BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 11, 2021, 11:01:24 AM

Title: Rubicon UC2
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 11, 2021, 11:01:24 AM
Roto Grip is doing something different with the Rubicon upper-mid performance balls in their HP3 line of balls. Like the original Rubicon the Rubicon UC2 (Ultimate Concept 2) uses the asymmetrical Rondure Core which was designed to provide more ball motion overall without the need for the now-banned balance hole. This performance core is wrapped in Roto Grip's eTrax-S20 Pearl Reactive coverstock which was formulated to offer a response on various lane conditions due to its ability to clear the lane then react powerfully on the backend. Out of the box this ball is ideally used on medium to medium/heavy oil conditions.

Color: Cosmic Black/Purple Sky
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Core: Rondure Core (Asymmetrical) (14-16#)
Coverstock: eTrax-S20 Pearl Reactive
Finish: 1500-grit Polished
RG: 2.49 (for 15# ball)
Differential: 0.052 (for 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium to Medium/Heavy
Title: Roto Grip Rubicon UC2 review by Trevor Roberts
Post by: TrevorRoberts on February 11, 2021, 12:16:20 PM
Lane Condition
Length: 40
Volume: Medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

Comments
After drilling two Rubicons, I was very excited for the pearl version, the Rubicon UC2. I just threw it for the first time yesterday and I’m already impressed by the motion. The cover is even cleaner than I thought it would be, giving me a nice compliment to the Nuclear Cell. In my YouTube ball review you will see how the Rubicon UC2 is a little bit cleaner through the fronts than the Nuclear Cell, giving it a sharper down lane motion. This ball will be great for house shots and for any time you need to move left with your feet. Oh and have you seen the colors of this ball? The pink lettering on top of the shiny, dark cover looks great! I might have two or three of these, it’s that good!

YouTube Review
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i46yFoNdY3s&t=34s

Social Media
Click This Link Below For All Social Media :
https://linktr.ee/TrevorRobertsBowler

Bowlifi
Save $5.00 On Your First Order
Click This Link Below To Order Your Bowlifi Jersey :
https://www.bowlifi.com/user/trevorroberts

Bowler Stats
Trevor Roberts
2016 PBA Southern Regional Rookie Of The Year
Storm Products / Turbo 2n1 Grips / Bowlifi Staff Member
Right Handed
Rev Rate: 400
Speed: 16
PAP: 5 1/2 up 13/16
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: ShimWreckerEnterprises on February 16, 2021, 03:58:19 PM
The Roto Grip Rubicon UC2 brings a shiny pearl version of the original Rubicon to the line, and it's everything you expect and then some! An updated version of eTrax Pearl (Idol Pearl, Halo Pearl) with the same mildly-asymmetric Rondure core from the original Rubicon. The overall shape feels very reminiscent of the original Rubicon just getting further down the lane and turning harder once it sees friction - which also brings it to feel VERY familiar to the legendary Code Black from the Storm catalog. It's a great skid-flip piece for later in a block that brings a lot more control to the picture than most balls in the category, and mine is a permanent fixture in my travel bag!
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: rcgilmore on February 17, 2021, 11:07:12 AM
Cover: eTrax Reactive Pearl
RG: 2.49
Diff:0.052
PSA: 0.011

