BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 09, 2015, 03:19:26 PM

Title: Hectic
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 09, 2015, 03:19:26 PM
Description:  The Roto Grip Hectic bowling ball will keep your competition confused.  The Late Roll 56 core has a higher RG and medium differential that offers length and great breakpoint reaction.  The 50ML Pearl Reactive coverstock finished in 1500 grit and polished gets the ball through the heads easily while reserving energy for the pins.  This ball is best paired with medium to light oil conditions.

Roto Grip Hectic Ball Specs:

- Color: Violet Pearl/Smoke Pearl All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown.
- Reaction: Length and control
- Coverstock: 50ML Pearl Reactive
- Core Type: Late Roll 56
- Factory Finish: 1500-grit Polished
- Radius of Gyration (RG): 2.56**
- Differential (Diff): 0.034**
- ** RG and Diff are based off of 15 lb. balls
- Hook Potential: Medium
- Length: Long
- Recommended Lane Condition: Medium to Light Oil
Title: Roto Grip Hectic Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on November 23, 2015, 03:25:52 PM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  70, 5 1/2, 40

The Hectic is the pearl version of the Devour and the replacement for the UpRoar.  The Hectic clears the fronts better than the Devour and the UpRoar and generates quite a bit more backend.  Unlike some other high RG balls on the market, the Hectic creates a controllable, yet angular backend.  Itís smooth enough that you can use it on the fresh, but it will excel in the transition.
Title: Re: Hectic
Post by: rotogrip_rick on December 03, 2015, 02:00:50 PM
Roto Grip Hectic         30 x 4 Ĺ x 65
Coverstock Name         50MLô
Coverstock Style         Pearl
Coverstock Type         Reactive
Weight Block         Late Roll 56ô
Color               Violet / Smoke
Finish               1500-grit polished
   
Test condition:

41FT THS with KEGEL FLEX machine with cleaner ratio 4:1 and Ice oil in both tanks

Found the Hectic with the lower length drilling to fit great in my arsenal. Cleaned and very ďevenĒ with the drilling angles and pin layout I used. Longer and more angle into the pocket then the Wrecker or the Deranged. The Late Roll core match with a medium type of cover makes a very impressive benchmark pearl ball. I found it to be similar to my 20 x 4 x 60 Hyper Cell Skid, with less over/under on beat up THS. Very similar to the older Storm ball the Lights Out. A great replacement if you liked that ball or the Shooting Star from Roto Grip.
Title: Re: Hectic
Post by: hammermike2000 on December 21, 2015, 10:51:51 PM
The new Hectic by Roto Grip might have the most bang for the buck in the entire bowling ball industry.  This ball ignores the front part of the lane completely, saving all of it's energy for the backend, where it takes a hard turn.  It draws inspiration from the previous pearl ball from the HP2 line, the Uproar, and improves upon it, as the Hectic has slightly more hook than the Uproar had and also retains more energy through the pins. 

Drilled 55 X 4 3/8 X 45 and hit with a 4000 abralon pad, the Hectic surprised me by being strong enough to even be able to use on a fresh house shot.  It allowed me to stay further to the right than I could have with a stronger cored ball, and just continually moved left as the lanes broke down.  Compared to the new Eternal Cell, the Hectic is only a few boards less hook overall.  The Eternal Cell picks up harder in the midlane and has a smoother arc, though it still maintains a strong backend as well.  The Eternal Cell and Hectic are a fantastic 1-2 punch for house shots, especially.

Video - https://youtu.be/lJYDfkw_vt0

Mike LeViner
BowlersMart
Title: Re: Hectic
Post by: StoRoto2013 on December 22, 2015, 08:25:35 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: Short and medium

Volume: low and medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Sport and THS


The newest release into the RotoGrip HP2 line is the Hectic.  The Hectic has the same weight block (Late Roll 56) as the Devour but the Hectic is wrapped by the 50ML Pearl reactive coverstock.  This combination produces generous length with a predictable backend motion.  From a Pro Shop point of view the color combination is fantastic!

My coordinates are 5 5/8 over and ĺ up for my PAP, Ball speed is medium, Rev Rate around 300 and I am right handed.

