BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 14, 2018, 11:05:10 AM

Title: Idol Pearl
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 14, 2018, 11:05:10 AM
The Roto Grip Idol Pearl uses the Ikon core that changed the perception of the HP3 line for Roto Grip. This core has a low RG symmetrical shape with high differential that generates flare as well as awesome motion down the lane and on through the pin deck. The Idol Pearl introduces the xTrax-P18 Pearl Reactive coverstock which was designed to compliment the original Idol bowling ball. This cover is finished with a 1500 grit pad and then polished. This ball can handle most any lane condition but is best used on medium to medium/heavy oil. *There will be some variance in color due to the Nano material. This is due to "phasing". Some of the balls with phasing have a white color in them and some may appear to have water spots.

Color: Royal / Amethyst
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Core: Ikon Symmetrical (14#-16#)
Coverstock: eTrax-P18
Finish: 1500-grit Polished
RG: 2.49 (for 15# ball)
Differential: 0.052 (for 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium to Medium/Heavy Oil
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: StormAndrew on November 15, 2018, 05:51:14 AM
This ball is absolutely phenomenal. My initial gut feeling prior to testing was I was going to like this ball a lot and it far exceeded my expectations. I tested the Idol Pearl shortly after the Winner Solid so they're was substantial transition on the lane. The Idol Pearl was extremely clean, got down the lane, reserved energy and was strong off the spot. I found this ball very controllable and forgiving. I missed left, right and hit it perfectly and was able to get to the pocket consistently.

I plan on incorporating this ball into my arsenal immediately and have it replace my Soniq (which I, also, love). I did find the Idol Pearl to be a stronger lower RG pearl than the Soniq. I, also, found it gave me a lot more room for error.
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: Bigmike on November 24, 2018, 05:30:41 PM
My specs are 16.5 mph ball speed with about 285-315 RPM rev rate. New axis pts are 4 1/2 > 1/2 ^. I need my tilt and rotation checked but it used to be around 15* tilt with 35* rotation. Tweener with softer speed is my style.

I drilled my IDOL PEARL up  75/4.5/25. This put the pin about 2" above my ring finger and just slightly right of it. I went ahead and left the surface box finish to see where it fit in my arsenal before I make adjustments with it.

I got a chance to put it in play on a house pattern at my drillers center with a couple of other balls that I had with me. The IDOL PEARL got online very easily without forcing it and had a strong arcing reaction. The fresh shine made it whippy off the spot when I forced it wide, but after a few more shots on the lane it blended out easier.

I put it up against my PHYSIX and my SONIC. The IDOL PEARL is about 4 and 2 stronger than my SONIC that I have taken down using 1500/3000 abralon. It was also about 5 and 2 weaker than my PHYSIX that has some lane shine on it but still moves pretty good off the spot on defined friction like this house pattern.

I can see the IDOL PEARL being a ball that with a slight removal of the factory shine should put it right in between the HYROAD X and original IDOL. The low RG will get it to rev up slightly earlier along with the Nano cover to help.
Title: Roto Grip Idol Pearl
Post by: StormRoto on November 25, 2018, 10:07:48 PM
The new ball in the Roto Grip HP3 line is the IDOL Pearl.  I absolutley love the original IDOL, so I was pretty excited to see the IDOL Pearl come out.  I drilled mine exactly like the original Idol, 5 x 4.25 x 4.75 pin down.  The best thing for me was that the Idol was a little early in fronts and strong midlane roll and just a arc motion downlane.  Which was a great motion, but later in blocks or 3rd game the Idol kinda started to labor and loss carry. The Idol Pearl is the perfect compliment as it has similar motion but much cleaner and stronger motion down lane.  At the Storm Matchmakers this season the Idol Pearl has been very popular with all styles of bowlers.  Also has great shelve appeal with the bright blue color.   

