BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on June 24, 2020, 08:43:09 AM

Title: Hustle RAP
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on June 24, 2020, 08:43:09 AM
Roto Grip Hustle RAP
In sports we are always told to hustle well now Roto Grip is providing a ball that will do just that on the lanes. The Roto Grip Hustle 3TP was designed to be different. This ball takes a medium RG/ low differential core and combines it with the VTC-P20 Pearl Reactive coverstock to produce a ball that offers the best combination of versatility and control. The 1500 grit polish finish on this ball helps it acheive the length and backend expected from a pearl coverstock in the Hustle ball line when facing light to medium oiled lanes.

Color: Royal/Aqua/Purple
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Coverstock: VTC-P20 Pearl Reactive
Core: Hustle (14#-16#) (Lightbulb core for 13# & 12# and a puck core for 11# & 10#)
Ball Finish: 1500-grit Polished
RG: 2.53 (15# ball)
Differential: 0.030 (15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Light to Medium Oil
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: Kyle.Johnson88 on July 30, 2020, 04:36:47 PM
Ball Specs:
Roto Grip Hustle RAP
Cover: 1500 Polished VTC-P20ô Pearl Reactive
Weight Block: Hustleô Core (Symmetrical)
Color: Royal/Aqua/Purple

Review:
Another hit from the Hustle line. The bang for your buck is outstanding for any of the Roto Grip Hustle bowling balls. The RAP reads tremendously, and that Hustle core really carries through the pins with force. This ball not only looks amazing but would be a great fit for the down and in style of play for the beginning bowler. The tournament players who are used to the Hustle line can expect predictability late in a block, or a trusted starter piece for those very dry conditions. The RAP would also be a good complimentary piece to the PBR, allowing to stay to the right part of the lane. Overall, we feel the RAP, along with the PBR are great pieces to the Hustle line and can really work for any budget or style of play.

Kyle & Joel Johnson
Roto Grip Pro Shop Staff Members
joel@parklanes.net
kyle@parklanes.net
www.rotogrip.com
#SquadRG
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: StormAndrew on August 01, 2020, 10:41:22 AM
The Hustles have returned although this time with new covers. We have the Hustle PBR (Solid) and Hustle RAP (Pearl). The PBR is a ball I am particularly looking forward to throwing. Weíve seen on some of the recent PBA telecasts Simonson and Prather make this ball look really good.

The PBR is going to be an excellent choice for those lighter oil conditions or when the backends are super crisp and you need the ball to back off a bit with lower differential. The PBR will allow you to play closer to the friction without it over reacting.

The RAP Hustle will be a step down ball from the PBR Solid when the lanes transition and you need a cleaner cover to clear the fronts. Similar to the Solid, due to the lower differential, we will see plenty of control down lane. The RAP Hustle will, also, be an option for those longer blocks when you begin getting to games 6 and on.
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on August 07, 2020, 02:53:51 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41
Volume:Medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Coverstock: VTC-P20 Pearl
Core: Hustle
Ball Finish: 1500 Polish
RG: 2.53
Differential: 0.030

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
Ball Layout: Pin over Ring 4 1/2 Pin To Pap 2 Inch Pin Buffer

The Hustle R/A/P is the newest pearl cover release in the HP1 line. The Hustle core has proven to be the benchmark for great performance in the entry level ball market. Each variation has shown consistently that whatever the characteristics may be of the cover, the constant is great performance.

The R/A/P for me is certainly the strongest of the Pearl Hustle's to date. I was a bit surprised that I could see some mid-lane movement even on a freshly dressed lane. That's not to say it is early rolling, but it is slightly earlier than I expected. The Hustle Ink has always been the cleanest and quickest of the Hustle line for me in spite of its solid cover. The Hustle R/A/P is a few feet earlier than the Ink, and although it isn't as quick off the spot it still makes a strong move and continues well.

