BallReviews

Reviews => Roto Grip => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on July 17, 2018, 01:36:42 PM

Title: Winner
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on July 17, 2018, 01:36:42 PM
Roto Grip wants everyone to be a winner that is why they are introducing the Roto Grip Winner bowling ball. This ball takes the original Hotshot core and modifies it to decrease the RG and increase the differential in order to create more downlane reaction. This core is paired with the VTC-P18 Pearl reactive coverstock which maintains the balls traction all the way down the lane while storing energy for the backend. Out of the box this ball was designed to win on medium oil lanes.

Color: Red/Gold/Charcoal
Coverstock: VTC-P18 Pearl Reactive
Core: Altered Hotshot Core
Finish: 1500-grit Polished
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium Oil
RG: 2.54**
Differential: 0.054**
** RG and Diff are based off of 15 lb. balls
Title: Re: Winner
Post by: StormAndrew on July 31, 2018, 05:12:33 PM
Ball Review:
I absolutely love this ball as it instantaneously fills a gap in my arsenal and something I been looking for ever since the Hectic got discontinued. The best description and comparison I can give is that this ball is right in between a Timeless and a Hectic. It's not as powerful as the Timeless although it is stronger than the Hectic.

The layout of this ball is 85 x 4.5 x 75. This ball will be a go to when the lanes transition and get into burn territory, somewhere after games 5/6. I had the opportunity to test this ball on pretty dry conditions which was the perfect environment for the Winner. I liked how I was able to get inside and slow hook it in the middle part of the lane; something I used to love to do with my Hectic. I didn't have to try and force the ball into more of a skid phase. I was able to keep everything at a normal pace and my hand slow. I maintained the pocket very well throughout the demo. The ball, also, hits very well as you can see in the video.

For those looking for something like a Hectic and stronger than the HP1 line for when the lanes are dry I believe you'll really enjoy the Winner.

Video:
https://youtu.be/_u3byaCVGxY
Title: Re: Winner
Post by: Kevin Duncan on August 12, 2018, 01:20:57 PM
Roto Grip Winner
Layout: 3 3/8 (1:30 Leverage)
Rev Rate: 300 rpm
Testing information: 41 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine Ė Brunswick Anvilane

Everybody likes a Winner!  Roto Gripís intention was to improve the HP2 line and I feel they accomplished their goal with the Winner. The VTC-P18 pearl coverstock and Altered Hotshot Core work well together.  Roto Grip changed the density of the bottom slug of the Hotshot Core and improved the backend motion a bunch, compared to the All Out Show Off.  The Winner responds nicely to the friction down lane.  I could see where speed dominate players could throw it past the break point on fresh oil. 
We compared the Winner to the Storm Marvel Pearl and Storm SoniQ.  The Winner ended up 2 and 1 right of the Storm Marvel Pearl and 5 and 3 right of the Storm SoniQ.  The ball was cleaner in the front part of the lane than either ball, but still displayed good carry once we got lined up properly.  The Winner should fit nicely between the Hustle INK and Show Off.  I believe the Winner will be more versatile and successful than the All Out Show Off.  Donít be afraid to try the Winner if you didnít like the All Out Show Off.  Roto Grip made huge improvements in the Winner. #SquadRG #Stormnation
Title: Winner Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on August 12, 2018, 05:07:16 PM
The Winner is both an anomaly and completely expected.  For one, it outperforms the HP2 line by a staggering amount, but this is also a normal thing for Roto to do with that line.  It nearly has the highest symmetric core differential on the market right now, and is higher than anything in Rotoís HP3 or HP4 lines.  However, it has a medium RG and the combination contributes to making it a ball with great length and a strong backend move.  I think itís a bit TOO easy down the lane, but it has looked very good for all Tamerís testers, so in addition to a full and detailed review of mine here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZlyYRM6a2M  I would also check Tamer Bowlingís video review out as well. 
Title: Roto Grip Winner Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on August 15, 2018, 11:04:23 AM

Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  50, 6, 40

The Winner is a great pearl high RG ball from Roto Grip.  I LOVED my Wreck-Em and was looking for a replacement and the Winner is the perfect replacement.  Itís SUPER clean in the front and goes SIDEWAYS on the back.  Itís the perfect ball for drier conditions.  I could see using it on hooking house patterns right out the gate or switching to it later in a tournament to open up the lane.  And itís got unbelievable performance for the price! 
Title: Re: Winner
Post by: Bigmike on August 28, 2018, 11:20:33 AM
My stats: 16.5 mph ball speed, 285-315 rev rate, up the back type release with a high track. To summarize, medium speed - forward roll type of release with moderate revs.

