BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on March 06, 2020, 09:12:33 AM

Title: Nuclear Cell
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on March 06, 2020, 09:12:33 AM
The Roto Grip advances the popular and successful line of Cell bowling balls with the Nuclear Cell High Performance ball. This ball has the fan favorite Nucleus core which claims to be the most versatile core design to date. This ball is wrapped in the eTrax-P20 Pearl Reactive coverstock that provides more traction at the midlane and responds more to friction down lane. eTrax stands for Enhanced Traction and pairs well when facing medium oil to medium heavy oil.

Color: Purple Haze/Burnt Orange/Red Hot
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Core: Nucleus (14-16#)
Coverstock: eTrax-P20 Pearl Reactive
Finish: 1500-grit Polished
RG: 2.52 (for 15# ball)
Differential: 0.056 (for 15# ball)
Hook Potential: High
Length: Late
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium Oil-Medium/Heavy Oil
Title: Nuclear Cell
Post by: EVollmar on March 08, 2020, 11:54:14 PM
Length:42
Volume: High
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS
Rev Rate: 450
Ball Speed: 17 mph
PAP: 5 1/16 x 3/4 up


Introducing the Nuclear Cell, the newest release in the HP4 line. The Nuclear Cell uses the popular Nucleus Core wrapped with the new eTrax-P20 cover. The layout that I went with was 4 1/2 x 4 1/2 x 3, this layout put the pin in my ring finger.  You have the strong and heavier rolling core wrapped with the clean and very responsive cover and that just makes for an absolutely fantastic combination! This ball matches up really well on medium-heavy conditions and allows you to move in even on the drier stuff. If you are looking for a strong ball that has great back-end, this is the ball for you! 

Earon Vollmar
Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: cmattingly on March 10, 2020, 07:27:28 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 43'

Volume: 21mLs

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Best Core in the game!

Dislikes: none


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Lets start by saying that I LOVE the Nucleus Core.  This core gives me such a great motion no matter the cover.  I have had success with this core dating back to the original Cell. The latest 3 have continued to out do themselves.  The Eternal was a great ball that I had many of, including one that I had 870 with.  The HyperCell Fused I drilled a few different ways and was successful with each of them.  Now the Nuclear Cell.  I drilled this ball off of my new, updated PAP.  I went with 60x5x35.  This ball gets through the front effortlessly, is on the cleaner side in the middle part of the lane, really digs in down lane.  I wouldn't say that the motion is angular or fast.  This motion is very much Strong and continuous.  The other thing that I love about the Cell's are that I don't feel like I run out of lane with them.  I can chase it as far left as I want, which is different than most Asyms for me.  This ball would go great in anyones bag! Go Check one out at your local Roto Grip All Star Pro Shop!

Other Balls in Heavy Rotation:
Physix-60x5x35
Omega Crux-60x5x35
Hyroad Pearl-60x5-1/2x35
Idol Pearl-60x5-1/2x35
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: Chad Hauser - Storm Staff on March 10, 2020, 12:45:04 PM
OMG, can you say HOOK!  The latest addition to the Cell line, the Nuclear Cell, will not disappoint those looking for a strong asymmetrical pearl.  No matter really how you drill this ball, it comes out firing on all cylinders.  For a pearl this ball opens up the lane and just when you think you have lost it to the right, it helps you out by flying back to the pocket. The Nuclear Cell will be a perfect step down ball off either a solid asymmetrical or stronger symmetrical when the lanes initially transition and a strong core yet clean cover is needed. I have personally found this ball to be a perfect gap filler in my arsenal on sport patterns for many reasons. It fits in nicely between the stronger solids and weaker pearls that will be used early on in squad blocks that will give the proper shape when those stronger solids are too early and the weaker pearls are not enough to turn the corner.  I have drilled mine 60 x 3.75 x 25, which is my strong drilling, and it does not disappoint.  I am going to drill another one 45 x 5 x 55 to compliment it for playing more outside.  This is a ball you may want more then one, its just that good!!
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: SquadRGer on March 10, 2020, 11:32:43 PM
The Nuclear Cell is the bomb diggity.

