BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: Ballreviews on November 13, 2013, 10:38:30 AM

Title: Asylum
Post by: Ballreviews on November 13, 2013, 10:38:30 AM
Roto Grip Asylum Ball Specs:
- Color: Neon Green Pearl/Blood Red All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown.
- Reaction: Mid-lane motion and continuation
- Coverstock: 63MH Hybrid Reactive
- Core Type: Middle Roll 70 Core
- Factory Finish: 3000-grit Abralon
- Radius of Gyration (RG): 2.50**
- Differential (Diff): 0.043**
- ** RG and Diff are based off of 15 lb. balls
- Hook Potential: Medium
- Length: Medium
- Recommended Lane Condition: Medium-Heavy Oil
Title: Re: Asylum
Post by: rotogrip_rick on December 31, 2013, 08:22:36 AM


Asylum #1: Layout: 30x3 5/8th x40
Tested on: 41ft THS and Don Carter pattern
Surface and oil/cleaner: Older HPL and Ice oil with Defense C cleaner
Results: Found this ball to be MORE aggressive than any ball off of the pattern, this ball make a complete fish hook off of both patterns, the ball read great thru the front and mid part of the lanes, but once off the pattern, especially the THS, it went sideways for me. This ball needs speed and with me just back from knee and hand surgeries, I did not do this ball justice with that layout, I applied some Storm shine and it really helped out a lot. It did get thru the pun deck really well and in the 12 games I used with it, having a slight polish on it has helped it a lot. Box condition you will need some ball speed to control it, a little polish will help you

Roto Grip Asylum Ball Specs:
- Color: Neon Green Pearl/Blood Red
- Reaction: Mid-lane motion and continuation
- Coverstock: 63MH Hybrid Reactive
- Core Type: Middle Roll 70 Core
- Factory Finish: 3000-grit Abralon
- Radius of Gyration (RG): 2.50**
- Differential (Diff): 0.043**
- ** RG and Diff are based off of 15 lb. balls
- Hook Potential: Medium
- Length: Medium
Title: Re: Asylum
Post by: CKO on January 11, 2014, 03:19:03 PM
Asylum

The 3rd version of the middle roll 70 core from Roto Grip.  With a 3000 finish hybrid cover stock.  The Disturbed seemed to be the ball of choice for 2013 USBC Nationals.  This one may be the one for 2014.  By far my favorite of the 3. 

I drilled mine with the pin over the ring finger with the CG towards the middle of my grip.  It gives me great control of the middle part of the lane with predictability down lane.  Once you get lined up the strikes start coming in bunches. 

Kelly OíDriscoll
Roto Grip Staff
Title: Re: Asylum
Post by: eraser on January 12, 2014, 12:33:41 PM
                                     Aslum Review
Title: Re: Asylum
Post by: StoRoto2013 on January 14, 2014, 08:31:47 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: Various

Volume: Various

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Various



The Roto Grip Asylum is the third installment to the HP3 line and fits in between the Disturb and the Deranged.  The Hybrid coverstock (63MH) provides enough traction in the oil and enough finish in the dry. The Layout that I used for the Asylum is 75 X 5 Ĺ X 45 or Pin above the fingers with a small weight hole.  This layout is one of my favorites and has been a main stay in my arsenal.  My coordinates are 5 5/8 over and ĺ up, Ball Speed around 15mph, Rev Rate around 300 and I am right handed. In the next couple of paragraphs I will be comparing the Asylum to the Deranged and the Disturb..

The Asylum out of the box is way too aggressive for any short house pattern (32 feet light oil) but I gave it a whirl and was able to own the pocket! I am naturally a straighter player but with the Asylum I had to move my feet left and project the Asylum to the right. The continuous motion of the Asylum was very readable and strong enough to get through the pocket.  However, the extreme angles that I had to play did not leave me any room for error. The drier condition was right in the Deranged wheel house and the length and backend motion was just right. I did polish up the Asylum and I was able to move right with my feet and had a decent look but the Asylum was stronger throughout the lane.

