BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on January 30, 2020, 10:37:13 AM

Title: UFO
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on January 30, 2020, 10:37:13 AM
Your competition wont be able to identify this object as it flies down the lane. The Roto Grip UFO high performance bowling ball introduces the E.T. Core - Equalizer Technology which has built in "Equalizer Cavities" that take the place of past weight holes to create more midlane movement as well as continuation down the lane. The MicroTrax-S20 Solid Reactive coverstock provides great traction on heavily oiled lanes.

Color: Deep Purple/Baby Blue/Neon Green
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Core: E.T. = Equalizer Technology (14-16#)
Coverstock: MicroTrax-S20 Solid Reactive
Finish: 2000-grit Pad
RG: 2.52 (for 15# ball)
Differential: 0.054 (for 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium/Heavy to Heavy
Hook Potential: High
Length: Middle
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: BEger on February 04, 2020, 09:47:53 AM
UFO – Layout 5x4x1.5
PAP – 5 11/16 over and ½ up
Style – Stroker
Ball Speed – 14-15 mph
House shot condition

After watching several videos on-line from multiple styles, I decided to go ahead and order a UFO. Typically, strong cover, asymmetrical balls, don’t get a lot of use for me based upon my ball speed and rev rate. While I’m going to need some oil in the fronts, I see this ball being a bit more versatile than the typical heavy oil piece for me.
I used the ball at an HPL house I’d been struggling with the last couple times out. My Idol Pro worked for several weeks. But the pattern started to get much tighter from inside and right of 8 showed a pronounced hook. As up the back of the ball as I am and slower ball speed, I couldn’t back my hand out of it enough to play the dry.

That’s where the UFO comes into play. I was able to move inside of second arrow and still get the ball through the pins. Something I hadn’t been able to do previously. Even better was the ball allowed me some miss room down lane (into the dry) that wasn’t there. Keep in mind if I missed right early, too much ball and going through the nose. But, if I executed the game plan, it gave me a reaction and ability to play a part of the lane I previously couldn’t.

I can see multiple styles being able to utilize this ball. As always, the caveat is to know when to put it up. It’s highly unlikely you’re going to get more than 2-3 games out of it during tournament competition. That’s when you pull out the cleaner symmetrical pieces and move in anyway. A real heavy house shot, you might be able to get three games out of it depending upon your style and the other bowlers around you.
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: JasonHollingsworth on February 04, 2020, 01:15:19 PM
WOW! I didn’t think I have ever seen so much hook in my life, than I did the first time I watched the new UFO go down the lane.
The UFO flat out hooks, and it will need to see plenty of oil on the lane. But if hook is what you want, then this ball is what you have been waiting for. Similar to the Halo, the UFO is a big ball that starts up quick and doesn’t stop. A very aggressive move off the friction and it just keeps going. I loved my Halo, but one of the things that I had troubles with was that while it was strong, it sometimes got lazy in the oil. What I mean is, you still had to get it to the dry boards, and it hooked plenty, but if got in the oil down the lane too far, it often wasn’t quite strong enough to make the corner. This ball is at least 5 boards stronger across the lane. I was able to miss into the big puddle of oil and this ball still was strong enough to get back and go through the pins in the correct motion.
This ball will be great on longer patterns or surfaces that are generally slicker than normal.
Jason Hollingsworth
#StormNation
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: Kyle.Johnson88 on February 07, 2020, 05:06:17 PM
Ball Specs:
Roto Grip UFO
2000 MicroTrax-S20™ Solid Reactive
Weight Block: E.T. Core = Equalizer Technology™ (Asymmetrical)
Color: Deep Purple/Baby Blue/Neon Green

Review:
The UFO is definitely out of this world on hook potential. We feel this ball has the strongest and most continuous motion down lane we have seen from Roto Grip in some time. You could compare this ball to an earlier and overall more aggressive Storm Gravity Evolve. This ball is going to be great for a lot of different players… Those who have a lower rev rate and are looking for something that doesn’t have a problem getting to the pocket and seasoned veterans and tournament bowlers who run into a long or heavy pattern or are just looking to move left and create some area.

