BallReviews

Equipment Boards => Roto Grip => Topic started by: AlonzoHarris on February 15, 2019, 06:34:29 PM

Title: Halo Pearl
Post by: AlonzoHarris on February 15, 2019, 06:34:29 PM
Ahh welp. After watching Tamerís review, Lukeís review, and Lukeís livestream...I think the Halo Pearl is going to happen! One last reservation is waiting for the PhysiX Pearl and then choosing. With already having a Code Black, I donít need too many asym pearls.

Anyone else see themselves ordering one?
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: SprayNpray on February 16, 2019, 08:22:50 PM
I've been salivating also.  My only conundrum is that Luke seems to indicate that the Idol Pearl (which I love) is rounder in shape than the Halo pearl, while Tamer indicates that the Idol Pearl is quicker/ sharper.  Not sure what to make of that other than possible differences in layout and conditions.

I'm speed dominant with medium revs, and the Idol Pearl is one of the few pearls I can throw on fresh (we have a heavy house shot around 39 ft/ 29 ml) without blowing through the break point.  If the Halo can do it with a sharper read, consider me aroused.
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on February 18, 2019, 10:41:56 AM
I'm not sure how Tamer has the Idol Pearl sharper, but it definitely looks sharper for his crew.  Mine is pretty round and everyone else I know that has one, it's pretty round for them too.  Either way it was a beast at my tournament this weekend, used it for 11 of 12 games and I'm going to get a healthy check back.  Whether it's sharper or rounder, it's going to be a firmer read at the breakpoint due to being asym, more torque. 
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: SprayNpray on February 18, 2019, 12:31:56 PM
Sold.  Idol Pearl makes me feel like I can dominate anyone's face.  If the Halo Pearl is even firmer, I can't think of a better match up for my game.  Luke, how would you compare the HP to the Intense?  That would be the ball I'm replacing with the HP.
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: militant02 on February 18, 2019, 03:01:14 PM
i'm curious about the halo pearl versus the intense also. you compared the halo pearl to the intense fire on your live stream a couple of times but made a passing comment about the og intense. i have a hyper cell fused that i love and have a intense that i thought that i would be able to ball down to from the fused but the intense seems to react quicker than the fused to dry boards.  the intense is also harder to read because it doesn't rev up as easily even though i left it with the factory finish which i thought would keep it from reading the lane as quickly. is this because of the rs3 coverstock versus the etrax or is the intense a stronger ball overall?

also, did your halo pearl seem to flatten out after it reached the end of the pattern or does it show good continuation through the pocket. what do you think contributed to this reaction, the coverstock or the layout on your og halo?
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: BeerLeague on February 19, 2019, 01:50:32 PM
I watched a staffer throw it today up against his Idol Pearl.  I did not see much difference other than the Halo Pearl was quicker off the spot.  Initial impressions say when you can use one, you can use the other
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: AlonzoHarris on February 19, 2019, 02:17:43 PM
I watched a staffer throw it today up against his Idol Pearl.  I did not see much difference other than the Halo Pearl was quicker off the spot.  Initial impressions say when you can use one, you can use the other

I don't own the Idol Pearl. I do have the Marvel Pearl, but there's times I need something quicker on the backend. I'm thinking the Halo Pearl will be the ideal step up.
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: Geigs on February 19, 2019, 05:41:08 PM
Alonzo I have both, idol pearl, and marvel pearl. The two balls are real close. I canít see owning both unless you make a big surface adjustment to one, taking that factory polish off with say 2000 abralon etc. Now the halo pearl could be another story being asymmetrical. I would think it would be closer to a hyper cell fused. Probably a touch stronger? Maybe luke can chime back in?
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on February 21, 2019, 08:36:13 AM
That's pretty much it, as far as a total hook standpoint the HP isn't significantly stronger, the HP is better naturally if the Idol Pearl is going a little long or is too slow off the spot.  More of a shape thing than a total hook thing, pretty well exactly like the relationship between the Halo and Idol. 

In a comparison to the Intense, I don't really think there is one, the Intense for me was much earlier and more aggressive overall.  I don't have to fight the HP to get down the lane, and I don't have to fight angles, the Intense was just more ball than I needed most of the time.  The HP is VERY continuous, part of that is the layout, but part of it is also that the NRG (MicroTrax) on the Halo is very strong and wants to roll forward off the end of the pattern.  It's kind of funny, my Halo Pearl is more continuous than the Idol Pearl, or at least more than my first one, while my Idol is more continuous than my Halo was.  I'm not sure why R3S Pearl is so strong and reads so early, but I don't see much similarity between it and eTrax at all, much closer comparison to the Fire. 

