BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM

Title: Spare Tire
Post by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM
Time to give your spare gamethe confidence it needs with the all new Spare Tiretm from Roto Grip.

This clear polyester has the true spinning wheel and tire core to ensure accurate skid and roll on all types of lane conditions.

So if you are looking for added assurance on those spares or a great dry lane ball, Roto Grip has the answer.

Specifications


Factory Finish  2000- Polished  
Radius Of Gyration  (2.66)  
Differential  (.010)  
Lane Condition  Dry Lanes  
Flare Potential  Low  
Coverstock  Slick Treadtm Polyester  
Available Weights  12m-16 Lbs.  
Weight Block  Wheel and Tire
Color  Clear  
D-Scale  80-82  

Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: RotoGripWest on February 01, 2005, 02:02:55 AM
Roll over your competition and your spares!

Don't get stranded without a Spare... Tire!
--------------------
Bugsy Kelly
Western Region Sales Manager
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: D McLaughlin on February 18, 2005, 11:28:28 AM
Got mine Wednesday.  Not only have I not missed a 7-pin in 2 nights, I actually pulled this ball out on the burn last night and shot 243 w/ it.  Not sure if the core is 2 or 3 piece, but it hit well regardless.  If I had a dollar for every person that has approached me and asked about the ball, I could likely go buy another new one.  It is CERTAINLY an eye-appealing conversation piece.  5 Stars on this one Roger!!!  You guys are making it VERY easy to promote more Roto-Grip down here in Atlanta.  Heard they might be back-ordered.....hope and pray that isn't the case as at least 8 people inquired about ordering one last night alone.  If only I could find a heavy-oiler by you guys...  Thx again for this little treasure.  

Darren McLaughlin
Atlanta, GA
--------------------
Umm....Walter Ray....its customary to hand over your wallet AFTER I beat you. Its not like we haven't been through this a hundred times.
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: Laybzz74 on February 19, 2005, 06:30:38 PM
Got this today to replace a WD that had spider web cracking around the thumbhole. Just got back from having mine punched out in Simi Valley; Jeff Massey, my pro shop guy, got three in and I grabbed the first one to be drilled and rolled at Harley's Simi Bowl ... all eyes in the house were on this cool, new spare ball and the buzz got around quckly as I rolled ball after cross-lane ball, shots at the "bucket" and a few up the outside to the pocket. WAY KEWL ...and does what it's supposed to; a nice "kill" shot for my 10 and 6 pins and has enough backend for a nice, easy roll to the 1-3 pocket. Due to the tire shape inside, slight changes in rotation REALLY make this ball look awesome as it rolls. Thanx, Roto-Grip !!!

--------------------
DAMN, I LOVE this game !!!

Robb in 1000 Oaks
LAYBZZ74@AOL.COM
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: STEVEN HAUK on February 26, 2005, 05:22:59 PM
THE BEST SPARE ON THE MARKET TODAY. SINCE I GOT MINE I HAVE OVER A DOZEN PEOPLE ASKED ME AND BOUGHT THESE GREAT SPARE BALLS.I TELL THEM TO VISIT THERE LOCAL PRO SHOP AND ASKED THEM I NEED A SPARE TIRE BOWLING BALL. I DRILLED MINE DEAD STRAIGHT OVER THE LABEL. THIS BALL GOES DEAD STRAIGHT . I WOULD LIKE TO THANK HANK B. ROGER N. MAKING A GREAT SPARE BALL.PLUS LET ME HELP THEM BE PART OF THEIR TEAM .
--------------------


STEVEN HAUK
ROTO GRIP ADVISORY STAFF MEMBER
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: vivasrv on March 01, 2005, 09:45:28 AM
Best looking spare ball to come along in a while.  Great shelf appeal and conversation starter.   It generates lots of interest in Roto-Grip and gets people in the door---should be a good seller especially with the popularity of NASCAR and racing in general

Corey Atkinson
Roto-Grip SW Regional Staff
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: John Brodersen on March 02, 2005, 10:36:40 PM
You will turn some heads when you take this sphere from your bag and place it on the ball return.  This is the most unique looking ball I have seen in many years.  Not only great looking, but also very functional for the purpose it was designed for. (spare shooting and dry lane conditions)  Drilled over the label.  Donít be stuck at a tournament without your spare tire, by Roto-Grip


