BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on June 24, 2020, 08:42:23 AM

Title: Hustle PBR
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on June 24, 2020, 08:42:23 AM
Roto Grip Hustle PBR
In sports we are always told to hustle well now Roto Grip is providing a ball that will do just that on the lanes. The Roto Grip Hustle PBR was designed to variety to the Hustle line of bowling balls. This ball takes a medium RG core and low differential to create a ball that will offer more control down lane. The VTC-S20 Solid Coverstock was created to offer a slightly different reaction. This Versatile Traction Control coverstock along with the 3000 grit finish was designed to react early without starting to roll too early on light oil lanes.

Color: Purple/Black/Red
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Coverstock: VTC-S20 Solid Reactive
Core: Hustle (14#-16#) (Lightbulb core for 13# & 12# and a puck core for 11# & 10#)
Finish: 3000 Grit
RG: 2.53 (15# ball)
Differential: 0.030 (15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Light Oil
Title: Hustle PBR review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on July 19, 2020, 06:02:28 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41
Volume:Medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Cover: VTC-S20 Solid
Core: Hustle
Finish: 3000
RG: 2.53
Differential: 0.030

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
Ball Layout: Pin over Ring 4 3/4 Pin to PAP 2.5 Inch Pin Buffer

Roto Grip is adding a new factor into their HP1 Hustle Line, SURFACE.The new Hustle P/B/R wraps the very successful Hustle Core in a Solid VTC-S20™ cover. The Hustle Ink also featured a solid cover but it's polished finish made it the cleanest of the line for me. The 3000 grit finish on the Hustle PBR gives the ball more teeth to deal with mid-lane oil.

I tested the Hustle PBR on a fresh house condition expecting to be playing very close to the friction. This cover really blew me away. It started to read earlier than I expected so that I had to look for a little hold instead of firing straight into the friction. The biggest shock was watching the ball go through the pins. Even on a higher friction surface the PBR is fantastic at retaining energy. It was smooth and predictable off the spot but really went through the pins well.

I started out wanting to "try it out" and it has become hard for me to throw other balls because it is the ball I trust most right now, since week to week lane play has been pretty varied. This ball is very versatile and if you are looking for a single ball to fill a few spots in your bag I would suggest you give this one a try.

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Hustle PBR Review
Post by: addynyr on July 28, 2020, 01:10:15 PM
The Hustle PBR has the new VTC-S20 coverstock wrapped around the popular Hustle Core. The new sanded coverstock gives a brand new look in the Hustle line that creates ultimate versatility in the line for medium to light oil. This ball has the versatility to be great on house shots where you have lighter oil volumes or a lot of backend. This ball is also great on medium to short oil sport patterns or heavier volumes of oil on older lane surfaces. The continuation on this ball makes it very special and would be great for many masses of people on many different lane conditions.

Adam Chase
Storm Staff
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: Kyle.Johnson88 on July 30, 2020, 03:55:29 PM
Ball Specs:
Roto Grip Hustle PBR
Cover: 3000 VTC-S20™ Solid Reactive
Weight Block: Hustle™ Core (Symmetrical)
Color: Purple/Black/Red

Review:
The Hustle line sells through very well in our shop. There are not many bowling balls made by great companies that are affordable for the beginner and reliable and trusted by tournament veterans. This ball can be altered in many fashions to fit your game. It can be polished if you want to delay the reaction a bit down lane. It also comes out of the box at 3000, so altering this to 1500 would be an option if you play on some oil and use this ball as your first out of the bag.  The one thing this ball will not use is continuation through the pins. A lot of times you would expect similar balls in this price point to not finish quite as hard as this guy does here. Whether you are looking for a great starter ball or needing a “step down” solid late in a block, this ball lives up to the Hustle name.

Kyle & Joel Johnson
Roto Grip Pro Shop Staff Members
joel@parklanes.net
kyle@parklanes.net
www.rotogrip.com
#SquadRG
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: StormAndrew on August 01, 2020, 10:41:39 AM
The Hustles have returned although this time with new covers. We have the Hustle PBR (Solid) and Hustle RAP (Pearl). The PBR is a ball I am particularly looking forward to throwing. We’ve seen on some of the recent PBA telecasts Simonson and Prather make this ball look really good.

The PBR is going to be an excellent choice for those lighter oil conditions or when the backends are super crisp and you need the ball to back off a bit with lower differential. The PBR will allow you to play closer to the friction without it over reacting.