This ball is awesome!! I liked the Rubicon Solid a lot when it was released. However, I have been looking for a pearl ball with this ball motion since I switched companies. This ball was a pleasant surprise for me. The layout is 60 X 3 ¼ x 45. The UC2 is cleaner down lane and picks up and drives through the pocket. I was surprised how well it blended out the house shot I bowl on when the lanes broke down. When others were leaving corner pins, I was carrying the pocket and the ball was still getting through the pins. I can create shape with the UC2 and trust it will turn the corner. I did hit it with 3000 which made it a bit smoother and doesn’t’ jump of the friction. Lately this has been the first ball out of the bag!! I highly recommend the UC2 if you are looking for that stronger Asymmetrical ball that will fit pretty much all styles of play you won’t be disappointed.
Title: Rubicon UC2 by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on February 18, 2021, 08:50:31 AM
The Rubicon UC2 features the etrax pearl cover and mild asymmetric Rondure core.  The eTrax formula has been used in several iterations in the HP3 and HP4 lines over the last few years, and this version of the formula is the pearl version of the Idol Synergy cover.  The Rondure core comes in at a 2.49 RG, .052 differential, and .011 split or intermediate differential in 15 pounds, the idea again being to mimic a stronger symmetric ball with a weight hole.  The original Rubicon was already pretty quick on friction despite being a solid, with the cleaner eTrax base formula on it, it definitely punched a lot, and the UC2 takes that up to 9000.  It’s very quick on friction and very easily controlled and manipulated with physical adjustments, I can play virtually anywhere I want to with this ball as you’ll see here in a few seconds.  It’s becoming a favorite of both Angel and mine because it’s very easy down the lane and turns quickly on friction, while being a lot more consistent than you might expect it to be.  It gets easy length for Angel and more punch than she gets out of literally anything else in her bag, and for me it’s something I can float out of and still get a sharp and visually comfortable move on the backend.  In addition, if I need to get deep, there are no angles it won’t recover from, at least if you’re on the right conditions for it.  The Rubicon UC2 is a ton of fun, it’s moved its way into both of our main league bags, and paired with the Rubicon, they’re a pretty devastating combo.  I give the Rubicon UC2 a 7 for hook, 7 for length, and a 9 for backend strength.
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: Rick K on February 19, 2021, 10:02:13 PM
Rubicon UC2 • Performance Line • HP3 
Coverstock • eTrax Pearl Reactive Finish • 1500 Grit Abralon
Core • Rondure Asymmetric
RG • 2.49 Differential • 0.052 Int. Differential •.011
Layout • 50 x 4.25 x 35
Tester PAP = 4 ½ R x 3/8 D • Tester Axis Tilt = 12° •Testers Rev Rate = 325
Test Pattern = 42’ THS • Modified, Kegel Stone Street

Roto Grip continues cultivating innovation with the release of the Rubicon UC2 (Ultimate Concepts 2). The mildly asymmetric Rondure core combined with the latest eTrax (Enhanced Traction) pearlized coverstock makes the Rubicon UC2 a pin crushing monster for your arsenal. Let’s take a look!
The “mildly” asymmetric Rondure core introduced with the Rubicon is a game changer for a straighter and more down and in player like me.  I found “mildly” asymmetric to mean the best of two cores in one, if you will.  This core rev’d early in the mid-lane with the precision of a symmetric core and simply continued to roll like a freight train down lane! Starting from fresh oil straight up 7, to after the transition where I was able to look 15, the Rondure core was impressive all night.  This hard rolling asymmetric core explodes at the pocket and maintains a strong continuation through the pins regardless of entry angle and keeps rolling its way through the pin-deck.
The eTrax Pearlized coverstock completes the UC2 quite nicely. Out of the box, the 1500 grit polished surface performed smoothly all night. On fresh oil, the cover cleared the heads easily and maintained a strong turn off the pattern.  The eTrax pearl cover read the mid-lane section throughout the night with a smooth and predictable motion and stayed consistent.  As the shot broke down I appreciated this cover’s ability to blend the deteriorating condition without “jumping” off the spot. I found the eTrax “pearl reactive cover” to be exactly as written. It’s a pearl but it is reactive!
In closing, I found the Rubicon UC2 to be a hard-hitting, strong rolling weapon! If you’re a more down and in player like me who counts on that extra hitting power, look no further. This ball is the right choice! The Rubicon UC2 belongs in your bag! Have your local pro shop operator drill yours up today!

Rick Klimowicz
Storm Products Pro Shop Staff
Roll the Ball Pro shop
Penndel, Pa
 
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: MANCSTORM on February 26, 2021, 08:23:39 AM
UC2 will be 1 if those balls that stays around for a long time. It's that good and that useable. The ease it gets threw the front with along with it's strong recovery will not only make it into everyone's league bag but it will also be a must for tournaments. The ball is not only useable but it's fantastic from many different angles. You can't ask for much more!

Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: Kevin Duncan on February 27, 2021, 08:16:00 AM
Roto Grip Rubicon UC2
Layout: 4 x 4 x 2
Rev Rate: 325 rpm, 7 degree of axis tilt, 40 degree of axis rotation
Testing information: 41 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine – Brunswick Anvilane

The Roto Grip Rubicon UC2 utilizes the Rondure Core and newly formulated eTrax pearl coverstock. Wow! What a clean ball through the fronts then a big back end motion.  The backend recovery is really impressive.  The UC2 will be a house shot wrecker and one of your first options if you need to move left and throw it to the right.  The UC2 is already becoming a favorite on the PBA tour. A great color scheme just adds to its appeal.
Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop!
#Stormnation
#SquadRG 
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: MSUHoss300 on March 02, 2021, 11:49:06 AM
Rubicon UC2
Layout - 55 x 5 x 30

Holy smokes this ball in impressive!  Super clean thru the front and all the backend you'd ever want.  I was not one that matched up well with the Idol Pearl and feel I've been missing that ball in my bag.  Boy is this one a home run!  Great looking ball, super versatile cover, don't be afraid to knock the shine off if you want to smooth it out a bit.  I've drilled one pin up and one pin down and both are very usable!  I would say its cleaner and longer than a Zen and Nuclear Cell.  If you are looking for a phenomenal all purpose ball, look no further!  She good!
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on March 03, 2021, 06:42:26 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 42ft.

