BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 14, 2018, 11:06:14 AM

Title: Winner Solid
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 14, 2018, 11:06:14 AM
Roto Grip continues their winning streak with the Winner Solid bowling ball. This ball uses the Altered Hotshot core wich was designed to offer the length and reaction needed at the HP2 performance level. The VTC-S18 Solid coverstock provides traction down the lane without reacting too early. This ball is best used on medium to medium/heavy oil conditions when it will clear the front part of the lane easily and then give ample backend motion.

Color: Black / Purple / Green
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Coverstock: VTC-S18 Solid Reactive
Core: Altered Hotshot Core
Finish: 3000-grit Pad
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium to Medium/Heavy Oil
RG: 2.54**
Differential: 0.054**
** RG and Diff are based off of 15 lb. balls
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: StormAndrew on November 15, 2018, 05:53:23 AM
When I got the chance to test the Winner Solid it was after leagues had finished. The lanes were pretty burnt up which was desired since I had preconceptions of using the Winner Solid on transition.

The feedback I saw from the testing was that it was smooth rolling and controllable, however; it did get down the lane further than the other balls available in the Storm/Roto lineup. This is mainly due to the higher RG of the ball. I liked what I saw from the Winner Solid as I generally have a favorability to throw solid/surfaced benchmark bowling balls.

I plan on incorporating this ball into my arsenal immediately as it will give me a ball to jump to when my lower RG or Asymmetrical balls are no longer matching up and the need arises to jump to something less aggressive that will store energy and give me motion down lane.
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: Bigmike on November 26, 2018, 10:17:26 AM
My specs are 16.5 mph ball speed with about 285-315 RPM rev rate. New axis pts are 4 1/2 > 1/2 ^. I need my tilt and rotation checked but it used to be around 15* tilt with 35* rotation. Tweener with softer speed is my style.

I drilled up my WINNER SOLID with a benchmark layout for me of 65 x 4.5 x 35 with no hole. I left it box finish to try it out first before adjusting. Early opinion is smooth rolling with good push in the fronts. Obviously the shape in the back was very close to the original WINNER when it made it's move.

I have only used this on house and it is great for getting close to the oil line and letting the side and back end friction of the lane correct it to the pocket. This is not the heavy oiler the SHOW OFF was. Different cover on the WINNER SOLID compared to the SHOW OFF even though the shape of the weight block is the same (except for the puck on the bottom which increased the diff on the WINNERS).

Compared to some current balls, the WINNER SOLID is definitely about 6 and 3 right of my PHYSIX. My HYROAD X even with the shine knocked off is still stronger and the HYROAD X specs are weaker compared to the WINNER SOLID. My HALO is about 6 and 3 stronger as is my IDOL SOLID. No surprise as we are comparing apples to oranges with the stronger covers/cores in the Storm family. I will say the HYROAD X having a stronger move at the spot was my biggest surprise but the cover should be stronger also on the HYROAD X.

Drill this one up if you are looking for something that clears the fronts easier than the stronger balls but does not float like a Pearl can tend to do in this spot in the Storm/Roto line-ups. This should also be a great ball for the mediums like volume and length when you want to control the backend and the SHOW OFF is just too early at the break point.
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on November 26, 2018, 12:53:46 PM
The Winner Solid features the same Altered Hot Shot Core from the Winner, plus the solid version of the same coverstock, and the result is the second coming of the Torrent for me.  Very smooth and controllable, good length for a solid but with the traction to really blend wet/dry and hook.  For me it seems most at home on difficult conditions or on house shots with really strong backends.  It’s been really hard for me to put down unless there’s just too much oil out there or the backends are soft, it’s been a personal favorite of mine since I’ve gotten it and it’s gone everywhere with me.  It’s a great compliment to the original Winner as they both feel very familiar, the solid version is just earlier, smoother, and a couple boards stronger.  Very highly recommend this one for medium conditions.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OJgaXSO_QUA
Title: Roto Grip Winner Solid Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on November 28, 2018, 09:22:39 PM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  45, 6, 45

The Winner Solid is a great step up from the Winner.  I loved my Winner, but it was SO long and sideways at times.  I sometimes found myself needing an earlier, smoother version of the Winner.  The Winner Solid solves that problem.  It picks up a bunch earlier and is SOOOOO smooth at the breakpoint.  I can see myself starting with the Winner Solid on the fresh and going to the Winner when they breakdown. 
Title: Winner Solid
Post by: fazzone22 on December 01, 2018, 04:23:15 PM
I drilled my Roto Grip Winner Solid 5.5 x 5 x 5. Just after a first few shots I noticed that this ball is smoother and more continuous than the original. The Winner Solid is just a touch stronger than the Hustle Ink but the Ink has much more response on the back end. This ball will be the first ball out of my bag on those patterns between 38-40 ft or just after my iQ Tour. 
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: hittnhard on December 06, 2018, 01:34:41 PM

Roto Grip Winner Solid

Core: Altered Hot Shot

Cover: VTC-S18

I set up the Winner solid to cover a light oil/burn spot in my arsenal. I have used the Winner for that to this point and now looking to add a smoother reacting ball.