I tested the R/A/P on a somewhat broken down house pattern first. I assumed that it would be most useful going around the lane with a softer release to let it really belly but I found that it created a bit of over/under that I'm only used to seeing with Stronger balls when I get around them. After i noticed this i decided to try getting under the ball more as I moved in to get it to slow down a little more. To my delight I found the R/A/P gave me an excellent option to play this line. With my lower ball speed I often have trouble forcing stronger equipment through the front of the lane but the weaker pieces struggle to carry. With the R/A/P I can focus a bit on my release and let the ball get down lane rather than having to try to generate more ball speed and use a stronger ball.

I've also found that the R/A/P looks good when playing closer to the gutter and for people who have less hand and play tighter angles. I can back out the hand and fire it up the friction on a fresher lane and it looks great. Its a very versatile ball for a pearl and I think alot of different styles would benefit from having one in the bag.

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: NateGarcia on August 09, 2020, 05:06:32 PM
The Hustle RAP is one of three new low end releases from Roto Grip. The Hustle RAP has the same Hustle Core wrapped around the VCT-P20 Pearl coverstock. This will give bowlers a weaker option when tackling very dry house shots or when the lanes break down and players want to stay farther right, especially low rev rate players. When the front part of the lane goes away from the bowlers that have the higher rev rates, straighter players can stay right with this ball giving them a ball that can get through the front part of the lane with ease and still give them plenty of back end from a lower end bowling ball.
The Hustle RAP will be great for straighter players or very dry house conditions that make players get left.
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: Haley3 on August 09, 2020, 09:23:24 PM
Bowler Bio
Gender : Female
Rev Rate : 315
Ball Speed: 16.5 mph
P.A.P : 4 3/16 over  7/16 up
   
   When you are talking about best bag for your buck the Roto Grip Hustles are it !!  I have never seen a ball with such a low price point go through the pins so good. You could put together an arsenal with just hustles and have a pretty good assortment that would work.
   The Hustle RAP gives you great length and really nice pop off the back end. For me it was the quickest out of all the hustles about two or so boards less overall then the PBR. At the end of the  end of the day you cant go wrong with purchasing any ball from the hustle line.

 Take a look for yourself at my Video Ball Review !!!
       https://youtu.be/NWkoHGKucUs
Title: Hustle RAP Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on August 18, 2020, 08:40:32 PM
The Hustle RAP is the latest in Rotoís HP1 line, featuring the Hustle core and VTC P-20, or this yearís version of VTC Pearl.  The simplest way for me to describe it is that itís a baby Idol Pearl, itís got a very similar look on the lane, it plays well from similar zones, it does all the same things the Idol Pearl does, itís for lighter oil volumes.  Iím a big fan of the Idol Pearl, but sometimes itís too much ball, so to have a similar look thatís usable more often on typical conditions is great.  Itís rolly and fairly continuous, and itís got a nice balance between control and pop on the backend.  I think itís a bit too strong for drier or lighter oil conditions, itís more of a bang for your buck ball than a true dry or light oil ball, but itís perfect for the vast majority of regular league conditions for the vast majority of bowlers. 
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: fazzone22 on August 19, 2020, 03:24:37 PM
 

The Hustle RAP is a new hybrid cover stock in the Hustle line. I drilled mine 5.5 x 5 x 3 and this ball is super clean and angular. Itís about 5 boards less than the Hustle PBR. This is going to be a ball I used later in league or later in tournaments when the front part of the lane starts to hook. 
Title: RotoGrip Hustle RAP by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on August 26, 2020, 10:23:46 AM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  400 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 Ĺ over and Ĺ up

