BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM

Title: Grand Illusion
Post by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM
- Color: Cherry Red/Royal Blue
- Core: Helios II Core (14 – 16lb) Modified Helios II core (12 – 13lb)
- Finish: 2000 Polished
- RG Differential: 0.042 (Medium Flare) on a scale of .000-.080 Low Flare-High Flare
- RG Average: 2.53 (Med-Low) on a scale of 2.43-2.80 Very Low-High Break Point
- Recommended Lane Condition: Medium to Light Oil
- A few tiny pit holes in the cover stock of the ball are normal
- Description: Roto Grip''''s newest addition to the Sword™ Line is the all new Grand Illusion™. Once again we''''ve created a ball that is a perfect fit within our product line. This medium RG and differential bowling ball falls right between the ever popular Cell™ and the always consistent Illusion™. The combination of the Ultimate Vision™ solid reactive and the Helios II™ core delivers added length and strong mid-lane reaction on these medium to lighter volume patterns. The Grand Illusion™ is extremely versatile, so don''''t deceive your scores by leaving home with out it!
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: nypro on August 20, 2008, 11:38:42 AM
This ball is AWESOME.  I have 3 Cells, one drilled for maximum early roll, one to go longer and one polished with pin under ring, I still had a void in my arsenal, I had a regular Illusion as well and it just wasn't enough for the middle condition.  Roto Grip did an amazing job picking a ball that fit perfectly in between those 2 balls.  This ball has been the first out of my bag since I got it and haven't had the need to throw anything else.  Great Job Roto!
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: rotomike on August 20, 2008, 12:53:46 PM
Pin 4.25" low 40 degree drilling angle low hole on val

***I have not yet made any surface changes to the ball***

I have bowled in 2 PBAX leagues this summer.

I was able to use it on all patterns except Shark.  I could have on Shark if I had worked the cover.

On Scorpion is was the perfect compliment to my Cell when the lanes started to break down.

On Chameleon it allowed me to play squarer than my Cell but will all of the back end I wanted

Cheetah - I was impressed with the continuation and control it gave me.  I was initially worried that the ball might be a bit too strong for the pattern but I was pleased it never gave out at the pin deck.

Viper - It allowed me to attack the lane with no worries.

On THS it was a bit too strong so I have drilled up a second one pin 5.25" high with a 25 degree drill angle.  League starts next week so we shall see how it goes.

To answer some earlier questions:

Is it the step down from the Cell that people are looking for?

Yep!!

Is it too close to the Pluto in reaction?

Nope it has a totally different hook shape and pin deck reaction than the Pluto.  For those of you that remember the Black Silver Streak, I would say this reaction is close to that ball but with a bit more aggressiveness from midlane to pindeck.

I love the colors and after I do some cover tweaks I will let you know how it reacts.

It is a bonifide winner.  Easy length strong reaction great hit!
--------------------
Mike Sinek
Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Kingdom member for life
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: rvmark on August 21, 2008, 05:41:35 PM
I have had this ball and threw it over 3 different series.  I had the ball drilled with the pin above the ring finger with the CG kicked out to 45 degrees.  I have thrown the this ball on both a THS and the Scorpion.  This ball has allowed me to play both up the boards and in on the Scorpion and move left on a broken down THS and follow the oil line.  This is my first Roto Grip ball and I am very impressed.  Bought this ball as a replacement to my Black Widow solid (really liked the BWS, but it is a higher maintenance ball) was drawn to Roto Grip by all of the good reviews on here about the Cell.

Based off the success with my Grand Illusion this definitely won't be my last Roto Grip purchase.

Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: JMartin27407 on August 22, 2008, 01:26:39 PM
Layout:  5 x 3 1/2
         3 1/2" buffer (puts the pin just under my middle)
         no hole
         surface changed to 2000 w/o polish

When I laid this ball out I was looking for something to fit in between my Cell and my Illusions.  What a great compliment this ball is!  Much cleaner than my Cell and reads the mids better than my Illusions.  I had been keeping a Illusion at 500 abralon to fill this gap and the Grand Illusion fills it so much better. I have drilled a few of these for other people now and it seems like a ball that can fit somewhere in almost anyones game. Definitely one of the best balls I have seen in a long time.

Jimmy Martin
Roto-Grip Amateur Staff



Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: Mikelj on August 28, 2008, 08:34:43 PM
I received this ball in time for summer league.  What a great addition to the product line.  I kept the box finish and had this drilled with the pin above the fingers.  This ball works great on medium and light oil.  

I am a low rev stroker and love to see the reaction of the ball as it bounces off the friction and makes its move to the pocket.  This ball provide the backend I needed compared to the Illusion.

Last night I used this ball in the last game of league and added 20 pins to my last game when others were struggling as the heads were drying out and everyone was getting overreaction from the more powerful equipment.