Kyle & Joel Johnson
Roto Grip Pro Shop Staff Members
joel@parklanes.net
kyle@parklanes.net
www.rotogrip.com
#SquadRG
Title: Roto Grip UFO Review
Post by: sportshot on February 16, 2020, 10:17:22 AM
Roto Grip UFO Ball Specs:

Cover stock S20 Solid Reactive
ET Core (Asymmetrical)
Color Purple/Blue/Green
Finish 2000 Sanded

Bowler Specs:
Right Hand. PAP 5” Over 1/2 up
Rev Rate 300. Tilt 20. Rotation 50.
Speed at cameras 15.5


Review:
 The Roto Grip UFO is a hook monster! I was sad that the Original Halo was discontinued but I got over it when I rolled the UFO. The UFO has more grip and hook than my Halo and hits like a truck. I strike a lot with this ball. The UFO is also very versatile with layouts and surface changes. For a big Asymmetric you can really dial in the reaction you want as long as you have oil to roll it on. The UFO is currently the strongest ball in my bag. The UFO out hooks my Prime probably because my Prime gives me a hook set reaction where the UFO goes just a bit longer than grabs and just never stops. It creates more entry angle and gets the corners out better than my Prime. The carry percent for me is outstanding. The total hook of this ball is much more than I expected.  I can trust this ball to come back from almost anywhere and it is very forgiving. We already sold a good amount of the Roto Grip UFO balls and the feedback has been great. We are seeing a lot of hook and high scores. If you are looking for a strong ball for wet lanes the UFO is a great choice. I am very happy with this ball and demand has been high.

Summary:
The UFO is very strong and handles oil easily.
The hit and carry is superb.
The bowlers like the color and look of the UFO.


Glenn Wendel
PBA Member
Storm Pro Shop Staff
gwendel@comcast.net
www.stormbowling.com


Title: Re: UFO
Post by: MattMusgrave on February 20, 2020, 01:50:33 PM
  The UFO is the new HP4 solid from roto grip. It offers the MicroTrax-S20 solid cover with the E.T core. The numbers on this ball are 2.52 RG .054 DIFF and a mass bias of .016. I have mine drilled at 60 X 3.5 X 25 which allows me to move inside and throw 13 to 7. Honestly I was pleasantly surprised in how much the UFO got of the spot. The MicroTrax allows the ball to get down the lane before making a big move towards the pocket. The UFO is comparable to the Gravity Evolve in that the are both high end solid asymmetrics, but the cover of the UFO gets further down lane with a massive backend where the gravity has SPEC cover and Cataylst core which makes it early and smooth. I cant say enough good things about the UFO. if you're looking for a big solid that doesn't hook too early but retains energy this is the ball. Get to your local pro shop and pick one up. b]LANE CONDITION[/b][/u][/font][/size]

Length:

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: Tknoop1127 on February 23, 2020, 01:09:01 PM
LANE CONDITION



I'm really enjoying the newest HP4 line that Roto Grip has created, the UFO. I've drilled mine pin above the bridge, which is 3 inches pin-pap.

I thought that the Gravity Evolve was the strongest ball in my bag, but the UFO has me re thinking that. For being a 'big ball' asymmetric, I still get plenty of continuous motion at the back. It allows me to open up my angles and get left. It'll for sure be the first ball out of my bag on heavy conditions.

If you're looking for a ball that HOOKS a ton, and lets you get left without losing energy, then this is the ball for you.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: ShimWreckerEnterprises on February 24, 2020, 05:51:49 PM
BALL / BOWLER SPECS

Layout: 55x4.75x55

Surface: factory surface (500/2000 Abralon)

PAP: 4-1/2 R, 1-3/8 U

Rev Rate: 500rpm

Speed: 20mph off hand

Conditions: THS, on both wood and synethetic lanes

COMMENTS

The new Roto Grip UFO just flat-out hooks!!! The new cover (MicroTrax-S20 Solid) comes with a lot of surface on it (2000 sanded from the factory) and is combined with the new Equalizer Technology asym core (2.52 RG, 0.054 diff, 0.016 int diff) to create a hook monster to end all hook monsters. I've used mine in probably 7-8 different centers, and getting this ball to read the lane and hook has been the least of my worries by a long shot. Even with trying the surface higher than factory (about 4000 sanded) it still never wanted to miss the spot and created an absurd amount of friction throughout the entire lane - almost too much at times for me, given that I have a higher rev rate. What's remarkable about this one is that even on not-super-long patterns it can still get through the pins very well as long as you play more of the oil, rather than the dry, and let the ball do its thing downlane. If you need a ball to pick up when nothing else will... this is the ball for you.
Title: Re: UFO review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on February 27, 2020, 03:28:20 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41
Volume:Medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Core: E.T.™ Core = Equalizer Technology™ (Asymmetrical)
Coverstock: MicroTrax-S20™
Finish: 2000
RG: 2.52   
Differential: 0.053