Brian Watson Pro shop staff
PAP- 3 5/8 up 1 1/4
Speed - 16-17
Tilt - 17
RPM -400
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on November 26, 2018, 12:51:49 PM
The Idol Pearl is Rotoís newest release in the HP3 line, featuring the same Ikon core as the Idol, BUT with the Pearl version of the Hyper Cell Fused coverstock.  Because of this, I find that the Idol Pearl actually shares more in common with the Fused than the Idol.  Like the Fused, itís very very clean through the fronts, and sharp and readable on the backend, but with a bit straighter motion rather than a continuous one.  With it lacking the asym torque, itís not quite as early or firm downlane, but itís a ball that you can control every part of the motion with, it responds incredibly well to speed, rev, and hand position changes and will do exactly what you want it to.  Personally, Iím very disappointed in the fact that itís not the pearl version of the Idol cover, I was excited for a truer compliment, but for me theyíre so different that I feel the Marvel Pearl is a closer reaction to the original than the Idol Pearl is. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xyRgMkceIg8
Title: Roto Grip Idol Pearl Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on November 28, 2018, 09:21:58 PM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  50, 6, 45

The Idol Pearl is the ball Iíve been waiting on since I first threw my Idol.  I LOVE the Idol, but itís too early, strong at times.  The Idol Pearl is the perfect solution to that.  Same Idol motion, but just a little cleaner with more backend.  Itís as simple as that. Itís a great strong symmetrical pearl.
Title: Idol Pearl
Post by: fazzone22 on December 01, 2018, 03:38:34 PM
The ultra popular Roto Grip was the strongest symmetrical ball that I have ever thrown, in fact I have 2 of them because they are so versatile. Everyone always asked when the pearl version was coming out, well wait no more. I drilled my 5 x 5 x 3,  This ball is much cleaner than the original Idol and so much stronger on the back end. The Idol Pearl is about 4-2 weaker than the Idol, it actually fits just after the Hyper Cell Fused making this a very helpful 3 ball arsenal!
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: hittnhard on December 06, 2018, 02:11:03 PM
Roto Grip IDOL Pearl

Core: Ikon

Cover: eTrax-P18

The Idol Pearl is the follow up to the Idol, which I think is the most versatile Roto Grip ball in the lineup.

I plan for this to be the strongest Symmetric Pearl in my arsenal.

Set it up at 70x4x35, assumed this would be long and angular with my style (400ish revs, 16mph ball speed).

First thing I noticed was how smooth the ball is. Still strong, but so smooth and easy to control.

Second thing, this ball carries really well for a symmetric ball. I tend to carry better with asymmetric stuff and this ball fights through the pins, a lot like my Physix (my favorite Storm/Roto Grip piece at the moment).

I am sure this ball will end up being a favorite of a lot of bowlers.
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: StoRoto2013 on December 13, 2018, 11:02:59 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: Medium

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

The Idol Pearl is the perfect complement to the Idol in RotoGripís HP3 line of bowling balls.  The Idol Pearl boasts the eTrax-P18 Pearl coverstock that generates tremendous backend force.  While the Ikon weight block with its Low RG (2.49) will keep the length under control.  The combination of the two is pure poetry in motionÖ  Dynamic mid lane control with devastating power through the pins on the backend!  The Idol Pearl fits in when the Idol is just too much too early.  From throwing both bowling balls and also the IQ Tour and Winner on a house pattern.  There was noticeable differences between all four bowling balls.  The IQ Tour was the most readable and controlled.  The Idol was stronger and more aggressive.  The Winner was the weakest bowling ball in the bunch.  No surprise so far.  The Idol Pearl actually give me the best look on the medium to dry house pattern.  I have a relative low rev rate (300), medium ball speed (15-16mph) and I like to get as close to the friction as possible.  So the Idol and IQ Tour was forcing me left because of the early roll and my angles got steep.  The overall motion of the IQ Tour and Idol were just too smooth from losing energy too early. The Winner had too much over under because of the RG value being higherÖ Skid snap reaction is not really good on fresh!  The Idol Pearl was the happy medium.  The Idol Pearl was not too erratic when I got it to the dry too early and was strong enough when I missed left into the juice.  I was pleasantly surprised by the overall performance of the Idol Pearl from start to finish.  The carry down and heads vanishing was not a problem for the Idol Pearl.  You cannot go wrong with HP3 line of bowling balls from the early rolling Idol to the backend monster of the Idol Pearl.  RotoGrip has you covered!