You will be surprise with the performance of this ball.  I got a lot more than I expected.

Another success from Roto Grip.



--------------------
Mike Johnston
Roto Grip Advisory Staff
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: TBS1 on August 28, 2008, 08:54:34 PM
First impression on the looks of the ball is impressive


Layout- 5 x 3  pin buffer 3"

For me the ball is cleaner through the heads and a very strong arc.  The ball fits in very nice between the Cell and the Illusion.

I love it because I can get tighter angles without fear of over reaction.

Great job Roto Grip!



--------------------
James McCarter
Co-Owner/Operator
The Bowlers Solution INC
Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: rotogrip300 on August 28, 2008, 10:44:43 PM
Great midlane reaction. With good continuation threw the pins. The rolls awesome through the pins. Finished second in regional last week end mostly because of the Grand Illusion. Very smooth of the hook spot with no over reaction. GREAT PIECE OF EQUIPMENT.

I have two of them. 3X3, and 5X3 with hole down, and both have 4000 abrolon.
5X3 Hooked a lot. Even was a little to much on the 37 Foot pattern.
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: MoonsLefty on August 31, 2008, 04:13:15 PM
I drilled my Grand Illusion with 50 x 4" x 70, which puts the pin just below my ring finger, with a small hole down on the VAL. I have 2 Cells, one with a 50 x 5" x 40 drilling, and the other with a 50 x 5" x 70 drilling. The grand Illusion fits in between the 2 Cells. I am very impressed with this ball so far. I needed something a little stronger off the spot than my Cells, and this ball is just that.

The Grand Illusion works well in medium to medium heavy oil. I haven't changed the surface and don't think I will.

A great compliment to the Cell and the Illusion. I can't wait to see what Hank has coming next.
--------------------
Rob Haverstock
 Roto Grip Pro Shop Staff
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: PaulMc on August 31, 2008, 06:40:34 PM
I drilled my first Grand Illusion with the pin 4.5 inches from the PAP.  What a great reacting ball.  The ball goes long yet has strong back ends.  It is really a great even rolling ball.  The ball also really reacts strong off the dry on a wet / dry condition that allows me to create area left of my target (I am a lefty!).  The easy length also can give me some hold area.  The hitting power is pretty impressive.  I have had two 300’s with it in league and a couple 2nd place finishes in SASBA (senior) tournaments with it.

I drilled a second one with a longer pin 5.5 inches from my PAP.  At first it was either a flat seven or a six pin.  After putting some surface on it I was able to move outside the oil line and “pipe it”.  The ball struck forever and gave me a completely different look.

Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: thegame on September 01, 2008, 12:15:52 AM
Got a few days of practice in with my new Grand Illusion, and I'll tell you what I've seen thus far.  Had it drilled rico, and this is my first ball using this layout, so I was very interested to see what all the talk is about.  The ball gets fantastic length, and makes a real nice powerful arc to the pocket.  Not a snap by any means, but juat a hard, controllable arc.  Not sure if this is more due to the layout, or the ball, but it's a great thing to see on the lanes.  I got this out on the lanes at the same time as my new Momentum Swing, and they are a great compliment to one another.  I know Roto Grip says the Grand Illusion fits perfectly in an arsenal under the Cell, and I couldn't disagree with that either.  No overlap whatsoever, but just when the Cell is getting to the point where it's too much ball to use, the Grand Illusion should fit just right.  I've only used this ball on a house pattern, and a very dry house pattern, on the very dry shot, I had to use almost excessive speed to keep it in play, but on the THS, it was a monster.  Roto Grip is a great company to look at right now, because while they don't have a lot of equipment currently on the market right now, what they do have compliments each other very nicely.
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: IrishMike837 on September 03, 2008, 10:12:41 PM
When I first got my Grand Illusion drilled I didn't have time to practice with it before my PBA Experience League, but after a few successful shots during practice I decided to go ahead and use it for the night.  I made the right decision because I was high series for the night with a 857 (4 games) on the Chameleon pattern and I won over $100 in brackets and high game pots.  The Grand Illusion is so smooth down the lane but once it hits the breakpoint it makes a hard turn for the pocket and the pins don't stand a chance.  I've been able to use the ball successfully on house conditions, PBA conditions, and a variety of other tournament conditions.  Now along with my Cell I feel that I have an unbeatable combination of balls to work with on almost any lane condition.  Even though I normally bring at least 8 balls into the center with  me I haven't been able to get the Grand Illusion out of my hand, it's that good.  If you are looking to improve your arsenal of bowling equipment then get the Grand Illusion, it's a can't miss.
--------------------
Mike Keily - Roto Grip Amateur Staff

