BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM

Title: Silver Streak
Post by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM
Factory Finish: 1500- Polished

Radius Of Gyration: Low (2.52)

Differential: Medium (.040)

Hook Potential: 16 (25 scale)

Flare Potential: 4 Inches

Length: 7 (10 scale)

Backend: 8 (10 scale)

Coverstock: Sure Griptm Reactive

Available Weights: 12-16 Lbs.

Weight Block: Modified Rotarytm core

Color: Classic Black

D-Scale: 75-78
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: BowlPro on April 21, 2002, 10:04:53 PM
This Black Beauty is ready to Strike!

We got our first Silver Streak a couple of weeks ago and have already put several of our Tournament Staff bowlers into this one!

Roto-Grip, "Owned and Manufactured by Storm" has a new choice for the
drier lane conditions!

The Silver Streak features a Modified version of the "Rotary Core" used previously in the Retro-Red and Retro-Blue! What they mean by (Modified) is that they turned the weight block (Upside down) and slighly decreased the size of the Flip Block! by doing so they lowered the RG factor and Differntial factor taming this baby down!

The Silver Streak features the "Sure Grip" Reactive cover stock rated at (16+) hook on the Roto-Grip Scale.

We used our favorite 4X4 drilling on this one and went to the lanes and enjoyed it from the first frame! This ball is in a word, SMOOTH!

No jurk, No great Snap!, just great control and "Pin Blastin Hit!"

Shined up out of the box, we found this cover to work well on the second and third shift league conditions that we used it on!

We were very impressed with the forgiveness the ball gave us on a few bad shots that we sent too wide and or pulled!

We believe that anyone who gets this one will find a friend that they can trust!

A word of CAUTION to you crankers out there!
Our Cranker Tester found this ball to also be good but he did experience some over/under in that we believe the low RGs of this core will require that you be careful as to the drilling pattern that you use!

We suggest you consult your Local Proshop Professional to ensure that
your drilling pattern
will compliment your bowling style on this one!

We highly recommend this ball to all bowlers and to Our Customers!

BowlPro
www.discount-proshop.com
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: Wilbert on April 23, 2002, 04:22:42 PM
This is a repost of the review orginally on the Storm Form.

The ball was drilled with the pin above the fingers and the CG slightly right (5 x 4 1/2). I have medium/medium slow speed and medium/medium low revs. The ball glides through the heads and provides a arc to the pocket. The ball was drilled for drying conditions while still giving enough finish to play inside lines. Just what I got.

The ball has the length of two piece equipment like the Lightning and Beast, but has a stronger finish. It is not as strong as a Eraser, but people with hands can make this finish strongly. I would say it is a fit between the Eraser and the Lightning Flash. For me the Lightning Flash does not hit hard enough. The Silver Streak solves that problem.

I would give the ball a solid 8.

Length I would give it a 7 out of 10 and finish I would give it a 7 also.

Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: The Choppn Block on May 05, 2002, 10:24:01 PM
I got my hands on one before heading north to bowl. This ball is the truth!!!

I layed mine out with a 4x5 layout. This ball provides length while rolling heavy in the mids. When this ball finally reached the breakpoint it just bounced. Was not a dead snap but a very strong arc that provided excellent carry.

I plan on keeping this ball a secret from those who do not know...Would not want to give anyone an advantage.

WARNING***heavy handed players, do not think this is going to be your dry lane piece.
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: Bradley Hay on May 26, 2002, 02:59:40 PM
WOW!

Ball is drilled "rev leverage"..
Pin is 1 1/4" right of centerline (my PAP is 6")
Cg is 2" right of centerline on the cutline of thumbhole
in box started w/ 3 1/2oz TW.. weighthole put 6" over, 3 1/4" down

This ball is incredible. No end to the power of this ball. It
does not quit when it turns over.

Just like someone stated before, heavy-handed players need not apply
if you want this ball to be your long ball. Trust me I know thinking
it was gonna be a long ball.

Also the specs say flare potential at 4", WRONG, I get almost 7" w/ this
ball.. I don't mind the hook but as long as it is not rolling or flaring out.
I did experience a flare out a few times bowling Saturday, but it still hits incredibly hard.

Would I recommend this ball to anyone? Yes.
Do I think it is a tournament condition ball? Yes.

