BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on July 10, 2019, 10:54:52 AM

Title: Idol Pro
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on July 10, 2019, 10:54:52 AM
The Roto Grip Idol Pro uses the Ikon core that changed the perception of the HP3 line for Roto Grip. This core has a low RG symmetrical shape with high differential that generates flare as well as awesome motion down the lane and on through the pin deck. The Idol Pro introduces the eTrax-S19 Solid Reactive coverstock which was designed to offer more traction on oil without reacting too early. This cover is finished with a 3000 grit Sheen. The solid coverstock with a sheen finish allows this ball to get through the front of the lane with a controlled reaction at the breakpoint on medium to medium/heavy oil conditions.

Color: Ocean Blue
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Core: Ikon Symmetrical (14#-16#)
Coverstock: eTrax-S19 Solid Reactive
Finish: 3000-grit Sheen
RG: 2.49 (for 15# ball)
Differential: 0.052 (for 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium to Medium/Heavy Oil
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: StormAndrew on July 26, 2019, 04:46:11 PM
Ok #SquadRG we have some new releases coming out 8.9.19. Roto Grip and Drill It Up Studios proudly brings to you the Halo Vision, Idol Pro and MVP.

Make sure you visit Justin Kampf at Epic Edge Bowling Supplies - Levittown to pre-order your's today.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f139bgrv7YY&feature=youtu.be

#OwnIt #HaloVision #IdolPro #MVP #TeamEpicEdge #DrillItUp

Ball Reviews:

Lately, I have been experimenting with different layouts to see different ball shapes; especially later in blocks. I have been going with weaker pin positions on the last couple releases with shorter val angles. I am looking to find some different options when the lanes begin to transition where I do not lose shape down lane. I did this with my Pro-Motions and with the new Halo Vision and MVP. I kept a layout I typically like on the Idol-Pro because I thought it would work real well with it. My thought was to jump from the Idol Pro on the fresh to the weaker drilled Halo Vision then ultimately to the MVP.

Idol Pro:

The Idol Pro is definitely in-between the original Idol and Idol Pearl. I got more length than the Idol but more control at the breakpoint then the Idol Pearl. This is in part to the sheen finish of the Idol Pro (sheen-3000 grit). The layout was on the stronger side for me so I saw a lot of overall hook with this ball where I could easily cross a lot of boards and the ball would still get back to the pocket. This will be a great ball on a multitude of patterns, house and sport. It, also, reacts well to surface changes if you need to see it pick up sooner or later.

Halo Vision:

We placed a longer pin and shorter val on this to have the ball get down lane with angle. I wanted to see it be clean yet controllable at the breakpoint but not lose any energy. The goal here was when the Ido Pro was too early I could get into the Halo Vision jump a little more inside and see the ball properly shape again. I believe we can see that from the video. I was able to get into my comfort zone with the slower ball speed by jumping in more than I was with the Idol Pro and still maintained good shape through the pocket.

MVP:

This ball is perfect for when the lanes are completely depleted up front. The MVP is high RG yet as a hybrid provides control at the breakpoint. This ball will allow you to ball down even more from your HP4 and HP3 line balls to something even cleaner without sacrificing energy out of the bowling ball. After the Idol Pro and Halo Vision I was able to move back right with the MVP and saw very good ball reaction. A ball like this should always be in your bag as in today's environments sometimes weaker is better.

Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on August 05, 2019, 09:40:56 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 41ft

Volume: medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS and Modified House Shot


COMMENTS

Likes: The Idol Pro is the 3rd entry in the Idol series in the HP3 line by Roto Grip. If you are/were a fan of the original Idol then you will love the Idol Pro!!! Everything is the same on the Pro as the original except the cover has been modified just a tad. eTrax core on the Pro compared to the MicroTrax on the regular. Also the cover on the Pro was polished then knocked back alittle at 3000 to give it that sheen look, providing just alittle more clearance and more change of direction down lane.