Volume: medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes:  The Rubicon UC2 is one of the strongest Pearl balls I have personally ever thrown!!!! It complements its predecessor very well. Where the original Rubicon was the typical smooth solid shape the UC2 gives you that easy length with a strong change of direction down lane. I compared the UC2 to a couple other pearl asym balls, the Nuclear Cell and AstroPhysix. To me, the UC2 is a combination of both of those 2. I get the length of the Astro but with the strong change of direction of the Nuclear. For the typical league pattern, the UC2 will allow you to play in the oil and feed the ball to the friction without worrying about the ball not finishing. I didnt have to force the ball up the lane as it just floats through the fronts and middle part of the lane with ease. This is going to be a very popular ball for all types of bowlers and will be a must have in your league and tournament bag.

Nick Smith
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Rubicon UC2
Post by: Awiegand3 on March 04, 2021, 01:33:03 PM
After throwing this ball instantly knew that this was going to be a must in the bag. For being an asymmetrical bowling ball this ball gets straight through the fronts and has pop off the spot. The ball reacts more like a symmetrical then an asymmetrical bowling ball. The UC2 is a house shot monster. Great for fresh or if you need to move in and open your angles it will be very versatile to play on the burn. Visit your local pro shop and grab one of the best balls out on the market today!

Anthony Wiegand Pro shop staff
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: PJ Haggerty on March 05, 2021, 12:56:09 PM
Roto Grip Rubicon UC2 Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

The Roto Grip Rubicon UC2 is the newest addition to the HP3 line and I LOVE it.  I’m a big fan of the original Rubicon and when a pearl version was released, I was pumped to be able to throw it.  The UC2 provides numbers of 2.49 and .052, respectively.  Along with a pearl coverstock, the UC2 is a clean, quick-responsive, asymmetrical ball that is a perfect addition to the current lineup of equipment. 

I’ve only needed to drill one UC2 and I think it’s a home run.  When the original Rubicon starts to bog down and I need to open my angles with a quick response time, the UC2 is a perfect ball to go to.  Also, I’ve had the most success with the UC2 on medium-longer patterns.  The RG suggests it should be very good on those types of patterns with higher amounts of volume too.  Lastly, when patterns blend and break down, the UC2 is a perfect ball to go right-to-left with a quick response time. 

If you need a ball that does the right thing when you need it, especially if you need to cover some boards, the Rubicon UC2 could be a perfect fit! 
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: Bigmike on March 07, 2021, 08:39:25 PM
I drilled my RUBICON UC2 up 60 x 4.5 x 30. I have thrown it at box finish which is polished and also hit it with a 2000 pad lightly.

The intent was to have a cleaner cover version of the RUBICON in my bag for when the RUBICON started to slow down or get lazy at the spot.

I have thrown the UC2 on mostly house as it came out right after the holidays when tournament play slowed down here in Ohio. On house it is nice to pull out when the dry starts to get sharp and my ZEN and AXIOM PEARL are getting to be too much off the spot. The UC2 is smoother than both of those and is a good compliment to sequence off of either of those balls.

Drill the UC2 up to get a cleaner option when the typical first stronger pearls out of the bag are too much and it is too early to go to the weaker core pearls.
Title: Rubicon UC2 review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on March 07, 2021, 10:50:33 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41
Volume:Medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS



COMMENTS

Core: Rondure
Cover: eTrax-S20 Pearl
Finish: 1500 Polish
RG: 2.49
Diff: 0.052

ME:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin over ring 55 X 4 1/2 X 30

The Roto Grip Rubicon UC2 is the latest release in Roto's' HP3 performance line. The Rondure core that was so popular in the original Rubicon has this time been wrapped in the very clean etrax pearl cover. A clean coverstock combined with a powerhouse asymmetric core has a predictable result. Power off the friction.