And I guess since we have been putting a rating on the ball.. 9.25

It gets through the heads with ease, rolls great through the midlane and
makes a great turn on the backends.
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: morpheus on May 28, 2002, 10:12:47 AM
Starting Ball Specs
-------------------
Pin:  Out 3"
Top Weight:  2 3/4 oz.

Finished Specs
--------------
Side Weight:  3/4
Finger Weight:  1/8
Top Weight:  5/8 oz.
Pin 5 1/2" from axis, CG 4" from axis no weight hole.  Pin is above the ring finger.

Let me start by saying this ball is much stronger than the specs would indicate, producing 7+ inches of track flare.  Even with this much flare, the ball is strong in the midlane without stopping on the back.  I have used this ball shiny and dull, and tend to prefer the latter for control on tighter conditions without early hook.  For comparison, this ball gives me a look similar to my Vortex II with less strength in the midlane, smoother transition off the dry, and more continuation on the back.  Overall, an excellent ball with plenty of hitting power.  

Hope this helps,
Morpheus
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: MichiganBowling on September 13, 2002, 09:07:06 PM
I got this ball the same time I got my fuel.  This ball is a straighties dream ball.  I rev the ball up a lot and like this ball a lot, but it is a bit of a condition ball for me because it's so sharp on the back end.  It's very peculiar, it doesn't skid right (for a righty) but it skids down the lane rather well and absolutely flips over.  When I'm having trouble hitting my breakpoint with other balls I pull this bad boy out of my bag.  

On oilier lanes the silver streak is my first option.  It seems to carry everything when I can play straight with it.

If you're looking for a great 1-2 punch, this ball works great with the Fuel.  Start out with this ball as it gives a little more push, then move to the fuel when you get some carry down.  This is one of the best 2 ball combos I've ever had in my bag at one time.  Congratulations on some awesome releases rotogrip!

Gotta give it an A, 93%
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: Michael W Walls on February 01, 2003, 01:04:22 AM
I drilled this ball 4x2.75, 1/8oz finger weight, 5/8oz side weight, Xtra hole on PAP, pin out 3 3/8..I dulled this ball with green scotch brite.. It starts mid-lane with a mild arc reaction...I love rolling this ball
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: Mr Scary on February 03, 2003, 02:37:23 PM
Drilling: 15 lb., stacked.

I drilled this on up in Nov., after I won the qualifier for the PBA stop in my hometown.  This is the most predictable ball I have ever thrown.  It is a little stronger than the specís say, but well worth the investment.  If you want smooth, predictability, strong, and powerful, this is definitely the ball for you.  You cannot go wrong with this one.
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: Sirbowlsalot on February 10, 2003, 02:04:19 PM
Ball- 14lbs  5oz.  Pin-out 3 1/2in with 2.8 topweight
Drilling- 12:00 stacked with pin above fingers and cg above midline.

  Talk about a ball not fitting someones style and this is where I am at.  A friend recommended this ball to me and, after much debate, I decided to try one out and see if it would be a good choice for me also.  Keep in mind that I have seen him shoot great with his and was quite impressed with what I saw.  Unfortunately for me, this ball doesn't fit my game.

  This is a STRONG cover and an early rolling, lower RG weightblock.  I am an "up the back" type bowler and have no trouble getting a ball into a roll without help from the weightblock.  To make a long story short, for me this ball burns it's energy way too early and has little left for the backend of the lane.  When I threw it perfect it would hit, other than that I couldn't carry and had little or no consistency with it.

  This is a good and very smooth ball, it just rolls to early for my style.  I also didn't see it as versatile because nothing I tried seemed to work but my friend was still shooting good with his.  I think this will be a better choice for someone who is a little "rotationally challenged" or somone with more sideturn than me.  

On a scale of 1 to 10, I give it a 5 cause it definitely will hit, just not for me!
--------------------
ILLEGITIMI NON-CARBORUNDUM
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: Juggernaut on March 23, 2003, 09:13:18 PM
First, let me say I had high hopes for this one!  Unfortunately for me, they didn't pan out.  This is probably one of the most inconsistent balls I have ever tried to throw.

  I know this ball works great for a lot of you, but it was like a hunk of fecal matter in my hands.  One time it would smash the rack, the next time it would skid through the breakpoint and get 5 on a washout.