The last pattern that I bowled on was a beat up scorpion condition (47 feet heavy oil). I compared the Asylum to the Disturb and within a couple of shots I realized that the Asylum has a lot more backend than the Disturb. The Disturb for me has a smooth and continuous ball motion and when I have to go around the condition is does not do so well. The Asylum is also continuous but has a more aggressive backend motion and going around the pattern is pretty easy. Actually I think if the pattern was fresh, the Disturb would be the ball to start with and then transfer to the Asylum.  Really good one two punch!

The Asylum is a good fit in the HP3 line. With a couple of surface changes the Asylum is a very versatile bowling ball!


Likes: The Aggressiveness

Dislikes: The Aggressiveness


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Roto Grip Asylum by Staffer Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on January 16, 2014, 03:34:06 PM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  400 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  5 across ĺ up

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  40, 6, 60 w/p1 hole

I love the Disturbed.  The Deranged was good, but a little too over under.  The Asylum, I love.  Itís close enough to the Disturbed to feature that same strong/smooth motion that made the Disturbed the solid coverstock of the year.  The Asylum is noticeably cleaner through the fronts and does create more backend, but not to the point where it jerks too hard off the dry, which is what I got with the Deranged.

If you loved the Disturbed, but want something that gets through the heads better, the Asylum is a no brainer.  Go get one today!
Title: Re: Asylum
Post by: PJ Haggerty on January 25, 2014, 11:08:07 PM
A hybrid between the Disturbed and Deranged?!?! Umm.. hell yes! The Asylum is a perfect fit between those two balls.  I did feel like there was a bit of a gap and the Asylum fills it perfectly.  For me, the Deranged was very clean and pretty sensitive to friction, where the Disturbed was pretty strong for a symmetrical ball.  The Asylum is definitely a step down from the Disturbed in length and motion.  I can easily see lots of players using the Asylum when the lanes transition and the stronger balls start to burn up.  It provides a good amount of length, not as much as an Up Roar or Shatter and just as much pop down lane as a Disturbed. 

The one I drilled is 5 Ĺ x 4 ĺ with no hole and I took the surface up to 4000.  Iím not able to use it a lot on fresh patterns, but when the lanes start to transition, itís a great piece to go to.  I can definitely see using this ball on several types of conditions.  This ball also takes surface very well.  For a mid-performance ball, the Asylum isnít too strong for the price point and will provide you a step-down benchmark ball.  To sum it up, if you feel like you are missing a gap after your Disturbed, Marvel-S, Wrecker, Defiant Soul, or Byte, this ball will provide a smoother, cleaner motion with a very predictable motion down lane. 

Go drill one! #RotoGrip #OwnIt
Title: Asylum
Post by: Bigmike on February 13, 2014, 12:17:26 PM
Lay Out: 4.75" from PAP at 65* PAP angle and 35* VAL angle. Dual angle measurement would be 65/4.75/35. The pin ended up about 1/2 above my ring finger with the CG very slightly swung out from the ring finger. No weight hole yet, but plan to put one in the P2 section

Surface: I am box finish which is 3000 abralon.

Purpose: I wanted to drill up this up to try to get something that I could start to the left of the oil line for league with but wouldn't overreact if sent a little wide. Plus I really like my Deranged and wanted something that might pick up a little quicker if it was too long with the same kind of shape.

Observations: The Asylum is a great piece. It does what intended by picking up a little quicker when my Deranged labors at the spot. It has the typical hybrid smoothness that Storm/Rg are known for, but can be tweaked with surface prep. I put it side by side with my Hyper Cell and it is a good step down from the Hyper. Put this one in your bag if you need a benchmark type ball or something just a step down from your mega hook monsters.
Title: Re: Asylum review by Sean Baker
Post by: Seanbaker on February 14, 2014, 12:04:06 PM
Roto Grip Asylum
Right Handed
Experience   Advanced (I have bowled in a league and hold a PBA Card)
League Average   220
Ball Speed   Medium 15-16mph
Style          Cranker
PAP          5 over 1/4" up
 
 


PSA Layout - 4" x 4" x 2"
Balance Hole - yes

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (300 Grit Abralon pad)

What I Was Looking For from this ball:    I wanted the Asylum to be a benchmark ball for me and to be very strong through the midlane and continue all the way to the backend.  I wanted the hybrid coverstock and weight block combination to give me just that.     

