BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 27, 2019, 03:02:26 PM

Title: Halo Pearl
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 27, 2019, 03:02:26 PM
The Roto Grip Halo Pearl is the perfect compliment to the original Halo bowling ball. This ball utilizes the same proven Centrum Core that was introduced with the Halo but a completely different coverstock. This ball is wrapped in the eTrax-P18 Pearl Reactive coverstock causing it to move at a different part of the lane. This ball offers a footprint in oil while still producing a responsive reaction to friction when lane conditions are medium to medium/heavy oil.

Color: Coal Pearl/Fuchsia Pearl/Sky Blue Pearl
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Core: Centrum (14#-16#)
Coverstock: eTrax-P18 Pearl Reactive
Finish: 1500-grit Polished
RG: 2.49 (for 15# ball)
Differential: 0.050 (for 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium to Medium/Heavy Oil
Hook Potential: High
Length: Late
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: cmattingly on February 28, 2019, 03:26:05 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 43'

Volume: 21mLs

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Can use this ball from the get go!

Dislikes: Can be a tad sharp off the friction


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
First Impression...WOW, This ball really creates angle! The Halo Pearl has the same eTrax-P18 cover as the Idol Pearl.  The Idol Pearl  for me has been the perfect complement piece to the Idol but I have not been able to start the night off with it.  The Halo Pearl however is  strong enough that I can start with it.  The core gets the ball reading the mids enough for my liking, with that great angular asymmetrical motion off the spot!  Although I am not a huge fan of pearls or shine in general, I have really fallen in love with the last 2 releases, the Idol Pearl and Halo Pearl!

The layouts I used for the Halo Pearl and Idol Pearl is:
60 x 5-1/2 x 35. 

Other balls in heavy rotation:
Storm CodeX- 60x5x70 pin down, p3 hole
Idol (solid)- 60x5x70 pin down, no hole
Idol Pearl-60x5-1/2x35
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: smcintire78 on March 01, 2019, 11:36:08 AM
Halo Pearl Review
Layout: 35 x 5 x 25
My PAP: 5Ē straight over
Axis Tilt: Between 3 and 8 degrees
High Track Player

Intent for this ball/layout: Wanted to be able to use this ball once a pattern started to break down and I started seeing early hook. Ideally to use on higher volume or longer sport shots.

What I got: This ball does not disappoint, and the ball motion is everything you would expect from a pearlized version of the Halo. Clean and Strong off the spot.
ē   House Shot: Even with the pearlized cover and box finish I am able to open up the lane on a house shot. The core revs up quick and reads the midlane flawlessly resulting in a strong motion towards the pocket. The core and cover combination allow me to just chase the house pattern left when it starts to hook early.
ē   43ft 2018 US Open Pattern: The longer heavier pattern is what I originally wanted this ball for and it did not let me down. Pulled the ball out half way into my six-game set when the front part of the lane started to burn up. The pearlized cover pushed the ball through the heads and allowed it to have enough energy to bounce off the spot at the break point. Canít wait to use this ball in the PBA regionals. Get this ball in your bag ASAP. You will not be disappointed. Bowl up a storm! #StormNation
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: StormAndrew on March 01, 2019, 03:44:12 PM
This ball is a monster that will be suitable for house and sport conditions. When you're looking for clean ball motion through the front part of the lane yet need continuation look no further than the Halo Pearl.

If you were a fan of the No Rules Pearl this will be a great supplement to that ball. One of the most exciting things about the Halo pearl is the cover that was placed on this ball. The e-Trax 18 cover which is seen in the famous Idol Pearl is the cover on the Halo Pearl. The Idol Pearl is one of the most popular balls in the current Storm/Roto lineup and its due to its cleanliness through the front and control and shape downlane. With the e-Trax 18 cover on a stronger asymetrical core we will see a lot more continuation down lane and will be a perfect compliment to the Idol Pearl when you need something a bit stronger.

I have used the Halo Pearl on both house and sport shots and this will easily be one of my best go to balls going foward.

Video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XEKJMzcesx4
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: RoundHolesNoGripsProshop on March 04, 2019, 05:29:17 PM
Ball: Rotogrip Halo Pearl
Layout: 75x4.5x40
Surface: 500 plus Polish
Lane Condition: THS mediumvolume
Lane Surface: Brunswick Anvilane

Tester: Andrew
Average: 230
Dexterity: Right
PAP: 4 9/16>, 3/8U
Rev Rate: 370

Iíve put 5 games on the Halo Pearl over the last few days. I can say Iím extremely impressed thus far. The first set was on our mixed handicap league with lots of plastic balls. The lanes get tighter as the set goes on. I had a good look out of the gate and just had to soften up my ball speed through the set to keep carrying.