ROTO GRIP - King Of Them All!
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: hSDw on September 04, 2008, 11:26:37 AM
this ball is predictable.  although classified as a solid reactive, it glides through the heads as clean as some pearls.  the grand illusion can cross a lot of boards as you jump into it, but it is fairly smooth in transition making for easy lane adjustments.
--------------------
Herb Walsh - Colorado Springs - Valley Bowl
Roto Grip Staff
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: Tess7654 on September 04, 2008, 12:52:06 PM
I drill my Grand Illusion 5x3 with weight hole on pap. When I first used it (on house shot) I expected it to go fairly long and flip hard because of the shiny factory finish but what I got was good length,lots of midlane read and a strong predictable arc on the backend. 2nd pattern bowled on was in a regional on the chameleon, I used a 2000 abralon by hand and knocked the shine off....this gave me more mid lane and very strong continuous move to the pocket. I must say I have been very very impressed by the versatility of this ball. First night of league last week was 791. Will post another review when I drill my 2nd one.

David Tessman
RotoGrip regional staff.
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: Los300 on September 08, 2008, 07:09:01 PM
I drilled a Grand Illusion this week and I really like it thus far. I kept the ball in the polished box finish.  With this finish the ball will clear the heads easily, pick up in the late mid lane, and make a sharp move on the backend. The polished, solid reactive coverstock creates a reaction that I can best describe as a solid reactive front with a pearl reactive backend which creates a unique angle and look that will allow you to really open up the lane. I found that I have had my best looks keeping my hand under the ball as any considerable side rotation will make the ball duck hook on the backend and leave some interesting designs. The ball has enough natural, built-in backend that you do not have to do anything to help it finish. In comparison with the great Roto Grip Cell, the Grand Illusion will go about 3-4 feet longer through the heads but will backend about 4-5 more boards. When the Cell burns up a bit too soon and doesn’t have a lot left for the back or is just simply too much ball, then pick up the Grand Illusion. When the Grand Illusion goes too long and won’t pick up on the back or if you run into a longer, heavier volume pattern you can then pick up the Cell. The two balls do have a very similar violent hitting power that throws pins around aggressively. As their ad says, Roto Grip has definitely produced a great 1-2 punch in their product line with the Cell and Grand Illusion that compliment each other perfectly. Once again, if you are looking for a ball that will go easily through the fronts, picks up in the late mid lane, comes back hard for great mix and carry, and is a great compliment to the Cell, then pick up the Grand Illusion.
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: Rotopps_thomas on September 10, 2008, 05:27:32 PM
first off i am right handed, balls speed is 17-20mph, 400-450rpms. my a game is hooking the lane but i can pipe it up the twig if i have to. most of my games on this ball have been on a ths (typical house shot) 38ft walled up. i just drill this ball about 2 weeks ago with a 5" 45 degree drilling with the pin 4" above my center of grip. i did this layout hoping it would complement my cells. now let me tell you this ball is a dead ringer for a 2 ball behind the cell. when my cell starts checking up to soon or starts burning up is when i move to the grand illusion. and it gives me that lil extra push down the lane to help me get that look i had with my cells on the fresh shot. let me tell ya this ball hits like a truck! my first three games out the box with this ball were 279 280 279 for 838. could of easily been 900  but you know 9 nine pins killed that lol. but anyways i think this ball would fit in anyones arsenal who is looking for a ball to fit behind there strong ball or looking for a strong polished solid this ball is for you.

thomas parker
bowlers aid proshop manager
roto grip proshop staff
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: John Brodersen on September 21, 2008, 05:17:32 PM
Ball specs – 15 lbs 0 oz, 2.82 top weight, and 2.25-inch pin.

The Grand Illusion was drilled using the dual angle drilling method.  The layout used was a 4.5-inch pin to PAP distance with a 45-degree drill angle and a 68-degree VAL angle.  This placed the pin at 3/8ths of an inch directly below the ring finger and the non-marked mass bias ¼ of an inch past the VAL.  An X-hole was needed.  Using the gradient line system, it was placed in position 2, which is approximately 1-¼ inches down from the PAP.  The cover was left in OOB condition.

I compared the Grand Illusion against a Mystic with a similar layout, a Cell and the original Illusion.  (Please see my previous posts for layouts).  The Grand Illusion is very clean through the fronts.  Longer than the Mystic and Cell but sooner than the Illusion.  It did not exhibit any lope even with the larger RG value of the Helios II core.  The move in the backend was very, very strong, but not angular.  The Grand Illusion covered a couple of more boards than the Mystic and Illusion but was out hooked over all by the Cell.   The Grand Illusion exhibited great hit and carry.

The Grand Illusion is a great medium condition ball.  As designed, it is a great fit under the Cell.  It will definitely be in my tournament arsenal bag.

