BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on July 18, 2017, 04:11:23 PM

Title: Hustle Ink
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on July 18, 2017, 04:11:23 PM
In sports we are always told to hustle well now Roto Grip is providing a ball that will do just that on the lanes. The Roto Grip Hustle Ink was designed to be different. This ball takes a low RG core and low differential to create a ball that will rev up faster but also offer more control down lane. The Thrilled Solid Reactive coverstock is perfect for light oil conditions where over-hooking can occur with more aggressive bowling balls.

Color: Ink Blue
Coverstock: Thrilled Solid Reactive
Core: Hustle (14#-16#) (Lightbulb core for 13# & 12# and a puck core for 11# & 10#)
Ball Finish: 1500-grit Polished
RG: 2.53 (15# ball)
Differential: 0.030 (15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Light Oil
Title: Hustle Ink Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on July 27, 2017, 11:54:21 AM
I truly canít say enough about this ball.  I try to stay as objective as possible when reviewing a ball, but I feel saying this is one of the best balls Iíve ever thrown IS objective.  All the buzz words apply here, easy length, good control, very clean reaction, consistent, and itís continuous through the pins.  The Hustle Ink fits best on medium conditions, itís a bit strong for true light conditions, but will handle anything from light-medium to the heavy side of medium.  This is that perfect normal house shot type reaction, it doesnít transition the lanes quickly due to the surface, itís not significantly affected by carrydown or track burn, and itís very comfortable to throw.  For me, this is Hyroad level performance.  Itís great on a number of conditions, not to mention with it being a solid, it will be very responsive to cover adjustments and should do extremely well on short to medium sport patterns of all difficulties.  Iím shamelessly recommending this one, the performance to price ratio is extremely favorable and the reaction is exceptional. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jFikkwXzzGk
Title: Re: Hustle Ink
Post by: StormAndrew on July 29, 2017, 05:12:19 PM
After completely burning out the lanes with the No Rules Exist and Show Off it was time to drop to a low performance symmetrical bowling ball, the Hustle INK. I finished on board 36 with the Show Off and I was able to instantly move 10 boards right with the new Hustle INK. The polish allowed it to get clean through the heads and it provided a smooth transition off the break point. This ball will provide bowlers of all skill levels versatility pending when they need this type of look. I could see myself using this on a house shot after game 2 or late in a squad on a sport pattern after game 6. For those who threw the original Hustle, the INK will read the lane sooner, due to it's dull coverstock, and provide a discernable smoother motion.

Video:
https://youtu.be/CKD5Mu_VNms
Title: Re: Hustle Ink
Post by: storm_tajiri on August 12, 2017, 11:53:02 AM
Introducing the NEW Hustle Ink from Roto Grip.. The Hustle Ink adds a solid addition to the HP-1 Line. It has the same Hustle core as the other Hustles but with a new solid reactive coverstock, Thrilled. It has a medium RG with a Medium-Low differential. This ball with the core and cover combination clears right though the heads and starts to roll up in the Mid-Lanes while maintaining a smooth and continuous backend motion.
I drilled mines with a 45į x 5″ x 35į ďplacing the pin up with cg kicked out.Ē I love the motion on the Hustle Ink. It is currently one of my favorites pieces in my arsenal. Its very versatile and can combat multiple lane conditions. It comes out of box at 1500 polished, but you can surface it down to help combat heavier volume patterns. The Hustle Ink is  like a step down from an IQ Tour. The difference being the Hustle Ink will go a little longer than the IQ Tour and will have a more flippy backend. Compared to the other Hustles currently in line, this will be the smoothest, earliest, and most controlling of them.
This ball has a hook rating of a 6.5/10 in my opinion.
You donít want to miss this ball. It is AMAZING!!! Check out my video below to see the reaction!!

Title: Roto Grip Hustle Ink Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on August 19, 2017, 01:12:28 PM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  40, 4 ĺ   , 70

The Roto Grip Hustle Ink the best Hustle ever released by far.  It features a solid cover, unlike the previous Hustles released, and as a result the Hustle Ink is the strongest Hustle ever.  The Hustle Ink is pretty clean through the front part of the lane and has a smooth strong backend.  It reminds me a lot of a little bit weaker IQ Tour Solid.  It definitely is weaker than the IQ Tour Solid, but it the overall reaction and versatility is very similar.  The Hustle Ink is a surprising great ball for the price point.  It will definitely have a spot in my bag for a long time!
Title: Re: Hustle Ink
Post by: TamerBowling on August 23, 2017, 01:52:46 PM
Check out our complete review and video here:
http://tamerbowling.com/roto-grip-hustle-ink-bowling-ball-review/

