BallReviews

Equipment Boards => Roto Grip => Topic started by: KennonMcFalls300 on August 31, 2021, 06:42:40 PM

Title: Hustle Wine
Post by: KennonMcFalls300 on August 31, 2021, 06:42:40 PM
The Hustle Wine is probably the best pearl Hustle I have thrown. Past Hustles have gone to the wasteside because they were too clean and too angular. The Wine bridges the gap nicely between the solid Hustles and the more angular Hustles. While the Wine is the same as the RAP, to me it's smoother and more continuous. The Rap really missed the spot most of the time whereas with the Wine, it hugs the midlane better and really goes through the pins well. I bowl on high friction surfaces and I have found a new favorite ball in the Wine. Every time I go to league, the Wine is the first ball out of my bag. I have been successful at both curving the entire lane, and firming my speed up and going up the track. It's a great piece.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vo5UzkJp2aY
Title: Re: Hustle Wine
Post by: Beaver Pelts on September 03, 2021, 07:49:17 PM
I've had good luck with the Hustle INK, but haven't used it in quite a while. The best success was with broken down lanes in game 3 one night when I switched to it. Probably got lucky as I recall standing on board 31 or 32 and tossing it far right. It came back like gangbusters and it took me through a pretty good finish.
Bought the Hustle RAP expecting to use it to replace at old IQ Tour pearl. The RAP hasn't shown me much so far. It's probably my release or possibly thumb hole tape adjustment needed. Should try it again and see if I can it to work better... Thanks for info on the Wine. Wonder how it would compare to the Storm Tropical Surge...
Title: Re: Hustle Wine
Post by: rotogrip_rick on September 05, 2021, 10:59:37 PM
Roto Grip Hustle Wine:
VTC Pearl Reactive with the Hustle Core
1500 grit polished - layout : 2 x 2 x 6
This Hustle was a breath of fresh air for me. It reminded me of the Roto Grip Mystic I had several years ago. Very "calm" in the front part of the lane, easy through the middle of the pattern and a little sharpness to the back end reaction. Not your typical entry level "flip hook" like a Tropical Surge or similar designed balls. If I missed left, the ball did not over hook like my Tropical Surge when it got to the dry area too quickly. Played around with the surface a little and noticed that having it a 4000ab and lane shine it rolled the best for me. Once leagues start up for me, this will be in the ball along with the RST-X1 and maybe a Zen Master to make up the 3 headed monster.
#SquadRG
Title: Re: Hustle Wine
Post by: Onefrombills on September 07, 2021, 01:48:14 PM
Hey everyone, I'm back with another ball review, and this time it's for the Roto Grip Wine Pearl and In 15 pounds this ball is wrapped in the VTC (Versatile Traction Control) Pearl Coverstock and comes 1500-grit polished with an RG of 2.53, Diff of .030. with a layout of 5 1/8 X 3 1/4 X 2 3/4
Depending on the surface of the Hustle Wine, bowlers will be able to use this on low-to-medium oil conditions. There are not many balls that can cover a variety of conditions, especially at an entry level price point. To give a comparison the Hustle Camo will dig in just a tad through the front of the lane compared to the Hustle Wine. This two-ball release will be a nice transition when the "benchmark" balls are just too early. The Solid and Pearl will naturally be longer and stronger.
BOWLER STYLE: RH - Power Stroker Rev Rate: 320 Ball Speed: 15-16 PAP: 4 7/8 right 5/8 up.
#Storm #VISE #BowlersChoiceProShop #BabesAndBallsBowling
#LogoInfusion or #IAmBowling (coupon code HIRSCH 20% off at checkout)
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVgKzdcnglpcCjAVFMBiVNg
Brian Hirsch
Title: Re: Hustle Wine
Post by: william.tefft on October 06, 2021, 08:47:13 PM
Ball Specs:
Roto Grip Hustle Wine
1500 VTC™ Pearl Reactive
Weight Block: Hustle™ (Symmetrical)
Color: Cranberry/Merlot

Review:
The Hustle Wine along with the Hustle Camo are more great pieces from the great Hustle Line. At the price point the Hustle Wine offers you great value if you’re looking for a versatile ball. This ball can be enjoyed by all experience levels. This ball looks beautiful going down the lane and makes a sharp turn when it gets to it’s break point. Being a higher rev bowler, I like to use this ball at the end of the day when the lane are burned up and I need something that can get down the lane without overlooking on me. I tend to pull this ball out of my bag when my Zen or Hyroad Pearl start to become to much ball for the conditions that I am bowling on. Make sure you grab yours today!

