BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 27, 2019, 03:02:26 PM

Title: Halo Pearl
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 27, 2019, 03:02:26 PM
The Roto Grip Halo Pearl is the perfect compliment to the original Halo bowling ball. This ball utilizes the same proven Centrum Core that was introduced with the Halo but a completely different coverstock. This ball is wrapped in the eTrax-P18 Pearl Reactive coverstock causing it to move at a different part of the lane. This ball offers a footprint in oil while still producing a responsive reaction to friction when lane conditions are medium to medium/heavy oil.

Color: Coal Pearl/Fuchsia Pearl/Sky Blue Pearl
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Core: Centrum (14#-16#)
Coverstock: eTrax-P18 Pearl Reactive
Finish: 1500-grit Polished
RG: 2.49 (for 15# ball)
Differential: 0.050 (for 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium to Medium/Heavy Oil
Hook Potential: High
Length: Late
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: cmattingly on February 28, 2019, 03:26:05 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 43'

Volume: 21mLs

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Can use this ball from the get go!

Dislikes: Can be a tad sharp off the friction


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
First Impression...WOW, This ball really creates angle! The Halo Pearl has the same eTrax-P18 cover as the Idol Pearl.  The Idol Pearl  for me has been the perfect complement piece to the Idol but I have not been able to start the night off with it.  The Halo Pearl however is  strong enough that I can start with it.  The core gets the ball reading the mids enough for my liking, with that great angular asymmetrical motion off the spot!  Although I am not a huge fan of pearls or shine in general, I have really fallen in love with the last 2 releases, the Idol Pearl and Halo Pearl!

The layouts I used for the Halo Pearl and Idol Pearl is:
60 x 5-1/2 x 35. 

Other balls in heavy rotation:
Storm CodeX- 60x5x70 pin down, p3 hole
Idol (solid)- 60x5x70 pin down, no hole
Idol Pearl-60x5-1/2x35
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: smcintire78 on March 01, 2019, 11:36:08 AM
Halo Pearl Review
Layout: 35 x 5 x 25
My PAP: 5Ē straight over
Axis Tilt: Between 3 and 8 degrees
High Track Player

Intent for this ball/layout: Wanted to be able to use this ball once a pattern started to break down and I started seeing early hook. Ideally to use on higher volume or longer sport shots.

What I got: This ball does not disappoint, and the ball motion is everything you would expect from a pearlized version of the Halo. Clean and Strong off the spot.
ē   House Shot: Even with the pearlized cover and box finish I am able to open up the lane on a house shot. The core revs up quick and reads the midlane flawlessly resulting in a strong motion towards the pocket. The core and cover combination allow me to just chase the house pattern left when it starts to hook early.
ē   43ft 2018 US Open Pattern: The longer heavier pattern is what I originally wanted this ball for and it did not let me down. Pulled the ball out half way into my six-game set when the front part of the lane started to burn up. The pearlized cover pushed the ball through the heads and allowed it to have enough energy to bounce off the spot at the break point. Canít wait to use this ball in the PBA regionals. Get this ball in your bag ASAP. You will not be disappointed. Bowl up a storm! #StormNation
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: StormAndrew on March 01, 2019, 03:44:12 PM
This ball is a monster that will be suitable for house and sport conditions. When you're looking for clean ball motion through the front part of the lane yet need continuation look no further than the Halo Pearl.

If you were a fan of the No Rules Pearl this will be a great supplement to that ball. One of the most exciting things about the Halo pearl is the cover that was placed on this ball. The e-Trax 18 cover which is seen in the famous Idol Pearl is the cover on the Halo Pearl. The Idol Pearl is one of the most popular balls in the current Storm/Roto lineup and its due to its cleanliness through the front and control and shape downlane. With the e-Trax 18 cover on a stronger asymetrical core we will see a lot more continuation down lane and will be a perfect compliment to the Idol Pearl when you need something a bit stronger.

I have used the Halo Pearl on both house and sport shots and this will easily be one of my best go to balls going foward.