I drilled the Hectic a little different than I usually do with a basic over the label layout with the pin at 1 Oíclock or if you want to complicate the process 100 by 3 3/8 by 45.  This layout in the Hectic allows me to play more outside on a THS and use the oil lane as a guide to the pocket.  The Hectic is strong enough to motion through the pins if I get it left and has enough length in case I miss right.  I was able to throw the Hectic and an UpRoar with a similar layout and the results were not surprising at all.  The Hectic was more readable and predictable throughout the entire lane.  The UpRoar wanted to jump at the break point and then the UpRoar became extremely over / under reaction.  I did not notice the over / under unless I really threw it poorly with the Hectic.  I was able to throw both on a short sport pattern and the results were very similar.  The Hectic allowed me to stay right and play comfortable angles while the UpRoar was just too responsive at the break point.  The Hecticís smooth nature did create some issues late in the session do to carry down but I still did not lose the pocket.  However, an adjustment with my eyes and I was back to striking again and againÖ.

The Hectic is extremely smooth and predictable pearl bowling ball with enough power to get the pins flying off the deck! 



Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Hectic
Post by: P_Ray300 on January 11, 2016, 10:22:18 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:39-43ft

Volume:Low to Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS, Modified House


COMMENTS

Likes: Great skid/flip reaction for guys who need to play a league shot straighter. I have thrown this ball on five different house patterns and one modified house pattern with the same reaction on all. This ball is very clean through the fronts and midlane but is super strong at the breakpoint with great hitting power through the pins. I wanted a ball that would allow me to play league shots straighter since my home house tends to flood the middle of the lane. This ball is the first thing out of my bag on any house shot or lower volume tournament shot. Hits harder than anything I have thrown in this price range.

Dislikes:None so far.


Paul Ray
Bowler X Staff
http://bowlerx.com/

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Hectic
Post by: yellowdog07 on January 29, 2016, 03:34:32 PM

Weight:  14 lbs.
Pin Length:  4Ē
Drilling:  40 X 3-3/8 X 35
Pattern Length:  39 ft.
Pattern Volume:  Light/Medium
Pattern Type:  House Pattern
Right Handed

The HECTIC is the latest addition to Roto Gripís HP2 line.  The Hectic is equipped with the Late Roll 56 Core, pearl reactive coverstock, 4Ē flare potential, and comes out of the box at 1500-grit polished.

I used the HECTIC on our 39 ft. house pattern, at box finish (1500 grit polished).

I found the HECTIC to be extremely clean through the heads, with a very strong flip coming off the pattern.  The HECTIC is stronger than I anticipated.   I was able to start with the HECTIC, playing between 5 and 10 boards and got a very good back end reaction.  I got the length that I needed, with great pin carry.  The corners werenít an issue, even as the set progressed and I had to migrate in a bit.
This is a great piece for Light/Medium oil patterns. It is a great mid priced ball for bowlers of all skill levels.   If you love the Devour, you wonít be disappointed in the HECTIC, as it has the same core, with a  pearl reactive coverstock for more length and stronger flip.


Carol T
Roto Grip Amateur Staff Member
Title: Re: Hectic
Post by: PJ Haggerty on February 01, 2016, 06:23:38 PM
Roto Grip Hectic Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

The Roto Grip Hectic is the newest addition to the HP2 line.   After throwing the Hectic for 30 games or so, Iím very impressed.  Iíll caveat that the Hectic needs friction.  With an RG of 2.56 and differential of .34, this is a cleaner, more angular shape in the Roto Grip line.  Iíve drilled one Hectic so far and itís served me very well.  I put the pin above my ring finger with a very small shift.  This did not require a weight hole and provides a cleaner, smoother shape. 
In my experiences drilling balls with higher RGís and lower differentials, Iíve had more success drilling them stronger to make sure they flare enough.  If you drill the cleaner, weaker balls too weak, they wonít flare enough, thus not hook.  So Iíd recommend when you drill a Hectic, make sure you drill it relatively stronger to make sure it flares enough.