Will Tefft
Roto Grip Staff Member
will@parklanes.net
www.rotogrip.com
#SquadRG
Title: Re: Hustle Wine
Post by: MSUHoss300 on October 18, 2021, 02:11:33 PM
Hustle Wine
55 x 5 x 10

This Hustle is the most special of the 3 shiny ones so far!  It is super clean and will be very usable on dry lanes, but retains all of the energy for the backend and the pins!   It is cleaner than the Camo and produces more down lane ''pop".  This has been my go-to ball late block and on older high friction lane surfaces.  This ball is a must have for rev dominant players or those of us looking for a dry lane ball!
Title: Re: Hustle Wine
Post by: Kyle.Johnson88 on October 19, 2021, 11:41:27 AM
Ball Specs:
Roto Grip Hustle Wine
1500 VTC™ Pearl Reactive
Weight Block: Hustle™ (Symmetrical)
Color: Cranberry/Merlot

Review:
There is NO reason to not love this ball. It caters to literally every bowler in the world, regardless of skill level and is priced so reasonably that its worth its weight in gold. For the seasoned veterans you can expect an extremely versatile low end pearl, something to keep transition to late in a block if you are needing to move right (even if the conditions are drying up). For the novice bowler you can expect great value in your purchase, getting a great piece of equipment for pennies over an entry level reactive bowling ball. The color options also appeal to novice bowlers who may care more about color than performance. The trusted Hustle core is in many bowling record books for a reason, it’s just that good.

Kyle & Joel Johnson
Roto Grip Pro Shop Staff Members
joel@parklanes.net
kyle@parklanes.net
www.rotogrip.com
#SquadRG
Title: Re: Hustle Wine
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on November 07, 2021, 08:04:02 PM
The Hustle Wine features the VTC Pearl coverstock and Hustle core, which comes in at a 2.53 RG and .030 differential in 15 pounds.  It’s a rolly, light to medium oil ball that controls the lane a lot like an IQ, just a bit weaker.  The Hustles have been popular because they’re a triple threat, they’re versatile, they fit the majority of regular league shots really well, and they’re way cheaper than they should be.  The Wine brings a bit of the balance back to the line, the RAP is virtually an Idol Pearl, which is insane back for the buck, but doesn’t quite fit what you’re expecting from a ball marketed as light to medium.  The Wine is easy length with a rolly shape, and a firm continuous motion on the backend.  It’s going to fit the majority of bowlers well, and even if it’s not a first ball out of the bag for league, it’s a great step down for game 2 or 3, and I think will play well on tougher patterns also. 
Title: Re: Hustle Wine
Post by: Rick K on November 10, 2021, 09:52:56 AM
Hustle Wine • Performance Line • HP1
Coverstock • VTC Pearl Reactive Finish • 1500-grit, Polished
Core •Hustle Symmetric
Weight 15lb •RG 2.53 •Differential 0.030
Layout • 70 x 4 x 25
Tester PAP = 4 ½ R x 3/8 D • Tester Axis Tilt = 12° •Testers Rev Rate = 325
Test Pattern = 42’ THS (Typical House Shot) • Modified, Kegel Stone Street

When Roto Grip released the Hustle line of bowling balls, they delivered an industry standard for level one or entry-level bowling balls. With the release of the Hustle Wine and Hustle Camo, that industry-standard has elevated to an even higher standard. So let’s take a closer look at the Hustle Wine and how it works on a THS.
Initially developed in the Hustle INK, the Hustle Core is a well-rounded and smooth-rolling core. This ball has a low/medium RG and low/medium differential – meaning the Hustle Core is stable as it rolls in the front part of the lane. That roll creates a predictable motion you can depend on when the ball makes its turn to the pocket. As a result, this core is excellent for beginner bowlers learning to understand skid, hook, and roll. For the seasoned bowler, the Hustle Core provides a stable, sweeping motion when those more expensive cores are just too much to handle.

