BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on July 10, 2019, 10:56:04 AM

Title: Halo Vision
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on July 10, 2019, 10:56:04 AM
The Roto Grip Halo Vision is versatile high performance bowling ball. This ball utilizes the same proven Centrum Core that has been used in the previous Halo balls but with a hybrid coverstock. This ball is wrapped in the eTrax-H19 Hybrid Reactive coverstock which was designed to give more surface roughness while maintaining its responsiveness to friction on medium/heavy to heavy oiled lanes. This ball is cleaner through the front of the lane but breaks a little early but can be easily adjusted depending on the bowlers needs.

Color: Gold & Sky Blue Pearl/Purple Solid
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Core: Centrum (14#-16#)
Coverstock: eTrax-H19 Hybrid Reactive
Finish: 4000-Grit Pad
RG: 2.49 (for 15# ball)
Differential: 0.050 (for 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium/Heavy to Heavy Oil
Hook Potential: High
Length: Middle
Title: Re: Halo Vision
Post by: StormAndrew on July 26, 2019, 04:46:52 PM
Ok #SquadRG we have some new releases coming out 8.9.19. Roto Grip and Drill It Up Studios proudly brings to you the Halo Vision, Idol Pro and MVP.

Make sure you visit Justin Kampf at Epic Edge Bowling Supplies - Levittown to pre-order your's today.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f139bgrv7YY&feature=youtu.be

#OwnIt #HaloVision #IdolPro #MVP #TeamEpicEdge #DrillItUp

Ball Reviews:

Lately, I have been experimenting with different layouts to see different ball shapes; especially later in blocks. I have been going with weaker pin positions on the last couple releases with shorter val angles. I am looking to find some different options when the lanes begin to transition where I do not lose shape down lane. I did this with my Pro-Motions and with the new Halo Vision and MVP. I kept a layout I typically like on the Idol-Pro because I thought it would work real well with it. My thought was to jump from the Idol Pro on the fresh to the weaker drilled Halo Vision then ultimately to the MVP.

Idol Pro:

The Idol Pro is definitely in-between the original Idol and Idol Pearl. I got more length than the Idol but more control at the breakpoint then the Idol Pearl. This is in part to the sheen finish of the Idol Pro (sheen-3000 grit). The layout was on the stronger side for me so I saw a lot of overall hook with this ball where I could easily cross a lot of boards and the ball would still get back to the pocket. This will be a great ball on a multitude of patterns, house and sport. It, also, reacts well to surface changes if you need to see it pick up sooner or later.

Halo Vision:

We placed a longer pin and shorter val on this to have the ball get down lane with angle. I wanted to see it be clean yet controllable at the breakpoint but not lose any energy. The goal here was when the Ido Pro was too early I could get into the Halo Vision jump a little more inside and see the ball properly shape again. I believe we can see that from the video. I was able to get into my comfort zone with the slower ball speed by jumping in more than I was with the Idol Pro and still maintained good shape through the pocket.

MVP:

This ball is perfect for when the lanes are completely depleted up front. The MVP is high RG yet as a hybrid provides control at the breakpoint. This ball will allow you to ball down even more from your HP4 and HP3 line balls to something even cleaner without sacrificing energy out of the bowling ball. After the Idol Pro and Halo Vision I was able to move back right with the MVP and saw very good ball reaction. A ball like this should always be in your bag as in today's environments sometimes weaker is better.

Title: Re: Halo Vision
Post by: KennonMcFalls300 on August 07, 2019, 11:05:24 PM
The new Halo Vision has instantly become one of my favorites. I was a HUGE fan of the Defiant Soul, so when I saw the color scheme and heard that it would roll similar to the DS, I was instantly eager to drill one. Not only did I end up drilling one, I drilled TWO. You will not be disappointed. For me the Vision is slower downlane than the original Halo. Both the Pin up and down versions offer slow predictable motion off the breakpoint while offering exceptional pin carry. I see myself throwing these Visions on the fresh when the lanes are the oiliest. For me, the original Halo reads the mid lane much quicker and is sharper off the spotó I think it goes without saying that the Halo Pearl will also be sharper off the spot than the Halo Vision. In terms of overall ball motion I think the OG Halo offers the most motion, running second is the Halo Vision and following that the Halo pearl is the sharpest downlane. In essence, the Halo Vision is the smoothest Halo yet. Heavy handed players who are eager to drill this ball should drill it fairly weak because its A LOT of ball. Players with lower higher balls speeds, and lower rev rates will absolutely kill the pins with the Halo Vision!
Title: Re: Halo Vision
Post by: cmattingly on August 08, 2019, 10:50:36 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 43'

Volume: 21 mL

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: This ball is similar in motion to the Halo Pearl but can be used on heavier volumes...something I was missing in my bag.