Short excerpt:
In the end, Iím pleased to see this type of ball motion with the Roto Grip Hustle Ink. While this could be an entry level ball, I really think itís designed as a step down ball for an arsenal. One that will let you go to the bottom of the arsenal while not quite reaching for urethane. There were times where I thought it needed to be more punchy to snap out the corners (fresh) and times where I felt it was reacting too hard to dry (broken down). Given that itís clear this is a ball for breakdown, I would probably surface this to 4000 and get a smoother reaction that I would like to see. Love the solid dark color. All in all, good effort from Roto Grip.
Title: Re: Hustle Ink
Post by: PJ Haggerty on September 08, 2017, 03:43:55 PM
Roto Grip Hustle INK Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

The Hustle line is the introductory line from Roto Grip and the Hustle INK is another great addition, while being different at the same time.  The past balls in the Hustle line have been brighter colors with pearl covers, while the Hustle INK is the first one in the line to have a solid cover and be much less flashy.

Weíve seen several types of players use this ball.  Itís a great introductory ball for someone just getting into bowling and from a tournament player perspective; itís perfect for dry lanes while still keeping a slower response time because of the coverstock.  Iíve drilled one Hustle INK so far and it goes most places with me.  I mapped it out as 4 x 4 with a surface around 3000.  I recommend drilling the cleaner and smaller cored balls stronger to make sure they flare enough and hook down lane.
My goal when drilling this was to have something when the lanes are dry and not have a quick response time.  The Hustle INK gets down the lane very easy and doesnít get kicked at the breakpoint, it remains very smooth.

Go drill one!

#SquadRG
Title: Re: Hustle Ink
Post by: RGisKing on September 11, 2017, 06:24:24 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:39'

Volume:medium/heavy

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS

                                            HUSTLE INK

Here we go, anyone that know me, know I'm a BIG fan of the Hustle line. These balls for me let me keep my angles straighter and that's my comfort zone. So now a Hustle solid, that's what I'm talking about. For me buying this ball is like stealing. So much bang for your buck.
The center that I practiced on is a medium volume house shot at 39'.  So not knowing how much the Hustle INK would hook I threw the first few shots up the first arrow, and most of them struck. As I got looser I started opening up the lane a little, moving left and starting the ball in around third arrow out to five, six, four and maybe leaked a few to the first board. And it struck, struck and struck so more. After bowling several games at the drier center I went to a center in town that plays slicker. At first with the Hustle INK box finish it labored a little, it had plenty of backend motion but it was a little too long. So I took a used 2000 abralon pad to it and that really brought it to life. I had to soften up my ball speed and really catch it, but I could of used it for sure. DO NOT THINK THAT JUST BECAUSE THIS HUSTLE INK is a HP1 ball that it doesn't hook, this ball will amaze you.
I think this ball will work for every high rev players down to the straightest of the straight players.

Likes:EVERYTHING

Dislikes:Heavier oil patterns


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Hustle Ink
Post by: RGisKing on September 11, 2017, 07:06:05 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:39'

Volume:MEDIUM

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS

HUSTLE INK

Here we go, anyone that know me, know I'm a BIG fan of the Hustle line. These balls for me let me keep my angles straighter and that's my comfort zone. So now a Hustle solid, that's what I'm talking about. For me buying this ball is like stealing. So much bang for your buck.
The center that I practiced on is a medium volume house shot at 39'.  So not knowing how much the Hustle INK would hook I threw the first few shots up the first arrow, and most of them struck. As I got looser I started opening up the lane a little, moving left and starting the ball in around third arrow out to five, six, four and maybe leaked a few to the first board. And it struck, struck and struck so more. After bowling several games at the drier center I went to a center in town that plays slicker. At first with the Hustle INK box finish it labored a little, it had plenty of backend motion but it was a little too long. So I took a used 2000 abralon pad to it and that really brought it to life. I had to soften up my ball speed and really catch it, but I could of used it for sure. DO NOT THINK THAT JUST BECAUSE THIS HUSTLE INK is a HP1 ball that it doesn't hook, this ball will amaze you.
I think this ball will work for every high rev players down to the straightest of the straight players.

Likes:EVERYTHING

Dislikes:HEAVIER PATTERNS


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Hustle Ink Ball Review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on September 25, 2017, 01:17:35 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40'

Volume:High

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS Blended High Volume. Ice Lane Conditioner


COMMENTS

RG: 2.53
Differential: 0.030
Coverstock: Thrilled Solid Reactive
Core: Hustle
Ball Finish: 1500 Polish

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin Over Ring 50 X 5 X 35

The Hustle Ink is the latest HP1 Release from Roto Grip Bowling. Roto Grip has really beefed up their lowest performance tier with the Hustle Line and the Ink is, in my opinion, the best ball in the line.  This is the first totally solid option in the Hustle Line.

The performance to price comparison of this ball is unmatched by anything else on the market. This is going to be the first ball out of my bag on so many conditions, I want to order a case of these and throw them on everything.