The new Cranbury/Merlot VTC (Vertical Traction Control) Pearl Coverstock gives a great new look to the Hustle line. And its performance delivered for beginner bowlers. I adjusted the cover to 500-grit Polished for a few entry-level bowlers. I was pleasantly surprised at how this cover performed on a THS throughout a night of league competition for them. For myself, on a late-night, broken-down THS, I hit the 1500 polished finish lightly with 4000 grit Abralon, and the VTC Pearl coverstock was fantastic! It gave me a smooth look while allowing me to stay in my comfort zone as it blended the broken-down conditions quite smoothly. I would definitely say that the Cranbury/Merlot VTC makes for an excellent versatile cover.

To sum things up, the Roto Grip Hustle Wine is a durable and versatile ball that works well for many levels of bowlers. Beyond its warm color appeal, this ball will keep the beginner bowler wanting to come back again week after week. And for the seasoned bowler, the Hustle Wine will provide a great alternative to your game when all your strong cover/core combinations are too much to get the job done. The Hustle Wine has a place in any arsenal, and I suggest talking to your local pro shop operator today to see where it fits into yours!

Rick Klimowicz
Storm Products Pro Shop Staff
Roll the Ball Pro shop
Penndel, PA
 
Title: Re: Hustle Wine
Post by: heavytop4 on November 15, 2021, 05:59:23 PM
Roto Grip Hustle Wine
#15.3
2" pin
3.0 oz top

Rt. hand
14 mph
PAP 4 9/16 1/4 over

Drilling: 5 x 3 x 2 OOB finish
Volume 38-41ft
THS, Kegel Challenge patterns

Drilled up the Roto Grip Wine Hustle 5 x 3". Pin down over middle finger. Kept in OOB finish. With my ball speed and axis rotation I need skid and control. Was excited to see a short pin, threw a fav layout on it and headed to league. 711 out of the gates. Lot of friction in this house,. This release was the combat to early hook for me. Great length without over squirt. More backend than expected. Was able to open up the lane. Misses wide recovered to the pocket. Without sounding crazy its an aggressive dry lane ball for me. The free skid up front was the key. Looking for pearl performance on drier conditions the Wine Hustle is a must!

Joe Arvai
900 Global Amateur Staff
www.stormbowling.com
Title: Re: Hustle Wine
Post by: Gil B on November 19, 2021, 08:54:43 AM
The Hustle Wine.  What a good looking Ball love the color and the look going down lane. Another hit out of the Hustle Line with a different shape. The Hustle Wine with the pearl coverstock really gets deep down lane and has a very sharp break in the Back end. If you are looking for the hockey stick shape this is the ball for you . This is a great piece for when those lanes really break down and you want to play that steeper angle.  This would be a great addition in anyone's bag.
Title: Re: Hustle Wine
Post by: avabob on November 19, 2021, 10:57:54 AM
Drilled out a Wine yesterday based partly on the comments in this thread.  With my slower ball speed I needed something that lets me square up further outside early and also lets me keep my angles a little more direct when I do move in.  Guys with hand will be able to get good recovery and hit when they move in.  End over end guys like me can stay more squared up.   Great alternative to my purple hammer. 
Title: Re: Hustle Wine
Post by: jimjames on December 06, 2021, 10:24:29 AM
Took my Hustle Wine to my PSO and had the grit changed from OOB 1500 finish to 2000 with a highly polished finish added to it due to working too hard upon hitting the dry. Almost went to 3000 but decided to see what 2000 brought forth. Ball has always been great getting through the heads, but quite strong nearing the pins. Old geezer here. Change worked great and had a very decent series practicing after league play. Will try it in the latter part of league play to see how it does.