  I had it drilled pretty basic. Pin above fingers with the cg directly below in the palm, just above the midline.  Ball had 2.9 top before drilling, so I know it was'nt a funky topweight or something, it just didn't work for me AT ALL!!!  I am a high tracking 3/4 roller with decent speed (15-17 mph) and medium revs(325-350).  I've seen this ball work great for others but leave me out of this one.

P.S.  Hated it so much I gave it to a junior bowler tonight.  It only had 8 games on it too.
--------------------
Just call me Stan, it's much easier to say!
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: rotomike on March 25, 2003, 09:57:43 PM
WOW!!! This is the foundation ball for any serious bowler.

I have drilled three so far.  Very versatile.  I have used them on everything from a 40' house wall to a 32' Sport Condition. Clean look, consistent read of the lane control of the breakpoint.  Hitting power is exceptional.

Layout #1 5 1/2 x 4 Box Finish - My everyday ball.
Layout #2 5 x 3 Light Scuff - Longer Pattern Ball.
Layout #3 1 x 4 Box finish - Squirrly lane ball.

I love this ball!!!
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: bdubrollin300 on May 13, 2003, 01:39:47 AM
This ball is amazing.

Thats all I got to say, I drilled it stacked, pin between the fingers. and it tore up the house apart even bowling after the Cosmic session before i got on the lanes. Sweet ball
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: Can you Rev on May 24, 2003, 04:11:35 PM
See profile for specs on me.

15lb silver streak solid with 4" pin drilled 5 x 5. Top weight was 3 ounces.

When I first threw this ball in its out of box condition I think it was by far the strongest resin ball I have touched. The ball flared about 6 inches and made obnoxiously hard left turns off of the dry boards. So I played with the surface and now have the ball down to 1000 grit with no polish to tame down the backends a bit.

With that said this is going to be the ball for me to have on oil. Seems like the more oil I see, the better this ball fits my game. The backend pop and the hitting power of this ball on oily conditions is AWESOME. Much like the silver streak pearl that I recently reviewed, the ball revs early and stores energy well until it makes its move and destroys the rack on pretty much any variety of pocket hits. The nine pin tries to stand sometimes but it inevitably meets its doom from one of the various messengers that fly across the rack.

The ball does fairly well on carrydown and does not develop any major over/under problems. It might do so on really heavy carrydown, but I never see much more than moderate carrydown at most.

So, in short it will be a great ball for anyone with hand for anything other than a flood with carrydown down to long, medium quantities of oil. For weaker releases the ball should play any medium pattern you will ever see and you'll want to look into the silver streak particle for heavy conditions.

I would recomend that most people keep the layouts simple as the ball is very effective on its own and does not need any funky layouts to get the job done. Unless you are a major fluffer a 3 3/8 x 3 3/8 layout will most likely be anything other than practical because of this ball's natural tendencies.

AWESOME BALL FROM ROTO GRIP. EVERYONE NEEDS ONE OF THESE
--------------------
BUMPER BOWLING IS FOR THE KIDDIES
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: Dyno-Thane on June 06, 2003, 02:01:45 PM
This ball is a great hooking ball.  I mostly play second arrow and send it out to 5-6 and comes back great.  The most problem Ive had with this ball is me.  I shot 641 out of the box with it.
--------------------
Jeremy Gelwicks
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: DP3 on August 21, 2003, 03:29:12 AM
Rarely a ball comes out that fits well with all styles of bowlers and all types of players.  The Silver Streak Solid is one of those balls.

I work around alot of Roto-Grip staffers and at the pro shop I work in Roto-Grip is highly pushed and makes up about 70% of our stock.  In the area I bowl in Roto-Grip is getting so popular you see at least a Top Fuel, Silver Streak and Sonic X on every rack in the house.  After having this ball recommended to me for the longest by the pro shop owner and exclusive Roto-Grip user Billy Slater I drilled one up to fill the gap in my arsenal which was an all around medium condition ball that was very even and readable with a controlled backend.  