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:     I ended up with a hook monster for me.  I literally went to the pro shop and polished this bad boy before I continued testing it out.  For me its mean and I mean very aggressive on the backend.     

I tested this ball on a fresh pattern at my local center. The centers lanes are wood and the house shot isnt easy.  The shot tends to hook early in the middle of the lanes and hang right if you get the ball too far out.  Over the course of 5 games, I started at my normal area which is around 15 and threw out to 8.  Well, this ball was a bit too much for this line and I had to throw lots harder than normal to play it.  However, When I kept my speed up, it hit like a Mack Truck.  Over the next 5 games I moved left and deeper on the lane.  With our shot tending to hook more when you got deep, I was very impressed by how this ball held its line with a good continuous motion throughout the front part of the lane and came back off my breakpoint with authority!  For the rest of my practice session with this ball, I moved back right and started sending the Asylum out further to the right than I normally play flirting with our out of bounds area.  I quickly found out that I dont have much of an out of bounds with this ball.  I am very impressed!   

Overall:     Once again a fantastic Roto Grip ball!  VERY strong!  I will definately make sure to have this ball with me wherever I go and start out with it.  One of the hardest hitting balls I have thrown in a while and a great looking ball.  I will have to keep mine polished, but thats because of my slower speed.  Most players can probably throw it OTB.  Anyone looking for an aggressive ball with a great look, buy this!  Roto Grip hit it out of the park with this one.     

Sean Baker
Storm/Roto Grip Staff
Paducah, Ky 42003
Title: Re: Asylum
Post by: yellowdog07 on February 23, 2014, 12:12:30 PM

Weight:  14 lbs.
Pin Length:  3Ē
Drilling:  Pin over fingers, CG kicked rt.
Pattern Length:  39 ft.
Pattern Volume:  Light/Medium
Pattern Type:  THS
Right handed

The ASYLUM is a hybrid version of the DISTURBED.

I used the ASYLUM on our 39 ft. house pattern at box finish (3000 grit)

The ASYLUM, at box finish, hooked a bit too early for me on our house pattern.  I brought the surface up to 4000 grit, no polish, and found i could use it on our house shot.  Itís a  great complement to the DISTURBED, as it gets down lane a bit further, but makes a stronger move on the back end. 

I also used the ASYLUM on our modified house/tournament shot. I found the ASYLUM gave me great reaction on the modified  house pattern, which has more volume than our THS.  I brought the ASYLUM back to box finish for this pattern and was able to use it throughout the qualifying block.  As the lanes transitioned, I was able to move in and still carry the corner pins, which is a great quality in this ball.  Later in the day, I can then throw the DERANGED, and get that extra length for the final games of the tournament. 

This is a great ball that fits right in between the DISTURBED, and the DERANGED.  Very smooth through the heads with a big turn to the pocket and a nice heavy roll through the pins. 

Carol Teel
Roto Grip Amateur Staff Member
Title: Asylum review by Mark Tarkington
Post by: GutterLine on February 24, 2014, 02:17:24 PM
Right Handed
Ball weight:  14
Rev Rate:  378
Ball Speed:  18.2
Axis Tilt:  6.67
Axis Rotation:  45*
PAP:  4 1/2 horizontal, 1 5/8 up
Layout: 60 x 6 x 80

This isnít going to be a traditional review.  This ball was drilled for burned and beat up conditions, specifically sport patterns where something like a fall-back shot is required.  I got this ball and have plenty of balls that cover boards in a variety of shapes, but Iíve been lacking something for burn.  Since this is where I get demolished in tournaments, it was time to figure something out.

This Asylum is drilled to flare about ĹĒ and just roll.  The only reading it does is due to surface.  I havenít altered the surface yet, but that may be coming soon.  When the lanes are really eat up and everything is hooking tons, this one will roll relatively straight and go exactly where you roll it.