WEIGHT BLOCK: Nucleus ore
WEIGHT: 15lbs
RG: 2.52
DIFF: 0.056
PSA: 0.018
COVER: eTrax-P20
OUT OF BOX: 1500 Grit Polished

Patterns used for review are HP modified.
Pattern A: 40Ft, 24 Mls
Pattern B: 43Ft, 29 Mls

PLAY
The Nuclear Cell was able to play both patterns from the inside and out. Pattern A allows for more movement inside and earlier. Pattern B allowed the Nuclear Cell to move outside.

Pattern A:
With the Nuclear Cell out of box cover at 1500 polished the lighter volume and shorter length was not much of an issue.  The ball easily made it to the spot. As transition began and I migrated to the left the motion continued to be consistent and predictable with a strong finish.

Pattern B:
With the Nuclear Cell on this particular pattern I could get stronger with my hand and still keep the same control.  I could also move a little right and tighten up my angles and roll the ball.

LOW DOWN: Mid lane play to end of pattern play - The Nuclear Cell is the bomb diggity. It will get through the mids and still be able to read mid to back with more of a heavy arched compared to the IDOL Pearl. #SquadRG
Title: Nuclear Cell review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on March 12, 2020, 01:44:17 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41
Volume:Medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Core: Nucleus
Cover: eTrax-P20 Pearl
Finish: 1500 Polish
RG: 2.52
Differential: 0.056

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin Under Bridge 40 X 4 3/4 X 65

The new Nuclear Cell From Roto Grip features the powerful Nucleus core wrapped in eTrax-P20 Pearl Reactive cover. The result of this combination is one of the most responsive balls ever made.

I tested the Nuclear cell on a fresh house shot that had very clean back-ends. It was so strong off the friction that I had to throw the ball much more left to right compared to anything else I tried. It was probably not the best choice on the fresh because If I got slow or didn't create enough angle through the front it was too much in the back-end and I was sure to leave a nasty split. But as I moved left it just got better. This ball is so dynamic off the end of the pattern that once I was left of 3rd arrow it felt like it was impossible to miss right.

The next day I came in to see how it would react on the fill shot. The back-ends are always very tight, and I knew the Nuclear Cell would be perfect for the condition where other balls had trouble finishing. I had to get the ball a little farther out on the lane when I tried to play near the friction, but had no issues getting it to come off. I moved in to where I would normally play and was happy to see the ball still picking up down-lane. When I moved inside even further it really shined, a good release and the Nuclear cell would get back from almost anywhere and it's carry is exceptional when covering boards. This ball is just down-right strong off the spot. So much so that it takes away a ton of the over-under you see with pearl equipment, because there's never really 'Under'.
PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: Kevin Duncan on March 14, 2020, 04:19:13 PM
Roto Grip Nuclear Cell
Layout: 4 x 4 x 2 - Storm Vector layout
Rev Rate: 325 rpm, 7 degree of axis tilt, 40 degree of axis rotation
Testing information: 40 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine – Brunswick Anvilane