John Brodersen
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: RG850SS on March 03, 2005, 09:07:34 PM
Everyone can use this great ball.  No only does it perform great for picking up the spares, it also is great for the real dry lanes.  You will need to practice picking up the spares as everyone will be watching this unique spare tire rolling down the lanes to run over the pins.  For best results you will need to have you "Pro Shop" find the PAP so they can drill the ball so it looks like the tire is rolling down the lane.



Jocko Mangin
Roto Grip Advisory Staff
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: rotomike on March 03, 2005, 10:56:53 PM
Great Look!!!

The best clear ball made.  Imperfections have been eliminated. Not milky. Logos on tire look great rotating down the lane. Tread on tire is the attention to detail that makes this ball unique.

Eye catching ball with great spare ball performance. Just throwing the ball will attract attention.

It seems to be a bit harder of surface than previous spare balls.  It goes right where you aim it. No early hook.

Get one when you can.  You will be mad if you miss this chance.
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: Mr Scary on March 06, 2005, 09:22:41 AM
The ball looks great.  I am surprised nobody thought of this earlier.  This one will definitely turn some heads.  I have already had many inquiries on this one.  A spare ball is a must in everyone bag, you might as well purchase one that looks as good on the rack, as well as when it rolls.

Mr. Scary
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: RG808 on March 06, 2005, 09:31:52 PM
The SPARE TIRE is by far the best looking spare ball on the market. On the ball return or rolling down the lane, you will sure to catch lots of attention.

After drilling my SPARE TIRE over the label. I can tell you that you wont miss much spares with this one.

Put a some air in your game... Get a SPARE TIRE !
--------------------
XXXXXXXXXXXX


AL TOMAS
ROTO-GRIP ADVISORY STAFF

Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: RonCase823 on March 08, 2005, 07:50:59 PM
Without a doubt the best looking spare ball of all time.  I have used once on extremely dry conditions.  It's a great addition for anybody's spare game because it will definitely go straight and get rave reviews from all spectators.  This ball fits me perfectly because I'm in the tire business.
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: roTO loCO on April 17, 2005, 04:01:44 AM
I've had this ball for weeks now and everyone can't keep there eyes off of it.  Even the people who saw me throw it the week before can't stop staring at it.  Easily the best clear out on the market.  Spare Tire owns me!  Don't miss out on this one!  Especially if you are a car guy.
--------------------
Matt Wolhar
Roto Grip advisory staff
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: D McLaughlin on April 18, 2005, 01:01:48 AM
I was fortunate to get one of these before they hit backordered status.  The night I brought it out, my proshopguy got 10 requests for that ball.  Not only is it visually appealing, I also shot 641 with it on my usual Thursday desert condition last week.  A+++++ to RotoGrip on this one.
--------------------
Weekly bowling league...$25
Pitcher of beer....$6
Taking a Lane#1 user's wallet with a ball that cost half as much....PRICELESS!!!
Some balls are overpriced....for everything else...theres RotoGrip.
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: RotoGripBowler on June 08, 2005, 10:30:18 AM
This ball is a great spare ball. I had it drilled over the logo, and picks up my spares rather nicely.
But it is the way it looks when it rolls down the lane that is very cool.
Go get yourself one before like every other great ball, they won't be around forever. People are still wanting the Roto-Grip grenade spare ball.

--------------------
Roto Grip 4 life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: Admiral50 on June 10, 2005, 04:06:52 PM

I don't know about anyone else but I have thrown more pins back out on to the deck with this ball. I would have made the 7-10 a bunch of times had the 7 actually been up. Also, I made the Big 4 at Nationals with this ball.  So not only does it look COOL it performs awesome to.  If you don't have one you should pick one of these clear baby's up.

Thank you,

Justin
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: srlunatic on August 30, 2005, 01:37:25 PM
Greetings!

Player specs on Profile Page...

How cool looking is this ball?  Drilled straight label...