Mind you this is because of the layout and not the core/cover.  Iíve seen plenty of guys use this one with much success covering boards, so the ball isnít weak and it will do whatever you need from it.  My layout is a good example of this.  A ball that seems to be as aggressive as the Asylum was really tamed down, and seemingly weak, but one thing that wasnít lost is the hitting power.  Even though it has no flare and just rolls, when it gets to the pocket, it hits like it just angled off of the pattern. 

In the next couple of weeks, Iím going to be testing this one out on some sport patterns that should get burned up pretty bad.  Iíll post an update when I have a bit more information.
Title: RotoGrip Asylum Ball Review - Ron Case (RotoGrip Staff)
Post by: RonCase823 on March 06, 2014, 09:43:11 PM
My Axis is 4 7/8 right, ľ up, my speed is average and I would consider myself with higher revs but more up the back.  So not a cranker but not really straight either.

Drilled this ball 55 x 5 ĹĒ x 30 (5 ĹĒ x 4 ĹĒ x 2Ē)

This ball I left in box condition and thought it would roll too early for me due to the surface, but it makes it down the lane very well.  Then at the mid lane it begins to roll and then the back end is very strong.  The ball continues thru the pin deck very well.  Iíve been able to use this ball on the fresh and even after the lanes get broken down a bit.  The ball also seems very low maintenance as Iíve put a lot of games on it and it still reacts like it did on day 1.  I think this ball can fit anyoneís game, from straight players to crankers, because it is very predictable and fits in the middle of my arsenal.
Title: Roto Grip Asylum Ball Review By Walter McKnight
Post by: wknight84 on March 07, 2014, 10:19:11 PM

Lane Conditions: Medium Oil
Typical Conditions: Variety of Shots
Type of Lane: Combination
What part of the lane did you play? Second Arrow
Did the ball track out? Normal
Weight of bowling ball: 15
Surface of bowling ball: Factory/Box
What grit was the surface of the ball? 3000
Likes: Strong midlane motion and controlled back end


The Roto Grip Asylum is the newest edition to the ever popular HP3 Line. The 63MH Cover in combination with the Middle Roll 70 Core (Same used in the Deranged and Disturbed) creates an even midlane reaction and controlled break point. The surface out of box is 3000 Grit and takes well to surface adjustments. Overall the reaction is very smooth through the heads and still retains enough energy to roll through the pins. This ball fits in well between the Deranged and Disturbed and can used on a variety of house and sport patterns. If you are looking for a strong Symmetrical Hybrid thats versatile and controllable, this is the ball for you.


Title: ASYLUM review - John Brodersen - RG staff
Post by: John Brodersen on March 20, 2014, 01:38:40 PM
Ball specs Ė 15 lbs 2 oz, 2.63 top weight, 4 inch pin.

The Asylum, which is a hybrid in the HP3 line, was drilled using the dual angle method.  The layout is a 70 X 4 Ĺ X 35.  An x-hole was not needed. Using Stormís layout terminology the layout would be 4 1/2 by 5 1/2 with a 2 1/2 inch pin buffer.  The cover was left OOB which is 3000. 

The Asylum was thrown on a fresh 41 foot, 24 micro liter house shot.  The Asylum was very clean through the fronts, picked up nicely in the late mids and produced a strong arc on the backend.  It has a great over all ball motion that will make it very versatile.  The Asylum fits nicely in its designed spot between the Disturbed and the Deranged. The Asylum is longer and more angular than the Disturbed and sooner, a little smoother on the backend, and handles carry down better than the Deranged. 


John Brodersen
RG amateur staff
Title: Re: Asylum
Post by: mikelj1a on March 23, 2014, 10:28:28 AM
I tested the Asylum on my 39-foot house shot as well as tournament conditions.  I was able to use this ball equally as well under both conditions.  The 3000 the box finish matched up perfectly for these conditions.

My Asylum is drilled with the pin below the fingers with the CG kicked out toward the PAP.  This ball was clean through the front end and produced about 4-6 inches of flare.  The ball rolled strong off my hand and in the mid-lane the ball revved up nicely and made a solid, strong move to the pocket. 
This ball was devastating as it continued to drive through the pin deck (what I have come to expect from Roto Grip).