I watched a staffer throw it today up against his Idol Pearl.  I did not see much difference other than the Halo Pearl was quicker off the spot.  Initial impressions say when you can use one, you can use the other
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: AlonzoHarris on February 21, 2019, 10:50:22 AM
That's pretty much it, as far as a total hook standpoint the HP isn't significantly stronger, the HP is better naturally if the Idol Pearl is going a little long or is too slow off the spot.  More of a shape thing than a total hook thing, pretty well exactly like the relationship between the Halo and Idol. 

In a comparison to the Intense, I don't really think there is one, the Intense for me was much earlier and more aggressive overall.  I don't have to fight the HP to get down the lane, and I don't have to fight angles, the Intense was just more ball than I needed most of the time.  The HP is VERY continuous, part of that is the layout, but part of it is also that the NRG (MicroTrax) on the Halo is very strong and wants to roll forward off the end of the pattern.  It's kind of funny, my Halo Pearl is more continuous than the Idol Pearl, or at least more than my first one, while my Idol is more continuous than my Halo was.  I'm not sure why R3S Pearl is so strong and reads so early, but I don't see much similarity between it and eTrax at all, much closer comparison to the Fire. 

I watched a staffer throw it today up against his Idol Pearl.  I did not see much difference other than the Halo Pearl was quicker off the spot.  Initial impressions say when you can use one, you can use the other

Thanks for the feedback Luke! I'm hoping they don't use R3S Pearl on the PhysiX core as that would be too much ball for me I would imagine, and I want to give that core a try!

I'm thinking I'll pull the Marvel Pearl out of my lineup and replace it with a Halo Pearl. I didn't pull the trigger on the Idol Pearl because of already owning the Marvel Pearl, I didn't see a big enough difference. I think the Halo Pearl will give me that length I want still but firmer read.
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: agroves on February 21, 2019, 11:16:44 AM
I've put 5 games on my Halo Pearl.  Per Luke's videos, I'm waiting to see if the cover "wakes up" more and starts hooking more.  I went long and strong for me, 75x4.5x40.  The ball is much cleaner through the fronts than I expected, but thats a good thing.  I've had mixed results with strong asymmetrical cored balls. 

What I'm impressed with most is how the Halo Pearl gets down the lane but doesn't over respond to friction.  It also doesn't underread the oil.  My biggest frustration is over/under hell.  The original Intense was crazy over/under for me.  I developed a real hatred for that ball unless I was on some short patterns, then it was money. 

Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: Geigs on February 21, 2019, 02:51:18 PM
Luke itís funny you say that about the halo pearl being more continuous than your idol pearl. My idol pearl is much stronger than expected for me and really checks up hard off the spot, and stops. havenít really got it dialed in yet. It definitely needs a lot of volume for me to use. Iím on the fence, but I think it may be a good ball for nationals in Vegas with all that volume. Got a narrow it down to six balls. Should I bring it? Hmmm.
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: jimjames on February 21, 2019, 04:09:30 PM
Luke itís funny you say that about the halo pearl being more continuous than your idol pearl. My idol pearl is much stronger than expected for me and really checks up hard off the spot, and stops.

Stops? Is that a good thing or bad?  I'm guessing good but wanted to check since I'm getting ready to buy said ball (IP).  :-\  Heard so many good comment on here about the Idol Pearl and my PSO likes it too, but also said the Halo Pearl is coming out and wait to see what it delivers. Getting antsy!  ::) Anyways, just wanted to check with you on this. Thanks.  :)
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: Geigs on February 21, 2019, 06:21:54 PM
I have slow ball speed, and kind of a roller. Pap 5 3/8 rt up 7/8. so thatís part of the problem with it for me. When I can use it, the ip hits like a tank. It definitely needs some oil. For me itís condition specific. I have a few tournaments coming up that use flat oil patterns. I think this is where the idol pearl will shine. Itís just too strong of a ball for me to use on our high friction, wet dry house pattern. Tons  of these ipís used in my area with success. Havenít seen any halo pearls roll down the lane yet.
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: michael.willis9 on February 28, 2019, 11:41:54 PM
My god this ball impressed me tonight. We had a little more volume tonight, well that or the higher than normal temperature in the bowling alley tonight made it feel like a higher volume. Well my down and in game with my after dark pearl wasnít there. Unfortunately it took me too long to realize, I kept thinking I was making mistakes. So anyways, I pull out the halo pearl. Get deeper and tighter, and wow pocket magnet. It held the oil if I tugged it but missing right just brought more violent return back to the pocket.

As for continuation.....  I through what felt like a beautiful ball and stone 9. I donít normally have the game to have a ball continue through the pocket so well to leave a 9
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: AlonzoHarris on March 18, 2019, 09:52:43 PM
First few games on it tonight and I was in over/under hell with this ball. I also wasnít throwing it very well at all. So going to give it another outing, but might break this polish a bit.
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: jelt2359 on March 20, 2019, 02:02:07 AM
First few games on it tonight and I was in over/under hell with this ball. I also wasnít throwing it very well at all. So going to give it another outing, but might break this polish a bit.