The UC2 is the quickest ball for me in the current SPI line-up. When it sees the friction, IT GOES. I first threw it on a broken down house shot. I had taken the time to watch a few of the staffers who got it before me and was excited to see it move. The first couple of shots were quick but not what I'd expected. I was confused until I threw my hy-road pearl in the same spot and watched it barely wiggle when it hit the back-end. There was so much carry-down on the pair I was amazed that the UC2 had been coming back. I didn't take it out again until the second game of league that week. I started to see my earlier ball slow down too much so I figured I'd give the UC2 a shot. I moved a few left and completely lost the ball off my hand. As I put my hands up to say oh no, the ball peeled back and ran over the 8 pin. Our house shot is pretty cliffed but I had no expectation of the ball hitting the head-pin. As a result my next shot I moved another 5 left and made a better shot. The angle this ball creates when going around the lane is fantastic. This ball is perfected designed to compliment the original rubicon. It's the skid/flip motion for newer lane patterns and e-trax was a great choice for cover. As a pro shop operator its always important to have these down-lane hook monsters available for the bowlers who judge ball strength by what the ball does in the back end.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Roto Grip Rubicon UC2
Post by: dstewart16 on March 08, 2021, 08:17:13 AM
introducing the newest addition to the HP3 Line the brand new Roto Grip Rubicon UC2! The brand new Rubicon UC2 is the Pearl version of the Rubicon! The Rubicon UC2 features the eTrax Pearl Reactive Coverstock wrapped around the Roudure Core which was previously seen in the Rubicon!

The Rubicon UC2 is very clean throughout the front and, mid part of the lane with a very smooth continuous motion on the backend which is unique for a shiny pearl ball! The Rubicon UC2 will come in handy for when I need to clear the front, mid part of the lane and, will be a good compliment to the Rubicon for when it starts to hook to early. The UC2 is a must for anyone and, found a spot in my bag immediately!
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: BEger on March 11, 2021, 12:22:41 PM
Roto Grip UC2 – layout 4.5 x 4 x 2
PAP - 5 7/8 over and 3/8 up
Style – stroker
Ball Speed – 14 mph
Condition – league pattern, HPL surface

The amount of quality products coming from the Roto Grip side has been tremendous lately. When I could roll anything from the 3 brands of Utah and cannot put down the RG product line, you know it is special.

Wow, the UC2 is an incredible addition to the current lineup of bowling balls. When Schlem announced the concept behind the Rubicon line it made sense. I have been someone over the years that has gravitated to symmetrical pieces based upon my rev rate and ball speed. However, this concept with the milder asymmetry to mimic a weight hole and still give somewhat of a symmetrical response is a home run.

From what I had seen of the ball it was quite angular and did not stop on the backend. We drilled mine with a bit of a stronger pin then what I normally use to help blend some of that response, and it did not disappoint. I wanted the ability to circle the lane or weaken the hand and play straight with this ball. I got that and more with the UC2.

I've left the ball in box surface so far. Typically, I want to take a pad to a ball right away to crack the shell. I really like what the ball does so far, so I’ll probably wait a while before making any surface adjustments.

I would highly recommend this ball as an option for just about everyone. It is really that special of a ball. If you paired this with a Rubicon and a spare ball you could tackle just about any league condition. Do not miss out on adding this ball to your arsenal.

Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: hammermike2000 on March 12, 2021, 02:03:53 PM
Layout: 40 x 4 3/16 x 35

Similar to how I could not put down the Idol Synergy as soon as I drilled it, the same thing has happened with the Rubicon UC2 – I have hardly thrown any other ball since I put holes in this purple beauty. It is super clean in the fronts but has a good bit of midlane traction to go with the strong backend that it possesses. I purposely drilled this ball with a stronger layout than I normally would, to make sure that the ball would not be too skid-flip. What I am left with is a strong arcing pearl ball that I can use on anything from medium-heavy to medium-dry lanes, with a ton of energy left when it goes through the pins.  As you'd likely guess, the original sanded Rubicon is a perfect ball to use when the lanes are too oily for the UC2.