Likes: Versatile

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: Kevin Duncan on December 18, 2018, 04:40:06 PM
Roto Grip Idol Pearl
Layout: 4Ē X 2Ē X 4Ē Storm Pin Buffer layout
Rev Rate: 300 rpm, 7 degree of axis tilt, 40 degree of axis rotation
Testing information: 41 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine Ė Brunswick Anvilane

The Roto Grip Idol Pearl utilizes the Ikon Core and e-Trax P-18 pearl coverstock.  This ball sure does catch your eye with its blue pearl coverstock.  It will catch your eye based on the performance as well. 
With that said, the Roto Grip Idol Pearl was fantastic during testing.  The pearl coverstock lets the Idol Pearl get through the heads easily.  We did not notice any skate when we tugged it in the oil and plenty of recovery on misses right, which should make this ball usable on a lot of conditions.  For a pearl coverstock the Idol Pearl handled the oil very well.  I could see us speed challenged players having to put this ball up when the heads burn up.  I experienced this one night in league when I had to force the ball down the lane.  In reality, having too much motor is not a bad thing.
I would describe the Idol Pearl as a more controllable Storm SoniQ.  The Idol Pearl will fit between my Idol (2000-grit) and my polished Winner Solid.
This is a great addition to the HP3 line and will make a good ball for mid to late in a block.  The Idol Pearl  will continue where the Idol left off.
Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop!
#Stormnation
#SquadRG 
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: rodbowler75 on December 21, 2018, 06:59:16 PM
When i drilled the Idol it was a quick favorite in my bag. So when i heard about the Idol Pearl i was really excited to see what this ball would do. I went with a 4.5 x 35 layout and this ball doesn't disappoint you! I was missing a strong pearl in my bag in the mid range stuff since i stopped using my dare devil. The Idol pearl is a great replacement for that ball. For a pearl it's reads the mid lane very well and off the spot this ball pops hard. If you're looking for a pearl to add in your line up this is a great choice!

Title: Idol Pearl
Post by: KennonMcFalls300 on December 26, 2018, 11:07:28 AM
The Idol Pearl is a wonderful compliment to the Idol. I found that sometimes the Idol was too smooth a ball reaction. When the Idol begins to labor or become too smooth off the end of the pattern. The Idol Pearl will allow you to move your feet a few boards left and get more continuation through the pins. In the past, pearl balls that continue a series have been too sharp off the spot. Not this one. The Idol Pearl has more downlane motion than the Idol, but itís very forward off the spot. In my opinion, the Idol Pearl allows me to control the pocket better than other pearls because of its forwardness off the spot. This ball is a must have in the bag because itís a great benchmark pearl ball! 
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: RGisKing on December 27, 2018, 09:14:47 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Idol Pearl by Storm Staffer Matthew Kemper
Post by: bowlerman147 on December 27, 2018, 10:14:46 PM
The Roto Grip Idol Pearl is Roto Grips newest HP3 line release.  The Idol Pearl is covered with the eTrax-P18 pearl stock and is finished at 1500 Grit polish.  The Core is the Symmetrical Ikon Core which is also found in the original Idol.  I drilled my Idol pearl with the pin and CG stacked below my bridge.  This is the same layout I put on my No Rules Pearl.  My intention was to replace the No Rules Pearl but after throwing the Idol Pearl, the Idol is a few boards weaker.  The pin down reaction really smoothed out the back end reaction on the Idol Pearl.  The ball gives me a great look between first arrow and third arrow especially on fresher patterns.  Once the lanes start to break down and I have to move in Iíve found that I start to lose carry or the ball reads too early on the broken down heads and I have a hard time keeping the ball in the pocket.  The Idol Pearl is a great compliment to the original Idol.  As far as solid/pearl combos, the Idols might be my favorite one.
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: PJ Haggerty on January 05, 2019, 03:25:14 PM
Roto Grip Idol Pearl Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