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
VLS Layout:  5 x 4 x 2 1/2

I needed this Hustle line update.  I love my Hustle Ink but I needed something a little stronger at times.  The Hustle PBR and Hustle RAP are the perfect solution.  I have both the PBR and the RAP 5-6 boards more than the INK, but the PBR is the earlier smoother Hustle and the RAP is the cleaner, sharper version.  Iíve been crushing league with the PBR and moving to the RAP for the breakdown.  Perfect 1-2 combo at a great price!
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: Kevin Duncan on August 27, 2020, 09:35:16 AM
Roto Grip Hustle RAPLayout: 4 X 4 X 2 Storm Vector LayoutRev Rate: 325 rpm, 7 degree of axis tilt, 40 degree of axis rotationTesting Information: 41-foot THS (medium to light volume)Kegel Machine Ė Brunswick Anvilane
The Roto Grip Hustle RAP utilizes the Hustle core wrapped in VTC-P20 (Versatile Traction Control) pearl reactive coverstock. We tested the Hustle RAP against the Roto Grip Hustle PBR. With no surprise,the Hustle RAP was longer with more backend reaction. When the PBR starts to read the lane too soon, the RAP is an option to step down to. The Hustle line does have two other pearl coverstock balls, Hustle Au and Hustle 3TP. As Schlem says, there is not much difference in hook potential of the three but does provide color options for those bowlers that color matters. The Hustle RAP is going to be a good entry level ball for bowlers. I get asked all the time why I should buy another ball in the Hustle line. My answer is simple, the teams at Roto Grip (and Storm) continue to improve the coverstocks. These covers continue to evolve and make a big difference.Continue to bowl up a Storm!Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop to order yours.#Stormnation #OwnIt
Title: Roto Grip Hustle RAP review by Trevor Roberts
Post by: TrevorRoberts on August 28, 2020, 05:41:28 PM
LANE CONDITION
Length: 40
Volume: Medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

COMMENTS
The Hustle RAP is another great addition to the already great Hustle line. This ball reminds me a lot of the Electrify Pearl, but for me is a little bit cleaner through the fronts and quicker down lane. I quickly fell in love with this ball practicing on house shots and have used it a lot bowling in leagues. On longer patterns you can use this ball late in the day as the fronts go away. Compared to the Hustle Ink, which is one of my favorite Hustle balls, this one is cleaner and more angular. The price point of the Hustle line is very low which is great for how well they perform. The purple and blue swirl on this ball looks great both on the shelf and going down the lane!

SOCIAL MEDIA
Click This Link Below For All Social Media :
https://linktr.ee/TrevorRobertsBowler

BOWLER STATS
Trevor Roberts
2016 PBA Southern Regional Rookie Of The Year
Storm / Roto Grip Professional Staff
Turbo 2N1 Grips Staff Member
Right Handed
Rev Rate: 440
Speed: 17
PAP: 5 1/2 up 13/16
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: stormstarSLZ on August 28, 2020, 06:41:48 PM
Layout 90x2x50 rev rate 275 ball speed 14 mph PAP 4 Ĺ right and 1 up
For me, I drilled this ball to handle the urethane motion without being urethane. With my speed I sometimes struggle using urethane, so I went with a short pin to pap layout to read urethane but be a much cleaner cover stock. I have quickly started relying on the RAP whenever the lanes are flying and I can't get to the pocket.  I have also drilled a RAP to match my Purple Hustle Pearl from last year, drilled with the same layout 45x4x45. The VTC cover stock provides a slightly more true motion making it easier to read and trust for me than some of the spunkier pearl cover stocks./size]
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: JoeZibrin on August 28, 2020, 07:59:09 PM
Drilling 60x4x30 rev rate 450 ball speed 17 PAP 3 ĺ right 1 up
Intent for layout was to give me a transition ball for league. The Hustle RAP VTC pearl coverstock is meant for controlling the reaction so I wanted to play to the balls strength and drilled it on the stronger side so I could stay left after transition and not worry about the ball turning the corner downlane. Usually fits perfect behind my Iq tour emerald which I find to be the cleaner of the Iq series balls out right now.
Title: Hustle RAP
Post by: sportshot on August 30, 2020, 06:38:48 PM
Ball Specs:
Roto grip Hustle RAP
Cover stock    Pearl Reactive
Weight Block   Hustleô Core (Symmetrical)
Color      Royal / Aqua / Purple
Finish      1500-grit Polish
Layout       45 x 4 x 40

Bowler Specs:
Right Hand. PAP 5Ē Over 1/2 up
Rev Rate 300. Tilt 20. Rotation 50.
Speed at release 17

Review:
The Hustle RAP is one of the most attractive balls in the Roto Line. It looks a lot like the Astro Physics on the ball return. The RAP is another ball with more bang for your buck. Much like how the PBR is a bit weaker in hook than the MVP Attitude, the RAP is a bit weaker than the MVP Pearl. I also believe the RAP is a bit smoother than the MVP Pearl. This ball is a good choice when the Nuclear is too much ball. The core and cover create a very predictable move which is great on a medium to dry house shot. The RAP hits a lot harder than expected and I was able to bowl well and carry a lot of strikes while bowling on fried lanes on an out of town trip. I was inside of 15 rolling out to 8 and even with my low rev rate the ball carried almost everything while being very consistent. This Hustle RAP is another Hustle that is better than expected. I really think the latest two Hustles are the best Hustles yet. This will be a great choice for new bowlers looking for a performance all with control or the experienced bowler needing a ball they can trust on the dry burnt lanes.