The Roto Grip Nuclear Cell utilizes the tried and tested Nucleus Core and the new eTrax P20 pearl coverstock.  We struggled with carry at the start of testing because the Nuclear Cell was so strong and was burning up early.  We moved left 5 and 3 and the ball came to life.  The eTrax P20 pearl coverstock is an enhanced version of the 2019 eTrax.  We have the Nuclear Cell earlier than the Hyper Cell Fused and stronger off the spot.  The Nuclear Cell is also a little stronger than the Halo Pearl.  The Nuclear Cell is clean through the heads and carries some serious pop on the backend.
Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop!
#Stormnation
#SquadRG 
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: RavensTransAm on March 15, 2020, 05:01:30 PM
The newest Cell cored bowling ball is the Nuclear Cell. With the same Nucleus core that has been in every Cell ball so far. With a RG of 2.52, diff .056, and an Intermediate diff of .018. The nucleus core is wrapped in the new eTrax-P20 which handles heavier oil while also creating more down lane motion than the eTrax-P18 cover on the halo pearl.
The Nuclear cell is much more angular than its predecessor the Hyper Cell Fused. Not just because of it being a pearl cover stock whereas the Fused was a Hybrid but also the new formulation of the cover stock makes it cleaner through the fronts and more angular off the spot. As I do with most polished bowling balls, I took the shine off of it after throwing it a few times. 3000 Grit Abralon seems to work the best for me while it still allows it to be clean through the front it is smoother off the spot without the polish.
For me this ball is a house shot killer, most house bowlers will benefit from the easy length and backend that this ball offers. It is another ball for the medium sport shot patters or later in the block when the ufo starts to become to much ball but the wild streak is not in play yet.
Stephen Foley. Roto-Grip/Storm Pro Shop Staff.
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: Haley3 on March 16, 2020, 09:42:39 AM
Bowler Bio
Gender : Female
Rev Rate : 315
Ball Speed: 16.5 mph
P.A.P : 4 1/2 & 1-1/8 up

The new Roto Grip Nuclear Cell is something I have been waiting and needing to add to my arsenal. The most aggressive shinny asymmetrical I have right now is the Storm Astro Physixs. I use it a lot but need something with a little more punch on the back end and that’s exactly what you will get with the Nuclear Cell. I compared the two and with the Nuclear Cell I had to move about 3/4 boards left of the Astro the way that the Nuclear Cell comes off the end of the pattern is so quick. I love how I can keep moving left and still get the same reaction off the back part of the lane without the ball labouring. I found that both balls floated through the fronts about the same, the Nuclear Cell might start up a tad sooner then the Astro but when they come off the pattern is where you will see the difference. Astro is more smooth of the pattern where the Nuclear Cell is very quick once it hits the dry. This is going to be a ball everyone can benefit from not just the high speed and rev rates.

Take a look for yourself in my video review below or go to DH Bowling on Facebook and YouTube.

https://youtu.be/mE3ja4uv_TI
Title: Best ball in my bag
Post by: CSH300 on March 19, 2020, 07:10:34 PM
The New Roto-Grip Nuclear Cell brings back that shape that we’ve all come to love from the Nucleus core. With the eTrax-P20 Pearl coverstock, this thing is a monster on the lanes. The Angularity and strength down-lane is unreal. I used a 4” pin to pap with a 2” pin buffer. I can honestly not say enough great things about this ball. It allows me to play any part of the Lane with ease.  Even when I move right and take some hand out of the ball, it sets up and still hits like a train. This is a most have ball and is currently my favorite ball in my bag.

Cole Hensley
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: Bigmike on March 20, 2020, 07:04:26 PM
I drilled my NUCLEAR CELL 35 x 4 x 55. This puts the pin in the ring finger and the MB on my midplane. I touched up the surface with a 1000 CTD pad then lightly hit it with a 3000 CTD over it.

I drilled the NUCLEAR CELL with the same layout as a HYPER CELL FUSED that I drilled to take to 2019 USBC Nationals. The HYPER CELL FUSED ended up being a go to ball for me on longer patterns when I need control with earlier read. The NUCLEAR CELL is as close to this as I can get except with just slightly more push thru the fronts. I have also thrown the NUCLEAR CELL as a ball down option to my GRAVITY EVOLVE when I felt that more push thru the front was needed and I felt they were too cliffed for my OMEGA CRUX.