Winner Solid is set up 70x2.5x40 (Winner was set up 70x5x35).

Drilled the Winner Solid with a closer pin to pap and higher VAL in hope to smooth out the reaction a little bit. Again, looking for a smoother compliment to the Winner...which has been a great light oil ball for me.

Winner Solid is a perfect fit. It gives me the ability to play a few boards right on my normal starting position on a fresh house shot and the option of staying right longer than any other ball in my arsenal. I think the Winner Solid with a short pin to pap, and a little less flare than I am use to, gives me a motion I did not have with any other piece.

I highly recommend this ball. Winner Solid and the Winner make a great 1-2 punch on light-med oil.
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: Kevin Duncan on December 18, 2018, 05:43:29 PM
Roto Grip Winner Solid
Layout: 1.5 Pin to PAP
Rev Rate: 300 rpm, 7 degree of axis tilt, 40 degree of axis rotation
Testing information: 41 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine – Brunswick Anvilane

The Roto Grip Winner Solid utilizes the Altered Hotshot Core and VTC-S18 coverstock.  I put a shine on the Winner Solid before testing.  When compared to the Winner, the Winner Solid reads the mid-lane better.  This is to be expected with the solid coverstock verses the pearl.  We were about one and one further left with the Winner Solid verses the Winner. 
The carry with the Winner Solid was very good on the THS during testing for me.  Maybe the best I have seen during all the ball reviews.  I had three non-carry shots out of about 15 pocket hits – a stoned 8-pin and two ringing 10-pins.   The Winner Solid seemed to keep the pins low.  Controlling the pocket was not difficult. I have heard others compare the Winner Solid to the Storm Torrent.  I did not throw the Torrent but from what I know from those who have, the Winner Solid is better.
In fairness to all, I did throw the Winner Solid this past weekend at the Greater Tulsa Open.  The ball preformed excellent on the fresh during the singles event but struggled to make the corner on the carry down.  Part of this could have been contributed to the control drill I used and the shine I put on the coverstock.
This is a great addition to the HP2 line and will make a good benchmark ball.  This ball is sneaky good!
Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop!
#Stormnation
#SquadRG
Title: Winner Solid is SO GOOD
Post by: KennonMcFalls300 on December 26, 2018, 10:31:35 AM
The Winner Solid is the latest continuation of our HP2 line. The Winner Pearl is very responsive down lane when the lane starts to dry up. The Solid though, is in a class of its own. The Solid HP2 ball is the biggest bang for your buck to date. It reads the midlane earlier than the Winner Pearl and can be used on the heavier volume patterns. The Winner Solid and the Winner Pearl offer similar strength; the difference though is where they read the lane. The Winner Solid is earlier and smoother creating a nice round ball motion. The Pearl skids more and has a sharp motion off the friction making a hockey stick motion. I think the Winners offer a wonderful 1-2 punch for when the heavier volume patterns are in transition from the middle of the block to the end.

I look forward to throwing this ball when the conditions allow. It blends the house patterns out very well but also allows you to play close to the friction on the sports
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: RGisKing on December 27, 2018, 09:27:22 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Winner Solid by Storm Staffer Matthew Kemper
Post by: bowlerman147 on December 27, 2018, 09:30:28 PM
The Roto Grip Winner Solid is Roto Grip’s newest HP2 line release.  The Winner Solid is covered with the VTC-S18 solid cover stock and is finished at 3000 grit matte finish.  The Winner Solid has the Symmetrical Altered Hotshot Core which is also found in the Winner Pearl.  The Winner Solid is the perfect complement to the Winner Pearl.  I drilled both my Winner’s with the pin up and about an inch right of the ring finger with the CG stacked directly below.  This has become one of my favorite layouts over the last year or so.  Compared to the pearl the Solid for me is about three boards stronger and rolls about 8 feet sooner which gives me a whole different look.  The Solid handles fresher patterns better especially patterns that have a higher volume of oil.  I have found so far that when I start with the Winner Solid, I can then change to the Pearl and stay in the same part of the lane without too much adjustment.  What surprises me the most about the Solid is the fact that I can play deeper on the lanes and still keep a higher carry percentage.  This is pretty rare for me out of lower lines of balls.  I recommend the Winner solid for anyone looking for a great lower cost ball.  The solid is a great benchmark ball and you get much more ball for the money which is a great deal. 
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: rodbowler75 on December 28, 2018, 06:27:48 PM
After making the move down to 15 one of the first balls i drilled was the Winner Solid. This is a benchmark ball in my bag using 4.5 x 35 on this ball it really reads the mid lane for me and is a great ball to keep you in the pocket. I can get left and change my angles and this ball just keeps going for me. If you haven't had a chance to try this ball i would talk to your local pro shop about it. Great ball for the price point. A nice step up from the Hustles.

Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: PJ Haggerty on January 05, 2019, 03:38:21 PM
Roto Grip Winner Solid Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

After having success with the original Winner, it was only natural we’d see a solid version of it.  I expected a very mild, smooth reaction with a slower response time.  That’s exactly what the Winner solid is meant to be.  I’ve noticed the Winner solid is a solid compliment to the Halo and Code X type balls after they start to get flat or run out of gas.  With a 3000-grit surface, the Winner solid still goes through the pins nicely without burning up.

I tried a different layout on this one and think it rolls great.  I used a longer pin and put it pretty far above my bridge.  The layout maps out as 6 x 5.  The pin is about 4 inches above my bridge and I wanted to see how well it would roll with a good amount of finger weight.  I think it gives the Winner solid a good response time and doesn’t slow it down at all.  I’ve been able to play straight or open up my angles without a problem. 

If I don’t feel like the Winner solid is enough down lane, I can go to my original Winner.  The Winner solid is a perfect addition to the HP-2 line and can be used on multiple lane conditions. 

Go drill one!  #SquadRG
Title: Winner Solid Review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on January 12, 2019, 01:26:39 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40 Ft

Volume:Med-High

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Cover: VTC-S18™
Weightblock: Altered Hotshot Core
Finish: 3000
RG: 2.54
Diff: 0.054

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up
Ball Layout: Pin Under Bridge 75 X 4 7/8 X 70

After the success of the Winner, Roto Grip decided to wrap the powerful Altered Hotshot™ Core in a solid coverstock called VTC-S18™. The Winner always suprised me with it's strong down-lane move. It was so core strong that I wondered if wrapping it in a solid cover would be overkill. The answer turned out to be yes.... and no.

The Winner Solid is cleaner than I expected it to be. The cover gives you some pretty decent midlane reaction, even in a little higher volume. It's definitely smooth and readable but it still hits. I really like using the Winner solid to play straight into the oil on my weekly league. High Volume house that feels very wet down-lane. Stronger equipment can kind of trap you on the fresh because you have to be steep through the front to have hold, yet you can't get it to far right or it struggles to recover. Going with more cover tended to burn up the mid-lane making me use more and more angle and not burning up the out of bounds area fast enough. The Winner solid is strong enough to not miss the spot if I go straight into the Out of bounds area, but it allows me to keep my angle straighter through the front. The result is a first game where i can not only break the right side of the lane down without disturbing the mid-lane, but I can expect to score.

The Winner solid will also retain energy pretty well in a house with a more defined area of friction to the right. You feel the strength of the core much more when theres a spot to throw it at. I was surprised that I had to open my angles more, but even with the solid cover grabbing the mids it still retained enough energy to go through the pins. I think the Winner solid is a great ball to use for creating friction on tough patterns, because you don't have to open up angle and it's still strong enough to get back. It's also versatile enough to be useful on house patterns. It's definitely a great value ball for those people who are looking to move into their first reactive ball and want something strong enough to help them see motion right away, but affordable.

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: ct9pinking on February 05, 2019, 11:22:08 AM
Winner Solid
The VTC-S18 Cover is combined with Altered Hot Shot Core which is also in the Winner Pearl.  The Winner Solid in my opinion is perfect for medium volume shot’s that are longer in length.  A very smooth rolling ball with a higher RG that allows the ball to easily get down the lane.  The Winner Solid is a great Symmetrical ball and a perfect addition to the HP2 line.  I would also recommend as a very good benchmark ball.