This ball started out with 2.42 oz topweight and a 3 1/2 inch pin.  I put the C.G in the center of my grip with the pin directly over top of the ring finger.  Boy this ball is so smooth, yet very strong off the transition from oil to dry that I am killing myself for not drilling this ball earlier in the season when I could have used something as even as this.  As with all of the Roto-Grip equipment the finish at the pin deck is amazing.  They really keep the pins low.  Nothing flying around like crazy, everything is either low to the deck or goes back all at once.  The only downside to this is that due to the milder drilling I put in this ball, covering alot of boards isn't a good idea since there isn't enough entry angle to play inside with unless I feel like carrying light mixers and trip 4s all day.  However this plays a very defined track very well and is extremely smooth and strong at the same time.
--------------------
-D. Marshall
ScratchBowling.com Shirt Staff 2003-2004
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: tonygee on August 21, 2003, 11:34:20 AM
16lb
3" pin
3oz tw

drilled 3.88x1.89
1.2139oz negative

Stole my brother's righty ball while he was out golfing and drilled it up for myself.  The hit was not spectacular but the carry was KING OF THE CAGE Crazy!  Tried it on a not so friendly condition which allowed only weak drillings to work for me and...it didn't work...pocket 7-10 weak 10s weak 7s high hit 6-8 wasn't a pretty sight, but my opponent was on a rampage anyway so it didn't really matter.  Conclusion: Drill another Streak witha weak layout to combat this condition thasall.

Wish I could use this ball on all conditions but on oil it just slides like my butt on the first arrow on synthetic approaches.  Won't try the other Roto's though because there are other better balls for oil like the Track Freaky series.

For me different manufacturers have different charateristics which fulfills a niche in my bag.  The Silver Streak will knock out my Columbia Pulse Pearl and Messenger TI Traction.

Black Ball no swirls boring logo but I'll trade "pretty" for a check any day
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: tonygee on October 05, 2003, 05:25:17 AM
After another league night using my Gold er...Silver Streak I feel the same as I always feel after a night with this Ebony Beauty...what am I thinking I mean WHAT AM I THINKING trying to constantly search for the right balls to fill my arsenal when I can fill it with six of these Plutonium filled Weapons of Mass Destruction.  Of course we all know this is not possible, we all know this is only a mid reacting mid priced GYRATING MONSTA!  

Keep your high tech high priced magic floo floo "hail mary will my new $599 ball strike?" balls and give me this hardcore "speak softly and carry a big stick" 60 foot time bomb any ol' day!
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: Garcia on October 07, 2003, 04:02:04 AM
Drilled - Pin below bridge, Cg kicked out, X-hole

Ive heard good things about the Streak. Great all-around... blah blah blah. This ball clears the fronts cleaner than any solid Ive ever thrown. Hooks harder on the backend than any solid also. It was a little too eratic so I hit it with a Grey Scotchbrite (about 800grt) smooth the reaction. Great ball for any medium oil pattern. Reminds me of a Ebonite V2 solid with more backend.

Its biggest strength is its ability to save energy for the backend. Strong core, lots of flare, extremely versatile. Great ball for any medium condition. And for the money, there are few better.
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: WAYouthBowler on October 23, 2003, 07:22:58 AM
3.5" Pin.

Low top weight.

Drilled label, with two coats of Black Magic finished with Doc's Magic Elixir.

No matter where I go, I cannot get this ball to push through the middle. I HAVE to get this ball out if I'm bowling on a wall. It is flat out one of the most aggressive resins I have ever own, and it will make the turn from anywhere on the lane. It is so aggressive that I do not throw it much because I honestly have a hard time controlling the reaction.

Perhaps I should have given it a more rolling drill... but this ball will continue to have a place in my bag, just need to find enough head oil to be able to consistently throw it. At least it didn't cost an arm and a leg.

7/10
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: cosmo on October 23, 2003, 11:15:53 AM
I picked this ball up used a couple of months from pnj1967. It was in great condition and all I did was plug the thumb and used the same layout he had. Pin next to ring finger and cg stacked just above the thumb as it was a 4" pin. I've been trying to keep ball in "box" condition - polished 1500 or so and cleaned after every set.

This ball was exactly what I was looking - glides easily through the heads, nice midlane revs and hard continuous arc to the pocket. The hit is incredible - I've never had pins explode off the deck like they do with this ball. When I do come in light, it really throws them around too.

Haven't really had a chance or the need to move deep inside with it since I've been able to make slight adjustments when the heads start to breakdown. Plus I just picked up the SS Pearl for the toast. I can't wait to get this ball drilled.