The RAP Hustle will be a step down ball from the PBR Solid when the lanes transition and you need a cleaner cover to clear the fronts. Similar to the Solid, due to the lower differential, we will see plenty of control down lane. The RAP Hustle will, also, be an option for those longer blocks when you begin getting to games 6 and on.
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: Tknoop1127 on August 04, 2020, 02:34:41 PM
Drilling: Pin over bridge which is 4 inches from my PAP

One of the new Hustle bowling balls to come out for the HP1 line. This ball has the Hustle Core, and the VTC solid coverstock. This is one of the most versatile bowling balls in my bag at the moment. For being in the HP1 line, it is a bang for your buck big time! I have been able to throw this ball on quite a few shots.

With it being a solid coverstock it doesn't go too long, but its not early either. For me, its that "right type of versatile".

Go check it out at your local Storm VIP Shop!!

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: NateGarcia on August 09, 2020, 06:18:40 PM
This ball is sneaky good! The Hustle PBR is the latest addition to Roto Grip’s Hustle series. The Hustle PBR is wrapped in a VTC-S20 Solid reactive cover stock with the same Hustle core. This ball is going to give you the shape we’ve seen out of all the Hustle’s but an earlier and smoother motion. I see this ball being the perfect step down from the Idol/Wild streak kind of bowling balls. It’s cleaner and sharper downlane than the idol and wild streak. The Hustle PBR is perfect on patterns that are lighter volume and short to medium length patterns.
This Hustle is bound to make some noise so don’t miss out and get yours while they are hot!
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: Haley3 on August 09, 2020, 09:07:01 PM
Bowler Bio
Gender : Female
Rev Rate : 315
Ball Speed: 16.5 mph
P.A.P : 4 3/16 over  7/16 up
   
   When you are talking about best bag for your buck the Roto Grip Hustles are it !!  I have never seen a ball with such a low price point go through the pins so good. You could put together an arsenal with just hustles and have a pretty good assortment that would work.
   The Hustle PBR is the strongest of the hustles and gives a great look in a little bit more volume. It really gives me a Phaze 2 shape at a lot lower price point. This will be a great first ball out of your bag to help create a hook spot to ball down to a bit weaker ball like the RAP.
   With all being said the PBR starts up a lot sooner then the RAP which gets through the fronts very well. At the end of the day you cant go wrong with purchasing any ball from the hustle line.

 Take a look for yourself at my Video Ball Review !!!
 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XIQBrZW8Aac&t=72s
Title: Hustle PBR Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on August 18, 2020, 08:39:48 PM
The Hustle PBR features the trademark Hustle core with this year’s version of VTC Solid.  The PBR is the strongest Hustle we’ve seen so far, strong enough to reasonably be an HP2 ball, and that’s saying something.  It’s also stronger and earlier for me than the IQ Tour Solid even, albeit a little smoother out of the box.  It feels like a weaker and smoother Phaze 2, but for those that remember the IQ Tour Nano, it feels more like a weaker version of that.  Strong, controllable, but playable on most regular conditions.  Like the RAP, it’s more a bang for your buck ball than a true lighter oil ball, and I feel like it’s the most hook that’s ever been offered for this price.  While strong doesn’t always equal effective, I’ve seen a lot of these on the lanes, in tournament bags, and it’s even been on a couple of the PBA shows so far.  If you’re looking for this type of a ball, the PBR is a no brainer. 
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: fazzone22 on August 19, 2020, 03:25:27 PM
The newest solid cover stock Hustle is an absolute beast. I drilled mine 5 x 5 x 3 and his hands down is the best Hustle I have ever drilled and this is also the strongest. This ball is easily about 7 boards stronger to me than the Hustle INK was. House patterns with a little more oil will best suit this ball and will be great on some sports patterns in the middle of blocks.
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: PJ Haggerty on August 25, 2020, 11:28:44 AM
Roto Grip Hustle PBR Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

The Hustle PBR is the newest addition to the Roto Grip HP1 line.  The Hustle series has been very successful for all types of players because these balls compliment the HP3 and HP4 so well.  Just like the rest of the Hustle series, the PBR has an RG of 2.53 and differential of .030.  The PBR is a perfect piece to use after the UFO, Idol, or Nuclear Cell.  I’ve drilled one PBR so far and think it rolls great.  I mapped it out as 4 x 4 and left the surface alone at 3000.  After several games, it’s lane-shined a bit but it rolls really well.

I can see using the PBR in multiple ways.  On shorter patterns, it’s a ball to stay farther right on and could be a nice compliment to urethane.  On the longer patterns, after some of the bigger balls (UFO, Nuclear Cell, etc..) have chewed up the front, the PBR gives you a cleaner cover with still some kick down lane.  Also, this is a ball for all types of players.  The straighter players can use it to keep their angles in front of them and the higher-rev players can use it when the HP4 balls become too strong. 

