BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 11, 2021, 11:01:24 AM

Title: Rubicon UC2
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 11, 2021, 11:01:24 AM
Roto Grip is doing something different with the Rubicon upper-mid performance balls in their HP3 line of balls. Like the original Rubicon the Rubicon UC2 (Ultimate Concept 2) uses the asymmetrical Rondure Core which was designed to provide more ball motion overall without the need for the now-banned balance hole. This performance core is wrapped in Roto Grip's eTrax-S20 Pearl Reactive coverstock which was formulated to offer a response on various lane conditions due to its ability to clear the lane then react powerfully on the backend. Out of the box this ball is ideally used on medium to medium/heavy oil conditions.

Color: Cosmic Black/Purple Sky
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Core: Rondure Core (Asymmetrical) (14-16#)
Coverstock: eTrax-S20 Pearl Reactive
Finish: 1500-grit Polished
RG: 2.49 (for 15# ball)
Differential: 0.052 (for 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium to Medium/Heavy
Title: Roto Grip Rubicon UC2 review by Trevor Roberts
Post by: TrevorRoberts on February 11, 2021, 12:16:20 PM
Lane Condition
Length: 40
Volume: Medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

Comments
After drilling two Rubicons, I was very excited for the pearl version, the Rubicon UC2. I just threw it for the first time yesterday and I’m already impressed by the motion. The cover is even cleaner than I thought it would be, giving me a nice compliment to the Nuclear Cell. In my YouTube ball review you will see how the Rubicon UC2 is a little bit cleaner through the fronts than the Nuclear Cell, giving it a sharper down lane motion. This ball will be great for house shots and for any time you need to move left with your feet. Oh and have you seen the colors of this ball? The pink lettering on top of the shiny, dark cover looks great! I might have two or three of these, it’s that good!

YouTube Review
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i46yFoNdY3s&t=34s

Social Media
Click This Link Below For All Social Media :
https://linktr.ee/TrevorRobertsBowler

Bowlifi
Save $5.00 On Your First Order
Click This Link Below To Order Your Bowlifi Jersey :
https://www.bowlifi.com/user/trevorroberts

Bowler Stats
Trevor Roberts
2016 PBA Southern Regional Rookie Of The Year
Storm Products / Turbo 2n1 Grips / Bowlifi Staff Member
Right Handed
Rev Rate: 400
Speed: 16
PAP: 5 1/2 up 13/16
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: ShimWreckerEnterprises on February 16, 2021, 03:58:19 PM
The Roto Grip Rubicon UC2 brings a shiny pearl version of the original Rubicon to the line, and it's everything you expect and then some! An updated version of eTrax Pearl (Idol Pearl, Halo Pearl) with the same mildly-asymmetric Rondure core from the original Rubicon. The overall shape feels very reminiscent of the original Rubicon just getting further down the lane and turning harder once it sees friction - which also brings it to feel VERY familiar to the legendary Code Black from the Storm catalog. It's a great skid-flip piece for later in a block that brings a lot more control to the picture than most balls in the category, and mine is a permanent fixture in my travel bag!
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: rcgilmore on February 17, 2021, 11:07:12 AM
Cover: eTrax Reactive Pearl
RG: 2.49
Diff:0.052
PSA: 0.011

