BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on July 30, 2019, 09:38:20 AM

Title: MVP
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on July 30, 2019, 09:38:20 AM
The Roto Grip MVP bowling ball is an MVP among mid performance balls. This ball introduces the Neutron NXT core and the VTC-H19 Hybrid coverstock. The core in this ball was derived from the successful Neutron core but with a higher RG that provides ample reaction at the breakpoint. The coverstock formula allows more response to friction at the back of the lane than previous mid performance hybrid coverstocks from Roto Grip. This ball is a go to ball when the lanes transition and a stronger ball starts to break too early. This ball will also be great when up against lane conditions with more friction.

Color: Orange Pearl/Blue Solid
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Coverstock: VTC-H19 Hybrid Reactive
Core: Neutron NXT
Finish: 1500-grit Polished
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium Oil
RG: 2.55**
Differential: 0.040**
** RG and Diff are based off of 15 lb. balls
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on August 05, 2019, 08:17:42 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41ft

Volume: medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): modified House shot


COMMENTS

Likes: I was looking for a ball that would give a specific look off the end of the pattern after it starts to transition. I wanted a smoother controlled motion but still with good drive through the pins. I decided to drill the MVP and go pin down. I liked how aggressive the MVP is for an HP2 ball but pin up would have made it too aggressive downlane for what I was looking for.
After throwing it I saw that I got exactly what I wanted from it. very good length with the factory polish but now I have that controlled smooth motion off the end of the pattern. I did touch the cover with a little bit worm 1000 pad by hand very lightly to knock just alittle of the gloss off the cover. I am very pleased with what I saw from the ball. I can see someone who is looking for a great performance ball at a not so expensive cost going with this ball, being as it is very aggressive for an HP2 line ball.

Nick Smith
Bowling Connection Pro Shop
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Roto Grip MVP review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on August 06, 2019, 11:59:29 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41

Volume:Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Cover: VTC-H19
Weightblock: Neutron NXT
Finish: 1500 Polish
RG: 2.55
Differential: 0.040

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin below bridge 70 X 4 7/8 X 70

Roto Grip has put a true HP2 ball back in the line with the new MVP. The Winner Series were some of the greatest value pieces on the market as you got an HP3 or higher amount of hook at a great price. However for those of us who rely on some of the lower diff pieces in the line to combat friction, the MVP is here to save the day!

The Neutron NXT core is a tweaked version of the staple Neutron that provides a higher RG to create better length and down-lane motion. Teamed up with the VTC-H19 Hybrid Reactive cover you get great length and even predictable roll with plenty of finish. I've found this ball to be incredibly versatile as I can throw it in pretty much any area of the lane and see great predictable motion.

This is a ball that provides a great low-range option for speed dominant bowlers who want to play closer to the friction. The ball doesn't over-react and is great for those players to use straighter angles to blend out the pattern. For bowlers like myself who are on the lower end of speed, this ball is a house-shot killer. It's especially useful in high friction houses and you can stay with it all night without losing reaction.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: MVP
Post by: KennonMcFalls300 on August 08, 2019, 08:17:51 PM
If the wrecker was a favorite of yours, this ball is the Wrecker 2.0. The MVP is a continuation of the HP2 line which has one of my all time favorites, the Winner Solid. I’ve seen other ball reviews on this that characterize this ball as “slow and unresponsive” or “rolls and is heavy in the midlane”. For me, as a spinner, that could not be further from the truth. In my experience with this ball, it is super sharp downlane just as the wrecker was. The MVP literally couldn’t be thrown out of the window. At my bowling center, the gutters are on fire and there is some oil in the middle part of the lane. I had to loop the entire lane to get this ball to layoff, again, Wrecker on steroids. I encourage everyone who considers this ball to watch multiple reviews. If you’re a spinner, expect super snappy and if you’re a heavy handed roller, expect slow and rolly. None the less I think this ball most definitely has a place in the bag. I can see myself using this ball at the end of the blocks where a spot has developed downlane enough to where I can just throw it there. I will have no doubt the MVP will get back. 
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: Kevin Duncan on August 11, 2019, 09:03:43 PM
Roto Grip MVP
Layout: Northstar layout
Rev Rate: 325 rpm, 7 degree of axis tilt, 40 degree of axis rotation
Testing information: 41 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine – Brunswick Anvilane