Layout - 70*4*25 with box finish

I went with something alittle different on this one as I wanted to see alittle more movement downlane so I went with the smaller back angle. What I got is a solid cover ball that reads the end of the pattern like nothing I have ever thrown before. This ball gets to through the front part of the lane very easy and makes a great shape through the middle of the lane. This is one the few stronger solids that I can actually throw in league that doesn't force me to play big angles on the lane. Compared to my regular Idol its cleaner and more continuous. My regular idol was just too early and strong for me on most conditions, especially typical house shots, unless I saw a lot of oil up front. I was forced to be a lot deeper from the start with the Idol and I'm not much of a fan of doing that right off the bat. The way the Idol pro just pushed through the heads allows me to play straighter angles which is very beneficial to my game. Overall its not quite as strong for me as the original Idol but still stronger than some of my other solids.
I also compared it to my Pro Motion(see Pro Motion ball review) and my phase2. The Idol Pro is cleaner than both and overall in between them as far as overall strength. I threw the Idol Pro to start a session and immediately saw the difference in shapes it made compared to the other 2. The Pro Motion is earlier and a few boards stronger for me and the phase2 also being earlier and just a few less overall. I like the Idol Pro a lot and it definitely gives me that smooth solid ball motion but with some length on my regular league shot. This is one of the few strong solid balls I can actually start with in league and use all night. It does pick up game shine one the cover pretty quick, Ive already had to hit it with a pad lightly to get the cover back to factory finish so keep an eye on that if you start to see it go even further down the lane.

Nick Smith
Bowling Connection Pro Shop
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Idol Pro
Post by: KennonMcFalls300 on August 08, 2019, 08:11:40 PM
The Idol line has been one of my all time favorites. The Pink Idol provided consistent, early, heavy rolling ball motion that I love to see on the harder oilier lane conditions. The Idol Pearl was also a favorite of mine because its one of the smoother pearl balls Storm/Roto has released. It was a nice transition between the two balls that allowed for maximum scoring when the conditions allowed. Upon the release of the Idol Pro, I was a bit hesitant because we already have a solid Idol and the recent release of the Pro-Motion. I honestly thought it would just be a ball that would fade into the background. Boy do I stand corrected. IF you can imagine the strength of an Idol(Pink) with the angularity of an Idol Pearl— then BAM you have the Idol Pro. This ball has every bit of the strength of the original idol with the pop off the end that the Idol Pearl provides. In my opinion this ball will work well for the rev challenged players as well as the players with higher ball speeds. In sum, this ball is a combination of the Idol (PINK) and the Idol Pearl. Its a few boards weaker than the Pro-Motion. I think this ball will be a great choice on the harder conditions especailly when the Idol is too early but its not time for the Idol Pearl. The Idol Pro is also an excellent choice on the overwalled house conditions because it will blend the wet dry nicely.
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: cmattingly on August 08, 2019, 09:34:17 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:43'

Volume: 22mLs

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Perfect fit between the Idol and Idol Pearl

Dislikes: NONE!

HOMERUN! The Idol PRO is the Perfect fit between the Original Idol and the Idol Peal.  The Idol was/is very good when the lanes are fresh but when you were chasing the transition left, you definitely got to a part of the lane where the Idol would just stop creating enough angle.  Where as the Idol Pearl was never strong enough for me to use on the fresh.  Once I migrated enough left or there was enough traffic that the shot burned up a little, The Idol Pearl was amazing.  This ball won me a boat load of money. 
The Idol Pro is going to be a benchmark ball that you will be able to use all night long.  The Pro Fills the perfect gap left by its predecessors.  The Idol Pro is ball that could be right up there with the !Q Tour Solid...yes i just said that.  The Idol reads the middle part of the lane better than the !Q while still being able to generate plenty of angle down lane.  This ball will be in my bag for a LONG time!  My Layout for this ball is 60x5x35, my typical pin up layout.