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin Up/Right of Ring 55 X 4 3/8 X 35

The New UFO from Roto Grip is an absolute Gem in oil. The Micro-trax S-20 cover gives you superior traction and the powerful new E.T. Core powers this thing start to finish.

Design intent with this strong Asymmetric core has been pretty clear. For years guys have been using holes to alter core dynamics and boost mid-lane reaction. The shape of the ET core does that work for you by moving mass to all the right places. The combination of powerful cover and core creates more motion on the slickest patterns.

The true key to making a great STRONG ball is keeping the power from detracting from the carry. The UFO does this in spades, it will give you the mid-lane motion no matter what you're bowling on but it doesn't burn up an go through the pins flat. I'm notorious for causing that reaction with stronger balls because of my lower ball speed and no isssues with the UFO.

I was really fond of the look I had playing straighter with less hand. Every Pro Shop loves the balls that sell themselves by hook. The rev-challenged bowlers are the life blood of the high performance lines and the UFO is exceptionally well-suited for these bowlers. Strong even read and maximum help creating motion for lower rev styles. This ball will be a staple for anyone looking for "hook-in-a-box"”


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: NateGarcia on February 28, 2020, 11:34:28 PM
Introducing the new “Hook Monster” from Roto Grip. The UFO is Roto Grip’s newest big asymmetrical bowling ball that gives players the confidence in a bowling ball that will hook on anything and everything. The UFO has the Equalizer Technology Asymmetrical Core wrapped with the MicroTrax-S20 coverstock. The UFO compared to the original Halo, in my opinion, is slightly cleaner through the front part of the lane and still reads the middle and the backend just as hard as the original Halo.

Out one the PBA Tour, this ball has come into play for a lot of players on the heavier volume patterns. This ball also handles surfaces changes very well and you can throw this ball on a wide range of patterns. When you need control and a ball that you know will hook on anything, this is the ball for you. This ball suites all ranges of bowling styles. Whether you’re someone that likes to throw it hard, has a lot of rev rate, doesn’t have a lot of rev rate, someone that likes to play the lanes straighter, you name it; this ball does it all.

Get yours now! You don’t want to miss out on this hook monster!

Nate Garcia
PBA Regional Champion
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: PJ Haggerty on March 05, 2020, 03:06:24 PM
Roto Grip UFO Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

The newest addition to the Roto Grip HP4 line is the UFO.  With an RG of 2.52 and differential of .054, the UFO is a very strong, asymmetrical piece that is perfect for conditions with heavier volumes of oil.  After drilling one UFO so far, it’s been very successful on multiple types of surface and patterns.  The one I drilled is mapped out as: 5 x 4 x 75.  This puts the pin above my bridge and the mass bias just to the right of my thumb. 

The UFO provides me a strong, rolly, continuous shape that is perfect for medium-heavier volume patterns.  I’ve had the most success using this earlier in blocks before the lanes transition.  It’s also a great ball to figure out what pattern we are bowling on and helps determine how much oil is on the lane.  From a surface standpoint, I hit it with 3000 and water to take some of the initial surface off and create a bit more length.  The response time remains relatively slow, which is expected with such a big engine and strong cover.

If you need a ball to help you read the characteristics of a pattern or for medium-to-heavier volumes, the UFO should be added to your tournament / league bags. 
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: Gil B on March 06, 2020, 08:40:22 AM
If you need hook the UFO has landed and ready to go. This new asymmetric core mixed with the new Micotrax s20 solid creates all the hook so are going to need, This ball rolls real heavy and creates a real nice shape going down lane. The new cover really reads the mids well and when this ball makes a move it goes and goes very continuous and seems not to lose any energy going through the pins. This is going to be a great tourney ball and for those that need a little extra during league play. Grab a UFO before it grabs you 
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: stormbowler96 on March 06, 2020, 06:15:36 PM
The Halo maybe gone, but the UFO is here to stay.