I tested the Hustle Ink on a High Volume house pattern that is very blended (no big area of dry to the right to throw at.) The strength and versatility of the ball amazed me. I don't normally look to an HP1 ball for fresh lane conditions unless I"m looking to push the ball up the dry and stay right for longer as is sometimes the case in houses that don't start out with alot of shape to their pattern That was my first tact with the Hustle Ink. The ball is very clean, sees the midlane like I want to see when playing up the boards, but man does it come off the back-end! I had to adjust left to start but with keeping my hand up the back it gave me that great option of staying right and playing the lane more front to back. Then I decided to come left and see how it handled covering boards on the high volume shot and low friction surface I was on. You can't get too far left with this ball. Clean, Readable and it will give you carry from anywhere you want to put it. I would compare the overall hook and motion to this ball to a Hyroad and for me personally, it was more continuous and less conditional.

I decided to get some video while I was testing and as I watched back through it I had to chuckle at how many times I heard myself say, "Man, this ball is good". It is a very pleasant surprise and if no one were to tell you before you punch one, you would never guess this is an HP1 release.
PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Hustle Ink
Post by: TonyMarino on September 29, 2017, 04:25:52 PM
Baby IQ TourÖ the end!

Seriously though, the Hustle Ink is the newest ball in the Roto Grip Hustle family. It has the same Hustle core that are in the others but uses the Thrilled solid coverstock.

I drilled my 4.25Ē from my axis with a 3Ē pin buffer and no hole. Hoping this would be my go to on lower volume patterns. This ball has become my security blanket. It rolls like a weaker benchmark ball. It is smooth and predicable on the back but does not hook too early.

Now the cover is not super strong, so unless you are rev-dominant, it will not find its way to heavy oil. But when the Dare Devil Trick or IQ Tour are too early, this ball is PERFECT. A lot of drier lane balls tend to be one dimensional, but the Hustle Ink is very versatile. I have already used this ball a ton, and it should be in every tournament players bag.
Title: Re: Hustle Ink
Post by: rotogrip_rick on October 04, 2017, 11:24:43 AM
Roto Grip Hustle INK
45 x 4 x 45
44ft THS on Kegel Ice oil on older HPL surface Ė fresh and burned THS
Surface: 4000 grit polished
What I like: Comparing to the Loco Solid that was released in the past, the Hustle goes a little longer down the lane before any reaction occurs, but the entry is almost identical to how the Loco Solid entered the pocket for me. Unlike the Loco Solid, if I did square up and went up the boards a little straighter, it did not have an earlier reaction like the Loco, which is nice considering that are lanes surface is quite ďgrittyĒ and tends to read earlier the SPL and newer HPL. Great THS ball for the money and also for shorter patterns like the new KEGEL destination patterns.
Roto_Schlem #SquadRG #RotoGrip #OwnIt
Title: Re: Hustle Ink
Post by: Bigmike on October 06, 2017, 11:41:19 PM
I drilled up my HUSTLE INK to be a good option when the lanes have dried out and I need a smooth response downlane. I have used the INK a couple of times to be able to stay right of the heavy handers and also when my medium options like the HYWIRE and CODE BLACK are too much ball at the spot. This is a ball I would recommend for anyone looking for control when the backends have just started to kick everything left quickly but balling to urethane is not the move yet. Don't wait, get one of these in your bag today!
Title: Roto Grip Hustle Ink by Kenny Phillips Jr.
Post by: KPjr300 on October 20, 2017, 04:50:00 PM
I drilled my Hustle Ink a 50 x 4 1/4 x 70. Wow, this ball definitely surprised me by the amount of hook it has especially for the price point. Featuring a solid coverstock, this ball is super good. The Hustle Ink provides great length, clean in the fronts, and a smooth but strong backend. It's a very consistent and versatile ball. It reminds me of a weaker !Q tour. This ball has earned a spot in my bag and will definitely earn one in yours. #SquadRG
Title: Re: Hustle Ink
Post by: fjcallahan on November 01, 2017, 09:47:29 AM
The Hustle Ink is the new HP1 addition to the Hustle line. Let's get right to it....Go drill this ball! In fact, drill two or three....In my opinion and the opinion of countless others this ball is as pure as it gets. A solid symmetric house shot killer for under 150 bucks....c'mon!? I've drilled numerous iterations of this ball for just about every style of bowler and the reactions are incredible...."best ball I've thrown" "another 300" "the ball hits like it costs $200"

I went with my typical pin up symmetric layout on my Ink. In my video shoot, I had ten to the gutter, miss and hold. The ball hits well and is right in my wheel house. I used it in league during the third game when my other stuff started to cook on me....I moved my feet in, threw it right and watched her rip! People came up and asked, "what the hell is that?" It was fun to see their reaction to an "entry level" price point ball. Absolute homerun from Chris and the Gang!!! #ownit #SquadRG
Title: Re: Hustle Ink
Post by: rotostar13 on November 14, 2017, 09:19:53 PM
Hustle ink