The Roto Grip MVP utilizes the Neutron NXT Core and VTC-H19 hybrid coverstock.  The Wrecker is back! This is exciting news for us who loved the Wrecker and a second chance for who didn't get that opportunity.  The MVP is a little stronger than the Wrecker but very similar in the type of roll and number of boards covered.  In addition, you get a lot of hook for the price.
This is a great addition to the HP2 line. 
Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop!
#Stormnation
#SquadRG 
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: rodbowler75 on August 13, 2019, 10:19:02 PM
I had a chance to drill up the New Roto Grip MVP this ball doesn't disappoint. If you liked the wrecker you're really gonna like the MVP. For the price you can't beat the performance. Roto Grip really out did themselves on this one. #StormNation #ViseInserts
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: hittnhard on August 15, 2019, 01:32:30 PM
Roto Grip MVP

Coverstock:VTC-H19™ Hybrid Reactive

Weight Block:Neutron NXT™ Core

Factory Finish:1500-grit Polished

Radius of Gyration: 2.55

Differential:0.040

When talking about the MVP, everyone always compares it to the Wrecker. Since I have never thrown the Wrecker, you will get a different comparison from me.

I was a big fan of the utility of the Winner and Winner solid. Both were great house shot and lighter oil pieces. The MVP fits nicely between the two.

More length than the Winner solid without creating too much angle.

Another comparable ball to the MVP is Storm Match Up BRB. My MVP is a touch earlier, smoother, and stronger than the Match Up BRB.

With the Hustle 3TP, MVP, Idol Pro, and Halo Vision I have a very nice Roto Grip arsenal that can handle any condition.
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: hammermike2000 on August 20, 2019, 01:48:36 PM
Layout: 55 X 4 1/2 x 45

The MVP might very well be the most "bang for your buck" on the entire market. The amount of backend arc that this ball has is very impressive; I would not call the reaction skid/flip, but instead, a very strong backend arc. There is enough midlane traction to make the MVP usable on fresh medium conditions, especially for those with slower ball speeds. On medium-dry conditions, and when the lane opens up a bit, is when this ball really shines for those with medium-higher ball speeds or lower rev rates. It will be fantastic for "circling" the lane, due to the amount of energy that it saves for the back portion of the lane. It is easily 4-5 boards stronger than a Hustle Au.

Mike LeViner
BowlersMart
Title: Roto Grip MVP Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on August 22, 2019, 10:07:03 AM
The MVP is the latest monster in the HP2 line for Roto, which has become the biggest rule breaking line in bowling.  Everything hooks too much for way too cheap, and while hook doesn’t automatically equal performance or value, Chris Schlemer also doubles down on that to make HP2 releases the very definition of bang for your buck.  While the All Out Show off and Winners had a mixed reception, the MVP represents a return to form for the HP2 line, which is namely embarrassing the competition for the price.  While I expected a hybrid Idol instead of a solid in the Idol Pro, I think we actually got a hybrid Idol, it’s just called the MVP and is in the HP2 line.  It’s one of the strongest shiny balls I’ve ever thrown period, and if you’re a once a week league bowler that only buys one ball a year, this is it, you’ll be stunned at what it does for the price.  It has the early, chuggy, rolly feel of balls like the Frantic and Punch Out, with the clean and strong roll of balls like the Wrecker. 

Video Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zb9JdNBS1LQ
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: TonyMarino on August 22, 2019, 11:16:56 AM
MVP
As someone who loved the Wrecker I was very excited to see the release of the MVP. The Roto Grip MVP utilizes the Neutron NXT Core and VTC-H19 hybrid coverstock. More length without creating too much angle. You will get a lot of ball for the money here and I definitely see a lot of the Wrecker shape in the MVP. Medium response but great length.
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: PJ Haggerty on August 25, 2019, 01:47:22 PM
Roto Grip MVP Ball Review by PJ Haggerty


I remember having a lot of success with the Roto Grip Wrecker several years ago, and the new MVP reminds me a lot of that.  The MVP is the newest addition to the HP2 line and fits nicely underneath the Halo series but still stronger than the Hustle series that’s offered.  The 2.55 RG and differential of .040 shows me the straighter players will love the MVP because of it’s quick response time and the players with higher rev rates will use the MVP when the front of the lane is dry and they need a ball to get through the front, store energy, and blast through the pins.