Bowler Info: PAP 4 9/16 x 1 3/16 up; Ball Speed 18mph; Rev Rate 620 RPM
#stormnation
Keith DeMaine
Storm Amateur Staff
Connecticut State & County HOF
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com

Roto Grip Winner Ball Review by Keith DeMaine
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: RoundHolesNoGripsProshop on February 18, 2019, 01:47:48 PM
Round Holes No Grips Proshop – Ball Review

Ball:  Rotogrip Winner Solid
Layout:  Xx4x45
Surface:  2000A
Lane Condition:  THS mediumvolume
Lane Surface:  Brunswick Anvilane

Tester:  Andrew
Average:  230
Dexterity:  Right
PAP:  4 9/16>, 3/8U
Rev Rate:  370

The Dare Devil Trick was my go-to benchmark piece for tournament conditions or early in the set on higher volume house shots.  The Winner Solid was the logical replacement for the DDT.  I drilled them the same.  However, I did notice some minor differences.  The Winner Solid is smoother off the spot than the DDT.  Carry is equally as good but the read off the end of the part is much better.   

This ball is the perfect ball to start with on most Challenge and Sport patterns for me.  It has the right balance of strength and controllability.  It isn’t as strong as the IDOL, but it doesn’t need to be.  The Winner gives me the feedback I need to decide if I can stay with the Winner Solid or ball up to the Halo line or down to the HP1 line.

Andrew Groves
Round Holes No Grips Proshop
Rotogrip Advisory Staff
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: Gil B on February 24, 2019, 08:19:29 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: House shot

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Likes:After drilling the Winner pearl and loving the angular back end motion decided to try the solid. It did not disappoint. The Winner solid reads the mid lane very nice and clean and makes a nice angular motion in the back end. Great ball to start with on a house shot something predictable and easy to transition with .

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: cmattingly on February 26, 2019, 10:51:42 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 43

Volume: 21mL

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: When the lanes break down, this ball does work!

Dislikes: Not the motion I like to see on the Fresh


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

The Winner solid is a good addition to the RotoGrip HP2 line.  For me the Winner solid is similar to a weaker iQ tour Solid. It actually reminds me most of an older release, the RotoGrip Devour.  The motion is very clean through the front part of the lane and I personally would like it to read the mids a little better on the fresh, but it has a good motion down lane.  On the fresh I get a little over/under but once the lanes transition and they get a little toasty this ball really shines.  This ball will still clear the heads well, read the mids, and gives you a strong but very controllable motion off the dry.  This is where this ball marks its territory!

The Layout I used was my typical pin up 60x5x35.  This puts the pin above my ring finger and the CG about an inch off of my center line.

Some balls I'm Loving at the moment:
CodeX pin down- 60x5x70 (p3 hole)
Idol pin down- 60x5x70 (no hole)
Idol Pearl- 60x5-1/2x35
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: TonyMarino on March 06, 2019, 09:52:15 AM
Roto Grip Winner Solid

To compliment the original Winner, the Winner Solid has the same Altered Hotshot™ Core but features the new VTC-S18 Solid Coverstock. According to Roto Grip, “The major key was getting the ratios of materials just right to provide traction throughout the lane without gripping too early.”

The Winner Solid will be able to handle a little bit more oil than its pearl counterpart for sure. Compared to the original Show Off, the new Winner Solid will clear the front of the lane easier and give more backend motion. I thought the original Winner was too clean and really needed a high rev rate or slow ball speed player for it to match up properly, the Winner solid though seems to be the perfect bride between the Hustles and the Show Off. I would say it’s a… wait for it… Winner. (Sorry, not sorry LOL)
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: fjcallahan on March 06, 2019, 03:09:47 PM
Hi and thank you for reading my review for the RotoGrip Winner Solid, here we go….I drilled my Winner solid pin under my fingers which works out to be five inches from my axis. This ball hooks a bunch, more than I was expecting for sure. I'm a high track player with below average tilt and maybe a tad too much speed. The winner plays right into my wheelhouse, it gives you tug room in the oil and it is smoother off the friction for those wide from target type shots. I would compare it to the OG Idol as far as the shape on the lane is concerned but, with less energy at the breakpoint. It will take a handful of games to glaze the surface and when that happens, in my opinion, the Winner gets even better. Right out of the box it was too close to the Idol and did not make a whole lot of sense to have both of those balls in my bag. My Idol is pin up with a five inch pin and has more perceived angle at the end of the pattern. Needless to say, the price you pay for the amount of reaction you get is really something to commend. If you have a little less hand and you need some budget hook this is the rock to go get. Great job by the Roto Team! Keep them rolling in! #SquadRG
Title: Roto Grip Winner Solid by Brian Watson
Post by: StormRoto on March 18, 2019, 11:49:33 AM
PAP - 3 5/8 up 1 1/8
Speed - 16
Tilt -17
RPM -400

I was a big fan of the RG original winner.  But sometimes the Winner was a little squirty on the fresh or too much downlane. Well the Winner solid was a perfect match to use on the fresh and or the wet dry lane condition.  I drilled mine 4.5 x 4.5 x 4.5 pin down.
I would label the Winner Solid as Control.  Very smooth and predictable.  A little earlier and slower response down lane.  Great sport shot ball, or high rev guys wanting to control the backends.