John Brodersen
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: MSUHoss300 on September 22, 2008, 02:58:00 PM
I recently drilled 2 Grand Illusions, this is the best Roto-Grip ball I have seen so far. I drilled the first one 5" x 3" pin down under my middle finger with a hole on my VAL 2" below my PAP and left it at box finish.   The other is also a 5" pin but I drilled this one out with the middle finger to try and make it smoother then the other.  I hit this one with a 500 Abralon pad.  The first Grand Illusion clears the fronts really well, and gives me the strong continuous motion I like to see.  This is Roto-Grips "benchmark ball" in my opinion, if it is not the right ball it will tell you what is.  I like to use this one on Shark and Scorpion and can also see some play late block on Chameleon.  The other Grand Illusion allows me to play straighter, the shape is much flatter.  I can use this one on our shorter patterns like Cheetah and Viper and maybe a little bit on Chameleon.
     Overall this ball is very impressive, easy to get it down the lane but it doesn't jerk like alot of balls on the market today.  Comparing it to the Cell, it will get through the fronts much easier which allows the ball to be much stronger down lane because it will not use up energy. The Cell tends to read the front of the lane quite a bit which makes the motion alot smoother for me.  The Grand Illusion compliments the Cell really well in the when the heads start to burn up you can go to the Grand and pick up right where you left off.  Another great addition to the Roto-Grip line!
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: Mr Scary on September 24, 2008, 11:21:29 AM
15 lb. drilled the ring finger through the pin with the CG kicked out.  Right Hander.

This ball is a perfect compliment to the Cell.  Medium oil, the Cell gets put back in the bag, and the Grand Illusion comes out.
I drilled this ball for my Monday night scratch league.  Medium oil with OB right.  
I threw it first in a baker tournament and threw 12 out if 13 strikes (Unfortunately, my only miss was a stone 7 with the front 10, but our team stilled ended up shooting 289, 279 for the 2 game set)  Next, the true test, the big money scratch league.  I shot 658 and 707 the first 2 weeks.  The reaction was great, but I knew it could be better.  I put a very small weight hole in it to slightly tame the reaction.  Well, it worked, 290-268-247=805 the third week.  I can't wait to get back Monday to see what else this thing can do.  This ball has a VERY true roll, and can be used on just about any condition.  Another MUST have from Roto Grip!!!
--------------------
Chris Slagter
Roto Grip Amatuer Staff
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: Onebigtwister on September 30, 2008, 06:28:44 PM
Ball specs – 15 lbs 3 oz, 3.18oz top weight, and 3.5" pin
Drilling specs - 5X3 pin above fingers, 61/64 weight hole on PAP 2 1/2" deep

This ball is a great compliment to the Cell, I have a Cell drilled identical to this except with the pin below fingers. The Grand Illusion is a couple of feet longer then the Cell and not as angular off the spot as the Cell. This ball has work well for me on most all sport patterns, it has the midlane read you need for control but yet still enough on the back to carry the corners. As you tend to migrate inside the 4th and 5th arrow, corner become more apparent with this drilling. That being said if you did need to play that deep the Grand Illusion could fit the bill with a different drilling (4x4 or 5x4 with hole down on VAL).

The Grand Illusion is a great fit for anyone who is looking for a ball for sport patterns as well as house conditions. There are not to many balls I can say that you can use for both. Any questions feel free to give a shout.

Jacob Bedard
RotoGrip Staff
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: SenorRotoGrip on September 30, 2008, 08:20:17 PM
I drilled my Grand Illusion with a 6" pin/pap, pin under middle finger, no hole. I drilled the Grand Illusion this way because my arsenal was lacking a ball with this type layout to be used for Sr PBA medium patterns (the 39 and 41 foot) when the back ends get tight.  
The Grand Illusion drilled with a weak, low pin position, had good length down the lane, and made a strong move off the dry on a 39' house shot. The Ultimate Vision cover (for carry down) combined with the Helios II weight block, gives this ball plenty of hit at the pins.  
The Grand Illusion rg is a med/low 2.54 with a differential of .41. This is a great complement to the Illusion. When the heads dry up and the oil moves downlane, the Grand Illusion is the way to go. A simple three ball arsenal for med/heavy oil, could be made up of a Cell (for the fresh), an Ilusion( for a burn), and the Grand Illusion(for carry down).
--------------------
Senor RotoGrip
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: BackToBasics on October 01, 2008, 11:41:14 AM
My Grand Illusion was drilled pin under ring 5" from PAP with weighthole 6 3/4" from center of grip at 45* angle.  I wasn't sure what to expect from the Grand Illusion since I didn't match up to the regular Illusion at all.  The GI is much more than just a solid Illusion and IMHO it has a much stronger cover.  The midlane of the Grand Illusion is shockingly good.  I expected more angle with the box finish but instead a got a great reading piece with good push through the fronts (more than a polish cell drilled similarly).  However, it still had the same good midlane and hard arc downlane as the Cell. I believe this is more of compliment to the Cell than the Pearl Cell because of the similar motion throughout the lane.  It's been really easy to go from a Cell (which I have 3 of) to the GI when I want a similar read but the overall pattern has broken down too much for the Cell.  