I am going to drill a 2nd NUCLEAR CELL with a more pin-up in the range of 5" and the MB at about 75* to use when I feel there is more of a blend that needs push up front.
Title: Roto Grip Nuclear Cell
Post by: StormRoto on March 22, 2020, 04:23:08 PM
The new Roto Grip ball in the HP4 line is the Nuclear Cell.  Let's just say I'm a big fan of the Cell line from back in the day with the Cell Pearl being my favorite.  So I was pretty pumped to see a Pearl coverstock with the very popular Nucleus Core.
I drilled mine 5 x 5 x 2 a standard pin up above fingers and MB about an inch from thumb.
My initial thoughts was this ball is special.  I think the Nuclear is going to be just as good as the Phaze 3 is on the Storm side.  It's that good of a ball. What I like is that when the Nuclear gets a little too deep in the pocket it still kicks the ten pin out, where other balls would not.  The motion is just very predictable and this ball carries and goes through the pins really well.  Its cleaner that the UFO but with more pop downlane, not flippy just hard arcing.  Just put your favorite layout in the Nuclear and you won't be disappointed.

Brian Watson
Pro Shop Staff

PAP - 5 up 1/18
Tilt - 17
Speed - 16-17
RPM - 400
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: damron801 on March 23, 2020, 03:13:15 PM
Pin Length:3.5

Starting Top Weight:3.47

Ball Weight: 15

Pin to PAP:4.75 x 4.5 x 2.25

Rev Rate:450

Ball Speed:17

PAP/Track:4.5  up/down 0

Grit:factory

Type:  Polish

Length:42"

Volume:26.5 mil

Type THS

The Nucleus Core is one of the best ever from Roto. The new Pearl e-trax coverstock is effortless through the front part of the lane and very aggressive on the backend.  It isn't hockey stick, but still a very defined hard move and just doesn't quit. It is stronger on the back then the Hyper Cell Fused. I feel like the deeper i get the better this ball performs. When the oil pushes down and you are forced left or if your ball won't face up anymore, pull this ball out and let it rip. Don't be surprised if some messengers come flying across the lane.  #Stormnation #SquadRG
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: MSUHoss300 on March 24, 2020, 11:49:46 AM
Roto Grip Nuclear Cell

65 x 5 x 70



So far, I’ve been a big fan of most every Cell ball released, especially the Hyper Cell Fused.   #RotoSchlem does it again, this one is a home run!   Super clean through the front, stands up in the mid lane with that big Nucleus core, and won’t quit down the lane and through the pins.  To me it’s a bit longer than a fused overall but mostly back-end.  I've drilled about 30 of these so far and every single person has loved the ball!  This might be one of the best balls I've ever drilled!  This one is so good its like CHEATING!!!!!!  Pins dont stand a chance!
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: hittnhard on March 24, 2020, 04:54:27 PM
Roto Grip Nuclear Cell

Coverstock: eTrax-P20™ Pearl Reactive

Weight Block: Nucleus™ Core

Newest HP4 ball in the RG line, the Nuclear Cell is a prefect addition.

The goal was to give me something that could finish a bit stronger when my Phaze 3 was just not enough.

I drilled mine to go long and and give me a strong angular move, 70x3.75x20. Very long, very strong, and powers through the pins.

The Nuclear Cell will slide perfectly between my Storm Omega Cux and Storm Phaze 3
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: hammermike2000 on March 26, 2020, 12:29:25 PM
Layout: 45 x 4 3/8 x 40. The Roto Grip Nuclear Cell is an absolute house shot killer! It has the perfect combination of length, strong backend, and control. The Nuclear Cell gets through the front part of the lane extremely easily, which makes it a very good option even when the lanes are broken down, and/or you have to move left to open up the lane (as a right hander). Pin carry is excellent. This ball (with the shiny out of box finish) is not intended to be used on fresh, heavy lane conditions, but from what I have seen, it can handle any other type of condition. One of my favorite balls of the last few years! Mike LeViner.
Title: Roto Grip Nuclear Cell
Post by: fazzone22 on March 26, 2020, 06:55:03 PM
Roto Grip hit the nail right on the head with this asymmetrical pearl. Wrapped around the all new eTrac-P20 Pearl cover, the trusted Nucleus core will always prove its might. I drilled mine 6 x 5 x 2 and after throwing it a few time I’m really glad I didn’t drill it any stronger because it would just be too much ball for me. Even being pin up and the longer pin you can see this ball start reving super early and it never quits. I used this ball multiple times before I got into the stronger symmetrical  balls.
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: rotogrip_rick on March 29, 2020, 08:24:14 AM
Roto Grip Nuclear Cell