The Asylum has a very predictable reaction, and with the 2.50 RG and .043 differential makes it a great addition for the lower rev medium speed league player.

As the lanes transition, I could simply move left, play a little deeper and continue to use this ball.  I found this ball to be a couple boards stronger than the Berserk.  The hybrid cover of the Asylum allows the ball to read the fresh oil nicely and make a nice predictable move off the dry area.

What I enjoyed the most about this ball is the predictability of the cover. It produced a nice steady hook to the pocket.  I was getting 4-6 inches of flair and bouncing the ball off the dry all night.

The Asylum is a great ball for the league or tournament.  This ball will make a nice addition to anyoneís arsenal.
Title: Roto Grip Asylum
Post by: StormRoto on March 31, 2014, 01:18:46 PM
Roto Grip Asylum

Right Handed
Rev Rate-400
Speed - medium
PAP - 4 up 1 1/4

The Roto Grip Asylum the Middle Roll 70 Core with 63MH Hybird Reactive coverstock.  Asylum is the hybird version of the Disturbed and Deranged.  I am pretty fan of the hybird coverstocks coming from Utah.  I really think they have something there with those coverstocks.  I drilled my Asylum 60 x 5 x 50 or
5 x  4 x 3 pin up.
The Asylum gives me good midlane roll with a real smooth roll of the spot, not flippy at all.  Really impressed with how predictable and controllable this ball rolls.
Not as early as the RG Disturbed or as angular as RG Deranged can be.
I also like that when the lane transition, the Asylum doesn't over bounce on the dry and big 4 or skid too far and 2-8-10.  Another great ball from Utah.

Brian Watson
Storm/RG Pro Shop Staff
Title: Asylum review by Staffer Garrett Richardson
Post by: GRstorm on April 06, 2014, 09:38:51 PM
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 16-17mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 4 7/8 x 4 x 4 Ĺ
 
The Asylum is drilled pin below the bridge cg out with a hole down. I honestly did not know how I would feel about this ball and now its one of my new favorites out of the new releases. I am a big fan of the solid version of the Asylum called the disturbed and so so about the deranged but knowing my history of loving hybrids I should of known I would love this ball. The asylum gives me what a lot of hybrids do for me predictable back end and versatility. This one especially gives me a lot of mid lane read that no other hybrid it is category has given me which makes me love it more. I can use it on more higher volumes of oil and still able to use it when the lanes break down I just have to move right to play more oil but can still play to the break down and not over react.

Comparing to the disturbed and deranged the asylum fits right in the middle of the 2. Disturbed which is a solid is still the strongest then I can go down to the asylum which is about a 3 board difference then to the deranged that is pearl when the lanes are getting dry and need a ball to get down lane but still not make a sharp move on the back end and the deranged is another 3-4 board move from the aslyum. For Roto Grip this is my favorite new ball in the line up and for you hybrid fans that need a stronger ball for oil under your disturbed and even your defiant soul this is the one.

If you have any questions about the Asylum email me at garrett.richardson@pinolebowlerssupply.com