Dislikes: This ball may be too strong for my wood house shot at the current surface.

The Halo Vision is something I was missing at the top of my bag!  Yes of course there is the original Halo but for whatever reason, the motion wasn't exactly what I like to see with my eyes. The Vision is cleaner through the fronts than the OG Halo but it is MUCH stronger in the mid lane than the Pearl.  I was a big fan of the Defiant Soul  and this ball definitely feels like a stronger sibling.  For be the balls at the very top always struggled to get any action (SureLock, Halo) but this version seems to be a very usable, strong option that already has a familiar motion.  If you are/were a fan of the Defiant Soul or you are looking for a motion that is similar to the Halo Pearl but with more read in the middle part of the lane...this is your answer!!  The Layout I used was 60x5x35 which puts the pin above my ring finger.

Here is my comparison video of the Halo Vision and Halo Pearl:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amJq8zEDWcY

Balls getting a lot of time on the lanes for me right now:
Idol- 60x5x70 pin down with a p3 hole
Idol PRO- 60x5x35 pin up
Halo Pearl- 60x5-1/2x35
Physix- 60x5x35

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amJq8zEDWcY
Title: Re: Halo Vision
Post by: RavensTransAm on August 09, 2019, 12:24:57 PM
The new Halo Vison by roto grip shares the same core as the previous Haloís with the eTrax-H19 hybrid coverstock. The centrum core is one of the best rolling asymmetric cores on the market with its versatility and overall strength. The versatility of this ball is amazing allowing me to move inside and play the third or forth arrow. I can also more left, play this ball up the boards and just watch it slam into the pocket.
I used the same Layout that I used on the halo pearl which is a pin in the ring layout 61x4-3/8x58 which is my favorite layout. What I wanted to see was the difference in the coverstock motion and it did not disappoint. The halo pearl allows me to stay left and play 2nd arrow out to 6 and get to the pocket with ease. The Halo Vision allows me to move my feet 4 to 5 boards left, rolling the ball across 14 and out to the 6 board and it makes it back.
For me this ball is at its best on heavy oil but can handle medium lane conditions with a tweak to the surface. I love my roto grip hybrids and this one is no exception to that rule.
Stephen Foley   
Roto-Grip/Storm Pro Shop Staff
Title: Re: Halo Vision
Post by: hittnhard on August 13, 2019, 02:51:54 PM
Roto Grip Halo Vision

Coverstock: eTrax-H18ô Hybrid

Weight Block: Centrumô Core

The newest Roto Grip ball in the HP4 line, the Halo Vision. After having a lot of success personally, as well as having many successful customers, I was excited for this release.

I went in with the assumption the Vision would fall right in the middle of the Halo and Halo Pearl, as far as overall strength. I found that while that is true, the Vision is the most versatile of the Halo line for me. While I have only tested on a house shot and a modified house shot, I could play multiple lines and areas with the Vision.

It seemed to work well on every line I tried. Once the Vision hit friction and was ready to make it's move the ball was predictable, strong, and continuous.

This piece will instantly take a place in my bag for any medium or heavier oil pattern,

Go out and get one of these now...you won't regret it!!!
Title: Re: Halo Vision
Post by: rodbowler75 on August 13, 2019, 09:49:10 PM
After drilling both the Halo and the Halo Pearl I was pretty excited to drill up the Halo Vision. This ball gives you more angle on the back end than the Halo and is a perfect fit above the pearl when it's too long. I used 5.5 x 4 x 40 a smoother layout but with my loft matches my game really well. This ball is available now at all your local pro shops!
Title: Halo Vision Review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on August 16, 2019, 12:06:40 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41

Volume:Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Core: Centrum
Cover: eTrax-H19 Hybrid
Finish: 4000
RG: 2.49
Diff: 0.050

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin Up and Right of Ring 45 X 4 1/4 X 30

The Halo line has been great, producing two powerful motions with the solid and pearl versions. These balls are the strongest in their respective motions. The Centrum core has been a powerhouse wrapped in either cover so it was inevitable that a hybrid version was coming. As much as I liked the first two releases I think this one is my favorite.