Mike LeViner
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: Haley3 on March 15, 2021, 07:47:37 PM
The Rubicon UC2 is one special ball I really liked the original Rubicon so when i seen this got releases I couldn’t be more excited.
     I always tend to gravitate to Pearl reactive cover stocks mainly letting me play straighter for longer.  More of my comfort zone for sure if I can stay playing 2/3 arrow I will have good sets in league.   
   The UC2 for me is about 3 boards weaker then the OG Rubicon but obviously much different shape for sure. OG is super slow and controllable as the UC2 is more skid flip for me.
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: william.tefft on March 19, 2021, 12:53:33 PM
Ball Specs
Rubicon UC2
Cover: 1500 grit polished, eTrax Pearl Reactive
Weight Block: Roundure Core (Asymmetric)
Color: Cosmic Black/Purple Sky


Review:
I never had the opportunity to the original Rubicon but after throwing the Rubicon UC2 I can see why the original Rubicon was like so much. I drilled my Rubicon UC2 pin down with the purpose of using it on our house shot for league. This ball did not disappoint in anyway. It was clean though the fronts and gave me a nice mid lane reaction while storing all of it’s energy for when it hit the pins. I see the ball not only performing well on the typical house shot by also managing to make it’s way into my tournament bags for when I need a reliable ball that I can trust will not over react on me when I need something controllable. This was another fantastic bowling ball put out by Roto Grip. If you haven’t already picked yours up I wouldn’t highly suggest you making sure you get yours sooner rather then later because you will not regret it. 

Will Tefft
Roto Grip Staff Member
will@parklanes.net
www.rotogrip.com
#SquadRG



Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: DaveKlaas on March 22, 2021, 04:48:44 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 42 ft

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Effortless through the front, consistent at reading end of pattern

Dislikes: None so far!


First, some stats about me. I am a medium speed (15-16 MPH) player and slightly rev dominant. Last I checked, rev rate around 380 RPM. My A game is playing the middle part of the lane on a house pattern (between 15 and 20 at the arrows) but do not have a problem moving to either extreme if the pattern calls for it. My PAP is 4 7/16 over by 5/16 up.

The layout used on the ball is a 40 x 4 3/8 x 20. I wanted a piece in my bag that was effortless through the front but plenty of engine downlane for a sharp backend reaction. It has a 1500 Grit polished finish on the eTrax pearl reactive coverstock. I'm a big fan of darker color bowling balls going down the lane so I was very excited to try this one out.

The lane surface at my home house, Port Huron Lanes in Port Huron, MI, is Brunswick ProLane with a 42' house oil pattern.

For the house pattern, I always start with my feet on 25 and just aim at 15 to get the ball to 6-7 at the break point. I drilled this ball with the idea that it would get plenty of use when I need to get steep with my launch angle and this ball  definitely fits the bill. On the fresh, this ball reads the end of the pattern very aggressively so I do not think it will get much play until the lane breaks down a bit. In game 3 of a standard 5 man league, I was able to stand on 40, hit 17-18 at the arrows, go out to the dry and watch it boomerang back. If you need something to help get you through the front part of the lane, this shiny coverstock does that effortlessly and the strong core all but guarantees that it will read the end of the pattern properly. Very reliable and a perfect compliment to the original Rubicon!
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: NateGarcia on March 24, 2021, 07:46:16 PM
IM GOING TO SAY IT NOW!!! BALL OF THE YEAR!!! Ladies and gentlemen, Roto Grip has hit a home run with this release; Rubicon UC2. Same core featured in the original Rubicon with the Idol Pearl Coverstock. By far the best asymmetrical pearl bowling ball I have ever thrown hands down! If you need a ball that’s clean through the front part of the lane with some serious angle downlane, this is the ball to have in your bag.
I was very surprised at first at how much angle this ball creates off of the friction and it really burns up and goes forward, like the usual asym bowling ball shape. I can stay right and throw this ball hard or I can get in and create a ton of shape with this piece. Either way, this ball sends pins flying. In a three-month span, I have 4 300’s and 3 800’s with this ball. I cant say enough good things about this ball. Only thing left to say is get your as soon as possible at your local storm vip proshop if you want to keep up with the competition.
Title: Rubicon UC2 Review
Post by: sportshot on March 28, 2021, 11:55:58 AM
Roto Grip Rubicon UC2 Ball Specs:

Cover stock Etrax Pearl Reactive
Rondure Core (Asymmetrical)
Color Dark Purple 
Finish 1500-grit Polished

Bowler Specs:
Right Hand. PAP 5” Over 1/2 up
Rev Rate 300. Tilt 20. Rotation 50.
Speed at cameras 15.5