For the value, this ball can't be beat. Several people in my area have now got themselves one after seeing mine in action. Esp when they learn that it's a relatively cheap ball. Great job RG.

Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: Leftyhi-trak on October 31, 2003, 04:21:41 PM
Ball: Silver Streak pin 2.5" and 3.2 top

Got this ball last winter but waited till spring to drill it. I had asked my driller to punch it out 5.25X3.5 for me and he did, but put the pin under the ring finger. At the time my track was much higher and this pattern did not work that well. I will say it carried very nicely on pocket or high flush with great continuation through the pins but was faced up way too early unless playing deep inside with clean backends. REDRILL*** Hate to redrill but was going to give this ball a chance to prove itself. Well so far i have not been disappointed. I had it punched up with pin over ring cg stacked under. Ball gets good length on a med-heavy shot with nice hard arc to pocket. I guess I expected more of a skid-snap but am still quite happy. I am using this ball in between my V2 solid and my Nighthawk. The one thing i did note on this ball is it reacts well to hand adjustments. I will be using this ball more in the next few weeks. I used it this week in the final game for a 248 with a stone 9 pin.
Nice ball good carry great price. This ball can go into any tourney arsenal or would be a great all around ball for stroker+ Tweener on all mediums.

Rating: Will let you know after some tournaments.
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: justalefty on November 30, 2003, 09:01:35 PM
I love this ball!!!  I just started bowling last year and I purchased this ball at the beginning of this season and have added 40 pins to my average.  I can't say that it is completely the ball but it helped.  I play in 5 different leagues and in 2 different houses and generally is 3 different shot patterns.  The ball was drilled to go a little longer than my other equipment but with my game getting stronger and me getting stronger I play a little swing on it.  I have to say that it is the best ball in my bag.  I have a Brunswick fuze Detonator and a Buzzsaw Super Carbide plus a plastic spare ball
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: Jeffrevs on December 09, 2003, 09:29:12 AM
got this ball as a blem, now gone however....See profile for more info....

I really liked this ball once I got used to the recovery it had !! This ball (as all the streaks ) are diamonds in the rough!  NOT BEING NEGATIVE,  but this ball is stronger than the numbers appear.

I could use this ball from inside lines, which is NOT my forte' whatsoever! In box condition this is a great overall medium condition ball, scuffed you can probably handle some good medium-heavies with no problem. The slight scuff on this cover will tame the backend just a bit as it will be using more energy down the lane....

Had this ball drilled 4x5, 1.5" inch pin in ball.........If you want to try Roto Grip stuff, this is a GREAT starting point...from here you can go heavier and lighter, I can see this ball being used as a benchmark ball and/or a first out of anyones bag!

WARNING!:  Don't drill it and throw it in league before you practice with it!!! You much practice with this ball so you truly understand what it can do.

Many 230-250 games with this ball!!  It hits GREAT and carries well,....sends messengers like they were shot out of a cannon !
--------------------
JEFF
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: Admiral50 on December 11, 2003, 05:05:13 PM
16# pin about 3" , drilled with pin below ring finger cg swung out to 3 o'clock xtra hole on PAP.  I absolutely love this ball.  This is my favorite drilling, also have a SSP with this pattern.  This ball revs up and turns the corner leaving nothing in its path.  All of the silver streaks hit sooooo good!!!
If you are looking for that mid priced ball you can't go wrong with any ball in the silver streak line.  This ball is definitely stronger than the specs.

Also, have another one drilled cg in palm pin about 11o'clock, negative drilling as I am RH.  This ball really gets down the lane and than turns over like crazy.  I have had good success with this ball in 2nd shift leagues and tournaments where the heads are burnt and you need to get the ball down the lane but still recover.

If you haven't tried Roto Grip yet than this is the ball to get.

"You can't go wrong with a Silver Streak"
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: tonygee on December 22, 2003, 05:24:26 PM
2nd SS
Stacked with 1/2 neg 0 finger

Earlier roll than my first one (1/2 finger, 1/2 pos, 45degree drill)nicer trajectory less flippy.  Hits: YES...Hits softer: a little but less back row stuff (one in a million shots I get a back row pin)

My SS hits streaks down the lanes crashes into the pins and the whole side of the center comes crashing down....YEEEEEAAH THAT'S THE TICKET!  