The Grand Illusion is a great ball that hopefully won't be overshadowed by the Pearl Cell.  Strong strong covered solid piece with a very versatile cover that's a perfect compliment to the Cell.
--------------------
Anthony Chapman

Roto Grip Staff 2008
Where''s my camera?
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: Wes Malott on October 01, 2008, 11:29:22 PM
What a great piece.  Ever since they got this ball to me for the Summer Series, I have not been able to get it out of my hand.  I have drilled this ball many different ways and no matter how I drill it the ball rolls good.  I think this ball with the correct drilling is going to be good for any style of player but especially good for any player with any kind of rev rate.  

The other main caracteristic I see out of the Grand that i like is the way it smooths out the mid lane and makes the lane very easy to read for me.  So between the Cell Pearl and the Grand Illusion I think I will have a very successfull season.

Thanks to all

"The Big Nasty"
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: RonCase823 on October 02, 2008, 01:02:37 AM
Drilled 4 by 4. This ball is very clean through the head and reads the mid lane quite well. At first it was very jumpy but in a few games became a nice continuous arc. Works well for me when I need to get something going in the mid lane and be smooth in the back. With a higher pin and continual shine I think this ball could also be very sharp on the backend if you so desired.
  Thanks and good luck
  Ron Case
Rotogrip staff
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: bowltsproshop on October 02, 2008, 03:56:42 AM
My grand illusion is drilled with my pin at one o'clock with the cg under my ring close to the center of my palm. (4 x 5)  The grand gets through the heads very clean for a solid reactive but also makes a smooth and predictable move at the midlane.  Extremly versatile and easy to predict this ball would be a excellent choice for a benchmark ball.  A great addition to an already perfect rotogrip line.



Dave Roberts Jr
Roto Grip Pro Shop Staff
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: BrianK on October 02, 2008, 09:50:38 AM
Hello everyone. The Grand Illusion has made bowling this late summer a lot easier. The way it smooths the lane out but still has the pop on the backends let me play all angles without having to change balls. The ball also rolls into the pins heavier then most of my balls there for making my hit power increase.

Have a great bowling season.

BK
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: gperry on October 02, 2008, 03:02:45 PM
Drilling Pattern: 3 X 5 with Weight Hole

Grand Illusion…..

Okay People… where to start??? Love this Ball, If you are looking for something to fill the Void or a good in between ball then this is the one. This ball is incredible on the Drier House Conditions and when the lanes break down a bit. Super easy through the front and I guarantee it to make the corner. Reads the lanes well and is very predictable. Don’t be afraid to get inside and crank on this ball it reads the backend very well. I recommend this ball to anyone who needs help as the lanes change. As usual this one kills the pins when it is in the hole!!!!!


Greg
Roto-Grip Test Staff

--------------------
Greg Perry
Murfreesboro TN
Roto-Grip Proshop Staff
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: lil League Coach on October 03, 2008, 10:57:29 AM
I love this ball for any type of Tournament/ PBA patterns. The Grand Illusion rolls so effortlessly through the heads and reads the oil  pattern very smooth on the back.
 The first tournament I rolled with it I ended up winning. The tournament was on the Chameleon pattern on wood (tons of friction). I used this ball to lead qualifying and go on to walk my way through the 16 man bracket! I was soo impressed with this ball due to anyone I watch they miss right ball would hang.. miss left the ball is face. Not the case with the Grand Illusion as its smoothness gave me area and carry! Thanks ROTO GRIP on ANOTHER Great piece
 My specs:
 Right Handed
 17-18mph
 PAP:  4  1/2  x  3/8 up