Introducing the Roto Grip UFO, the ball is out of this world. Coming in at a 2000 grit MicroTrax-S20 coverstock, with the all new Equalizer Technology "ET" Core.

Ever since I put this ball in my bag, scores have not been a problem. I tend to throw the ball a little more firm and quick so with the ET core inside the UFO, it revs up a little quicker but nothing just absolutely crazy. It allows me to move in and swing the lane when necessary or play more direct. It is an absolute hook monster though. It allows me to have versatility in my bag while having a big rolling bowling ball. I've been able to play with some different surface adjustments and it amazed me at how well the ball still rolled with every adjustment. Don't miss out on the opportunity with this ball. It has become a staple in my bag and I know it will be in your bag as well.
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: cmattingly on March 06, 2020, 10:16:55 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 43'

Volume: 21 mLs

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Exactly what I was missing

Dislikes: none yet


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
This ball fit instantly into my bag.  It seems to be like a more useable Storm SureLock.  I was a fan of the Halo but mine was drilled pin down with a P3 hole.  The design intent of the UFO was that the core mimicked a ball that had a weight hole drilled into it.  This ball naturally played into my hands.  I drilled it pin down, 60x5x70, with no hole.  The UFO is clean in the right part of the lane and strong where it needs to be strong.  The UFO was exactly what I was needing at the top end of my bag. 

Other Balls in Heavy Rotation:
Physix-60x5x35
Nuke Cell-60x5x35
Hyroad Pearl-60x5-1/2x35
Idol Pearl-60x5-1/2x35
Title: UFO
Post by: EVollmar on March 08, 2020, 11:37:55 PM
Length:42
Volume: High
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS
Rev Rate: 450
Ball Speed: 17 mph
PAP: 5 1/16 x 3/4 up


Introducing the UFO, the newest release in the HP4 line. The UFO uses the new E.T. Core = Equalizer Technology wrapped with the new MicroTrax-S20 cover. The layout that I went with was 5 1/2 x 4 x 3 1/2, this layout put the pin under my middle finger. Even with the weaker pin placement, it doesn't stop the UFO! The MicroTrax-S20 cover is super strong and just digs into the oil and goes. It gets going pretty quick and has a strong and continuous arc down lane. If you are looking for a ball for heavier oil conditions, the UFO is the ball to look at!
 
Earon Vollmar
Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: SquadRGer on March 10, 2020, 11:37:23 PM
The UFO is out of this world.

WEIGHT BLOCK: E.T. Core = Equalizer Technology
WEIGHT: 15lbs
RG: 2.52
DIFF: 0.054
PSA: 0.016
COVER: MicroTrax-S20
OUT OF BOX: 2000 Grit

Patterns used for review are HP modified.
Pattern A: 40Ft, 24 Mls
Pattern B: 43Ft, 29 Mls

PLAY
The UFO was able to play both patterns from the inside but favored the longer Pattern B. 

Initially my thoughts were, boy does this guy hook. Heavy continuous arch. Straight out off the box it can be a little intimidating but after a few games as you get oil into the cover it tames down nicely.

Pattern A:
The UFO out of box is a little much for this pattern. The ball picks up really quick that the lighter volume and shorter length leaves little room for error inside of your target.

Pattern B:
This pattern was more appropriate for the UFO. The extra three feet provided the extra hold. So much room for error.  Miss left and the ball is still able to pick up and make a move to the pocket.  Miss right and the ball hits the friction and comes roaring back.