Review:
 The Roto Grip Rubicon UC2 has been very popular at our shop. We did a Matchmaker Ball Demo and sold a good number of these balls. The UC2 gives a ball motion most bowlers are looking for. It is clean enough through the front with a very nice angular move to the pocket. I feel that Roto has created an Asymmetric ball that does not read too early and we are getting balance hole fine tuning without the use of the now banned extra hole.  I have been really impressed with how this ball can master a house shot but is strong enough when you are playing a flatter more heavily oiled pattern. The Rubicon UC2 has plenty of bite in it for traction. The UC2 is stronger in reaction than my Trend but just a bit weaker than my Nuclear Cell. This is probably due to my Nuclear having a stronger mass bias. I did have a bit  of trouble leaving ring 10’s when I first rolled the UC2 on our house shot but after a teammate suggested I slow it down a bit the ball seemed to carry everything. This effect could also, I feel be achieved by hitting it with a 2000 or 3000 pad. I used to be uncomfortable sanding pearl balls but over the last 6 months or so I adjust with no worries because I feel the new covers are so good and made for adjustments. I can trust this ball to come back if I miss to the outside. On a lot of the newer Asymmetric balls I am drilling  the Mass Bias closer to the thumb but on the Rubicon UC2 I have put the Mass Bias next to the thumb or out on the VAL with great success. I feel this ball will be a strong seller for Roto Grip.

Summary:
The UC2 is a very strong pearl with control.
The entry angle and hit are very good.
The surface takes adjustments easily for fine tuning.

Video Link:
https://youtu.be/ZiJr1sJd_t8

Glenn Wendel
PBA Member
Storm Pro Shop Staff
gwendel@comcast.net
www.stormbowling.com
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: StormMan300 on March 29, 2021, 10:36:45 AM
Rubicon UC2

The Roto Grip Rubicon UC2 is the ball to get if you like the Rubicon but need more length and backend. This HP3 line ball is an asymmetric that feels like an HP4 line ball.  It skids nicely through the heads when there is oil like on fresh and delivers a strong backend motion.  Just make sure you have some head oil or it will start a little early and be super strong on the backend. It reminds me of the Idol Pearl just stronger overall.  It will jump off the dry as most reactive pearls should and will do. It’s great compliment to the Rubicon. Hitting Power is great like every Roto Grip Ball I’ve thrown. I can play pretty much any line but it seems best around 3rd to 4th arrow. Any deeper in the oil ill need to slow the ball speed for it to pick up if I don’t pitch it to the dry. My PAP is 5-1/8 and 1/8 up. Usually around 15-16mph, I’d probably be classified between a tweener and a cranker. I drilled this one 5.5x4x2
See my ball review video on YouTube here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yh336yW4Uyc
Title: Roto Grip UC2 by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on March 29, 2021, 10:54:35 AM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  400 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 ½ over and ½ up

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
VLS Layout:  5 x 4 x 2 1/2
Dual Angle Layout:  50 x 5 x 40

The UC2 is the pearl version of the OG Rubicon and the pearl mild asym replacement for the Idol Pearl.  It’s amazing.  It’s exactly what I wanted this ball to be.  It’s clean, hits the midlane plenty but not so much that it stops like the BIG asyms.  I have a pin down one that I throw a ton and I can throw it on the fresh and get in quite a bit before switching.  It acts an awful lot like my pin down Idol Pearl with a weight hole that I threw on everything and loved.  The UC2 is a must have from Roto Grip.
Title: Rubicon UC2
Post by: C-MartStorm on March 30, 2021, 03:43:41 PM
Roto Grip Rubicon UC2

Bowlers Info: RH tweener, PAP 4-1/2 x 7/8 up, 365 RPM, 17* of Axis tilt, 60* of Axis Rotation

Ball Layout: 50 x 5.5 x 50

Finish: OOB

For anyone that has enjoyed success with the Rubicon and the Halo Pearl, you will really like the UC2!!!  I drilled this similar to my old Halo Pearl wich was a 5.5” pin over middle finger and PSA kicked right.  For me, the UC2 is very skid/flip motion, cleaner than the Halo Pearl was but generally quicker off the spot.  I can see using this in the later games where my angles need to get steep and I need the quick recovery.  Amazing piece that allows me to open up the lane and tear ‘em up!!!

Chris Martinez
Storm Amateur Staff
www.stormbowling.com
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: tommygn on March 31, 2021, 09:29:12 AM
The Rubicon UC2 is the pearlized version of the ever popular Roto Grip Rubicon. The cosmic black/purple sky color eTrax pearl cover has an old school type color combination, but brings it to a modern era and feel with the bright pink lettering. The 15lb Rubicon UC2 numbers are 2.49 Rg, 0.052 diff, and 0.011 intermediate diff. The UC2 uses the same Rondure core as with the solid Rubicon. The Rondure core was designed by Roto Grip based on the new USBC no balance hole rule to give bowlers the reaction shape of a symmetrical bowling ball with a balance hole (that alters the core shape and final drill numbers), making it stronger than the same ball drilled without an extra hole. This helps bridge the gap between symmetrical, and big asymmetrical bowling balls.