Layout: 80 x 2 3/4 x 50

Ball specs: 1500 grit polished - eTrax-P20 pearl / Nucleus Core

With a lower RG and diff then the Wild Streak I was at awe that on SPL with the more blended and more volume pattern the ball did not quit in the heavier part of the pattern like other balls I have used with similar pearl coverstocks. Found it to be a better and stronger version of the original Cell Pearl and not as flippy as the Hyper Cell Pearl. I did drill this one with a higher front number and small pin to pap to add length before reaction and to cut down the flare due to I am still recovery from my accident 2 years ago. For sure my prior benchmark layout and ball selection has been changed since then, and when I know I will be bowling on Brunswick or newer SPL panels, the Nuclear Cell will be the first ball out of my bag.
Title: The Nuclear Cell is, well……NUCLEAR!
Post by: C-MartStorm on March 30, 2020, 10:51:55 PM
Bowlers Info: RH tweener, PAP 4-1/2 x 7/8 up, 365 RPM, 17* of Axis tilt, 60* of Axis Rotation

Ball Layout: 50 x 4-1/2 x 40

Finish: OOB + Light 3000

I have always been a big fan of the iconic Cell Core and matched up well with its numbers.  The Nuclear is no exception!  This ball is straight up just super fun to throw.  Stand left, throw right, and watch that ball come back from nowhere and demolish the rack!  I drilled this ball 50 x 4-1/2 x 40 which is pin in the bridge and PSA 1-1/2” right of my thumb.  I always hit shiny OOB finishes with a light 3000 pad to give it some teeth for better midlane read and less snappy off the back.  This one’s a house shot killer for sure!  Cleaner than my Phaze III and a bit bigger backend, a ball I can really open the lane up with.

Need a house shot killer?  Looking to open the lane up?  Go grab the Nuclear Cell and enjoy ripping those racks!

Chris Martinez
Storm Amateur Staff
www.stormbowling.com
Title: Nuclear Cell Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on March 31, 2020, 09:34:22 PM
The Nuclear Cell is Roto Grip’s latest ball in the HP4 line.  It features the popular Nucleus core from the previous Cell releases, and the updated pearl eTrax formula, P20.  The Nuclear is maybe the quickest response ball I’ve ever thrown, it definitely rivals the Phaze 3 for strength of motion off the dry.  I think the out of box finish makes it a little too sensitive, but I took it 3000 and that helped tremendously.  It still has a very strong backend motion, but handles wet/dry significantly better.  This is definitely the strongest shiny ball I’ve ever thrown, and when sanded, it nearly rivals the Halo Vision and UFO for hook potential.  Due to the overwhelming strength of the ball, it’s not usable very often for me, but when you need effective traction and especially a stronger backend motion on heavier conditions, this is one of the first balls I’d reach for. 
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: ShimWreckerEnterprises on March 31, 2020, 09:50:44 PM
BALL / BOWLER SPECS

Layout: 50x5x45

Surface: factory surface (1500/polish)