Iíve been able to use the Hectic on shorter patterns like Cheetah, Viper, and Chameleon.  Also, Iíve only been able to use it after the pattern transitions, and when my Lock, Hyper Cell, and Eternal Cell balls are too strong or arenít going through the pins as well as they were.  The Hectic is a perfect fit underneath the stronger balls in the Storm and Roto line, but are still stronger than the Locoís and Tropical Storms. 

From a surface standpoint, I hit my Hectic with a fresh 3000 pad with some water.  My goal was to take off the factory shine as well as slow down the response time a touch.

Go drill a Hectic if you need something for friction!

#OwnIt
Title: Re: Hectic
Post by: TonyMarino on February 02, 2016, 12:56:41 PM
Hectic Review

The Hectic is part of the HP2 line, has the same symmetrical Late Roll 56 core as the Devour, and a 50ML pearl coverstock.

I chose a strong drilling for my Hectic. 3.5Ē x 4.5Ē with a 3Ē pin buffer with a P2 hole. This put my pin just down and outside of my ring finger.

The 50ML cover is very clean and has no problem going through dry lane conditions. I have had a chance to throw it on the 2015 USBC Open Championship team pattern, and a 40í house pattern.

The Hectic is too clean of a motion for that USBCOC team pattern on the fresh, I could see it being a good game 3 ball on that pattern if you had multiple people breaking the lane down together. Even with how clean it is, itís not super angular. Much like its solid counterpart, the Devour, the Hectic generates smooth ball motion without picking up the front part of the pattern, which is a much desired trait if you have slower ball speed or are bowling on a high friction lane surface. This really showed well on the house shot, it rolls great on the house shot at my center. I can play up the oil line (or even a bit outside of it) and it gives me the proper shape and highlights the margin of error.

The Hectic is a great benchmark pearl ball and will get a lot of use for me on shorter to medium oil patterns as well as on higher friction houses.

Title: Re: Hectic
Post by: ZackyT on February 05, 2016, 09:47:27 AM
BALL SPECS

Pin Length: 3.25"

Starting Top Weight: 2.7oz

Ball Weight: 15lbs.


DRILL PATTERN

Pin to PAP: 3"

PSA to PAP: 5"

Pin Buffer: 3"


BOWLER STYLE

Rev Rate: 430rpm

Ball Speed: 16mph

PAP/Track: 4 1/2" x 1/2" up


BALL REACTION

The new Roto Grip Hectic adds a much needed angular pearl to the stellar HP2 line. The Late Roll 56 core returns from the excellent yet somewhat "overlooked" Devour, and is wrapped by the all new 50ML Pearl Coverstock. Right out of the box the ball is absolutely gorgeous. It has excellent appeal and catches the eye very well both on the rack and the shelf. I've had good success with symmetric pearls in the past, so I was very eager to get my hands on this ball. The layout I chose is one to consider for a ball like this. As PJ mentioned in his review, it's crucial to drill the "weaker-core" balls with strong pin positions. The 4x5x3 layout (for me) puts the pin under my ring finger with the CG/PSA out with a balance hole low. On shorter patterns, this ball shows it's strength big time. It has plenty of length and superb angle downlane but transitions from the midlane to the backend very very well. It is by no means "squirty". Where I've been most impressed with this ball is it's ability to contend on medium to medium/long patterns. Yes it needs a little friction and wouldn't be the first ball out of the bag, but it doesn't need much. It is easily my go-to ball as our house shot breaks down. Again, the layout is crucial because it allows this ball to be more versatile on these types of patterns. It's an excellent step down from the Critical or Haywire and higher rev players should absolutely scoop one of these up right away. This ball also allows the tweeners and lower speed players to stay square to the pocket, which for most is in their comfort zone. If you feel like you are forced to play more hook than you'd like on your league nights, consider the Hectic for sure. Yet another excellent addition to the #OwnIt family. 
Title: Re: Hectic
Post by: Bigmike on February 07, 2016, 03:50:14 PM
Layout = 50 x 4.55 x 40 - This is a layout that usually picks up earlier for me in the mid lane. I have thrown it in box finish and added a weight hole in the P3 position to bring it to legal but to separate the flare some more. The idea on this was to give me something for when the "big dawgs" are all too early and not getting down the lane.