I went with a pretty strong layout, anticipating what I will see when I start bowling on patterns this fall. The hybrid stays true to the brand as this ball has some serious hook! It's motion is incredibly even and predictable. The 4000 grit finish is a perfect finish for this ball as its clean where it needs to be, while the core creates the mid-lane motion where you need it.

The biggest surprise for me was how forgiving the Halo Vision is. I feel like I can play any part of the lane and the Vision opens up a ton of area. The Halo Vision is strong enough to save shots my miss off your hand or leak right and even enough to not overreact when you pull a shot or hit up on it.

If you liked the Halo and Halo Pearl, the Halo Vision gives you the best of both worlds. Plenty of mid-lane with great continuation. The Vision will match up with every style of play.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Halo Vision
Post by: EVollmar on August 18, 2019, 07:21:28 PM
Length:42
Volume: High
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS
Rev Rate: 450
Ball Speed: 17 mph
PAP: 5 1/16 x 3/4 up


Introducing the Halo Vision, the newest release in the HP4 line. The Centrum core returns once again, now with the eTrax-H19 cover. This is the hybrid release to round off the trio. The layout I used for this one was 5 x 4 x 3 1/2, which puts the pin under both fingers. It fit really well in between the other 2 Halo's for me. When the solid starts to read to early and the pearl is just a little to clean still, the Vision is here to save the day. The Vision still clears the fronts really well but gives a very strong continuous arc. The Vision is a great addition to the already staler lineup.

Earon Vollmar
Roto Grip Amateur Staffer
Title: Roto Grip Halo Vision Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on August 22, 2019, 10:08:10 AM
The Halo Vision is the third Halo now in the HP4 line, and is a stronger version of the hybrid cover from the Hyper Cell Fused, and it feels like a sanded version of the Fused . . plus 3 or 4 boards, which makes it the strongest ball Iíve ever thrown.  Balls like the Sure Lock and Halo have more actual traction in oil, but with the amount of traction the Vision still has, PLUS a stronger backend motion than either of those, the aggregate result is the Halo Vision edging them both by a board or two.  Itís big hook with a strong backend move, which makes it one of the better heavy oil balls Iíve ever thrown as well, it doesnít just feel like one that will keep me in play, it feels like one I could actually score with on true heavy volumes.  This means Iíll never be able to throw it in league, but when used for what itís designed for, itís one of the best, if not THE best out there.

Video Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P9QfoVJeNxU&t=1s
Title: Re: Halo Vision
Post by: PJ Haggerty on August 25, 2019, 01:13:03 PM
Roto Grip Halo Vision Ball Review by PJ Haggerty


The latest addition to the Roto Grip HP1 line is a hybrid version of the Halo, called the Halo Vision.  The Halo line has been extremely successful and I think the Vision is a perfect fit and compliment to the other two.  The Centrum Core remains the same, but the hybrid coverstock is a nice blend between the original Halo and the Halo Pearl.  I can definitely see multiple types of players having success with the Halo Vision.

Iíve drilled one so far and have had good success with it.  Itís mapped as 4.5 x 4 x 65 and I put a little polish on it to make the response time a bit quicker.  The Vision is definitely cleaner and has a faster response time than the original Halo, but itís still earlier and smoother than the Halo Pearl.  The Vision reminds me a lot of the Defiant Soul from a few years ago.  The colors are the same and I think it rolls very similar as well. 

I think the Vision can be used on a variety of patterns as well, but probably best on medium to heavier volume patterns.  If you feel like you need a ball with a big engine, hybrid cover, and a great brand behind it, the Halo Vision should be the next ball you drill!   
Title: Re: Halo Vision
Post by: Tknoop1127 on August 31, 2019, 02:12:06 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: Medium-Heavy Patterns

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Variety

This ball is a great compliment to the Halo and the Halo Pearl. Since its hybrid, it's cleaner than the Halo, but not as long as the Halo Pearl. It fits perfectly in the middle. I have always loved hybrids, so this ball is great for my style of bowling. I can throw this ball on medium-heavy PBA shots, and it also kills the THS you may be bowling on.