The last two games came last night at the end of my 4 game scratch league. I started with the Halo games one and two. I made the switch after moving in deep and seeing soft tens. The Halo Pearl has effortless length but doesnít over read friction. But, once I was forced into the oil, I didnít lose my carry. This shows me the cover/core combo is a pretty solid match. I hate over/under and anytime I put a shiny pearl in my hand thatís what I worry about. But, the Halo Pearl was long, continuous without being overly responsive to the friction. For faster speed or lower rev players, I would recommend that you drill it a touch stronger than you might initially think and adjust surface as necessary.


Andrew Groves
Round Holes No Grips Proshop
Rotogrip Advisory Staff
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: TonyMarino on March 06, 2019, 10:28:51 AM
Roto Grip Halo Pearl

The Centrum Core was very popular in the original Halo as it revved up quick and gave that traditional early rolling core shape that most players love from high-end asymmetricals. The Halo Pearl is using the Centrum Core but wrapping it in the eTrax-18 pearl cover was first introduced in the Idol Pearl. Using this super strong pearl cover creates a lot of down lane motion in a very different part of the lane than the original Halo.

I love throwing big core, pearl bowling balls so this ball is making a home in my bag with the Code Black and Intense Fire.

For me the shape of the Halo Pearl is between the original Halo and the Idol Pearl. It is significantly cleaner than the Halo, but because of that big-block core it revs up faster and is smoother than the Idol Pearl.
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: hittnhard on March 06, 2019, 02:23:13 PM
Roto Grip Halo Pearl

Centrum Core

eTrax-P18ô Pearl Cover

The new HP4 ball, the highly awaited follow up to the Halo, the Halo Pearl.

Strength----Overall the Halo Pearl is the strongest ball in the current RG line. Earlier and stronger than the Idol Pearl, giving me a difference look from a pearl...something I was missing for sure. The Halo Pearl is perfect when I am on heavier oil and the Idol pearl is creating too much late angle to the pocket.

Shape---This one sticks to what I have seen over the last couple strong core, pearl Roto Grip releases. Like the Hyper Cell fused and the No Rules pearl, the Halo Pearl is a bit earlier than many other strong pearls.

The current Roto Grip lineup is impressive for sure. With the Halo's, Idol's, and Winner's, and Hustle's there is no lane condition left uncovered. The Idol's are prefect benchmark balls and now with the Halo Pearl, the heavy oil conditions can be covered with the Halo combo!
Title: Halo Pearl
Post by: KennonMcFalls300 on March 07, 2019, 06:23:17 PM
The new Halo Pearl has the same Centrum Core that was featured in the Original Halo. The coverstock on the Halo Pearl is the same as the Idol Pearl.
When first throwing this ball I was amazed at how much energy it ball stores. Its very clean and VERY sharp downlane. I think this will definitley be a ball that I will throw on the dryer lane conditions. The Halo Pearl will also be good on the Typical House Shots. Once your Halo or Idol (Solid) start to burn up, a simple switch to the Halo Pearl will get those weak corners out for sure.
I used a light 2000 abralon pad to knock the shine off of the ball before throwing it and it still provides easy length with a sharp response off of the friction. Manipulating the cover stock surface is one of the biggest tips I give people. Dont be scared to knock the factory finish off and experiment. The best players now their equitpment inside and out. The Halo Pearl will fit EVERYONES game. Im excited for customers to get this ball in their hands.
In this comparison the Halo Solid was about 4-2 stronger overall. I noticed the Halo Solid read the midlane much sooner and was slower off the friction.

https://youtu.be/ZwEprHUrcrQ
Title: Roto Grip Halo Pearl Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on March 08, 2019, 02:45:51 PM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  50, 5 ľ, 70

I love the Halo.  Sometimes it rolls a bit too early for me.  In comes the Halo Pearl to save the day.  Itís the same Halo motion but itís cleaner with more backend.  Itís the perfect complement to the Halo. 

Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: Kevin Duncan on March 08, 2019, 08:26:31 PM
Roto Grip Halo Pearl
Layout: 4 X 4 X 1 Storm Buffer layout
Rev Rate: 300 rpm
Testing information: 41 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine Ė Brunswick Anvilane

The Roto Grip Halo Pearl sports the eTrax P-18 coverstock and Centrum Core (asymmetrical).  The cover and core combination work very well together.  This ball is as close to a must have that I have seen. 
We tested the Halo Pearl on our typical house shot right after the lanes were dressed so the conditioner did not have time to settle.  It didn't seem to matter though.  The Roto Grip Halo Pearl was dynamite during this test session and previous test sessions as well.  The ball allowed me to play firm and straight just inside the track.  However, I could also move in and slow hook it from fourth arrow.  The carry was excellent from both zones.
When compared to the Roto Grip Hyper Cell Fused, the Halo Pearl had a little sooner break point.  The Hyper Cell Fused was longer which promoted more entry angle.  The Halo Pearl was more continuous off the end of the pattern.  The total hook was comparable between the two balls.  The shape of the hook  was different.
The Halo Pearl will be ideal for rev dominant players but will work for almost all styles.  The Hyper Cell Fused is better suited for speed dominate players.
Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop to pick up your Roto Grip Halo Pearl!
#SquadRG 
#Stormnation
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: EVollmar on March 10, 2019, 02:12:04 PM
Length:42
Volume: High
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS
Rev Rate: 450
Ball Speed: 17 mph
PAP: 5 1/16 x 3/4 up

Introducing the Halo Pearl, the newest release in the HP4 line. Here we have the Centrum Core, first introduced in the Halo, but now with the e-Trax P18 cover. When I heard that the Halo Pearl was gonna have the same cover as the Idol Pearl I got very excited. It did not disappoint! The layout that I used was 5 x 4 x 2 1/2, which puts the pin right above my fingers. This is the same layout that I have on my Idol Pearl because I wanted them to work off each other and they did that perfectly. Even though they share the same cover, the Halo Pearl is a good 5 to 6 boards more hook then my Idol pearl and a little earlier due to the core differences. They are a great 1 2 combo. This is a great addition to an already powerhouse line up.


Earon Vollmar
Roto Grip Amateur Staffer
Title: Halo Pearl
Post by: yellowdog07 on March 12, 2019, 04:05:51 PM
Weight:  14 lbs.
Pin Length:  4Ē
Drilling:  40 x 2 1/2  x 25
Pattern Length:  40 ft.
Pattern Volume:  Medium
Pattern Type:  THS
Right Handed

The HALO PEARL has the eTrax-P18  pearl cover stock, first introduced on the popular Roto Grip Idol Pearl ball, wrapped around the asymmetrical Centrum Core.  The box finish is 1500 grit polished, but can be sanded for more versatility. The color is a mix of coal, fuchsia, and sky blue.  The 14 lb. version has a 2.54 RG, with a differential of 0.050

I have used the HALO PEARL on a variety of house conditions, 39 to 44 ft. with moderate volume, and modified house patterns in area tournaments.  I found it to be very strong out of the box, which allowed me to play between 12 and 15 on the fresh. Once the lanes started to transition, I was then able to ball up to the Halo and move in to catch more head oil, or ball down to the Idol Pearl and stay in the same area.
I have kept the surface at the 1500 grit polished box finish.  This gave me a great look on the  medium volume house patterns.  It got down the lane for me, and really faced up strong to the pocket, with very little deflection. It gives me a great entry angle for maximum carry, which, as a lower rev player, i canít always create.

This is an great piece that hits very hard, and can give you earlier or later roll by experimenting with surface changes.  It gives me a similar look to the old Cell Pearl of years ago.  I believe this ball will suit many different styles and rev rates.   It is rapidly becoming the favorite piece in my arsenal, and first ball out of my bag. 


Carol Teel
Roto Grip Amateur Staff Member
 :)
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: RyanPatterson30 on March 18, 2019, 06:40:37 PM
This ball is something that I have been missing. Personally, I am very picky with the asymmetrical pearl balls that I decide to use. I personally think this is my favorite since the Code Black a few years ago. This ball has the same cover as the Idol Pearl (which is one of my favorites). I put a longer Pin from PAP which helps get through the fronts and hooks more down lane, which I like to see in this type of ball. The Halo Pearl will be a good ball in transition when I need help clearing the fronts but still need enough ball to hook down lane. I think this will be a very big fan favorite and will be on a lot of ball returns.