I drilled the UC2 with a 4.5 X 3 X 4 layout, the same as my pin down Rubicon. Comparing the two balls in the respective box finishes, the UC2 clears the fronts and mids much easier by a few feet, and has a much more defined change of direction. The overall board coverage of the UC2 is a few boards less than the solid version, both in their respective box finishes. I polished my Rubicon with Storm step #2, to the same 1500 grit finish as the UC2 for comparison. With the Rubicon polished, the UC2 still has a much more defined breakpoint, and out hooks the polished Rubicon by a few boards. The UC2 finds the perfect line of being controllable and just on the verge of (without being too skid-flippy) a hockey stick type reaction. The UC2 likes some friction on the lane to help it slow down and go through the pins the right way. As always, a little surface can help with controlling when the UC2 wants to slow down, to produce the right amount of roll through the pins.

I like the UC2. Not only is it a great looking ball, the reaction shape is very usable for most conditions that have some friction to throw to. There would be a place in any bowlers bag to have both a Rubicon and the new UC2, with no overlap. The differences of the two are great enough, that I could see a hybrid version possibly coming to market, at least that would be my wishful thinking. Stop by your local certified pro shop, and drill a Rubicon UC2, and OWN IT!
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: TonyMarino on March 31, 2021, 09:03:24 PM
Rubicon UC2
The Rubicon UC2 is a pearl small asymmetric ball (cores with low intermediate differential) and pearl version of the original Rubicon solid. First blush is that the UC2 is amazing, and it is already making BIG waves on the PBA tour and in leagues throughout the country. The Rubicon UC2 out of box is very clean and because of the low int. diff. is a med-med/fast response reaction down lane. I am really impressed with how versatile the UC2 is for as clean and responsive it is.
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: Chase_KosProshop on April 05, 2021, 08:04:41 PM
The Roto Grip Rubicon UC2 is the Pearl Compliment To the Solid Rubicon, Although i did not have a chance to throw the original Rubicon i can see why the reviews were outstanding on it. This Ball Reminds me of the old school Storm/Roto Reaction, this ball Really Corners hard down lane and has recovery for Days. When i need to get left and throw it right this is my go to ball. This ball is perfect for when the lanes break down a bit as it glides down the lane effortlessly.

Chase Roloson

Roto Grip Amateur Staff

Ko's Proshop Staff

#StormNation #SquadRG #900Global #StrikingWorldwide
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: peterdohanjr on April 07, 2021, 09:58:02 PM
Rubicon UC2 Ball Review

Ball Specs:
Coverstock:  pearlized eTrax
Core: Asymmetric Rondure
RG: 2.49   Diff:  .052    PSA:  .011

Bowler Specs:
Rev Rate: 325 rpm
Speed: 15.5 mph
PAP: 5 ¼ over   ¾ up

Layout:  Dual angle 30 X 41/2 X 30

Video Comparison review:   https://youtu.be/pfY1qodfMRE

The first time I saw this ball go down the lane was during a MatchMaker event. The bowling center that was hosting is a high friction center that I bowl team tournaments in. After the first session of the MatchMatcher and seeing all the different types of bowlers roll this ball and have a similar ball reaction I knew I needed this ball in the arsenal. The Rubicon UC2 was clean through the fronts and had a noticeable change of direction off the dry for all the bowlers rolling it.

For me the Rubicon UC2 is what I wanted from the !Q Emerald on house shots. It has the length but quicker off the dry than the !Q Emerald. With the lower differential in the !Q line the emerald was way too long and very slow off the dry which caused it to be very conditional for me. The Rubicon UC2 with a stronger core gives me the same length but with the quicker off the dry reaction down the lane it lets me play deeper on the lanes (3rd and 4th arrow) which the Emerald wouldn’t allow me to do.

This ball is one of the more versatile pearls in my arsenal. Along with the team tournaments I use it on the second shift league I bowl in.  Since pearls give me extra length, with my speed and rev rate, I will have a 2000 abralon handy to help with any over/under reactions I may encounter.