LAYOUT of GRAND ILLUSION - 5  x  3  3" pin buffer - pin is under the middle finger cg kicked out with an axis on the PAP.
*If you want smooth and consistent this is the ball.
--------------------
TJ TROUT
 PBA EAST REGIONAL MEMBER
 Vise Grip Staff "choice of champions"
 thomasjtrout@yahoo.com
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: jeorj on October 04, 2008, 11:47:53 AM
I have mine drilled with the pin over the bridge 5x3. Using it on the new synthetics they just installed here in Savannah, with a light to medium oil pattern, it glides through the heads, has a smooth midlane motion, then BAM, flips hard for the pocket and hits like a ton of bricks! This is a great addition to my arsenal as I have finally found a ball to fit under my Cell and Torque.
--------------------
In memory of the Fallen at the Imperial Sugar Refinery in Savannah, GA.
My friends and coworkers, May God be with you!
February 7, 2008
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: KENOMAN on October 04, 2008, 10:00:17 PM
MY FIRST BALL OUT OF THE BAG. A SMOOTH ROLLING, STRONG ARCING BALL, HITS WELL. I COPIED THE DRILL OFF MY OLD APOCALYPSE 5X4. I DIDN'T LIKE THE REACTION WITH THE FACTORY POLISH SO I DULLED IT UP. IT STILL GOT THROUGH THE HEADS EASILY FOR A DULL BALL AND I WAS SURPRISED AT THE RECOVERY AREA I GOT WHEN I MISSED RIGHT. A VERY FORGIVING BALL. I WAS VERY PLEASED AND WHEN IT STARTS READING THE HEADS I CAN SWITCH TO MY POLISHED ORIGINAL ILLUSION AND START STRIKING AGAIN.
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: partners30 on October 07, 2008, 07:47:28 PM
I was excited to drill this ball after all the success I had with the original Illusion. Out of the box the pin was about three and a half inch's and had three ounces of top.  I kept the pin above my fingers and the cg is slightly kicked out.  I took the surface up to 2000 and polished it and I find that I get alot of length with great continuous move on the back end.  The hit and mix I get out of this ball is tremendous.  It is a great compliment to my Cell.  It is usually the second ball out of my bag because my cell is my bench mark, but I usually find myself switching to the grand illusion because The lanes hook a little more due to the typical league bowler using sanded equipment.  This ball is a must have for everyone because it is versatile and the cover can be changed very easily.  It is a great compliment the Cell and the Illusion.
--------------------
John Morvant
Lafayette, LA
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: RGLull on October 12, 2008, 04:42:15 PM
This is the smoothest and most consistent rolling ball I have had in a long time.  It is very continueous throught the pins and keeps them low for better carry.
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: Roto-Mat on October 12, 2008, 10:47:44 PM
My bowling stats:

PAP: 5.75” Over .25” Up
Average Speed: 18.5 MPH
RPM’s: 400+

Ball(s) Stats:

“Strong” Grand Illusion
Pin Location: 4” From PAP
Mass Bias Location: 60 Degrees
Weight Hole Location: Positive Thumb Quadrant
Personal Favorite Surface: Gray Scotch Brite

“Weaker” Grand Illusion
Pin Location: 5.5” From PAP (Above Bridge)
Weight Hole: None
Personal Favorite Surface Condition: Polished

Review:
Conditions I Would Consider Using The Ball On:
Medium Patterns
Medium Volumed Patterns
Clean To Slightly Carried Down Backends
Medium Volumed House Shots

The Grand Illusion is as close to a Mystic replacement that I think that I will find, and in some aspects even better as I see the Grand Illusion as a ball that can handle a wider variety of conditions that the Mystic.

“Strong” Grand Illusion:
 
My “Strong” Grand Illusion is the ball that replaced my similarly drilled Mystic in the bag. At first I threw it with its factory polish and thought that it was too angular/squirty to be compared to my favorite Mystic so I knocked the polish off with some gray scotch brite, and viola! It rolled and hook nearly the same as my Mystic, with out some of the early burn that the Mystic had when encountering burned up lanes/patterns.

“Weaker” Grand Illusion

I left the factory polish on this ball for one reason. I didn’t have a ball that went between my cell’s and Pluto. I can go to this Grand Illusion when my Cells are checking early and my Pluto is not yet strong enough from inside. This Grand Illusion also works well for me when there is a short sport pattern that allows playing close to the gutter.

Conditions that I would not consider using these balls on:
High Volume Patterns
Long Patterns

Roto-Grip Balls Up or Down:
Ball Up In Reaction: Cell/Cell Pearl
Ball Down In Reaction: Pluto/Neptune


Thank you for your time in reading this review. I hope that you have found it to be helpful. If you have any questions please feel free to PM me and I will try to help you as much as I can.
Thanks!

Mat Henning
Roto-Grip Staffer
Champions Bowling Services


--------------------
Mat Henning
Roto-Grip Staffer
Turbo 2·N·1 Staffer
Owner/Operator of
Champions Bowling Services
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: kgunit689 on October 16, 2008, 01:42:21 PM
Stats

17mph ball speed
300-330 rev rate
axis- 5 1/4> 1/4^

Ball is drilled 4 1/2 from pap with the pin just above and to the right of the ring. Small hole 5" out from center of grip. I took some of the shine off with a 4000 pad.

Only got to throw this for a few hours last night on a 40ft modified house with a good amount of volume.