Pin above bridge cg 2 inched below bridge

40 ft hold & 41 guardian

This ball is super good. Beautiful dark blue color scheme makes it an easy sell on shelf appeal alone, but this is one of the best bangs for you buck. Super clean through the heads and has quite a punch off the dry. This a definite must to be in your bag on the late shift or when the lanes start to really burn up. This ball is available now. See your local pro shop today, you wonít be disappointed.
Roto Grip Own it
Title: Roto Grip Hustle Ink
Post by: StormRoto on November 21, 2017, 03:04:37 PM
The Roto Grip is the newest of the Hustle series in the HP1 Line.  This the first Hustle that used a solid coverstock.  I drilled mine 4.25 x 4 x 4.5 pin down.  Lets just say this is one of those balls that makes you go wow!  For an entry level ball it brings big time performance.  I have drilled other Hustles and they was okay and did the job on the drier conditions.  But the Ink is just special, even for the lower diff core at .030.
The Ink gets down the lane nicely, but it just doesnt bounce of the dry, it rolls off of it and the carry is amazing.  The Ink is one of those balls you can just put your favorite drilling in it and you will love it.  Id say that the Ink is like a Mini IQ Tour Solid. Its a little weaker up front than IQ but it has great versatility.   Definitely a must have in your bag type of ball.

Brian Watson
PAP - 3 5/8 up 1 1/4
Speed - 16-17
Tilt - 17
RPM - 400
Title: Re: Hustle Ink by Keven Williams
Post by: kevenwilliams on November 21, 2017, 04:05:12 PM
Speed: 18mph
Rev Rate: 450rpm
Pattern: Typical House Shot

The Roto Grip Hustle Ink is my favorite of the Hustle series. Im a big fan of solid covers and unlike the previous Hustles released the Hustle Ink is the strongest Hustle ever. The Hustle Ink is pretty clean through the front part of the lane and has a smooth strong backend. It reminds me a lot of a little bit weaker IQ Tour Solid. It definitely is weaker than the IQ Tour Solid, but it the overall reaction and versatility is very similar. The Hustle Ink is a surprising great ball for the price point. It will definitely have a spot in my bag for a long time!
Title: Re: Hustle Ink
Post by: mmichalek07 on December 09, 2017, 09:45:42 PM
Wow is all I can say about the Roto Grip Hustle Ink. As far as entry level or HP1 balls go the hustle Ink does not compare. In my opinion there is not a better value buy currently on the market. This ball reads the lanes perfectly and has a lot more motion on the back end than was expected. I have mine drilled 45x 4 7/8 x 45 which puts the pin in my ring finger with the cg kicked out. The motion this ball gives me is similar to the Storm IQ tour except with more angle on the backend. I have thrown this ball on all different patterns and it rolls best on light to medium oil patterns. On the heavier oil patterns it is a little to smooth but when there is any kind of friction on the backend this ball flies.
Title: Re: Hustle Ink
Post by: RoundHolesNoGripsProshop on February 18, 2019, 01:53:25 PM
Round Holes No Grips Proshop Ė Ball Review

Ball:  Rotogrip Hustle Ink
Layout:  Xx4x35
Surface:  500A then 2000A
Lane Condition:  THS mediumvolume, Sport and Challenge Patterns.
Lane Surface:  Brunswick Anvilane

Tester:  Andrew
Average:  230
Dexterity:  Right
PAP:  4 9/16>, 3/8U
Rev Rate:  370

Having seen so much love for the Hustle Ink I had to have one.  I donít prefer to throw polished gear save only one or two pieces in my arsenal.  The Hustle Ink comes polished OOB.  In full disclosure Iíve never throw it in that configuration.  Instead, I cut the ball with 500 and then 2000 to give me a look that I hoped would give me a nice controllable reaction on tougher patterns.  Having taken it to a number of tournaments, it has performed much better than I could have hoped. 

The Hustle Ink is a ball I donít leave at home when I head to tournaments.  It has a firm place in my tournament arsenal.  It can handle some oil with this surface prep, but will never be considered a strong ball.  I donít use it much on league patterns.  It is too strong to play the dirt but not quite strong enough to handle the puddle in the middle.   I drill every ball for a purpose or specific reaction and this layout and surface prep is exactly what I wanted.  I could alter the surface for our house pattern but I find that my two Winner(both pearls with different layouts) fit the bill better. 

Overall, the Hustle Ink can serve as a wonderful control piece to help you as the lanes transition during tournament play.  This is a piece that can keep you in play and give you the control and predictability.

Andrew Groves
Round Holes No Grips Proshop
Rotogrip Advisory Staff