I put the WINNER at 60 x 5 x 30. This layout ended up with close to 1.5 oz of side weight which now doesn't require a weight hole as of August 1, 2018.

I have thrown the WINNER on mostly house and our state Masters pattern. The WINNER is skid/flippy. I get easy push in the front with little effort and big move at the break point. I will probably have to either put a weight hole in to tame it some or smooth the cover up to about 3000 to get it to burn some of that push in the front of the lane.

Compared to the ALL OUT SHOW OFF which this ball basically has replaced, I see it more push and more whippy down the lane. I changed my cover on the AOSO and got it to read well enough for me on higher friction house shots. I see the WINNER being a good ball down option if it is drilled weak enough to lay off in the back.

The WINNER should be a great option for more friction. Don't be afraid to hit it with 3000 to smooth it out off the back end.
Title: Re: Winner
Post by: StormRoto on September 04, 2018, 12:16:34 PM
RG Winner review by Brian Watson
The new Roto Grip Winner is a great addition and a missing motion in the current line. I drilled mine 5 x 4 x 4 pin down. I hit it with a 4000 abralon pad to take a little shine off as it is very clean through the fronts. Ive been able to use the Winner on pretty much any lane condition so far. I drier house shot it really shines! I bowl on a couple sport patterns also with success, but it needs to have the surface altered to around 2000 grit to get the best reaction. But it has the great RG reaction down lane with it rolling or (tumbling) off of the breakpoint. Very controllable and predictable. Brian Watson PAP - 3 5/8 up 1 1/4 Speed - 16-17 Tilt - 17 RPM - 400
Title: Roto Grip Winner
Post by: fazzone22 on September 14, 2018, 02:39:01 PM
I drilled my Roto Grip Winner 5.5 x 5 x 3. Compared to my Storm Match Up Pearl, the Winner gave me a similar motion with more over-all performance.  The Match Up Pearl was my go-to ball when I started to see friction either in the front part of the lanes or just overall lane play. The Winner will be a bit more versatile because of the slightly stronger cover and core. While throwing the Winner, I noticed that on almost every shot, it continued to drive through the pocket and never deflected off the pocket. If youíre a tournament bowler or just searching for a good overall league option, the Roto Grip WINNER is the clear choice.
Title: Re: Winner
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on September 18, 2018, 07:33:19 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:40-42

Volume:medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): house


COMMENTS

We have a WINNER!!!!!!! The new Winner from Roto Grip is a remarkable piece. I used my usual 65*5*40 layout, pin above the ring finger with cg straight down. For a HP2 line ball it provides a strong change of direction downlane. Like some of the other recent HP2 releases, ShowOff and All Out ShowOff, this ball is a lot more aggressive than expected but definitely not in a bad way!!! The Winner provides really good length and very defined change of direction at the breakpoint. I did touch the surface of mine very lightly with a 1000 grit pad by hand just to knock the initial shine off because for me the OOB covers are just alittle too clean. The Winner for me has the same length as the old Hectic but is much stronger downlane. The closest ball as far as shape goes that the Winner compares to is the Storm SoniQ, with the Winner being less overall. For me the Winner is just a weaker version of the SoniQ, by atleast an arrow, but have very similar reactions on the lane. 

Nick Smith
Bowling Connection Pro Shop
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Vise Inserts Staff

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Winner
Post by: #StormNationSteve on September 19, 2018, 10:24:58 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Roto Grip Winner Review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on September 26, 2018, 06:20:13 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40 Ft

Volume:Med-High

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS
 
Cover: VTC-P18 Pearl
Weightblock: Altered Hotshot Core
Finish: 1500 Polish
RG: 2.54
Diff: 0.054

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin Over Ring 40 X 4 7/8 X 30

COMMENTS

The new Roto Grip Winner is another big overachiever in the HP2 line. With a monstrous .054 Differential this thing will hook circles around everything in it's price-point. The Pearl VTC-P18 Coverstock helps that dynamic move happen downlane creating big angle at the end of the pattern.