Layout: 60 x 5 x 40
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: PJ Haggerty on March 19, 2019, 01:56:52 PM
Roto Grip Halo Pearl Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

The first Halo was a big cored, asymmetrical, solid ball that covers a ton of boards.  Itís perfect when thereís a good amount of oil on the lane and you need a ball to dig hard.  Schlem and team in Utah decided to keep the colors very similar to the original Halo and provide us with a pearl version, called the Halo Pearl.

Imagine the original Halo, but with a pearl cover to create more angle down lane.  A perfect one-two punch with the first Halo being earlier and more forward.  The Halo Pearl is much cleaner through the front part of the lane with a faster response time and more angle through the pins.  Iíve drilled one so far and love it. I drilled it with a 5 ľ x 4 Ĺ x 55 layout with a surface of 2000 on it.  Iíve had the most success after a pattern blends out and I need to open up my angles.

At this point, the Halo Pearl has one of the fastest response times in my bag.  If I need something a bit slower, Iíll use a Physix or the Halo.  If I need something quicker, Iíll use a Hyroad-X.  Iíve also had the most success when thereís a good amount of oil on the lane.  The core and cover are very strong, so I think there needs to be some oil on the lane to use the Halo Pearl.  Itís a great piece and looks great!

Go drill one!
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: BSumner on March 21, 2019, 10:21:38 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40

Volume: 25mld

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

I absolutely love Roto Grip’s asymmetrical stuff. For my game, it just seems to have a rounder shape than my Storm stuff on comparable layouts. That said, I don’t find anything about the Halo Pearl to be weak or flat.

I punched up my Halo Pearl with a 4.5x5x2. The ball definitely glides through the heads, but with the position I have the core in, It’s more forward on the backend than many of my typical 4x4x2 asymmetrical layouts. I like that. Sometimes I’m not ready to core down to something symmetrical and this ball gives me the ability to keep the flare, but not over read the friction.

In the video below, my friend and I each throw the same layout. He has more axis tilt and rotation. Watch the difference in the shape on the back end.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qGE8_bRIGKk
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: Bigmike on March 24, 2019, 05:04:12 PM
See profile for stats.

I drilled my HALO PEARL up 65x5x35 which is my standard layout for large core asymmetric balls. I have left it box since I have only had a chance to throw it on house and a sport pattern that is 45' and it rolls even on that long sport pattern.

This is a great RG pearl like the NO RULES PEARL and CELL PEARL which seemed to never miss the spot downlane. I have been able to throw the HALO PEARL like the other two above on the longer pattern and it holds a lot of energy. It also gives me some good indications when to move out of a zone as it will go forward when it burns too much at the break point. It might still carry the shot, but it is time to go left even more at that point.

I will post when I drill a second one to put some surface on as the NO RULES PEARL and CELL PEARL were excellent balls with surface also.
Title: Halo Pearl by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on March 27, 2019, 09:26:42 PM
The Halo Pearl is the latest asymmetric pearl in the HP4 line, a ball that was needed to fill the hole left by the No Rules Pearl, and a worthy piece to complete the trio of reactions.  Like was done with the Idol and Idol Pearl, the Halo Pearl cover formula is quite different from the Halo, but this creates a little more separation and ultimately a ball that is a better compliment.  The Centrum core makes the two reactions feel familiar, but the Halo Pearl is several boards weaker, much cleaner and easier down the lane, and sharper.  For me this means a couple of great reactions that truly compliment each other without the overlap that some balls with the same core and variations of the same cover formula can create.  I have not put the Halo Pearl down since I got it, occasionally Iíll use the Idol Pearl (same cover formula) if the lanes are too dry, but if at all possible, the Halo Pearl has been the ball.  Itís already made me quite a bit of money at tournaments, and Iíve also had a couple honor scores with it, I canít recommend this one enough. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OqGft0ExDyo
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: rodbowler75 on March 29, 2019, 09:59:22 PM
[font=The Halo Pearl, when I first heard of the release of this ball I was really excited. The Halo has been one of my favorites since I drilled it. The Halo Pearl is a great compliment to it. With the cover used on the Idol Pearl was a great choice! I drilled mine Halo Pearl 50 x 5 x 40 very clean when you need more kick in the back this ball provides it! Really nice fit between the Halo and Hyper cell fused!
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: dcutler on March 31, 2019, 07:54:19 PM
My name is Doug Cutler and I am a Storm/Roto Grip Staffer.  The first Halo Pearl I drilled is 50 x 5 x 40 and the surface is out of box.  The Roto Grip Halo Pearl sports the eTrax P-18 coverstock and Centrum Core (asymmetrical).  The cover and core combination work very well together.  This ball right now is my go to ball and is a bench mark ball. This ball has given me area left and also right and does not roll out.  You can use this on any THS, and any Sport shot that is medium to heavy oil.  I have had the Halo Pearl for only 3 weeks and the first week shot 833, and next week 749. The 3 week i did not bowl. When this ball starts to go to long, then I go to the original Halo. These two balls are a great 1-2 punch and are a must in your arsenal. #squadRG #halopearl #ownit