I’ve drilled one MVP so far and love it.  My favorite layout is approximately 5 x 4 which puts the pin above my bridge.  I also took the surface to 3000 by hand just to smooth off the response time down lane.  I have had the most success with the MVP on medium to longer patterns but after the pattern breaks down and the front of the lane has been chewed up.  The MVP is a clean, forward motion that is very controllable.   

All in all, I see the MVP as a perfect middle ground between my strongest asymmetrical balls like the Halo Vision and still stronger than my Hustle Ink.  If you feel like you’re missing that gap, the MVP is a perfect ball to drill!
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: EVollmar on August 25, 2019, 04:19:06 PM
Length:42
Volume: High
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS
Rev Rate: 450
Ball Speed: 17 mph
PAP: 5 1/16 x 3/4 up


Introducing the MVP, the newest release in the HP2 line. The MVP has the Neutron NXT core inside it wrapped with VTC-H19 cover. What's most exciting is that this core is a modified version of the core that was originally in the Wrecker, which was one of my favorite pieces. The layout I used for this one was 5 x 5 x 2 1/2, which puts the pin above both fingers. Immediately the MVP reminded me of my Wrecker from back in the day, just stronger. It clears the fronts so well and just unleashes a super strong move on the back-end. It is a great compliment to my Idol Pro and pearl. Once the lanes start to go and you need that extra length, the MVP is the ball to go to.

Earon Vollmar
Roto Grip Amateur Staffer
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: Gil B on August 26, 2019, 02:15:30 PM
MVP is for real . This a Wrecker on steroids. Extremely strong on the back end.. Ball really gets throw the heads and makes a left on the backend. Great ball for fresh backends. If you enjoy opening up the lane and watching the ball go this is the one you want. This ball is the real  MVP.
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: RoundHolesNoGripsProshop on August 27, 2019, 11:35:55 AM
Round Holes No Grips Proshop – Ball Review

Ball:  Rotogrip MVP
Layout 1:  4.5”pin, 2”pin buffer
Surface:  Box Finish
Lane Condition:  THS medium volume
Tester:  Andrew
Average:  230
Video Links: 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=82i7Z4u7PIk

Rotogrips Hyroad!

The MVP fills a gap in the Rotogrip lineup.  We were missing a Hyroad motion.  The MVP is that reaction. 

I drilled my MVP after watching a couple of trusted Youtuber’s videos.  The MVP is clean thru the fronts and strong, strong, strong off friction.  I generally don’t prefer this motion, but this ball might change my mind.  I bowled a 6 game tournament right after drilling the MVP and averaged 248.  The carry was exceptional and I only ran into trouble the last game when the carrydown robbed me of entry angle.   I made the switch to the Idol Pro and kept striking. 

Like any big backend ball, you must know when to throw it and when to put it away.  The MVP does have some issues in carrydown.  In my testing, I ran into some carry struggles when the backends got tighter.  I’m going to test the ball with a 500-1000-2000-4000 surface to see if I can help the ball thru the carrydown.  I fully expected this ball to be feast or famine.  When the conditions are right, this one is gonna be a striking machine.  I think everyone should have this motion in their bag.  If not, you are robbing yourself of a motion that produces great carry percentages!

Youtube/Facebook:  Round Holes No Grips Proshop

Andrew Groves
Rotogrip Advisory Staff
Title: Roto Grip MVP Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on August 29, 2019, 02:53:21 PM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Dual Angle:  4 7/8, 4, 4 ¼   

The MVP is the perfect update for the Wrecker series!  I loved my OG Wrecker, but with today’s modern lane conditions it didn’t have enough cover to perform.  Here comes the MVP to the rescue!  It features a modified version of the Wrecker core in the Neutron NXT Core.  The cover is a ton stronger and I have no trouble using it on today’s heavier oils.   It’s a great versatile piece that I can use late in the day or on lighter oil!  The MVP is a must have for tournament bowlers!
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: Tknoop1127 on August 31, 2019, 02:42:52 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Variety

PAP: 5 over and 1/4 up

Drilling: Pin thru the ring finger

I've always been a big fan of hybrid bowling balls, and this ball does not disappoint. A lot of people compare this ball to the Wrecker series, and there are quite a few similarities, but I think this ball is a bigger Winner. I think the ball motions of the Winner and the MVP are so close. Both balls are really clean, and have a lot of backend, but the MVP is so STRONG.