LOW DOWN: The UFO is it of this world. If you struggle getting the ball to read heavy oiled lanes this is the ball for you. The E.T. Core will definitely provide you the extra movement to counter the no extra holes rule that starts at the beginning of the 20/21 bowling season. #SquadRG
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: RavensTransAm on March 15, 2020, 04:51:18 PM
The UFO from Roto-Grip is a new kind of alien. Yet another new core and cover combination, this one features the E.T. core with a RG of 2.52, diff .054, and an intermediate diff of .016. It is wrapped with the new MicroTrax-S20 Solid. Another large Asymmetric that I can use a long pin to pap layout of 5x4x2 so it will help get it down lane and have enough energy to turn the corner.
The UFO allows me to open up my angles and move into the heavier part of the oil on a THS. It is strong enough to allow me to miss left and make it back into the pocket. Missing inside with this ball is not an option for me as this ball will still turn up in heavy oil. Do not let the dull cover stock fool you into thinking this ball will not get down lane. Roto-grip does a great job with their dull solids getting plenty of length while maintaining enough energy to drive into the pins.
The UFO for me is going to be best utilized on heavier volumes of oil or longer sport patterns. For those types of patterns, I like to keep things in front of me and keep my angles closed for as long as possible. The larger RG of this ball does just that, it is not as early rolling as the halo, but it is not as long as the Wild Streak either.
Stephen Foley. Roto-Grip/Storm Pro Shop Staff.
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: Haley3 on March 16, 2020, 10:00:33 AM
Gender: Female
Rev Rate: 315
Ball speed: 16.5 mph
P.A.P: 4-1/2 & 1-1/8

My first impression of the UFO was simple. Wow this thing took over the strongest ball in my bag and I love it. I found it to be super controllable and continuous down lane for a strong asym. I tend to find that my big asymmetric balls roll out very easy but that’s not the case with the UFO. I feel like no matter what rev rate or speed you have this ball will fit everyone’s game, I haven’t seen it look bad in anyone’s hand yet. I compared the UFO with the Halo and found that they were similar but the UFO kept driving through the pins where the Halo came in a little weak. My move was about 4/1 left with the UFO. If you’re looking for a strong asymmetric solid that doesn’t quit in the back end then you’re looking at it. Would be a great ball to replace that old halo with when the new weight hole rule comes into play.

Take a look for yourself in my video review below!!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKVdHdYyozM”
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: Bigmike on March 18, 2020, 08:56:50 PM
I drilled up my UFO at 55* x 4 1/2" x 30*. I have been throwing this one at box finish of 2000 tru-cut.

The UFO is a bigger core/cover combo for me. I have thrown this one on some modified house patterns and on the PBA50 Billy Hardwick 44 pattern which in 2020 is 44'/28.2 mil condition. On the modified pattern, I had good results with the UFO. It read early enough to keep me from using a 1000 tru-cut GRAVITY EVOLVE. Compared to the EVOLVE, the UFO was slightly weaker up front but had more energy down lane and rolled forward just slightly at the end of the pattern making it a much better option. On the 44 ft/28 mil pattern, the 1000 covered EVOLVE was a better play as it got out of the skid just slightly earlier than the UFO. Once the EVOLVE started to bleed too much energy, then the UFO was in play for much of the remaining games of the block.

Buy this when you want something to pick up earlier than your hybrids with big core motion down lane.
Title: Roto Grip UFO
Post by: StormRoto on March 20, 2020, 09:32:23 PM
The new ball from Roto Grip in the HP4 line is the UFO.  This is a strong solid asymmetrical with a lot of hook!  I drilled mine 5 x 5 x 2.  I'm usually not a big fan of big solid asymmetrical balls with my roll.  But the UFO was a huge surprise. The UFO with a little Storm step 2 applied to the cover, this ball was the most overall backend reaction that I have seen in a long time.  UFO is way stronger than the RG Halo. When using this ball on house a couple sport patterns the UFO just keeping hooking. So I just kept chasing it left.  Usually big asymmetrical's will just bleed off to much energy and lose reaction down lane at the breakpoint.  Not the UFO it just kept hooking.  With the new core and cover it created a ball reaction that was different than anything in the line today. This is a great addition to the RG line. 

Brian Watson
Pro Shop Staff

PAP - 5 up 1 1/8
Tilt  - 17
Speed - 16-17
Rev Rate - 400
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: damron801 on March 23, 2020, 03:28:11 PM

Layout: 65 x 4.75 x 35 My standard pin above the fingers drilling
17 mph ball speed
450 rev rate
42' house shot with high volume
40' modified house shot on 31 year old lanes with High friction and medium volume