PAP: 4-1/2 R, 1-3/8 U

Rev Rate: 500rpm

Speed: 20mph off hand

Conditions: THS, on both wood and synethetic lanes

COMMENTS

Roto Grip's much-beloved Cell line has a new entrant, and it might just be one of the best ones yet! The Nuclear Cell combines the eTrax-P20 Pearl coverstock (updated from the eTrax-P18 of the Idol Pearl and Halo Pearl) with the familiar Nucleus core (2.52 RG, 0.056 diff, 0.018 int diff). In terms of on-lane feel, it definitely has that same heavy-rolling feel from the other Cell line balls... but this thing flat-out HOOKS!!! Give it a bit of oil up front and a bit of friction downlane and it feels nothing but inevitable that this ball will make a strong move downlane. It's definitely cleaner and more responsive than the recent Hyper Cell Fused, and also much more angular off the spot than the Halo Pearl. If you need a lot of hook and angularity wrapped in a fantastic-looking package, start and end your search with the Nuclear Cell!
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: TonyMarino on March 31, 2020, 10:04:02 PM
One of my favorite Roto Grip balls of all time was Cell Pearl (still have one). The Nuclear Cell is almost like the rebirth of the Cell Pearl. The Nuclear is very clean and does a great job of skidding through the front part of the lane. The HOF-worthy Nucleus core is fast revving which makes the Nuclear want to pick up and transition sooner than a pearl symmetric like the Idol Pearl or Hyroad Pearl, but that doesn’t mean that the Nuclear Cell is weak on the back… Actually, quite the opposite! I am in love with how much shape this ball creates without sacrificing the mid-lane read that you sometimes need to give up out of big back-ending, pearl, balls. Don’t miss out!
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: Kyle.Johnson88 on April 01, 2020, 04:38:05 PM
Ball Specs:
Roto Grip Nuclear Cell
1500 eTrax-P20™ Pearl Reactive
Weight Block: Nucleus™ Core (Asymmetrical)
Color: Purple Haze/Burnt Orange/Red Hot

Review:
Another ball in the cell line and another instant hit! There is a reason why certain lines stick around for a long time… they are top notch pieces. The Cell line is to Roto Grip as the Hy-Road line is to Storm. One thing that stuck out with the Hyper Cell Fused was the level of comfort the line gave to the player and that is why you saw so many Hyper Cells at tournaments. You will find similar characteristics in this piece. This is a tiny step down from the Hyper Cell but with similar entry angle and motion. The Nuclear will give you a little more length down lane and a little more hold before having to ball down. Overall this is a great complimentary piece to the fleet of Cell bowling balls and a great ball for tournament or league bowlers alike!

Kyle & Joel Johnson
Roto Grip Pro Shop Staff Members
joel@parklanes.net
kyle@parklanes.net
www.rotogrip.com
#SquadRG
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: Storm2DaROLL on April 02, 2020, 04:15:07 PM
LANE CONDITION
The NUCLEAR CELL is a pearl ball that is much more controllable motion than most other pearls.
 
Patterns used for review are HP modified.
Pattern A: 43Ft, 29 Mls, 5:1 ratio

Pattern B: 40Ft, 27 Mls, 3:1 ratio

PLAY
The Nuclear Cell out of box is a very pleasing to the eye.  It is able to get down lane easily and gives you a good controllable motion off the friction. I wanted to see how much different the Nuclear Cell was from the Idol Pearl. It was definitely a little less angular but had the same if not more hitting power and continuation. Very easy to read the Nuclear Cell has it migrates down lane.
Pattern A:
As play started, I gave the ball room to right playing 12 to 5. This ball revved up and read the lane. The motion because it was predictable was easier to make moves left and the roll/power and carry increased as I chased the pattern inside. After moving back out side to the friction the cell became a bit more angular down lane but still was able to get down lane easily through the friction or lower volume part of the pattern.
Pattern B:
The Nuclear Cell on the shorter pattern easily was bale to play a swing line in comparison to pattern a. The NC just kept recovering from all areas to the right. One thing to note was when I missed at the bottom of the swing on this pattern, I still had good motion and carry.
LOW DOWN: NOTE A: The Nuclear Cell is going to be that ball one needs when they need big block and cover, but less angular motion as they bowl. You wont need much more as a polished pear than the NC.



COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Nuclear Cell Basll Review
Post by: NateGarcia on April 04, 2020, 05:46:04 PM
The next big asymmetrical pearl that's going to fly off the shelves just as fast as it changes direction down-lane. The new Nuclear Cell by Roto Grip is the newest addition to the Cell series and it takes a left turn. The Nuclear Cell has the vintage Cell Core wrapped with the eTrax-P20 Pearl Coverstock. This ball gives the player a ball that is very clean through the front part of the lane and a sharp change in direction down-lane. Players would use this ball when the lanes are "wet-dry" where the player is looking for a ball that when they miss in, it'll still go through the pins well and when they miss right, to have a ball recover and create the right shape going through the pins.