Summary:
The Hustle RAP looks super good!
The control and hit of this ball on dry are excellent.
The Hustle RAP is a great choice when the Nuclear is too strong.
The value of the Hustle RAP and PBR are outstanding.

Glenn Wendel
PBA Member
Storm Pro Shop Staff

gwendel@comcast.net
www.stormbowling.com

Video link:
https://youtu.be/Za5zqJWsIi0
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: rotogrip_rick on August 31, 2020, 06:43:47 PM
Hustle RAP - 50x4x60 - 1500 grit polished - Hustle Core - VTC-P20 pearl reactive coverstock
Testing condition: 44ft Mo Pinel created THS on older SPL ( earlier 2000's).
While using this new Hustle RAP with the updated VTC pearl coverstock I compared it to the Hustle AU that Roto Grip currently has in it's HP1 line up. By the numbers and graph on the Roto Grip's website the balls are identical. But on the lanes I found the RAP to pick up a tid bit sooner than the Hustle AU, and my theory is that the AU cover and color, GOLD, may tend to skid a little longer due to the coloring. Besides that, the pocket entries are nearly identical and keep the pins low. For the money the Hustle line is the BEST BANG for your pockets - money and scoring on the market.
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: EVollmar on October 01, 2020, 11:12:28 PM
Length:42

Volume: High

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS

Rev Rate: 450

Ball Speed: 17 mph

PAP: 5 1/16 x 3/4 up

Introducing the Hustle RAP, the newest release in the HP1 line. The Hustle RAP uses the Hustle Core and is wrapped with the VTC-P20. The layout that I went with was 5 x 3 x 2, this layout puts the pin above both fingers and kicks the cg out. The Hustle RAP is great on medium to dry conditions. I get great length and strong recovery off the back-end from the RAP. If you're looking for a great drier lane ball that has great length, this is the ball for you.

Earon Vollmar

Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: SquadRGer on October 12, 2020, 01:34:54 PM
The Hustle RAP.

WEIGHT BLOCK: Hustle Core
WEIGHT: 15lbs
RG: 2.53
DIFF: 0.030
COVER: VTC-P20
OUT OF BOX: 1500 Grit Polished

Pattern used for review is a modified HP.

PLAY
Initially my reasoning for getting this ball was I need something for drier lanes.  I already had experience with the Hustle series with the INK and PBR.  It was really a no brainer the series has been known for its control.

The core and cover create a very predictable move which is great on a medium to dry house shot.  I really think the latest two Hustles are the best Hustles yet.  The RAP on fresh house condition can be a little long and comes in a bit behind the headpin, but this is of no concern.  The purchase of this ball was to use on drier and broken down conditions where you need the ball to get down that extra couple feet.

LOW DOWN:  Like the Hustle PBR, the RAP is another ball that provides you more bang for your buck. #SquadRG
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: PJ Haggerty on October 14, 2020, 12:19:51 PM
Roto Grip Hustle RAP Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

The HP1 line from Roto Grip has been excellent and the Hustle RAP is another great addition.  Iíve had a lot of success with the Hustle series, especially when the lanes hook and thereís plenty of friction.  When  I know Iím going to bowl on an older surface or a lighter oil pattern, the Hustle RAP is always in my bag.  Historically, some of the weaker, smaller-cored balls didnít go through the pins very well, but our best minds at Roto Grip have changed that notion. 