I see myself rolling the MVP when transition hits. Once the heads start to dry up, and I have to get out of my solid coverstocks, then the MVP will be the ball I go to.


COMMENTS



PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: MVP Review
Post by: NateGarcia on September 13, 2019, 08:04:41 PM
I think it’s safe to say that the MVP is kind of a “blast from the past.” The MVP is todays Wrecker only modified for todays lane conditions and volumes of oil. The MVP has the same core featured in the Wrecker (Neutron Core) just modified slightly and wrapped around a Hybrid coverstock. The MVP has a very similar motion to the Wrecker but I would say it is a little bit earlier and shapes more down lane.

The MVP can also be used on heavier patterns where as the original wrecker would shoot through the oil and cause a lot of over under. The MVP is best used when you need to get out of a solid symmetrical and you still need that smooth and controllable shape, but from a weaker cover bowling ball. The MVP is the perfect fit and it handles surface changes really well so it could be used from light oil, to heavier oil when the time comes to use it.

The MVP is a special piece with a unique shape that helps the Roto Grip line be so wide spread and gives all types of bowling styles something that’ll match up to their game.

Nate Garcia
PBA Regional Champion
Title: MVP
Post by: fazzone22 on October 08, 2019, 09:43:02 PM
I drilled my Roto Grip MVP 5.5 x 5.5 x 3, this ball gives me that strong look later in blocks but with enough pop down lane. I’ve used this ball on a variety of  patterns so far ranging from 36 ft too 41 ft later in blocks. This ball reminds me a lot of a Wrecker and how much it hooks for its price point. You wont be disappointed with this lower end ball !
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: Haley3 on October 18, 2019, 05:02:25 PM
Bowler Bio
Gender : Female
Rev Rate : 315
Ball Speed: 16.5 mph
P.A.P : 4 1/2 & 1-1/8 up

When throwing the MVP I could not believe they put this ball at the HP2 price point, felt more like a HP3 for sure. I compared it to the winner and found that it was cleaner but was bit stronger in the back end but still had lots left in the tank to crush the pins. I was about 3 left with the MVP over the winner. I can see this being my go to ball for league to keep me from moving all over that map when the lanes start to break down. If you liked the wrecker line a few years ago you will love this ball.
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: Pbapolizzi on October 25, 2019, 03:17:56 PM
MVP
Layout 60x5.5x30

Wow This ball just hooks way more then expected. For the price point there is no better hybrid on the market.
never misses the spot, creates alot of angle. With this core and cover and how it generates angle it really does kock them down more than
other high RG balls IMO. The spot in the bag is much sooner then you would expect. use it right after a idol or phaze 2.
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: Bigmike on October 27, 2019, 08:40:20 PM
PBA50 member - 14* axis tilt, 35* rotation - 16.5 mph - 315 rev rate.
I drilled my MVP up 4 3/4" x 40*. I have been putting 2000 or 3000 depending on what pattern I am using this on. I get a strong back end movement out of the MVP. I can send it away from the pocket and get this one back with some power and hit. I also have it spaced between my Pro Motion and !Q Tour Emerald. I have noticed that 3000 does blend it out and take some of the whippiness out of the back end motion.
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: cmattingly on November 06, 2019, 09:23:48 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 43'

Volume: 21 mLs

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Bang for your buck

Dislikes: It hooks more that what I was expecting!

This ball is hooks WAY more than the price point would lead you on to believe!  I loved the Wrecker of old but I see this thing reading the mids more still making a strong predictable motion down lane.  This is not a ball that you need to wait until the third game of league to pull out, this ball can come out much sooner.  This is a ball that I can pull out after my Asym. Pearls start seeing some over under once I move into the puddle.  I can still stay further right with this.  I was kind of hoping that this would fill the Hustle INK spot in my bag, but this ball hooks too much!! 
Home run ball of the year for pro shops trying to get a lot of performance, for cheap, to their customers!!