The newest addition to the Roto Grip HP3 line is the Idol Pearl.  I am a big fan of the solid version of the Idol and the pearl is just as good.  I think the Idol Pearl compliments the solid version perfectly.  Also, this is the strongest pearl ball Iíve ever thrown.  This is a ball I will be able to throw on several different patterns and have a ton of confidence in as I pull it out of the bag.

Iíve drilled one so far and used one of my standard layouts.   Itís mapped out as 5 x 4.5 and I took the surface to 3000 by hand.  This puts the pin above my bridge and is a cleaner, more angular version of the original Idol.  Iíve been able to use the Idol Pearl on multiple patterns, but they must have volume.  Because the Idol Pearl is the strongest pearl Iíve thrown, itís been a perfect step down from the Idol, but still stronger than the Winner Solid and Match-Up line. 

The Idol Pearl also fits nicely underneath the asymmetric balls, especially if they run out of gas and you need a quicker response time.  If you need a ball that changes direction quicker than your bigger cored, asymmetrical balls, the Idol Pearl is a perfect fit.

Go drill one!  #SquadRG
Title: Idol Pearl Review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on January 07, 2019, 10:02:04 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:40

Volume:High

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS



COMMENTS

Cover:  eTrax-P18ô
Weightblock:   Ikonô Core (Symmetrical)
Finish: 1500 Polish
RG: 2.49
Differential: 0.052

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin over Bridge 60 X 5 3/8 X 40

Roto Grip is continuing to overpower the market by giving you stronger equipment than anyone else in the price point. The Idol was a wildly successful ball and a huge seller because of the HP4 performance you got at the HP3 price. The new Idol Pearl was inevitable and long awaited.

The Idol Pearl for me was much stronger in the mid-lane than I would expect from a Pearl. It is cleaner through the front than the original Idol but gives you motion pretty early for a pearl. As you would expect it is more continuous down-lane. Normally I don't see a very definable difference in hook between a pearl and a solid with the same core. They obviously have different motions but generally the hook is comparable, just a different shape. This is definitely an exception.

The Idol Pearl adds more down-lane motion that you lose in mid-lane read. As a result the cover creates an even more powerful hook and hit combination. I am a big fan of pearl balls that you can play in with on longer patterns and this one seems to be the prototypical motion for that. The biggest selling point for me is that when you find a pearl strong enough for that situation, it tends to slow the transition, allowing you to stay in one place longer.

I threw the Idol Pearl on a high volume house pattern that I bowl on weekly in league. As with alot of my previous reviewed balls, it creates a large out of bounds area to the right, and I usually have to throw surface on the fresh. I love the Idol Pearl because I can simply move left and play the hold, avoiding that are of the lane all together. My look tends to just get better as the players who have to play straighter up the lane break it down right of me.

I also had the opportunity to throw it in another house with a much more defined pattern. I was worried that the ball might over-react with more friction but it's mid-lane strength actually helped blend the pattern a bit more and I was able to stick with the ball all 3 games. Using one ball all night in that house is a rarity for me as I usually need to switch to cleaner more angular equipment when the fronts go away.

This ball is an affordable power-house which makes it an easy sale for those of us in the pro shop. I think this ball matches up with a wide variance of bowlers and it is also very responsive to different layouts. Use it on a house shot, or a pattern and you get great performance.

