literally the same core). Seems to be an updated version of the original Obsession Tour as the Envy cover is stronger than the original Obsession Tour cover. Same specs as the original Obsession Tour as well with 15# rg of 2.469 and diff of .034 (intermediate diff of /013).

The Black Widow 2.0 hybrid is a hybrid reactive cover using the new HK22 base cover formula and the same Gas mask core. 15# rg of 2.500 and diff of .058 (intermediate diff of .016). 
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10