The Layout on mine is 60 x 5-1/2 x 35, this puts the pin above my bridge.

Balls in Heavy Rotation at the moment:
Pro Motion- 50x5x35 pin up
IQ Tour Emerald- 60x5x70 pin down
Halo Pearl- 60x5-1/2x35 pin up
Winner Solid- 50x5x35 pin up
Idol Pro- 60x5x35 pin up

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: RavensTransAm on November 13, 2019, 10:57:03 AM
This year for Roto-Grip has been a year to separate the lines and have distinct differences between them. With HP1 holding down the low end of the Roto-Grip world, HP2 is the next step up with the MVP with the VTC-H19 Coverstock with the all new Neutron NXT Core. With this line I expect to be able to move left and play close to the dry and have a smooth backend. For this ball I went pin below the bridge with gave me a 71x4-3/4x75.
This is another ball that allows me to play closer to the friction and play down the boards standing around 17-18 playing around 6-7 at the arrows. The hybrid cover blends the friction well while still allowing a nice change of direction on the backend. It has more of a skid-flip motion rather which is to be expected with this cover/core combination with a RG of 2.55 and a Diff of .040.
For me this ball is best on shorter sport patterns with lots of friction or lanes that are high friction and everything hooks on them. For me this ball can be easily compared to the wrecker and anyone who had one loved them. I have took the polish off this ball to see how it responds to surface and it does not disappoint as it allowed me to move deeper and still carry the corner pins with ease.
Stephen Foley. Roto-Grip/Storm Pro Shop Staff.
Title: Roto Grip MVP
Post by: RyanPatterson30 on November 22, 2019, 10:05:54 PM
MVP
- RG 2.55
- DIFF 0.040
- 50 x 5 x 65
- Honestly believe there isn’t a better buy for you $$ with the ball. The new MVP offers the new Neutron NXT core with the VTC-H19 cover. I have seen a lot of comparisons between this ball and the original Wrecker but I have it different. The Wrecker for me was always and in between ball that could never quite crack the arsenal every given weekend. The MVP allows me to have a very clean motion through the front ls but very heavy rolling down lane. This ball gives me versatility with my hand being able to trick what I want it to do downlane. I see this ball having success through transition and high friction center where the front part of the lane hooks.
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: rotogrip_rick on November 26, 2019, 06:01:43 PM
ROTO GRIP MVP - 45 x 3 1/2 x 55
Cover: VTC-H19 Hybrid
Core: Neutron NXT
Factory Finish: 1500 grit and polished
Flare: 4" plus
Test condition: Mo Pinel designed house pattern - HPL panels - Flex Machine
Comparing to the Hustle HSB that has a hybrid cover, the MVP motion was similar to about 40-42 feet, then that is where the core and cover took over, went a little longer to the breakpoint and responded better in the backend more so then HSB and over hybrids we have had in the HP1 and HP2 line up. Better overall performance and scoring then the HSB Hustle and similar balls from the past. Updating the Neutron Core from the Wrecker series was an excellent add to the HP2 line and will be a great benchmark ball for any level of bowler.
Title: Roto Grip MVP
Post by: StormRoto on November 27, 2019, 02:50:46 PM
RG MVP review by Brian Watson


The Roto Grip MVP new ball in the HP2 line.  The new MVP reminds me a lot of the RG Wrecker just with an updated coverstock.  Its kinda of a medium ball reaction for me. Not as strong as the bigger balls in the line like the Halo series.  But definetly stronger than the hustle line.  The MVP has the true RG motion, forward roll with control.
I drilled mine down with a 5 inch pin no hole.  The strong point for me with the MVP is control and it keeps your line.  Doesn't overact or bounce when it hits dry or hydroplane in the puddle.  Very good addition to the RG line.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=14GeRtc_VZYrdpLatg7VcemhKm_VfN1FD

https://drive.google.com/open?id=14EIuCJfL62CbgMNMEDw7QyNpveCvlrNm

Brian Watson
PAP - 5 up 1 1/8
Speed  - 16
Tilt   - 16
RPM - 400


Title: Re: MVP
Post by: ShimWreckerEnterprises on November 29, 2019, 05:01:07 PM
BALL / BOWLER SPECS