Brian Watson
Pro Shop Staff
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: RyanPatterson30 on March 18, 2019, 06:13:33 PM
This ball cover was a lot stronger than I thought it would be. I changed the surface to 4000 to make this ball a transition piece. I see this ball to be very successful with shorter and medium patterns as well as your normal house shots. I have been a fan of the Winner and this ball perfectly complements it with an early roll when the Winner is not picking up early enough. For an HP2 line ball the performance is well worth the price. This ball fits in my bag after my IQ Tour and Phaze II and before my Winner and HyRoad.

Layout: 55 x 4.25 x 40

Ryan Patterson
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: tommygn on March 22, 2019, 12:58:33 PM
The Winner solid is the follow up to the Winner in the Hp2 line of balls from Roto Grip. This ball has the same core as the pearl called altered hotshot, which has an Rg of 2.54 and a differential of 0.054, in 15lbs. The VTC-S18 is a new cover for Roto Grip and has a black/purple/green color combination. The Winner solid has a box finish of 3000 grit.

I drilled the Winner solid with a 4” pin, and 3” pin buffer. I’m really not sure what to compare the Winner solid to, as I never drilled the original Winner. This medium Rg ball with high differential has a much different shape than I am used to. With the strong box finish, the Winner really covers a lot of boards. The more surface I put on the Winner solid, the more it hooks without losing backend reaction. I tried polishing the Winner solid with Storm Step #1. This finish really tamed down the board coverage, but the ball flares so much, it’s hard for me to get it to shape through the pins just the right way. I think I would need to try another Winner solid, with a much different layout, to get this ball to shape the right way for my style of play, on a variety of patterns. The Winner solid looked the best for me on really long patterns when the front of the lane isn’t loaded with oil.

The Winner solid is a very unique ball. For me, it needs a very specific lane pattern to really shine. This ball is a great option for a bowler looking to get some board coverage without paying the high end ball price. Thank you for taking the time to read my review of the Winner solid.
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: dcutler on March 22, 2019, 02:04:23 PM
My name is Doug Cutler and I am a Storm/Roto Grip staffer and I am left handed and I throw about 15-17 mph.  My first Winner solid drilling is 70 x 3 3/4 x 20. The surface I have on it 2000 grit pad.  What I saw from this ball so far it is a really controllable and smooth and gets thru the heads clean and just does not overreact. I have used this ball on THS on Fresh and also oh patterns that are really flat that you don't want the ball to over hook,and any Medium to Oily Lanes. This ball lets me keep my angles in front of me and this will be a ball I will take to Nationals this year.  If I need a ball with more back end reaction or if the Winner Solid is rolling out then I will go to my Winner Pearl.  I really like my Winner Solid and I really like controllable bowling balls and if you need a ball to take to Nationals, this is a ball you will need. #squadRG #ownit #winnersolid

Doug Cutler
Storm/Roto Grip Staffer
PBA Regional Staffer
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: hammermike2000 on March 22, 2019, 03:45:13 PM
Roto Grip Winner Solid

Layout: 35 x 4 ¾ x 60

Surface: Box

The Winner Solid is a smooth and predictable benchmark ball for medium oil conditions that has much more usability on normal house shots than it's predecessor, the Show Off. It has enough mid lane traction to use on fresh house shot conditions, provided it isn't true heavy oil.  It gets through the heads easy, but has plenty of mid lane and a touch of backend that makes it quite versatile. It is a bit too strong for dry lanes or burnt up heads; the Winner Pearl is much more suited for those conditions.  The Winner Pearl is easily 3-4 feet further down the lane versus the Winner Solid, and is much quicker off the break point.

Overall, the Winner Solid and Winner Pearl are a duo that can cover almost all lane conditions, at an extremely affordable price.

Mike LeViner
Title: Re: Winner Solid
Post by: tommyzero on March 23, 2019, 11:04:11 PM