I took my halo burn (Mtrax pearl) to 2000 within the same session. Much better now!
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: AlonzoHarris on April 15, 2019, 09:04:01 PM
Took the ball to 4000 and still just an undesired shape. Very long and lazy. I guess I could try 3000 or even 2000 but the frustration is building with this one.

Iím amazed at just how mild this coverstock is, and how much is wiggles in oil.
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: BeerLeague on April 16, 2019, 07:56:33 AM
I swear by my polished Physix for long and strong - I drilled it with the PSA in the thumb and hit it with a 1500 pad and Step 2 compound.  I put it up against a Halo Pearl with the same layout and surface prep and it's no contest.   I'll take the predictable Physix look over the Halo Pearl anyday. 

I'm really on the fence with the Idol Pearl.  I'd rather throw the Marvel Pearl.  I will probably sell it or trade it in for something else.  - Let's see what Storm does with the Physix core.
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on April 16, 2019, 12:18:37 PM
Really don't understand this at all, what's the layout? Long yes, lazy no lol . .

Took the ball to 4000 and still just an undesired shape. Very long and lazy. I guess I could try 3000 or even 2000 but the frustration is building with this one.

Iím amazed at just how mild this coverstock is, and how much is wiggles in oil.
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: michael.willis9 on April 16, 2019, 12:26:13 PM
i want to try it on a THS, i haven't had a lot of chance to use it two hands yet....

but since i've switched to two hands, i can't use this ball on sport OOB.  All it wants to do right now is hit the end of the pattern and turn left immediately. 

It is beautiful on a THS if i want to get a little deeper OOB while i'm finishing up the season one handed.  But so far for two hands, it seems like too much ball.  I think a surface change will help me out though
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: Geigs on April 16, 2019, 01:37:09 PM
Beer league, Iím with you on the idol pearl. Never really got dialed in with it. Mine just pukes out at the breakpoint, and itís half ten city. Tried every surface adjustment possible. Guys around here are killing it with the idol pearl. Ball just doesnít match up for my style I guess. Ill stick with the marvel pearl.
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: AlonzoHarris on April 16, 2019, 02:20:09 PM
Really don't understand this at all, what's the layout? Long yes, lazy no lol . .

Took the ball to 4000 and still just an undesired shape. Very long and lazy. I guess I could try 3000 or even 2000 but the frustration is building with this one.

Iím amazed at just how mild this coverstock is, and how much is wiggles in oil.

50x5"x45
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on April 17, 2019, 09:12:43 AM
Really don't understand this at all, what's the layout? Long yes, lazy no lol . .

Took the ball to 4000 and still just an undesired shape. Very long and lazy. I guess I could try 3000 or even 2000 but the frustration is building with this one.

Iím amazed at just how mild this coverstock is, and how much is wiggles in oil.

50x5"x45

Huh.  I'm not trying to be all staffer guy and fake confusion . . if it sucks it sucks, but it's weird because that's a different experience than the majority are having.  I can't stand the Super Son!Q but most people are loving theirs I guess, that core rolls in my backswing and then it just pukes all over the place for me, but it is what it is.  Might just be a rough match up for you. 
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: AlonzoHarris on April 17, 2019, 10:15:30 AM
Really don't understand this at all, what's the layout? Long yes, lazy no lol . .

Took the ball to 4000 and still just an undesired shape. Very long and lazy. I guess I could try 3000 or even 2000 but the frustration is building with this one.

Iím amazed at just how mild this coverstock is, and how much is wiggles in oil.

50x5"x45

Huh.  I'm not trying to be all staffer guy and fake confusion . . if it sucks it sucks, but it's weird because that's a different experience than the majority are having.  I can't stand the Super Son!Q but most people are loving theirs I guess, that core rolls in my backswing and then it just pukes all over the place for me, but it is what it is.  Might just be a rough match up for you.

Certainly, I always appreciate your honesty Luke!

I'm going to try it at 3000 and then make the decision on it. Truthfully, I haven't been throwing anything the greatest for a few weeks now, so I'm hesitant to place blame on anything but myself at the moment.

It's one of those balls that so many like theirs, I want to make it work for me haha.
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: agroves on May 09, 2019, 08:52:19 AM
I'd recommend trying it at 500 plus polish.  I cut the factory shine off all my gear and start with 500 plus polish.  For ME, this smooths out the over/under. 
Title: Re: Halo Pearl
Post by: AlonzoHarris on May 09, 2019, 10:04:12 AM
I'd recommend trying it at 500 plus polish.  I cut the factory shine off all my gear and start with 500 plus polish.  For ME, this smooths out the over/under.

I've already passed it on to someone else haha.