Layout: 60x4.5x30

Surface: factory

PAP: 4.25R, 1U

Rev Rate: 500rpm

Speed: 20mph off hand

COMMENTS

Continuing in the legacy of ridiculous performance-to-price ratios in the HP2 line, the MVP doesn't disappoint. A brand-new cover (VTC-P19 at 1500/polish) wrapped around a familiar core (Neutron NXT at 2.55/0.040, a modified version of the Wrecker core) combine to produce a strong, nasty, chuggy shiny ball that can absolutely slay lower-volume house shots. It's got a big directional change downlane, but it never feels too whippy. It can create a ton of angle through the pins, but also has a very heavy forward-rolling downlane motion that could fool you into thinking it might actually have an asymmetric core. These combine to make it a bit of an enigma in terms of ball motion... but if that's what it is, this is one of the most fun-to-throw enigmas I've ever seen. It defies categorization, but works in a ton of different situations and is a blast to throw. Another home-run from Roto Grip - go out and get yours today!
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: Joel.Johnson86 on December 03, 2019, 05:25:43 PM
Ball Specs:
Roto Grip MVP
1500 Polished VTC-P19™ Hybrid Reactive
Weight Block Neutron NXT™ Core (Symmetrical)
Color Orange Pearl/Blue Solid

Review:
What a home run RG hit here… the bang for your buck on this one is incredible, maybe the best “value ball” ever. The thing that works so well here is virtually anyone can throw it. We have had people in our shop purchasing this as their first ball and seeing their game drastically improve in a short amount of time as well as seasoned veterans adding this to their arsenal who see a completely different look from what they have in their bag. Many are comparing this ball to the Wrecker. We see a lot more people adding this to their bag then any other ball in the HP2 line in quite some time. If you need a ball late in a set or for very dry conditions but do not want to give up any carry by stepping down to a “lower end” core then this is definitely the perfect fit. Very smooth through the fronts and very powerful at the pins, the MVP is exactly that… “most valuable”.
 
Kyle & Joel Johnson
Roto Grip Pro Shop Staffers
joel@parklanes.net
kyle@parklanes.net
www.RotoGrip.com
#SquadRG
Title: Re: MVP
Post by: tommygn on December 06, 2019, 10:26:33 AM
The MVP is a newly designed take on the older tried and true Wrecker in the HP2 line of balls from Roto Grip. The MVP has a new core called Neutron NXT which is derived from the Wrecker core of yester-year. The NXT version has a rg of 2.55 and a diff of 0.040, in 15lbs. The hybrid cover called VTC-H19 on the MVP comes factory polished to 1500 and is orange pearl with blue solid.

To be completely honest, I wasn’t originally going to drill an MVP. I didn’t have the greatest success with two of the three Wrecker balls (I did like the pearl version called Wreck-Em). Once I saw that there was going to be a pearl MVP coming out, I thought I would go ahead and drill the MVP that was sitting on my shelf for a couple of months. I used the same layout I have on a Hy-Road, 4.5” pin with a 2” pin buffer. I’m really glad I decided to go ahead and drill the MVP. The MVP reminds me of the Storm Rocket. The shape it makes on the lane, as well as the color combination brings me back a few years. The Rocket was a favorite of mine, and a ball that I could use on a multitude of pattern shapes ranging in the upper medium-light to medium heavy volumed conditions, which is really where most patterns that are used fall in between. The MVP is a versatile ball. I have put some surface on it with a 2000 abralon pad to get it to roll earlier for the medium-heavy side; while being in the factory finish, it is more suited for medium conditions, and with a coat of Storm xtra-shine, can be used on those medium-light volume patterns. The MVP has a controllable shape going through the lane. It gets through the fronts easily, and has a readable move downlane. It isn’t a hockey stick type shape, but isn’t real archy like a banana either. The MVP has a good compliment of change of direction and control, that falls in between those two very different hook shapes.

I’m really glad I decided to finally drill an MVP. My only disappointment is that I waited so long to drill it. If you are looking for a great medium condition ball that has versatility ,then the MVP is a reasonably priced ball that will fit that bill. Thank you for taking the time to read my review of the Roto Grip MVP. OWN IT!