I feel like with this new Nuclear Cell, it fills a gap that we've been missing. At least for me, I've struggled to like an asymmetrical pearl as of late. I always jump to a symmetrical pearl ball to create the right shape by slowing down my ball speed, but with this ball, it'll allow me to still be aggressive and not be afraid to throw it hard and create some angle in order to strike.

Get your Nuclear Cell as soon as you can! They are going to be a hot Cell!

Nate Garcia

PBA Regional Champion
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: Tknoop1127 on May 08, 2020, 08:48:24 AM
I drilled my Nuclear Cell 4 inches from my PAP..

Firstly, I have had every Cell that has been made and I have been a big fan of them all! When I first heard about the Nuclear Cell, I was very excited for another Cell. This line has always fit my game when I need a big core-pearl.

This ball honestly reminds me of a bigger Cell Pearl. It glides through the fronts, and it snaps fairly hard at the end of the pattern to give you that true pearl reaction. For being an asymmetrical I think it does get through the fronts great. This ball is easily becoming one of my go to pearl balls when I need to get left
Title: Roto Nuclear Cell Review
Post by: sportshot on May 31, 2020, 10:06:41 PM
Roto Grip Nuclear Cell Ball Specs:

Cover stock P20 Pearl Reactive
Nucleus™ Core (Asymmetrical)
Color Purple Haze / Burnt Orange / Red Hot
Finish 1500-grit Polished

Bowler Specs:
Right Hand. PAP 5” Over 1/2 up
Rev Rate 300. Tilt 20. Rotation 50.
Speed at cameras 15.5

Review:
 The Roto Grip Nuclear Cell has sold very well and preforms above expectations. I did not bring many of these in to the shop inventory and that was a mistake. Without much fanfare this ball has been in high demand. If you get a Nuclear Cell you will understand why. The look of the ball is very nice, but it really shines on the lanes. The Nuclear Cell is pretty close to my Halo Pearl in reaction but seems to read the mid lane a bit stronger and with more drive in the back end. It would be fair to say it is between my Halo Vision and MVP Pearl in total hook rating. I really like the defined breakpoint this ball shows me as it makes the turn to the pocket. The carry of this ball is very good as well. It creates more entry angle to help knock out the corner pins. The total hook of this ball is more than I expected for a pearl.  I can trust this ball to come back if I miss to the outside. A very nice feature of the Nuclear is the ease of fine tuning the surface. I hit mine with a 1500 and then a worn 2000 Abralon pad and this created more total hook on heavier oil without sacrificing much in the back end. This is a pearl I’m not afraid to scuff. If you are looking for a strong versatile pearl the Nuclear Cell is a great choice. I am sure this ball will be a great seller when centers and shops open back up as we work through the Covid restrictions. Stay safe and bowling will be back in force soon.

Summary:
The Nuclear Cell is a very strong pearl.
The entry angle and hit are great.
The surface takes adjustments easily for a shiny pearl.


Glenn Wendel
PBA Member
Storm Pro Shop Staff
gwendel@comcast.net
www.stormbowling.com

Video Link:
https://youtu.be/TEW4aQhHn-4
Title: Roto Grip Nuclear Cell by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on June 19, 2020, 10:10:11 PM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  400 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 ½ over and ½ up

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
VLS Layout:  4 ½ x 4 x 4 1/8

The Nuclear Cell is the next great installment in the famous Cell series.  The Nuke Cell is quite a bit stronger than the Hyper Cell.  It’s earlier and snappy and is strong enough to use on the fresh but versatile enough to use through the transition.  If you’re a “Cell” fan, you’ll love the Nuclear Cell.
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: PJ Haggerty on June 21, 2020, 09:30:28 PM
Roto Grip Nuclear Cell Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

Over the last ten years or so, the Cell core has been an extremely successful engine in the Roto Grip line.  When the Nuclear Cell was announced, I was excited to see how it was going to perform.  After drilling two of them and using them on multiple types of conditions and lane surfaces, the Nuclear Cell is a home run.  With an RG of 2.52 and a differential of .056, this ball is in my bag everywhere I go.