For a ball that is probably the strongest ball I've ever thrown, it still has tons of recovery from misses outside. This brand new E.T. core and Micro-Trax coverstock are both very, very strong but don't bleed off energy early. On a Typical house shot with a lower volume of oil, the UFO can be a bit strong. But, show it some Medium-heavy to Heavy oil conditions and this ball is in its element. If you like a heavy rolling ball like the original Halo, but need easier length and tons more recovery, then this is the one. High speed players and low rev players will love this ball. Lower speed and Rev dominant players will need to play in the puddle a little more. Everyone in between can do whatever they want. Its ability to circle the lane and still retain all its energy is amazing. When the 2 handers and Urethane guys push the oil down and create a hang spot, this ball will track right through it. Use your favorite layout and let it do its thing. On a fresh Sport pattern with higher volume i would use a little more surface, like 500 grit, to slow it down on the backend until the lanes open up. #Stormnation #SquadRG
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: MSUHoss300 on March 24, 2020, 11:40:02 AM
Roto Grip UFO

55 x 4.75 x 20



As someone who utilizes lots of weight holes, I was very interested in this core!  Historically I’ve loved most HP-1 Roto Grip products so I had high hopes going into this one.  I own and operate a pro shop in a bowling center with very high friction 32 year old synthetic lane beds.  Needless to say, the high end duller asym’s don’t match up the best in our place.  This ball gets through the front as easy as a shiny ball and slows down in the mid-lane very well.  I see more down Lane continuation out of this ball vs Omega Crux.   Based on my surface preparation this could be either my big dull hook monster or my first transition ball when the duller one gets too early and lazy.  So far I’ve been able to stay in this ball longer than expected!  This is a ball I will use on fresh quite often and is definitely intended for heavy and medium volume patterns.  Speed dominant players should like this one! 
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: hammermike2000 on March 26, 2020, 12:01:03 PM
Layout: 70 x 4 ½ x 40

The UFO is the rare medium-heavy oil monster that still has a ton of shape down lane. The UFO got through the front part of the lane easier than I thought it would, and had a strong midlane/backend reaction. I would classify it as more angular than an Idol, but obviously not as skid-flip as the Nuclear Cell. Depending on surface prep, it can cover anything from medium to the heaviest of oil. It is definitely too strong for light oil, but that is where the MVP Pearl or the Hustle line will come into play.

Mike LeViner
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: rotogrip_rick on March 29, 2020, 07:18:39 AM
Layout: 70 x 4 x 35

Ball specs:  2000 grit - MicroTrax S20 solid / E.T core

Using on the older HPL with the less blended pattern it was stronger and more angular then the Wild Streak. The UFO came more into play when I got into games 4, 5, and 6 during a recent tournament where the Wild Streak started to weaken due to carry down, the UFO pick up where the Wild Streak left off. The ball was more suited for me on fresh house pattern on SPL with more blend in the pattern. Was able to adjust more on SPL then the HPL, just showing how the surface of the lane panels can create such different looks in the mid lane and roll area in the back end. A good strong step up from the Wild Streak.
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: hittnhard on March 29, 2020, 02:36:50 PM
Roto Grip UFO

Coverstock: MicroTrax-S20™ Solid Reactive

Weight Block: E.T.™ Core

This ball is strong!

Set up with a strong, earlier layout for me, 45x4x25

This will be my replacement for my Sure Lock as strongest solid (or any cover for that matter) in my arsenal.

Strong, late-midlane motion. I can use this when most others are looking for something to battle through the oil.

While strong, it is surprisingly more usable than most other strong solids have been for me. Having a strong assym solid that I can use for multiple games is a new think for me. My style usually keeps me using pearls or mid performance solids.

When my Storm Crux Omega struggles to make the turn on the heavy, this will be my move.
Title: UFO Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on March 31, 2020, 09:33:03 PM
The UFO is the latest solid offering in the HP4 line, replacing the Halo.  Not only does it replace it, but I think it improves on it.  The UFO features the MicroTrax-S20 cover and the new E.T. (Equalizer Technology) core.  The core contains slots at the bottom meant to mimic a weight hole, and the reaction on the lane is dynamic, especially for a nano based solid.  The UFO has plenty of traction, and doesn’t seem to burn energy on friction like some other bigger hooking balls can.  The more friction there is, the more the UFO is going to hook, but the more oil there is, the better it’s going to perform, because oil is what it was designed for.  The UFO reacts like how I would expect a solid PhysiX to react, it has an aggressively continuous and energetic motion throughout the lane. 
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: TonyMarino on March 31, 2020, 09:58:05 PM
The UFO is out of this… I’m not gonna do it. Lol! The UFO is a hook monster. Mine is drilled 90x4x40 because I wanted this ball to be my heavy oil, fast response option in my bag. And I am glad I did! The UFO hooks way more than the previous ball in that spot. What surprises me is the fact that the UFO doesn’t read the front part of the lane quicker. It skids more than most heavy oil hook monster type of balls I’ve thrown in the past, but still has a smooth and very strong shape. I highly recommend the UFO!
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: steveg13 on April 06, 2020, 10:09:32 PM
LANE CONDITION: Wood Lanes