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Roto Grip Pro Shop Staff
Vise Inserts Amateur Staff
Pinole Bowlerís Supply
www.facebook.com/grstorm
www.facebook.com/pinolebowlerssupply
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
www.viseinserts.com
Title: Re: Asylum
Post by: tommygn on April 07, 2014, 08:36:54 AM
The Asylum is the third ball released from Roto Grip with the middle roll 70 core that touts an RG of 2.50 and a differential of 0.043 in 15lb balls. This offering has a neon green, blood red hybrid cover stock.  The Asylum has a factory finish of 3000 grit Abralon that is easily adjustable to fine tune the bowlers reaction.
The Asylum really is a hybrid of the Deranged and Disturbed. It doesnít pick up near as early and has more backend than the Disturbed. The Asylum reads the lane earlier and will handle more oil than the Deranged. If there was ever the perfect ďfit ball ďbetween two bowling balls, this just may be it.
I drilled my Asylum with the pin just left of my ring finger, and Cg on my grip line. This layout breaks down to a 4x6Ĺ x2 Ĺ, using the Storm layout system. I left the ball at the box finish and this ball was strong, strong, strong! Not only did it hook in the midlane, it also continued through the backend, and off the pin deck. This ball could be a great oiler if you keep the cover dull and clean it with some reacta-scuff. I needed to get some games on it and oil build up on the cover, to help tame it down a bit, as I have the Marvel S and the Hyper Cell for floods, and the Asylum is a step down in my arsenal. After about 5 games, it was the perfect marriage of glide through the front, with a clean read of the midlane, and crisp, but not jerky move to and through the pins. I have at least 40 games on it now, and have never touched the cover, but to clean it with reacta-clean after every session, and it rolls about the same as it did since game 5, once it oil shinned.
I have been able to use the Asylum on house conditions, long patterns that I have to go at the pocket with such as the Don Carter (50 ft) and Mark Roth (46 ft) patterns. I used it during a tournament that had the USBC Nationalís team (43ft) pattern once the fronts broke down a bit, and am able to use it on shorter patterns like the Viper (37 ft) and most recently the Carmen Salvino (40 ft) pattern. Versatile, really is an understatement for this ball with this layout for my style of game.
The Asylum is the first ball out of my bag as it isnít the strongest or the weakest cover and core combination that I have. Often times, I donít have to reach for anything else, just make a subtle hand adjustment or move my feet, and go to work. If you want a ball that has a lot of versatility with all except the absolute extreme floods or dirt lanes, than the Asylum is the ball for you.
Title: Roto Grip Asylum by Louis Narvaez Jr. Storm/RG Staff
Post by: LouisN on April 08, 2014, 12:02:42 PM
Dual Angle Layout 45 x 4 x 45
Storm VLS Conversion: 4 x 4 x 2.5

The Asylum is the Hybrid complement of the Deranged and the Disturbed.  This is in Roto Grip's HP3 line.   This is the first ball  out of the bag for me right now.  It allows me to really see what's out there and helps me to get lined up pretty quick. 

I first used this ball on a standard house shot with the OOB 3000 grit surface.  The first thing I noticed was how well this ball read the midlane  without suffering from making the move very early.  When this ball turns left it does not hesitate.   The asylum creates a very strong arc to the pocket which allows me to keep the ball in play no matter how difficult the pattern is.

On USBC Nationals Singles and Doubles Pattern this ball really performed. On the fresh I was able to square up with only a few board swing.   As the pattern broke down the Asylum allowed me to keep moving deeper and deeper without losing my carry.  The Hybrid cover gets the ball through the heads but still allows it to make the turn without going too far down the lane. 

I have tried a few different surfaces on this ball.  OOB the Asylum is 3000 grit.  The 3000 grit surface actually matches up very well.  Unlike some other balls I did not feel the need to change the surface right away after throwing it.   

1000 grit on this ball felt a little bit aggressive for me.  The ball read the lane pretty quick and almost tried to turn left as soon as I saw it reading the lane.  On a longer pattern this would probably match up very well but I did this on our house shot after league.   

The Asylum would be a great benchmark ball for anyone. A tournament bowler will surely find a place for this in his or her arsenal and if you are bowler who only drills a few balls a year then this is one you should consider. 
For those of you who have a deranged or would like to see this ball roll I have made a video which compares this ball to the deranged.   
 
 


Louis Narvaez Jr.
Storm/RG pro shop staff
www.srikingresultsproshop.com
Title: Re: Asylum
Post by: StormN3rik on April 28, 2014, 10:47:33 AM
The NEW Roto Grip Asylum has arrived and fits the gap that was in between the Deranged and the disturbed. The Hybrid cover over the Mid Roll 70 core is the perfect blend of solid/prl to give you the smoother motion through the front then the disturbed, and a more midlane roll compared to the deranged. I drilled the pin out with the ringer finger with a 45 degree shift, which is how i have its 2 brothers drilled like, and it did exactly what i thought by complimenting the other 2 when they needed help. The Asylum is a perfect tournament ball for medium to heavy oil. Own It!