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on January 09, 2019, 12:20:03 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40ft and 42ft

Volume: medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS and Modified House Shot


COMMENTS

Likes: I'm a huge fan of this ball. I wasn't sure how much angle it would have down lane or how it would compare some of the other pearl symmetrical balls from Storm/Rot Grip so I went with alittle shorter pin distance on this one but with almost the same drill angles to just give myself a different shape down lane and this ball did not disappoint. I went with a 60*4*80 layout with no extra hole. The way this ball compliments the original Idol is amazing. When the lanes are alittle tighter I can start with the regular Idol and then when I have to chase the pattern left and I want something to corner better I can go to the Idol pearl with no worries of it recovering. I did see that for me it was alittle too clean on the fresh patterns that were longer than 40ft.
Compared to some of the other symmetrical pearl balls I have it is the cleanest and strongest ball for me, I threw it against the SoniQ and Marvel pearl remake.
I really really like this ball. It hits the pins very hard and its continuation is amazing. It doesn't mind oil either. On a few shots that I missed in the oil it still picked up enough to go through the pins the right way where as with the other pearl balls they still want to skid through the oil. I highly recommend this ball for all bowlers both for tournament play and just league play.

Nick Smith
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: cmattingly on January 21, 2019, 02:05:10 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 43'

Volume: 21 mL's

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Reads the mids very well with a strong but controllable motion off the spot

Dislikes: none yet!


First of all, I am not a fan of pearls or polish in general but for testing purposes I always throw the balls how they come out of the box. Typically they get hit with a 2000 or 3000 pad very quickly.  After about 10 games with it I have to say that I'm pleasantly surprised with the Idol Pearl.  This ball reads the middle part of the lane very well for a pearl and still retains energy to create a strong but controllable motion down lane.  Compared to my Son!Q, the Idol Pearl is much more continuous whereas my Son!Q was much more forward rolling off the spot.

I am coming off of an injury at the moment and I have only bowled on fresh lanes by myself to practice.  I am anxious to see how this ball deals with transition. 

My Layout for this ball is 60 x 5-1/2 x 35.  This puts the pin above my bridge and my CG about an inch off of the center line.

Favorite Balls at the moment:
Code X- 60 x 5 x 70 pin down with a low hole
HyRoadX- 60 x 5 x 70 pin down, no hole
PhysiX 60 x 5 x 35 Pin up, no hole
PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: ct9pinking on February 05, 2019, 01:47:07 PM
IDOL Pearl
 The E-Trax P18 Pearl Reactive Cover is combined with Ikon Core which is also in the original IDOL.  The IDOL Pearl in my opinion is perfect compliment to the original IDOL.  I really like the IDOL Solid so I was very excited when this ball was announced.  IDOL-Pearl is all I needed to hear and I was sold.  Especially considering the IDOL Solid is my favorite benchmark ball on house or sport shots.  A pearl ball that isnít sideways in the back part of the lane.  To me itís much more responsive in the mid-lane than most pearl bowling balls.  The IDOL Pearl is a great Symmetrical ball and a perfect addition to the HP3 line.  The IDOL Pearl is a must have!
Bowler Info: PAP 4 9/16 x 1 3/16 up; Ball Speed 18mph; Rev Rate 620 RPM
#stormnation
Keith DeMaine
Storm Amateur Staff
Connecticut State & County HOF
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com

Roto Grip Idol Pearl Ball Review by Keith DeMaine
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: Kcbrunner on February 14, 2019, 01:38:33 PM
I love this ball !!! It is my go to when the lanes get "messy".  It is clean through the heads and strong off the break point. Idol Pearl is a must have in any tournament players bag !!
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: smcintire78 on March 01, 2019, 12:44:02 PM
Layout: 60 x 4.5 x 30
My PAP: 5Ē straight over
Axis Tilt: Between 3 and 8 degrees
High Track Player

Intent for this ball/layout: Wanted this ball for the late game blocks once a pattern really started to breakdown to allow me to get left and open up the lane.