This ball seems to be one of my favorites and will probably be my benchmark ball. Very strong continuous ball that still clears the heads great. Very easy to read reaction that is so smooth but strong. Works great on the fresh and kept driving as i moved in. my cell has the same drilling and is much stronger in total hook and backend reaction. This is a great blend between the cell and cell pearl. I think the grand illusion is a must have for anybody.
--------------------
Kris George
08-09 UNLV Bowling Team
www.unlvbowling.org
www.collegebowling.com

Roto grip collegiate staff
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: partners30 on November 20, 2008, 08:38:41 AM
To update my Grand Illusion post:  I have now taken my Grand Illusion down to 1000 abralon with no polish.  I did this because the shot I have been playing on lately make the ball a bit jerky off the spot.  At 1000 I get a great ark off the spot wich allows me to stay further right for a longer period of time. My release allows me to spin the ball a bit which gets it down the lane anyway so with a little surface I don't go past the break point.  I still get great hit and mix, and I llike the ball better with a little bit of an earlier read on the lane.  The cover tunes easily to your liking, and if you don't own one do yourself a favor and get one.
--------------------
John Morvant
Lafayette, LA
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: bouncer100 on January 22, 2009, 11:35:49 PM
This ball has helped me through many situations. The ball has become a much needed weapon in my arsenal. On all different patterns, the ball has reacted and my scores have improved. I know I can acheive some great things with this ball. I will definitely recommend this ball to any player who has difficult with the different oil patterns. I originally had problems, but the Grand Illusion has solved them. Rotogrip has released many good bowling balls, with the Grand Illusion being one of them. Im glad I made this choice and it will always be my top choice whenever I roll a few games with my buddies.

 
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: nyranger21135 on January 23, 2009, 09:39:45 PM
The Grand Illusion is extremly versatile.  I have used it on many patterns and it has never let me down.  This is a great ball especially if you are going to start bowling on PBA patterns.  I have not had a problem with it and it is now my favorite ball.
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: kruzicka on February 24, 2009, 10:58:47 PM
My Grand Illusion is laid out with a 3 ¾” x 3 ¾” stacked layout, with a weight hole 2 ¼” below my axis on the VAL.  The first time I used the Grand illusion was on a broken down house pattern at our home center.  It reads the lane sooner than my Cell Pearl but overall hooks less.  This ball gives me a smoother, more controlled reaction compared to my Cell balls.  

My Grand Illusion is a few boards weaker overall than my Cell Pearl.  The backend reaction is much smoother and not as flippy.  I would recommend this ball for when the lanes are drier and you need to control your hook downlane.

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l308/unobowler01/Picture009.jpg

  I am very happy with all my RotoGrip equipment this year and can’t wait to see what they come out with next.
--------------------
Kristen Ruzicka
Sophomore
University of Nebraska Omaha
Storm/Roto Grip Collegiate Program
wwww.unomavsbowling.com
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: taylorgerard on February 24, 2009, 11:12:56 PM
I received my Grand Illusion through the RotoGrip Collegiate Program.  It is drilled with a 4” by 2” pin to PAP with a 1” x-hole on my VAL, 2” below my axis point.
I first used my Grand Illusion on the house pattern at our home center, which is dry on the outsides and heavy in the middle.  I have also thrown this ball on broken down patterns in tournaments throughout the season.  The Grand Illusion gives me good reaction on these patterns.
The Grand Illusion is my favorite ball to use on broken down patterns when my Cell isn’t getting enough arc on the back end.  It starts up early and arcs in, similar to the Grand Illusion.
I would definitely recommend this RotoGrip ball for broken down conditions.

http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fs99.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Fl308%2Funobowler01%2F%3Faction%3Dview%26current%3DPicture012.jpg&h=1817362d6d5397153650b5974b574b96

--------------------
Taylor Gerard
Sophomore
University of Nebraska Omaha
RotoGrip Collegiate Program
www.unomavsbowling.com
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: Moose Nugget on March 07, 2009, 01:33:29 AM
Grand came in at 15lbs 2oz with 3.25 top and 3.5 inch pin.  I've had this ball sitting in the box for the last 7 months but military deployment has kept me from punching it up until last week.  

I went with a 5x5 layout with a 2" pin buffer.  This is one of my favorite layouts and have an Illusion with a 5x4 and 2" pin buffer that is my go to ball when I'm struggling to find a reaction.

What I wanted from this ball:  I love the look I get from the original Illusion on short to medium length and med volume shots.  I wanted the Grand to have a similar look on med to longer length and med to med-heavy volume patterns.  

What I got:  Exactly what I wanted.  This ball's more consistent than my Cell Pearl across all conditions.  It handles more oil and is the most versatile ball I've used in the last couple years.  The Grand Illusion and Illusion will all but eliminate the need to carry anything other than my spare ball.  I could see keeping my Cell in the bag for the occasional heavy oil and my Saga for the deep inside shot when things break down and there is some carry-down but the Illusions will cover everything else.  Simple hand position changes have allowed me to play straight up 5, jump in and play 20-5 or anything in between and still carry everything in the house.  I have quickly developed the confidence to throw this ball on any line and know it will make to the pocket and carry.