This ball is the real deal. I get good push and solid hit. It also lets me square up and ride right at the edge of the oil line if I feel there is still something there. I can slow curve it or "puck" it and it maintains it hitting power. For me it fits right below my IQ30 and Sky Rockets as it gets more length than either of them. Put this in your bag if you need something to get length before you have to go down to the weaker cover/core balls.

Don't be afraid to use the abralon pads to get you separation in your arsenals. Even just hitting the cover lightly with 4000 can eliminate the over/under that shiny factory finishes sometimes cause. 2000 can make a ball read early enough to get a better look than your hook monsters.
Title: Re: Hectic
Post by: CHardee on February 26, 2016, 03:34:07 PM
Well the first thing you are going to notice about the Hectic is its incredible looks! Just out of the box this ball is one pretty pin slamming beast. After that and putting it down the lane its going to continue to impress with its smoother transition off the spot and overall ease to keep control of the pocket.

A lot of times for me the lower end pearls tend to get a little too skid snappy and I end up with a over under look on the lanes.

The Hectic seems to read and get into a roll at a much smoother pace allowing me to stay a little further right and not having to open my angles up as fast.

Anytime I see my higher end equipment getting to strong but something like my punch out is still a little to late down lane, the Hectic seems to fill this hole perfectly.

In league for me this is a great game two ball to help smooth the transition out and keep you in the pocket.  If you're in the market for a great consistant ball with a really low price tag. This one should be in your bag!
Title: Re: Hectic
Post by: vampep on March 13, 2016, 10:44:11 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 42

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Likes: This ball was surprisingly more aggressive then i had originally thought. It rolls and hits a lot like my other favorite rotogrip ball, the Unhinged, but is in a lower price point. No matter what I have bowled on the ball is able to read the midlane in order to give me the proper movement in the back to strike for days. It makes bowling to easy that i try not to use it on everything.

Usually polished balls from the factory need to be scuffed up a little for me, not this one. worked well right out of the box and even after a surface touch-up after a long tournament. 

Dislikes: that I only have 1 right now.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Hectic review - Mark Tarkington
Post by: GutterLine on March 14, 2016, 03:08:33 PM
Right Handed
Ball weight:  15
Rev Rate:  400
Ball Speed:  17.3
Axis Tilt:  7
Axis Rotation:  45*
PAP:  3 3/4 horizontal, 7/8 up
Layout:  60 x 4 x 25

I drilled the Hectic just to cover boards.  I want to be able to stand left, roll it to the friction and have it fly back!

Iíve used it during the late part of league and after league.  It has no problems getting down the lane, but if my speed is too soft, it will roll too early.  For a pearl, this ball reads the lane earlier than I would have expected.  I was assuming that it would be a bit stronger than my Unhinged, but itís a bit earlier, while still having a fairly strong backend.

I want to use this ball more, but the layout combined with the cover makes it really condition specific.  Iím going to try to get more games in with the Hectic and possibly knock the shine off, just to see if it becomes more versatile.
Title: Roto Grip Hectic review by Storm Staffer Matthew Kemper
Post by: bowlerman147 on March 14, 2016, 03:31:03 PM
Roto Grip Hectic Review:
LANE CONDITION
Lane Type: Wood

Length: 41ft

Volume: 21ml

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Real clean and smooth motion.  Has overall strong reaction for the money, and is versatile from many different lane angles