With an RG of 2.53 and a differential at .030, the Hustle RAP is rolls great and is still strong enough to go through the pins really well.  Iíve seen high-rev players as well as lower-rev players have a lot of success with the Hustle RAP from all angles as well.  I believe the Hustle RAP compliments the UFO, Nuclear Cell, and Idol extremely well and can be used on multiple patterns.  Iíve drilled one Hustle RAP so far and love it.  I mapped it as 4 x 3 and I took a 4000 pad to the surface to smooth it up just a bit.  Iíve had the most success on older lane surfaces and patterns that have really light volume. 

If you need a cleaner ball that compliments your HP2-3-4 balls from Roto Grip,  the Hustle Rap should be the next ball you drill! 
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: hittnhard on October 18, 2020, 07:13:16 PM
Roto Grip Hustle RAP

Coverstock:VTC-P20ô Pearl

Weight Block: Hustleô Core

Factory Finish: 1500-grit Polished

Radius of Gyration: 2.53

Differential: 0.030

2 new Hustle's and this review will cover them....along with where they fit in with my other Hustle's.

The Hustle RAP is the most skid/flip of any other current Hustle, and once again has packed a lot of performance in a low price point ball. The price point would make a buyer assume it is only a light oil piece but if you are looking for that, look towards the Storm Tropical Surge.

The RAP gets length with ease and gives a nice, quick turn when it hits the friction. I drilled mine 65x4x35, my go to layout. Great ball for light oil house shots or any time you need help getting downlane.

My current Hustle-only arsenal looks like this:

PRB--midlane/strongest of the bunch/smooth

HSB---early/smooth

RAP---longest/most angle of the group
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: Bigmike on October 21, 2020, 07:19:05 PM
I drilled my HUSTLE RAP with my normal go to layout of 55 x 4.5 x 35. I hit the box surface with a 3000 abr pad.

The HUSTLE RAP is the typical Roto Grip "Big bang for less bucks" type release. The Hustle line is typically marketed as a low end piece for the slow ball speed or newer bowler. But there is a lot of value to an experienced player looking for something that still has some teeth to it but is a nice step down from the high and medium end balls.

I put my HUSTLE RAP up against my IQ TOUR NANO PEARL and IQ TOUR SOLID. The IQ's both revved up much earlier with the SOLID being very early and a whole zone or two left of the RAP, but the PEARL was not too much more down lane than the RAP. In fact with a little more surface on the IQ TOUR NANO PEARL to separate it from the PBR, having both is a good idea for arsenal building.

Put this one if your bag if you have some surface or pattern friction and your big guns are too much bowling ball for the house or lane pattern.
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: TonyMarino on October 23, 2020, 09:18:39 AM
Building on its success and amazing value, the Hustle line has another winner with the RAP! The Hustle RAP is easily the quickest response Hustle to date. The RAP for me gives me a lot of length and when it sees friction it will change direction pretty hard. Mine is drilled with a 4.5 pin to PAP and a 2Ē pin buffer.
If you need a skid snap shape for medium to light oil, the RAP is a must have!
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: ShimWreckerEnterprises on October 23, 2020, 11:21:28 AM
The new Hustle RAP looks to be a fantastic compliment to its PBR stablemate - it brings the same Hustle core and the VTC-P20 Pearl reactive cover (pearlized version of the PBR cover), and what you get in return is a ball with good length and responsiveness that will compliment balls like the PBR but also be an excellent step-down piece from stronger pieces like an Idol Pearl or even an AstroPhysiX. Roto Grip has a history of producing some fantastic lower-end pieces that punch well above their price point and this new piece continues that tradition. Don't miss it!
Title: Re: Hustle RAP
Post by: hammermike2000 on October 23, 2020, 05:47:58 PM
Layout: 55 x 4 Ĺ x 40

The Hustle RAP has an impressively strong backend reaction on medium-dry lane conditions. The aggressive skid-flip reaction is great when the lanes break down, and the stronger balls start to hook too early. In comparison to the Hustle PBR, the RAP is easily 3-4 feet further down the lane before it starts to make its move. The overall amount of hook is similar, though, due to how much ground the RAP makes up in the back part of the lane.  For me, the RAP (with the out of the box surface prep) is too clean in the front and mid part of the lane to use on fresh conditions.

Mike LeViner