I know Roto is talking about a new sword line but I don't know how they can improve on these two..........The Grand Illusion is with out a doubt the best ball no one is talking about.  If you're looking for a benchmark ball you won't be disappointed with a Grand Illusion.

--------------------
Todd Pallas

"On the road to success, there is never a crowd on the extra mile."

USBC Bronze Level Certified Coach
Splintered Pinz Pro Shop
Redline Bowling Services
Ellsworth AFB, South Dakota
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: rotogrip_rick on August 06, 2009, 06:30:19 PM
On this the third Grand Illusion I had drilled, I went with a 5x3 with the pin kicked 3 inches up. I found this to be better then my earlier ones, just because he seems to hold more energy when hitting the pins. Not as stron in the back end as I new NOMAD SOLID. It fits with my Rogue-Grand-Pearl Cell 3 bag combo for local house shots.


--------------------
ROTO GRIP RULES!!! YOU KNOW IT!!!
RICK MITCHELL
COLONY PARK LANES NORTH
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: Bigmike on August 10, 2009, 04:29:58 PM
See profile for stats.

Lay Out: 4.5" from PAP at 50* PAP angle and 40* VAL angle. The pin ended up slightly above my ring finger. There is a weight hole on my axis of 7/8" about 2" deep.

Surface: I have it taken down to 2000abr.

Purpose: I wanted a benchmark type reaction. I had some other balls that had some of the internal numbers like this one that I used for benchmark balls.

Lane condition Observations: I have mainly thrown this on our league shot, but did give it a whirl on the Kegel Boardwalk pattern (35'). This surface and layout was took quick off the spot for that short of a pattern. Our house pattern lets me play out into the slot (13-7) and blow pins up. I get the feel that I can use this for a good 'read' ball for the upcoming season and also on our house pattern for league.

Final thoughts: It was hard to argue with the price, but the performance is surprising. This ball had the misfortune of coming out slighlty before the much anticipated Cell Pearl. It might not have gotten the respect it deserved.
--------------------
"Why don''t you call me sometime.....when you have no class" ~~Rodney Dangerfield to his college professor in Back to School ~~1986

Mike Craig - Storm Products Pro Shop staff -Columbus, OH
Title: Re: Grand Illusion
Post by: surface_solutions on April 08, 2011, 08:22:32 PM
BALL SPECS


Pin Length:3-4


Starting Top Weight:2.3


Ball Weight:15 lb 4 oz


 


DRILL PATTERN


Pin to PAP: 4.5


CG to PAP: 3.5


X Hole (if there is one):

 





BOWLER STYLE


Rev Rate: 350


Ball Speed: 16.5

 

PAP/Track: 4 1/4 right 5/8 up, high track .5" from fingers .750" from thumb


 


SURFACE PREP



Grit:2000 Abralon



Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded):

 





LANE CONDITION


Length:37' and 41'

 

Volume: medium to med-heavy



Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):

THS and Sport Compliant (USBC White)

 

BALL REACTION (rating based on a scale of 1-10)



Length (1-early read, 10 later read)
--6--I would give this ball a 6.  That is also very dependent on the part of the lane that is being played.  The length rating will vary in comparison to the oil pattern.  It reads friction REAL fast!



Back End (1-smooth, 10 skid snap)
--6/7--by  my assessment. Average rev rates will see a strong but controllable reaction.  Those with more revs will see a MUCH MUCH stronger back end move.

 

Overall Hook (1-weak, 10 strong)

--7--The Ultimate Vision cover is really strong yet forgiving.  I find it easily used on higher volumes of oil.

Mid lane Read: (1-early, 10-late)
--6--Given my "up the back" release I would give the Grand Illusion a solid 6.  Especially with the shine taken off.


 

 


COMMENTS



Likes: The biggest asset that the Grand Illusion has to offer is its strong hook potential for the price range.  Being in the mid-price category is an understatement of what the ball is truly capable of.



Dislikes: Despite the strength of the cover the med-high RG core doesn't have the strength to kick out the corners on the deep inside lines for me. 
 

 

Closing Thoughts:

I was looking for a replacement for my Riot, what I got was the greatest benchmark ball of all time.  I have had a couple of tournaments where I have started with other equipment but almost always end up going to the Grand Illusion.  It really is like a bowlers best friend...always there when you need it!


 

 

 


Adam M Moreland
surface_solutions_proshop@yahoo.com
Phone: (616) 690-0590
High Games/Series for 2010/2011----288, 288, 289, 298, 299 and 300 games 757 and 789 and 811 series
RotoGrip Star Pro Shop Lifetime Member