If you need a versatile ball in your bag that can be used on multiple patterns, drill the new Hustle PBR!

Title: RotoGrip Hustle PBR by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on August 25, 2020, 07:38:34 PM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  400 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 ½ over and ½ up

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
VLS Layout:  5 x 4 x 2 1/2

I needed this Hustle line update.  I love my Hustle Ink but I needed something a little stronger at times.  The Hustle PBR and Hustle RAP are the perfect solution.  I have both the PBR and the RAP 5-6 boards more than the INK, but the PBR is the earlier smoother Hustle and the RAP is the cleaner, sharper version.  I’ve been crushing league with the PBR and moving to the RAP for the breakdown.  Perfect 1-2 combo at a great price!
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: Kevin Duncan on August 26, 2020, 08:42:39 AM
Roto Grip Hustle PBR
Layout: 4 X 4 X 2 Storm Vector Layout
Rev Rate: 325 rpm, 7 degree of axis tilt, 40 degree of axis rotation
Testing Information: 41-foot THS (medium to light volume)
Kegel Machine – Brunswick Anvilane

The Roto Grip Hustle PBR utilizes the Hustle core wrapped in VTC-S20 (Versatile Traction Control) solid reactive coverstock. We tested the Hustle PBR against the Roto Grip Idol and Roto Grip Hustle PBR.  With no surprise, the Hustle PBR fell between the two.  The PBR was not as early as the Idol nor was its overall strength equal to the Idol.  When tested against the Hustle Ink, the PBR was slightly early and smoother.  My first impressions after making the review video and getting to throw it in league and tournament action is the overall reaction is smooth and carry is good.  The Hustle PBR is going to be a good entry level ball for bowlers that can be thrown with surface or with shine.  I get asked all the time why I should buy another ball in the Hustle line.  My answer is simple, the teams at Roto Grip (and Storm) continue to improve the coverstocks.  These covers continue to evolve and make a big difference.

Continue to bowl up a Storm!

Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop to order yours.

#Stormnation  #OwnIt
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: Gil B on August 26, 2020, 01:08:42 PM
If you were a fan of the Huslte Ink and have been waiting for something similar let me introduce you to the Hustle PBR. This ball has that same smooth downlane predictable motion but It’s a bit stronger than the Ink but nothing uncontrollable. This ball is a perfect fit when the lanes start to get funky and you are looking to square of the lane and find that sweet spot. Big fan of this ball .
Title: Roto Grip Hustle PBR review by Trevor Roberts
Post by: TrevorRoberts on August 28, 2020, 05:27:43 PM
LANE CONDITION
Length: 40
Volume: Medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

COMMENTS
The Hustle PBR is my favorite ball in the Hustle line. The Hustle PBR features the same RG and differential as the other Hustles, which is 2.53 and 0.030. It is stronger than the other Hustles and reminds me a lot of the motion of the Phaze 2. My Hustle PBR is a 4-5 boards weaker than the Phaze 2 and 4-5 boards stronger than the Hustle RAP. This ball gives me a great rounded motion that I’ve used on short patterns, longer patterns, and house shots. The sanded cover on this Hustle allows it to hook more in oil, where the other Hustles tend to go a few feet longer before hooking. The price point is well below what the performance says it should be, and the colors on this ball make it easy to read going down the lane!

SOCIAL MEDIA
Click This Link Below For All Social Media :
https://linktr.ee/TrevorRobertsBowler

BOWLER STATS
Trevor Roberts
2016 PBA Southern Regional Rookie Of The Year
Storm / Roto Grip Professional Staff
Turbo 2N1 Grips Staff Member
Right Handed
Rev Rate: 440
Speed: 17
PAP: 5 1/2 up 13/16
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: stormstarSLZ on August 28, 2020, 06:42:53 PM
Layout 50x4x25 rev rate 275 ball speed 14 mph PAP 4 ½ right and 1 up
My intention when drilling the BPR was to replace my older Hy-Road Solid I've had for a while, it was basically my benchmark piece for the burn. I keep my BPR at 5k no polish and it is a friction lover! Anytime I am bowling a tournament more than 3 games this ball is lurking in my bag ready to step up. I usually step down from my IQ Tour Solid or my Idol Pro when they are to much through the heads. The solid VTC cove rstock is meant for more control and that is exactly what we get just like the IQ Tour and Idol Pro but less overall hook.
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: JoeZibrin on August 28, 2020, 07:58:34 PM
Drilling 90x5x45  rev rate 450 ball speed 17 PAP 3 ¾ right 1 up
So after review I feel like new Solid BPR is a perfect compliment to the IQ tour solid. When throwing I get very similar feel just about an arrow less overall hook. Coverstock wise I get a very similar feel with and allowes me to make very easy adjustments when its time to ball down from my iq tour solid. I also have compared with my Hustle AU.I get about 3 more boards of hook overall starting up about 2 to 3 feet sooner!
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: sportshot on August 30, 2020, 06:02:00 PM
Ball Specs:
Roto grip Hustle PBR
Cover stock   Solid
Cover stock    Reactive
Weight Block   Hustle™ Core (Symmetrical)
Color      Purple / Black / Red
Finish      3000-grit P
Layout       45 x 4 x 40