Doug Cutler
Storm/Roto Grip Staffer
PBA Regional Champion
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: jaymed53 on April 09, 2019, 10:07:42 AM
My Name is Jay Medina and I am a Storm Staffer. I have my halo pearl drilled  50x5x45 and holy smokes this ball sparks off the back of the pattern. I have named this ball the house shot killer. The ball is really clean through the front of the lane and has hits like a tank. This has really allowed me to open up the lanes especially later in a set without losing any energy through the pins. Compared to the No Rules Pearl for me is was overall about 3 board stronger with a lot more continuation through the pins. I have used this on a THS as well as well as on the Earl Anthony  with a 2000 grit surface. You can find a video here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8QltcELXmTE
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: hammermike2000 on April 09, 2019, 03:53:27 PM
Layout: 60 x 4 ĺ x 40

The Halo Pearl has massive midlane/backend on medium-heavy to medium-dry oil. This ball loves to turn the corner, and is great for when I have to get left and circle the lane. I drilled it with a layout to enhance the backend reaction, and also left the box finish shine on it, to use when the lanes are broken down a bit and I need to "curve it". It fits that spot perfectly. With the layout and surface that I have on it, it is not ideal for using when I have to go 'down and in'. Other balls such as the first Halo or original Idol are more suited for that, and then the Halo Pearl is the perfect ball to go to when those balls are burning up. The strong backend results in excellent pin carry when this ball matches up properly.

Mike LeViner
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: Gil B on May 21, 2019, 07:43:59 AM
Halo Pearl is a great piece to have in the bag. The E-Trax P-18  cover is one of my favorites. This pearl gets through the heads with ease reads the mids and doesnít quit on the back end. The halo pearl  is perfect for medium oil to heavy oil lane conditions.  If you enjoyed the idol pearl but wished you had something a little less angular at entry point and with more hook this is what you need.
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: Pbapolizzi on May 21, 2019, 01:17:55 PM
RotoGrip Halo Pearl

Layout- 60x5.5x25

The halo pearl is the pearl asym ball i have always personally wanted. The core is strong enough to dig in the oil but the cover is so clean it always gets through
the front part of the lane. Ive used this ball on 37 feet all the way to 45 feet breakdown in regionals and tournaments. On house its always the right ball.
doesn't respond to quick to the friction all while blending the house shot cliff. the ball is simply a must have in the bag, game 2 ball all the way to the end of blocks sometimes
truly remarkable.
#StormNation
Title: Halo Pearl
Post by: Tknoop1127 on May 23, 2019, 01:57:33 PM
LANE CONDITION


Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Various Patterns


COMMENTS

 
Layout: 60 X 3 3/8 x 35
PAP: 5 over 3/4 up

The Halo Pearl is one of the few asymmetrical pearl balls that fits my style. I spin the ball a little more than most, and a lot of asymmetrical pearl balls go way to long for me, and never sees the friction. But, I love this ball. This ball truly does dig through the oil, but is still very clean. I enjoy using this ball during the transition period at PBA events. I'll go to this ball around games 3-4, if not a little earlier. Also, I like to use this ball for THS, and I can play any part of the lane.