What I got: Another great ball from the storm/roto family. If you loved the original idol you will love this ball as well. It will be a great ball to transition to when the original idol is hooking to early and you need the same shape but more length.
ē   House Shot: This ball is perfect for the end of league night when the outside part of the lane is fried. The pearlized cover helps the ball float through the heads and come screaming back off the spot down lane. 
ē   PBA 42ft Mark Roth pattern: I was able to pull this ball out the last three games of qualifying (8 games) and it helped me control the large amounts of friction in the heads as well as the outside part of the lane. When everything else in my bag was hooking early and having no energy in the pins this ball was my saving grace.
Donít sleep on this ball. Get one today! #StormNation
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: TonyMarino on March 06, 2019, 09:41:18 AM
Roto Grip Idol Pearl

The Ikon Core that was in the original Idol changed the way everyone looks at the HP3 line. The low RG symmetrical shape with high differential not only provides plenty of flare throughout the lane, it also provides superb motion down lane and through the pins. The original Idol used a solid cover which was great for controlling and reading the front part of the lane, but the new Idol Pearl is using the eTrax-P18ô Pearl Reactive coverstock and this thing is STRONG. This is the strongest pearlized ball Roto Grip has ever created in the HP3 line. Between the core and cover, this ball is ideal for medium to medium/heavy conditions where there is a little friction.

What I notice the most about the Idol Pearl is just how strong of a shape it makes. The cover is a very ďgrippyĒ pearl, so it is not as clean as most pearls in either Roto or Storm lines, but man does this ball shape down lane. I am really impressed with the Idol Pearl so far and the cover seems to be fairly versatile for a pearl, because I like it even at 4,000 and 2,000 grit.

We cannot stop selling these balls at the pro shop and there seems to be a 300 shot with it every other night in my area. I highly recommend.
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: fjcallahan on March 06, 2019, 03:39:08 PM
Thank you for taking some time to read my review, here we go!

The Idol pearl has been out for about three months now and I apologize for writing a late review. It features the Ikon Symmetric weight block, the same as inside the OG Idol,  and the eTrax-P18 pearl cover which is found on the new Halo Pearl. I'll start by saying how much I enjoyed that cover, for me, a lot of RG releases tend to be a bit early and smooth. That most likely due to my style so, I was very pleased with the amount of down lane motion I got out of Idol Pearl. I typically use a five inch pin up layout to promote forward roll and energy retention on pearl symm bowling balls which has worked out very well as of late.
The Idol Pearl has been my ball of choice during league play when the track starts to burn up and I need to start moving my feet left. I really like the easy length and predictable shape I get out of this ball. I was a bit surprised at the control I had from a strong pearl ball. Typically a pearl creates too much angle and weird pin carry. The pairing of the core and cover was a great idea from the crew at RotoGrip. This ball has sold great in the shop and customers have been tossing some big sets with it. It seems to favor lower rev rate players, which is not a surprise to me being that the heavy handed bunch get over/under from most pearl balls. That's what I got, again thank you for reading. If you'd like to see the video, go to Callahan's Performance Bowling on YouTube.
Go to your local RotoGrip ProShop and check out the Idols.
I am Fred Callahan, we are Callahanís Performance Bowling and we will see you next time.
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: Gil B on March 06, 2019, 07:30:43 PM
The Idol Peal comes to us with the E-Trax P18 Coverstock with the amazing Ikon Core same as in the original idol . This ball is a beast . A pearl Symmetrical that is really clean through the fronts, and banks on the back end.  This ball retains a lot of energy for me and takes it on the pins. Being I high speed high rev player this ball really gives me a good look on a house shot. If you liked the original Daredevil youíre going to love this ball itís a Daredevil on steroids.
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: BSumner on March 09, 2019, 10:07:25 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40

Volume: 22-25mls

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

I’m a little late to the game on this one, but for a solid reason. I have a few friends who have been throwing this ball since its release and, like the original Idol, it seems to be a go-to ball in their bags.