Dislikes: none
The Roto Grip Hectic is the newest release in Roto Grips HP2 line.  Like its big brother the Devour.  The Hectic boasts the Late Role 56 Core and is covered with the 50ML Pearl cover stock that is finished with 1500 grit polished.
The Hectic is the pearl version of the Roto Grip Devour.  Together these two pack one heck of a one-two punch.  Much like the Devour, the Hectic is smooth, versatile, and strong.  I drilled mine with a 60x5x25 layout.  I drilled both my Devour and Hectic the same to give myself a great 1-2 punch.  The Hectic is a bit longer and a little stronger off the breakpoint compared to the Devour.  The ball is great for medium oil conditions.  It could also be good for drier lanes if you put a weaker low flare layout on it.
I would recommend this ball as a great benchmark ball.  The Hectic looks great anywhere from 1st arrow to 3rd arrow.  I would recommend it especially for low and medium volume house oil patterns.  I would also recommend it for late games during a tournament on broken down sport shots. 
Title: Hectic Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: ITZPS on March 19, 2016, 04:56:30 PM
The Hectic is the definition of a benchmark pearl if there ever was one.  It's a very smooth, even, and continuous light to medium oil ball, and can be played from anywhere on the lane due to its energy retention and hard arc on the backend.  It does not stand up or jerk on friction, nor does it skate in oil.  This gives it incredible playability on the vast majority of house patterns for a wide variety of bowler styles, and makes it an excellent choice for sport patterns when the track has burnt and you need push down the lane, finish from deeper angles, but still have a controlled move on the backend.  For me, the Hectic is best used from those deeper angles, as I've found it to be very responsive to whatever you want to make it to.  I feel like its strength is in playing a bit of angle with a higher rev rate, as you can hit up on it at the bottom and send it out without the need to juice the speed to get it down the lane.  With surface added, it is also very good from the corner on fresh shorter or medium sport patterns.  The Hectic is a must have ball in the bag, and is complimented well by the Loco Solid for a similar hook potential but different shape. 
Title: Re: Hectic
Post by: tommygn on March 24, 2016, 10:20:23 AM
The Roto Grip Hectic is the pearl version of the Devour, that is in the HP2 line of bowling balls. The violet/smoke color combination of this 50ML cover, looks great sitting on the shelf. The Late Roll 56 core is the same core that was used in the Devour. This Late Roll 56 core is a modified version of the ever popular Wrecker core.
The Hectic has been best for me on medium to lower volumes of oil. I wouldnít consider this a dry lane ball except for the very speed dominant players, as it has too much hook. I drilled my Hectic with a 5 ľ x 5 ľ x 2 layout. Comparing my Hectic to my Punch Out with almost the same layout (5 x 5 x 2) the Hectic covers about the same amount of boards as my Punch Out, but is a little cleaner through the front of the lane, and shapes a touch more continuously through the backend. The Hectic is also a slight step up from my UpRoar. The Hectic also fits below my Sky Rocket as a good step down from it. The Hectic is cleaner through the front, with less total motion than the Sky Rocket.
The Hectic will be a great replacement ball for anyone's aging Punch Out or UpRoar. The value that bowlers can get out of the price point is really incomparable, when it comes to ball motion and shape. Bowling balls that fall into this particular category, is generally the weakest resin balls I can throw due to my soft hand and softer ball speed, and still get a good reaction shape. If I need less motion, I will look to my Urethane balls, and take a big step left to use the dry boards. Thank you for taking the time to read my review of the Roto Grip Hectic. Own IT!
Title: Re: Hectic
Post by: ACES80 on March 29, 2016, 08:49:55 AM
I have my Hectic drilled pin above ring finger, cg in line with pin, no hole.  I have shot in the last 3 weeks, games of 300, 278, 256, and this is my go to ball, I have taken the surface down to 4000, I think this is the best ball out there for the money.   
Title: Re: Hectic
Post by: Husker861 on March 31, 2016, 01:57:35 PM
Roto-Grip has been coming out with come amazing equipment. With one of my favorites being the UpRoar, needless to say I was pretty excited to see the Hectic This ball has a lot to offer, starting with great shelf appeal (Silver and pink), to the very controlled, but sharp late hooking motion that it provides,  the Hectic is a great addition to the HP2 line.

There was an instant place in my bag for this ball. I really only used this ball on the fresh when the lanes are hooking or if I can find a little friction to the right on longer patterns and stay to the outside part of the lane and when they lanes burn up, I can make a big change and get way in to hook it. I have the Hectic drilled pin down under my ring finger with a weight hole 5in straight across. This gives me the balance and control I need out of this ball when I need it. No Doubt 2 thumbs up.