This ball is awesome!! I liked the Rubicon Solid a lot when it was released. However, I have been looking for a pearl ball with this ball motion since I switched companies. This ball was a pleasant surprise for me. The layout is 60 X 3 ¼ x 45. The UC2 is cleaner down lane and picks up and drives through the pocket. I was surprised how well it blended out the house shot I bowl on when the lanes broke down. When others were leaving corner pins, I was carrying the pocket and the ball was still getting through the pins. I can create shape with the UC2 and trust it will turn the corner. I did hit it with 3000 which made it a bit smoother and doesn’t’ jump of the friction. Lately this has been the first ball out of the bag!! I highly recommend the UC2 if you are looking for that stronger Asymmetrical ball that will fit pretty much all styles of play you won’t be disappointed.
Title: Rubicon UC2 by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on February 18, 2021, 08:50:31 AM
The Rubicon UC2 features the etrax pearl cover and mild asymmetric Rondure core.  The eTrax formula has been used in several iterations in the HP3 and HP4 lines over the last few years, and this version of the formula is the pearl version of the Idol Synergy cover.  The Rondure core comes in at a 2.49 RG, .052 differential, and .011 split or intermediate differential in 15 pounds, the idea again being to mimic a stronger symmetric ball with a weight hole.  The original Rubicon was already pretty quick on friction despite being a solid, with the cleaner eTrax base formula on it, it definitely punched a lot, and the UC2 takes that up to 9000.  It’s very quick on friction and very easily controlled and manipulated with physical adjustments, I can play virtually anywhere I want to with this ball as you’ll see here in a few seconds.  It’s becoming a favorite of both Angel and mine because it’s very easy down the lane and turns quickly on friction, while being a lot more consistent than you might expect it to be.  It gets easy length for Angel and more punch than she gets out of literally anything else in her bag, and for me it’s something I can float out of and still get a sharp and visually comfortable move on the backend.  In addition, if I need to get deep, there are no angles it won’t recover from, at least if you’re on the right conditions for it.  The Rubicon UC2 is a ton of fun, it’s moved its way into both of our main league bags, and paired with the Rubicon, they’re a pretty devastating combo.  I give the Rubicon UC2 a 7 for hook, 7 for length, and a 9 for backend strength.
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: Rick K on February 19, 2021, 10:02:13 PM
Rubicon UC2 • Performance Line • HP3 
Coverstock • eTrax Pearl Reactive Finish • 1500 Grit Abralon
Core • Rondure Asymmetric
RG • 2.49 Differential • 0.052 Int. Differential •.011
Layout • 50 x 4.25 x 35
Tester PAP = 4 ½ R x 3/8 D • Tester Axis Tilt = 12° •Testers Rev Rate = 325
Test Pattern = 42’ THS • Modified, Kegel Stone Street

Roto Grip continues cultivating innovation with the release of the Rubicon UC2 (Ultimate Concepts 2). The mildly asymmetric Rondure core combined with the latest eTrax (Enhanced Traction) pearlized coverstock makes the Rubicon UC2 a pin crushing monster for your arsenal. Let’s take a look!
The “mildly” asymmetric Rondure core introduced with the Rubicon is a game changer for a straighter and more down and in player like me.  I found “mildly” asymmetric to mean the best of two cores in one, if you will.  This core rev’d early in the mid-lane with the precision of a symmetric core and simply continued to roll like a freight train down lane! Starting from fresh oil straight up 7, to after the transition where I was able to look 15, the Rondure core was impressive all night.  This hard rolling asymmetric core explodes at the pocket and maintains a strong continuation through the pins regardless of entry angle and keeps rolling its way through the pin-deck.
The eTrax Pearlized coverstock completes the UC2 quite nicely. Out of the box, the 1500 grit polished surface performed smoothly all night. On fresh oil, the cover cleared the heads easily and maintained a strong turn off the pattern.  The eTrax pearl cover read the mid-lane section throughout the night with a smooth and predictable motion and stayed consistent.  As the shot broke down I appreciated this cover’s ability to blend the deteriorating condition without “jumping” off the spot. I found the eTrax “pearl reactive cover” to be exactly as written. It’s a pearl but it is reactive!
In closing, I found the Rubicon UC2 to be a hard-hitting, strong rolling weapon! If you’re a more down and in player like me who counts on that extra hitting power, look no further. This ball is the right choice! The Rubicon UC2 belongs in your bag! Have your local pro shop operator drill yours up today!

Rick Klimowicz
Storm Products Pro Shop Staff
Roll the Ball Pro shop
Penndel, Pa
 
Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: MANCSTORM on February 26, 2021, 08:23:39 AM
UC2 will be 1 if those balls that stays around for a long time. It's that good and that useable. The ease it gets threw the front with along with it's strong recovery will not only make it into everyone's league bag but it will also be a must for tournaments. The ball is not only useable but it's fantastic from many different angles. You can't ask for much more!

Title: Re: Rubicon UC2
Post by: Kevin Duncan on February 27, 2021, 08:16:00 AM
Roto Grip Rubicon UC2
Layout: 4 x 4 x 2
Rev Rate: 325 rpm, 7 degree of axis tilt, 40 degree of axis rotation
Testing information: 41 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine – Brunswick Anvilane

The Roto Grip Rubicon UC2 utilizes the Rondure Core and newly formulated eTrax pearl coverstock. Wow! What a clean ball through the fronts then a big back end motion.  The backend recovery is really impressive.  The UC2 will be a house shot wrecker and one of your first options if you need to move left and throw it to the right.  The UC2 is already becoming a favorite on the PBA tour. A great color scheme just adds to its appeal.
Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop!
#Stormnation
#SquadRG