I waited a while to drill this ball because I simply didn’t quite know where I wanted it to fit in my bag. Another symmetrical pearl didn’t quite have a home. Since I do 60-70% of my bowling on house patterns, I decided what I really missed was the ball to transition from the burned up track to the ball I usually end the night with. That late game 1 or early game 2 window where I’m not ready to wheel the lane, but I’m tired of weak corners or stubborn 4’s that won’t trip.

I put my favorite 4.5x4x2 layout on the Idol Pearl and what I found was the freedom to play the middle of the lane and open the angles without the crazy sharp, unpredictable snap… or lack thereof. It’s a bigger symmetrical core, so it’s not going to give up on you.

In my opinion, the Idol and Idol pearl together can get you from frame 1 to frame 30 on most house shots.

Brian Sumner
Storm Amateur Staff

Video Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=itvbpk7j7-w

Title: Idol Pearl
Post by: yellowdog07 on March 12, 2019, 04:16:07 PM
Weight:  14 lbs.
Pin Length:  4 Ē
Drilling:  35 x 3 1/2 x 20
Pattern Length:  40 ft.
Pattern Volume:  Medium
Pattern Type:  THS
Right Handed

The Idol Pearl has the symmetrical Ikon core weight block in the popular HP3 line, wrapped in the eTrax P 18 pearl cover stock..  The box finish is 1500 grit, polished, but as always, can be changed to suit a variety of lane conditions.  It is an attractive Royal Blue color.

I have used the Idol Pearl on a 40 ft. kegel house pattern, and several  modified house patterns in area tournaments.

I tried the Idol Pearl at the box finish and havenít done any surface changes as of yet. Iíve found it to have a perfect mid range spot in my arsenal.   I find it to be a good starting ball on our fresh house pattern before the carry down begins. I can go from the Idol Pearl, right to the Idol once the pattern starts to carry down.  The Idol Solid will give me a little earlier start up once the Idol Pearl starts going too long and leaving corners. Being a lower rev player with 14 mph ball speed,  I need the stronger motion on the back end to help with carry.  I get this motion with the Idol Pearl.  I can also go to it once the pattern starts to break down, as I then get the length i need to hold the pocket.
 
The Idol Pearl is part of my every day arsenal right now.  For a mid range ball, the Idol Pearl will give you a lot of bang for your buck.  Donít leave home without it!


Carol Teel
Roto Grip Amateur Staff Member
 :)
Title: Idol Pearl review - Mark Tarkington
Post by: GutterLine on March 15, 2019, 07:33:19 AM
Right Handed
Ball weight:  16
Rev Rate:  400
Ball Speed:  17
Axis Tilt:  7
Axis Rotation:  45*
PAP:  3 3/4 horizontal, 7/8 up
Layout:  4Ē pin to pap, 2 Ĺ from VAL, buried thumb hole

I normally tend to roll big asymmetricals much more than symmetricals.  Big asyms just tend to roll better for me.  That said, with all of the love the Idol Pearl has been getting, I had to punch it up and see where it ranks in my bag.

Well, I can say that after 6 games, this ball has moved into my main bag.  Iíve only used it on the THS in two different houses, but it was pretty amazing for those games.  Itís really clean through the fronts with a defined breakpoint.  I think it could be super sharp, depending on the pattern, but with the THS, thereís plenty of friction to the right, but it never really tried to jump early, unless I really rolled it badly.

Of my league equipment, this one makes the cut.  Itís a bit stronger than the HyRoadX (with the same layout), a bit weaker than the Physix, but a lateral move from the Code Black.  The shape is very similar to the Code Black, but itís a bit quicker off the spot.