Between the two I drilled, the one I’ve had the most success with is mapped out as 4.5 x 4 x 75.  This puts the pin above my ring finger and the mass bias just to the right of my thumb.  I’ve noticed that once my Halo Vision or Omega Crux starts to get tired or I need a quicker response time, but still need to use a big core, the Nuclear Cell is the perfect compliment.  It’s a perfect transition piece under the Omega Crux but still has a bigger, forward motion than the Hyroad or IQE Emerald.
If you need a ball that’s useable on multiple patterns & lane surfaces, the Roto Grip Nuclear Cell should be the next ball in your bag.  Go drill one!

#OwnIt
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: Gil B on June 24, 2020, 10:23:46 AM
Nuclear cell by Roto Grip is a hit. If you liked the Cell Fused but wanted a little more punch here it is. The Nuclear cell is very snappy and strong down lane and explosive through the pins. Being a pearl asymmetrical it gets through the fronts very well and creates a strong down lane angel. This ball also looks great going down the lane and easy to read its moves. Great ball to have
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: bowlstorm3 on June 25, 2020, 10:01:25 AM
Roto-Grip Nuclear Cell
Cover: eTrax-P20
Core: Nucleus
Layout: 60 x 5.5 x 55

The Nuclear Cell is pretty impressive. It gives me serious Cell Pearl vibes from years ago. Although it is a very shiny pearl that looks like it should skid forever and go sideways, that isn’t the case. It seems to read the midlane, slow down and make a very strong (not angular) move into the pocket. I have mainly tested this ball on our 46 foot house pattern with a big puddle in the middle. Polished balls are normally a no-go on this pattern when it is fresh but the Nuclear handles it with ease.

The UFO and Nuclear Cell provide a nice pair of complementing reactions in Roto-Grip’s HP4 line and should cover a lot of bases for bowlers looking for high end asymmetrical balls.


Video Review:
https://youtu.be/L4QjVQ73XkE
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: tommygn on July 03, 2020, 04:48:51 PM
The Nuclear Cell is the latest HP4 line release from Roto Grip that features the ever popular Nucleus core. The Nuclear Cell uses a pearl cover called  eTrax-P20. The color combination is purple haze, burnt orange, and red hot. The numbers in 15lb weights are 2.52 Rg, and 0.056, 0.018.

 My Nuclear Cell arrived at my house just days before covid-19 hit, and all bowling centers in my area were forced to close down. Now with bowling centers opening back up, I have the chance to use the Nuclear Cell. Using a 5 x 4.5 x 2.5 layout to compliment a Hyper Cell drilled with a 4 x 4 x 2.5, the Nuclear is cleaner with a more rounded continuous shape downlane. The Nuclear Cell is a 2 and 1 move left (covering fewer boards and closing down the angle through the front a bit) from the Fused. The Nuclear Cell can be sanded to create earlier traction and more board coverage, but the reaction I’ve seen will have it’s time and place, and should just be used when the lane conditions require the kind of motion that the Nuclear Cell offers. As I get more practice on the lanes, I will be taking advantage of many of the local tournaments that are popping up in my area. The Nuclear Cell will be in the bag, as that clean through the front, with a nice change of direction ball reaction is needed.

Every ball that I have drilled that uses the Nucleus core, I have really liked. This core is very versatile and can match almost any cover used on it. The Nuclear Cell is no different. The match of cover and core just seems to work. The reaction out of the Nuclear reminds me of what I remember seeing from the original Pearl Cell. Thank you for taking the time to read my review of the Nuclear Cell. Now, OWN IT!!
Title: Re: Nuclear Cell
Post by: tommyzero on July 04, 2020, 08:11:37 PM