Erik Ramos
Storm/Roto Grip Staff
Title: Re: Asylum
Post by: Ernie Mccraken on May 02, 2014, 04:39:00 PM
Type of bowler: Tweener
Avg Speed: 17.5
Rev Rate: 375-400
PAP: 5 x ĺ up
Layout: 60 x 4 ĺ x 42

Looking for something that would get some length but have a cover that was strong and stable and not skid flip. I think this ball will fit that, but may need some alterations.

I picked the Asylum because I felt it would have more down lane than other balls that are predisposed to surface. I wanted length with strong roll, I got the length but the strength down lane is not quite there.

1. 40 foot tapered house pattern Ė Pattern has some volume so itís not a bunch of free hook, but is not difficult. This ball didnít handle the volume as well as I thought considering the surface. Once I squared up, the ball read the dry very well and was the strong continuous move Iíd want balling down. However, anything left into the oil was not successful.

2. Nationals team pattern Ė Now this is an approximation at a local house, however, it is normally fairly true to the actual condition. The ball was very good as a third option when my early roll/surfaced equipment was too strong. Was able to stay right much longer than those on my team practicing with me. Useful on the tough stuff when you want to stay in the track area.

Overall, I think this is a good piece, just be careful that youíre matching the ball with the layout you want. It may take something significantly strong to make this ball have a strong motion. If youíre drilling to be a ball down option off other early equipment, it seems like a great option.
Title: Re: Asylum
Post by: Tony Reynaud on May 07, 2014, 02:02:48 PM
COVERSTOCK NAME: 63MHô
COVERSTOCK STYLE: HYBRID
COVERSTOCK TYPE: REACTIVE
WEIGHT BLOCK: MIDDLE ROLL 70ô
COLOR:   NEON GREEN PEARL / BLOOD RED
FINISH:   3000-GRIT PAD
FINISH METHOD: CAN BE POLISHED
DUROMETER: 73-75 ON D-SCALE
FLARE POTENTIAL: 6"+ INCHES/MEDIUM-HIGH
WEIGHTS: 12LBS - 16LBS
SKU: RDO
RELEASE DATE: 01/07/14

My layout: 4 x 4 3/4 x 2
My PAP: 4 1/2 over 1 1/4 up

I almost start every review by explaining that I really prefer Solid coverstocks over Hybrid and Pearls.  I ended up really liking the Uproar but I canít say the same thing about the Asylum from Roto Grip. I will say it was a ball that I didnít give a big chance to because I was fixated on the Hyper Cell, as well as the Uproar,  and now the Zero Gravity from Storm.

I just never found the condition where I would just open up the lane or the pocket.  When the ball hit the pocket flush it looked powerful, but I didnít see the same from hitting the half pocket. The ball motion was unique that it rolled fairly heavily, but I didnít like the shape of it when it came out of the pattern. I also think a sign of a good ball is how well it sells a few months after it releases. I havenít seen a ton of Asylums on the lanes in my area.  I throw the ball pretty straight, so I am fully aware that I may dislike balls that others bowlers like. For example I really didnít like the Marvel Pearl from Storm but it really is a great ball that many people love.

I would also like to make everyone aware that on April 11, 2014 Amos Gordon shot 900, and more amazingly he followed that up with 875 {300,275,300}, and yes he did have the Asylum from Roto Grip in his hands both times. I will therefore plug and re-drill my Asylum one day and give it another shot. My rating for now is 2 out of 5. I will update this review if I learn to like the ball at a later date. 
Title: Re: Asylum
Post by: CoachT on May 13, 2014, 05:56:34 PM
Drilled this one 4.5X4.5 and added 3000 to cover.  On the fresh I had to start around 3rd arrow in my center and migrate left putting me left of 4th by end of league session.  Not a fan of playing that deep. I would definitely recommend this ball for those with fast ball speed or weaker revs.  Another great use of this is for those conditions where the back gets blended with carry-down and you need something that would cut through that mess.  And of course, this ball delivered the most recent 900 series on record.