I see the Idol Pearl getting a lot of play in the up-coming tournament season, and I look forward to rolling it quite a bit.
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: hammermike2000 on March 19, 2019, 01:25:39 PM
Roto Grip Idol Pearl

Layout: 60 x 4 1/2 x 40

Surface: 4000

The Idol Pearl brings a unique ball roll to the Roto Grip lineup - a pearl symmetric that is rolly, yet can still get around the corner when you need to move further left.  As is the case for all shiny ball out of the box, I cracked the surface slightly with a 4000 pad, to smooth out the reaction just a bit. What I got was a ball that can be played straighter on fresh, as long as it isn't heavy oil.  The rolly nature of the core helps to control the skid flip nature of the cover, and a nice mixture of the 2 is what contributes to the versatile nature of this ball.  It is best at home on medium oil, but can cover medium-heavy down to medium-dry.

In comparison to the Halo Pearl, which has the same coverstock, the Idol Pearl is cleaner through the front and is a couple boards less hook overall.  Starting with the Halo Pearl and then transitioning to the Idol Pearl has been a good move for me when the Halo Pearl starts to hook a bit too early due to the strength of the core.

Mike LeViner
BowlersMart
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: tommygn on March 22, 2019, 12:48:49 PM
The Idol Pearl is the pearl release in the HP3 line of bowling balls from Roto Grip. The Idol pearl has excellent shelf appeal with the royal/amethyst color combination of the eTrax/18 pearl cover. The pearl uses the same Ikon core as the solid Idol, which has an Rg of 2.49, and a differential of 0.052, in 15lbs.

I drilled the Idol pearl with a 4.5Ē pin, and 2.5Ē pin buffer. This layout is only slightly different from the 4.25 x 2.5 Son!Q I will use for comparison. Out of the box, the cover on the Idol had a little more bite to the front of the lane, than I wouldíve expected for a 1500 polished pearl. This cover is strong. Keeping my ball speed a little more firm helped the early traction. Once the Idol got to the break point, it made a very strong move and change of direction. Once I got a few games on the ball, that early read seemed to somewhat disappear. In total, out of the box, the Idol pearl was a similar shape, with more board coverage, than the Son!Q; Son!Qís ďbig brotherĒ so to speak. Giving away the pocket wasnít an issue to have recovery without any quit in reaction. Using the Idol pearl on medium volume house conditions was almost too angular, and too much ball, pushing me deeper than I really wanted to play. I tried adjusting the cover with a 2000 abralon pad, and this seemed to not change the shape all that much, but give me more traction on higher volumes of oil.

I like the Idol Pearl. I will admit that for me personally, I will sooner reach for the SonIQ because it has the same shape, but covers fewer boards, and I see more often medium volume patterns, than the heavier volumes that I would want, to keep the Idol Pearl in my comfort zone. I can use the Idol pearl when I need that shape on higher volumes or  real slick oils; or on a lane surface that has less built in traction like pro-anvilane. The Idol pearl isnít a control ball in my opinion, but neither was the Idol. My ball roll gives me bigger backend reaction with these balls, compared to what I see from other bowlers using this core shape. Thank you for taking the time to read my review of the Idol Pearl. Own It!
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: dcutler on March 23, 2019, 08:15:25 PM
My name is Doug Cutler and the ball review I am doing is the Idol Pearl.  My first Idol pearl drilling is 45 x 4 1/2 x 70 and the surface is a used 3000 pad.  This ball is one of my favorite balls in my bag and is one of my benchmark balls.  This ball is really clean thru the mid lane and man it has some back end.  This ball is great on any THS and any Medium to Oily Lanes.  I have really used this ball when my Idol starts to read to early in the mid and start to leave some weak 7 pins.  I have shot 2-300 games with this ball already.  This ball has really sold well at work and also the PBA tour guys really like this ball also and have seen it on the shows a lot this year.  My Idol and Idol  Pearl are a great 1-2 and will bring both of these balls for Nationals.  My Idol and Idol Pearl are drilled the same.  This is a ball you will definitely will need in your bag if it is not already. I love this ball and will get another one pretty soon. #squadRG #ownit #idolpearl

Doug Cutler
Storm/Roto Grip Staffer
PBA Regional Champion
Title: Re: Idol Pearl
Post by: tommyzero on March 23, 2019, 11:33:55 PM