Here is my comparison video of the whole Idol Series!:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B0pf-S90oH8

Balls getting a lot of time on the lanes for me right now:
Idol- 60x5x70 pin down with a p3 hole
Halo Vision- 60x5x35 pin up
Halo Pearl- 60x5-1/2x35
Physix- 60x5x35


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B0pf-S90oH8
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: Kevin Duncan on August 11, 2019, 08:26:51 PM
Roto Grip Idol Pro
Layout: 4” Pin down layout
Rev Rate: 325 rpm, 7 degree of axis tilt, 40 degree of axis rotation
Testing information: 41 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine – Brunswick Anvilane

The Roto Grip Idol Pro utilizes the Ikon Core and e-Trax S-19 solid coverstock.  This ball sure does catch your eye with its Miami Dolphins color scheme of Ocean Blue coverstock and orange script.  It will catch your eye based on the performance as well.  The Roto Grip Idol Pro is a benchmark type ball.  Some refer to it as a IQ Tour on steroids. 
This is a great addition to the HP3 line. 
Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop!
#Stormnation
#SquadRG 
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: rodbowler75 on August 13, 2019, 10:06:46 PM
Getting a chance to drill the third addition to the idol has been a ball that's made an impact in my bag. The idol pro fits great between both the original idol and the idol pearl. More pop down lane than the original. This ball is extremely versatile and with my layout used of 5 x 3 x 20 this ball is a different shape than most of the stuff I've drilled recently. A great choice if you're looking to add a higher end ball to your bag!
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: hittnhard on August 14, 2019, 10:49:22 PM
Roto Grip Idol Pro

Coverstock: eTrax-S19™

Weight Block: Ikon™ Core

Factory Finish: 3000-grit Sheen

Radius of Gyration: 2.49

Differential: 0.052

The newest addition to the HP3 line, the Idol Pro. Long and strong, the Idol Pro takes the best parts of the Idol (strength) and Idol Pearl (length) and gives you a new monster. The Pro was getting me a couple feet longer downlane (compared to the Idol) before making the move but when it did, it was mean. Just as strong as the Idol but the cover/finish combo of the Pro gives a more defined, quick response.

When I first read of this release, I was nervous that it would give me an overlap. Currently using the Super Son!Q a lot and recently adding the Pro-Motion, I didn't know where this might fit. Luckily for me, this gives me more length and angle that either.

For those that like the Idol and/or Idol Pearl, this ball will make a great addition.

For those looking for a little more length/angle thank the Pro-Motion, this ball will be a great addition.

Basically, if you are looking for an all around impressive symmetric solid, this will be a great addition.

Once again, Roto Grip continues to impress with the current lines.
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: PJ Haggerty on August 16, 2019, 09:40:12 AM
Roto Grip Idol Pro Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

The Roto Grip Idol Pro is a new favorite in my arsenal.  After having lots of success with the Idol on multiple patterns and surfaces, I was excited to see the Idol Pro become available to us.  It’s a perfect compliment to the original Idol using the same core, but with a different cover (e-Trax-S19).  I see the Idol Pro being a perfect step underneath the original Idol because it’s cleaner and more responsive down lane, but still with a solid coverstock so it’s not too quick downlane. 

I’ve drilled one Idol Pro so far and love it.  It’s mapped out as 4.5 x 4.5 with no weight hole.  This puts the pin above my ring finger.  I threw the Idol Pro right out of the box and let the lane shine change the surface for me, so it currently looks like a sheen type finish.  I’ve been able to use it the most on medium to longer patterns and especially when my original Idol becomes to strong or runs out of gas.  The Idol Pro provides us with a very clean but smooth and predictable motion that can be used for all types of players. 

If you need a great benchmark ball that is very versatile and compliments the rest of the Roto Grip line very nicely, the Idol Pro should be a perfect addition to your bag.

#SquadRG


Title: Idol Pro
Post by: sportshot on August 20, 2019, 07:19:49 PM
Ball Specs:
Roto Grip Idol Pro
Cover stock eTrax-S19  Solid Reactive
Weight Block Ikon Core (Symmetrical)
Color Ocean Blue
Finish 3000-grit Sheen
Layout 55 x 3 x 35

Bowler Specs:
Right Hand. PAP 5” Over 1/2 up
Rev Rate 300. Tilt 20. Rotation 50.
Speed at release 17

Review:
The new Roto Grip Idol Pro is a very unique and surprisingly angular addition to the Idol line. I have drilled a lot of Idol solids and Idol Pearls with great success so I was confident in this ball being good. What I didn’t expect was the awesome move at the breakpoint. This Idol is very different than the solid in the fact it goes longer and makes a stronger move at the break point. The Idol Pro reads the lane sooner than the pearl but in my testing has a better back end move. I am not a high rev player but because of how the Idol Pro reads the mid lane and finishes I was able to move inside on different conditions and still maintain excellent carry. It’s nice when a guy like me can get a few messengers!
I was also able to roll this ball on a typical house shot and the Pro came back to the pocket easily from outside of board 5. I have only drilled a few of these so far for my customers but they all feel they are getting more performance than what they paid for.  It is hard to pigeon hole this ball because of the unique motion but I put it between my Halo Vision and Idol pearl in hook. I look forward to rolling this ball a lot especially when I need a bit more pop in the back end of the lane.

Summary:
The Idol Pro has a very good and unique motion.
The solid cover is deceiving for a ball with such a nice backend.
The hit is very good due to the entry angle.
The Idol Pro is a lot of ball for the money.

Glenn Wendel
PBA Member
Storm Pro Shop Staff

gwendel@comcast.net
www.stormbowling.com
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: EVollmar on August 21, 2019, 09:45:12 PM
Length:42
Volume: High
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS
Rev Rate: 450
Ball Speed: 17 mph
PAP: 5 1/16 x 3/4 up


Introducing the Idol Pro, the newest release in the HP3 line. The Ikon Core returns once again wrapped with the eTrax-S19. While this is anther solid cover release in this line, it is a wildly different piece then the Idol Solid. The layout I went with this one was 5 x 5 x 2, which put the pin above both fingers and put the cg under my ring finger. I was blown away with how clean and how strong downlane the Idol Pro was. It fits perfectly in between the Idol Solid and Pearl. It's not as early as the Idol Solid but can handle more oil then the Pearl. This is gonna be a great benchmark ball for anyone looking for one and I know for sure it's gonna be my go to at the start of the night.

Earon Vollmar

Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Title: Roto Grip Idol Pro Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on August 22, 2019, 10:05:32 AM
The Idol Pro was a bit of a surprise for me, I’d expected a hybrid Idol since we already had a solid Idol, but the Idol Pro is a much different ball from the original Idol.  It features a stronger solid version of the Idol Pearl cover, which is far removed from the characteristics of the Idol.  The Idol Pro is longer and firmer at the breakpoint, though a little weaker than the original Idol, but with the very characteristic motion of the Ikon core.  This results in a ball that’s more usable, has greater versatility, and perhaps the most user friendly ball I’ve ever thrown, meaning that regardless of how you throw the ball, it’s hard for me to think of a style this ball wouldn’t look good for.  In other words, it’s such a universally versatile ball that if it doesn’t look good for you, you’re likely doing something wrong.  It’s an easy top 3 Roto Grip ball all time, and the easiest way to describe it is that it’s the next evolution of the IQ Tour: more versatile, more user friendly, more usable, more scorable. 

Video Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ADyiAV2YYEE
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: TonyMarino on August 22, 2019, 11:36:55 AM
Idol Pro
The Roto Grip Idol Pro utilizes the Ikon Core and e-Trax S-19 solid coverstock. The Pro goes longer down the lane than the Idol, and has a much more defined shape as well. Just as strong as the Idol but the cover/finish combo of the Pro gives the shape a quicker response. This is a perfect benchmark ball to keep in your bag.
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on August 22, 2019, 07:54:39 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41

Volume:Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS



COMMENTS

Core: Ikon Symmetrical
Cover: eTrax-S19 Solid
Finish: 3000
RG: 2.49
Diff: 0.052

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin In Ring 55 X 4 1/2 X 50

The Idol series has turned alot of heads and in a very rare move, Roto Grip has decided to release a second solid version of the Idol. The Idol Pro may be solid but it's motion is completely different than the original Idol. The Pro is a cleaner option with more shape down-lane. By removing the nano particle from the original Microtrax cover and using a 3000 sheen finish (Polished and then lightly sanded with a 3000 pad) the Pro is much more responsive.

The Ikon core still gives you motion in the mid-lane. The low RG High diff symmetric core is powerful and for those of us who are a bit speed challenged this made getting the original Idol through the fronts difficult on higher friction surfaces and lower volume oil patterns. I feel like the the Pro still needs some volume as it seems to be much more responsive to the friction. I prefer its reaction when there is a bit more head oil because it reacted so quickly to friction for me that playing too near the track early made the ball feel a little jumpy. It's funny but after all of this time waiting for a cleaner Idol, the first thing I wanted to do was scuff the cover a bit to smooth out the reaction. Once I was in the oil a bit more I saw what I feel is the best look. For lower ball speeds I believe the Idol pro is going to look best when you are covering boards. I wouldn't necessarily call the ball quick but when you have a very defined dry area to throw at it definitely creates angle.

Like the other releases in the Idol line I think this ball can compete with any symmetric ball on the market in terms of hook. It may be HP3  but on any but the slickest conditions these ball out-hook a lot of "High Performance" pieces that are available. This increases the value even more because this ball will consistantly out-perform it's price point to it's an easy sale for bowlers who want one ball to do it all.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: Gil B on August 26, 2019, 01:45:35 PM
Love it .. Love it .. Love it..  Idol pro is a must have .. If you like the idol line this will not disappoint.. The original idol was very smooth for me. Sometimes just wished it would be a little stronger off the point .. Well here it is .. The Idol Pro is what I was needing. This ball is very strong of the break and does not slow down. I have used it on everything from house to sport it gives me the  look I love ..Def  a great pick up for the start of league
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: RoundHolesNoGripsProshop on August 27, 2019, 11:35:16 AM
Round Holes No Grips Proshop – Ball Review

Ball:  Rotogrip Idol Pro
Layout 1:  1.5”pin to pap, 1” pin buffer
Surface:  Box Finish
Layout 2:  4.5 pin to pap, 1”pin buffer

Lane Condition:  THS medium volume
Tester:  Andrew
Average:  230
Video Links: 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G0udhcgk5sE&t=18s
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=82i7Z4u7PIk

Wow!  The new IDOL PRO is very clean for a solid coverstock.  I wasn’t sure what reaction to expect going from the original Idol and Idol Pearl.  The Idol Pro provides clean length and strong down lane motion.  I drilled two of these to test:

Idol Pro 1:  I drilled this one for a very specific lane condition.  I wanted a ball for higher volume, but short sport patterns.  With a short pin, the ball gets into a roll very quickly and controls the response to friction very well.  I will cut the ball to 500/2000 to smooth it out even more.  But, in my testing, I found the ball to be very smooth, controllable and exactly the motion I’ve been missing for those conditions.

Idol Pro 2:  This one is my boomer.  It forces me pretty deep on our fresh house shot…..deeper than I would prefer to start.  It wouldn’t be my first ball out of the ball but I did bowl a tournament recently where the carrydown made carry difficult for my MVP.  I went straight to this Idol Pro and got back to striking.  I have it 2 and 1 stronger than my MVP. 

Overall, this is a great addition to the lineup.  It complements the Idol and Idol Pro very well.  You could build a nice house shot arsenal with the Idol series!

Youtube/Facebook:  Round Holes No Grips Proshop

Andrew Groves
Rotogrip Advisory Staff


Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: Pbapolizzi on August 29, 2019, 02:41:16 PM
Idol Pro
Layout 65x5x75
This ball is exactly what i wanted in my bag. When the original idol is to early, the idol pro is you ball.
Cleaner then the idol and phaze2. Stronger than an iq tour. Perfect benchmark ball, I use it to compliment my pro motion.
When asymetrical balls are flaring to much and not hooking down lane this is the ball to go to before the pearl balls.
Just a great all around ball.

Chris Polizzi
Bowlersmart Operator, Regional Champion.
Title: Roto Grip Idol Pro Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on August 29, 2019, 02:50:33 PM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Dual Angle:  5 ¼, 4, 4 5/8

The Idol Pro fits right between the Idol and Idol Pearl.  It’s earlier than the Idol Pearl but more backend than the Idol.  It’s a nice clean solid with some backend.  Great benchmark ball.  I could see using this right out of the gate and even later in a block.  It has a perfect combination of smooth vs strength.  The Idol Pro is a great addition the Idol family!
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: Tknoop1127 on August 31, 2019, 02:26:11 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Variety


PAP: 5 over and 1/4 up

Drilling: Pin above finger bridge (Tester Layout)

This ball fits in between the Idol and the Idol Pearl. If you want a little more length than the original Idol, this is your ball. If you want a little more ball (earlier) than the Idol Pearl, then this is your ball.

This would be a good benchmark ball. I think the Idol is a little more than a benchmark, but the Idol Pro is the perfect benchmark. You can use this ball on fresh or even when transition comes your way.


COMMENTS



PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Idol Pro Review
Post by: NateGarcia on September 13, 2019, 07:12:39 PM
If you love the Idol series so far, you’re going to love the new Idol Pro. The Idol Pro is designed to fit the gap between the original Idol and the Idol Pearl. The Idol Pro is a solid like the original Idol but cleaner through the front part of the lane and more angular down lane.

This ball fits in perfectly with the first transition league bowlers experience. You may start your league night with your typical benchmark ball such as an Idol. Once you get to a certain point of the night, you’ll start noticing your Idol not reacting as much and leaving those corner pins. The Idol Pro is the next step down and will continue to shape down lane.

This ball handles surface very well and can be use on a variety of different patterns when you need something that gives you a little more shape than your typical bench mark ball but still gives you predictability.

Nate Garcia
PBA Regional Champion
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: Haley3 on September 23, 2019, 07:30:50 PM
This Roto Grip Idol Pro is by far the best ball I have ever thrown and that is not a lie !!! Hands down the reaction I get the way it goes through the pins is insane. I have been using this ball on my house shot to start the season and the scores I have been putting up shows how good it really is. I found that for being a solid i get good push through the front part of the lane , but packs a big punch on the back end.  Going to my original idol I had to move three and two right as the OG Idol would not make the corner like the Idol Pro. Idol will be a great ball down for me.
I have been recommending this ball to everyone !! You won’t be disappointed. 
Title: Idol Pro
Post by: fazzone22 on October 08, 2019, 09:30:49 PM
Roto Grip’s HP3 line has been one of the most popular lines in bowling in recent years and this release doesn’t disappoint either. I drilled my Idol Pro just like my original Idol and Idol Pearl, 5 x 5 x 3.  After throwing the Idol Pro from some time I quickly realized why I love throwing these balls so much. Compared to the original Idol the pro gives you the same overall ball shape and motion just a touch weaker because of the cover difference. The Idol Pro is much stronger compared to my Idol Pearl. If anyone liked either of these two bowling balls your not going to want to miss out on this ball !
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: Bigmike on October 27, 2019, 08:45:42 PM
PBA50 member - 14* axis tilt, 35* rotation - 16.5 mph - 315 rev rate.
I drilled my Idol Pro 4 3/4" x 35*. I have been putting 2000 or 3000 depending on what pattern I am using this on. I get a smooth benchmark type reaction out of the Idol Pro. It has been a great ball down option for me when my Halo is getting sluggish at the spot down lane. The Pro pushes thru the front retaining energy well. i drilled a second one with a 4" x 25*. The second one might be too strong of a lay out. I may have to scratch that one with more surface and use on longer patterns.
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: RavensTransAm on November 13, 2019, 11:17:52 AM
A new HP3 version of the Idol is here. The original Idol has been a sport shot killer and the Idol Pearl is a house shot killer. However, there was a large gap between the two Idols so Roto-Grip has come up with the Idol-Pro to kind of fill that gap between the two. This ball has the eTrax-S19 cover with the Ikon core with a 2.49 RG with a Diff of .052. For this ball I used my favorite layout which is Pin In The Ring which is 52x4-3/16x59 layout.
This ball is great as a house shot killer. It is smooth enough to blend the pattern out when they start to break down and become over/under. However, it is also great for a first ball out of the bag. The original Idol needed heavy oil to keep from burning up where as the the Idol pearl is better when the lanes are starting to break down.
For me this ball is just a great ball overall, it has the strength to be the first ball out of the bag and also when the lanes start to break down and become over/under is still smooth enough to blend the pattern. Again, being a lefty it does not apply to me that often but it does happen on occasion.
Stephen Foley, Roto-Grip/Storm Pro Shop Staff
Title: Roto Grip Idol Pro
Post by: RyanPatterson30 on November 22, 2019, 10:03:44 PM
Idol Pro
- RG 2.49
- DIFF 0.052
- 55 x 4 1/2 x 70
- Idol Pro is a homerun from Roto Grip once again. I love the original Idol and the Idol Pearl has been very successful as well as the perfect compliment. I believe the Idol Pro might be the best of the 3. Idol Pro still features the Ikon core with the eTrax-S19 Solid cover. This ball is all you could want compared to the previous two releases. The Idol Pro still loves to hook in oil but the downlane motion does not quick. This ball compliments my Orginal Idol as its very early and smooth while my Idol Pro is a little cleaner through the fronts but hooks more downlane than the orginal Idol.
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: rotogrip_rick on November 26, 2019, 05:30:54 PM
ROTO GRIP Idol Pro
Cover: eTrax-19 Solid
Core: IKON
Factory finish: 3000 sheen
Flare: 5" plus
Test condition: Mo Pinel designed house pattern - HPL panels - Flex Machine
By taking the highly proven "ROCK STAR" core the IKON and wrapping it with the eTRAX-19 cover with the first ever Sheen finish on a Roto Grip ball, gave a motion and carry off no other ball I have seen in a good bit from Roto Grip. low RG and High Diff on the IKON core allowed me to play in a "safer" part of the oil pattern and not have to worry about early hook like from the Idol or Evolve with out of the box finish. Very hard hitting in and around the pins, less deflection and would probably roll through the back part of the lane for another 10 feet if it wasn't for the lane curtain in the back. Best ball I have used since my accident in 2018 for league and a few tournaments I have bowled in recently. My "go to" ball all the time now.
Title: Roto Grip Idol Pro
Post by: StormRoto on November 27, 2019, 02:30:37 PM
Roto Grip Idol Pro review by Brian Watson

The RG Idol Pro is the new ball in the Idol HP 3 line.  I absolutely loved the original Idol and liked the Idol Pearl also.  The Idol Pro uses the new eTrax-S19 solid coverstock that doesn’t have the nano found in the MicroTrax-S18 cover used on the IDOL.
So it still a solid but with a different cover.  The Idol pro is cleaner through the fronts than Idol as there is no nano in the new cover.  But still being a solid it still is a strong arc motion downlane.  I drilled mine pin down with a 5 inch pin and added Storm step 2 to the cover. Wow I am able to open up the lane a little when I need to move left.
For even a solid I was still able to curve the lane when needed without losing carry.
Very good addition to the IDOL line.  The PBA guys absolutely love this ball and its great ball motion.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=13ugivuRu4CyyNQgqWHifA3JRMOda2hkr

Brian Watson
PAP- 5 up 1 1/8
Speed 16
Tilt - 16
RPM - 400
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: ShimWreckerEnterprises on November 29, 2019, 04:34:32 PM
BALL / BOWLER SPECS

Layout: 50x4.5.40

Surface: factory

PAP: 4.25R, 1U

Rev Rate: 500rpm

Speed: 20mph off hand

COMMENTS

Roto Grip's new Idol Pro is a bit of a departure - two solids at the same time in the HP3 line? Not to worry though... even though this shares the same line name, it feels somewhat different than the Pearl and very different from the OG. It takes the familar Ikon (2.49 / 0.052) symmetrical core from the rest of the line and pairs it with a new cover (eTrax-S19) and a new-to-Roto surface prep (1500+polish+3000, aka "3000 sheen"). This gives a surprising amount of length for a sanded solid and a big boom downlane that feels both very controlled and very powerful - if you look up "turbocharged Hustle Ink" in the dictionary you'll find this ball in the list of definitions, and that's a very very good thing. The range of situations where this ball could be used were astounding. Anything from playing straighter on fresh house shot to lofting 6th arrow on burnt sport patterns and the Idol Pro got the job done with no muss, no fuss, and plenty of carnage at the pin deck. It also paired very very well with my Storm Phaze 2, with the P2 being a bit more rolly and the Idol Pro creating a bit more downlane response and directional change. The Idol Pro is a hugely fun ball to throw and just flat-out gets the job done.
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: Joel.Johnson86 on December 03, 2019, 05:10:59 PM
Ball Specs:
Roto Grip Idol Pro
3000 eTrax-S19™ Solid Reactive
Weight Block Ikon™ Core (Symmetrical)
Color Ocean Blue

Review:
Settle the confusion early. This is not the same as the original Idol nor should it be considered a “step child”. RG took the original Idol core and tweaked the solid cover with a 3000 sheen to give this is completely different look and down lane motion. Basically what they created was a smarter and safer play down lane with the same monster amount of continuation through the pins as the original Idol. If you miss a little inside this ball will have more hold than the Idol. This ball has some characteristics of the original Hyroad with the versatility factor. Early or late in a set, the Idol Pro is predictable and seems like the “pro” move to make if you currently do not have it in your bag.

Kyle & Joel Johnson
Roto Grip Pro Shop Staffers
joel@parklanes.net
kyle@parklanes.net
www.RotoGrip.com
#SquadRG
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: iman_300 on December 05, 2019, 07:56:40 PM
The Idol Pro is a great complement to the Idol and Idol Pearl.

I love my original Idol on heavier oil and longer patterns. I have found that the Idol Pro is a great transition from the Idol when the original Idol starts to burn up and you need to open up your angles. The Idol Pro gets down the lane cleaner and definitely has more angle down lane.

If you are a fan of either the Original Idol, Idol Pearl or both then you definitely need to add the Idol Pro to your bag.
Title: Re: Idol Pro
Post by: tommygn on December 06, 2019, 10:06:32 AM
The Idol Pro is the third version of the Idol series in the HP3 line of balls from Roto Grip. The Pro features a solid reactive coverstock called eTrax-S19. This cover does not have the additives that creates early traction like is found on the original Idol. This translates into a cleaner reaction through the front of the lane, with more downlane motion. The factory finish of 3000 grit-sheen, helps the Pro slow down faster than the Idol Pearl. The Pro has the same popular Ikon core as the previous Idols. The one color, solid Ocean blue is a “throwback” to a much simpler time of bowling ball colors. The Idol Pro fits right in between the original Idol, and the pearl version.
I drilled two Idol Pros with different layouts. The first layout is a 4 ¼ x2 ¾, while the second is a 3x2 (pin distance/ pin buffer from VAL). Comparing the two Pro’s in the box finish of 3000 sheen, the 4” pin Idol is more stable through the front part of the lane, while the 3” Pro glides easier through the oil in the front of the lane and has a later, smoother change of direction. The 4” Pro covers more boards than does the 3”. The 3” Idol is better when moving further to the outside of the lane, and the backends are fresh and clean. The 4” Idol Pro is more useful on longer patterns with lazier backends. I’ve adjusted the surfaces of both balls to better compliment the reaction shapes that I have experienced. I used Storm Step #1 on the 3” Idol, and have used a 2000 pad on the 4” ball. This separates their reaction even more, and allows me to use them in their strengths of reaction. The change of surface makes the 4” ball compliment my 4x3 Idol, perfectly. When the Idol gets a little too early, or I start moving a little too deep, the Pro opens the lane up, and gives me the reaction I need to come around the corner, without being overly violent. The polished 3” Pro is great for keeping my angles in front of me and blends over reaction of shorter patterns with clean backends. The Idol Pro, for me, is a big brother to the IQ Tour solid. They share similarities of being easy to read and versatile.
I like the Idol Pro. It’s a good ball that fits in the middle of my arsenal. I tend to like bowling balls that have predictability and versatility, and the Idol Pro gives me just that. Thank you for taking the time to read my Idol Pro ball review. Now, OWN It!!