Video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XEKJMzcesx4
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: RoundHolesNoGripsProshop on March 04, 2019, 05:29:17 PM
Ball: Rotogrip Halo Pearl
Layout: 75x4.5x40
Surface: 500 plus Polish
Lane Condition: THS mediumvolume
Lane Surface: Brunswick Anvilane

Tester: Andrew
Average: 230
Dexterity: Right
PAP: 4 9/16>, 3/8U
Rev Rate: 370

Iíve put 5 games on the Halo Pearl over the last few days. I can say Iím extremely impressed thus far. The first set was on our mixed handicap league with lots of plastic balls. The lanes get tighter as the set goes on. I had a good look out of the gate and just had to soften up my ball speed through the set to keep carrying.

The last two games came last night at the end of my 4 game scratch league. I started with the Halo games one and two. I made the switch after moving in deep and seeing soft tens. The Halo Pearl has effortless length but doesnít over read friction. But, once I was forced into the oil, I didnít lose my carry. This shows me the cover/core combo is a pretty solid match. I hate over/under and anytime I put a shiny pearl in my hand thatís what I worry about. But, the Halo Pearl was long, continuous without being overly responsive to the friction. For faster speed or lower rev players, I would recommend that you drill it a touch stronger than you might initially think and adjust surface as necessary.


Andrew Groves
Round Holes No Grips Proshop
Rotogrip Advisory Staff
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: TonyMarino on March 06, 2019, 10:28:51 AM
Roto Grip Halo Pearl

The Centrum Core was very popular in the original Halo as it revved up quick and gave that traditional early rolling core shape that most players love from high-end asymmetricals. The Halo Pearl is using the Centrum Core but wrapping it in the eTrax-18 pearl cover was first introduced in the Idol Pearl. Using this super strong pearl cover creates a lot of down lane motion in a very different part of the lane than the original Halo.

I love throwing big core, pearl bowling balls so this ball is making a home in my bag with the Code Black and Intense Fire.

For me the shape of the Halo Pearl is between the original Halo and the Idol Pearl. It is significantly cleaner than the Halo, but because of that big-block core it revs up faster and is smoother than the Idol Pearl.
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: hittnhard on March 06, 2019, 02:23:13 PM
Roto Grip Halo Pearl

Centrum Core

eTrax-P18ô Pearl Cover

The new HP4 ball, the highly awaited follow up to the Halo, the Halo Pearl.

Strength----Overall the Halo Pearl is the strongest ball in the current RG line. Earlier and stronger than the Idol Pearl, giving me a difference look from a pearl...something I was missing for sure. The Halo Pearl is perfect when I am on heavier oil and the Idol pearl is creating too much late angle to the pocket.

Shape---This one sticks to what I have seen over the last couple strong core, pearl Roto Grip releases. Like the Hyper Cell fused and the No Rules pearl, the Halo Pearl is a bit earlier than many other strong pearls.

The current Roto Grip lineup is impressive for sure. With the Halo's, Idol's, and Winner's, and Hustle's there is no lane condition left uncovered. The Idol's are prefect benchmark balls and now with the Halo Pearl, the heavy oil conditions can be covered with the Halo combo!
Title: Halo Pearl
Post by: KennonMcFalls300 on March 07, 2019, 06:23:17 PM
The new Halo Pearl has the same Centrum Core that was featured in the Original Halo. The coverstock on the Halo Pearl is the same as the Idol Pearl.
When first throwing this ball I was amazed at how much energy it ball stores. Its very clean and VERY sharp downlane. I think this will definitley be a ball that I will throw on the dryer lane conditions. The Halo Pearl will also be good on the Typical House Shots. Once your Halo or Idol (Solid) start to burn up, a simple switch to the Halo Pearl will get those weak corners out for sure.
I used a light 2000 abralon pad to knock the shine off of the ball before throwing it and it still provides easy length with a sharp response off of the friction. Manipulating the cover stock surface is one of the biggest tips I give people. Dont be scared to knock the factory finish off and experiment. The best players now their equitpment inside and out. The Halo Pearl will fit EVERYONES game. Im excited for customers to get this ball in their hands.
In this comparison the Halo Solid was about 4-2 stronger overall. I noticed the Halo Solid read the midlane much sooner and was slower off the friction.

https://youtu.be/ZwEprHUrcrQ
Title: Roto Grip Halo Pearl Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on March 08, 2019, 02:45:51 PM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  50, 5 ľ, 70

I love the Halo.  Sometimes it rolls a bit too early for me.  In comes the Halo Pearl to save the day.  Itís the same Halo motion but itís cleaner with more backend.  Itís the perfect complement to the Halo. 

Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: Kevin Duncan on March 08, 2019, 08:26:31 PM
Roto Grip Halo Pearl
Layout: 4 X 4 X 1 Storm Buffer layout
Rev Rate: 300 rpm
Testing information: 41 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine Ė Brunswick Anvilane

The Roto Grip Halo Pearl sports the eTrax P-18 coverstock and Centrum Core (asymmetrical).  The cover and core combination work very well together.  This ball is as close to a must have that I have seen. 
We tested the Halo Pearl on our typical house shot right after the lanes were dressed so the conditioner did not have time to settle.  It didn't seem to matter though.  The Roto Grip Halo Pearl was dynamite during this test session and previous test sessions as well.  The ball allowed me to play firm and straight just inside the track.  However, I could also move in and slow hook it from fourth arrow.  The carry was excellent from both zones.
When compared to the Roto Grip Hyper Cell Fused, the Halo Pearl had a little sooner break point.  The Hyper Cell Fused was longer which promoted more entry angle.  The Halo Pearl was more continuous off the end of the pattern.  The total hook was comparable between the two balls.  The shape of the hook  was different.
The Halo Pearl will be ideal for rev dominant players but will work for almost all styles.  The Hyper Cell Fused is better suited for speed dominate players.
Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop to pick up your Roto Grip Halo Pearl!
#SquadRG 
#Stormnation
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: EVollmar on March 10, 2019, 02:12:04 PM
Length:42
Volume: High
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS
Rev Rate: 450
Ball Speed: 17 mph
PAP: 5 1/16 x 3/4 up

Introducing the Halo Pearl, the newest release in the HP4 line. Here we have the Centrum Core, first introduced in the Halo, but now with the e-Trax P18 cover. When I heard that the Halo Pearl was gonna have the same cover as the Idol Pearl I got very excited. It did not disappoint! The layout that I used was 5 x 4 x 2 1/2, which puts the pin right above my fingers. This is the same layout that I have on my Idol Pearl because I wanted them to work off each other and they did that perfectly. Even though they share the same cover, the Halo Pearl is a good 5 to 6 boards more hook then my Idol pearl and a little earlier due to the core differences. They are a great 1 2 combo. This is a great addition to an already powerhouse line up.


Earon Vollmar
Roto Grip Amateur Staffer
Title: Halo Pearl
Post by: yellowdog07 on March 12, 2019, 04:05:51 PM
Weight:  14 lbs.
Pin Length:  4Ē
Drilling:  40 x 2 1/2  x 25
Pattern Length:  40 ft.
Pattern Volume:  Medium
Pattern Type:  THS
Right Handed

The HALO PEARL has the eTrax-P18  pearl cover stock, first introduced on the popular Roto Grip Idol Pearl ball, wrapped around the asymmetrical Centrum Core.  The box finish is 1500 grit polished, but can be sanded for more versatility. The color is a mix of coal, fuchsia, and sky blue.  The 14 lb. version has a 2.54 RG, with a differential of 0.050

I have used the HALO PEARL on a variety of house conditions, 39 to 44 ft. with moderate volume, and modified house patterns in area tournaments.  I found it to be very strong out of the box, which allowed me to play between 12 and 15 on the fresh. Once the lanes started to transition, I was then able to ball up to the Halo and move in to catch more head oil, or ball down to the Idol Pearl and stay in the same area.
I have kept the surface at the 1500 grit polished box finish.  This gave me a great look on the  medium volume house patterns.  It got down the lane for me, and really faced up strong to the pocket, with very little deflection. It gives me a great entry angle for maximum carry, which, as a lower rev player, i canít always create.

This is an great piece that hits very hard, and can give you earlier or later roll by experimenting with surface changes.  It gives me a similar look to the old Cell Pearl of years ago.  I believe this ball will suit many different styles and rev rates.   It is rapidly becoming the favorite piece in my arsenal, and first ball out of my bag. 


Carol Teel
Roto Grip Amateur Staff Member
 :)
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: RyanPatterson30 on March 18, 2019, 06:40:37 PM
This ball is something that I have been missing. Personally, I am very picky with the asymmetrical pearl balls that I decide to use. I personally think this is my favorite since the Code Black a few years ago. This ball has the same cover as the Idol Pearl (which is one of my favorites). I put a longer Pin from PAP which helps get through the fronts and hooks more down lane, which I like to see in this type of ball. The Halo Pearl will be a good ball in transition when I need help clearing the fronts but still need enough ball to hook down lane. I think this will be a very big fan favorite and will be on a lot of ball returns.