On a scale of 1-10, its a 50 kilo-ton pink elephant
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: Greatness on January 06, 2004, 03:26:36 PM
I read all my other reviews and i have come full circle.  I go thru a decent amount of equipment but not as much as the average individual.

About 30 different balls but the same thing happened with most of them.  Great in the beginning and write a good review but then a major drop off when the ball get some games on it.  The ball was out of my bag and subsequently sold.  I get bored with equipment too easily but if i find one really like, it stays.  As is the case with the silver streak, which is up there with my spirit.  The spirit is the measuring stick to all balls i buy.

Silver streak - 15#  4 inch pin.  Drilled with pin above ring finger and cg 1" right of center line.  This ball has a bigger arc than the spirit but still has a lot of backend.  The drilling makes the ball really controllable but still enough flip on it to kill the infamous 10 pin.  This ball is almost a 10 but nothing beats the spirit.

Greatness

Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: logan_v on March 09, 2004, 08:06:25 PM
First of all, I would like to thank Hank Boomershine at Roto-Grip for all his help. He's a great guy, and he's one of the main reasons that I like this company so much. This is the first Roto ball I've used, but it more than likely will not be the last. This ball is THE first ball out of my bag on any medium to medium-heavy shot. I got this ball a week ago, and my boss and I laid it out 3-3/8 x 3-3/8 stacked, with about 1/2 ounce thumb weight, and 5/8 ounce positive side weight. This Streak is left in box condition, because I prefer polished solid reactives. This ball reads the midlane really well, and then snaps hard on the back. When it hits the pocket, it demolishes the pins. The carry is STRONG with this ball, it hardly leaves any pins on the backrow. I've only left 3 or 4 seven pins, and haven't left any other backrow pins after hitting the pocket. In my opinion, this is the ball that Brunswick's Monster Bruiser should have been, but wasn't. Strong midlane, huge recovery on the back, awesome carry.

I would definitely agree with most posters that this ball is stronger than advertised. Even stacked, I didn't think I would get this much reaction out this ball. I would put it right behind my Phenom Unleashed, but ahead of my Eraser Pearl Particle and Freak Out in terms of reaction. Great ball for house shots, and the customers that I've put it in love it so far. Keep up the great work, Hank and Roger!

--------------------
-Logan
http://www.somoff.com
http://logan_vessey@verizon.net
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: LuckyLefty on March 21, 2004, 07:38:57 PM
My second Silver Streak!

First was the particle.

When I got this ball and first tried it there were already two drillings on it.
First with the pin of this 3.0 inch pin out ball below fingers and cg down.
Too controlled said previous owner.  Then when I received it was drilled pin above bridge and cg out.  Surface 2500, with polish.

This skid flip monster was a disaster.  Awesome and uncontrollable.  The move very late and humunbously uncontrollable.  Wanted to slice thru the pocket and go in front of the 10 pin.  Honest.

Well I said I hate to redrill for #3 but I think I can fix this.

Due to a span about 1/2 inch longer than previous owner I used original thumb.
Put Fingers next to pin with pin touching outside top corner of ring.  This drilling looks stacked which for me is 4 1/4 X 3 1/2.  Not much top weight left so we are barely legal.

Well, well well.  This ball is truly the stuff!  Still lots of movement left but with a surface change down to 1500 and some Black MAgic reapplied and extra flare from stronger pin to pap the move is earlier and more controlled but very strong.

This ball is very reminiscent of my Time Zone but generates more angle faster and has tons of recovery.  THough not really throwing that impressively today I had quite a few high games with this baby.  I had a lot of area for carry which for me is elusive often.  Wide tugged and placed properly this ball just flushed em, no doubt they were going down!

A wonderful match up for my synthetic house when they are wetter than medium but not soaked.

The buzz about this ball is deserved.  I could see me using this a lot!