I've found the Winner to be really useful on house patterns. It's strong enough to throw on fresh oil with less angle and clean enough to stick with through the transition. Small speed and angle changes can keep the ball in your hand all night. It responds well to surface changes. The box finish can make it tempermental to down-lane oil but putting a little texture on the ball can smooth that out easily.

I really like the box finish reaction on broken down lanes. When you really open the angle up with extremely steep left to right angles this ball really shines. Stand left, throw right and watch it come back. It has one of the most impressive carry abilities of any ball I have thrown in those situations. All of this from a ball that is classified HP2. The winner is a fantastic value, as getting it to match up with pretty much anyone is very easy and the superior performance for the price will impress anyone who buys one.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Winner
Post by: PJ Haggerty on October 02, 2018, 11:29:39 PM
Roto Grip Winner Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

The newest addition to the Roto Grip lineup is the Winner.  With great looking colors, a nice price point, and stellar performance, the Winner is an easy choice to add to your bag.  For players with rev rate, they will be standing left and throwing it right because of the shape it creates.  For the straighter players, it will be a ball that will have a quicker response time and be a great compliment to their high performance balls when they start to burn up a bit.

Iíve drilled one Winner so far and really like it.  Itís mapped out as 5 x 4 and I put 3000 on it just to smooth up the surface a bit.   As expected, when the pattern blends out and some oil gets down lane, the Winner is a perfect ball to go to.  The cover creates length but also a quicker response time when it sees friction.  I see this as a flashy ball to finish blocks strong with!

At an attractive price point, great looking colors, and stellar performance, the Winner is a perfect addition to bags for the winter season.  Go drill one!

#SquadRG
Title: Re: Winner
Post by: cmattingly on October 12, 2018, 06:05:30 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:43

Volume:21 mLs

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Out performs the price tag

Dislikes: not a big fan of the polish

First of all the I used a new layout for this ball.  I waited a bit before I drilled it, gathered information from other staffers, then went a different direction than normal for me.  I shortened the Pin to PAP distance by a half inch.  My go to pin down layout is 60x5x70.  I went with 60x4.5x70.  It was stronger than I anticipated! I was expecting something to use once the lanes broke down a bit, but that wasn't the case.  I was able to use this ball on the fresh with a fair amount of success.  Once I hit the surface with 3000 It rolled even better.  It was very similar to the pin down Marvel Pearl which I had in my bag and I was able to use it longer than I would the Marvel Pearl typically.  This is another home run in the HP2 line!  Most definitely out performs the price tag!


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Winner
Post by: ct9pinking on October 18, 2018, 02:11:43 PM
Winner
Really the perfect name!  The VTC-P18 Pearl Reactive Cover stock is combined with an altered Hotshot Core.   I think the Winner is similar to the Hustle Ink in the front part of the lane, much stronger on the back part of the lane, but not as much as the SoniQ.  This ball is perfect for house shotís that donít have a lot of volume and arenít very long in length.

The Winner is an awesome symmetrical ball and a great addition to the HP2 line.   If you donít have one in your arsenal, itís not complete.

Bowler Info: PAP 4 9/16 x 1 3/16 up; Ball Speed 18mph; Rev Rate 620 RPM
#rotogrip
#squadrg
Keith DeMaine
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Connecticut State & County HOF
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
Title: Re: Winner
Post by: StoRoto2013 on October 25, 2018, 12:41:18 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: Medium

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

The newest addition to the RotoGrip HP2 line is the Winner.  The Winner is super clean through the front part of the lane and has a booming backend.  This dynamic motion is from the combination of the VTC-P18 Pearl coverstock and the Altered Hotshot Core.  I was thinking about throwing the Winner on some short Sport patterns but decided to toss it on what everyone bowls on THS. I have a low rev rate around 300, ball speed around 15 mph, right handed and my axis point is 5 5/8 over and ĺ up. The layout I used was pin over the fingers with the CG kicked out about 2 inches with no hole.  I believe the Dual Angle is 45 X 5.5 X 50.  The Winner had generous length, mid lane control (even for a Pearl) and a very aggressive backend motion.  The motion is similar to the All Out Show Off but with more forgiveness and more overall performance.  The Winner allowed me to play up or to the dry with ease and this was something I did not fore see happening.  The over under that I usually have with a pearl bowling ball was not there.  I was surprised at how deep I could continue to more left and the Winner would get around the corner.  The name fits what this ball isÖ  WINNER!