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS

15LB

As they stated this ball is "Out of this World"! With the new MicroTrax-s=S20 coverstock matched up with the E.T. Core the UFO is a perfect ball for Medium Heavy to Heavy oil conditions. The ability of this ball to grab and make the turn is unbelievable, with no loss of drive through the pocket to send pins flying into the pit. The UFO is a must have in any bowlers arsenal!

Likes:strong backend

High Speed, High Rev


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: Onefrombills on April 18, 2020, 03:35:38 PM
Roto Grip UFO
The UFO from ROTO GRIP reminded me a lot like the Halo. Both balls being a strong asymmetrical solid. I did not get as much testing as I would have liked to do to COVID-19. At this time I hope we are all doing our part and we will be back on the lanes soon enough. Speaking only from a fresh THS this ball wants to hook and that’s a great thing, What I did notice is that it did not want to over hook and blended the pattern very well.
BOWLER STYLE: RH - Power Stroker Rev Rate: 320 Ball Speed: 15-16 PAP: 4 7/8 right 5/8 up.
#Storm
#VISE
#Logo Infusion Staff Member (coupon code HIRSCH 20% off)
Brian Hirsch
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: tommygn on May 21, 2020, 11:20:59 AM
The UFO is the latest technical development in asymmetrical bowling balls that lets the user have a “balance hole” effect on ball motion without actually drilling an extra hole. The UFO is in the HP4 line from Roto Grip, and uses Micro Trax S-20 cover which creates a lot of traction. The cover has a color combination of deep purple, baby blue and neon green and is finished with a 2000 grit abralon pad. The core of the UFO is called E.T. core (equalizer technology) and creates an Rg of 2.52, a differential of 0.054, and an intermediate diff of 0.016 in 14-16lb balls.

I drilled my UFO with a layout of 4 x 3.5 x 2. I decided on that particular layout to compliment my 4 x 3 x 2 Storm Evolve. Using such a strong layout, I wanted the UFO to be the go to ball on heavy volume, longer oil patterns after the backends get lazy while using the Evolve. The UFO has a lot more traction and angle once the Evolve gets a little lazy from oil carry-down and lane and surface shine. I used the UFO at the box finish for about 20 games, just wiping the oil off between shots and cleaning it with Reacta-Clean at the end of sessions. The UFO started to lose some board coverage, which was fine as it covered plenty of boards out of the box. Using the UFO at this “broken in” finish was a little too lazy on the 46 foot 2015 Roth/Holman doubles pattern, so I freshened the surface with a green scotchbrite pad, and the ball became a monster, almost giving me too much hook. Suffice to say, the UFO has not disappointed as being that super strong board covering hook monster that a medium rev rate guy like myself looks for at times.

I’m glad I drilled the UFO. I was originally going to pass on it because I had just drilled the Evolve and thought maybe the UFO would be too close to my Physix in reaction. It is different enough to have in the bag when going to a tournament that I know will be on a longer heavier pattern. The UFO is also usable on some over-walled, high volume of oil in the middle of the lane, house conditions, when keeping the ball in the oil. Thank you for reading my review of the Roto Grip UFO.
Title: RotoGrip UFO Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on May 22, 2020, 09:12:57 AM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  400 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
VLS Layout:  5 ½, 4, 2 ¾

The UFO is a great benchmark Asym from RotoGrip.  I’m a little on the slower side of ball speed and I tend to roll it a little heavy.  As a result, I can’t throw SUPER strong balls usually.  But the UFO is just clean enough that I’m able to use it more effectively.  It hooks a ton overall, it’s definitely that strong solid asym shape but just clean enough for rev dominant players. 
Title: Re: UFO
Post by: tommyzero on May 23, 2020, 05:43:05 PM