Bowler Specs:
Right Hand. PAP 5” Over 1/2 up
Rev Rate 300. Tilt 20. Rotation 50.
Speed at release 17

Review:
The Hustle Line of balls has a lot of controlled power at a budget price. The Hustle PBR will not be a hook monster like a UFO or Rubicon but it is about the same as my Wild Streak in total boards. The Hustle PRB creates a very nice controlled shape on the lane when the new MVP Attitude may be giving you a bit more on the back end than you need. This ball will fit between my MVP Attitude and Pitch Purple in my line up. The core and cover create a very predictable motion which is nice on lanes that are wet dry or have stripped back ends. I really like this PBR much more than the Ink.  The Hustle PBR hits as hard as balls that cost much more. The color blend of the ball has very nice shelf appeal also. The Hustle line is a great option for bowlers who want more punch than an entry level reactive ball or tournament bowlers building a complete arsenal. I have already seen the PBR being used on some PBA telecasts. This tells me the folks that bowl for a paycheck trust this ball to do the job. The PBR should be very versatile for all styles of bowers.

Summary:
The Hustle PBR rolls like a higher priced ball.
The control and hit of this ball are very good..
The PRB can be a nice addition to round out an arsenal.
This ball should work well for all styles of bowlers.

Glenn Wendel
PBA Member
Storm Pro Shop Staff

gwendel@comcast.net
www.stormbowling.com

Video link:
https://youtu.be/UNf80zGFJjQ

Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: rotogrip_rick on August 31, 2020, 03:11:30 PM
Hustle PBR - 40x4x40 3000 gir pad finish - Huslte Core - VTC-S20 solid reactive coverstock
Testing condition: 44ft Mo Pinel created THS on older SPL ( earlier 2000's).
Hustle PBR is a great addition to the Huslte line, being an updated solid coverstock wrapped around the very established Hustle core, it gives the Hustle line another piece in the puzzle. Comparing to the Hustle INK, the PBR rolls a little sooner and a little stronger then the now legendary INK. For me it rolls very similar to my Idol I have at 1500 grit. Early roll, but still enough energy stored to still create a good angle into the pocket. Earlier version of Hustles that were reactive where weaker front to back and the PBR stands out because it is not "weak" at all. A great ball to add to your tournament ball or if you have a THS this is a little "sparky" in the later mid lane and backends.
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: Bigmike on September 20, 2020, 06:55:06 PM
I drilled my HUSTLE PBR with my normal go to layout of 55 x 4.5 x 35. I left it box surface of 3000 abr.

The HUSTLE PBR is the typical Roto Grip "Big bang for less bucks" type release. The Hustle line is typically marketed as a low end piece for the slow ball speed or newer bowler. But there is a lot of value to an experienced player looking for something that still has some teeth to it but is a nice step down from the high and medium end balls.

I put my HUSTLE PBR up against my IQ TOUR PEARL and IQ TOUR SOLID. The IQ's both revved up much earlier with the PEARL being very early and a whole zone or two left of the PBR, but the SOLID was not too much more down lane than the PBR. In fact with a little more surface on the IQ TOUR SOLID to separate it from the PBR, having both is a good idea for arsenal building.

Put this one if your bag if you have some surface or pattern friction and your big guns are too much bowling ball for the house or lane pattern.
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: EVollmar on October 01, 2020, 11:04:03 PM
Length:42

Volume: High

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS

Rev Rate: 450

Ball Speed: 17 mph

PAP: 5 1/16 x 3/4 up

Introducing the Hustle PBR, the newest release in the HP1 line. The Hustle PBR uses the Hustle Core and is wrapped with the VTC-S2. The layout that I went with was 4.5 x 4 x 2, this layout puts the pin above my ring finger and kicks the cg out. The Hustle PBR is great on medium conditions. I love how smooth and controlled of a motion I get from the PBR. If you're looking for a great drier lane ball that has great control, this is the ball for you.