If you had the OG Halo, then this ball will go great with it. When the Halo is hooking too early, or not storing enough energy because you're too far left, then that's when the Halo Pearl will come into play. I highly recommend this ball to anyone needs a complimentary ball for an asymmetrical solid.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: rotogrip_rick on May 25, 2019, 10:32:25 AM
HALO PEARL - 40 X 4 X 50 - 14lbs.
eTrax-P18 Pearl Reactive - 1500 grit and polished - 6" flare or higher
LANE INFORMATION: 44FT THS ON HPL INSTALLED IN EARLY 2000'S
This is the fourth ball I drilled after my return to bowling and needed a "stronger" piece then the Super Son!Q, needed longer length and same amount of angle to help compensate for my lack of ball speed and changing to 14lbs equiptment. I found the Halo Pearl to be unlike any pearl Roto Grip has had in the past. Even with having the IDOL Pearl with the same cover, the centrum core makes this ball REALLY strong, like He-Man strong. Even with carry down and moving deeper with my feet and changing the angle getting the ball to the breakpoint did not disappoint me or my partner that also tried it. He found that the deeper he played inside, the ball did not quit or give up in the heavier part of the pattern, did not overskid like other pearls in the past with similar layouts. Great BIG PIECE for any league or tournament bowlers.
Title: Roto Grip Halo Pearl
Post by: fazzone22 on May 25, 2019, 02:52:52 PM
Halo Pearl Ė 5.5 x 5 x 3

Yet another highly anticipated ball from Roto Grip, once the Idol Pearl came out earlier in the bowling season you knew it was only a matter of time before the stronger pearl version of the Halo to come out. Just like with the Idol and Halo, the Halo Pearl has the same cover stock as the Idol Pearl just in the asymmetrical version of it. Halo Pearl is a touch stronger than the Idol Pearl and also a little bit earlier. For everyone who loves either the Idol, Halo and Idol Pearl, the Halo Pearl is another must get from Roto Grip ! 
Title: Halo Pearl review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on June 04, 2019, 03:20:38 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:40

Volume:Med-High

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS
 
Cover: eTrax-P18 Pearl Reactive
Weightblock: Centrum
Finish: 1500 Polish
RG: 2.49
Differential: 0.050

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin over bridge 60 X 5 1/4 X 35

The long awaited Pearl version of the Roto Grip Halo is here and it doesn't disappoint. They wrapped the same powerful Centrum Core in the eTrax-P18 Pearl Reactive to unleash the motion on the back-end.

The Halo Pearl takes up the mantle of strong Pearl balls that Roto has always excelled at designing. Imagine a stronger No Rules Pearl. It's a touch earlier but that doesn't reduce it's down-lane hook or back-end capability. This ball hooks and is powerful enough to take on fresh oil. I like this ball in particular on longer oil patterns where you need to see motion in a smaller window of back-end. The angular move will blast the pins without having to cover a ton of boards.

If you're looking for a ball to move in with and wheel the lane, the Halo Pearl shines here too. This ball is incredible continuous from all angles and can keep the pins flying off the deck even when the lane has forced you way in. I recommend slightly lower flaring layouts for lower speed bowlers, or it you are planning to use it more when the fronts have gone.

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: StoRoto2013 on June 07, 2019, 12:10:59 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:  Medium

Volume:  Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):  THS


The newest addition to RotoGripís HP4line is the Halo Pearl.  The Halo Pearl used the same core as the original Halo, Centrum Core, but the coverstock is the eTrax-18 Pearl reactive.  The eTrax-18 pearl reactive energizes the backend of the Halo Pearl.  The combination of the Centrum Core and the eTrax-18 coverstock produces pin devastation whether you are a Hi Rev player or a Low Rev player like myself!  The Halo Pearl is stronger than the No Rules Pearl especially on the backend.  I was able to throw this monster on a fresh house pattern and a beat up house pattern and the results were the sameÖ  Power from the foul line to the pit! The layout I chose was 5X5X2.5 with no hole and that was based off my PAP which is 5 5/8 over and ĺ up.  The Halo Pearl on the fresh house pattern allowed me to play closer to the oil line and use the friction right to create area.  Usually for me a strong pearl ball will hand cuff me early because of the over under but the Halo Pearl smoothed edge right out.  I could actually miss right and get recovery without worrying about the huge kick left.  As the session continued I could chase left without any problems and the ball made me look great.  The next day on the same pair after a birthday party and cosmic bowling, I had to move two arrows left and make sure I get the Halo Pearl going right to avoid the huge carry down and drier heads.  Usually this leads to a practice session for shooting 10 pins however the Halo Pearl did not lose energy and continued through the pins with force. 

The Halo Pearl is a great addition to the entire line up of RotoGrip bowling balls.  I guarantee this will not be the only Halo Pearl I will drill!


Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: fjcallahan on June 18, 2019, 11:09:23 AM
The Halo Pearl is here. It features the Centrum Asymmetrical weight Block and itís wrapped up in ETRAX-p18 pearl. I drilled mine 5 x 3 x 1, my thought process was a to keep energy retention high and turn this thing loose at the end of the pattern. I tested on our house shot which is 42 feet in length with the adult bumpers set to maximum. I am clearly a sprinkler out there ladies and gentleman and I suppose thatís why I tend to favor pearl bowling balls. They suit my plan of attack which is, stay around the ball track, donít miss right and try to hook it a bit. Shooting with the Super SoniQ right before I shot with the Halo Pearl was as close to a perfect ball change as you can get. The Super SoniQ dug in hard and rolled smoothly thru the mid lane, the Halo floats on the front of the lane right before it hits the turbo at the breakpoint. I always show every shot I roll in succession, I feel like it helps people see how the lane is changing and where my bad shots are. The halo was not as forgiving as a solid ball wouldíve been but, letís face the facts, you donít go out and drill a pearl asymm to control the break point, you want to see that ball get crooked down lane. I had a lot fun throwing it.

I would stack this ball right under the Hyper Cell Fused as far as overall strength goes. The hybrid cover on the Fused is clearly stronger and it has a much more predictable shape in the mid lane. The Idol pearl comes to mind as well, that would fit in between the Fused and Halo in total length and the amount of angle that you get.

Why you should buy it? If you liked the No Rules Pearl and are looking for something close to that motion, Iíd say the Halo Pearl is in that wheelhouse. The only negative I found was the color choice. Donít get me wrong, it looks cool but, it seems they got a bit complacent. I feel like Roto Grip is the wild younger brother with a face tattoo who is always causing trouble and people have come to expect bold choices. That is just my opinion, let me know if you agree.

Thank you for checking out my review. Do a good deed today and stop by your favorite RotoGrip Shop, maybe youíll get a HaloÖ.get it?
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: bowlstorm3 on July 04, 2019, 01:56:23 PM
Roto-Grip Halo Pearl
Layout: 10 x 4 x 45

I used the Halo Pearl to try a new layout. This 10 x 4 x 45 drilling comes out as a pin up for me with a serious mass kick past my VAL. Since the Halo Pearl naturally has quite a bit of length with the ETrax-P18 cover, I wasnít sure exactly what to expect. The end product is one of the cleanest asyms I have thrown without any kind of sharp angle at the breakpoint. I can throw this ball on nearly burnt conditions and it still goes thru the pins. I have also played pretty straight up the lane on sport with success and have hit it with surface to handle a bit more volume. Overall, I am really happy with my experiment.

Although I went with something different on this one, it is still quite obvious this ball has a lot of length. If you are having issues getting the high end balls to go thru the lane and hit, give this one a try.
Title: Halo Pearl
Post by: bowlerman147 on July 05, 2019, 09:01:33 AM
The Roto Grip Halo Pearl is Roto Grips newest HP4 line release.  The Halo Pearl Contains the Centrum Core which is very popular and is also found in the original Halo.  The Halo Pearl is covered with the new eTrax-P18 pearl Reactive which is also found on the Idol Pearl.  Finally the ball is factory finished at 1500 grit polished.
I drilled my Halo Pearl with the same layout as my original Halo.  The pin is over my ring finger with the CG straight below my pin.  This gives me a real high flare ball reaction.  The Pearl is very strong down lane compared to the smoother rolling Halo Solid.  I have found most of my success with the Halo Pearl on medium length patterns where there is plenty of dry in the back end part of the lane.  The Halo Pearl also reacted pretty well on a longer pattern with a lower amount of oil volume as well.  For me the Halo Pearl did not react very well to lane carry down which made it kind of over under and real inconsistent off the break point.  But on wood lanes where oil just gets moved or removed and I get clean back ends the Halo is an awesome powerfully hitting bowling ball.  Itís a great compliment to the original Halo. 
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: iman_300 on July 05, 2019, 11:00:08 AM
I love this ball!!!

Roto Grip has done it again. They have produced another great pearl ball for the ever popular HP4 line.

The Halo Pearl combines the great Centrum core also found in the Halo and have wrapped it in the eTrax-P18 pearl cover also found on the Idol Pearl.  This combination gives you a strong smooth ball motion. For a pearl ball, the Halo Pearl still reads the mid lane very well but gives you just enough length for when your Halo or other big balls are reading too early or you need to move farther left on the lane.

Visit your local Pro Shop today and get one in your bag.