Layout: 60 x 5 x 40
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: PJ Haggerty on March 19, 2019, 01:56:52 PM
Roto Grip Halo Pearl Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

The first Halo was a big cored, asymmetrical, solid ball that covers a ton of boards.  Itís perfect when thereís a good amount of oil on the lane and you need a ball to dig hard.  Schlem and team in Utah decided to keep the colors very similar to the original Halo and provide us with a pearl version, called the Halo Pearl.

Imagine the original Halo, but with a pearl cover to create more angle down lane.  A perfect one-two punch with the first Halo being earlier and more forward.  The Halo Pearl is much cleaner through the front part of the lane with a faster response time and more angle through the pins.  Iíve drilled one so far and love it. I drilled it with a 5 ľ x 4 Ĺ x 55 layout with a surface of 2000 on it.  Iíve had the most success after a pattern blends out and I need to open up my angles.

At this point, the Halo Pearl has one of the fastest response times in my bag.  If I need something a bit slower, Iíll use a Physix or the Halo.  If I need something quicker, Iíll use a Hyroad-X.  Iíve also had the most success when thereís a good amount of oil on the lane.  The core and cover are very strong, so I think there needs to be some oil on the lane to use the Halo Pearl.  Itís a great piece and looks great!

Go drill one!
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: BSumner on March 21, 2019, 10:21:38 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40

Volume: 25mld

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

I absolutely love Roto Grip’s asymmetrical stuff. For my game, it just seems to have a rounder shape than my Storm stuff on comparable layouts. That said, I don’t find anything about the Halo Pearl to be weak or flat.

I punched up my Halo Pearl with a 4.5x5x2. The ball definitely glides through the heads, but with the position I have the core in, It’s more forward on the backend than many of my typical 4x4x2 asymmetrical layouts. I like that. Sometimes I’m not ready to core down to something symmetrical and this ball gives me the ability to keep the flare, but not over read the friction.

In the video below, my friend and I each throw the same layout. He has more axis tilt and rotation. Watch the difference in the shape on the back end.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qGE8_bRIGKk
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: Bigmike on March 24, 2019, 05:04:12 PM
See profile for stats.

I drilled my HALO PEARL up 65x5x35 which is my standard layout for large core asymmetric balls. I have left it box since I have only had a chance to throw it on house and a sport pattern that is 45' and it rolls even on that long sport pattern.

This is a great RG pearl like the NO RULES PEARL and CELL PEARL which seemed to never miss the spot downlane. I have been able to throw the HALO PEARL like the other two above on the longer pattern and it holds a lot of energy. It also gives me some good indications when to move out of a zone as it will go forward when it burns too much at the break point. It might still carry the shot, but it is time to go left even more at that point.

I will post when I drill a second one to put some surface on as the NO RULES PEARL and CELL PEARL were excellent balls with surface also.
Title: Halo Pearl by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on March 27, 2019, 09:26:42 PM
The Halo Pearl is the latest asymmetric pearl in the HP4 line, a ball that was needed to fill the hole left by the No Rules Pearl, and a worthy piece to complete the trio of reactions.  Like was done with the Idol and Idol Pearl, the Halo Pearl cover formula is quite different from the Halo, but this creates a little more separation and ultimately a ball that is a better compliment.  The Centrum core makes the two reactions feel familiar, but the Halo Pearl is several boards weaker, much cleaner and easier down the lane, and sharper.  For me this means a couple of great reactions that truly compliment each other without the overlap that some balls with the same core and variations of the same cover formula can create.  I have not put the Halo Pearl down since I got it, occasionally Iíll use the Idol Pearl (same cover formula) if the lanes are too dry, but if at all possible, the Halo Pearl has been the ball.  Itís already made me quite a bit of money at tournaments, and Iíve also had a couple honor scores with it, I canít recommend this one enough. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OqGft0ExDyo
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: rodbowler75 on March 29, 2019, 09:59:22 PM
[font=The Halo Pearl, when I first heard of the release of this ball I was really excited. The Halo has been one of my favorites since I drilled it. The Halo Pearl is a great compliment to it. With the cover used on the Idol Pearl was a great choice! I drilled mine Halo Pearl 50 x 5 x 40 very clean when you need more kick in the back this ball provides it! Really nice fit between the Halo and Hyper cell fused!
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: dcutler on March 31, 2019, 07:54:19 PM
My name is Doug Cutler and I am a Storm/Roto Grip Staffer.  The first Halo Pearl I drilled is 50 x 5 x 40 and the surface is out of box.  The Roto Grip Halo Pearl sports the eTrax P-18 coverstock and Centrum Core (asymmetrical).  The cover and core combination work very well together.  This ball right now is my go to ball and is a bench mark ball. This ball has given me area left and also right and does not roll out.  You can use this on any THS, and any Sport shot that is medium to heavy oil.  I have had the Halo Pearl for only 3 weeks and the first week shot 833, and next week 749. The 3 week i did not bowl. When this ball starts to go to long, then I go to the original Halo. These two balls are a great 1-2 punch and are a must in your arsenal. #squadRG #halopearl #ownit