Pete Dohan
Storm Amateur Staff
#StormNation
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: zshoff517 on April 09, 2021, 03:20:43 PM

Rubicon UC2
Versatile – Motion – Controllable
These are the three words that comes to mind to me when I think about how the Rubicon UC2 rolls for me. Versatile because I can play straight down 10 board or if I need to open my angles I can play left and somewhere around 20 board out to 5 and still have the hitting power through the pocket. Motion of this ball is crazy! Everyone I know compares this ball to the Idol Pearl and I loved that ball which made this choice a no brainer. Controllable is the last word I would say about this ball because even with the snap and quick turn off the spot this ball has it is constant and predictable. Highly recommend if you want a ball that is going to move more in the backend and if you are looking for a ball that help you open your angles.

Zach Shoff
900 Global Amateur Staff









Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: Kyle.Johnson88 on April 17, 2021, 03:12:01 PM
Ball Specs:
Roto Grip Rubicon UC2
Coverstock: 1500 Polished eTrax™ Pearl Reactive
Weight Block: Rondure™ Core (Asymmetrical)
Color: Cosmic Black/Purple Sky

Review:
The Rubicon UC2 continues the greatness of the Rubicon line giving you a ball to transition to as the lanes change. Because of this, you see a lot of seasoned veterans and tournament bowlers transitioning to this piece deep in a block. For the average league bowler or someone looking to expand their bag, the price point offers a look into strong backend motion with incredible continuation. Overall, this ball is a very versatile piece of equipment and there is no doubt you will be seeing a lot of purple and black on TV.

Kyle & Joel Johnson
Roto Grip Pro Shop Staffers
joel@parklanes.net
kyle@parklanes.net
www.RotoGrip.com
#SquadRG
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: rotogrip_rick on April 24, 2021, 10:05:55 PM
Roto Grip Rubicon UC - e-TRAX pearl coversotck - Rondure Core
1500ab grit with factory polish - layout 55 x 2 1/2 x 55
The next step in ball motion is here - the Roto Grip Rubicon UC2. The Rondure core is a edgy core design, making the core asymmetrical, but very close to a symmetrical after drilling.
On mine Bret at Bowlers' Supply laid it out to miss a majority of the spikes on the core to keep the integrity of the core in place.
Even with short pin layout, the ball still went down farther down lane then the Roto Grip Idol Synergy and the Nuclear Cell with longer pin layouts. The "wobble" that the ball produces allows it to pack a powerful punch off of the dry and packs power through the pin deck.
Used the ball on older HPL with a 44ft THS with a HUGE amount of volume and the ball rode through the front part of the pattern like a ninja sword slicing through watermelons. Best additional for a step up from the RST X-1 and the Idol Synergy.
Thanks to Bowlers' Supply, Inc and Vise Inserts for their continued support and teaching more about this awesome game of bowling!!!
#SquadRG
#3Gshoes
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: crasnic2012 on April 27, 2021, 07:28:33 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41
Volume:Medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS



COMMENTS

Core: Rondure
Cover: eTrax-S20 Pearl
Finish: 1500 Polish
RG: 2.49
Diff: 0.052


The Rubicon UC2 is everything I expected and then some. For me the UC2 will be a great THS ball or a later in the day tournament ball. Its so clean down the lane, but once it hits the friction it just goes. The backend reaction is really where this ball shines, as you can just keep moving left with your feet, the ball drives harder and harder off the dry. I was a little worried that for me this ball would go to long before making the turn, and leaving a lot of corner pins, that was not the case. The pin action is something that is most impressive with the UC2. This is a ball that will be in the bag for a long time.
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: StanleyW on May 17, 2021, 11:54:52 AM
Rubicon UC2 - Ball Specs
Cover Stock: eTrax Pearl Reactive
Finish: 1500 Grit Polished
Core: Rondure Core
Layout: 65 x 4 1/4 x 40
RG: 2.49
Differential: 0.052
Intermediate Diff: .011

Review
The HP3 line Rubicon UC2 has the Rondure Core which was developed to increase the ball’s motion throughout the lane with the absence of the balance hole. The UC2 is very clean through the front part of the lane, reads the midlane well and turns the corner hard on the backend. As a mid to low rev player the UC2 eTrax Pearlized cover stock will flex its muscles during transition especially on longer house patterns to help get the corner pins out. I tested this ball on 44 feet typical house pattern with a lot of down lane transition. This ball will be in my bag for league and tournaments. This is a great ball for all levels of bowlers. Order one from your local pro shop today! My ball review videos are posted on YouTube channel Stanley Waite.


Stanley Waite
900 Global Staff Member
Dover, DE