REgards,

Luckylefty
PS Most similar reaction is the Violet hammer from Faball but this is more angular and stronger or the Ti Mess original from Columbia but this ones move comes from the strong core,vs Ti Mess original move seemed to come from the jumpy superflex!
PPS I've got the pearl coming and I will drill the same!!!  Great drilling on this core for me!
PPPS.  Not only a wonderful ball but also I may have gotten a new thumb.
Loved the feel of previous owners thumb.  Took a copy(exactacated).  Put in on my pitches and I like it even better than my carefully and meticulously developed thumb hole.  Turn up the thumb copy presses tonight.  Let's see.
I every 15 minutes, 20 balls?  Hmmmm!
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: Pro Street on March 30, 2004, 07:28:26 PM
That face says it all for this ball. 3.12 top weight with a 3-4inch pin. Drilled stacked because I play a 20+board hook usually. This ball was a very big disappointment to me. I would crank this ball up to 500rpms and it would move about 10 boards on dry conditions with 16mph ball speed. I tried playing a straight line with the ball and it would hit the pocket, but it would always hit flat or leave a whole lot of corner pins. The only plus I can see in this ball is the color. I LIKE THE SHINY BLACK!! I give this ball a 5 out of 10 because it wont hook for me and it leaves a sh*t load of corner pins. BUT THATS JUST MY Opinion!!
--------------------

Rollin- Rollin-Rollin
Keep that bull sh*t flowin
Drinking beer while bowlin
Hoora!!!

I got lost in my mind! DOES ANYONE HAVE A MENTAL MAP!!??
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: tonygee on April 01, 2004, 11:27:35 AM
Hits like a MACK TRUCK except when there's oil then it hits like a BUS, on every other day except Tuesdays though it hits like a FREIGHT TRAIN.  On Holidays and Sundays its not so good, only hits like a PIT BULL!

If you use it on a Leap Year it'll knock 11 pins down.  If you use it during the George W Bush years it'll hit like WMD (weapon of mass destruction), Bin Laden's got a few of these Balls...GO GET HIM GEORGEE!

Otherwise I feel only lukewarm about this ball.  Hope this was a helpful review
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: Fluffy on May 13, 2004, 02:40:13 AM
Ordered this ball wanting something that would get down the lane and turn the corner hard, but i didnt want something pearl as with my typical release pearls can be extremely squirty for me.  SO i wanted a resin ball that was aggressive off the dry.  And this is what i got

Drilled with the pin under my ring finger and the static kicked out.  This drilling should give me length with a strong move on the back.  Well this is defenetly what i got.  Using it the first night i had it drilled in league a month ago i was able to move into the oil and "bank" it off the dry, its not a violent move off the dry but a very hard move.  It still gave me some movement if i tugged it and would defenetley recover from sending it right, yet it would leave a solid ten since the severe angle it came in with would send the 6 around the 10.  A very good ball, exactly what i was looking for.  I can use this on the typical house shot or a burned out shot with a defined dry spot i can bank it off.  Great Job Roto


--------------------
"yes i throw it like a girl, but i throw like a girl exactly the same every time"
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: tonygee on May 28, 2004, 03:38:52 PM
buy this ball buy this ball buy this ball buy this ball buy this ball buy this ball

Why because they're selling it

Its round, it fits in the ball return and if you want to buy a ball they will sell it to you if they have one.

By the way the "buy this ball" part shown above was suppose to be in the subliminal part of this forum/internet.

YESSS...we are watching you through your monitor... we have the technology...to make him go faster, stronger
...dooodooodooodoooodoooodoooodoooodoooodooooodoooodoooodoooodoooo (humming the six million dollar man theme)
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: Rich Thompson on February 07, 2005, 03:19:32 PM
Drilled this up pin under ring finger, cg lower palm and mb below the thumb.  Great ball on fresh shots.  Shined it up for an over under shot and it is great for the 1st game and a half, but backs off a little when there is carry done.  If you are looking for a ball for a tight tube shot, this is the one.  Carry is exceptional like every other Roto-grip I have thrown.
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: Roto Runner on February 21, 2005, 09:39:31 PM
This ball is laid out 4 1/2 " from pap by the side of my ring finger
kicked to 35 degrees with a med size WH . This ball with  this
lay out ; I get a skid /flip reaction. I use this ball on C pattern
and places where I know how much area I have. Love this ball. Hardly
wait to receive another one
Title: Re: Silver Streak
Post by: 9orbetter on January 05, 2006, 08:05:49 PM
Pick this up NIB back in April05. Didn't use it much just wanted another one in 14# as I was using my Ressurection as my go to ball. Favorite drill; pin under ring w/cg kicked out. When lanes dry up, I pull this baby out and start swinging the lane. Still a great ball. I guess thats why they made the SE....9
--------------------
We all can hit the pocket,just carry the damn corners