The Winner is going to be in my bowling bag for sure.  The Winner is very much like the Hustle INK more bang for your buck. 



Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Winner
Post by: rodbowler75 on October 27, 2018, 08:46:56 PM
I drilled the Roto Grip looking for that lower end pearl to fill a need in my bag. This ball does not disappoint! This ball is a great step up from my Hustle ink and Hustle Hyb when i need something clearer down lane and to change the angle. The layout of my Winner was 55 x 5.5 x 35 this is one of my favorite layouts right now. I had to adjust the surface of the ball and hit it with 3,000 just to smooth out the motion with my loft. If you're looking for a lower end ball to add to your bag this is a great choice for this price point.
Title: Re: Winner
Post by: hittnhard on November 18, 2018, 08:44:25 PM
Roto Grip Winner

***Altered HotShot Core***

***1500-grit Polished VTC-P18 Coverstock***

Set up with something to get me downlane (70x5x35) on a medium oil house shot...old wood lanes with lots of friction outside and on the backend.

The plan for the Winner was to be a step down from my Strom Match Up Black Pearl. I was looking for something that can get me through game 2-3 in league when the shot gets tricky on the wood surface. It was a touch more backend that I need but it's definitely something that will work.

Gets down lane with easy and has a nice pop in the back. I was surprised with the power it had, considering it is an HP2 line ball.

Actually so strong in the backend for me that I will most likely adjust surface a bit to see what it does. Maybe something closer to the out of box surface of the Match Up Black Pearl.

Overall, great ball...especially when you factor in the price point.

#RotoGrip

#OwnIt

Title: Re: Winner
Post by: bowlstorm3 on November 26, 2018, 08:54:20 PM
The Winner has the VTC-P18 pearl coverstock designed for more traction while still maintaining downlane motion. The cover is paired with an Altered Hotshot core.

I went with a 45 x 5 x 40 pin up layout on my Winner. Although a little touchy on the fresh with the polished out of box finish, I really like the Winner when the oil migrates from the front part of the lane and stronger balls start losing energy. For testing purposes, I also hit it with a 2000 pad and found it to be a completely different ball. Suddenly, it could handle a lot more volume with a lot more versatility. I am looking forward to some upcoming tournaments to put it to the test.
Title: Winner ball review
Post by: Rotogripskitt15999 on December 08, 2018, 07:20:58 PM
Here today to talk about the roto grip winner.The hp2 line adds a great ball with lots of backend for a great value.First look i had with this ball was really good i was very impressed how this ball was so clean threw the front part of the lane and tons a pop down lane sometimes a little to much off the spot.I really like the wrecker,the winner reminds me of it just cleaner.I like to use this ball later in the day little to skiddy for the fresh,i did add surface to another winner i drilled put 2000 on it and was alot better for the fresh.I can see this ball in alot of bowlers bags as great bang for the buck.

Title: Re: Winner
Post by: RoundHolesNoGripsProshop on January 08, 2019, 08:12:41 AM
Round Holes No Grips Proshop Ė Ball Review

Ball:  Rotogrip Winner
Layout 1: Xx5.5x30
Layout 2:  Xx4x30
Surface:  500 plus polish
Lane Condition:  THS mediumvolume
Lane Surface:  AMF HPL

Tester:  Andrew
Average:  230
PAP:  5R, .25U
Rev Rate:  370

Winner 1(Xx5.5x30):  This ball has been impressive since the very first shot.  For a ball in the HP2 lineup, this is an excellent value.  I chose this layout to give me a clean look thru the front part of the lane and bounce off the friction that develops on our house shot late in the set.  It provides a quick response to friction and lets me go around the puddle in the middle of the lane. 

Winner 2(Xx4x30):  This has quickly become my first ball out of the bag on THS.  I really like the way this one starts up earlier and reads the midlane strong enough to make the corner on our fresh conditions.  I can usually get well into game 3 on our scratch league before I need to switch to Winner 1. 

Overall, I donít think you will see better performance for your dollar on the market.  The Rotogrip HP2 line has been, and continues to be, extremely popular in our shop and center.  We are currently testing the Rotogrip Winner Solid and will be posting a review of that shortly.