Definately a cool look as the tire skids down the lane....

Goes straight...looks cool...what more can you ask for a spare tire...I mean ball...

now only if it was Track..then would be perfect..*laugh*

excellent job Roto!!
--------------------
All this can be yours............

What?? The curtains?????
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: GordoJ52 on February 26, 2006, 04:25:24 PM
By far the best looking spare ball around at this point.  Definitely has been a nice compliment, coming from a target zone and CA rio.  Ball looks amazing going down the lane and I find myself trying to throw at other pins because of how good it looks going down the lane.  

Jeff
--------------------
AIM: GordoJ52
Email: GordoJ52@AOL.COM


The Infernos are going to burn you up!!!
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: RevLefty on March 20, 2006, 03:30:01 PM
Profile:  Left Handed power tweener


Specs:  15lb bowling ball 3.5 top weight pin in


Drilling:  Made it so it has 5/8ths on side and 5/8ths on bottom


Review:  Only the best looking,best reacting,best hitting spare ball ever made!
Sadly on the really dry outers this ball out hooks my mercury and hits like a mack truck only use it when it is popcorn fart dry.  I have shot a 290 with this ball in league.They were really dry obviously but I am definately not affraid to pull this monster out when it dry to use it as a main ball.  Best looking spare ball out there get so many compliments on it like wow that is so cool.  I just say they have one in the proshop only downside to this ball isthe price t ag but that didnt stop me.  Go get chu one..

--------------------
Boy do I love bowling, stone 8,stone 9, ringer 7,fly by 10,fast six got to love this game.  Short look at what most of my games look like with a few strikes peppered in between.  Isn't it wonderful.
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: BrandonR on May 09, 2006, 10:22:27 PM
I just recieved my Spare Tire from Utah today. I cant wait to see what others have loved so much with this ball.

Its almost hard to believe that a Plastic ball can cause so much attention. I remember when plastic balls were Black Beauty, Blue Dots and White Dots of old. Keep in mind im only 25 so these are the only ones that I grew up with.

--------------------
Married and Lovin It! **THAT'S WHAT MY WIFE TOLD ME TO SAY!!**
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: Jesse James on September 03, 2006, 01:46:34 AM
Awww.....I'm real late with this review. Been wanting one of these...like forever. Local shop had to special order one, and I didn't feel like waiting.
Saw one for sale.....used, on Ball Reviews. Guy let me have it for forty bucks!
Best forty bucks I've spent in awhile. Didn't even redrill it.

Not only have I not missed a ten-pin in quite awhile, but now I (the ball) look good doing it!

A young toddler thought it looked so cool, he tried to actually steal it off my rack during league play!

Signature look with signature performance. I can't wait till I see some toast so I can try it out as the #1 ball out the bag.
--------------------
Duct tape is like 'The Force'. It has a light side and a dark side, but it still holds the universe together.

Some days you're the bug; some days you're the windshield.
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: joebowler1987 on March 27, 2007, 06:22:33 PM
This is by far the best ball in my bag. It looks great and it attracts a lot of attention, especially if little kids are bowling near me. It's a spare ball, but it's so good that I can use it as a strike ball too, and on any lane condition. My average went from about 195 to over 210 since getting this ball. Making all my spares really helps...
--------------------
In the bag: Double Agent, Black Widow, Jolt Solid, X Factor Trifecta, Spare Tire
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: Captain Stabbin on April 11, 2007, 02:59:31 PM
It goes strait...nuff said
--------------------
Captain Stabbin
Title: Re: Spare Tire
Post by: theboze on January 05, 2008, 12:13:04 PM
I just got this for christmas,as a present.I throw storm balls,with a decent amount of hook,from the left I stand 10 with my right foot,then throw over 16 to about 8.I am averaging, 208 to 212 in 3 different leagues.I got this as a 10 pin ball and for other spares on the right corner.It works,great.I don't know abot it being a first ball.I used it in practice,tried going right up 10-12 hit the pocket,and kept leaving 10 pins.But it works for what I wanted it for.If you want a good 10 pin ball that gets a lot of looks,especially from the kids,this is your ball.