My PAP: 5 over and 1/4 up

I drilled mine pin above the bridge (Tester drilling)

I really enjoy my Halo vision. If you liked either of your Halo or Halo Pearl then you'll love this. Or, if your're looking for a strong hybrid, this is your ball.


COMMENTS




PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Halo Vision
Post by: yellowdog07 on September 06, 2019, 01:50:43 PM
Weight:  14 lbs.
Pin Length:  4-4.5Ē
Drilling:  40 x 2 1/2  x 25
Pattern Length:  41 ft.
Pattern Volume:  Medium
Pattern Type:  Modified House Pattern
Right Handed

The HALO VISION has the eTrax-H-19 Hybrid Reactive cover stock, wrapped around the asymmetrical Centrum Core weight block.  The box finish is 4000 grit, but can be polished or sanded for different desired reactions. The color is a mix of Gold & Sky Blue Pearl/Purple Solid.  The 14 lb. version has a 2.54 RG, with a differential of 0.050, and PSA differential of 0.015.  I drilled the Halo Vision for maximum back end reaction.

I have used the HALO VISION on a THS of 39 ft. with moderate volume, and modified house patterns in area tournaments and our home house scratch league.  I found it to be pretty strong on the back end, for a good fit between my Halo Solid and Halo Pearl. I use it as my benchmark ball to get a read on the lanes. 
I have kept the surface at the 4000 grit box finish.  This gave me a great look on the medium volume house patterns, and the modified house patterns Iíve tried it on.  I havenít tried any surface changes as of yet, as itís had a perfect place in my arsenal as is. It got down the lane for me, longer than the Halo Solid, and faced up a little stronger to the pocket.  When the corner pins start to show up, I go to my Halo Pearl, or even the Idol Pearl for more down lane energy.  Bye bye corners pins.

This is a nice fit in my arsenal, in between the Halo Solid and Halo Pearl.   It gives me a similar look to the old Defiant Soul, which is the look Roto Grip was going for in this piece. Mission accomplished.  You wonít be disappointed in the reaction, and continuation through the pins that youíll see with the Halo Vision.
Thanks for listening.

Carol Teel
Roto Grip Amateur Staff Member
Title: Re: Halo Vision
Post by: Haley3 on October 18, 2019, 03:23:46 PM


Bowler Bio
Gender : Female
Rev Rate : 315
Ball Speed: 16.5 mph
P.A.P : 4 1/2 & 1-1/8 up

After my first shot with the Halo Vision I was in shock of how much it hooked for me, usually with asymmetric balls I have trouble getting comfortable with them. This one is not the case I could keep moving left and it would keep finishing. Usually asymmetric balls roll out for me if I move left to much but sure glad this one is not like that. I used this fresh off the press in a tournament going plus on the day and grabbing 2nd in qualifying. This is something that has been missing in my bag for high volume patterns. Donít know how much I will use this for league due to our shot being lower volume. One thing I did notice was that it does extremely well with surface adjustment, could easily find a shape you want by doing that.  You wonít second guess yourself if you pull the trigger on this one. !!!
Title: Re: Halo Vision
Post by: Bigmike on October 27, 2019, 09:08:03 PM
PBA50 member - 14* axis tilt, 35* rotation - 16.5 mph - 315 rev rate.
I drilled my Halo Vision 75 x 4 3/4" x 35*. I have been putting 2000 to 3000 on this depending on oil volume. I have this one slightly more angular than my Halo. It handles oil better than the Halo Pearl for me. This is one to get the best of the Halos, more back end than the solid Halo, more oil handling than the Halo Pearl.
Title: Re: Halo Vision
Post by: Gil B on November 11, 2019, 09:10:22 AM
Halo Vision is a lot of ball.  This ball reads the mid lane very well and makes a move. Loving the aggressive reaction when it reads the friction. This is a great ball for heavy oil and tougher condition. Loving the Halo line but this one is my favorite . loved  the eTrax 18 cover on the pearl and the solid but on the vision hybrid its a homerun. This ball is also very responsive to surface adjustments which is key to get the shape you are looking for on different patterns ..Grab up a Vision if you have the opportunity