Earon Vollmar

Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: Chad Hauser - Storm Staff on October 10, 2020, 01:58:39 AM
The Hustle PBR is a ball that compliments the other Hustles and gives you the control and smooth shape like the Hustle line has.  This ball has a very strong movement to the pocket with this VTC-S20 Coverstock.  I drilled mine 45 x 5 x 65 and this is my weaker smoother layout.  This ball definitely gives me the control that I am looking for when I am playing up the outside.  With this layout the ball doesn’t flare a lot, and this ball doesn’t flare a lot in general, which gives it the control you are looking for.  As for all the Hustles consistency and control play a huge factor.  I find this ball is more effective on light to medium oil patterns.  If you have a rev rate over 400 you will like this ball to blend out the pattern and give you that smooth controlled look.  Pretty much any layout will work in this ball and give you what you are looking for. You wont be disappointed.
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: SquadRGer on October 12, 2020, 01:28:31 PM
Hustle to the shop and get you one.

WEIGHT BLOCK: Hustle Core
WEIGHT: 15lbs
RG: 2.53
DIFF: 0.030
COVER: VTC-S20
OUT OF BOX: 3000 Grit

Pattern used for review is a modified HP.

PLAY
The Hustle PBR is my second one after the popular, Hustle INK.  I was looking for something smoother and able to handle a little more oil.

The PBR is the strongest Hustle so far.  In my opinion it is a bit stronger and earlier than the IQ Tour Solid.  Strong, controllable, but playable.  If you’re looking for this type of a ball, the PBR is a no brainer.

LOW DOWN:  Definitely a must have for those looking for control.  THe Hustle line has definitely proven itself to be more bang for your buck.  The PBR definitely offers the most hook being offered at this price point.  #SquadRG
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: hittnhard on October 18, 2020, 07:49:22 PM
Roto Grip Hustle PBR

Coverstock:VTC-P20™ Solid

Weight Block: Hustle™ Core

Factory Finish: 3000 grit

Radius of Gyration: 2.53

Differential: 0.030

2 new Hustle's and this review will cover them....along with where they fit in with my other Hustle's.

The Hustle PBR is the strongest Hustle to date and once again has packed a lot of performance in a low price point ball.

If you couldn't see the Hustle logo on the ball, you would probably assume this is, at least, an HP2 line ball. So much ball for the price!!!!!!

The PBR is a light oil and/or house shot killer. Great combo of strength and control. I can attack our house shot from a few different angles, which is impressive for a ball that you can order for under $100 (Drilled in my shop for $125).

I drilled mine 65x4x35, my go to layout.

My current Hustle-only arsenal looks like this:

PRB--midlane/strongest of the bunch/smooth

HSB---early/smooth

RAP---longest/most angle of the group
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: hammermike2000 on October 20, 2020, 12:02:17 PM
Roto Grip Hustle PBR
Layout: 55 x 4 1/8” x 30

This is the most hook I have ever seen out of any “entry level” ball, period. I brought this ball out on a fresh medium-heavy oil shot, and it had no trouble digging though the oil. What I like the most about the PBR is the fact that it has so much mid lane traction but still does not give up in the back end; the amount of continuation is fantastic. The PBR has many uses – it could easily be the strongest ball in your bag if you do not see heavy oil often, or it could be a great ball to go to when balls such as the Idol or Rubicon start to hook too early.

Mike LeViner
BowlersMart
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: TonyMarino on October 23, 2020, 09:13:30 AM
Building on its success and amazing value, the Hustle line has another winner with the PBR! The PBR has a new solid cover but the same great core which makes this the slowest response Hustle to date. As someone who likes to use slow response solid balls on house shots this is my house shot killer! I drilled mine 2” from my PAP with a 1” pin buffer. It’s nice and smooth but the solid cover still picks up early to read the pattern correctly.
If you are looking for a slightly weaker benchmark solid ball, you will not find a better value than the Hustle PBR!
Title: Re: Hustle PBR
Post by: ShimWreckerEnterprises on October 23, 2020, 11:13:48 AM
No, this isn't a beer... this just might be the biggest value to ever have the Roto Grip logo on it! The Hustle PBR combines the familiar Hustle series core (2.53 RG, 0.030 differential) with the updated VTC-S20 Solid reactive coverstock at a 3000-grit surface. The amount of traction and control that this ball brings to the table is completely unparalleled to anything else that I've ever seen. It's a different feel in how it shapes downlane thanks to the different friction response of the coverstock and the RG gap (2.49 versus 2.53), but this is definitely a very controlled, predictable, benchmark-type motion in the same vein as an !Q Tour Solid and is already seeing use at all levels even on PBA Tour shows. If you want predictability on a budget, this is the ball for you!