Doug Cutler
Storm/Roto Grip Staffer
PBA Regional Champion
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: jaymed53 on April 09, 2019, 10:07:42 AM
My Name is Jay Medina and I am a Storm Staffer. I have my halo pearl drilled  50x5x45 and holy smokes this ball sparks off the back of the pattern. I have named this ball the house shot killer. The ball is really clean through the front of the lane and has hits like a tank. This has really allowed me to open up the lanes especially later in a set without losing any energy through the pins. Compared to the No Rules Pearl for me is was overall about 3 board stronger with a lot more continuation through the pins. I have used this on a THS as well as well as on the Earl Anthony  with a 2000 grit surface. You can find a video here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8QltcELXmTE
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: hammermike2000 on April 09, 2019, 03:53:27 PM
Layout: 60 x 4 ĺ x 40

The Halo Pearl has massive midlane/backend on medium-heavy to medium-dry oil. This ball loves to turn the corner, and is great for when I have to get left and circle the lane. I drilled it with a layout to enhance the backend reaction, and also left the box finish shine on it, to use when the lanes are broken down a bit and I need to "curve it". It fits that spot perfectly. With the layout and surface that I have on it, it is not ideal for using when I have to go 'down and in'. Other balls such as the first Halo or original Idol are more suited for that, and then the Halo Pearl is the perfect ball to go to when those balls are burning up. The strong backend results in excellent pin carry when this ball matches up properly.

Mike LeViner
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: Gil B on May 21, 2019, 07:43:59 AM
Halo Pearl is a great piece to have in the bag. The E-Trax P-18  cover is one of my favorites. This pearl gets through the heads with ease reads the mids and doesnít quit on the back end. The halo pearl  is perfect for medium oil to heavy oil lane conditions.  If you enjoyed the idol pearl but wished you had something a little less angular at entry point and with more hook this is what you need.
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: Pbapolizzi on May 21, 2019, 01:17:55 PM
RotoGrip Halo Pearl

Layout- 60x5.5x25

The halo pearl is the pearl asym ball i have always personally wanted. The core is strong enough to dig in the oil but the cover is so clean it always gets through
the front part of the lane. Ive used this ball on 37 feet all the way to 45 feet breakdown in regionals and tournaments. On house its always the right ball.
doesn't respond to quick to the friction all while blending the house shot cliff. the ball is simply a must have in the bag, game 2 ball all the way to the end of blocks sometimes
truly remarkable.
#StormNation
Title: Halo Pearl
Post by: Tknoop1127 on May 23, 2019, 01:57:33 PM
LANE CONDITION


Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Various Patterns


COMMENTS

 
Layout: 60 X 3 3/8 x 35
PAP: 5 over 3/4 up

The Halo Pearl is one of the few asymmetrical pearl balls that fits my style. I spin the ball a little more than most, and a lot of asymmetrical pearl balls go way to long for me, and never sees the friction. But, I love this ball. This ball truly does dig through the oil, but is still very clean. I enjoy using this ball during the transition period at PBA events. I'll go to this ball around games 3-4, if not a little earlier. Also, I like to use this ball for THS, and I can play any part of the lane.

If you had the OG Halo, then this ball will go great with it. When the Halo is hooking too early, or not storing enough energy because you're too far left, then that's when the Halo Pearl will come into play. I highly recommend this ball to anyone needs a complimentary ball for an asymmetrical solid.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS