BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 04, 2021, 03:23:17 PM

Title: Idol Synergy
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 04, 2021, 03:23:17 PM
The Roto Grip Idol Synergy takes the best of the original Idol and the Idol Pearl and combines them into a highly anticipated upper mid-performance bowling ball. The R&D team at Roto Grip worked hard to formulate the purest and most responsive version of the eTrax hybrid coverstock so far. Combined with the popular Ikon symmetrical core this ball is one to check out.

Color: Amethyst Pearl/Magenta Solid
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Core: Ikon Symmetrical (14#-16#)
Coverstock: eTrax Hybrid Reactive
Finish: 1500-grit Polished
RG: 2.49 (for 15# ball)
Differential: 0.052 (for 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium Oil
Hook Potential: Medium to High
Length: Middle
Title: Re: Idol Synergy
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on February 05, 2021, 05:22:41 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41
Volume:Medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS

COMMENTS

Core: Ikon
Cover: eTrax Hybrid
Finish: 1500 Polish
RG: 2.49 )
Diff: 0.052

ME:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin over ring 5 inch pin to pap 1 1/4 Pin Buffer

The Roto Grip Idol line has been the dominant force of their HP3 line. These balls remain a favorite among touring  players for a reason. The smooth mid-lane read and predictable backend motion makes them match up to many conditions. For me even the Idol Pearl was mid-laney and smooth. This matched them up better for sport conditions for me.

As much as I've loved the predictable motion, I personally wished for a cleaner/quicker version of these balls that I could rely on for covering boards on house shots where I see less oil up front and a more cliffed condition overall. The New Idol Synergy is just what I'd hoped for. The synergy keeps the great shape with a faster response to friction. When the lanes burn up it keeps coming around and more importantly for me, I can still get it down-lane.

It may seem surprising that this version of the idol seems to be the cleanest considering its hybrid cover. I've found a few ball in the past which were similar, most notable the Storm IQ Fusion. The fusion for me was miles cleaner and quicker than the IQ pearl and unsurprisingly ended up being my favorite release in that line. The synergy is the answer for rev dominant and speed challenged players who want the what idol pearl gives the guys who throw it harder.
PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Idol Synergy
Post by: Mr Straight Ball on February 11, 2021, 03:51:39 PM
LAYOUT: 5 x 3 x 3
PIN: 3.5
TOP: 3.4

The Idol Synergy started off in my hand with a question mark hanging over it. When I first threw it, I was feeling like a max score of 230íish was the case. Then I got to about game 15 on it and the striking light went on! I have confidence in this ball to deliver on multiple patterns now, and it tells me quickly if it is the time to use it.

The Idol line features a benchmark type motion and the Idol Synergy is no different. When I back to some of the alter egos, the original Idol has a slower down lane shape. The Idol Pearl for a pearl was not a shoot through the fronts and snap sharply down the lane. The Idol Synergy for a hybrid appears cleaner than the pearl version but it does not go psycho down the lane just because of the smidge of extra scoot. The Synergy and Pro versions of the Idol have been my favorite two to date.

To my high rev crew, spank it at the bottom and have a little casual fun watching the shape of goodness! I have had nights where I look at 12, but by nightís end, my eyes are looking 25 at the arrows. With friends between the rev rate numbers of 250-400, they have had success with the Idol Synergy. This ball blends patterns and mows pins!!!

For more info, visit -- https://www.stormbowling.com/idol-synergy

(https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10158606374014818&set=pb.656399817.-2207520000..&type=3)
Title: Re: Idol Synergy
Post by: Bigmike on February 16, 2021, 04:43:54 PM
I drilled up my IDOL SYNERGY with a short pin layout of 35 x 4 x 55. This put the pin in the ring finger. This is one of my favorite control type drillings. I touched the surface up with a 3000 pad to get the gloss off.

My IDOL SYNERGY is very controllable with this layout. Maybe a little too controllable as I have other pieces like the MVP ATTITUDE, WILD STREAK, and IDOL PRO that are good for keeping my target in front of me. I really think that I should have went with a pin higher drilling like maybe 4.5 inch to pap with a 25-30 val angle to give it more down lane move.

I see some use for this layout but have not seen a flat enough pattern in awhile to use it on. I will definitely be drilling a second with a stronger pin position and pin buffer to take advantage of the good push and back end other people throwing this are telling me about.

Follow Up: I drilled a second one with a 70 x 4.5 x 25 layout. Compared to the pin in finger layout, this one is a lot more ball and stronger motion on the backend. Drill one favorite pin position and add a much higher pin buffer for a perfect compliment layout for anyone wanting a second one in the bag.
Title: Re: Idol Synergy
Post by: Kevin Duncan on February 27, 2021, 07:41:29 AM
Roto Grip Idol SynergyLayout: 4 X 3.5 X 3.5 Storm Vector LayoutRev Rate: 325 rpm, 7 degree of axis tilt, 40 degree of axis rotationTesting Information: 41-foot THS (medium volume)Kegel Machine Ė Brunswick AnvilaneThe Roto Grip Idol Synergy uses the eTrax Hybrid cover in conjunction with the proven Ikon core.  I think this ball is a hidden gem that got forgotten about with all the new releases.  The Synergy has made several appearances on the PBA shows lately so there is something special about this ball.During our testing, the Synergy was a touch stronger than our Idol Pearl and touch weaker than the Idol. This is exactly what we thought.  All three had different motion characteristics. The Synergy also handles surface adjustments easily if needed.  We had a night in league where the laneswere very slick.  My teammate put some surface on his Synergy during practice and got lined up and put up some big numbers.  I wouldnít be scared to drill one if you need to replace either of the original Idols or want a ball shape between the two originals.Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop to order yours.Continue to bowl up a Storm!#Stormnation  #OwnIt
Title: Re: Idol Synergy
Post by: NateGarcia on February 28, 2021, 07:28:31 PM
The $250,000 ball! In my opinion, one of the most underrated balls in the line currently, and thatís the Idol Synergy. The Idol Synergy has the same core found in the entire Idol line, wrapped in the eTrax Hybrid coverstock. Kyle Troup showed the world how good that ball is! Very clean and controllable, but has no problem handling oil and giving the players a good amount of backend. For me, the best time to use the Idol Synergy is when my Trend becomes too early and not enough downlane. I feel like these balls compliment each other well when youíre looking for a cleaner option that allows you to keep your angles closed and still having plenty of continuation through the pins.
Thereís 250,000 reasons to get this ball; why donít you have one yet! Go get yours at your local Storm VIP Proshop!
Title: Re: Idol Synergy
Post by: ShimWreckerEnterprises on March 01, 2021, 11:19:17 AM
Roto Grip's Idol Synergy is exactly what it sounds like - a synergy of the Idol and the Idol Pearl, but with some fresh applications involved! The eTrax cover returns, this time in a blue-and-magenta hybrid formula and with a polished surface, alongside the usual Ikon core (low RG, high differential, symmetrical, rolly) from the rest of the Idol series. Rather than purely splitting the difference between the Idol and Idol Pearl, this one feels closer to an Idol Pearl in length but with a smoother AND more continuous/arc type response to friction. This leads to the Synergy actually looking very very good in situations where there's more friction on the lane, as Kyle Troup recently showed by using this ball to win the 2021 PBA Players Championship! The range of use is pretty impressive, and if you want a do-it-all ball for decent length and control this should definitely be on your list.
Title: Idol Synergy
Post by: Awiegand3 on March 02, 2021, 01:13:40 PM
The all new Idol synergey gives you the best of both worlds between the original idol and idol pearl. The synergy is a combination of the two! This is by far my favorite idol of the 4 they made. This hybrid is good on fresh, also good to move left on the burn. This HP3 ball is a must in the bag! Don't miss out on this gem.

Anthony Wiegand. Pro shop staff
Title: Re: Idol Synergy
Post by: PJ Haggerty on March 03, 2021, 01:11:16 PM
Roto Grip Idol Synergy Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

One of the newest additions to the Roto Grip HP3 line is the Idol Synergy and wow, itís impressive.  Iíve had a lot of success with the original Idol and Idol Pearl, and the Idol Synergy provides us a different shape that can be used on multiple lane conditions.  Between the first two Idols that were created, the Synergy is the cleanest and provides the quickest response time. 

Iíve drilled one Idol Synergy so far and really like it.  I drilled it with the pin in my middle finger and a good size shift of the CG.  This maps out as 5 ľ x 3 ĺ.  I also cracked the surface with a 3000 pad to smooth it up and take the factory shine off the cover.  Iíve had the most success with the Synergy on medium-longer patterns with a decent amount of volume, especially when those types of patterns break down and blend out.  The Synergy still digs in the mid-lane very nicely but provides a response time thatís quick and controllable.

If you need a ball to compliment your Proton Physix, UFO, or Axiom, the Idol Synergy is a great choice for your bag!  Go drill one!
Title: Re: Idol Synergy
Post by: Tknoop1127 on March 09, 2021, 10:56:14 AM
The Idol Synergy is in the HP3 Line for Roto Grip. This ball has the eTrax Hybrid Reactive Coverstock that is wrapped around the Ikon Core seen in all the other Idols.

My Synergy is drilled with the pin above my bridge - which is about 3 inches from my PAP. This ball fits right in between the OG Idol and the Idol Pearl for myself.

I also think the Synergy is similar to the Idol Pro, but the Pro has more of a solid cover, as the Synergy has the pearl cover. The Idol Synergy is a great bowling ball to have in your back when you need that hybrid coverstock - when your solids are too much, but the pearls just aren't early enough either.
Title: Re: Idol Synergy
Post by: hammermike2000 on March 12, 2021, 02:17:35 PM
Layout: 50 x 4 11/16Ē x 30

The Idol Synergy has become my go-to ball since it came out; in fact, I have used it almost exclusively since the day I drilled it. It has a strong backend reaction, but it isn't quite as skid-flip as I had expected it to be. It gets through the heads super easily, and has just enough of that Idol-like midlane traction that allows it to be able to handle a decent bit of oil. If I had to put a title on it, the Synergy feels like a benchmark ball that has an extra bit of backend hook added. It is a perfect combination of strength and reliability for medium-heavy to medium-dry oil lane conditions. It pairs well with the Rubicon, which covers heavier oil patterns than the Synergy is designed for.

Mike LeViner
Title: Roto Grip Idol Synergy
Post by: StormRoto on March 15, 2021, 11:45:58 AM
The new Idol in the Roto Grip HP3 line is the IDOL Synergy.  The original Idol is still one of my favorites.  So I was looking forward to this release.  I threw it during one of our Storm Matchmakers and thought wow this ball has a ton of backend.  Thus I decided to drill mine pin down drilling ( 4 3/4 x 4 1/2 x 4) to help blend out the roll with higher axis tilt. The Synergy with Etrax Hybrid cover is the cleanest of the Idols and the highest response off of the friction. But still has that good strong Idol mid lane roll that were used to.  I think the higher speed players might have to cut the cover a little or use it more when the lanes break down a little.  The Synergy has been a great league ball for me so far.  I also have been able to use it on the medium to some short sport patterns.  Very good addition to help out the HP3 line!

Brian Watson
Storm Pro Shop Staff

PAP 4  up 1 1/8
MPH 16-17
RPM - 400
Tilt - 17
Title: Re: Idol Synergy
Post by: Haley3 on March 15, 2021, 06:38:21 PM
I wasnít to excited for the idol synergy to be honest. I felt I had a few balls that could do the same thing but as always I try all the new releases to give feed back.
With this one it really took me by surprise as soon as I threw it I knew my first thoughts about it weíre going to be very wrong. I could not believe the energy this thing stored in the back end. It quickly became the first ball out of my bag for league and could sometimes throw it all night.
Think this will be a great asset to all types of bowlers bag and not just cater to one type of style .
This core really revs up midlane helping you play many different entry angles which I love in symmetric balls.
Title: Re: Idol Synergy
Post by: william.tefft on March 18, 2021, 01:11:36 PM
Ball Specs:
Roto Grip Idol Synergy
Cover: 1500 eTraxô Hybrid Reactive
Weight Block: Ikonô Core (Symmetrical)
Color: Amethyst Pearl/Magenta Solid

Roto Grip added another great ball to one of the best lines they have produced. The Idol Synergy fits perfectly in the line, sliding in right between the Idol and the Idol Peral. The Idol line has always been a line that will catch your eye with both the performance on the lane and the color choices. The Idol Synergy fits the mold perfectly, combining the color schemes of both of the pervious Idols to create a really eye popping look. The synergy also takes the best of both the Idol and Idol Peral in terms of performance, giving you a nice smooth overall reaction. If youíre using the Idol and the lanes start to dry up but arenít ready to go to the Idol Pearl the Idol Synergy is the perfect go to. I see the Idol Synergy being in my bag for a long time.

Will Tefft
Roto Grip Staff Member
will@parklanes.net
www.rotogrip.com
#SquadRG

Title: Re: Idol Synergy
Post by: Dani1405 on March 25, 2021, 02:53:54 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 41


Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: With the Synergy being the first ball out of the IDOL line-up, I had high hopes. For me, this ball is a great addition to my bag as it's definitely a little sharper off the spot than by Phaze 3 or HyRoad Pearl. It is not as rounded in motion as the Phaze 3 but definitely reads the midlane quicker than the HyRoad Pearl.

Going to the IDOL Synergy, it allows me to move left and swing it a little more and create that sharper angle towards the pocket.

I used it with box finish and sanded down to 3000 grit and both work very well, this is a very versatile piece!

#SquadRG

Dislikes: NONE!
Title: Re: Idol Synergy
Post by: tommygn on March 26, 2021, 10:45:20 AM
The Idol Synergy is the 4th release from Roto Grip that uses the Ikon core. This version has a coverstock called eTrax Hybrid reactive and is finished to a 1500 grit polish. The amethyst pearl and Magenta solid color combination seems to really blend the original Idol and Idol pearl colors together. The Synergy has a 2.49 rg and a differential of 0.052 in 15lbs.

I drilled the Idol Synergy with a 4.5Ē pin and a 4Ē pin buffer. Comparing the Synergy to an Idol pearl with the same layout, the Synergy reads the lane a few feet earlier and covers more boards with just as strong of a backend reaction. The Synergy is cleaner through the fronts than the original Idol, with a stronger backend move. If there was ever truly a ball that fit right in the middle of itís solid and pearl counterparts, this is it.

The one thing to take note of with the Synergy is it can be a bit sensitive to oil either being removed from the surface between shots or left on the ball. If I use my shammy with every shot, the Synergy has a strong late midlane move and plenty of hook and roll through the backend. If I donít wipe the oil off the ball, after a few shots, the Synergy is not as strong when encountering the backends, and rolls more controllable. This can be a good thing as you go through a longer tournament block, you can manage your surface and actually stay with the ball longer without needing to switch as soon, just by managing the oil on the cover. During the start of the block when the lanes are fresh, keep the oil wiped off. As the lanes start hooking more and it gets later in the block, leave the oil on the ball to help control the motion.

I like the Idol Synergy. The combination of late midlane read, and backend reaction gives me a unique reaction shape that the other Idols didnít have. Stop by your local VIP pro shop and drill an Idol Synergy. Own it!!
Title: Re: Idol Synergy
Post by: Sappman069 on March 26, 2021, 11:55:42 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:42ft

Volume: 24 units

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):
THS

COMMENTS

Likes:Compliments the original Idol

Dislikes: Really shiny from the factory


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS


Idol Synergy by Roto Grip. Drilled the Synergy 4x4x2 since my original Idol was drilled that way thinking this would be a natural step down. The first few shots the ball blew right through the break point that the Idol had been coming off of so I moved a little right to square my angle up. My next shot the ball jumped through the head pin. Before I threw another shot I decided that the factory finish might be a little too shiny so I hit the cover with 2000 grit abralon. The next shot I moved left a couple boards with my feet and the Synergy was much smoother but finished with plenty of energy on the back end. I found that my Synergy is cleaner through the fronts, about 2-3 boards straighter, and a great compliment to my Idol. Both balls are tournament balls that I can use either on flatter patterns or house patterns as a 1,2 punch. It's hard to find a better 3 ball combo (Idol, Idol Synergy, Idol Pearl)in the mid price range.